paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / BT Paintball Design Apex Barrel System / BT Paintball Design Apex Barrel System / BT Paintball Design Apex Barrel System

BT Paintball Design Apex Barrel System Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount BT Paintball Design

Buy BT Paintball Design Apex Barrel System

Paintball Barrels

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


BT Paintball Design Apex Barrel System
[ View Photos (21) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 168
Average Rating: 8.7 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $140

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The Apex Barrel system is redefining how the game is played. With unmatched distance along with accuracy you will be able to hit more targets then before.

Features:

On/Off capability
Hit previously untouchable targets with new curve feature.
Adjustable ramp switch - choose the desired level of the curve.
Left hook, right hook, drop shot and long flat trajectory shots with a twist of the barrel.
Easy to " Dial in " targets and change the level of curve.
Easy to clean

Compatible models - Fits all popular barrel threads including:

BT-4/ BT-16
Tippmann A-5/ Tippmann 98
Intimidator/Autococker
Spyder/Mongoose
/VL/BE Impulse
Angel
Product Availability 
The BT Paintball Design Apex Barrel System is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (17):  First  |  13  |  14  |  15  |  16  |  17
        Next Page
TeamPointBlank Saturday, November 26th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested36 of 49 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Flatline a-5, flatline 98, flatline autococker
Marker Setup: Tippmann A-5 with flatline and/or All american 12 inch and Tipp. Werks 12 inch
Low preassure kit with Ergo reg (set to 400 psi) and 68 cu. in. Nitro
Respnse trigger upgraded
Folding stock
Steel remote hose with 1/4 turn on/off
Graphics kit
Double Trigger
Recommended
Paintballs:
Draxxus or PMI
Strengths: Adjustable Trajectory
Adjustable curve
Weaknesses: Not the best accuracy
Poor consitancy
Review: Alot of people are going to be displeased with this review because I wont have the best things to say about this barrel.

I anticipated this barrels arrival to the store where I work for some time. Finally got there about three/four weeks ago. Immediatly I just had to hook it up and go shoot it at my building. I put it on a 98 and had fun. I chrono all barrels before i test them and shoot with compressed air as to get the best results possible. I tested again on A-5 a few days later, results did not change between the gun enough to be worth noting.

First Test: Accuracy.
I used draxxus paint first off, then PMI's and tested the accuracy without the back spin on. Wasnt very happy after hearing this was supposed to be a strong point. Now granted it wasnt horrible and it was more than usable but it reminded me of shooting with a spyder stock barrel. The shots were inconsistant enough the getting tight groups, just wansnt happening. Mind you, im not setting up little perfect 12"x12" targets and all that, I shoot at two dumpster a wood pallet a gargbage can, some telephone poles and a wall. I have to say Im a good shoot and with target like that, if I wasnt going to get tight, consistant groups, hittin a person would be tough enough that I would change my barrel to my Werks or All american and move closer.

Second: The Spin.
Then, naturally, i click it out to the first position. Not much difference. In fact I didnt see much of a difference at all until about position 3-5. It was getting at this point to within the same range limitation's as flatling. HOWEVER, it is supposd to be more accurate than a flatline at the same range. Using a flatline for 3 years, I can tell you now this was not so. I can get more consistant groupings with a properly set up flatline A-5.
On the max back spin setting this thing gets some killer range, I was very impressed with that, but its lack off accuracy and irregular shooting pattern make it very undesirable. When the ball came within max standard paintball range, it dropped to within about a foot to 8 inches off the ground with the gun level. Im 5' 6" so me holding a gun plum level is at about 5 feet off the ground. It would then kick back up to over an 8 foot arc and then cost down again. These results were typical between position 7 to 8. Again, the range was great but the eradic trajectory and inaccurcy means the last to click will probably never be used for more than cover fire that can reach. Woods ball people rarley have 300 or so feet of open ground to shoot across, and with bushes in the way, you wont make the shot at level 8. I play back/captain for my scenario team, so i was happy to hear that this was supposed to get more range than the flatlline, it just didnt live up to what I've come to expect a barrel should . I give it about a 4 for this aspect.

Third Test: The Curve.
This, i was very impressed with. The ability to curve the paintballs is nothing new if you've had a Flatline, but the ability to adjust said curve and make it either steep or long is wonderfull. I am a big fan of the curve ball with the flatline and use it to my advantage as much as I can, which is still one big reason I use the flatline. The APEX takes that to a whole new, unseen level. If you use this barrel not for the range, but just the curve its almost worth the 140 bucks. A 10 all the way for that.

Fourth Test: Squeaky Clean.
Ok, not really a test but a mishap. A paintball or two managed to accomplish the inevitable and break. Not fun. Squeegie it out! Not a change. Any form of a good cleaning while in a game is just not going to happen. I had to use a pull through on the barrel, which cleared fine, but the tip just didnt budge until i ran it under the tap. That to me is just unacceptable. I give this a 4 as you can clean it to a degree that you can finish your battle, but not anywhere as close as you can with a normal, straight barrel.
Conclusion: Averaged together, this get a 5.5. But I am going to give it a 7. Why? Because I beleive its inovative, a wicked good idea and I like the curve. I beleive that its a new product and has the common mishaps of new products that have not been widley field tested. Once more news starts getting back to BT you'll see more improvments made to this barrel.
It is an awesome idea and I am stocked somthing like this is getting onto the market, i just honestly believe it needs more testing and more time to be truly great. I would recomend buying/testing it for your self and if you personally can deal with complications than go for it. But based on it being functional and worth the money, I cannot say it is and I still tell people looking for the range to with a flatline if they can. I will test again when the weather change, when its not so windy etc. And if any changes occur I will adjust this review accordingly. But until then, I do not believe this barrel is at the place where it is worth the money and the time needed to learn its complicated patterns.
Rating:
7 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

Tractorm3 Wednesday, November 16th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
3 months2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
flatline
Marker Setup: 98 custom
low pressure kit
PB drop foward
R/T trigger
Halo b w/ rip
Apex barrel
pure energy 68/4500 air tank
Recommended
Paintballs:
any thing will work good even the cheap stuff, but the more you move up in grade you can see it get a little better in accuracy
Strengths: 300 feet plus effective.
Hooks ball left and right.
Dive bomb over bunkers.
Weaknesses: Can not say there are any.
Review: This barrel is a must. If you learn how to use it and adjust it you WILL BE THE MOST dangerous thing on the field. People stick there heads out every once in a while and some people mite be able to get a shot but not with the apex. They cannot hide!!!!! hook a ball rite around the tree or rite over a wall and hit them on the head!!!! I shoot air but the accuracy is also to die for. the bals are with in inches every time and on the staright trajectory mode they saidl one after the other in a line!!! Also if you have used it for a while and seen the preformance drop down even if its been clean, take it apart and clean it with some weak house cleaner, it will come rite back to life. Since the mechanism that give the ball its spin is on the end of the barrel, if a ball does break it will break as it is comming out, not in the barrel so you can easily clean it and have the effect back in seconds. I also found its good with a sniper taking single shots, or at a high rate of fire. Ive had min up to around 19 a second and it still cranked out each one with the same effect
Conclusion: Its great. ive been indoors and out and evrey time i people leave woundering how the heck i hit them from behind a bunker. Its a must
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

g murder Tuesday, November 15th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann Flatline on a A-5 & Custom 98
Marker Setup: SP Ion
Halo B
CP: HP reg, rail drop & 2k5 on/off
Dye UL barrel & St!ffi Switch Kit
BT APEX barrel
Recommended
Paintballs:
Non-fragile, decent quality paint
Strengths: Good distance
Weaknesses: Loud, goofy looking
Review: I bought this barrel to replace a Custom 98 with a flatline barrel.

1. The APEX barrel is short and loud
2. Pushing the "level" selector fully forward gives great distance but without accuracy
3. Turning the shroud gives a slight curve but depends how far you slide the "level"
selector
4. Looks kind of goofy but this barrel on a light gun is easier to carry around than a
flatlined Tippmann with the greater distance advantages

The curve idea sort of works but it's an trial and error type thing....never quite sure how far it will travel before the curve happens until you pop a couple of shots.......as far as distance it can shoot very far, I was able to lay down supressive fire on people about 275 to 300 feet away with ease....not accurate fire but they could not move from their position without a chance of being hit. If you set the "level" selector about 3/4 forward you will get good distance with O.K. accuracy and when you get close just slide the selector back and rip on your opponent.

Conclusion: Not a bad idea....it'll give your non-flatline gun flatline distance without have to use a Tippmann
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Compulsion Wednesday, November 9th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
1 year22 of 25 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Redz Pepperstickz Kit - Quieter, More Accurate, Shorter Range
Marker Setup: 2004 B2K STD w/ Self-installed PDS
Egg 2
Redz Pepperstickz Kit or Apex Barrel
AKA Sidewinder
Shocktech LPR Plunger
CP Rail w/ ASA
Magnetic Trigger
25g microswitch
Dye Sticky 2s
ND Ion Clamping Feedneck
Madpooh PDS Harness
Ported Ram w/ polished shaft and bumper
Hellfire Detents
Steel 50/3000 HPA tank
Recommended
Paintballs:
Doesn't matter. This thing is nice and wide. The more consistant the paint the more consistant the shot, though. So don't go too cheap.
Strengths: Range! Range! Range!
Weaknesses: Loud
Less accurate than other barrels
A bit expensive
Review: I've always wanted a Flatline. Even when I was renting and Tippmann (Sports) first came out with them, I wanted one. Just the idea was cool. But Tippmann decided to keep the barrel threading proprietary so that only Tippmann's and a few specialized guns (the Flatline Autococker comes to mind) could use one. When I finally bought my own gun it came with Autococker threads, so I figured that I'd never have that range.

But a different Tippmann came to my rescue. Ben Tippmann Designs has built a barrel that can put spin along the ball at any degree, and at varying magnitudes. One of which mimics, indeed surpasses, the Flatline barrel.

RANGE:
I am truly impressed by the range of the barrel. At level 6 or 7 you can shoot level balls nearly 300 ft. Compare this to the ~110ft you'll get from a normal paintball firing 280ft/s. What this means is that in woodsball, where branches preclude aiming much above horizontal, your range can be almost tripled.

In woodsball games without heavy tree cover I am able to stay well out of range of normal barrels while laying suppressive fire. I even get a few kills. I can literally stand up with no cover and not worry about being hit. I'm simply out of range.

ACCURACY:
This barrel is not very accurate. With the slider at minimum, meaning that there's no "Apex Effect", I can rarely hit a hopper several times in a row at 40 ft. I can hit a pair goggles, though. As you increase the amount of spin your accuracy goes down significantly.

At maximum spin, you'll probably have a hard time hitting someone at 150+ feet. Of course, you'd have very little chance of hitting them with a regular barrel. At 200+ feet you have to lay down a barrage of paint and hope you get lucky. People will sometimes move between cover lazily, thinking they're out of range. A string of paint can net you an easy kill.

PAINT SELECTIVITY:
Throw whatever you want in here... just make sure it's not too lousy. The more consistent the paint, the better time you'll have with this barrel. The extended ranges and the extreme spin put on the ball means that any inconsistencies are multiplied. Even using decent paint (Xball Bronze) I still shank some.

LOUDNESS:
This thing is loud! There's almost no porting and the barrel is very short (10"). So you get very loud cracks with each shot. You'll be thankful of the extra range, because everyone's going to know where you are.

SUBJECTIVE OPINION:
This barrel is a lot of fun to use. I don't use the dive bomb or hook shots. However, if I tilt my gun a few degrees I can put a little bit of curve to it in order to arc around a bunker. Sometimes you can get a knee or a peeking goggle.

I find myself using a lot more paint with the Apex. You'll find a lot more shots open to you meaning you'll fire more. Furthermore, the barrel isn't terribly accurate so to hit the target, you'll need to fire more. But oh, when you get someone who thought they were out of range it's all worth it.


Conclusion: Ridiculous range, but sub-par accuracy. Don't expect to be a sniper, but expect to get some extra kills in long distance fights.
Get yourself a barrel kit for close games, but pull out the Apex for the long distance woodsballing.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, August 29th, 2006 at 11:48 am PST
I found this review  
4 Comments - Add Comment

redfireant3 Sunday, October 30th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
A5 Flatline
Marker Setup: 2002 Freeflow Mini Cocker
68/4500
Recommended
Paintballs:
.689 obviously for cockers
Strengths: Very oddball shots you can't do with a normal marker.
Weaknesses: Bit of a learning curve.And dont short stroke with a cocker.
Review: The local store owner got one of these to demo so i was playing a 12hr scenario and got to use it at least for half of the scenario before someone else on my team wanted to try. its does what it says but you really gotta shoot a decent amount to paint through it just to get use to it. it can do flatline shots, wild curve shots, exactly what it advertises. for a practical use i was away from a bunker about 20ft shooting with the curve harassing tank and because i was a good distance from the bunker of course they moved on but id really like to use this on the speed ball field it would catch some people of guard.
Conclusion: A little bit of a steep learning curve, but even with the effects of the barrel off it has a good consitancy for a solid barrel.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Uranus Saturday, October 29th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Flatline
Marker Setup: Stock 98 Custom
Recommended
Paintballs:
I have tried many types, so far it loves all paint. If I find a paint it dosen't like I'll edit this review.
Strengths: Likes all Paint, Distance, Accuracy
Weaknesses: umm....Nothing thus far
Review: I have allways wanted a flatline, but I was allways 50/50 with all the reviews about it. When I saw this barrel I fell in love. I don't Even have a Tippman my wife does. The barrel performs great on the normal setting. Thats how I run it untill i need the distance. You can fine tune the distance by ajusting the flatline settings. (That you ajust by moving a small clicker up and down, there are 9 settings). This really can make your balls go around corners, then spin the front upside down for the "Dive Bomb" Effect. I have nailed A lot of people with this.
Shooting this with the flatline effect on takes a couple minutes to get used to. the ball actualy drops down about two feet right after you shoot, then it curves back up and evens out and sails away
Conclusion: At first you think this is a gimick, wether it is or not it works great. This it the best Tippman barrel arround.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Kwiq Niss Monday, October 24th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month11 of 13 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
nothing compares
Marker Setup: Spyder Imagine
45c.i. 4500psi Crossfire Nitro bottle with reg.
remote line kit
shoulder stock
drilled out gas delivery and removed stone filter
check it chamber block
bandit bolt
red spring
12volt revvy
dye sticky grips
apex barrel
ccm standpipe
check it trigger
bandit high flow air valve #92
Recommended
Paintballs:
not picky but better paint is better paint
Strengths: It works
Weaknesses: Plastic barrel block makes me nervous about breaking it in woodsball.
Review: This barrel works.
It has 9 positions. Count 0 as slider closest to you and 8 as max backspin (farthest from you).
Positions 0-3 give average performance in comparison to my 14 inch barrel.
Positions 4 and 5 are great 4 for thicker paint 5 for better paint.
The ball launches out of the barrel at this setting and just flies. The distance and accuracy is amazing. I need to go to the golf driving range and find out exactly how far this thing can shoot without having to raise the barrel above target level. I'm sure the number would be outstanding but I'm not actually going to go to the driving range.
At this setting (4 or 5, depending) The accuracy is uncomparible to anything I've shot. From about 50 ft. I can stand (not even lay in prone but actually stand, I think this is because my weight balance on my gun is awesome due to the shoulder stock and remote line) and shoot at a target, actually a tree close to my house, and shoot repeatedly and watch the splatters cover the previous spread of the last paint ball I fired. I could go through a hopper like this.
I haven't seen a reason to use levels 6 or 7 much, but they operate much like level 8 just to less of a degree. I don't use these levels or levels 1-3.
Level 8 does what it advertises: dive bombs, curves at any angle. You simply push the switch all the way forward and simultaneously spin the chamber block the direction you want to curve (even down). If you spin it so the slider is on the bottom the paint will raise a little coming out of the barrel (due to the block that forces the ball to spin changing the direction of travel as the ball exits the barrel) then dive sharply. If you spin it so the slider is facing right, the paint will exit the barrel flying a little left and then curve sharply to the right.
You can spin the barrell block 360 degrees, and it has no stop, so you don't have to spin so far and then back the other way. If the barrel unscrews, loosen the screws on the back of the barrel block on the opposite of the slider. Being able to spin the barrel 360 degrees will let you shoot around, over, under, or like a combination such as go over something then dive and curve right simultaneously. It take a little getting use to the curve point to be effective, but I do mean just a little getting use to.
This barrel is not paint picky either. You might have to adjust the setting you use due to the thickness of cheaper paint, but it will fire all paint. I've used seconds, stinger diablo inferno, some orange stuff somebody gave me, and paint left over from last spring.
This barrel rocks.
I call it the bunker buster.
I can't wait to see more faces of unreachable people that I have shot in seemingly impossible places from extreme distances.
Conclusion: This barrel works. If you want distance and accuracy, you have it (uncomparably). If you want trick shots, you got them. You can't find the trick shots any where else, nor can you find this kind of distance or accuracy.
This is a great price for this product.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, November 2nd, 2005 at 1:56 pm PST
I found this review  
3 Comments - Add Comment

Kenny007 Monday, October 24th, 2005
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
32 degrees 14" barrel -Does well
Marker Setup: A-5
14" 32 Degrees Carbon Fiber Barrel
Tasco Reddot sight
Collapsable M4 Stock
Remote
4+1 Harness
Response Trigger
Recommended
Paintballs:
I have no idea...I shoot mostly Marbleizers
Strengths: Unknown as of yet
Weaknesses: Lack of manual/guide for such a complex barrel
Review: After seeing the number of great reviews for this barrel...essentially the next gen of flatline...I finally caved in and bought one, as I had been eyeing flatlines for some time. I took it out and examined it, and, with a little help from BT's website, figured out its general fuctions. I took it out to play with it at my college's 2nd event at EMR and was sad to find it perform poorly. I could see its attempts to curve the ball, and divebomb it...but what i bought the barrel for was long flat shots, as I am the marksman/sniper of the team. Flatline mode, regardless of the switch setting it was on, would just plummet into the ground, rather than recover from the initial drop i had read about. I have not chalked this barrel up as a loss yet tho, I'm hoping I find some help on how to use it properly, as I am no doubt sure that those others who gave the barrel a good review werent kidding. Maybe I need to turn the air up or down? I really dont know. I will edit this post once I come to a final conclusion...but as of right now I'm yearning for help in order to get the barrel successfully up and running...
Conclusion: Hoping it just takes some time to hash out its qualities
Rating:
5 out of 10
I found this review  
13 Comments - Add Comment

Rhino 7188 Friday, October 14th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
3 months7 of 13 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Flatline
Marker Setup: tippmann 98 custom
Response Trigger
Saw stock
5X scope
bi-pod
air thru sniper clip
And of course the APEX
Recommended
Paintballs:
Any
Strengths: Shooting around corners
cool looking
Weaknesses: None that I have seen.
Review: Well I am a sniper and the caption of the local paintball team I was telling people about this "magic" barrel when i got it in the mail i wanted to shoot it but had no c02 so my friend and I went to the hobby shop to get the tank filled it took a wile to get use to the barrel but i figured it out after a 1/2 a hopper my jaw dropped it was like i was cheating i could shoot around my friend and hit a soda can he was holding behind him
the man who owned the paintball coarse was amazed and i made people turn on each other by curving my shoot to look like it came from the other direction
Conclusion: The coolest barrel ever and size dose not matter 10in.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Delta Echo Wednesday, October 12th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month8 of 9 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tested a Flatline
Marker Setup: 2005 WGP Karnivor, Black
Planet Eclipse E2 Frame
Planet Eclipse Nexus Ram w/ QEVs
Kila Magnetic Ball Detent
Full Kaner Kit
T-Stock, Remote ProConnect setup
Halo-B Rip-drive Victory Boupgrade
4500psi 88ci HPA

2003 WGP Orracle, Custom Olive/Black Acid Wash Anno Finish
WGP Worrframe SF (Select Fire)
WGP MP4 Ram w/ Integral QEVs
Freeflow All Internals Upgrade
Freeflow Beavertail
CCM all Delrin Bolt and Pin
CCM Feedneck
CCM Ultralight Front Block
Kila Magnetic Ball Detent
T-Stock, Remote ProConnect setup
Halo-B Rip-drive Victory Board upgrade
4500psi 88ci HPA

2001 WGP Right Feed Autococker, Black
WGP Sniper II Pump Conversion
WGP Ergo Regulator
Orracle Bolt, Pin, and Internals
T-Stock, Remote ProConnect setup
3000psi 13ci HPA
Recommended
Paintballs:
Any fresh Mid to High grade paintball should be fine. I prefer RPS/PMI Marbs, and Evils
Strengths: Increases useable range by at least 10-15 yards
Reasonable accuracy
Short length
Durable
Weaknesses: Odd aiming angle
Needs a control bore for closed bolt markers
Review: Well after trying out the Apex barrel on both my Orracle and Karnivor, (see setups above) I am sufficiently pleased with its performance that I will not try to immediately resell it like I thought I might have too. Despite decent reviews, I have to admit that I was pretty skeptical until I actually tried it.

Overall Performance-
Quite simply it performed as advertised. In the flatline mode, it shot in a long flat trajectory,adding about 10-15 yards of distance before the ball started to drop off. So it does add some usable range, although a paintball's speed decreases exponentially with the distance it flies, so chances of getting actual breaks on the target you hit at extreme ranges also decreases. A lot of people complain about how it seems to make paintballs float at the end of its useable range. What that is, is just the point where most of the balls speed has bleed off to a point that a nonspinning paintball would begin to drop, but the spin given to it from the Apex barrel keeps it going for a little further. Physics is what allows flatline type barrels to shoot further, but they the laws of velocity / mass/ resistance/ and distance still apply. The other modes allowing you to intentionally "slice" or "hook" your shots (golf style) were interesting but don't seem all that practical for my needs. Who has the time to set up the correct direction and amount of curve for the correct distance on a target that is probably moving anyway? These other modes are nice marketing, but in my opinion are gimmicky and unnecessary. The Flatline and Apex barrels have finally pushed the sport of Paintball (like other sports, ie Baseball, Football, Soccer, Golf) into utilizing spin to affect the flight of a ball in a predictable manner. For the 3 cases of paint I shot through it at the last several games, I experienced zero breaks in the barrel. And that's was with me really railing on the WGP Select Fire Frame in PSP Ramp mode several times.

Consistency-
Consistency was surprisingly decent with only a few odd flyers. That is to be expected, the flight of any spinning ball will be affected by any slight dimple or imperfection of the paintball. It did shoot consistent and accurate enough to engage targets almost from tapeline to opposite tapeline of one of the smaller local fields.

Accuracy-
Accuracy at its maximum range did seem a little downgraded from the normal tack-driver like cocker accuracy I'm used to with conventional higher end barrels, but not as badly as I had feared after seeing numerous videos online. Those videos really don't do this barrel justice. Given the extended range it shoots to, is it fair to hold it to the same accuracy standard at its maximum range as a barrel that shoots 10-15 yards shorter? At the same range that conventional barrels shoot to, the Apex seems pretty comparable accuracywise. The biggest handicap seemed to be the odd angle you had to hold barrel at to shoot. This makes conventional aiming or using your instinctive point shooting reflex useless. You have to hold (aim) it up about 15 degrees higher above your target shooting line, as the paintballs don't shoot toward the same direction that the barrel is pointing. The adjustable deflection pad in the "can tip" that imparts the spin on the ball, also deflects it from its original trajectory.

Appearance is kinda odd. It looks like a 10" barrel with a short suppressor on the muzzle. The muzzle "can" starts almost immediately past the front pneumatics on my cocker. The ID of the barrel seemed a little big, probably 0.691 or <. I kinda expected this, as most flatline type barrels need to have a little wider ID to allow spin and to for a greater variety of paint to be utilized. It still would have been nice though if they would have started with a 0.689 at the barrel breech for an inch or two, and than ending with up to a 0.691 at the muzzle. As it is made now, the 0.689 Evil I was shooting sometimes fell out of the muzzle when I carried my autococker muzzle down. Other people using closed bolt markers will probably have a similar experience. Tippys, Spyders, Timmys and other Open-bolt markers won't have this problem. The quality of the honing of the inner aluminum barrel is decent, but by no means stellar. This is not as important as it would be for a conventional barrel, as the barrel puts the spin on the ball at the muzzle, but it would help a little with air effeciency. There is a single, staggered row of porting 3/4 of the way down the barrel to decrease back pressure, but this does very little to decrease the substantial muzzle "pop" you get when shooting through such a short barrel. I found that the barrel sometimes starts coming unscrewed from my marker, so I added a standard sized O-ring on the back of the barrel past the barrel threads. This acts as a washer to keep the barrel from coming loose.
Conclusion: Overall, I give it an 8.5 out of 10. Its not perfect, but its a lot better than I expected. I have to give it a thumbs up for innovation, adjustability, and smart design. In the relm of cockers, It looks a lot better and does the same job as the now hard to find Flatline Autococker, but unlike it, can be still easily converted back to a conventional barrel in seconds with no modifications.
Rating:
8 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, November 2nd, 2005 at 1:03 pm PST
I found this review  
3 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (17):  First  |  13  |  14  |  15  |  16  |  17
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media