paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / BT Paintball Design Apex Barrel System / BT Paintball Design Apex Barrel System / BT Paintball Design Apex Barrel System

BT Paintball Design Apex Barrel System Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount BT Paintball Design

Buy BT Paintball Design Apex Barrel System

Paintball Barrels

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


BT Paintball Design Apex Barrel System
[ View Photos (21) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 168
Average Rating: 8.7 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $140

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The Apex Barrel system is redefining how the game is played. With unmatched distance along with accuracy you will be able to hit more targets then before.

Features:

On/Off capability
Hit previously untouchable targets with new curve feature.
Adjustable ramp switch - choose the desired level of the curve.
Left hook, right hook, drop shot and long flat trajectory shots with a twist of the barrel.
Easy to " Dial in " targets and change the level of curve.
Easy to clean

Compatible models - Fits all popular barrel threads including:

BT-4/ BT-16
Tippmann A-5/ Tippmann 98
Intimidator/Autococker
Spyder/Mongoose
/VL/BE Impulse
Angel
Product Availability 
The BT Paintball Design Apex Barrel System is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (17):  First  |  8  |  9  |  10  |  11  |  12  |  13  |  14  |  Last
        Next Page
rogue_trooper99 Friday, August 11th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months8 of 9 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
the flatline for the custom pro, a-5 flatline
Marker Setup: -a-5 camo
-bt 47 apex barrel
-car stock
-warsensor remote
-trinity ak 47 exp. chamber kit
-68/4500 psi air tank
Recommended
Paintballs:
anything works realy, but i use procaps and combats.
Strengths: accurate and goes farther than any thing I tried
Weaknesses: It takes a little getting used to
Review: this barrel works!!! all the curve effects realy work. i got 4 people with the curve affect so far and they where pretty suprised.
here is a list of what this barrel dose based on my experiences with it:
-out of atleast 6000 paintballs non broke
-all curve effects work
-shoots farther than a flatline(did some testing and atleast 53ft morethen the flatlin for the A-5).
-easy to swich from 1 curve effect 2 another.
-water dosent dosent have any effect on it.
-8 lvls, 1-4 very accurate and gosse far,5-6 beats the flatline and still pretty accurate, 7 is like super flatline but starts 2 lose acc, 8 is not as acc as the others but it gose REALY far. Ipreffer 6 or 7 to me they are the beast.
-it dosent break easy!!! the apex DOSE NOT break, i have droped if on the ground HARD, smashed it againts lots of trees and it fell of the top of my van (accident), and it still works fine. Lots of people say it breaks but trust me it dosent.
Conclusion: if u want a good barrel that gives u lots of diffent opptions and different effects, buy it. its a little expensive but it works. I love this barrel, its realy good, worth evry penny and dosent break much paint(yet) ot itself. ((looks cool on a bt47 barrel)). so ya its realy great but if u dont like messing with all those different effects and just want a normal far shot (ex: snippers) get the flatline. this barrel is also good for snipping on lvl 6 or 7.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, March 11th, 2007 at 6:32 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

pb_madness Friday, August 4th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
1 year6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Flatline
Marker Setup: SP ion black
BT Apex Barrel
Q-lock feedneck
virtue board
CP in-line regulator
Critical Ion Roller bearing trigger
Pure Energy 68/4500 fiber tank
Strengths: Amazing accuracy
Easy dial ( when use to)
Worth every penny
Weaknesses: The front is too bulky
The front is made of plasic so it is fraggile
Review: The Apex Barrel has been woring fantastic i think it out classes the flatline barrel. Don't get me wrong the flatline barrel is great but the Apex passes it in greatness. when i was trying to get a guy in a bunker i just quickly dialed it in and i got him.

The Apex barrel you need to practise getting use to and trying to change the dials and turning the front part of it. the other thing i don't like about it is that it has a bulky front so it is hard to get it in little places. the other thing i don't like about it is that the front is plasic and for a $140 barrel i wouldn't wanna break it by hitting it against something accidently. other then those weeknesses i think this barrel was worth every penny i spent on it.

i would deffinatly recommend this barrel to snipers for its accuracy.

The apex barrel doesn't chop at all well it didn't chop when iw as using it. i got cheap paintballs from Canadian Tire and this paint was really cheap and i was going trigger happy and it did not chop at all out of the two cases of paint.
Conclusion: I would give this barrel a 10 for it's out standing performances when ever i tryed it.

Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, August 5th, 2006 at 8:54 pm PST
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

Fox4baller98 Friday, August 4th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
None
Marker Setup: 98 Custom
Apex Barrel
Pure Energy 48/3000 psi HPA
Cyclone feed
Response trigger
Double Trigger
Palmer In-Line Regulator
Recommended
Paintballs:
PMI premium or anything
Strengths: Long Distance
Highly Accurate
Awesome Trick Shots
Weaknesses: Loud
Review: I have used this barrel for about 3 months and it has yet to break a ball. The adjustment feature on the top is great for selecting the distances at which you want to shot. You can shoot with zero flatline effect and its every accurate at short range. The only problem is its loud with the minimal porting which is only in the middle of the barrel. I would recommend this to anyone over the flatline because it is easier to clean and maintain on the feild and has more feature to keep you happy.
Conclusion: You want a highly versitile barrel with the ability to be able to shoot 200 yard and still break and be accuate. Or a barrel that can curve around or over bunkers will then you found it!!!!
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

A5-guy2006 Wednesday, July 26th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Flatline Barrel
Marker Setup: Tippmann A-5, Rampage Board, JCS Duel Trigger, QEV, APEX barrel, 88/3000 Nitro, Shocktech Superfly Bolt, Shocktech Dropforward Dovetail w/ ON/OFF Adapter.
Recommended
Paintballs:
I have used both Karnage Tear and Scorch and either shot accurate and broke easily. I'd recommend any time of paintball from premium stuff to Wal-Mart stuff.
Strengths: A lot more accurate than the Flatline.
Curve shots around, over, and under stuff
Weaknesses: None when testing
Review: I got this barrel and reading reviews and checking out videos on the internet. The first time I used it I took on my trusted Flatline and replaced it with my new APEX. I first just wanted to see the difference in shooting long and far compared to the Flatline. It was amazing to see the balls dive towards the ground and then slowly start to rise back up towards different targets (having the dial straight & ramp switch all the way forward). I was playing in a heavily wooded area with friends and wanted to try the curve shots to shoot around some trees and some people. I tried the left curve where the ball almost curves out to the right and then swings back to the left. The farther the ramp switch the farther out the balls went and curved. I didn't really use the drop shot since there were no major bunkers anywhere just a bunch of brush and trees. I got a couple of people out using the hook shots and I made a bunch of people run out from their hiding spots with the hook shots. I think I finally found a barrel to replace my Flatline.
Conclusion: For a woodsballer this gun is fun to use to shoot around trees and for longer sniper shots. You can find them on the internet from $60-120 so you just have to look around for a good deal. All around this is an awesome barrel and a good upgrade for your gun.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Keither Tuesday, July 25th, 2006
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested43 of 335 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
None... all i own are barrels that give other players a chance....
Marker Setup: A5 with Adapter and with an OPSGEAR 18" Fluted Sniper Barrel and a Flatline with a coiled remote, and a folding aluminium combat stock / M16 solid stock

(also bought the 18" air cooled machine gun shroud with it... also looks bad to the bone.)
Recommended
Paintballs:
none... this thing shouldnt banned from the sport
Strengths: Helps players that would otherwise suck actually get kills
Weaknesses: Knocks out the poor shlepps that are playing fair
Review: I used a friends APEX for some $hits and giggles when we were playing woodsball..... Ive never been more turned off to something in my life... with a little practice it was able to nail people that you normally wouldnt be able to get with a flatline or regular straight barrel.... this thing is retarded...

Not only have i been playing paintball since 1994, but Im also a gun owner... and the last time I checked my M1911A1 didnt shoot .45 rounds like curve balls... neither did my 8MM M48 Mauser.

A normal barrel has a downward arc... but thats because of gravity.. this barrel is made to go around corners and such on purpose... its cheating for godsake!!!

What ever happened to "hey theres a guy behind that bunker... you get his left flank ill get his right and you, harry... go up behind em." You know.. a certain thing that paintball was originally based around... something called TACTICS!!!!!

In history there have been a few attempts to make a bullet go around a corner straight from the gun by putting an angled attachment on the barrel.. but nothing like this.. this takes the cake as far as being unrealistic goes..

Now, dont get me wrong, Im not trying to offend anyone... but if I am its because you know what im saying is true...

this product is about as much of a cheap shot to paintball as the electronic marker was... theres no need for a gun that fires 20 rounds a second... not even an M60 can fire that fast... hell even those stupid little UZIs can pull that one off...

I hate to say it guys but anyone that has any talent in the game of paintball shouldnt need barrels that shoot around corners and guns that sound like bumble bees when they fire... if you actually have any skill whatsoever... you should be able to take a pump gun onto a field of NORMAL mechanical semis and still kick some A$$,,, not try to compensate for the fact that you suck by going out and spending thousands on some high tech gun that fires a million rounds a second or a barrel that shoots around corners... its called practice... vasily zaitsev didnt have a gun that sounded like a bee's wings when fired... he had a bolt action mosin nagant rifle and a scope... and if you know anything about snipers you know that you cant just look thru a scope and hit something ur aiming at... theres a lot more to it... and if he didnt land that one shot he was probably dead in his tracks...

the phrase one shot one kill is just that... not one pound of paint one kill... if you have any talent or skill whatsoever you shouldnt need all these fancy gadgets to make u look good....

what looks better?

a 5 guys walking off a field shaking their heads with no splatter on any of them and one shot in the center of each of their chests?
or
one guy walking off the field covered from head to toe in enough paint to coat a house?

do the math

AND NO!!
to all of you morons thinking im a sore loser thats probably been tagged 1000 times by one of these things, you're wrong... ive never actually been hit by a ball coming from one.. however... my entire team was nearly wiped out by 4 players using them... we had 2 guys on our team that were using them til they saw that and then switched back to their stock barrels just to prove a point. we still kicked their A$$es
.
Originally constant air systems were banned from field play because the "founding fathers" of the national paintball association or whatever the hell its called now a'days didnt want the sport to revolve around the gun... they wanted it to remain based on tactics.. not high tech gizmos... they would have cows if they saw this

You know, if you're gonna nail someone do it with dignity by flanking them or something tactical... not by camping in one spot with some cheap shot barrel
Conclusion: products like the APEX are ruining the sport... theyre every bit as bad as the player that wipes a direct hit off of his clothing and continues playing... what do the two have in common? cheating and poor sportsmanship!!!

Im giving this product a 1 because there are no options for negative numbers
Rating:
1 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, July 25th, 2006 at 2:40 am PST
I found this review  
74 Comments - Add Comment

icpceaser Sunday, July 23rd, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Flatline
Marker Setup: Spyder MR2
Recommended
Paintballs:
Xballs
Strengths: All the differt settings shoots with a left hook or right hook
Weaknesses: Large tip hard to find a barrel bag that fits.
Review: Overall a very good barrel. Easy to use. You need to shot it before you go out to the field and learn how to use the barrel. This barrel after time will help you inprove you hit rate and help you use less paint and give you a better shot.
Conclusion: Great Barrel
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

lousyhunter Monday, July 17th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Flatline
Marker Setup: BT APEX Barrel, JT stock, 32 degrees remote, Viewloader gravity-fed hopper
Recommended
Paintballs:
Draxus maybe? I like the rainbow paint... AVOID ZAPS AT ALL COSTS!!!
Strengths: -As acurate as paintball gets
-Looks killer
-Light weight
-Shoots far
Weaknesses: -Doesn't curve shots like the diagram says
Review: Wow. I was impressed. Picked it up for the eighty bucks and was a bit worried that it might not live up to the reviews. However, IT DOES INDEED ROCK! Was set to 235 FPS and matched the distance of a flatline equiped a-5 set to 265 FPS on the 4th click setting. This barrel is great and pretty much worth it, though you can find a better deal out there I'm sure price wise. The distance is fantastic when you ramp it all the way up, but you loose acuracy quite a bit after about the 6th click. Keep it there and you'll be pleased the whole game through.

The curved shots don't do dick. Yes they will curve, but they won't go around corners so really, so don't even bother moving the barrel. It's great for acuracy and distance!
Conclusion: Great barrel, a flatline for spyder markers. I would certainly reccomend it!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Mr.T.Baggins Tuesday, July 4th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Regular barrels
flatlines
Marker Setup: Tippmann a-5
Tacamo wood ak-47 barrel kit
Tacamo wood ak stock
Tacamo sight rail
Opsgear ak-47 hideaway mag
E-grip W.A.S
Penspring and my own trigger modding
Stock hopper or 30 round tac cap
Remote
48/3000 pmi air tank

Side arm:
Tiberius 8
Recommended
Paintballs:
Very thick shell high quality works best
Strengths: RANGE
flat trajectory
trick shots
Weaknesses: Doesnt stop curving lol
Review: Well the curve shots doesnt work like it says but dive bombs pretty cool. The range is huge that you get but its very innaccurate. The barrel its on is junk and the thing chops like theres no tommoro if you dont use high quality paint. I was able to shoot very far but it didnt really matter because it tends to bounce at the farther range
Conclusion: It shoots far but is very innaccurate
Rating:
7 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, March 31st, 2007 at 2:54 am PST
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

Badlands Saturday, July 1st, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
i shot a friends flatline once
Marker Setup: Tippmann A-5
E-Grip
JCS Duel Trigger
JCS Combat Stock and RVA
Special Ops MP5 SD Handguard
32 Degrees Remote Line
Recommended
Paintballs:
i used marballizers and they worked great
Strengths: Short, not nearly as loud as a flatline, accurate
Weaknesses: It has a big tip, so you cant stick it everywhere you want to
Review: I saw this for 80 bucks in a surplus store so i bought it and it is awesome. it has way more range than a flatline and it is very accurate. i used it today in a pickup game when i was shooting marbs. i laid down long-range surpressive fire, short-range accurate fire, i gogged a guy in one shot at 20 yards on setting 4, and i even tried some trick shots, but i hadnt dialed in the necessary distance yet. it is much quieter than a flatline and it works with my SP Mp5 SD handguard so that makes me very happy. i also didnt break one ball, but they were marbs, but they all broke on my opponets and their cover.
Conclusion: I highly recommend this barrel because it has greater range than the flatline, greater accuracy than the flatline and many other barrels of equal and lesser price, it is only about 10 inches long when it is attached to your marker, it is not overly loud, and it didn't break any balls or my wallet. I give it a 10 because it might not be the most accurate barrel, but it is the best overall barrel i have ever seen.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

LastMaxim Wednesday, June 28th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
I've test fired a Flatline before. I've also seen how tempermental the Flatline can be (I've seen the barrel 'turn' during use, and need to be re-adjusted, and also break balls on occasion, which meant taking it apart...both of which are no small feats to fix, especially when you'd rather be playing). The APEX seems just as accurate, if not more-so than the Flatline(s) I've seen in action...
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98 Custom
DOP Pro-Seal power tube
DOP Rocket-Cock II
Palmers Female Stabilizer
Fighter-X Drop Foward
Dark Horizon Rear Lite Titanium Hammer
GTA Double Trigger (Sanded to Blade-style)
Cyclone Hopper
BT APEX Barrel
(Polished internals)
(various other homemade modifications)
Recommended
Paintballs:
I only used a mixture of older paintballs, left over from last season...anything from white box to much higher quality paint. As with any paint, the better the quality, the better it can be expected to perform. However, that being said, it seemed to perform quite well with anything I shot through it. The barrel seems to function quite well, even with a break...which happened a few times, considering the age of the paint I was using...
Strengths: Range, accuracy, and 'flat' tragectory...and it looks AWESOME on the marker!!
Weaknesses: None (so far, see below)
Review: I've been wanting one of these for a very long time. I finally managed to get my APEX about 2 weeks ago (they kept being 'sold out'), but only got to shoot it for the first time yesterday at the cottage.. In testing it, I used up a bag of older (mixed) paint (left over from last season). The paint quality ranged from various quality of white box to other various better quality paint (Chronic was probably he best in that bag) . I set up targets at 50 feet and at 100 feet, with the prevailing wind at my back. I know it could have gone much farther, but the wind was blowing rather strongly off the lake , and I knew I couldn't hit anything accurately past this distance.

First I tried the barrel without any back spin on it, just to get an idea of the difference in performance. The wind carried the paint almost to the farthest target, but I had to really arc the marker/paint upward to get it even that far. I then started firing on progressively higher settings....and I was impressed. I started noticing immediately the effect of the back spin on the balls. Suddenly it went from an arcing trajectory to a flat one. even with the wind blowing, the accuracy was fairly amazing. Even when a few of the more brittle balls broke in the barrel, after a couple of shots it was flying straight again.

I couldn't really get the barrel to 'hook' in the wind (the balls just carried on straight, with the strength of the wind at my back).

I'll hopefully get a chance to get out to the field this weekend, and test it under much better conditions...and on 'live targets' *grin*. I'll be sure to update this entry afterward.
Conclusion: This barrel does indeed live up to it's hped potential. It has better accuracy and distance than a standard barrel. It also has a flat tragectory when firing, so it's much easier to land shots on target, instead of having to worry about arcing for distance, etc. I'm giving this a 9 out of 10 for now, since I didn't get a chance to test out the 'hooking' functions of the barrel yet. But I can certainly say that this barrel will make my trips to the field a whole lot more interesting even if it didn't 'hook' around corners!
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, June 28th, 2006 at 1:17 pm PST
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (17):  First  |  8  |  9  |  10  |  11  |  12  |  13  |  14  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media