paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / BT Paintball Design Apex Barrel System / BT Paintball Design Apex Barrel System / BT Paintball Design Apex Barrel System

BT Paintball Design Apex Barrel System Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount BT Paintball Design

Buy BT Paintball Design Apex Barrel System

Paintball Barrels

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


BT Paintball Design Apex Barrel System
[ View Photos (21) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 168
Average Rating: 8.7 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $140

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The Apex Barrel system is redefining how the game is played. With unmatched distance along with accuracy you will be able to hit more targets then before.

Features:

On/Off capability
Hit previously untouchable targets with new curve feature.
Adjustable ramp switch - choose the desired level of the curve.
Left hook, right hook, drop shot and long flat trajectory shots with a twist of the barrel.
Easy to " Dial in " targets and change the level of curve.
Easy to clean

Compatible models - Fits all popular barrel threads including:

BT-4/ BT-16
Tippmann A-5/ Tippmann 98
Intimidator/Autococker
Spyder/Mongoose
/VL/BE Impulse
Angel
Product Availability 
The BT Paintball Design Apex Barrel System is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (17):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
Bosley17 Saturday, April 30th, 2011
Period of
Product Use:
2 years
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Stock barrel
Marker Setup: BT-4 Combat w/ buttstock, apex barrel, remote line, & nitrogen
T68 Gen 3 Pistol
Recommended
Paintballs:
Barrel system does not require any particular brand, but finding the right barrel-to-bore match would be best (unfortunately, I am not sure what it is).
Strengths: - Accuracy
- Features allow new strategies during play
Weaknesses: - Learning curve (no pun intended)
- Thourough cleaning takes more work than other barrels
Review: The BT-4 Apex barrel system is a unique choice for a barrel, as it is the only system which allows the player to "dial in" the drop of the paintball and its curve. The barrel does provide more options during play, as it allows the player to suppress targets and possibly hit them from angles which any other barrel can not do.

Strengths
This is a accurate system, but it is only as accurate as the player whom uses it. Someone who is unfamiliar with it may find it to be difficult to use, but once you familiarize with the features of the barrel, then you can achieve accuracy and distance surpassing the flatline system. The greatest accuracy and distance can be achieved using the "super drop" mode, but the shots need to be arced fairly high. Turning the barrel "off" disables its ability to curve and it acts almost exactly like the BT-4 combat stock barrel.

Weaknesses
The barrel system is quite hard to master, though. You will spend a great deal of time practicing and learning its features (I've used this barrel for two years and I still haven't fully grasped it yet).

This barrel also is more work to clean, as you need to unscrew the tip before you can clean it completely. This isn't a big issue, but it is a minor annoyance.

This barrel system doesn't allow you to hit everything which aim your sights on; it does have its limitations as any barrel. Those who are expecting this should probably look into high-end barrels or getting high-end markers.
Conclusion: This is a great system that allows greater flexibility during play than any other barrels on the market. This barrel can achieve great accuracy and distance, but expect to do a bit of practice to understand the features of the barrel.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

paintballfreak= Saturday, May 22nd, 2010
Period of
Product Use:
2 years
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Flatline, Various different barrels
Marker Setup: Tippmann X7, Tiberius Arms Foregrip, Lapco Apex-Ready Barrel w/ Apex Tip, Car Stock, Bipod, ZKH, Full Tech T Cyclone Upgrades
Recommended
Paintballs:
Haven't found one type that works best in the apex so far
Strengths: Added range and accuracy, "trick" shots, not paint picky
Weaknesses: Ball goes down when coming out of barrel
Review: I bought an apex barrel for my X7 and once I got it I was very impressed. The added range is unsurpassed by any other barrel I've used so far, including the tippmann flatline. The groupings are exceptional even at far distances. When I put the tip on a lapco apex ready barrel, the performance of the apex tip increased even more, especially in the lower settings of the apex when it's more dependent on the barrel and less on the apex. The one negative of the tip is that the higher you set the apex tip (The range is from 1-8 with 8 being the super flatline mode), the more the ball dips when coming out of the barrel. It will dip down, then float back up in a sort of u shape. This makes it hard to use sights with the tip, but using sights in paintball is difficult to begin with. The trick shots are just as good if not better than advertised and come in handy during games all the time.
Conclusion: I would highly recommend getting the apex tip, then putting it on an apex ready barrel such as a lapco one. Some sights such as rockstartactical.com sell just the tip so I would do that then find the apex ready barrel you want.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

DJAxWHITEPRIDE Saturday, May 22nd, 2010
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann Flatline
Marker Setup: Tippmann A-5
Invert Nightstick 14"
9" SMG Stock-aluminum
BT Apex
Recommended
Paintballs:
Premium
Strengths: SUPER long range
adjustable curve - handy for MINIMUM windage
Weaknesses: See review
Review: super good barrel for long/medium range. I would not use it in under 25 yards. I recommend getting a secondary barrel, i got the Invert Nightstick 14" carbon fiber with aluminum threads. Weeknesses in it, i would have to say the only weakness i've seen is the super flatline mode. When you put the switch all the way forward, the paint drops a good 3 - 4 feet out the end of the barrel, then takes off and doesnt stop or curve.
Conclusion: Great product overall, reccomended secondary barrel for CQB under 25 yards
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

InvertedApex Wednesday, March 24th, 2010
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Flatline
Marker Setup: Invert Mini (Stock)
Apex Barrel
Lapco Barrel adapter
68/4500 Ninja Tank
Dye Cover
Recommended
Paintballs:
So far every kind of paint works well with this barrel. Really!
Strengths: Accuracy
Distance
Divebomb
Curve
Weaknesses: Learning curve
Review: It does so much where to start......... First the curve ball gives a big advantage when playing woods-ball. You will find you like working the balls around corners, and making shots your opponent can't and won't understand. The dive bomb feature is unreal, works better than I can explain. Played a few bunker scenario's and this barrel puts it right on top of them. (Best advantage overall)! No one stands a chance shooting straight against a barrel that can drop it right in your face. Finally the flatline feature shots the ball longer and straighter than the Tippmann Flatline. I mean unheard of distance combined with accuracy. This barrel rocks!
Conclusion: I only paid $35.00 for this barrel and it was the best upgrade I could have added to my mini! Go and get you one at this price.........................
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Ciaphas Tuesday, March 23rd, 2010
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
Haven't used any similar products.
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98 Custom with Apex Barrel/20 oz. Co2 canister/Stock Viewloader hopper/NcStar Red/Green Dot sight.
Recommended
Paintballs:
Any, I've used Wal-Mart brand.
Strengths: Fairly Accurate.
Trick Shots actually work.
Looks like a suppressor.
Doesn't break balls.
Weaknesses: Plastic tip.
Takes some getting used to.
Not sight/scope friendly. (See Review)
Review: I decided to order the Apex Barrel because I read so many good reviews on it. I've tried it in thick woodsy areas for woodsball and I'll say that this is one of the best uses of money I could have ever gotten for my marker. The trick settings actually work, right hooks and left hooks work like a charm, and the dive-ball function is insane! I tried it once with no clicks (settings off) and I was surprised that it had the accuracy it did from about 100ft away. I actually got around to using it in woodsball and the woods were a little too dense to use any of the trick settings, but in areas with just leaves it will work like a charm. I loved the added distance it gave over my stock 98 C barrel and my old 12 inch progressive barrel. I shot about 4 full hoppers that day with my Apex, firing slow and firing at a high rate both, and I only had ONE ball break, and that was when I went home afterwards just to test my Apex more. The break was really easy to clean, I ran some water through the barrel and pulled a squeegee through the Apex end to the bottom of the barrel (to keep from scratching the rubber ramp inside of the Apex). Electronic sights/scopes are not really useful with this barrel on it's trick and super trajectory settings. Save your money if you're thinking about getting an electronic sight with an Apex barrel, your iron sights are just fine. As far as brand of paintballs go to use the Apex with, the higher grade the paintball, the more consistency you're going to get in your shots. The Wal-Mart brand paintballs I used were straying off-course 2 times out of every 10 balls.
Conclusion: For a woodsball player, this barrel was a real godsend. Once you get used to this barrel you'll definitely control the game. It just takes some getting used to, but you will not be disappointed with this barrel. I bought mine cheap for $35 on Ebay and I couldn't be happier. 9 out of 10.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Vex22 Thursday, March 4th, 2010
Period of
Product Use:
2 years
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Marker Setup: Apex Barrel
Cyclone Hopper
E-trigger
Us. Army Project Salvo
Recommended
Paintballs:
Marbalizer, Premium
Strengths: Accurate
DIfferent Settings really help with those different kind of shots
Weaknesses: Price
Review: This is the barrel that should be standard on every gun. It rules. I have tripled the amount of guys I'm hitting per game since buying this barrel. The different settings allow me to be a sniper or a CQB, player. Also it allows me to curve shots, with the middle settings (3-6) I love this barrel
Conclusion: Best barrel out there, worth every penny if you want a barrel that will allow you to do everything that a paintballer wants to
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, December 15th, 2010 at 3:57 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

fugal junck Wednesday, February 24th, 2010
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
none really
Marker Setup: Spyder xtra with rocking trigger 2.0 & a fasta loader
also a tippmann 98 with response and expansion chamber
Recommended
Paintballs:
I use cryptic but i would recommend to experiment and find a ball that fits the barrel
Strengths: You can curve balls
Weaknesses: Short barrel
pain to clean (becuse I'm lazy)
Review: Over all this is a good product and well built. I do not know where people are spending $100+ on this thing you can find them pretty cheap and with longer barrels.( I got one for $30 and it was an AK-47 style 16") $70 is the max you should pay.
Conclusion: i would recommend buying this but find one with a longer barrel. 12-16 inches.

This particular barrel looses 2 points for being short :(
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Where'sMeShoota Monday, February 1st, 2010
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Flatline - Not as practical, versitile, or gas efficient as the Apex. Also, the Apex can fit other guns besides just Tippmanns.
Marker Setup: AGD Tac One
Recommended
Paintballs:
Depends on what barrel you use with the Apex tip. I use a Lapco .687 Bigshot barrel.
Strengths: Fully Adjustable
Able to turn off
Range
Trick shots are impressive
Very simple design
Weaknesses: Fairly expensive
Higher settings lower velocity
Review: There have been few paintball products that literally made me laugh out loud from awe and disbelief upon testing them for the first time. The Apex is one of them. The "super flatline mode" was impressive enough, but the trick shots this thing is capable of are insane. It was quite entertaining to watch my shots hook around small trees like little fighter jets banking a hard turn. The dive-bomb effect, in particular, illustrated a very useful potential to hit crouching targets behind low lying bunkers from above.

But my favorite feature, by far, is that you can turn it all off. If the heat of the moment calls for the accuracy that only a conventional barrel can provide, you're always just a flick of a switch away. With the Tippmann Flatline, however, you are stuck with a long range, but inaccurate barrel on your gun, for better or for worse.

Also, if you break paint in an Apex, you can remove the barrel and squeegy it out, just like a conventional barrel. But if you break paint in a Flatline, you are screwed because it's practically bolted onto your X-7 or 98 Custom (To be fair, I think a Flatline unscrews conventionally from an A-5, but cleaning that rough inner surface is still a pain in the ass, especially when you're getting shot at).

I noticed one drawback, though. Depending what setting it's on, the Apex tip will sacrifice up to 20 fps in velocity to achieve spin. The ball loses some of it's kinetic energy as it ricochets off the Apex, especially in the higher settings, but the gain in the added range all but negates the decrease in velocity.
Conclusion: I really like this thing, especially when coupled with the Lapco Apex-ready Bigshot barrel that came with it when I bought it. Though it is somewhat on the pricy side as far as barrels go, it's a great way for players who can't afford to unleash devastating fire power to still give themselves a unique technological edge to help hold their own against dudes in jerseys shooting 20+ bps all day long.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, February 17th, 2010 at 2:17 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Beta Tuesday, January 26th, 2010
Period of
Product Use:
4 years
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
None with flatline capabilities
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98c
Apex Barrel
Opsgear G36 Folding stock
Cyclone Feed System
Custom Cocking System
Recommended
Paintballs:
Medium-High quality paint
Strengths: This barrel works great for taking out players at great distances with little cover.
Weaknesses: This barrel doesn't work good for me in the woods. Stupid branches
Review: This barrel works great for taking out enemies who are charging from a distance, or who are trying to hide behind a bunker as you can angle the paintball to curve up or down. We played Protect the President where you have one life and you have to kill the president, anyway the body guards were charging us, they have unlimited lives, anyway, they couldn't touch me even though I lit them up with paint from a good distance away.
Conclusion: This is a good barrel and I would suggest it to any scenario player or anyone who is playing woods-ball in a light wooded area.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

ASNY123 Saturday, January 23rd, 2010
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
A flatline, I guess, but nothing compares to this thing.
Marker Setup: Tippmann A-5, Apex Barrel, Cyclone Feeder
(I just got it, so no money to upgrade this yet)
Recommended
Paintballs:
Any kind. It doesn't cho. I use Empire Bullets and they work great. It would probably be even better with Marbilizer or Evil.
Strengths: Curve shots, Accurate, Distance, Shoots hard, price, cleaning, modes
Weaknesses: This thing has a weakness?
Review: HAhahahahaha this thing is insane. I had it set like a regular barrel and it shot ok. I set it to super flatline and it shot a good 350 feet acurate. ( No im not kidding)

I hit a 2 by 4 standing behind a tree from 150 feet away and I couldnt see the board. It cureves around corners for god sake.

Im 14 and Im not a serious baller, normally play in the woods with friends, and I knew this would be cool, and it is.
Conclusion: Get it, use it, love it. Don't think about it, just buy it!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (17):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media