paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / BT Paintball Design Apex Barrel System / BT Paintball Design Apex Barrel System / BT Paintball Design Apex Barrel System

BT Paintball Design Apex Barrel System Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount BT Paintball Design

Buy BT Paintball Design Apex Barrel System

Paintball Barrels

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


BT Paintball Design Apex Barrel System
[ View Photos (21) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 168
Average Rating: 8.7 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $140

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The Apex Barrel system is redefining how the game is played. With unmatched distance along with accuracy you will be able to hit more targets then before.

Features:

On/Off capability
Hit previously untouchable targets with new curve feature.
Adjustable ramp switch - choose the desired level of the curve.
Left hook, right hook, drop shot and long flat trajectory shots with a twist of the barrel.
Easy to " Dial in " targets and change the level of curve.
Easy to clean

Compatible models - Fits all popular barrel threads including:

BT-4/ BT-16
Tippmann A-5/ Tippmann 98
Intimidator/Autococker
Spyder/Mongoose
/VL/BE Impulse
Angel
Product Availability 
The BT Paintball Design Apex Barrel System is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (17):  First  |  12  |  13  |  14  |  15  |  16  |  17
        Next Page
jerones Wednesday, February 22nd, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Seen Flatline in use. Apex is at least that.
Marker Setup: 98 Custom Pro
BT Apex Barrel
Collapsable Stock
Expansion Chamber
Starfire Bolt
Mamba Coiled Remote
Rocket Cock II

Strengths: Distance and flexibility in shots. Doesn't need great paint like the Flatline.
Weaknesses: The barrel is LOUD. Effective, but not as great as promised.
Review: I bought this gun barrel thinking "at least I could give it a try." It came in mail and I tried it out. The first shot came as a surprise. While my first barrel (J&J Ceramic) was quiet and smooth, this one just POPPED. It echoed and echoed. I woodsball... and a loud barrel isn't a good thing. It performed well though, shooting long and straight on that setting and high arcing when switched. the left and right settings didn't work as well, but there was a difference.

I took it out a week later and played with my friends. The barrel performed superbly. My doubts were washed away as I left the field after a solid day, hearing my friends say, "I need to get that barrel..." I managed to keep players heads down from at least thirty or fourty feet further away than before, and my shots didn't arc and lose their way in the wind. I shot well all day.
Conclusion: I think if you can afford the $120 pricetag, the Apex Barrel is worth getting.
Rating:
8 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, February 22nd, 2006 at 8:49 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

ICU117 Wednesday, February 15th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Flatline, 16" no name barrel...
Marker Setup: Folding stock, egrip, Apex, double trigger
Recommended
Paintballs:
Really anything works, unless its really cold...Like yesterday. When its cold the only paint you can use is Polar Ice. They are good till temperatures of 30 degrees F. Premiums are good during the fall or when ever it is above 50 degrees F.
Strengths: -not paint picky
-shoots farther than flatline. (I prove it later)
Weaknesses: Hard to clean...Thats about it.
Review: The Apex barrel is a great alternative to the Flatline barrel system. The A5 flatline is extremely paint picky, the Apex, since you can adjust the ramp, it isn't so picky. If you have to use some crappy paint just set the apex to level 1, and it should shoot fine. The Apex really does shoot farther than the flatline, I gave my flatline to a friend so we could test it, and we shot it next to each other in unision, the Apex was just as far from settings 4-5. Then when I moved it up to 8 it went 50 to 75 feet further than the apex, and both guns had full CO2 and same FPS. (we chronoed them) So it would appear that what everyone says is correct, the Apex will add 50-75 feet to the flatline distance. Also it does curve if you turn it sideways, It isn't like a right angle like it suggests, but it does have a pronounced curve. The dive bomb does work like a charm though, so if someone is hiding just behind a stump or something, then you can invert the barrel and smoke them.
Conclusion: So, after a test between my flatline and my apex, it hasx been proven that on setting 6-8 it adds anywere from 50-75 feet to the flatline distance. I recommend this barrel for anyone who likes to have a distance advantage in woodsball, It is however illegal in speedball, so dont' buy it for your speedball guns...
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Pepper Thursday, January 26th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Flatline.. The Apex dosnt come pre-bent. you have to do it yourself. lol jj dont do that!
Marker Setup: 98c
Gold plated internals, with anti-matter injected into the coreÖ.. And I wear new shoes while I play so I can run fasterÖ. hhmmm
Recommended
Paintballs:
anything round
Strengths: Distance
The Dive Bomb
The Hook
The Super flatline
Weaknesses: The only weakness would be the end being made of plastic.
Review: Iím a husband and a father, so most of the time Iím broke. I reviewed the Apex till my ears fell off. When I bought it I used Froogle and found it for $109.

Reasons why I bought it
1. It isnít shaped like a banana
2. I can (and am) machining it down so the metal barrel is 2 inches long. ďApex shortyĒ Im using the stock barrel that came with the marker for the machining.
3. It can move from one marker to another.
4. it dosnt have heated seats.. but I can over look that.

Reasons why I like it (Strengths)
1. Everything they say it can doÖ it doooĒs
2. The Dive bomb feature is just plane mean! When you shoot it pops up than drops like a comet towards the ground! I could pop a guy on top of the head behind a bunker. Didnít really think I would like all the other options besides the super flat lineÖ I was wrong
3. I can machine it; Iíll post a pic in the Tippy forum of my Apex Shorty.
4. You can turn off the back spin

The only thing I donít like about it.
When you shoot a flatline you can hold the marker horizontal and shoot. The ball drops a bit then goes on.
With the Apex you have to angle the marker all the time when the backspin is on. But unlike the Flatline, the ball doesnít drop; it comes out horizontal and stays horizontal the entire flight. Anyhoo I just donít like the fact that you have to angle the marker. No biggy Iím just picky.
Conclusion: Yes itís worth it. And the dive bomb option is just amazing. Remember to check the Tippy forums for the pics.


Thanks
Pep
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Friday, January 27th, 2006 at 4:47 pm PST
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

NOFXc98 Monday, January 23rd, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months2 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
none...
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98 custom
-RT
-Cyclone feed system
-Palmers Male Stabalizer
-APEX (unfortunatley)
Recommended
Paintballs:
RPS Polar Ice
Strengths: I dont know because mine was ruined with a cotton squeegy ... distance .. not paint picky
Weaknesses: Breaks very easily ... Doesnt do waht it is meant to do ...PRICE
Review: Well when i first got this barrel and was practiceing with it in my backyard ... it was shooting fine , accurate , and i guesse the distance was fine. It did not do the hook balls as expected at all.... But the first time I used it on the feild ... i broke a ball and ran my cotton ended squeege thorugh it ... then i noticed it was hooking very badly .. checked the shroud to see if it was turned ... it wasnt .. I did not know what was wrong with the $120 dollar barrel that i had purchased ... then once that game ended i checked the rubber paddels at the end of the barrel and noticed 1 tiny .. TINY piece that had been torn a little ... the barrel never worked right again .. now i have a piece of poop barrel laying around that i never use :(
Conclusion: If you want a barrel that you can hide very far away and not close up combat or shoot fast w/ so you dont have to clean it then fine .. but if you plan on cleaning your barrel then i dont know what to tell you
Rating:
4 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

s0509102 Saturday, January 14th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Flatline (Does not compare to the BT Apex Barrel)
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98C, Low-Pressure Kit, Cyclone Hopper, Rear Stock, Scope
Recommended
Paintballs:
PMI, but any if you buy the Apex Barrel
Strengths: Distance, Accuracy, Curve, Look
Weaknesses: Main housing of barrel made of plastic ... Worries me a little
Review: I like to shoot from far distances and I am a pretty good shot. However, with the flatline I was getting a lot of inconsistency and a lot of breakage with the paintballs. Don't get me wrong, in warm weather the flatline performs great if it is installed properly. If you want a barrel that will perform great over both short and long distances with accuracy, your best bet is to go with the BT Apex Barrel. This is a really great product, except for the fact that it is made of plastic in the front.
Conclusion: This is the best and most original barrel out there. This is perfect for anyone who is a woods-baller and for speed-ballers if your a laid back kind of player.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

mArBiLiZa Saturday, January 7th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Flatline, NOT AS GOOD
Marker Setup: Tippmann A-5 w/ RT
Apex Barrel
68/4000 crossfire HPA system
Double Trigger
Recommended
Paintballs:
Ive used marbalizers, brass eagle monster balls, wild streak, and some cheap 32 degrees paint. I haven't had one ball break yet.
Strengths: - Accuracy
- 5 "modes" of shooting
- Very easy to install (compared to flatline)
- No breaks
- Looks
Weaknesses: - Loud (not too much of a weakness)
Review: I got this barrel for christmas with my A-5. It is a GREAT barrel and it is much better than the flatline. It is not paint picky, it is more accurate, it shoots farther. Ive shot on all "modes," the best is just low and long. (about 175 yds). It is amazing how much the ball curves out of the barrel on the dive bomb and curve modes. In my first game playing with it, i had an opponent hiding behind a giant tree stump. I just put the curve level up to "level 5" and twisted the front of the barrel to dive bomb and the ball just dove down right over the stump and hit him. This barrel is shweet.
Conclusion: This barrel is an amazing barrel for woodsball, BUY IT
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

wpballer Saturday, January 7th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Flatline
Marker Setup: Custom pro, J&J Ceramic Barrel, co2, vl 200
Recommended
Paintballs:
Higher end paintballs work the best but if you have to use the lower end paintballs,they work fine
Strengths: -Accuracy
-Distance
-Curves
Weaknesses: -None really
Review: This barrel is pretty good. The curve feature is wierd at first if you use it but it is easy to master. The range on this barrel is way better than the flatline and this barrel is more accurate too. This barrelis a good barrel for anyone and anyone should get it if they have the money and are looking for a excellent barrel.
Conclusion: Pretty good barrel.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

nitrousapplez Sunday, January 1st, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months9 of 18 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Flatline barrel
Marker Setup: 98 Custom
Cyclone feed system
Response trigger
Collapsible stock
Recommended
Paintballs:
RPS, hard shelled
Strengths: Multiple modes of fire
No complex install
Weaknesses: Breaks VERY easily
Does not perform at all the way it is advertised
Review: After using a Flatline since I first got my gun, I am used to being able to shoot far and fairly accurately. When I heard about the "next generation of Flatline", I was understandably excited. After reading several reviews stating that it was "amazing" and "much better than Flatlines", I eagerly ordered one from an online retailor.

When it came in, I immediately tested it in my back yard. I have some sparse woods behind my house, so range was not a problem. The first mode I tried was the "Flatline effect". This did have nice range, but the accuracy was not what I expected. Also, the balls did not recover from their downward spin, so I was forced to angle the gun up a but just to get a level shot. The sideways curves were erratic at best, but the divebomb seemed to work alright.

That weekend I went rec paintballing with some friends, and for the first half of the day, it worked fine. However, in the middle of a firefight one game I started shooting out puffs of paint. Mind you these were RPS, not some generic brand. I looked in the barrel and there was no clog. I got hit then, so in the dead zone I squeegeed it out and tried it again. Still kept breaking balls. Then I noticed 2 small burrs in the tongue thingy. I eventually smoothed them out, but the damn thing hasn't shot right ever since. It now puts NO curve on balls and I feel like I'm shooting a stock barrel again. This product is definitely NOT worth the purchase. Also the site I ordered it from has a no returns policy. There goes $120 dollars down the drain.
Conclusion: Don't buy the hype over this barrel. Put that money you were going to spend on it towards a Flatline or a J & J Ceramics.
Rating:
4 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, January 1st, 2006 at 10:24 am PST
I found this review  
4 Comments - Add Comment

whightknyte Tuesday, December 27th, 2005
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month14 of 38 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Flatline
Marker Setup: Tippman 98 custom, response trigger, expansion chamber, viewloader tripod hopper, flat-line barrel, DOP pro-seal bolt and power tube, CO-2
Recommended
Paintballs:
unsure, trial was performed with scorch and diablo heat
Strengths: Trick shots, good range
Weaknesses: Poor accuracy vs. flatline
Review: I had heard a lot about this barrel, and couldn't wait to see it so i bought one. First off i was rather unimpressed with the lack of any sort of paper work with the barrel, but i figured it out easily enough.

The first thing i noticed about the barrel was that it looked very intimidating, a bonus.

I am an avid flatline user, and one of the major players at my field, so of course i put it up against my flatline.

Accuracy by far went to my flatline. My room mate stood at 75 paces and took the fire. my flat line hit him over and over, but the apex got only 2 balls close enough for him to bat them out of the air because they were floating so slowly.

Range was a decided draw. I took aim at a large tree 275 feet out. (with a tape measure.) both guns could reach the tree with a good arc, and neither fell drastically short as we backed away to longer ranges.

Breakage is hazy because of my extensive flatline usage. The apex broke far more balls in a day of play than my flatline ever has. My marker is fully tuned to my flatline as well as my paint and velocity. So that may have had an effect on my breakage record.

While i liked the trick shots, i was somewhat disappointed with them. The ball does not fly straight then curve as they seem to advertise, it shoots one direction then comes back the other way. I have thus far not been able to use them to any effect. The dive bomb seems to have the most potential though.

I used the trick shots, and the full spread of settings in play, and had very little luck with them all around.

Other players at my field have bought the apex, and shared similar opinions. Monday dec 26th we caught a warm day and went to play. 2 apex's broke on the field and a third broke paint all day.

I have heard of a mod that mounts the apex tip to a J&J ceramic, and is supposed to make it terrifyingly effective, but that i would like to see.
Conclusion: While the barrel has merit, i believe it needs a serious rethinking before it will be a solid contender off the shelf.
If you want to play a serious game buy a flatline and get it working properly. If you want a cool gimmick, or have a gun other than a tippman, maybe the apex, but a freak kit is probably a better choice.
As an after thought I will give it points for innovation.
Rating:
4 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, December 27th, 2005 at 9:40 pm PST
I found this review  
22 Comments - Add Comment

moboley Monday, December 26th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann Flatline - Flatline was the original long range barrel, the APEX is the next generation. Nothing compares to the Apex.
Marker Setup: A-5; E-Grip Installed; Apex Barrel; EZ Sling; Lapco Offset Sight Mount; Tapco Saw Stock; Shocktech Supafly Bolt; JCS Red Hot Power Tube; Cops911 Red Barrel Bag; SpecOps Foregrip; 42mm Red Dot Sight. COMING SOON: M-4 Modifications
Recommended
Paintballs:
Any. The Apex is not paint picky. Also in the time i've used it, i've yet to break a ball in the barrel.
Strengths: Adjustable range and Adjustable curve for those hard to reach places.
Weaknesses: Barrel length is a concern, tip is made of high impact plastic, potential durability issue.
Review: The Apex Barrel is the woodsballers dream. It has completely replaced the Flatline in my arsenal. It can easily get twice the range of the Flatline. You will lose track of the ball in flight, but you'll see the target duck or jump when he's hit. The curve feature is nice and has its occasional uses, but primarily the adjustable range is the key factor.

I don't like the length of the barrel because I like to MOD my A-5s and the stock barrel doesn't work with any MILSIM barrel shroud. HOWEVER...as of the writing of this review, there is an adapter available that allows you to attach it to any square tipped barrel. Or you can get real creative and take the tools to another barrel and recreated the grooves that are on the stock barrel.

I wouldn't recommend this for snipers, its not that accurate at extreme range, but is still good. Heavy Riflemen and Gunners would be best suited to this barrel. Its the closest thing to an artillery strike that you'll get in paintball.
Conclusion: I absolutely recommend this barrel. I'm giving it a 10 because there is nothing else that compares.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (17):  First  |  12  |  13  |  14  |  15  |  16  |  17
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media