paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / JT Alpha 2000 Mask / JT Alpha 2000 Mask / JT Alpha 2000 Mask

JT Alpha 2000 Mask Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount JT

Buy JT Alpha 2000 Mask

Paintball Masks / Goggles

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


JT Alpha 2000 Mask
[ View Photos (6) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 266
Average Rating: 7.1 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $30

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Entry level mask with visor (NOTE: JT has made it so this mask is only available at Wal*Mart)
Product Availability 
The JT Alpha 2000 Mask is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (27):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
bombadee Tuesday, December 28th, 2010
Period of
Product Use:
2 years
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
proflexes------better looks, better comfort,
proshield------ same as above but with better ears
basic spectra----better modular design, otherwise same
rental mask------- worse, no matter what it is
flex7---------------- better in every way. personally don't like
nvader------------- bit better, very similar.
Marker Setup: etek 2 48/3000,torque,
trilly competition select fire

proflex with proshield ears
Strengths: Cheap
Works
Good build quality
Keeps ya safe
Weaknesses: Uncomfortable
Somewhat ugly
Hard foam
Feels cheap
Review: This mask will do it's job, it will save your eyesight and protect your face from paintballs at 300fps. Nothing more, nothing less. The mask doesn't fog, it fits any size head, stops paintball. Being very similar to the spectras, parts are everywhere and the parts/lens quality is good. The mask isn't comfortable, being built with durability and functionality in mind. My field rents these out, these are made for fields, the foam is hard and uncomfortable but will last forever, the shell is great quality plastic and the lense is of great quality. This was my first mask, I've used it for two years, it's beat to hell but still works like new. JT may make terrible guns, but their masks are still well made.

If you buy JT, you pay for durability and a proven design, not lightweight and sleek looking headgear. Kinda like tippmanns of masks.
Conclusion: Buy these if your only other option is a rental mask, they do their job well, don't expect anything more. I recommend skipping this and getting the proflex/proshield series.

Give it a 6.5, cause it works.
Rating:
6 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

stehz Friday, July 31st, 2009
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
JT spectra - awesome mask
Marker Setup: dangerous power g3
14" stiffi barrel
draxxus 68/4500 cf hpa tank
viewloader evlution 3 hopper
Strengths: Cheap
Looks pretty cool
Weaknesses: So much fog
Uncomfortable
Review: i lost my spectra mask a month ago, so ever since then i was forced to use the alpha 2000 which has been sitting in my closet for i dont know how long.
its incredibly uncomfortable, the mask is so tight and its difficult to adjust the straps
it is decent while playing in the day time, not so much fog, but when playing at night it is impossible; i can NOT see at all, because the lenses fog up so bad.
Conclusion: Do not buy, save your money.
Rating:
3 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

pyroboy08 Thursday, May 7th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
JT proflex 8
tippmann mask
Marker Setup: speedball:
spyder pilot 09 w/ eye , VL eyeforce, 20oz CO2, JT alpha camo , camo 4+1 pack

woodsball:
tippmann alpha black tactical, 16'' rifled barrel with M4 R.I.S shroud, remote feed, 20oz CO2, cyclone feed, x7 hopper, fore grip w/ built in bi-pod, JT camo dual lens mask, camo 4+1 pack, underbrush 3D camo suit
Strengths: Thermal lens
Camouflage makes it hard to see
Somewhat comfortable
Safe
Durable
Weaknesses: Lens (see review)
Slightly large profile
Review: This is a decent mask that is relatively cheap and will serve you well. I have the camo version and I played in the woods with my friend shortly after buying it, and he said after the game that he only saw my gun whenever I was shooting. The mask is very durable, and safe. This mask is not perfect but it is a quality product. It never fogs up on me

The mask, however has some drawbacks. Despite being durable, it is basically a disposable mask, since the lens in nearly impossible to remove, and I cannot find any replacement lens for it on any website. It also does not vent air very well because when I breath a lot it becomes very hot inside the mask. One I begin sweating I must make the strap very tight or it will fall off. It also has a rather large profile but I have yet to find that as a problem.
Conclusion: This an good mask, and its cheap but once the lens scratches you cannot replace it. I will soon have to replace this mask, and I actually don't want to.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

bbboy657 Thursday, April 10th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
JT radar
JT Nvader
rental mask

Marker Setup: 1. Tippmann Custom Pro with R/T, Viewloader eVLution 2, '16 CP barrel, 48ci 3000psi pure energy tank

2. WGP prostock '04, eVLution 2, 48ci 3000psi pure energy tank.
Strengths: Cheap
Rubber
Decent vision
Weaknesses: Kind of bulky
Hard to put on w/ glasses
Fogs in prolonged games
Review: I bought these from wal-mart for like 19.00 dolars, so very cheap. I put thse on with my glasses, and it took it a bit of adjusting, but they went on comfortably. I later went to field, and thse worked great. in speedball, these didnt fog. But in the longer woodsball, these fogged a little, but i could still see pretty good.

Also during games, on occasion (like 1/5 of the time), the paintballs will just bounce off. So......................YAY! Anway, great buy although its only sold at walmart, but they are pretty easy to find
Conclusion: This is great for rec-ball, and woods. Maybe even some tournaments, but nothing major.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Shezmula Thursday, March 20th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
Empire Vents
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98 Custom - 16" barrel Opsgear Barrel
M82A1 Mod Kit from Ops Gear

Strengths: Durable
Cheap
Easy to obtain (Wal-Mart)
Weaknesses: Ugly!
Malformed
It fogs up
Doesn't fit well to the face
Review: This mask works and its cheap, it fogs when I do hard running so thats really really annoying. I sweat more than most people though. Its durable but it doesnt fit well to the face making it hard to aim down the sight rail of my gun, my Empire Vents are great for being low pro but that would be an unfair comparison. The mask is also lob sided, I suppose because of the fact its cramed into a tiny package for Wal Mart.
Conclusion: If youre just getting into the game and arent sure whether you are going to put your heart into it, this is the mask for you. If you are getting serious about paintball, skip this mask.
Rating:
6 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

thetruth217 Saturday, October 20th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
More than 5 years2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
One other JT mask, I forget the name
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98 Custom; 14" Boomstick barrel, cyclone feed system, response trigger and coil remote
Strengths: It prevents paintballs from smashing into your face
Weaknesses: "No Fog" lens fogs...
Review: This is the first mask I ever bought. I didn't have a lot of money, I was walking through walmart and figured for $20 bucks, why not try it out?

The first few games with it were nice and quick, so I didn't have any fog issues. I did have a problem with the padding around the nose, it was kind of tight and pinched my nostrils closed. I just picked at the foam until it didn't do that anymore. The next weekend we ran longer games, and it got to the point where I couldn't see a thing. I was ready to throw it away when my friend gave me a thermal lens he had from one of his other masks. I switched the lens, which did take me a few minutes longer then I was anticipating, but I got way more use out of it then I ever expected.

It's quite possible that it would be more cost efficient to spend a little more for a higher end mask, but I gotta say, replacing the lens made all the difference. The mask sits nice and secure, it can take a beating, I've had the same one for almost 8 years, I like the way this mask fits me because I can look back behind me without bumping it against my shoulder and I like the simplicity in the style.

Conclusion: It's not perfect, but this mask has proven itself to me. I'd even go back to Walmart just to buy another if something were to happen to mine. It's inexpensive and will last many years. That alone makes it a good product in my opinion.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

paintballkid26 Thursday, July 26th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
2 years
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
V-Force Profilers. They fit me better. Tippmann Scotts. They are not as heavy.
Marker Setup: Spyder Pilot ACS Blue-black fade, VL200 gravity hopper (soon to be a Revvy), 20 oz Co2 tank
Strengths: Good price
Weaknesses: Slips off during play, heavy, fogs up, bulges out from my face.
Review: When I used these goggles during play, they would start to slip. I would have to push them back up to avoid the falling off. They are very heavy, and i believe that is why they slip off my face. The price was very affordable, though (only $24 (ish) at my local Wally World)
Conclusion: Great for short periods of use. I would upgrade to something else when you get the money to do so.
Rating:
3 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

tippmann98paint Wednesday, July 18th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
2 years
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann mask
Marker Setup: I use a 14" Smart Parts Tear Drop on my Tippmann model 98. I just recently added a custom made drop forward.
Strengths: Strong
Weaknesses: Lense scratches easily
Review: I have used this for paintball mask ever since I started painball...I have also used my Tippmann mask that came with my Model 98. This mask is a good mask...light, hard...really the only weakness is the stock lense...I'm eventually going to get a replacement lense that's thermal. I use a JT Vortex II in this mask and it rarely fogs...usually only problems are rainy or humid days. Other than that no complaints on this mask...it's older but it works just like it should...it protects you. I recommend that you get a fan for any JT mask that is compatible it helps more than you realize.
Conclusion: Good mask...I'd get a newer JT but this one has lasted forever and I've used it since I started paintball.
Rating:
7 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

aplayaz2000 Sunday, June 3rd, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
None, first mask I ever bought
Marker Setup: i like to wear a toque, helps secure mask without putting pressure on me brain or face
Spyder Sonix 2007
20 oz
Strengths: - The visor its cool and I guess the color black
- Moderate protection
Weaknesses: Following facts.
- Gets hot after a while
- Lens will never come off
- Not comfortable
Review: Well overall the mask isn't comfortable, wear it for a while and you'll know what am talking about. The foam feels like sand after you get warm and sweaty so thats not good at all. This thing needs a fan. Lets talk about the lens, wow you cant even remove it if you tried. The only thing I enjoyed was the difference between rental fog steam mask and no fog at all which made me see the field.

I would recommend it for people who go paintballing occasionally and just want to have fun. If you actually need a mask, save another $30 - 40 bucks and get those good goggles with thermal lenses and vent fans.
Conclusion: My conclusion would be like I said at the end of my review body, save up and purchase a better mask.
Rating:
5 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Nikitas Saturday, May 26th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
3 months3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
None
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98C
Somewhat polished internals
Tippmann Response Trigger (R/T)
12oz Co2
12" Tippmann Sniper Barrel
VL Quantum Hopper
Strengths: Simply does not fog
Easy to camoflauge
Very Safe
Weaknesses: Heavy breathing makes inside moist (but no fog)
Medium Profile
Review: This mask was purchased at Walmart for the low price of $20. I only play woodsball with my neighbors who have similar masks. While they all cost the same (some came with thier guns) I have to say that mine is the only one that hasn't had a fogging problem. The six of us live in New England where the weather is hot, damp, rainy, sunny, arid, and everything else in between. This mask has consistantly performed perfectly and done exactly what it needs to do.
Conclusion: This mask offers great protection, no fog, and makes enjoying paintball easy to do. I rate this mask a :
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (27):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media