paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Airgun Designs "Retro" Valve / Airgun Designs "Retro" Valve / Airgun Designs "Retro" Valve / Airgun Designs "Retro" Valve / Airgun Designs "Retro" Valve

Airgun Designs "Retro" Valve Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Airgun Designs

Buy Airgun Designs "Retro" Valve

Paintball Automag Valves

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Airgun Designs
[ Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 19
Average Rating: 9.8 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $300

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Installing this valve converts the standard 68 Automag to an Automag RT.
Product Availability 
The Airgun Designs "Retro" Valve is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (2):  1  |  2
        Next Page
Dover Wednesday, June 21st, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
More than 5 years3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Stock AGD A.I.R. valve
Diamond Labs aluminum Hurricane valve
Marker Setup: I'm a hardcore poor gun whore, nine (9) markers and counting:
3 Autocockers (2 E-Cockers)
3 Mags
2 JT E-Excellerators
1 VL E-marker
Strengths: TWO WORDS: Trigger bounce.
*EDIT: RELIABLE.
Weaknesses: Was expensive, now cheaper on Net
Review: What I said before, TRIGGER BOUNCE pushes the trigger back towards your finger, allowing you to rapid-fire like crazy if you find a sweet-spot. Honestly, as a tourney player it takes a little time to bother, ya might as well fan it, accuracy is gonna suck...

Or better yet, buy the ReTro valve for use with your electro grip frame (Airgun says it's a direct match for the Hyperframe), or you can get it millled to accept the AGD ULT Ultra Light Trigger pull kit.

Plus the weight difference over the stock A.I.R. valve is incredible, because it uses an aluminum back. I got a Diamond Labs Hurricane (no longer in production) for my Mag and still use it, it dropped the weight like a B-17 over Schweinfurt.

Although the recharge rate is extremely high (like what 22 bps?)
The good old stainless steel A.I.R. was reputed to cycle at 18+ bps.
If I could move my finger that fast, I wouldn't leave the house.

*EDIT: I went out last week (Feb. 2007) with four (4) markers, and ended up only being able to use the ReTro Mag!!! Imagine that, a humble mechanical Mag outshooting thousand dollar guns!

First off, my brand-new DM4 blew the on/off o-ring below the barrel. Then both my E-Blade E1 Cockers refused to cycle properly.
Dumping oil into the ASA, unscrewing the ReTro valve in half and dumping oil in, and oiling the Level 10 Anti-Chop Bolt kit, I gassed up and played the ENTIRE day WITHOUT a single CHOP or BREAK in the barrel. I can't remember the last time that happened, ohmigod!

I was able to outshoot EVERYBODY from rental Tippmann 98's to guys with Spyder Electra rocking triggers, and even a guy with an WDP Angel-1!!!
Conclusion: If you can find it, buy it 'cuz people always want the latest and greatest, that being the X-Valve, which comes with a Level 10 anti-chop bolt kit as well as being available in several colors!!! Oooh, the colors...

*EDIT: Apparently the X-Valve not only does the job of the ReTro valve, but is lighter, comes in more colors (although rare) and can install the ULT (Ultra Light Trigger) Kit
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Monday, March 5th, 2007 at 7:56 pm PST
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

medieval747 Wednesday, October 22nd, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann response triggers...
Marker Setup: Automag RT / Y Grip / 68ci 3000psi Flatline / Level 10 / DYE Aluminum / 12v X Board
Strengths: Blazing Fast! Bounce
Weaknesses: Leakage (very little)
Review: The RT valve is one of the most unique feels in a paintball gun. The trigger isn't exactly light but it pops back immediately. If you have an adjustable tank the response is increased enormously. If you pull the trigger just right you can get it to "bounce" off your finger and reach amazing bps. The Valve itself is quality constructed and will last forever will very little maintenance. With the level 10 installed the valve is supercharged. Firing amazingly fast without chopping a single ball.
Conclusion: If you have an automag, make this your first upgrade! This thing will rip your performance. This is like nothing else in the paintball world. Buy it as soon as you can! You will not be disapointed!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

stonersr25 Monday, May 26th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
nothing what so ever, this is the only reactive trigger I've ever used.
Marker Setup: Automag with a RT valve,Freak barrel kit,warp feed left with a richochet feeding the warp.
Strengths: Very consistant,Very fast,cool looking.
Weaknesses: price is high and easy to short stroke.
Review: This thing is awsome, it makes it very easy to shoot my mag as fast as a lot of my friends electros and it is very consistant.If you have a good paint to barrel match and good paint you can put ball on top of ball at 100 yards, works really well if you are sniping.
As far as it being expensive you can get them for $250.00 dollars and then sell your old valve for around $100.00 so you are spending $150.00 to basically get a new gun.This thing really brings your mag back to life.
As for the short stroking, I think it is because it's new and hasn't broken in yet.That and I still have the original single trigger on my mag,so in actuallity this thing kicks butt and I completely recomend it.
Conclusion: Awsome upgrade for anyone still using the classic valve.Awsome consistancy and no shootdown,plus the reactive trigger that is tournament legal.What more could you want.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

unrealottiss Wednesday, April 30th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
rt pro
Marker Setup: 2k3 red cocker, jam bolt, system x drop, vigilante reg, nitro. all else stock
my mag has pmi ceramic barrel, system x drop, egg2, nitro, lvl 10, intelliframe
Strengths: very fast, very quick, no drop off
Weaknesses: only can use nitro, but that doesn't matter
Review: this thing is awsome. it allows your mag to easily compete with high end elctros, NOT BATTERIES REQUIRED. it is expensive, but if you use the go retro program it is worth it. look at it this way, the mag valve is the gun. you put in a new valve system you bought a new gun. this and a lv 10 and intelliframe breathes new life into the aged and time proven automag. you can't go wrong with a mag.
Conclusion: excellent product from agd. agd among the best out there, there products are always top notch.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Sniper4569 Tuesday, January 7th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
More than 5 years
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
stock A.I.R. valve
Marker Setup: powerfeed mag, x-valve(new retro), Blade chrome intelleframe, pmi perfect drop, sp front grip,dye aluminum, revy, centerflag tank
Strengths: Freakin fast as hell, once you brake in the o-rings the trigger then will "bounce" in you hand, Its virtually firing by its self!
Weaknesses: u need to break in the oring before the trigger will bounce
Conclusion: Buy this, its faster than any angel, or any other gun, feeling is great when it bounces in your finger
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

stustw132 Monday, December 2nd, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
More than 5 years1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Marker Setup: i have a new agd automag with the all american, intelliframe, retro valve, , centerflag hyperflow nitro, shocktech drop
Strengths: Hey I was happy with my mag just they it was. I love the standard feed and the simplicity. So my brother goes out and buys himself a retro valve upgrade, no big deal right?
Boy was I wrong his gun took off like a rocket when I popped a series of heavy-ass shots thru it. None and I repeat none of the rounds lost any more altitude than the one fired milliseconds before it. Everything hit in the same squealing spot every single time.
And the trigger pull, dear sweet heavens the trigger pull.
When I felt the trigger pop back in forth like an engine piston in my grimy little trigger finger a very strong and sick desire spread thru my head and never even left till my own Mag at home had one locked inside her.
I've never been so satisfied with any one paintball upgrade.


This is a review earlier and i have never read an article froma more whitetrash person ever stuart hall
Weaknesses: noidgfh
Conclusion: bedts
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

FactsOfLife Monday, July 1st, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Standard AIR valve.
Marker Setup: RetroMag PF/HL
68/3000 Flatline hanging on a KAPP DZ2
Blade Intelliframe
Intellifed Warp
Halo B
Freak Barrel System
Strengths: An amazing rate of fire. Find the "sweet spot" and it's kitty bar the door and holy schnikes!

You can absolutely rip on this thing. Recharges so fast, you can't outshoot it. With proper maintenance, it lasts forever. Literally. And with the online manuals at http://www.automags.org maintenance is easy to follow.

AGD doesn't rest on their laurels either. With the upcoming release of the Level 10 modification, chopping in any Mag is a thing of the past. Just like cockers are going to be...

As usual, AGD comes through with yet another world class product. The rest of the industry must be tired playing catch up for so long...
Weaknesses: All the other marker brands have to compete with it.
Conclusion: Superior valving from a superior company. AGD for life.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Puddleglum Tuesday, May 7th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Regular A.I.R. Valve
Marker Setup: Black to Silver faDE Mag
Black Benchmark 1x
Black Dye Stickeys
Black Dye Aluminum barrel
Black Ricochet
Black Kapp Drop Zone
CenterFlag 420 68 4500
Black RASE tank cover
Superbolt

And Red Splash Micromag
RT Valve
Black Blade Intelliframe
Superbolt
Riky 2K
CenterFlag 68 4500
Strengths: -Highest recharge rate of any valve any gun anything.
-Capable of 22 bps (That may be good, I don't know)
-Easily distinguishable between other valves(after spending $300.00 you might like that.)
-Much better air efficiency over stock valve
-Easy to maintain
Weaknesses: -The price is a little high(try AutoMags.org to find a used one)
-That's about it
Conclusion: Made by AGD so it rocks (Duh!!). The price is a little high, but I got mine for like $50.00 in a trade so I don't really care. It looks great and works better than it looks. Shoots fast. Really fast. I would get one and use the valve exchange thing from AGD.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Monday, April 22nd, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
68 classic AIR valve, Minimag valve, put it this way I've shot about every mag valve....
Marker Setup: ReTromag, Warp left e-mag body, Warpfeed, 12vlt w/ a evo. paddle, Smart Parts splash kit, 16inch splashed AA barrel, Smart parts triggerframe.
Strengths: With this you get a reactive trigger, lighter trigger pull, less shootdown, basically this is the best upgrade for a mag you can get, unless you get an e-mag conversion :)
Weaknesses: Nothing really, I had some trouble w/ the velocity adjuster but I fixed that easily, they can be pricy but I got a great deal on mine, I've heard stories about people getting em for standard feed bodies and makeing chop suey outa some balls cause of the blow back.... I still haven't had more then 10 breaks in my valve w/ my warp body...
Conclusion: Basically this thing has it all. And unlike those tippmann response triggers these things are NPPL tourney legal. So this is for serious players I guess. You can't go wrong w/ AGD.... and o yeah DON'T SHOOT CO2 OUTA IT
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Monday, March 25th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Automag valve
Marker Setup: RT valve, gen-X reg, centerflag 68 4.5K, shocktech 5 in with KAPP on/off ASA, sight rail, VL 12 vlt w/ turbo rev board that drove my warp-feed, 12 in boomy, mac-line, intelliframe w/ blade.
Strengths: Fast recharge, no shoot-down, no short stroking, pushes yer finger back
Weaknesses: nothing really, maybe the money i spend on paint.
Conclusion: RT valve is by far the best upgrade for any gun ever, however, if you kow the trigger secret to the regular valve, RT valve isn't worth $200. I can make my regular A>I>R valve have a 3 mm trigger pull , this makes the RT valve worht maybe $100, plus, i got the Z-valve, so t charges faster (not AGD though :(

if you want ot kow the trigger secret, e-mail me

mrmag33@hotmail.com
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (2):  1  |  2
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media