paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Tippmann Cyclone Feed System / Tippmann Cyclone Feed System / Tippmann Cyclone Feed System / Tippmann Cyclone Feed System

Tippmann Cyclone Feed System Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Tippmann

Buy Tippmann Cyclone Feed System

Paintball Custom 98 Accessories

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Tippmann Cyclone Feed System
[ View Photos (18) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 96
Average Rating: 9.1 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: N/A

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Now you can give your 98 or 98 Custom marker the same advantages as the A-5!

Features:

* Links the feeder sprocket to the air system
* Synchronized ball feed for reduced breakage and jamming
* The faster you shoot, the faster you feed!
* Feeds up to 15 balls per second
* Includes wide mouthed 200 round hopper
* Attaches via quick release elbow
Product Availability 
The Tippmann Cyclone Feed System is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (10):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
ANGRYPAINTBALL3 Monday, September 12th, 2011
Period of
Product Use:
4 years
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Most electric hoppers.
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98 Custom Platinum with e-grip
Rap4 18 inch riled barrel with sound amp tip
Tippmann 98 platinum expansion chamber
Tippmann cyclone feed with low profile hopper and exalt speed feed
JCS red hot power tube
Rap4 venturi star aluminum front bolt
Rocket cock rear bolt
TechT complete cyclone upgrade
Rap4 carry handle and aluminum front sight
TechT fang trrigger
Strengths: Good feed for gun.
Weaknesses: Not very fast.
Review: I love my cyclone feed system. It works great with my 98. But it is kinda slow when you get it stock. 13 bps it was great but after that it started to misfeed. but to fix that all you need is a TechT cyclone upgrade and then you've got yourself a 30 bps hopper. Its also great that it runs off of your co2 and not batteries because then you don't have to worry about running out during the day, you just have to monitor your air.
Conclusion: Works great, even better deal. 10 out of 10 on tippmanns for great preformance.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Amras86 Thursday, May 20th, 2010
Period of
Product Use:
6 months5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
Stock feed system
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98 Custom Basic
Flatline Barrel w/ Tactical Rails
GTA Expansion Chamber
Double Trigger
TechT Hair Pin Trigger Kit
Cyclone Feed System (Votex Mod, Lightning Rod, Squishy Paddles, QEPH)
Low Profile Hopper
Collapsible Stock
Red Hot Power Tube w/ Derlin Bolt
TechT Zero Kick Hammer
Response Trigger
Remote Line
Adjustable M16 Sight Rail

Tippmann Bravo One
G36 Barrel
Cyclone Feed System
Aluminum Power Tube w/ Derlin Bolt
E-Grip

Tippmann TPX
Remote Line Adapter
TechT Low Pressure Spring Kit
Strengths: Faster RoF
Reduced Ball Breakage
Easy Install
Weaknesses: Balls Bounce
Stock Plastic Parts
Review: First of all, I love this upgrade. So much so that I have one for my Tippmann 98 Custom and my Bravo One. It was the first upgrade I bought for both of my markers. I find it hard to use my JT Tac5 because of the fact it can't use the cyclone feed. I find it hard to use any Tippmann marker without it.

Strengths:
You definitely get a faster rate of fire. You don't necessarily get the faster RoF you'd first think of. The marker fires no faster then you could previously pull the trigger but now you are 99.9% guaranteed to have a ball in the chamber. It also loads balls in such a way that greatly reduces ball breakage. I have seen balls break in this thing but not as often then without it. To install this add-on could not be any more simple. You just take out the powertube plug and screw in the screw that is on the air line of the cyclone feed. Snap in the cyclone feed to the marker and you're off to wreak havoc.

Weaknesses:
I find when your hopper gets low on paint, the stock plastic paddles tend to make the balls bounce so you start to get empty chambers. Its not a big deal but it can be troublesome. I am not a fan of the mass amount of plastic parts in this product. It just smells of plastic that is eventually going to wear out. The piston is plastic, the ratchet is plastic. Everything. Only metal part I think is the tension pin to hold the ratchet in place. TechT has a line of products to replace the plastic in this. I will review each one of them individually as I have them all in my cyclone feed system.
Conclusion: If you own a Tippmann marker capable of using this upgrade. GET IT! You will have instant results and you will learn to not live without it. It also opens the doors for more upgrades to help you out.

Score: 9

I give it a 9. I know I sound like I absolutely love it and will give it an unbiased opinion, but I just simply can't get over the plastic. If you get one, take it apart to check how it works and you will probably be surprised just how much plastic is in there.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

98ps_tippmann Tuesday, March 30th, 2010
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested0 of 15 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
Stock hopper.
Marker Setup: tippmann 98 platinum ACT
response trigger
jsc red alumium power tube
flatline barrel
stock hopper
24 oz co2
Strengths: Haven't used one yet but heard many good things.
Weaknesses: Nothing yet.
Review: I have read many good things about this hopper and is thinking about purchasing one, but in one condition. I was wondering if i have to get the cyclone feed and response trigger adapter. i have a 98 platinum series ACT with response trigger. Any suggestions or advice would be very helpful.
Conclusion: Don't know yet but i'll give it a 10 because of all the good things i've read about.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Vex22 Thursday, March 4th, 2010
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
None
Marker Setup: Apex Barrel
Cyclone Hopper
E-trigger
Us. Army Project Salvo
Strengths: Doesn't chop any paintballs
Weaknesses: Blocks View a little
Review: Before this feed syestem I was chopping balls way more then I wanted to. The second I learned about this I went out and bought it. And ladies and gentlemen, let me tell you it was the best way to spend money. This feed syestem allows my E-trigger to work to full potential, I can shoot 15 balls a second and all 15 balls will fly out at my scared target. Also i feel less wasteful as the excess air is what is being used to power it. I like it way more then my friend's electronic hoppers which make so much noise, that sneaking is immpossible.
Conclusion: This is a great investment, go and buy it right now if you want to improve you paintball game.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

pbking44 Saturday, January 23rd, 2010
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Stock loader - sucks compared to cyclone feeder
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98 Custom A.C.T. - Response Trigger, Cyclone Feeder, X-7 hopper, J&J 20 inch ceramic barrel, Apex Tip
Strengths: Fast, runs off co2, no batteries required
Weaknesses: Been known to chop soft paintballs
Review: The cyclone feeder is a great product, it's far better than a stock loader. It keeps up with my fast tuned response trigger. If you use hard paintballs then you won't have any problems at all, soft paintballs are another story. Also you shouldn't have to shoot much faster than 15 paintballs per second. A good upgrade would probably be soft or squishy pads to replace the hard plastic ones on the inseide. This should greatly reduce chopping.
Conclusion: A great loader, I would reccomend this to all my friends. It's everything you need for a great paintball loader.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Vertigo_07 Sunday, January 3rd, 2010
Period of
Product Use:
2 years
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
I can't say there's anything quite like the Cyclone feed, insofar as being a pneumatically assisted loading mechanism.
Marker Setup: Stock White/Blue Planet Eclipse SL8R, Empire Prophecy, Ninja Paintball 50 ci/4500 PSI stubby tank



Backup marker:
Tippmann 98 Custom w/ autococker->98 barrel adapter, Empire two-piece 14" barrel, DYE rotor loader, DXS 45/3000 N2 tank.
Strengths: Decent loading speed
no batteries needed
Weaknesses: Air hog
weak internals
awkward to clean
unreliable
large target
Review: The Cyclone feed came along with the tippmann X7 I bought almost two years ago. After putting it through all manner of tests (including quite a few speedball games), here's my review.

The Cyclone feed is notably the only air-assisted loading system around. It needs no batteries. You fire, and the loader is powered by excess air from the firing process. This is, however, one more seal to maintain, and can quickly turn the system into a bit of an air hog.

Though the cyclone can hold its own when used with a semi-auto trigger, its internals can't handle high rates of fire. The stock plastic ratchet (the part that connects the piston pushed by air and the paddles that feed the paintballs) will wear down and eventually break every few thousand rounds, and this process is vastly accelerated if you throw an e-trigger into the mix (like I did). However, upgrading the ratchet to an aluminum version will cause the paddles to lose the give that the plastic ratchet allowed during firing. This will turn your cyclone into a blender.

Should a paintball break in the cyclone, it's pretty awkward to clean thoroughly, requiring the removal of several screws, one of which requires a very small allen key not included with the marker. Failing to clean the cyclone completely will, at best, affect your accuracy; at worst, it'll turn you entire hopper to soup as one ball after another swells after sitting in paint.

The cyclone, in being a large, bulky appendage on the outer portion of the gun, tends to be a large target. Shots that would otherwise go wide might find their mark on the bulky base of the cyclone. This might not be as much of an issue in large, open engagements, but if you're in close quarters, you might want to take this into consideration.
Conclusion: The cyclone feed is an improvement over the basic gravity fed hopper; it maintains an absence of batteries while delivering higher rates of fire. However, the internals are vulnerable to wear and tear, and the expense (and time) required in its upkeep will run as much or more as an electronic hopper.

In conclusion: if you don't have to, don't bother with the cyclone. If you have 150 dollars to spend on a loader (as you will with a fully upgraded cyclone system), you'd be much better advised to go with a rotor or prophecy. I give it a 6/10 for being an improvement over a gravity hopper... but not by much.
Rating:
6 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

dylanc Saturday, January 2nd, 2010
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
nothing is comparable to the cyclone feed. As in there is no air powered hoppers.
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98c platinum ACT, tippmann cyclone feed,
Strengths: Does what its sposed to, less chops noticeably.
Weaknesses: Weak, not that much of a difference from gravity feed.
Review: Its a good addition to the tippmann i will say that to start. the tippmann just isnt right without it. Its not as good as electronic hoppers in my opinion, and sometimes can be more expensive. And its not the most durable thing either. the screw that attaches to the gun to get air (banjo feed to be technical.) just broke recently on me. Its a hollow low grade aluminum screw. Overall I give it a 7/10. It's better than a gravity feed.
EDIT: Tippmann sent me new parts for free quickly! Greatest customer support ever.
I sent a message asking if i could get a new banjo fitting or if i have to send the whole thing in. I get a response saying I will send you a new power tube. ( this confused me a little bit. I guess he thought I got the screw stuck in the tube.) Soon enough, the banjo fittings and a new power tube come in with a flatline barrel i ordered a week ago. I update to 9/10 because that made the hopper a lot more durable if you can just change up the part Without paying 6$ and shipping.
Conclusion: Buy this if you own a tippmann. It fits the gun well. and in my opinion the tippmanns not right without it. Of course theres better. and theres worse. just be careful with the screw unlike me >.>
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, January 14th, 2010 at 7:13 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

TMZ517 Monday, July 27th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
a-5 with cyclone
Marker Setup: tippmann 98 custom platinum series with ACT
M4 stock
16" m16 barrel with bi pod and tri-rail add on
Barret 50 caliber sniper rifle laser
Strengths: Very reliable
Weaknesses: Not fast enough for me
Review: I have been looking through the reviews of this product and noticed that some people have said that to install a cyclone feed system to a 98 custom you have to drill a hole in the marker/gun. and i havee many upgrade with some home customizations but i dont want to change anything on my gun the could perminately change the way my gun fires in a bad way. so, though my reveiw is not very helpful, im hoping the comments i recieve will be....(please read conclusion)
Conclusion: so my final question is. i have a tippmann 98 custom platinum series with A.C.T., will i have to drill any holes in my gun to make the cyclone feeder fit?
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

rockerninja329 Saturday, July 18th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
none (except a stock hopper which is more air efficient, but less bps)
Marker Setup: '98 custom pro with RT, double trigger, flatline barrel kit,long bow stock dropforward, remote line.
Strengths: Higher bps, especially when combined with an RT , no batteries
Weaknesses: Higher air usage, as it operates with air, also a higher profile.
Review: The cyclone feed is for those who want to upgrade to a better hopper,but without needing batteries. Excellent for scenario ballers. combined with the RT youll be shooting ropes of paint in no time. However its only drawback is that you use more air, especially if you have an rt installed but its a good upgrade nonetheless.
Conclusion: Excellent for woodsball. May reduce in effectiveness on speedball fields due to a higher profile, but still manageable.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

helloimlam Sunday, March 8th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
ricochet apache (from a friend) - this require batteries
Marker Setup: tippmann c98 pro:

- longbow stock
- lapco 14" bigshot
- double trigger
- response trigger
- cyclone feed system
- TechT squishy paddles
- Tac-cap
- tiberius tri-rail riser
- 1x40 tapco reddot sight
Strengths: - Mechanical (no batteries)
- Sturdy
- Strong external plastic
- Price (60 bucks)
Weaknesses: - Chops balls when firing past 13 bps
- Huge stock hopper
- Internal parts are fragile
Review: This product is actually worth about 130-150 bucks in the end with all the upgrades it needs to actually work properly. my internal stock parts haven't broke yet (whew) but i've seen a lot of people go into a nearby pro-shop replacing their internal parts. so far i've only gotten the squishy pads for the feeder because the stock pads kept chopping my balls when i fire past 13 bps - the squishy pads solved that problem, yay.
Conclusion: If you want to fire past 13-15 bps, get the upgrades such as the vortex mod and squishy pads for your cyclone feed. You don't really have to waste your money on the lightning rod and QEPH.

if not, dun consider getting a response trigger or trigger or they'll chew up your cyclone feed.

I give it a 6 for the horrible stock parts. would be a 9-10 if tippmann included the upgrades with the cyclone feed.
Rating:
6 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment
                            
Pages (10):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media