paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Smart Parts Dovetail Adapter / Smart Parts Dovetail Adapter / Smart Parts Dovetail Adapter / Smart Parts Dovetail Adapter

Smart Parts Dovetail Adapter Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Smart Parts

Buy Smart Parts Dovetail Adapter

Paintball Cradles, Rails, Drop Forwards and ASA's

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Smart Parts Dovetail Adapter
[ View Photos (2) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 16
Average Rating: 7.5 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $25

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Building on the success of our original dovetail Smart Valve comes generation two. It's longer, it's stronger, it has a quarter turn on/off (still).
Product Availability 
The Smart Parts Dovetail Adapter is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (2):  1  |  2
        Next Page
zagacks Saturday, May 30th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
System X on/off, other on/off valves
Marker Setup: Custom 2003 Pro Stock Autococker; E-Blade 1, Shocktech Front Block kit w/Eclipse QEV, KAPP LW back block, Shocktech Super Fly delrin bolt, Palmers regulator, 14" Dye Boomstick, Shocktech drop forward w/Smart Parts Dovetail, Nitro Duck 68/4500, Halo B w/rip drive
Strengths: Lightweight
Style
Easy to use
Wastes as much air as any other on/off
Weaknesses: Nothing really
Review: I bought it for 20 bucks new, so that's already a plus; not to mention it was replacing an ugly, heavy, brick-looking on/off I had on my cocker. It's super light and looks nice and barely lets air out when you take the tank off. What else is there to say? I like it.
Conclusion: Like anything, its about what you think looks nice. If you like this product, don't hesitate. Its and awesome piece.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Clinton Saturday, February 9th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
none
Marker Setup: Ion Max'd with a New Designz QEV, Skeleton bolt, detent kit and virtue eye.
VL revolution tripod hopper
Freak barrel
Strengths: Looks great, sturdy, easy to use, hose comes out front not side.
Weaknesses: Haven't seen any weaknesses.
Review: Some say that the treads get striped but I run around with a 72cu in. 3000 psi aluminum tank from pure energy. This tank is extremely heavy if you own one or have held one you know what I'm talking about. I have had 0 problems with o-rings being eaten or treads being stripped. Some say that because this produce is made by smart parts that it is no good. I judge the product not the company.
Conclusion: This is a great on/of valve. I have had no problems with it and would have no problem recommending it to others.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

WIshootspaint Monday, May 21st, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
a5 stock bottomline-OK for screw in and go
2005 CP on/off bottomline-Freakin awesome! Super smooth action even with gassed up marker! NO comparison
Marker Setup: Tippmann A5 w /RT,Empire 4piece barrell kit, forward fit hopper, shocktech superfly bolt, shocktech dovetail drop, cp 2005 on/off w/ macroline, dead on gas through forgrip.
Strengths: Cheap price-@$25. easy to use, cannot overturn knob.
Weaknesses: Not a true ON/OFF.
Review: This asa does not disengage bottle pin when turned off. It simply opens/closes a small valve to either allow air into marker, or prohibit it. When in off position, if there's gas left in your bottle, it is extremely hard to remove. Really hard. If you are able to remove your bottle, there's a good chance you've destroyed your asa's threads. Not a true on/off.
Conclusion: Don't bother, spend the extra 5bucks and get a cp on/off.
Rating:
3 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

ShooterHops Sunday, March 4th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
3 months3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
CP ASA's
Marker Setup: Ion Pro
Strengths: Nice looking.
Weaknesses: Does not bleed.
Review: You can turn off the air to the gun but it does not bleed off the air still in the adapter. The tank is still supplying pressure to the adapter because the tank it's self was never actually turned off. It will still put pressure on the o-ring as you take the tank off(which is usually the reason for o-rings blowing), which defeats the purpose of having an on/off adapter in the first place. It's alright if you're using N2/HPA and you do not need to take the tank off your gun.
Conclusion: Make sure if you get an on/off ASA, it is one that we bleed when you turn it off, like a CP ASA.
Rating:
3 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, March 4th, 2007 at 1:37 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

MustanGuy Friday, January 12th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Stock Ion ASA, PMI ASA, Shocktech on/off ASA
Marker Setup: Smart Parts Ion
SS Freak Back
All-American Front
Deadlywind Foehn Body
Q-Lock
Halo B w/ Rip
T-Board
Critical RPM Trigger
Strengths: Strong construction
Reliable on/off
Comes with rebuild kit
Fits S-Rail perfectly!
Weaknesses: Does not come with macroline fitting
Review: I bought this after owning a Smart Parts Micro-Maxflo, and was very pleased with the consistent operation of the on/off 1/4 turn mechanism. Sure it's not a pin depresser but who cares... it opens and closes the flow of air to the gun. Good enough for me. It also seems to be made of very durable aluminum. I have used ASA's before that produce aluminum flakes and black "sludge" around the threads from inferior, softer aluminum alloys. This stuff is the real deal. It's not going to screw up your tank threads or its own. I'm guessing maybe T6061 AL? The only bad thing about it is that it doesn't come with a macroline fitting. But oh well... I guess they figured someone, for whatever reason, may want a 90* fitting so it would be best just to not put one on.
Conclusion: Overall this is a great ASA that won't let you down like some of the cheaper imitations. It is also easy on the wallet, and does not cost an arm and a leg just because a higher profile company's name is on it.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

cceboys Thursday, January 11th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
none
Marker Setup: Smart Parts Ion
S.P. Q-lock
360 QEV
S.P. S-rail
S.P. On/Off Dovetail
68/4500 Pure Energy tank
Evlutoion II w/ Z board
Strengths: Only 1/4 turn radius
Very easy to turn
Weaknesses: None
Review: This is a well made product and i recomend it to anyone looking for an on/off. Also, it really freaking rocks with an S.P. s rail. That really has proved to be a great setup. The are also not that expensive. The are only like $20. Get one!
Conclusion: Great product. Yipee Smart Parts!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Stuckboy Sunday, November 19th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Duckbill on my Ion, sucked.
Marker Setup: SP Ion
NDZ Spring Detents
FBM Fierce Frame (silver to black custom anno)
FBM Delrin Curve Trigger
SP Q-Lock
SP s-rail & ASA
L6
Strengths: It works, and it looks cool
Weaknesses: Sometimes I forget to turn it on, lol.
Review: Excellent product by Smart Parts. Screw the tank in, fill er up, turn ASA on, shoot your tank, turn off, repeat.

I sometimes forget to turn it on so I'll be in the snake turing on me asa and doing my two priming shots, no biggy, user error.

It looks so cool on my Ion, Its a must have for anyone who wants a nice solid feel to their marker.
Conclusion: Excellent product from an excellent company.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

EzKV Thursday, August 3rd, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
2 years1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
all other on/offs
Marker Setup: black to silver fade nemesis, evil bolt, evil ram, evil detonator, evil grips, critical trigger with magnets, 25 gram microswitch from air soldier products, egg with z board, and 68/4500 pure energy tank
Strengths: Ease of use
Weaknesses: Hard to put tank in/out
Review: I really like the idea of this on/off, but the only thing i can really complain about is how hard it is to get ur tank in all the way and how hard it is to take off, it almost seems like the valve pins are too long or something like that, other than that it works great, so if you just man up and get some muscles you will love this part, great upgrade :)
Conclusion: I like this style on/off then all the regular ones, if you don't like the regular ones with the knobs in front of the on/off then give this one a try its very nice.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

qscwbt Tuesday, July 25th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Used the shock tech works better
Marker Setup: Ion black. q-lock sp qev crossfire 47 / 3000 halo hopper
Shocktech on/off
freak barrel on order
bop body on order
Strengths: It looks very smart
Weaknesses: Not a real on off
Review: Got this when i saw how nice they look on my mates Ion. It has a low profile and looks very smart.

Knob turns easily. Fits the marker perfect

The bad. Noticed that the bottle eats the threads. Then i realised why. It turns the air of going into the marker. But there is still air pressure in the asa. This makes the tank turn very hard that then breaks the threads. If u leave ur bottle on the marker all the time or if u only remove the bottle when its emty it will not harm the treads.

It seems to only happen when the tank is full and you try to remove the tank.
Conclusion: I do not think its a true on of. The asa with the pin that push in to turn the bottle on or off is a better option. But the sp on are a very smart looking one.
Its your choice to go for looks or a work horse

Rating:
6 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, July 25th, 2006 at 6:33 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

sia_simba Sunday, May 7th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
CP on/off, Check-it unimount, Psychoballistic on/off, duckbill
Marker Setup: DM4 w/ Freak kit, 68/45 ANS, HaloB w/rip
Strengths: Looks, price, macro fitting accessibility, nob screw, compact
Weaknesses: Weird threading, place of nob is not consistent with one another (read review)
Review: I was looking around for on/off to go with both my dm4 and ion. First factor was the macroline setting. I didn't want anything that comes off towards the side because I wanted to reduce the width of my marker... yes.. i am anal like that, but macrolines coming off the sides bothers me. Therefore, I only had but a few choices.

I immediately picked up the smart parts on/off mainly because it looks good, macroline fitting is towards the front so all I needed was a straight elbow. It just requires me to turn a nob to gas up the gun, and degas the gun. Also, I got it along with the S-rail and makes it look sexy hot. Anyhow... those are the reasons why I purchased the item. Do know that I purchased 2 of these. Now for the product itself.

1. When I first took the on/off out of the box, one thing puzzle me. Both the on/off nobs aren't on the same side between the one on my ion and the other on my dm4. one is on the left, and one is on the right. I assume that because they have it that way, I can switch it myself w/o any problems. Even better for me.

2. The on/off came greased up already. Thanks SP for doing that part for me.

3. When I aired up both my markers, no problems at all, no leaks and turning the nob was a lot easier than when I was using my CP and check-it. Esp when you have a lot of air in the tank and your gloves are all greasy... turning the other nobs are a bit more difficult. I didn't have a problem at all with the smart parts on/off.

4. This item looks great. It is glossed back with no designer defaults at all. It fits 100% perfectly with the S-rail and like i've said before... gives it hell of a nice look to it. It also moves your tank forward about 1cm if that really matters.

5. I purchased this item brand new for $20.00

6. I would have to complain about this... on one of the on/off... when I was screwing on a tank, it gave it a sqeeky noise... Maybe because I've messed around with the tank threading of the on/off too many times. I am going to put some oil on it and hopefully that solves the problem.
Conclusion: I think this is a great item. The price is fair and the item looks great. it gave me the option I wanted, which was straight macroline feed, and it is very easy to use. I have no problem degassing my tanks at all.

I would recommend this item if you want something simple, cost effective, compact, and looks great. For the price, you really can't go wrong. I won't give this a 10/10 because it is not the best. however, I am very satisfied with this item over all the others I have used.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (2):  1  |  2
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media