paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / BT Paintball Design Apex Barrel System / BT Paintball Design Apex Barrel System / BT Paintball Design Apex Barrel System

BT Paintball Design Apex Barrel System Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount BT Paintball Design

Buy BT Paintball Design Apex Barrel System

Paintball Barrels

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


BT Paintball Design Apex Barrel System
[ View Photos (21) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 168
Average Rating: 8.7 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $140

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The Apex Barrel system is redefining how the game is played. With unmatched distance along with accuracy you will be able to hit more targets then before.

Features:

On/Off capability
Hit previously untouchable targets with new curve feature.
Adjustable ramp switch - choose the desired level of the curve.
Left hook, right hook, drop shot and long flat trajectory shots with a twist of the barrel.
Easy to " Dial in " targets and change the level of curve.
Easy to clean

Compatible models - Fits all popular barrel threads including:

BT-4/ BT-16
Tippmann A-5/ Tippmann 98
Intimidator/Autococker
Spyder/Mongoose
/VL/BE Impulse
Angel
Product Availability 
The BT Paintball Design Apex Barrel System is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (17):  First  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  8  |  9  |  10  |  11  |  Last
        Next Page
Tagabagsul Tuesday, March 27th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Flatline nothing else compares...besides flatline
Marker Setup: A-5
Opsgear G36 Stock
J&J Ceramic w/ Apex tip / Flatline
Vortex Cyclone mod
Super R/T and QEV
Ricochet R5
Polished Interals
Spec ops G36 folding stock
PMI 68ci 300psi on Remote
Red Dot Sight
Recommended
Paintballs:
i use Big Ball or premiums...that's just me haven't tried with other paint yet
Strengths: Far and Straight
on/off ability
ability to dial in
Weaknesses: Some breaks read review
Twisting
Review: This is a great barrel tip...i say tip because on the apex stock barrel is garbage...so i dropped it on a J&J ceramic and it's great...u shoot with the ability of the flatline...but also the ability to curve the ball...I for one really don't like the hook/slice ability...i like the long straight shots...

i will warn...if ur paint is dented or dimpled...they will curve or worse case break in the barrel...i shot some bad paint was like a couple weeks old to where there were like 2 dimples on every ball...and i had very frequent break...so i suggest getting and using the freshest paint u can get ur hands on...but when i bought a fresh box of paint it shot amazingly...i'm in love with it...love it so much...i just gave away my flatline to my cousin who bought a stock A-5....u can dial in from 8 differest settings...which is cool...i keep mine around 6/8 clicks forward...

it's also lighter than the flatline making it easier to raise the gun up and it's a durable plastic...

one other issue i had with the tip was that when u twist the tip there isn't a locking device to keep it in one position...i found myself realigning the tip everytime i take off the barrel bag...which only takes a couple seconds...but in the middle of a gun fight if my barrel hits the bunker and i have to readjust the results can't be good...
Conclusion: I say get it...unless ur a tourney player...they aren't tourney legal...power of a flatline with more variabililty makes it great at clearing bunks...
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

nicedude7 Thursday, March 22nd, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
none really
Marker Setup: tippmann A-5 16oz co2 tank apex barrel tactical scope
Recommended
Paintballs:
any it really dosnt matter
Strengths: Durable great accuracy it doubles all most as a flatline if you use it right
Weaknesses: It takes awile to get used to that's bout it
Review: The apex barrel is a great buy it is incredibly accurate you can put a spin on the ball to make it curve to the left or right or do a dive bomb action if you want itr doubles as a flatline barrel if you play indoor paint ball you will like it if you play scenario games you will love it it is incredibly durable and sneaky i shot a guy pretty much around a corner with it once try this thing it makes a big difference
Conclusion: Overall this is a great product if you are willing to drop the 120$ to get it go for it you will not regret it the onley reason im giving it a nine is its a bit pricey
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

phomat Wednesday, March 21st, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
None
Marker Setup: Spyder VS3. VLocity hppper. Dye barrel.
Spider Rodeo--Superfly bolt, rocket valve, anti-siphon CO2, various barrels, Archon gravity hopper, clamping feedneck
Electric Piranha GTI--Superfly bolt, Richochet hopper
Worrgames Trilogy--Archon gravity hopper
Recommended
Paintballs:
No recommendations.
Strengths: Extended range--very useful in woodsball.
Weaknesses: Inaccurate. Inconsistent. Occasionally breaks balls on max setting.
Review: Wasn't initially impressed when testing it due to inconsistency and inaccuracy relative to other barrels. In the field, however, it was deadly. I was able to consistently tag opponents while I was out of their range. Had one ball break in the barrel, and was able to quickly squeegee it and shoot two more opponents. I found no use for curving or dropping, although I can see how that might be useful in some circumstances.
This barrel simply represents technological progress like bigger CO2 tanks, semi-auto and auto guns, flatline barrels and improved paintballs. Like any other technological innovation, players can agree to allow its use or not based upon their desires.
The Apex barrel sacrifices accuracy and consistency for range. Also, after using it once, I found I was the target of choice for the opponents.
The Apex barrel does what it's supposed to but could be improved (and I'm sure will be).
Conclusion: Very useful for woodsball, but make sure your friends will not whine too much if you use it.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

c_sports_v Sunday, March 18th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
freak barrel
flatline barrel
stock barrels
Marker Setup: bt-4
halo hopper
12 ounce co2
remote
apex barrel
Recommended
Paintballs:
most good paintballs work
just dont get paintballs that will break
or that are cheap
Strengths: Shoots far
sick dive modes
not too expensive
Weaknesses: Sort of loud
uses lots of co2
drops before curving up when on high settings
Review: i first had a spyder agressor with everything stock. it worked ok for a while but then it started to break. one of my friends has a spyder shudder with a freak 16 or 18 inch barrel. i would sometimes be able to kill him if i snuck up on him. but if u got into a firefight with him you would usually loose because he can just straight up shoot u from farther away. so i wanted a gun that could shoot far with good accuracy. i thought about getting a flatline but didnt because of the cost. i got the apex . the first games that i played with it it worked really well. the only bad thing i noticed was that it used co2 up fast and was hard to get a feel for where your ball would land (when you put it on dive) i also found myself shooting lots more paint. this is because i could shoot throught the trees about twice the distance that i used to be able to. after using it about 10 times now, i can actually tell exactly where the ball is going to go when i put it on dive. (and yes the dive really works. i have shot people in trenches and bunkers.

the distance is my favorite part. i just tested it a few days ago in clear weather and without any wind. the curves will hit a target behind a tree from 10yards to 30 yards away. this is the same with the dive. it wont shoot between 0 and 10 or after 30 because either the curve hasnt started or it has already hit something.
my favorite distance mode is 4 this is because it gives you about 40 yards of straight fire with out a vertical drop (it drops in all of the other modes for some reason) on the farthest mode (i think it it is 8) it will shoot really far. i did not measure it but i know a flatline will not shoot that far. also on the 7 or 8 mode when the ball drops, then it curves back up so when you are fireing at people, they will think the ball is going to hit the ground but then it will curve up about 4 or five feet and hit them.

the only think i don t like is that the Barrel is loud so you only have one or two shots before they see you. if it was quieter then you would be pretty hard to kill
Conclusion: Good barrel at a good price
gives you distance with relativelty good accuracy
looks ok on gun
would give a 10 if it was quieter
dont get this if u never shoot from far away or speed ball in the front this is because you will spend too much time adjusting and by the time you are done you will be dead or the person will have moved
sort of loud but the distance is sick and so is the curving
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

p8ntballer2387 Thursday, March 15th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
none, seen a flatline in action though
Marker Setup: A5
R/T
16in J & J
14in smartparts linear
blade trigger
32 degrees coil
4+1 pack
Recommended
Paintballs:
small bore size, to big and they break to easily
monster ball from walmart work well
Strengths: Accurate
not as loud as the flatline
easy to take a part
easy to clean
Weaknesses: You have to aim at an angle
doesnt shoot threw brakes well
annoying to adjust
Review: Ok to start, it will out shoot a flatline in range with the right barrel, but i broke alot of paint today while testing it, it was about 30 degrees out though, you can not put this barrel on others without a barrel adapter that is hard to find, its an ok barrel you need to get used to shooting first though, because of where you need to aim an such

well after shooting in 60 degree weather with different paint the preformance was dropmaticly better. i use monsterballs this time and they worked better then the more exsensive paint have already used. second it did miss but rarely it was amazing i could hit something while looking at

played aturday 3/31/07
overall about the same as flatline for the a5, impressive drop shots though.
hated having to change settings everytime i moved up though

all and all flatline and apex are brother sister barrels that get the job done.
Conclusion: Well i only got to test it today, but i will be back with more next time, so far i think that it is a stranger barrel then most, i know that the flatline is not that bad to install on a gun but this is easy to, i would need to play to see if it does as well as it says it should so in a week ill be back with more info about it. i give a 7 because im not that impressed yet.

after testing the barrel with different paint matches i found that the balls i was shooting were a little on the bigger size, causing the tip to break the ball.

cleaning the barrel is not to difficault i simply ran it under semi warm water and it then disconected the tip to squeegy the barrel. do not use a squeegy on the tip it will rip the tung a part.

as for the tilting the barrel back its not the worst thing ever just wierd until you get used to that kind of stuff

still working on the kinks in my gun but did alright, apex or flatline you ask yourself, i say for the a5 users the flatline is the right way, anyone else apex will do wonders for your range
Rating:
8 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, April 4th, 2007 at 1:18 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Tigerprince Wednesday, March 7th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
flatline
Marker Setup: 98 custom
Tippmann Expansion Chamber
Recommended
Paintballs:
ANYTHING ROUND!!
higher quality paint will be more accurate
Strengths: Great Range
5 shot types (see review)
NOT paint picky
Weaknesses: At long range, balls don't break.
Review: Pros: Not paint picky unlike the Flatline, I've used anything from Marbs to white box and the only difference in the type of paint is that the higher quality paint is more accurate.

5 shot options
1)Super Flatline mode gives you awesome range (150 ft+ much longer and the balls may not break)
2)Drop shot allows you to arch shots over obstacles.
3 & 4) left or right hook to curve around those pesky trees or boards.
5) Standard fire (you can turn the apex effect off)

You can mount the Apex tip to other barrels to gain the effect of that barrel with the apex effect off. You will loose most of the effect of the other barrel with the tip on with the exception of the sound. I have a friend who mounted the Apex tip on his Freak kit. The accuracy is there with the effect off, and when he turns the effect up it has more range but the accuracy is diminished. It is still slightly better than the stock barrel but no where near that of the original freak.

Cons: At extreme range the balls don't break. That is to be expected however.

In short, the Apex does exactly what it is advertised to do.
Conclusion: Highly recommended for any woods-baller.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

fenderdfs Tuesday, March 6th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
A-5 Flatline: More paint picky, Looks better.
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98 custom
J&J 14 inch ceramic w/ Apex Tip
cyclone feed system
Double Trigger
Recommended
Paintballs:
Used Big Ball, worked well. Still need to try different types of paint to find the best match.
Strengths: On/Off capabilities, Straight shot is good for woodsball
Weaknesses: Slows the ball down a little
Review: I am using the Apex Tip on my 12" J&J ceramic barrel. I bought it so that I could use my J&J still, because I love it! As well as have the flat distance of the Flatline players.

My friend has the A-5 Flatline which I felt was good at getting distance, however I still feel that the flatline falls a little weak in the accuracy department compared to the Apex.

The Apex of course has the eight settings that everyone already knows about. I found that I will use pretty much 4-6 for my style of play. It gives a nice straight shot with out arcing the ball. Anything more is pretty worthless unless you are just laying down cover fire. Don't expect to hit much though on the higher settings.

I have the Apex attached to my J&J with the tape mod! I have it fixed so that I don't have mess with it moving on me. I didn't buy the tip for the curve shots or the dive bombs. I bought it to give me some alternatives to fighting with low branches in the woods. I didn't even try out these effects due to this reason so I can't comment on those.

My J&J has always made my gun extremely quiet, however now with the apex on there I was completely amazed at how quiet it has become. Even one of my buddies couldn't believe the lower level of sound.

I used big balls to test it out and found that at approximately 50 yards I could lay down a 3 foot grouping. That was on levels 5-6. I felt that with the higher levels you had to arc the gun to an extreme.

After using both the flatline and the apex, i have to say that I am happy with my purchase. I relish in the fact that I can use it when i want and turn it off when I just want to use my J&J. I would also like to point out the fact that the apex has absolutly no affect when it is off. Some people had stated that they didn't think there barrels were as accurate when it was off then when they didn't have the apex on the tip at all. I found no difference between the two.

I feel that the combo of the two has made my marker great for my style of play.
Conclusion: I feel that if you are looking to have the capablities to shoot further in the woods under tree branches and are willing to spend the money, go for it. If you are looking for an answer to sucking at paintball and feel this is going to give you a huge edge over the enemy then don't buy this. What this does do is give you some options, what it doesn't do is give you tactics.

Some reviews have stated that this thing shoots 75-100 yards,,, I found that if you put enough arc on it yeah maybe you can do that, however by the time the ball is hitting the target a few snails may have passed it.

Over all I test it out and see if you like it. It may not fit everyone's style of play and may work perfectly for others, It works for me!
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Maddog96 Sunday, February 25th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
1 year4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
flatline
Marker Setup: A-5; apex; remote; pcs car stock
Recommended
Paintballs:
tac ammo, zap spank, rps, ect....
Strengths: Accurate, doesn't chop paint, durable
Weaknesses: Can only use battle swab squeegee.
Review: I love this barrel, it can be used in any type of game woods speedball anything. The ramp and spin adjusting work good, but the fact that it doesn't have to have expensive paint, like the flatline, is also great too. If you like woodsball buy this barrel no questions asked, and you will be happy.
Conclusion: This is an all around great barrel 9/10
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, February 25th, 2007 at 3:35 pm PST
I found this review  
3 Comments - Add Comment

Karsten Thursday, February 15th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
3 months4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Flatline barrel
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98 custom
AK Apex barrel
Car stock
Crosman red dot sight
Respomse trigger
Expansion chamber
Recommended
Paintballs:
Any
Strengths: Long range, impressive accuracy, (AK version) intimidates new players, shroud allows for extra grip.
Weaknesses: Very long, loud, hard to clean, (AK version) shroud makes it heavy.
Review: Before I say anything, I have the AK Apex, not the standard type. I got this barrel not too long ago as an upgrade from my old stock barrel, at first I was disgusted by the price but I had heard some good things about it so I got it anyway. I got it home and tested it out in my backyard and was amazed by the range and accuracy I could get out of it when I practiced for about half an hour. I eventually decided to test out the curving aspect of the barrel, and I was not too impressed. The curving does work to a degree, but nothing like you see in the ads where you see the ball suddenly take a 90 degree turn. When I finally got a chance to test it out in the field, I was so impressed at how well it performed. Sitting in a tower, at the maximum setting for range, I could hit a target at around 300 feet away without arcing my gun! Mind you it might take me a few shots since it wasn't that accurate at extreme range. I also played a few games of speedball with it, that is where the curving really comes in handy. during my latest game,I was pinned down by someone hiding in a snake being covered by his friend behind an X. I dial in a sharp curve and aim at the left side of the X and shot him in the back as I sprint for an aztec. Now its me and the guy in the snake, I dial in a drop shot and snap out while he is reloading, and hit him in the top of the head. He was very unhappy and came out swearing and calling me a cheater for using an apex. Now don't expect to be able to do that during you first game with your apex, that takes lots of practice a concentration. I have grown to be both feared and admired at my local field, but by speedballers, I am thought of as a cheater.
Conclusion: This is an excellent barrel that I would recommend for anyone who wants to be a tactical shooter or mid range sniper, don't expect a big future as a long range sniper with this barrel. Sure, it has decent accuracy at medium range, but at over 150 feet it can get weird. I would say that the only drawback other than the price is the fact that some people consider this barrel cheating. If you are willing to spend the money on this barrel, by all means by it.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

FlamingoChavez Thursday, February 8th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann Flatline
Lapco Bigshot
J&J Edge Kit
Marker Setup: Tippmann A5
Vortex mod
E-Grip
Off Set Rail Adapter
Dove tail to picanny rail adapter
Flatline Barrel w/ custom SMG shroad and Spec-ops foregrip or J&J barrel w/ sepc-ops MP-5 shroad
Palmer Stabilizer
NCStar 42mm Red dot site
32 degrees remote
Car Adjustable Stock
Strengths: You can get extra range
Weaknesses: Accuracy sucks
Review: Don't even mess with the barrel, its better then the stock barrel, but this thing's real strength is that it can be taken apart and put on ANY barrel. Thats right, you can take off the apex unit and stick it on the end of a really accurate barrel, and get twice the performance.

You do loose accuracy when you start using the flatline feature however.
Conclusion: I'd buy it if you have an accurate barrel to put it on. Because the barrel sucks, but the apex unit is tight. I'm giving it an 8. If the apex unit was sold by itself, I'd give it a 9.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
3 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (17):  First  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  8  |  9  |  10  |  11  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media