paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / BT Paintball Design Apex Barrel System / BT Paintball Design Apex Barrel System / BT Paintball Design Apex Barrel System

BT Paintball Design Apex Barrel System Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount BT Paintball Design

Buy BT Paintball Design Apex Barrel System

Paintball Barrels

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


BT Paintball Design Apex Barrel System
[ View Photos (21) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 168
Average Rating: 8.7 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $140

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The Apex Barrel system is redefining how the game is played. With unmatched distance along with accuracy you will be able to hit more targets then before.

Features:

On/Off capability
Hit previously untouchable targets with new curve feature.
Adjustable ramp switch - choose the desired level of the curve.
Left hook, right hook, drop shot and long flat trajectory shots with a twist of the barrel.
Easy to " Dial in " targets and change the level of curve.
Easy to clean

Compatible models - Fits all popular barrel threads including:

BT-4/ BT-16
Tippmann A-5/ Tippmann 98
Intimidator/Autococker
Spyder/Mongoose
/VL/BE Impulse
Angel
Product Availability 
The BT Paintball Design Apex Barrel System is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (17):  First  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  8  |  9  |  10  |  Last
        Next Page
BIG-TROLL-FAN Tuesday, June 5th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tiller 18 in.
32 degrees whisper barrel
Marker Setup: Smart Parts ION with
360 QEV
Q lock
NDZ 07 on/off
Crossfire 70/4500
Egg 2
Z board for egg
Spyder to ION adaptor
Recommended
Paintballs:
Any, not a paint picky barrel
Strengths: You don't have to get a flat-line to shoot as far as one
Weaknesses: Drops down then comes back up.
Review: I love the apex barrel. All the woodsballers i play with have have tippmanns and flat-lines. so i was sick and tierd of gettin shot form a a half mile off (that was a joke so don't flame me for it) so i got the apex and it works great .it drops down a bit and then comes back up which is no biggy and it shoots a very long way, click 3 or 4 is flate-line distance another down side is the higher the click the more side to side the paintball will go(it does not go up or down much.)
Conclusion: I LOVE MINE get one.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

spyder writer Wednesday, May 30th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
None like this
Marker Setup: Spyder pilot acs
evo 3 hopper
apex barrel
remote line
72 ci hpa tank
Recommended
Paintballs:
Any, this thing is not picky
Strengths: Distance
trick features
Weaknesses: Cost
plastic.
Review: Well, I got the barrel a few weeks ago, and have put a few hundred rounds thru it. This is my initial opinion.

Overall:
Very impressed with it. After my youth leader tagged my noggin about 7 times in a day,
I figured it might not be as bad as they say. I really enjoy the extra range( will talk about that later).

Acuraccy:
Considering I have a stock spyder barrel to compare, I am really impressed with the overall acuraccy. I am talking 1foot at 200 feet. With me thats awesome.

Range:
The range is amazing! At the eighth level I was beating my sister and her a5 flatline!
I was getting about 100 yards!

I have not used the curve in a game yet, but when i tried it out it was awesome!

The price may be daunting, but you get alot for your money.
Conclusion: I would reccomend this to anyone! I think it is innovative, and just darn cool. I am giving it a nine cuz nothing is perfect.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

bravo052492 Monday, May 21st, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
None.
Marker Setup: MR3: Eggy 3, Apex barrel.
Recommended
Paintballs:
Any non-low grade paintballs.
Strengths: Accurate, versatile, actually works as advertised.
Weaknesses: I've been hit on the tip more than with my stock barrel.
Review: I got this barrel a week after my gun and I used it for everything but really close speedball. It actually curves around objects and can shoot quite a long ways. I have gotten many outs with it by divebombing people behind cover. It can go the distance and is really worth the money.
Conclusion: If you want a good barrel for tactical play, get this now.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

crow01 Friday, May 18th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
flatline - similar but the flatline I less accurate and has less distance. Let me state that I love my A5, have used Tippmann products almost exclusively, and have used the flatline (both 98 and A5) almost exclusively as well. I have not scientifically tested my flatline vs my Apex, just fired several shots from both barrels one day and my statement is my opinion. I'm hoping to test my statement in a couple of weeks and I'll give everyone my recommendation then.
Marker Setup: A5/flatline/G36 folding stock/remote line/tac vest/tac cap
Recommended
Paintballs:
Unknown. Didn't think about it until now.
Strengths: Accuracy, trick shots
Weaknesses: plastic shroud. Possible breakage.
Review: I was finally able to use my new Apex this weekend and I would say that the barrel performed very solidly. I generally used the barrel in the 5-6 range and felt that it was very accurate and had good range. We generally play more non-speedball games (not woodsball though) and I was "sniping" people from quite a bit back and could count on the balls going where I wanted them. One game I was helping defend a fort and was on the 2nd level. From there I was able to pick at least 4 people off as they attacked my side and I was able to keep another 4-5 players down behind barriers quite easily. I have played this course several times and generally play the same spot inside the fort. I've done the exaclty same thing with my flatline and I would say that I had better results with the apex. The flatline's good, but the Apex took it that one step farther and seemed to put medium to long range shots where I wanted them.

I did use the dive bomb feature once during the game. This time I was attacking the fort and used it to keep the players on the bottom of the fort down behind the fort's wall. Did I get a lot of kills with it, no, but I feel that the players had to hug the wall more and weren't able to pop up as much to shoot me. I would say its more effective than just shooting straight into the wall to let the opposing player know you are still there waiting. Its too early for me to tell if this could be an effective technique. I'll have to play with it more later.

The barrel does shoot farther than other barrels, flatline included. On the highest setting I was actually pointing the barrel up about 45 degrees into the air. At this setting I don't think the barrel is very accurate just because of the way you are holding the gun. Its hard to site at this setting. I didn't shoot much at this setting, but just thinking about it I would imagine that it wouldn't break as much paint as it would at shorter distances. this wouldn't be due to the barrel, just from the physics of the paintball traveling such a distance. I think it would be good to get the attention of a new player and make him dive for cover, but my preference would be to let the player get a bit closer and hit him at medium/medium long range. If your trying to scare and delay players (especially new players) the long setting would be nice to send the paint that distance, but a veteran player would probably not worry as much about it. I think you'll find this about any barrel though. I know I don't dive for cover at the long range distance of regular barrels, and sometimes I pay for it.

I put about 2000 rounds through the barrel last weekend and didn't have one ball break. The paint was field paint, good quality, but I don't remember what it was. My shooting habits depend on the situation. I generally like to pick my shots, throw three or four shots out, and repeat if necessary. The apex handles this kind of shooting well. I also had times where I had to shoot rapidly and it seemed to handle this fine. Accuracy was reduced when firing quickly, but that happens with any gun/marker in the world. It wasn't horrible and I had fairly tight groupings. I do not have any trigger modifications to my gun though so I was not shooting at high speeds like you would see with some speedball setups.

I will recommend, if you are using CO2, to get a Palmer stabilizer. I have used my flatline with and without the stabilizer and I saw a huge difference when I started using the stabilizer. I have also used the Apex without the stabilizer and with it and it performs better with it. This is only natural as the air flow is more consistent. I would always recommend a stabilizer in any CO2 power gun.

The Bad
Not much really, just a couple of things come to mind. I find the barrel too short for my tastes and wish they would sell it in a 12 inch flavor. I like to have a mil-sim look to my gun and other than the barrel shrouds BT sells I haven't found one that will fit it. I think I'll adapt a JJ Ceramic to work with the Apex shroud and then put a barrel shroud on that. Note that the 6 inch barrel does seem to be accurate, just short. The other complaint that I have is that the Apex shroud will rotate on the barrel. I know its supposed to so you can do the curved shots, and the dive bomb shot, but I was hoping for some kind of settings as you turned the Apex. Its seems that it might be easy to through your shot off if you accidentally hit the shroud on the ground and the shroud moved. Then when you fire the gun instead of your shots going straight, they would curve and surprise you. This didn't happen when I played, it just seems like its a distinct possibility.

Conclusion: If your looking for a good medium/med-long range barrel the Apex is a very good choice. Is it the perfect barrel that will make you a deadly long range sniper, no, but it will give you range on a standard barrel and will make you a bit of a threat at extreme range. At medium to med-long range you can be a force to be reckoned with, but like anything else you need to practice with it and develop your shooting habits. The barrel will not aim itself.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

ion_boy Friday, April 27th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
A-5 Apex
Marker Setup: Ion, Virtue board, feed neck, QEV, new designs bolt, new designs trigger, Empire nano and Empire on/off
Recommended
Paintballs:
the cheap stuff does ok except when you got alot of backspin shooting over 15 BPS I use the cheapest bag of Procaps.
Strengths: the distance with an Ion from the stock barrel is amazing.
Weaknesses: Is hard to clean good when you break a ball. It makes my ion louder.
Review: When I first got my Apex i had my doughts because i was shooting in alot of wind but when your in the field its decently accurate because most hit where you are aiming but some dont they just spray in a 4 inch circle. Its good for litting up a bush when you dont where exactly the guy is. I usually put in the mittle or one click forward and that makes it curve up a little and give the perfect amount of distance without shooting over somebodys head. alot of people have been asking me if you still shoot as quick and yes you do I didnt lose any speed with the Apex im shooting at around 20 BPS depending on the batteries in my hopper. it blows through bushes I guess because of the back spin but its helped me quite afew times al ready. I ould deffinateley recommend this barrel for any body that is like me and wants a fast gun but can be used in the woods like an A-5.
Conclusion: I would recomend this product to anybody that plays woodsball or scenario but deffinateley not speedball as long as you dont buy for accuracy.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

jsniffin Thursday, April 19th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
12in Rifled Barrel
I know its nothing like an APEX or Flatline just the only other barrel i've used other than a stock barrel.
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98 Custom
20oz Tank/ 9oz Tank
Remote
Recommended
Paintballs:
I've used the Stryker paintballs which run about $40 a case so I assume that they arent the best but so far no ball has broken in the barrel Stock or APEX

I guess any..
Strengths: Dive bomb shots, Flatline shots for less than a flatline barrel, Hook shots
Weaknesses: Front end is a little big but that doesnt affect anything really.
Review: I havent used this on the field yet but shooting at targets in my backyard its pretty sweet.
I can shoot twice as far with the apex (on the flatline setting 4 or 5) than my stock barrel. Its not as accurate when shooting that far but then again what is? So far this is an awesome barrel which can be found on EBAY for around $80 and some of those places dont charge for shipping either just make sure you get the right threads. I will update this as i use it more and more on the field
Conclusion: Great barrel, although i havent used the flatline barrel i have heard that flatlines arent as good because balls break in them a lot more. I have not broken one ball in my APEX barrel and I have shot about half a case.
I know this isny much testing but due to limited funds i cant jut shoot paint for fun. i need to save some for the field. I give it a nine because im still messing with it and hooks arent perfect but what is? its pretty sweet. i would recomend it but it takes some getting used to.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

jaylee109 Monday, April 9th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Sheridan Barrel - it was accurate but didn't come even close to the accuracy of this barrel.
Marker Setup: spider sonix '05
BT Apex Barrel System
Halo Hopper B
Dye 300 psi CO2 tank
Recommended
Paintballs:
any paintballs work with this barrel.
Strengths: It can shoot basically anywhere within range.
Weaknesses: I couldn't find any weaknesses.
Review: This barrel helped me so much when I played, I was the last one left on my team and I was against 5 other people. They all were good but not good enough...I killed all of them. Most of them were hiding behind bunkers and they had no idea that i had an apex barrel so they just sat there and came up every so often to shoot at me. I took them out one at a time with using the apex barrel adjustments. It does really finish my gun which kind of made it a disadvantage for me but i could still use it.
Conclusion: Get this, it will make your gun so much better and i promise you will be one of the best on your team if you use the barrel properly.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

GaseousAnomaly Thursday, April 5th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Flatline
Marker Setup: 2 Tippmann Model 98's
2 J&J Ceramic 14"
Reverse-Mounted Drop-Forward (my tank is backwards under my gun.
Recommended
Paintballs:
ANY PAINTBALL AVAILABLE
Strengths: Curves balls in full 360 degrees.
Adjustable Curve
Weaknesses: If the barrel gets cold, it doesn't work as well. I'll explain.
Review: I went out and got my Apex for my Tippy a few days ago. it was snowy outside when i tested it, and it didn't work quite right. I have since formulated a hypothesis. the "paddle" in the end piece is made out of rubber. When rubber gets cold, it gets less pliable and has a lot less friction. so don't shoot this marker in the cold, because it does a gunky job of putting spin on the ball. I've since tested it in warm weather, and it does just fine. It adds a few hundred feet of range to ANY paint, and any paint that isn't complete crap will work flawlessly in this barrel. So don't go buying the high-end $55+-a-case paint, because $40 case-quality paint works just fine. Hope this barrel is a good buy for everyone else like it was for me. I highly recommend it. Looking forward to the 1000+ woods-ball game on Apr 29, '07 in Windham, New Hampshire. Yeah, you know what i'm talking about.
Conclusion: GET THIS BARREL! I was willing to pay $120 for this barrel but i was able to convince the store to sell it to me for 95 bucks brand-new in the box. STEAL! OH YEAH! I'm giving it a 9 because it doesn't really work in cold weather.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

chevyrocks Tuesday, March 27th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
flatline compaired to this i should have thrown away the flatline.
Marker Setup: Tippmann Model 98
Apex barrel/Smartparts teardrop
view loader motorized hopper
Recommended
Paintballs:
i don't use anything fancy i use balls from fleet farm or walmart...
Strengths: Accuracy and adjustability
Weaknesses: It drops at level 8. hard to predict curve and drop.
Review: I had the flatline for my second year of paintballing after being fed up with the stock one. and i was disapointed in its accuracy. it had good distance but sometimes it curved up and the next time it curved down or left or right. i wasn't satisfied. so this year i was looking for a new barrel and accidentaly found this one on actionvillage. i bought it and i love it. on 4 or 5 it shoots consistantly accurate shots with great distance above 5 i really don't want to lose accuracy for distance. level six i can handle. it does shoot crazy on level 8 once in awile but that may be my paint. I love this barrel. In the woods i was able to shoot into brush this thing is so accurate and hit who i was shooting. I just played with this in 15-17 degree weather and out of about 500-550 balls i shot i only broke one while everyone else was breaking them left and right. The curve and drop feature i still experiment on but they do work they are just hard to dial in perfectly. Disadvantage" I cleaned it with water then took it apart and found that a piece of wire that the adjuster slides on started to get just a little rusty. i cleaned it up but i would recommend not to use water unless you are going to clean it right after.
Conclusion: I would buy this if you want accuracy but also distance. it looks sweet too. it owns my flatline and kills my stock barrel i would recommend this barrel to anyone who shoots a variety of courses. It works great.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, April 7th, 2007 at 8:23 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

pbduder Tuesday, March 27th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
none------nothing compares
Marker Setup: spyder electra acs '05
halo tsa frontman
apex barrel
(x2)20 ounce CO2
Recommended
Paintballs:
ive only used monster balls and draxxus balls the draxxus work better
Strengths: VERY long range can be accurate at times but some modes dontwork good in woods
Weaknesses: Dont be lazy reach down change modes
Review: Well this barrel can be good in different situations in its different modes. i like the long range it has and i like that it can be turned off too.if your playing in the open or like speedball you can use the spins but not in the thick woods. other than that its an all around good barrel. but before you go raggin on it shoot about a case of paint to get used to it maybee just do some target prac with ur friends runnin around in the open but definetly get used to the modes and the things the apex can do its nuts.
Conclusion: I say get it if u like long range and you have somewhere you will be able to use it to its full extent or if u have the money
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (17):  First  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  8  |  9  |  10  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media