paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / MilTec MT66-CQB / MilTec MT66-CQB / MilTec MT66-CQB / MilTec MT66-CQB

MilTec MT66-CQB Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount MilTec

Buy MilTec MT66-CQB

Paintball Low-End Mechanical Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


MilTec MT66-CQB
[ View Photos (3) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 5
Average Rating: 9.0 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $811

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Want real combat? Engage your target with accuracy, precision, and stealth using MilTec real combat markers. MilTec keeps your scenario gear easy to use, maintain and upgrade, and offers the highest level in realistic scenario play. From the affordable MT-65 M16, to the loaded MT66-CQB Miltec keeps you on the field and out the deadbox!

MT Tactical 1X30 Red Dot, MT Short RIS Kit, MT Barrel Extension.
Product Availability 
The MilTec MT66-CQB is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
waruigaijin Tuesday, July 10th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
rap4 gen5 sp-8 tons of speedguns
Marker Setup: V board, laser eyes, new barrel-(stock one is great actually lol) , new bolt. qev, hpa tank,
Recommended
Upgrades:
DO NOT USE HPA UNLESS YOU GOT A REG.
Strengths: Looks,accuracy,sound.
Weaknesses: Egrip is a horrible pain to get working lol.
Review: OK when you first get the gun your like omg oh no. No instructions, no paper at all. everything was loose as hell. SO I got to work and found the gun itself with out the barrel as a huge but improved sypder. Open bolt that is connenct to a striker bolt . Nothing new but the volumizer is pretty cool. The barrel is great it really does shot father than reg barrels. OK as far as a speedball gun I would say no. As a woodball gun I say oh yeah. LOOKS awsome. Sounds awsome, very loud and its kicks nice to. I own alot gun that I upgraded to the point of silence and having no kick, This things kicks and BLASTS loud, NO OTHER GUN is as fun to shot this gun. The novelty of the sound and looks are worth it alone.
As far as perfomance Its pretty good. The etrigger I have to say is awsome but it take alot of adusting to get it right. If you leave the trigger stock you wont have to mess with it at all. That said ill say it again If you get the etrigger just replace the battery if it stops working after is has adjusted, it should work again. It take danm near full power for the etrigger to work.
Conclusion: GREAT milsim gun. Not a all round gun[ not for speed ball, maybe if you were proving a point about the barrel as a back man but.. } ITs a good paint ball, it NEEDS TO BE CLEAN AND WELL OILED. IF you keep it clean and oiled you will have no troubles and be laughing at how loud and accurate this gun is.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

csmith1199 Wednesday, July 5th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann 98c and A-5.
Marker Setup: Tippmann A-5 with Richochet hopper, fixed stock, JJ ceramics barrel, WAS board egrip for rec and scenario play. Also have an Ion with hairpin trigger, feedneck, QEV, CP reg, and custom drop forward with VLocity loader, JJ ceramics and CP barrel for the Ion, use it for speedball.
Recommended
Upgrades:
It depends on the user, but this gun is designed so that almost any accessory that will fit on an M-4 or civilian AR15 will fit on this weapon just fine, so it's up to the user's preference.
Strengths: Realistic, accuracy, reliability if cared for right.
Weaknesses: Can shoot hot out of the box.
Review: My team sponsor is the biggest distributor of Miltec guns in California, so I've used every weapon that they make. This is by far my favorite. The only thing that might need a little work is the stock, like so many other people have said. Also, there have been a lot of complaints about this gun being heavy. A lot of people don't know it, but it was designed to be that way. The gun was designed to be as close to a real M4 as possible, including the weight, for training purposes with military and law enforcement. Also as I stated earlier, this gun so closely resembles the M4 that any accessories that will fit on the real weapon, will fit on this paintball gun. Believe me, if you want to, you can have one seriously decked out weapon with this bad boy. Also, it may seem a bit loud too, but by putting some clothe or other type of fabric in the silecer area, you can make this one of the quietest markers on the market too.
Conclusion: All in all, this gun is the ultimate in mil sim for the hardcore paintball player who wants something that's as close to the military as you can get. if you want a real looking, realiable versatile weapon, this is the one for you. I give it a 9 for the weak stock though, but that's the only fault.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Bourne117 Monday, November 21st, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann 98 Custom w/ flatline barrel, adjustable stock, and adjustable sight rail
Marker Setup: MT-66 CQB w/ sight rail, mock silencer, red dot scope, handle, stock, sling, rail kit
All of this was in the box except for the sling
Recommended
Upgrades:
sling
Strengths: Looks amazing, Accuracy, Range, Durability
Weaknesses: Heavy, price, cheap stock
Review: First of all there weren't very many reviews on this gun to begin with when i was looking to buy it so i was a little skeptical despite the good reviews. This gun looks awesome right out of the box. It has an all metal construction with the exception of the stock. But when i went to pick it up i noticed two things. One was that is was very heavy, between 8 and 10 pounds. The other was that many of the accessories were loose, like the silencer and the rail kit. But with tedious adjustments and care it was fine and now it is rock solid. You must be careful though. The silencer and the rail kit both are attached to the barrel with set screws and the screws could easily be overtightened and dimple the inside of the barrel or at least create a scar on the outside. To compensate for this i put little pieces of cloth in the screw holes before tightening them down, this works pretty well. The accuracy of this is excellent the best i have ever used (better than flatline and boomstick). The hop up barrel claims that it is the equivelent of the flatline, but this is not entirely true. It is does put a backspin on the ball but not as much as the flatline does therefore doesn't shoot as far. The balls do have a flat trajectory up to a certain point. Once they get past about 75' they start to arc. The effective range on the gun with the proper arc factor is about 100' maybe more. Generally i could hit a target 10"x16" 8 out of ten times depending on how close you are. Obviously the further away you get the bigger the spread. The two main things that i don't like on the gun are the weight and the cheap feeling stock, neither of which effect the performance. Oh yeah.....IT LOOKS NUTS... My friends say it looks like a real gun and it does.
Conclusion: I give this gun a 9 only because i am not allowed to give it a 9.5.
Looks-10
Range-9
Accuracy-9.5
Consistency-9
Durability-9.5 (i'm afraid if i drop it on the barrel i will dent, scratch or bend it)
Performance-10 (the weight takes getting used to and it has a much bigger profile than tippmanns)
This gun is worth every penny and i would recommend it to anyone who enjoys scenario paintball or woods ball, probably not very good for speed ball due to its weight and bulkiness.
So my real rating is a 9.5 but it isn't a perfect 10 and i can't give it a 9.5 so i deem it a 9.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Monday, November 21st, 2005 at 3:18 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

DudeOfBred Saturday, October 22nd, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
6 months6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann A5, 98, ProLite, 'Cocker, AT-85, couple of pumps.
Marker Setup: Bare Bones. No red dot, no M-4 carrying handle, I'm not a fan of cosmetic goo-gaws. This thing is heavy enough as it is. I'm a little leery of the e-trigger. I hear they're tough to keep adjusted. Only add-on I've got is my Qloader.
Recommended
Upgrades:
The last guy was right, that stock is a little flimsy. I'd like to see an aftermarket stock that's a little sturdier. Or maybe a plug to put in it's place so you can go without a stock at all.

Only thing I'd recommend a sling. First day out with mine, I made the mistake of hauling it around a scenario game all day without one. Ugh.
Strengths: Machined, all metal construction is Rock Solid
Long range, flat trajectory, accuracy.
Weaknesses: HEAVY!
Balance isn't great -- Waaay front heavy.
A couple of questionable engineering choices.
Review: Ok, first a little back story for those that don't already know about where these things came from; This marker used to be made under the name "Warsensor" (what does that mean anyway?), and sold with the model name "WS-66". By all accounts, WS made a good product, but as far as marketing and selling that product went, they're a bunch of straight-up clowns. I went everywhere trying to find a WS-66. I placed orders with 3 different dealers and had to cancel them all because Warsensor couldn't get their act together long enough to fill their orders. Fortunately for me, a new company called MILTEC stepped in to try to clear up these distribution problems . Seems they made a deal with the manufacturers of WS parts to sell the same guns under the new company name as the MT-66. About 2 weeks after I found MILTEC, I had my new marker. Now WS, what made that so hard for you? Fine, dorks. Now MILTEC has my money.

When I first took the marker out of the box, I was a little concerned. It was shipped with some of the parts (the RIS and barrel extension) not completely tightened on the gun. The barrel extension especially -- it rattled around during transit and the set-screws scraped some pretty good gouges in the barrel. It was only cosmetic damage, so I didn't really care. The second thing that kind of cheesed me off was the MILTEC sticker that was pasted on the upper receiver, or more specifically, what was underneath it. My gun must have been built from leftover Warsensor parts. As such, the receiver came from the manufacturer with the WS logo stamped into it. MILTEC can't sell the gun with the WS logo, so their answer was to FILE IT OFF and paste a sticker over the top of it to cover the giant gouge that the process left on the receiver. Jeez guys, could you have come up with a better solution than that? Again, this was just a cosmetic flaw. As long as it performs, I don't really care. Hopefully, that won't be an issue as soon as the WS stock gets used up.

Sound like I'm down on this gun? No way. Performance is what counts for me, and that's where this gun really shines.

What really sold me on this marker was the promises made about the hop-up barrel. It's supposed to give you the range and flat trajectory of Tippmann's Flatline barrel with better accuracy. I also use an A5 Flatline, and as far as accuracy goes my MT-66 owns it. I was able to plant shot after shot onto the tip of a 3 inch wide clothes-line pole at over 50 feet. When I missed, it wasn't by much. The 66 also gets the same flat trajectory as the Flatline. No more of having to lob balls up through tree limbs to squeeze out a little more range. All season long I've had a lot of success being able to keep ppl at arms length with that extra flat range. Without that barrel this looks like a pretty typical open bolt, stacked tube semi (albeit a very sturdy one). With the barrel, it's really something special.

What really freaked me out was the effect that broken paint had on accuracy -- little if any at all! I was using old paint, so I broke a ball or two, but they kept coming out just as straight as they had before, even though the bore was covered with paint! Anybody else notice this? If I break paint, I can finish the game nice and accurate and worry about cleanup later. I really didn't expect that. Remember my clothes-line pole? Still able to hit it just fine even with paint in the barrel. Any paint at all in my flatline and I won't be able to hit someone 10 feet in front of me -- the shots go absolutely anywhere but straight. Not the case with my MT for some reason. (?)

I also really like the stock trigger group. Trigger pull is crisp and light. Rate of fire was pretty impressive for a mechanical gun. My A-5 trigger is a little mushy compared to this one. The cross-bolt safety was a little small for me and it's hard to tell if it's on or off through a pair of gloves. I might have preferred a thumb safety over this, but this one never interferes with function. I love the formed sticky-grip. Very comfy.

The most finicky thing about the gun has to be the bolt and it's o-rings. You have to use synthetic oil on it. Natural oil will make the orings will swell and you'll get recock problems. I'm going to invest in the o-ringless delrin bolt.

I've had no problems with reliability as a result of construction or design. The only time it the gun took me out of a game was when my Qloader broke paint in the breech. I started getting the "burp/no recock" problem, and when I opened the gun up the reason became apparent; there was paint smeared all over the bolt. The problem cleared up as soon as I got the bolt cleaned and hasn't come up again since. This is something that might not be a problem at all with the delrin bolt.

There is one thing that worries me about long term longevity; the barrel retention screw. It's the screw that clamps the receiver down around the the barrel and keeps it in place. There seems to be a lot of stress where the barrel connects, especially with a Qloader mounted to the RIS, so the temptation is to really tighten that retention screw down hard. But if you tighten it too much and strip the threads the gun will be useless and I'm not so sure there's a way to fix it -- not easily anyway. I've used it all season and there hasn't been any problem. The receiver is solid as all get-out though. It may be nothing to worry about.

One other thing ppl ought to be careful of; The RIS and barrel extension are kept in place on the barrel with set-screws. That barrel isn't all that thick in places. I'm a little worried that I might dimple the inside of the barrel if I overtighten those set-screws. That would probably mean bad accuracy and broken paint. I was able to get the screws nice and snug with no problems, but if somebody got carried away they might damage the barrel.

I was impressed with the construction. It looks to me like everything is machined from solid -- no pressed/stamped parts that I can see. The fake magazine strikes me as kind of goofy, and it definitely adds weight. It's just as solid as the rest of the gun though, and it seems to protect the braided steel air hose leading into the gun so I decided to leave it on.

Disassembly takes a little time and a couple of simple tools, all of which were included with my gun. Reassembly isn't easy the first couple of times you try it. You have to line up the bolt with the striker and shove a retaining pin down through the both of them just right or it won't go together properly. I got it down pretty easily after a couple of times. It just takes practice.

Conclusion: It had a few flaws, but so what? Mine delivered where it counts -- performance. It shoots longer and more accurately than anything I've used before. It's been reliable under some hard use all season long, and with no more maintenance than any other gun I've ever used. Sure it wasn't perfect, it had a few cosmetic dings, but performance and reliability more than made up for it. I'm giving it a 9.0

One other thing; I saw that Warsensor was warning people off of MILTEC as a "lookalike" brand.

From the Warsensor website;

*"While the products produced by MILTEC look similar to Armotech and War Sensor products they are not." *

What a big, stinking, steaming Load.

Remember my "Warsensor" logo problem? They're the same parts from the same manufacturers. It's the same gun, just distributed by a competent business.

And No, I don't work for MILTEC. I just bought an excellent gun from them, that's all.

DoB
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Monday, December 5th, 2005 at 6:19 am PST
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

V-Rod Thursday, October 13th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann 98
Tipmann A-5
Marker Setup: MilTec MT66-CQB (WS-66 SR)
Red Laser
Scope
R.I.S rails and handguard upgrade
Composite bolt
S2k Electronic hopper
Recommended
Upgrades:
Composite Bolt
Scope
Red Laser
R.I.S handguard upgrade
Shoulder Sling
S2k Electronic hopper
Strengths: Heavy feel strong realistic
Accurate solid feel
Remote Air -line hookup on magazine.
Weaknesses: Only weaknesses is the Stock its light weight & cheap feeling
Review: I just purchased this market I had a highly customized A-5 and this marker puts it to shame realistically its weight and feel are so good very sturdy and strong . Accurate solid shooting. Gas trough magazine with remote hookup is awsome! Virtually every thing is metal the only bad thing is the stock its really light weight plastic. Other than that this is as real as it gets Wow!!! I will follow up once I actually get to the field with it can't wait to show it off and see the responces.
Conclusion: If your looking for a realistic scenario marker and want to turn heads this is it! I was able to get mine upgraded right on the spot by Jim @ Devil Mountain Sports. outstanding reps for this manufacture great product knowledge & tremendous customer service!
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, October 13th, 2005 at 9:20 am PST
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media