paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / BT Paintball Design Apex Barrel System / BT Paintball Design Apex Barrel System / BT Paintball Design Apex Barrel System

BT Paintball Design Apex Barrel System Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount BT Paintball Design

Buy BT Paintball Design Apex Barrel System

Paintball Barrels

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


BT Paintball Design Apex Barrel System
[ View Photos (21) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 168
Average Rating: 8.7 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $140

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The Apex Barrel system is redefining how the game is played. With unmatched distance along with accuracy you will be able to hit more targets then before.

Features:

On/Off capability
Hit previously untouchable targets with new curve feature.
Adjustable ramp switch - choose the desired level of the curve.
Left hook, right hook, drop shot and long flat trajectory shots with a twist of the barrel.
Easy to " Dial in " targets and change the level of curve.
Easy to clean

Compatible models - Fits all popular barrel threads including:

BT-4/ BT-16
Tippmann A-5/ Tippmann 98
Intimidator/Autococker
Spyder/Mongoose
/VL/BE Impulse
Angel
Product Availability 
The BT Paintball Design Apex Barrel System is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (17):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  Last
        Next Page
Guger Sunday, November 2nd, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
3 months2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
flatline
Marker Setup: Digi Camo Combat
Bt-47 Apex( painted)
E-Grip
Air tank( Coil)
Vest
Red Dot Sight(Can't mount properly)
Halo Hopper
Stock(painted)
Recommended
Paintballs:
Marbelizers, or Camotac
Strengths: Awesome range, good accuracy, Awesome trick shots not picky on paint
Weaknesses: Long and heavy(bt-47)
Review: Alot more accurate than the stock barrel and is a big help to have the features in scenario games, able to use any paint and is accurate enough, the main thing you should know is that on the very high settings you have to aim up for it to go straight or it will go into the ground. The trick shots take some getting used to but even when your aren't used to them you should be able to use the alright, it will just take some adlusting
Conclusion: What the flatline should have been.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

ohyousooners Friday, October 31st, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested18 of 21 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
The Apex is much different than anything I've used (progressive, tear drop, evil pipe, J&J Edge, Powerlyte Scepter
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98 Custom, HPA, Variety of barrels
Recommended
Paintballs:
Small to medium bore with a slightly harder shell
Strengths: Distance is crazy long
Weaknesses: Accuracy is poor (especially at long distances)
Review: Note: This review is written by an experienced player with a critical but fair perspective. I do not give raving reviews and perfect "10"s for every piece of crap paintball item on the market.

Not having used an Apex barrel before, my first impression was "weird", my second impression was "whoa", my third impression was "this might be decent for a back or cover player".
As a woodsball player. I was attracted to the BT promise of longer flatter shots. So, I found an Apex for a good price at discountpaintball.com ($28.20 on 10/26/08).
Once received, I took it outside and fired about 50 rounds of Nelson paint and about 100 rounds of Zap paint. Here's what I discovered...
The Apex has Eight different settings. The settings control the severity of the spin and ball curve. On setting one, there is no spin/curve. On setting eight, there is severe spin/curve. It seemed to me that the most useful settings were between 4 and 7, depending on the paint and the distance of the shot.
I also noticed that on the higher settings you really have to aim your marker upward because the ball comes out of the marker at such a low trajectory and then curves up towards the target. (This is a significant disadvantage from the prone position.)
Pros: The Apex barrel really did significantly extend the range of my shots.
Cons: Accuracy was very poor at the longer distances. Long shots seemed to sail like a kite and would hit all over the place. At short to medium distances, accuracy was only slightly better than a stock barrel.
Also, the flight trajectory is not flat. On the higher settings, the spin on the ball causes the ball to fly in a severe arc. The ball exits the barrel on a downward trajectory, then the ball travels upward and eventually dropd again due to gravity. This causes an "S" shaped flight path for the longest of shots.
The player that would benefit most from this barrel would be a back or mid woodsball player that provides covering fire for front players. With medium to long shots the accuracy is decent enough to keep people down until a front player can move into position to make a kill shot.
Due to the fact that this barrel exponentially complicates the physics of the shot trajectory, lots of practice is necessary for proficiency.
Conclusion: If you're a back or cover player with lots of time and paint ($$$) to practice, this might be a good choice for you. Shot physics is more complicated. Accuracy is limited. But, distance is impressive. For me, I'll play some games with the Apex, especially when I get tired (cause I'm old =)) and want to play back. However, my trusty Smart Parts Progressive still out performs anything I've tried on my Tippy and will likely continue to see the most field time.
Rating:
6 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

woodedsniper Wednesday, October 29th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
3 months3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
BT AK-47 Apex
Tippmann Flatline
Marker Setup: Realtree Hardwoods Grey Tippmann 98 custom
AK-47 Apex
32* Hyperstar bolt
Response trigger (sometimes)
Folding Stock
eVLoution II loader
Recommended
Paintballs:
Most mid to higher grade paint works fine.
Strengths: Not picky over paint
outstanding range
the AK version is very quite
Weaknesses: There really are no key weaknesses to this product
Review: I used a Flatline on my 98 for about two years, struggling every game with broken paintballs. It didn't seem to matter if I bought the cheapest paint on the market or Marbalizer, paintballs would be broken. This often cost games. I had done my homework on the Apex, and had often considered it, but initially the price was about the same as the flatline, and there was quite a bit of controversy surrounding the barrel and its ability to curve paintballs, so I just stuck with the Flatline. One day I happened to find the AK-47 version of the Apex, 98 threads, new, for $30. Needless to say I made a purchase. Upon its arrival I put it on the gun and noticed that it was considerably longer than the standard Apex system that a buddy of mine uses. A somewhat trivial matter, but it does help suppress some of the sound by allowing the gas to dissipate prior to exiting the barrel.

Now for the meat of the review

The first time using the barrel was an excellent experience, especially after using a flatline for so long. During an average day I could count on at least 4-5 breaks and ultimately having to switch back to my 14" smooth bore. Not so with the Apex. 800 rounds, no breaks, no wingers, just smooth perfect flight. I set the adjuster to 4 clicks, about half way, and noticed that it had an effective range very comparable to the flatline's, and again, this was only half way. I never used the curve features that the Apex has, I never really had a chance, or a need to do so, although while target shooting I did play around with it. As compared to the standard Apex, the AK-47 Apex (which, if you haven't noticed is primarily what this review is about) is quite a bit quieter, which again is a trivial issue, but it is nice at times.

There are really no key weaknesses to this barrel that I have yet found. Its a little bulky, but not horribly. The only problem that this product suffers from is the ignorance of people who have never tested it , and immediately jump to the conclusion that because a product can do something that gives the player using it an advantage, therefore it should be "banned". Were that the case, paintball would have never evolved past stock class, so don't bash something that you're guilty of.

Conclusion: Overall, an outstanding product. It preforms flawlessly, every time, a welcome change to a flatline system. Best of all, its cheap now, while the flatline is still in excess of $100, I think I've made my point as to the economics of the situation.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

DeltaNu1142 Monday, October 13th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
none
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98C--cyclone feed, e-Grip, Apex barrel, JCS folding stock w/RVA, and a partridge in a pear tree
Recommended
Paintballs:
Premium
Strengths: Flexible, adjustable, ingenious, just f-ing cool
Weaknesses: A little more difficult to clean (obviously)
Review: I read a lot of the reviews of this product on pbreview before buying, so I knew what I was getting into. I was impressed that the barrel actually works as well as it does. I haven't tried left & right hooks in the field, but it's AWESOME to be able to lay prone with the drop shot ramped all the way up, fire over the top of bunkers, and have balls drop right on top of people. Excellent. I had a few balls break in it but fired through them without much trouble.
Conclusion: Very happy with it. I don't know if I'd spend the MSRP on it; but for $40 it was a bargain. I can't imagine another barrel performing better.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

benvan36 Friday, October 3rd, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
6 months6 of 10 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Flatline.
Marker Setup: tippmann x7, remote line, co2, apex.
Recommended
Paintballs:
Any paint works! Really doesn't matter.
Strengths: Great distance on shots, with decent accuracy, cheap!
Weaknesses: Trick shots...these never work, rubber ramp... I'll explain later, cleaning barrel out.
Review: When i first got this barrel it was amazing, way more accurate than the stock barrel and way better than my old set up (a5 with flatline). But after a couple games this barrel started to annoy me...

Everytime I run a squeegee through (after a break), the barrel would be clean but the rubber ramp would have paint all over it... No matter how i positioned the ramp there was always paint! It took much longer to clean because of this, i would have to use water and swabs. Although this wasnt a terrible disadvantage it really got annoying.

The biggest downfall of this barrel is the rubber ramp...After about 3 months of using this barrel the ramp started to lose little chunks of rubber. I later read on a forum that this was because of shooting at high rates of fire with a broken ball in the barrel. When you shot really fast the shards of paintball shells would cut into the rubber!!!!!

By the way when i say high rates of fire i dont mean fully auto, i only have a semi auto and maybe shot at about 3 balls a second!
Conclusion: I would recommend this barrel to someone who wants distance at a cheap price, but not to someone who is looking for a barrel to last them forever.
Rating:
5 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

julesmaster Saturday, September 20th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Nothing compares!!
Marker Setup: Tippmann A5 BT Apex Barrel, folding stock, red dot sight
Spyder MR1 tactical Rail, red dot scope, 16" barrel
Tippmann Bravo One tactical edition stock
Recommended
Paintballs:
WPN, diablo, Baja, please do not use the Inzane balls
Strengths: Accurate, Distance (Very much distance), on-off option, effects are amazing
Weaknesses: None
Review: I read so much about this product , i see very much videos, and I did it, I just cant believe that i was doing with this barrel, gives amazing distance, in the field that I play, I just lost the sight of the balls, at the maximun power the balls were very far, believe me, very very far, when i test the effects none of my team believe that the apex was doing, it's just amazing.
Conclusion: The apex barrel system is a must, with the tippmann A5 it's simply amazing, I don't need anything else, I am a killer machine, I'm almost invencible with this barrel.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

j4lg Sunday, September 14th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
flatline
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98 Custom Pro
Response trigger
Cyclone Feed System
Collapsable Car Stock
Apex Barrel
Recommended
Paintballs:
any, i used cheap paintballs and it broke once.
Strengths: Trick shots are great,
accurate
distance
Weaknesses: Not much.... Some times has some wingers, again nothing to complain about.
Review: This is a great barrel.
The trick shots are great, there was a guy behind a tree and about 10 guys were shooting at him, and he wasn't even showing his gun. I turned it to left hook and shot a couple shots at him and he was finnally out. It had great distance, and there was a guy there who had a flatline for the 98 so we were at the flag just sitting on rocks picking ppl of seein the differences, his had a little more consistent distance but mine was so accurate. I love it, i was shooting in little holes and crevices at 200ft. i love it and definatley reccomend it.
Conclusion: This is a great product and a must buy
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

wolftune Monday, August 4th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann A5 flatline
Tippmann A5 14" JJ Ceramic
Tippmann A5 stock barrel
Marker Setup: Tippmann A5 with BT folding stock, raised sight, offset hopper, drop forward, Apex Barrel
Autococker Pump with folding stock, drop forward, and scope
Recommended
Paintballs:
So far so good with all of them. Used Blaze, Draxxus Rec., and Triumph
Strengths: Fairly accurate at both short and long shots
Adjustable
Good Price
Weaknesses: Hard to use with sights
Adjustable piece can move accidentally
Review: I've been using the A5 for about 6 months, mostly with a JJ Ceramic barrel. While the JJ is solid, I was craving the ability to shoot straight shots through our regular woods spot, which has lots of hanging branches and bushes. I was worried that the Apex might be just a gimmick, but I was able to get it for a good deal and thought I'd give it a shot.

After testing the BT Apex in my yard and then during two long days of woodsball, here are my thoughts:

Accuracy:
I have to say this barrel is pretty accurate using the flatline setting. Shooting at a narrow metal fencepost from 50 ft., I was able to hit it at least two in ten times and the rest were within a few inches. While this doesn't sound amazing, I would say that 9 in 10 would have hit a body from that distance. However, what impressed me was how accurate it was at longer shots. The paintballs fly true and straight from the 3 - 6 settings on the adjustable piece at the end of the barrel. I was playing with two other guys with flatlines, and they both agreed, reluctantly, that the Apex was shooting slightly more accurate than their flatlines, especially in that middle to long distance. Compared to my autococker pump, it is less accurate until about 50-60 ft. Then, the ability to shoot straight shots without the parabola (falling ball) makes it about as accurate and much more versatile (a net gain in the ability to hit people from far away) than the pump (love the pump, by the way).

I heard that the actual barrel part of the Apex is pretty crappy, but with the setting on 1 (basically, unadjusted for spin), it shot ok. Definitely better than the stock barrel, though that is not saying much.

Sighting
This is a weakness of the barrel. Basically, my first shot was always somewhat of a tester shot. Because the paintball comes out of the barrel at a downward angle (if you're using the flatline setting), it drops before straightening out. It's fairly difficult to use the sight unless you are able to calibrate it. However, it's pretty easy to dial it in by the second or third shot. Also, I was much better at naturally compensating by the end of the second day. This will probably improve with time.

Consistency
This barrel is fairly consistent. I'd say one in 6 will fly away a bit to the left or right, but this is probably a function of paint as much as anything else (a few of my paintballs were dimpled).

Adjustability
Because of the ability to rotate the barrel end, if your balls are flying to one side, you can quickly compensate. If the wind is blowing fairly hard from one direction, you can compensate. If you're only looking for a bit of backspin, you can adjust it accordingly. If you're using bad paint, then the flatline setting may help or hinder, so you adjust accordingly. Finally, if you happen to be in a situation where you need to have the paintballs drop over a bunker, etc., you can do that. However, I didn't find that I ever used this function.

Durability
Well, it seems well made, but I can't really comment on how it will hold up. I did notice that the end can rotate during play if you go slamming through a bush or crawling along the ground. It doesn't rotate easily, though, so this shouldn't be a problem most of the time.

UPDATE 4/09
I now use an Apex tip on a Palmers Brass Barrel for my pump. It works very well in this setup. Basically, when my Apex tip is set to 0, I'm using the Brass. I use this for most situations. However, when I need a straight shot through bushes or longer distance shots (over 70 feet), I can ramp up the Apex. I usually only use it at 4 or 5 max.

For those looking to put the tip on their upgraded barrels, I would highly recommend it.
Conclusion: So is this barrel all hype? No. It works really well and I'm very happy with it. It's pretty accurate, shoots really far and straight if you need it to, and seems well built. However, know that the ability to curve around trees or over bunkers, while cool to mess with, won't really help you in woodsball, at least. For the price, it's well worth the buy.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, April 14th, 2009 at 3:24 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

BFK Sunday, August 3rd, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Flatline (x-7)
Marker Setup: stock
Recommended
Paintballs:
pretty much anything, I shot some 1 yr old paint that I left in my pods and no chop after 200+ shot 1 full hopper on Response firing.
Strengths: distance
compact - great for CQB
Weaknesses: Nothing yet
Review: pretty nice barrel for 60-70 bucks. Overall this barrel is pretty much a flatline with a different look and with extreme left/right curve and dive bomb. Played 1 game where me and 7 other guys assault a fort, I was the front man, storm the fort basically by myself. Went in there and took out 4 guys, went around the fort before my team even got up the hill and they thought I was the enemy took few shot at me and I took out 2 of my teammate with this barrel, thats 6 guys in 1 game (not bad for 18 vs 15) and took the flag home.
Conclusion: Only thing is that the ball looks like it falling once it comes out the barrel then it level itself and keep going.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Andr3w Sunday, July 20th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Flatline-comes close in range but doesnt have the accuracy or versatility of the apex.
In my early years, extreme rage razor barrel-didnt come close to the apex.
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98 Pro Platinum
Army style adjustable stock
Palmer reg.
Apex Barrel
Swattech Red/Green dot scope 1x mag.
digi-camo paintjob
drop-forward
double trigger
Recommended
Paintballs:
Any but remember, better paintballs are better paintballs.
Strengths: Accurate
Versatile
VERY long range
Weaknesses: Cosmeticly, it looks unintimidating
Takes alot of getting used to
somewhat complecated
Review: I just bought this barrel a while ago and wow. I really dont think anything compares in terms of what you can do with this barrel. it is truly a solution to almost any problem in the field. Use it with the right gear, and you will play like god on the paintball field.
Conclusion: Buy it if you want to have good range, accuracy and once again, versatility.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, July 20th, 2008 at 11:37 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (17):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media