paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / BT Paintball Design Apex Barrel System / BT Paintball Design Apex Barrel System / BT Paintball Design Apex Barrel System

BT Paintball Design Apex Barrel System Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount BT Paintball Design

Buy BT Paintball Design Apex Barrel System

Paintball Barrels

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


BT Paintball Design Apex Barrel System
[ View Photos (21) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 168
Average Rating: 8.7 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $140

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The Apex Barrel system is redefining how the game is played. With unmatched distance along with accuracy you will be able to hit more targets then before.

Features:

On/Off capability
Hit previously untouchable targets with new curve feature.
Adjustable ramp switch - choose the desired level of the curve.
Left hook, right hook, drop shot and long flat trajectory shots with a twist of the barrel.
Easy to " Dial in " targets and change the level of curve.
Easy to clean

Compatible models - Fits all popular barrel threads including:

BT-4/ BT-16
Tippmann A-5/ Tippmann 98
Intimidator/Autococker
Spyder/Mongoose
/VL/BE Impulse
Angel
Product Availability 
The BT Paintball Design Apex Barrel System is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (17):  First  |  14  |  15  |  16  |  17
                            
Paint Eater 2 Tuesday, October 11th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Other similar product that I used was a flatline.
Marker Setup: 98 custom, sealed bolt system, 14'' J and J barrel, Z-drop, rear velocity adjuster, double trigger, lapco strait feed neck, scope, and a compressed air tank
Recommended
Paintballs:
High quality paint
Strengths: -Shoot around bunkers and trees
-Shoot farther
Weaknesses: -Loud
-Tricky to handle at first
Review: The apex barrel is a very different barrel. New technology has allowed us to manipulate the path of a paintball. It is amazing what we can do today. The barrel is great if your a more of a back player. If your a front player you don't have the time to adjust the barrel without getting shot. The barrel has eight different levels. the higher the level the more the paint ball curves. This barrel did break several balls on me though. When the balls broke it did little to the path of the balls. To clean the barrel it's best to have a dye fuzzy stick with you. I overall like this barrel. If you have the chance, test it for your self. It's better to find out if you don't like the barrel before you buy it.
I give it a 8.5 out of 10

Conclusion: Buy the barrel if your a back player and if you don't care about stealth because this barrel is loud.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

Dalapadea Saturday, October 8th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month7 of 9 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
A-5 Flatline
Marker Setup: A-5, SAW stock, Remote, 3000psi WorrGas tank, Lapco Foregrip, APEX Barrel
Recommended
Paintballs:
Marballizer, Evil, anything decent
Strengths: Distance
Accuracy
Multiple Levels for varied accuracy and distance
Looks good
Quieter than the Flatline
Weaknesses: None so far to my knowledge.
Review: I recently bought an APEX barrel to replace my flatline. I wasn't sure if it was a great move because I loved my flatline. It'd gotten me through many games and I was never upset with it. However, once I tried out my new APEX, I was sold. This barrel is awesome! I play mostly woodsball and was hoping for a little more accuracy because with the flatline, many times the shots would curve off and hit trees. The APEX so far is much, much, MUCH more accurate than the flatline. I was able to shoot in between trees, avoid areas of brush, and all around be able to hit people better.
Another awesome feature of the APEX, was the distance I got out of it. When I put the barrel on the 8th level (the level for the greatest amount of distance), it shot much farther than the flatline and more accurately. I figured that the stages I would be using would be 4-5. Those are the stages with good accuracy yet still shoots a good distance. But since I saw how far and how accurate level 8 shot, I'm thinkin' of changing my mind.
As I suggested above, the APEX has different "levels" in which you can shoot. 1 being the shortest and most accurate level and 8 being the farthest and "least accurate" (although it was hardly inaccurate). This helps out greatly when playing because you don't get in those situations you got in with the flatline when someone was kind of far away so you knew you had the distance to get them, but you were worried about how many shots it'd take you to hit them. With the APEX, you can say "Hey, that guys a bit farther away, I'll just switch it to level 6 and get them". So when you're up close and personal with people you can switch the APEX down to say Level 3 or 4 to easily hit them accurately but when the time comes and you see someone too far away, you can jump up to Level 6-7 and nail them.
Looks. I like it. The pictures above don't give the barrel justice. I thought it was going to look funky having a big block at the end of my gun. That's true, yes, but it doesn't look weird. It just looks like your gun has a silencer, and its pretty cool. As opposed to my flatline which looks somewhat like a muffler yet doesn't quiet your shoots any, the APEX looks much sleeker and is definately quieter than the flatline.
Conclusion: If you want to upgrade from your flatline, or are looking into buying something with distance, accuracy, looks, and is quiet, I'd definately suggest to you the APEX Barrel.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Indecisive Tuesday, September 27th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month4 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Flatline barrel system
Marker Setup: Custom pro/ Rocket Cocker 2/ Apex Barrel/ VL hopper
Recommended
Paintballs:
Any.. can't stress this enough
Strengths: Long range, easy to clean, better than both 98c stock barrels even when turned off
Weaknesses: None
Review: Alright I got the barrel about 3 days ago, took it to practice on sunday and it performed amazingly.
The barrel really can shoot anything we took some cheap $20 per case factory seconds and not a single one broke in the barrel out of about a thousand shots.
I'm simply amazed at how good the barrel really is.

Oh yeah and it will still fire normally in damp conditions I think I actually had water in the barrel at the time.

There are no gas pressure issues either my tank actually ran out and I was still firing just fine before it happened.
Conclusion: Go and buy it, replace your flatline. This barrel is much better.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

gafx Sunday, September 25th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
3 months37 of 40 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
None
Marker Setup: M98C / Apex barrel / Response Trigger / Evolution II Y / Remote sys hose
Recommended
Paintballs:
Any
Strengths: Range, accuracy, durability, doesn't break paint!
Weaknesses: Price, size.
Review: After my first experience paintballing, I knew that my stock setup, especially the barrel, just wasn't cutting it. I asked around quite a bit on different barrel upgrades and nearly everyone told me to get a Flatline. But lo and behold, as I walked in to the shop, the dude behind the counter told me about this new, really trick barrel he had out back called the Apex. I bought it without hesitation. After playing with it on the field, I, as well as everyone out there, was totally impressed with it's superior range and accuracy. My bone stock marker (at that time) was outranging some pretty serious setups, as well as the A5's w/ flatlines. I was also using some really doo-doo paint at the time, and broke maybye one or two balls out of a thousand. After I installed the response trigger and the egg2 hopper, I thought I was going to have mass breakage through the barrel when I put the marker into cyclic fire (I know it's not true auto), but nope! Not a single ball has broken through it in over six thousand shots! The shot bending stuff really works too, but it took a couple hundred shots to get proficeint using it. I feel like i'm cheatin' when i use the curve shots though, so I try not to use it as much anymore. The only drawback was the size of the end of the barrel (which is used for the variable settings). I found it a little akward shooting through holes, but the advantages far outweighed this minor inconvenience. I do know that once I purchase a new marker, I will definitely equip it with an Apex.
Conclusion: Buy this barrel. You will not regret your purchase. Many markers have adaptor kits that will accommodate this barrel. The range on this thing is amazing!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
3 Comments - Add Comment

senghing27 Friday, September 2nd, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested36 of 44 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann 98 fltline-very long and paint picky
Tippmann A-5- about the same size as the apex, but very much wider in circomefrence, not as picky as the 98's,
Marker Setup: Tippmann A-5
6 Stage Expansion Chmamber
Flatline Barrel
Smart Part Progressive
DOP A-5 Vertical Adaptor
DOP Grip adaptor
Psychoballistics Drop
-or-
Smart Parts Ion
Progressive Barrel
QEV
CP on/off
Q-lock feedneck
-or-
CCI VSC Phantom
Roin Gear elite stock class harness


Recommended
Paintballs:
Any, i used three types in testing an worked fine
Strengths: The idealic design
Simplisty
size
Weaknesses: None at testing
Review: Heres the story: I had to stop into my local proshop to pick up some macro line for my ion. While i was in there, the store owner and another customer were shooting a A-5 equpied with the Apex barrel system. So natural curisosity brought me to ask to try it.
I being a flatline owner know about the great vast range given by the flatline, but it has problems such as accuracy when not properly set up, or it being picky to paint.
So i'm shooting away with the apex equiped a-5.. The barrel was a nice length, with the A-5, it still looks a bit long, and the apex reminds me of a silencer mounted on a barrel, not like the cylinderal tube of the flatline. So i'm shooting Stingers, Draxxus, and some seconds paint. All work really well with it. Nifty little dialer lets you adjust the range and the flatline effect to the ball, works very well. Not only that, all paint used worked actually pretty well in testing. And then with the apex you have the option of twisting the barrel to make it curve, almost like shooting a Flatlined a-5 sideways. With ot dialed in, it woked amazing.
After shooting it, i took a look at how it was made. The "controller" section of the barrel was a hard plastic. And the "paddle" that sort of funneling it so it does the backspin. The paddle was also made out of the hard plastic. Eh, no biggie. The interior of the metal part of the barrel was sily smooth and well machined. So its composite and metal, i'm ok for that. Unless you are hardcore woods ballers, that take your a-5's or 98's and really bash em into trees, i think it will be just fine.
This is much better idea for woodsballers, i really don't think it would be effencent on the speedball field, for you will be bombard by paintballs, and at the same time, u are dialing int the range and all. Not too smart of a move.
This is a very well built barrel, and is a solid performer.
Conclusion: This is a great product for hardcore woods ballers, possibly for speedball back men. You can now actually have the flatline effect with out having a tippmann marker, and not doing ghetto home customizing mods to use it. Just find your thread and bam, flatline for your gun. With the curving ability, it's nice. Well built product for any user.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
7 Comments - Add Comment

Bakrauf Sunday, August 21st, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month56 of 60 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Flatline
J&J Ceramic
Marker Setup: A-5
Apex
R/T
JCS Gold PowerTube
Voodoo Stock with RVA
Palmer Stab
Recommended
Paintballs:
In my opinion-Anything
But I have used PMI Premiums and Marbs so far
Strengths: APEX simply are not paint picky=better scenario gun
Weaknesses: Big Barrel End
Review: I am convinced of this after playing all day in a scenario game yesterday that I am better off with the Apex than I was with my Flatline. Dont get me wrong Flatlines are still very effective but this is a few things that I saw. (yes I owned both but sold my Flatty to buy this Apex)

Apex could shoot farther
Apex was very accurate
Apex is NOT paint picky
No weird shots or wingers
Apex Does not break balls.
APEX simply are not paint picky=better scenario gun

I ran most of the day on Setting 4-5 which is the basic flatline mode. When i need that extra OOmph I simply Upped to the Superflatline mode. I was shooting at one guy and I was on setting 4 My balls would drop just before the got to him. I flippped my switch up and Poof 3 shots later he was out. It was 200 ft. or more. The balls the and another guy were shooting at me did not break Several hit my vest and barely bounced off. I was suprised mine broke on him.

One thing I didnt use was the bunker busters and wrap shots. I didnt feel the need to use them. I really dont think these tyoes of trick shots will really come into play that much. I would see someones but sticking out behind the tree and aim and hit it. Why worry about the curve?

Quite a few people had Apex barrels out there and all of them that I talked to love them.


I never saw one ball wing to the left or right the way some do with the flatline. Some of the Flatlines out there broke paint. Were were using PMI Premium.

I have only shot the Premiums and Marbs through mine but I cant see any paint that will break. I am gogin to try some scorch and cheaper balls in a few days.

What I dont like about the apex? The end is to big. Its kind of hard shoving that barrel through cracks and shooting since the end is so darn big. I could sit the lip of my flatty between a whole in a barricade and fire away. Its not easy to do that with a Apex but i think its a small price to pay.

Update:
I have and use a response trigger and it handled it just fine. I watched people on the field using cockers and other high fire weapons and they were also ddoing great with no ball breaks. Its like a normal barrel. Much more reliable than the flatline at high rates of fire. Yes ther are 8 clicks the closer the nob is to you the more normal the barrel is. At the 1 setting the barrel is a very accurate normal barrel click 4-5 is Flatline. the last setting is super flatline. You simply twist the barrel to have the shot curve in the direction you want. You can do the same thing with the flatline. But there is a more noticeable curve with the apex.
Conclusion: Buy it if your going for a no hassle non picky barrel. Point and shoot and click for distance.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Monday, August 22nd, 2005 at 1:57 pm PST
I found this review  
9 Comments - Add Comment

Invictus Sunday, August 14th, 2005
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month288 of 301 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann A-5 Flatline
Marker Setup: Tippmann A-5
Tapco Saw Stock
APP 330 rd Hopper
E-grip
HPA remote coil
BT Apex Barrel
Crossfire 92/4500
Palmers Inline Reg
Recommended
Paintballs:
Just about any paint will work, but the Higher the grade....the better consistancy you will have in the shots.
Strengths: Has several "levels" to choose from
Shoots Farther and more accurate than Flatline
Weaknesses: Shroud must be turned in counter clockwise motion to prevent barrel from unscrewing
Review: The Apex has several "levels" (8 clicks/positions to be exact)from which to select/adjust from. Position 2-3 is equal in distance to the Flatline but is more accurate. Position 4-5 gives about 30-50 more distance and also retains incredible accuracy. Posistion 6-7 gives EVEN more DISTANCE, but accuracy starts to drift off. Position 8 aka "Super Flatline" gives the greatest Distance (about 80ft more than the flatline for me), and has accuracy comparible to the Flatline itself.

Position 8 Divebomb, and Hook Left/Right are simply amazing. The individual user will need to experiment with these options in order to properly use them. They will need to be familiar with the angle, distance, and flight path which the ball takes.

The overall barrel length unmounted is exactly 10 3/4 inches. Inside the shroud, on the bottom there are several slots/grooves in it. When the ball is shot, the combination of it hitting the rubber piece and air flowing underneath the ball (via the slots) sets the backspin in motion.

When set on "Super Flatline" is has anywhere between a 2-4ft drop that initially occurrs before the ball levels back out. When it levels back out, the ball literally seems to float... and float....

I give this product a 9, simply because no product is perfect and can always be added upon to improve its abilities

edit: So far I have noticed no problems with the Apex barrel. The only real thing I have noticed though, is that when a ball breaks in the shroud... its a pain to clean out. The paint being in there didn't seem to effect performance, just looked ugly I suppose.

UPDATE!!! Tuesday, August 16th, 2005 at 4:09 pm PST I tested out the Apex to see exactly how far it would shoot with me being able to hit the target. I went threw exactly 2 1/2 cases of paint, and found that on lvl 8 setting I was able to hit the target at 303 feet. I did so at 2.4 out of 10 shots. On lvl 5 setting I was able to hit the target at 167 feet and did so 8.9 out of 10 shots.

UPDATE!!!! Wednesday, August 24th, 2005 at 3:35 pm PST I went to a 8 hour scenario August 20th and was able to properly field test the Apex. I was outshooting and hitting people easily. I was able to easily provide long range suppressive fire and to bunker several people. I tested out the "Dive Bomb" and after a few shots I was able to dive a few shots over a tree stump to hit a guy that was bunkered by another player. It was a Field Paint only event, and the paint was quite cheap... some no name white box junk. Out of 2 cases, I broke only one ball.

UPDATE!!! Monday, October 3rd, 2005 at 2:19 pm PST I recently attended the Tippmann World Challenge (TWC) in Michigan, Sept 17-18. I played on the Tippmann Team. Dispite the poor paint, the Apex was performing amazingly. I demonstrated on field for a few people its capabilities. At one point I became a camera man, and followed the World team for pics. Several of them with high end markers were sporting Apex's. One guy who had just bought one was getting upset because he couldn't hit anything. I explained that he simply needed to back the ramping off. 2 clicks back.... and he cleared the road.... took out 6 guys. He was outshooting those with Flatlines. I have been able to battle (field) test this barrel thoroughly, and I am still very impressed with its performance.
Conclusion: This barrel is without a doubt the evolutionary upgrade of the Flatline, and unfortunately (sad to say this since I own a flatty as well) now puts the Flatline in the stone age.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Monday, October 3rd, 2005 at 2:26 pm PST
I found this review  
69 Comments - Add Comment

WithoutRemorse Monday, August 8th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month66 of 76 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann Flatline barrel
Marker Setup: Tippmann A5
+Apex Barrel
+Flatline Barrel
+30mm Red dot site
+Tactical AR-15 riser
Recommended
Paintballs:
Any medium to high grade paints
Strengths: Quieter than the flatline
More distance than the flatline
More accurate than the flatline
Weaknesses: It takes a little getting used to
Review: I just got my Apex barrel today and I took it out for some target practice. THIS BARREL IS AMAZING!! It easily adds 50+ feet to the flatline's range (and then some) It does take a little getting used to and a few adjustments in the way you play, but I love it either way.
I cant seem to find anything wrong with this barrel. The divebomb effect works like a charm, although I don't plan on using the super-curvey effects very often. For all of you who think this is a novelty barrel, think again. It kicks the flatline's butt in distance and accuracy
Conclusion: I reccomend it to snipers and heavy rifleman. This barrel gives you that extra edge
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
19 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (17):  First  |  14  |  15  |  16  |  17
                            
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media