paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Tapco A-5 SAW Stock / Tapco A-5 SAW Stock / Tapco A-5 SAW Stock / Tapco A-5 SAW Stock

Tapco A-5 SAW Stock Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Tapco

Buy Tapco A-5 SAW Stock

Paintball A-5 Accessories

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Tapco A-5 SAW Stock
[ View Photos (4) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 20
Average Rating: 8.9 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $50

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Designed to fit on the Tippman A-5
Modeled after the M249 SAW (Squad Automatic Weapon)
Reduces reload time – flip-up butt plate allows easy reloading while marker still rests on your shoulder
Cutout design allows easy target acquisition even when wearing protective gear
Made in the U.S.A.
Lifetime warranty


Product Availability 
The Tapco A-5 SAW Stock is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (2):  1  |  2
                            
Asmodeus112 Wednesday, March 8th, 2006
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Proteam Commando f/x
Marker Setup: I am using the tippmann A5 with r/c, 14" progressive, and of course the A5 SAW Stock
Strengths: Very durable ( military grade plastic), looks cool, doesnt empede sighting too badly
Weaknesses: must remove ASA on grip and use direct feed into marker. see below
Review: Before i had the SAW Stock, i was using the Proteam Commando stock. I never realized just how much of a difference it made by not being able to sight down my gun with a mask on. Now i have to admit, sometimes the adjustability of the Proteam stock was convenient, but in all truth i barely ever used it. The SAW stock doesnt allow you to look down your sight rail perfectly, but pretty close. It is much better in that aspect than the Proteam. When i first put it on, it felt a little back-heavy but when i filled the hopper with paint it balanced out. The main downside is that you cannot attach a 12oz or 20 oz co2 tank. a 9oz may fit but i doubt it. you have to remove the ASA from the bottom of the grip, disconnect the CO2 line and directly attach your tank to the CO2 port located in front of the trigger frame. unless of course you are running remote. On the bright side, my snapshooting improved drastically as i got used to quickly and efficiently looking down my sightrail.
Conclusion: I would normally give it a 9 or 10 but because of the trouble with CO2 attachment, i have to give it an 8 ( actually an 8.5)
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
3 Comments - Add Comment

Nwilson Friday, February 10th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
2 years5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Marker Setup: Tippmann A5 with a 14" smart parts progressive, JCS trigger/Egrip, tapco SAW stock, BSA Red dot mounted on Lapco Offset sight rail, Scepter grenade launcher, Opsgear SIG magazine, Allen paintball remote, Flurry Vest. Female Palmers Stab....

SPyder Imagine - 14" J&J Ceramic, Evo2, 20oz CO2

Spyder Agressor - Stock
Strengths: No wobble/rattle, downward angle allows use of sights while wearing a mask.
Weaknesses: VERY tight fit, can be difficult to install.
Review: The biggest reason I purshaced this stock was because the overall design was well suited to my style of play. I have a BSA red dot scope on my A-5 and other stocks would not allow me to look thogh the scope while wearing a mask without either raising the scope or offsetting it to the side of the gun. The downward angle incorperated into the SAW style of stock allows enough room to place yor head low enough to use a scope or your gun sights while wearing a mask. The construction of the stock has proven to be very durable, and is made of a light but apparantly very strong plastic. Once attached to the gun there is little to no movement, and absolutely no rattle. The only difficulty I have had with this product was with the installation. The fit with the gun is VERY tight. This is good in that it keeps the stock firmly in place, however the downside for me was that I broke the top stud while attaching it to my gun for the first time. The problem was made right, hovever, as Tapco has a lifetime guarantee on this product and shipped me a new one free of charge. On the second stock I simple drilled the holes on the attachement studs slightly larger and had no problems with installation the second time.

NOTE: You should know that a 20OZ CO2 tank will NOT fit with this stock attached. You will need aither a remote or a drop to allow it's use.
Conclusion: I have had this attached to my gun for well over a year now and it has served me well through the toughest of scenario games. Althogh installaion can slightly difficult, it has proven to be a good product from a good company.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Friday, November 17th, 2006 at 8:27 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Hiccup Friday, January 6th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
A-5 without stock
Marker Setup: Tippmann A-5 with:
CP One Piece Classic Barrel
SAW Combat Stock
Pro-Team Products Intruder Foregrip
Strengths: Sturdy, snug fit in the gun
Improved accuracy and stability
Weaknesses: Can be hard to install, no biggy though
Blocks 20 oz tank
Review: This is an awesome addition to the A-5. As a fairly new paintballer, I was in quite the rush to put some cool stuff on my gun as fast as possible. I'm glad that I got this stock and I feel like it was a great choice. My first time paintballing I had this stock and I still remember it as one of my greatest days as far as eliminating opponents, a fact which I credit greatly to this stock. I had shot plenty of real guns before I got into paintball, and I believe that since this stock makes your A-5 feel like a real gun that you can really aim, it improves my accuracy greatly. This stock allows me to stablize the gun shot after shot and with good paint and a good barrel, put ball the ball right where I need it every time. I recently spent a day paintballing without my stock just to see how I would do and noticed a drop in my game. The only downside is that you do have to use quite a bit of force to get it on. I used a rubber mallet to pound it into the gun, but it's all worth it when the stock is installed and sits solid as a rock. As far as it getting in the way of a 20 oz tank unless you have a drop forward or foregrip/expansion chamber like I do, the A-5 benefits from these mods too because they help balances the gun. It's still worth it.
Conclusion: Get it. It's worth every penny if you like to throw strings of paint at your opponent. Shot to shot consistency is amazing. I personally wasn't thrilled about spending another $30 for a drop forward or $60 for my Intruder foregrip/expansion chamber (I went for the foregrip, something I will never regret, it rocks) but it really does make a difference.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Renegade blue59 Wednesday, December 28th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Sniper Stock
Marker Setup: Tippmann A-5, E-grip, flatine w/ holed machine gun shroud, AK47 Mag, SAW Stock, ASR-1 sight rail, inturder gas foregrip, red JCS bolt and powerhouse, 88/4500 pure energy HPA, HPA power coil
Strengths: VERY stiff, excellent aiming, reliable, and i duno what else
Weaknesses: None
Review: well im a person who trys to eliminate the bads, cuz all pball products have worked for me with no prob.

well this stock is the best and only best one you will want so all your needs no questions asked. the only dissapiontment with the tapco version is its kinda of hard to get on......wanna know why? its for the stabablity!!!! lol. but an east way to put this on is......unscrew the screw thats at the top end of the gun [below the sight], then well, what i did was take off the grip which isnt hard, just take that off and put the stock in, might need some muscle but is MUCH easyer than slamming it against the wall to get it on!

this stock is sweet, no need to spend $72 on a scep ops one cuz this one is like $30 on ebay.
Conclusion: 10....no dout, its just the best. so dont get frustrated on getting it on the harder way cuz theres a shortcut, just read me lol


GET IT!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

Hobbes Black Sunday, October 30th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
None
Marker Setup: Tippmann A-5
20oz
SAW stock
Remote
All American
Strengths: See Review
Weaknesses: See Review
Review: I got the stock as a birthday present, and it's great. When all the other reviews say that it's difficult to install they're not joking, it really is. I had no problem getting the top pin in but i had to tap the bottom one in with a hammer. This results in absolutely no wobble at all. The only problem with how tight it is is you may find yourself reluctant to dissassemble your marker, it's a pain to get off.
Whether or not you can see down the sights depends on what mask you have. I have a VForce Vantage. I can still use the sights, but you it takes a bit longer to acquire a target than it normally would. I would reccomend a red dot sight. I won't take this off the mark of the stock though, as with many you can't see the sights at all.
It's completely made out of plastic, but it's incredibly solid. The flip plate in my opinion isn't really too useful, but it looks cool.
Conclusion: All around great stock. If you like the looks, go for it. 9 because it's a pain to get on and off.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

bmessmer Wednesday, October 12th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
6 months5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
Tasco Folding Stock
Marker Setup: A-5
JJ Ceramic Barrel 16"
Response Trigger
Iron Sights
Remote
Saw Stock
Strengths: Increditably light
sturdy
NO WOBBLE
hinged shoulder support allows for easy 1 handed reload
Weaknesses: Hard to put on!!!
Review: This is a great stock. If you like to snipe or just like the extra support this is the stock to go with. It is exceptionally hard to put on but if you loosen the back top screws (on the body) it fits perfectly. BUY this stock you will not regret it.
Conclusion: Buy it. Try it. Love it.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

IronCorps Friday, October 7th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
6 months2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
M4 stocks
Marker Setup: Icon E, Empire Reloader II, Dead-on X-core 8-stage expansion chamber, 16"J&J Ceramic Barrel, t-board, break beam eyes, the list goes on and on.
Strengths: It looks friggin awesome. Steadies your marker quite nicely.
Weaknesses: Not adjustable. Cant effectively use iron-sights.
Review: Since they dont have reviews for the M98 version of this stock, this'll be the closest ill be getting.

This stock is really nice. I slapped a Navy ROTC sticker on it, and it looked really bada$$. However, i resorted to taping a toothpick to my gun to use as my aiming reticule. Overall, its all about looks. It gives you a real rifle-like feel, and with the plate flipped up, it lightens the load on your arms. Its a really nice, quality made product.
Conclusion: I wouldnt necessarily reccomend this since its not a performance upgrade (kinda dead wieght), but its all about looks in this situation, and in that case, the looks cant be beat. It looks totally sick on my M98.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Marine786 Saturday, September 10th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
1 year11 of 11 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
JCS Vodoo Stock
Marker Setup: A-5 (in digital camo),modded LPK kit, E-grip, SAW stock, Remote, Lapco Milsim handle, polished internals, female palmer, r-5, Crossfire 88/4500, Flatline, 12" bigshot, BOA barrel, UMS modded Lapco offset rail. swatforce tactical red dot scope
Strengths: NO WOBBLE!, Lifetime warrenty, ergonomics
Weaknesses: A little hard to get on
Review: I was in the market for a good stock. My previous stock, a jcs voodoo, was nice, but it had the infamous stock wobble. I was looking for something that would be rock soild, and be a nice shootin platform. That is when I found the Tapco SAW stock at hotshot paintball

I posted on A5OG for any information on this stock. The people that own them LOVED them. They said it fixed stock wobble, although it was a little hard to get on. I have always loved the look of the SAW stock, so i figured I would buy it.

After ordering it, it came the next day, (Thanks hotshot). I took out the 2 back pins and removed the end cap. For some reason, it just wouldnt fit. I ended up having to lossen the 2 screws that are underneath the grip frame. I finally installed it, after a little hard work.

It was rock soild, as it should be considering it was new. After using it for a couple of months, it was still rock solid, which I was happy about.
Conclusion: I highly reccomend this stock. Its easy to sight down the barrel and its rock solid. If you ever have problems with it, just call up Tapco, seeing as how it has a lifetime warrenty. It gets a 9, because it is a little bit of a pain to install, but I am sure that helps it from not wobbling.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

stupido Friday, August 26th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
32 degrees remote
Tippmann m98
Marker Setup: Tippmann A-5,32 degrees remote,tapco m249 stock
Strengths: -Sturdy fix
-Good support
-Not that expensive
Weaknesses: -Really hard to install had to hit it in place
Review: -I have bin using it for almost a week and i haven't had problems with it it os very durable plastic and looks real good on the gun and had a lot of complements
hmmmm.... what else to put down....not really good if you aim u most use raised sights and u cant fit a 20oz co2 under you most use a df or a remote
Conclusion: I do recommend it if u want to give your gun a military look and want good support
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Darthpredator Saturday, August 13th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Adjustable stock (m4 style) on Tippmann 98C
Marker Setup: Tippmann A-5, Tapco Saw Stock, 32* Remote
Tippmann 98C, Flatline, Adj. Stock
ViewLoader Orion
Strengths: Strong, Looks, Price
Weaknesses: Hard to install, 20oz CO2 won't fit, need a riser for sights.
Review: Even thought installing a Stock on the A-5 is Easy, it was a bit hard to install this one. It almost didn't fit. I have to push it in so hard to get the pins to go trough. When installing the grip pin the right side of the grip did not align so well and I ended up breaking the grip. Other than that it is a great addition to my gun. Sturdy, stylish
Conclusion: Out off all other grips available, this one is the best one. Have to rate it with an 8 for the issues explained in the weaknesses section.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (2):  1  |  2
                            
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media