paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / JT Tac-5 Recon / JT Tac-5 Recon / JT Tac-5 Recon / JT Tac-5 Recon

JT Tac-5 Recon Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount JT

Buy JT Tac-5 Recon

Paintball Low-End Mechanical Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


JT Tac-5 Recon
[ View Photos (79) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 155
Average Rating: 6.9 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $80

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
JT USA introduces the all-new Tactical Tac-5 Recon Semi Automatic paintball marker for 2005. The Tac-5 Recon features include a multiple position feed port with two Sniper off set positions either left or right and an Assault vertical position, a Gorilla Grip self sizing loader adaptor designed to automatically size and grip your loader to the marker for a secure and reliable fit, quick and easy field strip design to allow you to quickly maintain your marker on and off the field, a bonus removable tactical handle accessory, adjustable and removable foregrip for custom positioning based on your preference, multiple accessory mounting rails to allow you to quickly and easily attached a wide variety of accessories, precision barrel system for increased accuracy and a blade style double finger trigger for increased rate of fire.
Product Availability 
The JT Tac-5 Recon is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (16):  First  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  8  |  9  |  Last
        Next Page
Abpaintball Sunday, March 18th, 2007
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann 98 custom pro (Much better)
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98 custom pro w/ flatline barrel, and adj. stock
Recommended
Upgrades:
a new gun
Strengths: Looks cool
accurate
cheep
Weaknesses: Made cheaply
breaks a couple weeks later
Review: When i opened this gun on my b-day i was so excited. After i had played with it in one game i realized i needed a new barrel. So i ordered one and i also ordered a stock for it.
Two weeks later i had the stuff, so i put on the barrel and then took the gun apart and was about to put the stock on when i realized that the power tube was cracked straight down the middle. So i called JT and they told me how to put it all back together so i could ship it back. There information was false, i couldn't get the gun back together so i called them back and gave them some bs and they let me ship it back and i got a refund.
Conclusion: i give the gun a 1 but i will give it an over all 3 because of the JT customer service
Rating:
3 out of 10
I found this review  
4 Comments - Add Comment

"PB'Freak Saturday, March 17th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippman 98
Spyder Sonix
Marker Setup: JT Tac 5
16" Smart parts linear
20oz Co2 tank
Stock
200 round hopper
Recommended
Upgrades:
New barrel is a MUST!
Strengths: Cheap
Quiet accurate
Weaknesses: Breaks Easy
Trigger Pull
Cocking rod
Review: i used this gun around 3 times, with around 1000 shots, and i recently was playing some woods ball with my pals for fun and the TRIGGER BROKE !! which i was not happy with at all since i barely used it, but i easily fixed it, by adding new springs and such. but it still was a pain.
Conclusion: You get what you pay for, i would suggest this gun for someone who is a beginner and wants to do some woods ball, but for someone who is into speed ball this gun would be a DEFF NO!,.
I Rate this gun a 5 outa 10
Rating:
5 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

Krashen Friday, March 16th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tac-5
Marker Setup: Tac-5 16" terminator barrel new springs
Recommended
Upgrades:
barrel
Strengths: Very nice looking. Can take a beating. Good weight.
Weaknesses: Very cheap internals. Need's easy not home upgrade's.
Review: This gun is a very good first gun can get it very cheap and really test's your love of the sport. This gun doesn't cost much money at all for upgrades but the time you spend making the upgrades and fixing this gun will test your patience and love of the sport.
Well my experience with the gun i used it about 3 games each were about 6-7 hours long of game play lubed and cleaned after each game. After the third game when i was cleaning it i noticed my powertube was cracked not just a little crack either the crack went down the whole powertube so called up JT they sent me one within about a week so service was at least good.
will be updated later
Conclusion: It's a good starting gun.
Rating:
5 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Warchild71 Thursday, March 15th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder MR1
Piranha Evo SE
Marker Setup: Spyder MR1 and Piranha Evo
Empire Reloader II
PMI Pure Energy N2 72ci/3000psi
BT Apex Barrel
Empire 7 Piece barrel kit
NC Star Red Dot Site (for the MR1)
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel
HPA
Agitated hopper
Strengths: Adjustable hopper offest
Cheap
Shoots Paint
Spyder threaded barrel
Weaver rails for milsom add-ons
Weaknesses: Lack of internal mods
Velotcity adjustor doesn't work well
Review: I keep this as a backup gun and it has been reliable. It shoots straight and I haven't had a problem hitting my targets. The tac5 is designed for woodsball players so it is not meant for shooting a high rates. It has good sight lines and weaver rails on the top and bottom of the gun for a red dot sight, flashlights, lasers, etc. The sniper offset allows lefty and right players have a clear line of sight down the gun. The only problem is getting the hopper upright when set to the left.
Conclusion: This is a decent gun if you are getting started and all you want to do is shoot. f you want to modify then you need a different gun
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

MJ09 Wednesday, March 14th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Marker Setup: tac 5, 12inch barrel, windage/elevation sight, 12ox CO2
Recommended
Upgrades:
barrel for sure, mayb even a sight
Strengths: Durable
Shoots pretty good
Doesn't jam
Doesn't chop balls
Weaknesses: Stock barrel is crap
A little heavy
Review: i have used the Tac 5 for botu 6 months and havent had a problem with it. it is very durable, a littlle heavy but ive played with it in snow, rain, mud and have never had a problem with it. When you do get this gun, make sure u upgrade to atleast a 12 inch barrel
Conclusion: I would reccomend this gun to a beginner or someone who wants to play around . It can be upgraded with a lot of things thatr will make it look very tactical.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

teamnameless Sunday, March 11th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
tippmann 98, A-5, Orion
Marker Setup: MKX8
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel, Stock, sights, though the gun works well at factory level.
Strengths: Accuracy, ambidextrous, color, cheap upgrades
Weaknesses: No field strip options
Review: Is it perfect? no. is it good for a JT? yes! Jt has hit the big one with this gun, its cheap, its reliable, and so are the upgrades! 30 dollars for barrel and stock, each not total. I use it as a spare gun and lend it out to a lot of my friends, its definately a high end starter gun, and after the upgrades a good experienced gun too, comparable to a 98 and A-5 even. note....NOT FOR SPEEDBALL, its called a TAC-5 RECON for a reason....

ps. i do NOT compare it to other woodsball guns that are more expensive, ergo 98's/ A5's with high end upgrades. I'm comparing it to guns at its price range. but even compared to super modded tippmanns, it still a good gun.
Conclusion: Definetly get it, its a hell of a gun for the price.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Goose666 Friday, March 9th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
3 months6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
none
Marker Setup: soon to have a J&J 14" Ceramic Barrel
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel
Strengths: Accurate out of the box
Range
isn't bright and flashy like most pb markers
Weaknesses: See review
Review: I bought this marker at walmart cause ive been dying to start playing paintball. It came with everything needed to start playing, and it was pretty cheap.

My buddy bought the same gun as me and we haven't gone out to play once with out having to clean out broken balls from firing to fast, and replacing the o-ring at least twice (it seems every time you run out of ammo while firing the o-ring splits in half).

Yesterday i went out again and after 2 games my gun was spraying c02 out of the velocity screw. I couldn't fix it till I came home and went to work on it with tools. My friends gun also screwed up but i thought a field strip would fix it. However, the bolt was cracked in half. Im not sure if the cold weather was hard on it or because the internals are all plastic but his marker is hooped. We only played about 3 short days of paintball and it broke. If you do buy this gun i would strip it down and oil the bolt and all the internals before playing. That may have been the problem?

.

I don't know why they put a "quick pull pin" on it to "quickly field strip" the tac-5 because it took me 40 minutes of frustration with my allan keys, vice grips, and the instruction manual to take off all the necessary parts and THEN! i got quickly pull that ever so convenient quick pull pin out. Putting it back together was just as fun.

However I was picking off my friends with ease when my Tac-5 was working correctly and i was using the stock barrel.
Conclusion: I'm glad i bought the tac-5 for my first marker because iv'e learned alot about maintenence. I did however return it to walmart and ordered a Tippmann A-5. If you don't mind fixing problems with your marker everytime you go out and want a pretty accurate marker then try the tac-5 out. Just make sure you bring o-rings,lubricant,vice grips,allan keys, a squeegee, and the instructions manual when you go out to play.

Rating:
4 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, April 5th, 2007 at 3:38 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

montclair Thursday, March 8th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Blackmaxx
Marker Setup: Tipmmann 98 custom
Werks barrel
response trigger
Strengths: Looks, kinda fruity looking tho, and...umm...Somewhat powerful ........uggg.....?
Weaknesses: Stiff trigger, weak plastic parts inside BAD , NOT accurate (shoots every way possible ),poorly-built,
Review: What i have found with my gun was that it was not sturdy! everything was wobbly, i would tighten up all the screws and after a lil bit of playing time it would loosen up agian. i had also found my trigger was very stiff compared to other guns....another problem with mine was that the CO2 chamber would leak......not good....., This wouldnt be a bad gun if it was cheaper in proce...say like 60$$ ?
Im not juding saying that all tac-5s are like mine, because unno some could be very good, however mine wasnt...and another thing, the feild strip is impossible to figure out with such bad instructions!!!!

If your Tac-5 is acting like mine you could just call the company (like i did) and tell them whats wong with your gun, if its what they think is a defect they will tell you what to do....in my case i got a money refund, but i dont really think it was a defctive gun i just think that there poorly made......but thats just my opion.

another thing....i would not waste a handful of cash on buying upgrades for this gun, its really not worth it :(
Conclusion: Personlley i would save my money and go with something like a tippmann, for the sake of about 80 more dollars, it will be worth it!!!! also tippmann are alot better built and have a 1 year warrenty (tac-5 only has 30 days), and tippmann has excellent customer service
Rating:
3 out of 10Last edited on Monday, March 12th, 2007 at 5:31 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Wicked1 Tuesday, February 6th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
ION - Epiphany
ION - Various
BE - Avenger
Marker Setup: JT Tac 5 Recon Kit
Recommended
Upgrades:
Too Many too List
Strengths: Solid in the hand, sturdy overall
Weaknesses: The entire mechanism that slides into the gun is hard to get back in
Review: Body is solid, but heavy, but being a stocky person I like the heavy feel then a really light gun. This gun is great for the backyard shooter or maybe with several firends, great beginner gun, but you do not stand a chance in the field with those who have more precision and vast amounts of experrience.
Conclusion: Not suggested for field or combat action, great first time gun especially for the kit price of $187.00 which includes, Mask, Gun, several barrels, 9 oz tank, plunger, oil, and several various accys for the gun.
Rating:
5 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

garycomehome Monday, February 5th, 2007
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippman 98 Custom
Marker Setup: VL Viewloader Hopper
Recommended
Upgrades:
No amount of upgrades can better this crappy gun.
Strengths: Terrible gun with only one strength. It is powerful.
Weaknesses: Breaks Easy
Ball dives when you shoot
Uses a crap-load of C02 per shot
Review: This was an absolutly terrible gun. I would not recommend it to anyone at all. I had to trade in every Tac 5 I bought, because every one of them broke. i finally had to buy a new gun. And I could not even finish one 200 ball hopper with a 20oz C02 tank because it used so much C02. The ball dives when you shoot it, so if you are aiming directly at someone it will hit the ground 10ft in front of them if you have a full can of C02. It is kinda powerful, not too much. I point-blanked myself in the hand with it and it only hurt for a second. It was supposed to go 300 feet per second, but I found that it went that in 3 seconds on full C02. All in all a really crappy gun, I would not recommend it to anyone at all, even the worst paintballer on planet earth. I only used 3 in less than a month because they broke so much.
Conclusion: Absolutly terrible gun, never had any fun with it. Would not recomend it to anyone at all.
Rating:
1 out of 10
I found this review  
6 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (16):  First  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  8  |  9  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media