paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / BT Paintball Design Apex Barrel System / BT Paintball Design Apex Barrel System / BT Paintball Design Apex Barrel System

BT Paintball Design Apex Barrel System Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount BT Paintball Design

Buy BT Paintball Design Apex Barrel System

Paintball Barrels

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


BT Paintball Design Apex Barrel System
[ View Photos (21) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 168
Average Rating: 8.7 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $140

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The Apex Barrel system is redefining how the game is played. With unmatched distance along with accuracy you will be able to hit more targets then before.

Features:

On/Off capability
Hit previously untouchable targets with new curve feature.
Adjustable ramp switch - choose the desired level of the curve.
Left hook, right hook, drop shot and long flat trajectory shots with a twist of the barrel.
Easy to " Dial in " targets and change the level of curve.
Easy to clean

Compatible models - Fits all popular barrel threads including:

BT-4/ BT-16
Tippmann A-5/ Tippmann 98
Intimidator/Autococker
Spyder/Mongoose
/VL/BE Impulse
Angel
Product Availability 
The BT Paintball Design Apex Barrel System is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (17):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  Last
        Next Page
thaBESTthereIZ Thursday, July 17th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
J&J barrels
Marker Setup: Spyder MR-2
18v Fasta LCD Hopper
16" J&J Performance Ceramic Barrel
Kingman Flux Wraparound Grips
Collapsible Stock


Tippmann A-5
Collapsible Stock
Apex Barrel
X7 Hopper (Low profile hopper)
Recommended
Paintballs:
premium, core, marbs, evil, just about any pmi or rps product
Strengths: Accuracy and all of the options of shots
Weaknesses: None that i know of.
Review: i bought my tippmann a-5 not long and i figured that i wanted a good barrel system and my friend has an apex on his bt 4 assault and it works really great so i got one for my a-5 when i got it. it has a lot of options of how you want to curve the ball, drop the ball, or even long ball. i personally think it is a barrel system that is WAY better than the flatline barrel systems.
Conclusion: Nothing's perfect im going to give it a 9. get it though it is well worth the price and you will definitly not be sorry with buying this barrel.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Optimusprime82 Monday, June 23rd, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
None
Marker Setup: A5 with BT Apex Barrel
Recommended
Paintballs:
Field paint worked fine for me--it was cheap and old (had been sitting for a few months in my friends garage)
Strengths: Increased distance and accuracy
Weaknesses: Nothing that I noticed
Review: First off, I am a casual player, I have been playing every year for the past 4 years now, at least 5 times a year, but this was the first year I took the plunge and bought my own gun. I play with a group of friends, mostly outdoors, sometimes indoors and many of them have their own guns with upgrades as well.

I have used my A5 three times, twice in a stock set up and this weekend with the Apex Barrel. My first and second experiences were positive, but I did notice that distance and accuracy were problems, with shots falling way short and veering off of where I needed them to be. A friend of mine has an A5 with a flat line barrel, and he recommended it to me. As I was doing research online and with guys at some of my local shops, the Apex Barrel came up. It was a little cheaper (I paid $65.00) then the flat line, and I thought that it probably couldn't be worse then my stock set up. I also thought (but highly doubted) that if the trick shots worked, they would be fun to use.

I will probably update as I have more experience with this, but I hope this initial post will help some people in similar positions to mine.

I was chrono'd @ 272 on the field, the weather was pretty hot and humid. We were using field paint from a couple of months ago, and some new paint as well. I don't remember the brand, but I don't believe it is very expensive ( I will update after I find out what brand later)

I did not have any problems with chopped or blown up paint. I used it on settings 4-5 most of the day, and my shots went farther, and were more accurate. I would say that I gained a good 30 effective feet on those settings. I was able to shoot clearly across the field and hit targets. I used the higher settings on a few occasions as well, and they worked well.

For those of you out there like me who didn't quite know what to expect at the higher setting, the ball from settings 5-8 fires at a downward angle. The distance did seem to be greater at these levels, but I did not use it that much to say for sure. The middle settings did what I needed it to do, which was gain some distance and make it consistently more accurate.

Now for the trick shots. I had no expectation that they would work at all. My friends all thought it was hype too. I didn't actually try any of them until we took a break in the middle of the day, and my friend and I went to the range to test it out. First a primer on this feature. The regular settings on the tip (I should say this now, for those of you who don't know the main features of this barrel are really in the tip, which can be put on other barrel's apparently but I used the barrel that it came with in the package) are 1-8, and just click through. There is a site on the gun, which I kept upright. Now, if you twist the barrel around so that the sight points downward or to the side, and keep the tip set on the highest levels, you can actually shoot curve shots. I was completely surprised by how close this worked to being advertised. On the range, there are a lot of targets, mannequins, garbage pail lids that hang down at various distances and other stuff. We were aiming at the closest mannequin, which was about 40 feet away. With setting 8 clicked off, and the tip turned, and the gun otherwise pointed right at the head, shots would curve around the mannequin. If you turn the tip to the right, the shot will curve right, if the sight is pointed towards the ground, the shot will rise and fall(the dive bomb I believe it is called) and if you point it left, the shot curves left. Anyone expecting to curve completely around an obstacle and hit someone right behind it is dreaming, but you could definitely place some fire closer then they expect, and at the right angle you could definitely make shots that you would not normally be able to make.

Now, during a game if you can adjust it accurately enough to be useful, good for you. My initial impression was that games move pretty fast and it's time consuming to adjust your shots all the time like that, but I suppose in certain situations it could be really useful.

I'll try to add more as I use it more often, but to summarize, I found this;

--the barrel did add distance and made my shots more consistent, with less veering off then in stock set up.

--I had no paint breakage problems(with sub optimal paint I might add)

--the barrel screws right in, so it is easy to clean

Conclusion: Overall, I have no complaints. I can only compare it to my stock setup, but it was a huge improvement over that. If you are looking for a simple upgrade for your a5 to add distance, I would recommend this. Shop around too, some places quoted prices in $80-90 range, but I found mine for $65
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

tippmannater Wednesday, June 11th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
3 months6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
I used a flat line before this and did not like it so i bought the apex thinking it was a joke and i was surprised at the acuracy of the apex.
Marker Setup: tippmann 98 custom,with expansion chamber,cyclone feed system,wargear squishy paddles,low profile hopper,apex barrel ak47 style,double trigger,psycoballistics z dop forward,rear velocity adjuster.
Recommended
Paintballs:
I've only used gap (Great American Paintball) paintballsand ive only had one or two balls break in the barrel.
Strengths: It has unmached acuracy and is better than the flatline.
Weaknesses: It is ugly to clean. it takes time to learn how to work it
Review: The apex is the best barrel ive used it lays paintballs on top of each other if you can hold the gun still. I bought the ak 47 style barrel for looks. I works just the same as the regular apex. It also minimizes the chance of a paintball hitting the other person and bouncing off with the backspin the barrel creates.
Conclusion: I would recamend the apex for any one who wants acuracy and distance.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

rmh4097 Monday, May 26th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
None
Marker Setup: Stock 98 Custom
Recommended
Paintballs:
Hotshots worked fine
Strengths: Accurate, nice looks, great distance, simple to understand and operate, and its not paint picky.
Weaknesses: None that I found
Review: I was playing at a friends house using my stock tippmann 98 (MR1 is my main marker). For a while I've been looking at Apexs and my friend let me borrow his for the day. For the first game they went zinging off to the left like crazy, until i figured out how to use it (without a manual or help from anybody else). From there on out my shots were dead on. I never used the curve or divebomb features because i was to estatic about its dead on accuracy.

So what I concluded was that the Apex is an unbelievablely simple barrel to figure out, contrary to what most people say, its dead on accurate, and it isnt all that expensive. (plenty of places have it for $50 now)
Conclusion: Im gonna buy it
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

DeFinate Sunday, May 18th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
X7 Flatline

COMBINE THE APEX TIP with any other barrel besides the one it comes with!

use either a J&J ceramic with apex adaptor or Lapco 'Apex Ready' barrel
Marker Setup: Tippmann X7-basic:
12" Lapco 'apex ready' barrel
Apex (tip)
Tacamo 416 shroud
all the TECH T upgrades (for slightly more air efficiency and for zero chopping problems)
Liberty Car-stock
UTG foldable grip handle
UTG rear sight
BSA 40mm Red Dot

Sp-1 (first edition, without select fire upgrade-YET*)
J&J 14" ceramic barrel
Double Trigger





Recommended
Paintballs:
Pretty much all paint balls really
Strengths: The Apex Tip
fairly good distance
adjustable desired distances
'drop shots'
accuracy w/ better barrel
Weaknesses: The barrel that comes with the tip
Paint in the Apex Tip
cleaning the Apex
Review: The Apex tip is what you really want and need. The barrel that comes with the Apex tip is not very good at all...if not garbage. It is very inaccurate and heavy than it should be. The real draw to this is the actual Apex Tip (the can/suppressor looking front end). I definitely recommend you combining it with other barrels out there such as a J&J ceramic barrel with the apex adapter or the Lapco 'Apex ready' barrel.

The Apex gives you roughly 30 more feet from what ive experienced and some claim even longer than that. When combined with another barrel, your long shots are relatively more accurate. It is a cheaper alternative to a flatline barrel, which granted shoots farther than the apex.. but accuracy is down dramatically. The Apex gives you best of both worlds. It looks like a suppressor too so for the milsim crowd and marker types, would match perfectly.

The Apex also gives you a sort of "trick shots". The clicks on the Apex itself give you options such as 'drop shots' in which the ball floats in mid air, then just drops. The highest option makes your balls seem like its floating, you definitely see the difference. I won't get into too much detail as many others have broken down each 'click' on the apex and all of its effects.

Some work fine and has its advantages, such as the drop and hook shots but may not work as perfectly as it may seem. Still it is a great plus to have.

Only gripe i have is.. obviously the barrel that comes with the Apex tip should have been more accurate and lighter. Another gripe would be is that when a ball breaks in your barrel for whatever reason, cleaning out the apex tip requires a little effort. You don't want to run a squeegee through the Apex Tip. The rubber ramp thats inside can get damaged, leaving grooves or broken spots.. which damage paintballs .. thus breaks mid air. You have to take apart the apex tip.. and clean it out carefully. Fortunate enough it is not that difficult to do.. however.. i wouldnt do it during a game because you may lose some of the screws and worse, some of the internals of the apex tip...like the switch for the apex option.

Conclusion: I recommend this for any marker really. It is a cheaper alternative to the flatline, and gives you a fair amount of extra distance for your shots. As long as you get rid of that pathetic barrel that comes with the Apex tip, and replace it with a compatible and more accurate barrel... the Apex is definitely worth it. Having someone bunkered behind cover only to switch your apex by moving the knob up a few clicks.. fire your marker.. and nailing someone with a drop shot.. is very satisfying.

9.0
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, May 22nd, 2008 at 10:32 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Kmac210 Sunday, May 11th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
None. Just a regular Smart Parts
Marker Setup: Seclusion 3-D camo A-5
Tippmann 4-position M4 stock
Apex Barrel
E-Grip
Remote Line
20 oz. CO2
Recommended
Paintballs:
Works great with any. I've used premium, stinger, and Hotbox paintballs.
Strengths: Shoots flat
Adjustable Spin
Not paint picky
Accurate
Price! Now is $50
Weaknesses: Will never have any use for trick shots (however are cool)
Little loud
Big end
Review: First off, if your a person that thinks this barrel is all hype, think again! This barrel preforms, preforms, and preforms. I only use the flateline mode and yes it does drop then comes back up on the higher levels (5-8). I however most of the time use it on level 4. Instead of dropping then rising, it actually shoots flat and accurate. Overall this is a great barrel.
Conclusion: Many people belive that this barrel is not for snipers due to the lack of accuracy and not being able to prone. On the contrary, when used on level 4 it does shoot flat and accurate. Bottomline, you have to practice a bit with this barrel but once you do you will be feared at long and moderate ranges
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, May 11th, 2008 at 4:42 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

promaster911 Saturday, May 10th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
1 year0 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
stiff
UL
SP progressive
Marker Setup: main:

spyder TL-R
14in stiffi barrel
32 degrees front block
dye hyper 2 reg
macroline kit
shockteck asa
shockteck drop
esp grip frame
ACS bolt
warrior feedneck
empire reloader
shocktech trigger
dye stickies grips
Ver C board
dye throttle 91 cu 4500psi

Secondary

promaster
dye ultralight barrel
cp shorty reg
marcroline kit
shocktech asa
hybrid contract killa grips
killa detents
t-clap feedneck
eve 2
throttle tank above
Recommended
Paintballs:
Anything
Strengths: Can curve
Weaknesses: Price
Not easy to clean
Review: The barrel works very nice when u have time to mess with the tip of it. it takes time to adjust the curve ad sometimes it moves on its own and messes up your shots. very high priced. pain the clean too.not good for speed ball! a a a a a a a a a a a a a a a a a a aa a a a a aa a a a a a
Conclusion: Woudl not but again way to big waste of money!! only for woodsball
Rating:
5 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

cfavre Saturday, May 3rd, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Flatline... about the same really. I like being able to turn the Apex off and the dive bomb shot can be fun.
Marker Setup: Tippmann Alpha Black Tactical
14" J&J Ceramic Barrel w/ Apex
Cyclone Feed System
- Tech T Squishy Paddles
- Tech T Vortex Mod
- Tech T Lightning Rod
- Tech T QEPH
Pro Team Tac Cap for Cyclone feed
Low Profile X7 Cyclone Hopper
Crossfire 68/4500 Carbon Fiber Tank
Core Remote w/ QD
Recommended
Paintballs:
I use Proball Standard Paintballs from Actionvillage.com, works perfectly with the Apex
Strengths: Ability to turn on and off
Easy on paint
Weaknesses: Standard barrel it comes on sucks
Might be bulky for some
Review: I got this barrel for $50 on Actionvillage. Took the adapter off the BT barrel and mounted it on my 14" J&J with a little electrical tape mod. That made a world of difference as far as accuracy and noise went. After switching it over to my J&J and gassing up the Alpha Black I took the Apex out for a spin. Setting 8 is wicked but almost worthless, the ball dips so far coming out of the barrel that it seems like you are aiming at the treetops to keep the ball from hiting the ground right in front of you. Settings 3-6 is where you will make most of your "kills". I play mainly woodsball and some of the guys I was reaching out and touching couldnt believe I was in range until it was too late. Some say that the Apex and Flatline are hard on paint but Ive put about 6000 fresh Proballs through mine and had no problems. Its also nice to be able to kick the Apex back to Setting 1 and just shoot normally w/ no spin, especially at a high rate of speed
Conclusion: Get it, $50 is a good price and its fun to play with. WIll give you a distinct distance advantage IMO
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

ALbadboy Friday, May 2nd, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Flatline (Great product, but not as good)
Marker Setup: Tippmann Custom Pro ACT
APEX Barrel
(Yea, Not too much to it)
Recommended
Paintballs:
ANYTHING ( I was using some crappy ZAP paint from 3 years ago)
Of course High Quality is best Though!
Strengths: Dive BOMB!!!
Ability to tun off APEX
Curves
Any Type of Paint
Accuracy
RANGE!!!
Weaknesses: Nothing really.....Bulky Front End???
Review: The day I got this i was soooo excited to open it and start shooting, but i when the only paint i could find was some left over ZAPS from 3 years ago, i was kinda thinking it wouldn't show the barrels Full Potential to well. Well I was wrong this thing is just simply AMAZING; i did not expect it to be this good. but it WAS!!! I just loved the accuracy, range and just simply the barrel itself. All the people out there that says this thing suck or doesn't shoot right is just either lieing or has a defective model. The Dive Bomb has to be the coolest thing on this, but of coarse i use the normal shots the most. I'm telling you For only $50 this thing kicks butt.
Conclusion: Get this Barrel you will NOT be disappointed.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Friday, May 2nd, 2008 at 9:18 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

sicksixsyxx Thursday, April 10th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
J&J 14" BARREL
Flatline
Marker Setup: Tippman A-5, Collapsible Stock, Remote coil, 20 oz CO2, NC Star Red Dot Sight, Response Trigger, X7 hopper, BT Apex Barrel
Recommended
Paintballs:
Marballizer
Strengths: Great distance, Very Accurate, Adjustable, Cost Effective
Weaknesses: Using good paint makes all the difference
Review: Compared to the flatline, the apex blows it out of the water...plus its cheaper..Although both barrels require you to use good paint, the apex looks and performs a lot better than the flatline...

But if you compare it to the J&J barrel, in my opinion, its a draw...both have good distances and both are very accurate...

Update: Went out to the field to play some scenerio games, and I was picking people off from great distances (about 200 ft) with the Apex barrel. Not to mention, when there were enemies hiding inside the fort, I just turned the barrel upside down and started lobbing paint into the fort and I scared the living daylights out of them. They thought it was raining paintballs. I love this barrel.
Conclusion: If you are torn between the apex and the flatline, go with the apex...but i dont think you can go wrong with any of them...it all depends on what you want to spend...
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, April 16th, 2008 at 9:02 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (17):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media