paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / PMI Pure Energy Regulator / PMI Pure Energy Regulator / PMI Pure Energy Regulator / PMI Pure Energy Regulator

PMI Pure Energy Regulator Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount PMI

Buy PMI Pure Energy Regulator

Paintball Regulators

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


PMI Pure Energy Regulator
[ View Photos (1) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 64
Average Rating: 7.2 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: N/A

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
This regulator is adjustable from 200psi - 800 psi and 800-1200psi output pressure. Available in chrome (pictured) and black.
Product Availability 
The PMI Pure Energy Regulator is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (7):  First  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7
        Next Page
Unregistered User Friday, June 29th, 2001
Strengths: I was having a lot of problems with freeze up on my Rainmaker. I had the PC! Pure Energy Regulator installed and it made a great difference. I run it with CO2 and a anti-siphon tank.
Great looks.
Makes a great grip but I use the shroud on the Rainmaker.
Cheaper than the Palmer regulator on my Micromag.
My Rainmaker shoots "constant" at around 285.
Doesn't freeze up on full-auto.
Made the Rainmaker a lot better gun period.
Weaknesses: So far I have nothing bad to report.
Conclusion: A great buy for the money and if I have problems with down the road and I can always get an expansion chamber or a regulator from Palmer's.
I would say it is worth the money if you are thinking about putting a regulator on your gun (marker for PC people).
For the cost, looks and function of this regulator I decided to give it a 10.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Monday, June 25th, 2001
 
1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.
Strengths: The size and finish was nice, makes a good front grip and has smooth contours that won't hurt your hand. It worked alright for the first few games, but that's about it.
Weaknesses: The only bad thing about this reg is the lame adjusting screw. The way it is made does not include a set or the ability to lock the PSI adjustment when you reach a desired pressure. The PSI adjustment is simple, but it needs a lock down to prevent the adjustment screw from backing out during play.
Conclusion: For 40 bucks it would be worth the money if there was a lock down method after making adjustments. The need to continually visit the chronograph makes this thing a dud. The screw always came loose and the varing pressures made this reg useless. I tried some blue lock-tite on the adjusting screw but it still backed out after just a few games. Regulators are made to eliminate the ups and downs of pressure... this one might, but can't due to its design lacking a set. I was very disappointed and would not advise anyone to buy this reg. Save your money and get the Palmers.
Rating:
3 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

joesnuffie Thursday, June 7th, 2001
Strengths: Great price and performance. My Tippmann Custom 98 was eating c02, the tank was getting really cold and accuracy was unpredictable. I was originally going to add an expansion chamber to assist, but living in HOT Florida and the great performance of the reg had made me decide not to do it. Even in sustained rapid fire, the reg barely gets cool.
Weaknesses: That annoying sticker. My fingernail dispatched it quite effectively, though.
Conclusion: For what I paid, I think I got a great deal. It has allowed me to get the full potential from my Custom 98, 14" J&J Ceramic and 13" Armson Stealth. I reccommend this to anyone who wants to improve their co2 performance.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Tuesday, June 5th, 2001
 
1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.
Strengths: Pros:

1) Price: it's cheap. I got mine for $38 on ebay.

2) Makes a nice foregrip.

3) Swivelling base makes installation really easy.

4) Seems to refresh well; I haven't had any shootdown problems.
Weaknesses: Cons:

1) It HATES liquid CO2. I've played with it four times, and it has blown 5 O-rings in that time (one evening it blew three before I even got on the field). I've ordered an angled drop forward stock which should help keep liquid out of the reg. In the event that this does not work I also ordered an expansion chamber as a replacement for it.

2) adjustment screw: the adjustment screw has a tendency to creep loose and drop out while firing. Fortunately for me, this happened at the chrono station, so I screwed it back in and put some black electrical tape over the bottom. If the angled drop forward succeeds at keeping liquid out of the reg, I'll apply some light LocTite, chrono, and let the LocTite set (and still leave the tape on).
Conclusion: 1) Were I to do it again I would have gone for the Palmer Stabilizer instead.

2) The documentation should clearly state that it is not for use with CO2.

3) The adjustment screw's tendency to work loose negates the whole purpose of the regulator. If the adjustment screw is constantly working loose and mucking up your velocity setting, why bother?

4) PMI's customer service people were not very helpful in pointing me to an O-ring supplier, and in retrospect I should have bought more O-rings once they finally referred me to one.

5) it is quite easy to install and strip (which is good, because I find myself doing this quite frequently).

All in all, I cannot say that I am happy with this product, and am giving it a 3 - Not very good.
Rating:
3 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

Unregistered User Monday, May 7th, 2001
Strengths: It's cheap and works great for the $42.00. I have an Automag Classic W/Powerfeed and you have to buy an Automag verticle bottle adapter to put a reg on this gun. But otherwise I LOVE this reg. Like all of the other reviews said, if u don't have the $100 or so abouts for a good ANS or Palmer reg, definately get this reg. My accuracy went up a lot, and so did my # of shots per tank fill.
Weaknesses: The only bad thing is that with an Automag, you have to buy an adapter, but that s ok. Please people, it's a damn sticker, just take it off!!!
Conclusion: This reg is definately worth the money!!!!!!!! If you get this it is definately worth every penny. I GUARENTEE you will gett better accuracy and shots per fill with this reg!!!
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, January 29th, 2005 at 7:35 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Monday, April 9th, 2001
Strengths: i have won on my 2kcocker and it 's off heezee!!! fo sheezee!!!! it shoot's consistently r ight around 285 to 277 not bad for a reg that cost 50 buck's
Weaknesses: The oniy bad thing i could think of is the reg has a space between the air receiver which is not that bad.
Conclusion: for the money this is the reg to get and i would suggest that you would but this reg if you're on a budget.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Rob1313 Tuesday, March 27th, 2001
Strengths: this is only the first reg that i have gotten so i don't really have anything to base it on, but so far it has been amazing, i've only used it a few times, but the refresh rate is excellent, it looks cool and it's really simple to install, i have it on my m98 w/ a lapco bigshot barrell and it is amazingly accurate, i was looking at the other reviews and i wanted to give it a good score b/c that idiot that gave it a 4 ruined its rating...
Weaknesses: there isn't too much wrong w/ it, yeah it's no palmer, but it doesn't have that price either, it's a amazing buy for the price and the performance matches it, the only thing that i could complain about is the stupid ring at the botton, it's a pain to get off to change the o ring, but w/ a little work it can be done
Conclusion: my conclusion is is that you can't go wrong w/ this regulator, as i said i've only used it a couple of times, but it has been nothing but perfect so far, my shots are dead accurate, i would reccomend this to anyone, even if you have the money to waste on a high price reg
i give it a 10, b/c the performace is definately worth the price, you can't go wrong with it
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Dman Saturday, March 17th, 2001
Strengths: Cheap!!! I got mine for $40. I bought it because it is externally adjustable...and I wanted to be have that ability on my cocker. It keeps pretty consistant pressure for the the money. I also like the way it looks.
Weaknesses: It's no Palmer, but its a damn good reg. It has worked good the last few times that I have used it. I hope it keeps working this good.
Conclusion: Overall I would recommend it for the Paintballer on a budget. If you can afford it get a Palmer or an ANS reg. Both have better consistancy and the ability to tap an external guage. Good luck...and splat them all...let God sort em out.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Cory Tuesday, February 27th, 2001
Strengths: It is inexpensive i got mine for 29.95 at a local store, it looks good (especially the chrome), it works moderatly.
Weaknesses: It can't keep a consistant pressure. I guess you get what you pay for. I don't reccomend this reg unless you are on a tight budget.
Conclusion: I think it is worth the 30 bucks...but is still isn't good. Do yourself a favor and don't buy this. You'll regret it. It's not worth a ten, nor a one...but it is a little below the middle thats why i give it a 4.
Rating:
4 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Monday, February 12th, 2001
Strengths: Inexpensive, looks ok, swivel body design, easily serviced, external adjustment.
Weaknesses: Design won't let you tap a gauge (thats only if youre a gauge pansy), external adjustment can feel loose if gun hasnt been gassed and cycled a few times.
Conclusion: I bought this because I wanted to replce the stock reg on my cocker with one that was externally adjustable. For 43 dollars, this has to be the best deal on the planet. It looks good, provides plenty of useable grip (not super good looking or anything though) and is seemingly very durable. A nice feature is that the ASA can rotate independently of the grip, so you can disconnect it from the vertical position without taking off any lines. Thats slick. I took it out for an aggressive day of play and it worked beautifully. No leaks, no pressure drop, and excelent refresh rate. The only really bad thing is that it may look ugly on some guns. It has made adjusting for max velocity and distance with optimum efficiancy a breeze. Anyone thinking o getting a reg should DEFENITELY purchase this unless you have gobs of money to blow on useless crap.
A guy I play with recently bought a $110 genX for his shutter and i beat him into paintball submission and made him cry. Oh...wait. It wan't the reg, its the fact that he was using a crap shutter. My bad.
defenitely a well deserved 10 because you just can't find all of these features at anywhere near this price. even a stock WPG is twice as much.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (7):  First  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media