paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / BT Paintball Design Apex Barrel System / BT Paintball Design Apex Barrel System / BT Paintball Design Apex Barrel System

BT Paintball Design Apex Barrel System Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount BT Paintball Design

Buy BT Paintball Design Apex Barrel System

Paintball Barrels

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


BT Paintball Design Apex Barrel System
[ View Photos (21) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 168
Average Rating: 8.7 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $140

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The Apex Barrel system is redefining how the game is played. With unmatched distance along with accuracy you will be able to hit more targets then before.

Features:

On/Off capability
Hit previously untouchable targets with new curve feature.
Adjustable ramp switch - choose the desired level of the curve.
Left hook, right hook, drop shot and long flat trajectory shots with a twist of the barrel.
Easy to " Dial in " targets and change the level of curve.
Easy to clean

Compatible models - Fits all popular barrel threads including:

BT-4/ BT-16
Tippmann A-5/ Tippmann 98
Intimidator/Autococker
Spyder/Mongoose
/VL/BE Impulse
Angel
Product Availability 
The BT Paintball Design Apex Barrel System is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (17):  First  |  11  |  12  |  13  |  14  |  15  |  16  |  17
        Next Page
viets Saturday, April 15th, 2006
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
flatline
Marker Setup: tippmann A5 with apex, combat stock, response trigger, cyclone feeder.. and i threw it on my 98 custom with a barrel adapter
Recommended
Paintballs:
its not too picky.. i bought walmart balls and was able to use them
Strengths: -Ok looking
-Scare the crap outta people
Weaknesses: -Not yet perfected
-Balls dont curve for me 99% of the time
-Waste of cash
Review: All right let me give you my personal experiences with this barrel.. Now ive been playing paintball since I can remember.. ive always had a passion for it and im always looking for new cool products to try. i saw this apex around last Christmas time.. i looked into it and thought i would give it a shot. for Christmas this was the biggest present i got, and i really wanted to try it out ASAP. i took it out into my backyard and the paint was breaking because it was too cold outside, so i had to wait till the end of winter to give it a real test run.. the first day it started shooting i thought it was pretty cool, but as i kept firing rounds, the paint stopped curving.. the dip shots werent working and even the normal shots didnt go nearly as far as my friends flatline. i was pretty pissed off to say the least.. but i kept it to try in a game. now normally my friends and i play about 3 games a day when we play.. and we have about 10 or 12 guys.. with my tippmann 98 custom i always racked up about 15-18 kills in the games.. when i played with the apex i got 2.. thats what really made me question the product.. i commend tippmann for the design and for the thought.. but they really need to work to make this barrel a little bit more like they say it is. when your under fire its really hard to figure out how to adjust the barrel with paint wizzing by your head.. i got charged 3 times and got hammered while i was trying to adjust it to normal.. id never lost a charge.. ever.. until then.. Now im in the process of returning my apex, or selling it, and im going to try to find another barrel for my A5 that works better
Conclusion: this is a great idea.. but its got a ways to go. For now, i wouldnt advise wasting your money when you could get a flatline or just another barrel for much cheaper.. beleive me, ive been playing for awhile and i know a great barrel when i use one.. not to discourage you from getting one if its really what you want, but i just wouldnt personally recommend it to anyone who likes to be in some hardcore woodsball matches
Rating:
5 out of 10
I found this review  
5 Comments - Add Comment

scottahicks Friday, April 14th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Flatline, Freak, J&J Ceramics
Marker Setup: BT-4 Assault with BT-16 Apex Barrel, Egg Hopper, 47ci 3000psi
Recommended
Paintballs:
Any, I have used everything from house cheap paint to ProBall trounament Everything works great havent had a break yet.
Strengths: No Breaks, Distance, Control, DIVE BOMB!
Weaknesses: None Found
Review: Ben Tippman is a genius!!! this barrel is the greatest innovation since compressed air tanks!... the barrel dosent care what paint you put through it, house pain, tourney paint it all works great. I was playing this past weekend and two guys were in a foxhole, 6 of ous were firing at them but due to the angle no one could hit them, so I turned up the ramp and twisted the tip over and BAM!!!!!! the dive bombing began. it took me a couple shots to figure out my ranging but then I was slamming paint on top of the two guys heads. when we got back to the rest area they just had to go play with my marker. the could not belive what I had done to them. they said "I saw the balls start hitting the dirt in front of us and then all the sudden my head was on fire! I knew it was all over. I have never seen anything like it!" needless to say the two guys that got hit want the apex barrels now. It does take a little getting used to playing with the settings but there is so much you can do with this barrel and the way it is designed no paint breaks inside the barrel. APEX ROCKS!!!!!!!
Conclusion: BUY AN APEX!!!! I was sick of getting hit by the flatlines now they are running from me!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

paintballerKCMO Sunday, April 9th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
borrowed my brother-in-laws flatline 98
Marker Setup: WGP Orracle-e2
68/45 Pure energy
egg2 with z board
hmmerhead barrel
Recommended
Paintballs:
big bore barrel so it doesn't matter
Strengths: It does what it says.
Weaknesses: Can make your gun an air hog
Review: I have an autococker orracle, I wanted to try this novelty of an idea. The accuracy is close enough that you can use this barrel to suppress someone back into his bunker. but its no where near ball on ball that my hammerhead does. accuracy improves when not using the flatline . . . some... but then whats the point if you're not going to use it for what its designed for.
I believe that the distance is the same if you used a regular barrel and aimed it higher, the problem with that is you cant tell where the balls are dropping. so its an advantage that you can watch the ball fly low to the target.

a big difference between this and the flatline- I've seen flatlines send their balls soaring up in the air uncontrollably or way off to the side, You won't see this with the apex.
Conclusion: I will keep this barrel for use in woods, the flat trajectory will help with the long distance shots that usually hit the branches in your flight path that elude your sight. I don't plan on using the trick shots(around the corners or shooting down) as much, its too much like cheating, but who knows what temptations may succumb to wooo-hooo-ahhh-haahh- haah (evil laugh)
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

xgetupandsk8x Tuesday, April 4th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
flatline- doesnt touch it
teardrop- better than stock, but ok
all american- acurate, real quiet, but distance isnt near
Marker Setup: 98 custom- apex barrel, response trigger, cyclone feed, ricochet hopper, superfly bolt, rocket cock II, micro coil remote

smart parts ion- black, stock, black evlution II w/ z board
Recommended
Paintballs:
anything that wont break easy, nothing deformed
Strengths: DISTANCE AND ACCURACY!!
price isnt too bad now (80 bux)
look- silencer look
Weaknesses: Loud!! who cares when you are covering their faces in embarrassment , kinda hard to clean
Review: If you have like 80 bucks, get it. (Its on sale now) plain and simple, this barrel owns. ask the people my friends and I have played against. unmatched distance for sure and accuracy is sweet. it just takes a bit to get used to the backspin on the ball but once you get used to it your basically untouchable. its a GREAT sniping barrel too. pretty much stop reading this review and get it. forget what anyone else has said trying to bring it down, it puts the flatline to shame. and many others.
Conclusion: Get the barrel and you will shoot farther than you thought paintballs could go. Loud and a lil pain to clean but totally worth it. So close to perfect. Have the accuracy and intimidation factor. Buy an APEX. The End.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

bshep Sunday, April 2nd, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann stock barrell -- Superbly inferior to the Apex
Tippmann Flatline -- Somewhat similar to one of the apexs positions (#6)
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98 custom
Apex Barrel
Red dot sight
Recommended
Paintballs:
I have used Stinger, Wild streak, and Big Ball, The only breaks were Wild Streaks, they only broke on position 7, because the lip that puts the spin on the ball is at the very end of the barrel, so it didnt cause any problems when it broke. It just sprayed paint and ball chips.
Strengths: See review
Weaknesses: See review.
Review: The barrel is 10 3/4 inches long with a muzzle break like shroud at the end. There is a slide switch on top with 7 positions: Closest to you (position 1) and farthest from you (position 7). positions 1-2 shoot like a standard barrel, 3-4 shoot farther and more accurate ( I use position 4 most of all ) these two positions don't require you to compensate for the initial drop of the ball as it leaves the barrel yet still give better range and accuracy than a lot of barrels. position 5 carries a little farther but this is where the drop starts to get noticeable. number 6 is most similar to the way a flatline shoots, there is a slight drop as soon as the ball leaves the barrel but it levels out 15 to 20 feet after leaving the barrel and carries a long way. Position 7 the compensation for that first drop is crazy, if you aim parallel with the ground and shoot your ball will fly straight into the ground. you have to aim up a good 10 to 15 degrees, but the shot flies forever, I pegged a kid in the chest from around 150 feet, the ball will shoot a lot farther than that but towards the end of its flight it just starts floating really slow and than drops. I don't know how far it can shoot and still break personally, someone else who wrote a review claimed 303 ft but i don't know that's an awful long way still have the ball break. The hook shots only work on positions 6 and 7. How it works is the rubber lip at the very end of the barrel that is adjusted by the switch is housed inside the shroud, the entire shroud spins 360 degrees and whichever way the switch on top is pointing, left, right or down, is the direction the ball will hook. But since it is on these positions that initial drop still happens,except that it happens in the opposite direction you want it to hook. But once it levels it out it truly does what it is advertised to do it hooks damn near 90 degrees. One of the few problems I noted however is that if you have the shroud turned even slightly off to one side after about 90 or so feet the ball will very noticeably travel in that general direction, The only remedy i discovered is to sight my gun to my stock barrel, put my Apex on, align the shroud with the cross hairs than adjust the sight to where the shot went. That way I knew for sure the shroud was perfectly aligned, and I could get it back to that position quickly to by lining the switch up with the cross hairs again. The last slight problem is that switching between positions requires that you slide the switch on the shroud, since the shroud and switch are made of some really hard plastic, and since the shroud is hollow, switching causes a very loud click every time it locks into a position. A problem if you are trying to dial in a target not all that far away. The price it is usually sold for is like 115 bucks, I looked on Ebay and got it for 100 total including shipping not a huge bargain but a penny saved is a penny earned so...
Conclusion: I personally love this barrel it comes in handy when you have to get people who are in those hard to reach places I.E. behind trees or bunkers. The reason i give it a 9 is because it has a few problems but overall it works like it's supposed to.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Neo_Enhander Friday, March 31st, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Flatline
Marker Setup: Tippmann A-5
Flatline Barrel
SpecOps MP5 Mag Kit with Stabalizer
SpecOps A5-A2 Gas Thru Stock
SpecOps A5-A2 Front Grip
---------------------------------------
Tippmann 98 Custom
OPSGEAR 18 inch Interceptor Barrel
OPSGEAR Barret Muzzle Break
OPSGEAR Raider Shroud
OPSGEAR Gas Thru Raider Mag
FX 6 Point Stock
Recommended
Paintballs:
High Ends....but it really dosnt matter
Strengths: In review
Weaknesses: In review
Review: Well, just got my apex yesterday and was testing it. To be honest with you, I was amazed by the abilites of this barrel. Everything about it is awsome! It takes a while to get use too, but one you got it, you got it! I shot about 500 rounds and broke 3, 2 were not in the barrel however, they busted coming out of the gun for some reason. The 1st one that busted did so because I had it on 10. Seems the barrel dosnt like high rates of fire when set on the 10th dial. 8 is good for anything you may be doing. Again I was absolutly amazed at this barrels capabilites and preformance. It is a tad hard to clean, but that can be over looked.
Conclusion: Awsome barrel, awsome preformance!
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

DamnSteroids Wednesday, March 29th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
6 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Stock Barrels, 14 Terminator
Marker Setup: Rodeo, Apex or 14'' terminator, richochet ak, ofset rail with adco hotshot, jcs foldable stock, springs, supafly bolt, 72 3000 with remote line
Recommended
Paintballs:
almost any but i use rps bigballs or zap spank cause im cheap
Strengths: Range, range, range, intimidation, trick shots
Weaknesses: Rather costly but worth it
Review: so this barrel is actualy quite innovative unlike the barrels that all promise the
same thing. it can actaully increase your range alot, alot, but sacrifice accuracy
with the range increase you can really surprise people and catch them off gaurd
with ropes of shots. the accuracy of the barrel is questionable at short distances
with no spin put on the ball, comparable of that to a stock barrel. if anyone can even
get close enough to test that. the trick shots are rather fun but can be distracting
when under fire. if paint breaks in the barrel it doesn't really affect the performance
alot it is just hard to clean. i did take it apart to clean it and was fairly simple. in doing
this i realize what possibility contributes to the sometimes rather poor accuracy. the
barrel is has a really large bore. it needs this to spin the ball so without the bore
matched good the accuracy suffers says anyone who plays around with multipeice
barrels. IT IS NOT AT ALL HARD TO OPERATE THIS BARREL UNDER ANY CIRCUMSTANCE UNLESS YOU HAVE MAJOR PROBLEMS WITH SIMPLE LOGIC. sorry for the caps lock i felt it was necessary after reading some other reviews
Conclusion: wont make you the best but it can help, worth it if you like to play around with
spin on the ball. personally I think it is brilliant but people will always come
up with reasons to bash it. good barrel not perfect nothing is
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

98apex Friday, March 24th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
Nothing compares!
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98 Custom
Bt Apex barrel
Rufus Dawg double trigger
Halo TSA LED loader
Response Trigger(soon)
Recommended
Paintballs:
Medium to High grade paint
Strengths: Adjustable ramp board for more distance
good looking
accurate
more distance than flatline
Weaknesses: Hard to clean out the paint
Price
Review: I bought my apex around christmas time when iwas looking for a new barrel. My stock barrel just wasn't.....well.......good. So i went looking at my local pro shop looking for a flatline barrel for my 98c. I had remembered that this guy at the field a couple of weeks before was showing me his apex and afterwards i found out that it was about the same price as my gun. I got to the shop and found out that they just got it in and i bought it. I tested right away and on the eighth level i got around 300 feet. I could also curve around trees at a distance when i twisted the barrel. Out of probably 2000 shots i broke one ball.
The only problem that i can see is that when i broke that ball it took me along time to clean out due to all the litttle in lits at the end of the barrel. Other than that it's an awesome barrel and everybody should get it.
UPDATE!
I just went to a huge scenario event on friday and used the apex. I was hitting people from 200 feet! It's amazing and so accurate. Also I played with it for over 3 hours and only broke a single ball!
Conclusion: I think that this barrel is great for all players looking for a change from the flatline. The price may be a little steep but it's totally worth the money and it totally shreds the flatline barrel.
GO GET THE APEX!
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, April 16th, 2006 at 11:05 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

tydascenarioguy Thursday, March 9th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Stock spyder clone barrels
Stock Ion barrel
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98c
32* Remote
Cyclone Fedd System
Recommended
Paintballs:
Any?
Strengths: Short
Range
Looks
Adjustable
Weaknesses: Plactic tip may break
Review: I bought this barrel after reading some ads. I did a lot of research and decided this barrel was better than a Evil Pipe because I play in the woods.
When I first shot it it was like a stock barrel. I tuned it in and this thing would fly, though you have to angle the muzzle up pretty high when on level 8. I could only get a few shots off though becuas my gun was leaking.
Will update when I shoot again.



edit: I went to Skirmish ION in July, and some mud got into the tip and broke the range selector.
Conclusion: Great barrel for range, better than flatline.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, December 13th, 2006 at 1:24 pm PST
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

4d5e6f Tuesday, February 28th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Teardrop barrel (more accurate), friend's A-5 with flatline (worse), stock barrel (worse)
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98 Custom
14" Stiffi barrel (.691 bore)
Maddmann Spring Kit
Tippmann Double Trigger
Shocktech Superfly Bolt
Lapco Front Grip
Recommended
Paintballs:
Preferably good paint, thick shelled
Strengths: Dive bomb worked, not hard to clean if you have water
Weaknesses: Plastic; barrel uses rubber pad for backspin that scratches from balls popping, poor accuracy; loud
Review: I got this barrel about a week ago, and decided to test it out now. I bought a case of DBX Practice Grade Paintballs, and go down to where we usually play. I aim the gun at some tires about 70-80 feet away, move the range dial thing to 4 or 5, and it ends up taking me about 15 well aimed shots to hit the tires, the barrel is so innaccurate. After playing around with it a little, a crapload of balls start breaking, until about 1 out of 5 balls DOESN'T break. Now this barrel is supposed to perform well even with breaks in the barrel. I tried running my finger inside the barrel along the rubber pad, and discovered it was scratched up. When I got home, I rinsed the barrel out with some warm tap water and it cleaned out easily.

*edit* - See Below
Conclusion: Even before the pad got ripped up, the accuracy and range of the barrel was way, way worse than what I expected, terrible compared to my friend's teardrop.

*edit*
Okay, I finally gave this barrel another test out on a warmer day. The curves weren't as good as I hoped, the distance wasn't special, and the accuracy was bad. And all the stuff you hear about it cleaning itself isn't true, when a ball pops, it coats the coarse rubber pad so you get far less backspin. This thing is definetly NOT worth $120-130! Get a stiffi instead (I found one for $100).
Rating:
6 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, March 30th, 2006 at 5:26 pm PST
I found this review  
4 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (17):  First  |  11  |  12  |  13  |  14  |  15  |  16  |  17
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media