paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / OPSGEAR Operator Barrel / OPSGEAR Operator Barrel / OPSGEAR Operator Barrel

OPSGEAR Operator Barrel Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount OPSGEAR

Buy OPSGEAR Operator Barrel

Paintball Barrels

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


OPSGEAR Operator Barrel
[ View Photos (4) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 12
Average Rating: 9.7 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $60

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Billet machined from solid 6061-T6 Aircraft Grade Aluminum
Gun-drilled and micro-honed to exact sizes leaving a near mirror finish
So straight that they even clean faster and easier
A highly mico polished interior
Exact replica of the M16/M4 muzzle break
1 inch diameter barrel
Flat Tactical No Glare Finish
Product Availability 
The OPSGEAR Operator Barrel is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (2):  1  |  2
        Next Page
Tipp5 Saturday, January 12th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Many other barrels from OPSGEAR..
All great barrels!
Marker Setup: -Tippmann 98 Custom Tactical M4-
------------------------------------------------------------
------------------------------------------
Response Trigger from local store
M98 Cyclone Upgrade with full TechT set & Squishy Paddels from local store
JCS Aluminum Power Tube & Howitzer Bolt From Opsgear.com & XPaintball.com
Rocket Cock from XPaintball.com
Moded Asia Clubfoot 6Pos. Tactical stock with Dual storage saddle compartments from EBay.com
A3 Detachable Flattop Carry Handle with see through Picatinny Scope Adaptor from Opsgear.com
1x42mm Dual Red/Greed Dot Scope from Opsgear.com
7'' Picatinny Tactical Handguard from Opsgear.com
Ergonomic Picatinny Foregrip from Opsgear.com
16'' M4 Style Operator Barrel from Opsgear.com
Bossman Mag Kit from E-Bay.com
HP Spyder Coiled Remote w/ on/off & Slide Check
M4 Aluminum Foresight from Opsgear.com
72/3000 HPA Tank from local store
Home spun mock suppresor
Recommended
Paintballs:
Larger bore premium grade paintballs as the bore of this barrel is a large
.691 Most all paintballs still do alright in it though.
Strengths: Inside finish is mirror finish for minimum friction!
Has never busted a ball!
Accurate!
Weaknesses: A slightly larger bore size (around .691)
Review: I have had this barrel in the 16" form for about half a year..
During this time, I have been very impressed with it!
At first, the accuracy wasn't what was expected, but I measured
the bore size and found it to be large, about 6-hundred and ninety-one
thousandths (.691) of an inch. I purchased some larger sized paintballs
and I was getting greater accuracy and grouping at longer distance!
Conclusion: I recommend this barrel, as well as any other OPSGEAR barrel, to anyone who wants that milsim look without the sacrifice of quality and performance!
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Monday, February 18th, 2008 at 5:57 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

G36C Wednesday, August 29th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Stock a5 barrel, a5 flatline
Marker Setup: tippmann A5
ops gear g36c foregrip/sight rail
opsgear g36c mag
opsgear g36c folding stock
ops gear operator m4 barrel (16 inch)
bt bipod, bt bipod barrel adapter
tiberius laser site
tiberius tactical flashlight
techt vortex mod
techt cyclone feed lightning rod
qeph
jt tactical sling
tiberius vertical fore grip
oranged howitzer bolt
rap4 hopper offset
polished internals
a5 flatline
tac cap
x7 hopper
pen spring mod
qtip mod
response trigger
Recommended
Paintballs:
Any will do but i prefer xo v1s and pcs combat 68s
Strengths: Looks
Accuracy
Weaknesses: Little loud ( but thats not really a weakness )
Review: Ive had this barrel for about 6 months and i love it. it looks great, its accurate, and its tough. ive dropped it hit off trees running though the field and its not even chipped or scratched ( inside or out ). it still fires like its brand new. ive only broken about 40 balls out of roughly 8 000 so far and most of those were chops inside my a5.
Conclusion: Its a great barrel not very expensive and it will put your shots were you want them
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

samurai2828 Friday, December 1st, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
1 year0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Similar, well I used other barrels, but similar, ummm, NOPE!
Maybe the Flatline!
Marker Setup: Tippmann A-5
16" OPSGEAR Tactical Barrel
A5 Flatline Barrel
6' OPSGEAR SR6 Shroud
OPSGEAR G36 Folding Stock
SIG MAG Kit
OPSGEAR Remote Coil with Slide Check Valve
Tippmann A5 Double Trigger
Universal Bipod with Quick Release
ACI Sub-Zero 4 Stage Expansion Chamber
Red-Dot Scope
~~~~~~
Icon Electric-Silver
14" Whisper Barrel
Stock everything else.
Recommended
Paintballs:
Draxxus!!!!!!!!!!!!
Strengths: Performance!!! 10/10
Accuracy
Look
Sound
Everything
Weaknesses: Paint type scratches easily. But, all will when rubbed on a rock. lol
Review: Well, not much to say except WOW.

I've used quite a few barrels, and I havent yet seen one that matches its accuracy, distance and look. Accuracy at 10' is perfect, 20' same, and so on. When you get to about 80' - 150', then the wind will have time to grab a ball, lol. Basically, I cant believe how far this barrel shoots, but not only how far, how accurate it is at the max distance. No one on the field compares, except maybe the Flatlines.

The look of this barrel is amazing. The feel is beautiful, and the sound it produces is loud and intimidating.

for the price, great deal! Im so glad I researched before buying, or I might have gun with something else.
Conclusion: No regrets! Best I've seen. Good price. Favorite barrel. BUY IT!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

_Quiet Storm_ Friday, June 30th, 2006
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month4 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
stiffi
Marker Setup: a-5, opsgear operator 16" barrel, opsgear g36 stock, special ops a5a2 forgrip, simmons red dot sight, double trigger, and a tac cap.
Recommended
Paintballs:
Any large bore paintballs.
Strengths: Nice finish.
Weaknesses: Very heavy. Not ravingly accurate.
Review: I just got this barrel a few days ago and so far I'm not awstruck by it. I would recomend big bore paintballs for it because if you don't, the paint will fly everywhere. If you get the right paint, it is a good barrel. The most accurate shot i had with it so far was about 70 feet. I had a 8 inch grouping at 50 feet. I like the barrel and it gives the gun a sniper look if you get it with a stock.
Conclusion: If you want it, get it. If you don't, then don't get it.
Rating:
7 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

Cheese Overlord Monday, June 19th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
6 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Stock barrel
Tippmann Werks Barrel
Interceptor (tested)
Apex (tested)
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98 Custom
14 inch OPSGEAR Operator Barrel
PMI Tanks
Recommended
Paintballs:
Any really...
Strengths: Straight shot
Accurate
Cheap
Weaknesses: Scratches easily
Review: I've always known Opsgear for making quality products, and this is no exception. I ordered this barrel after having the stock barrel for a couple months, and was amazed first of all by the price, at only 60 bucks. 60 Bucks. Thats half the price of a Stiffi and a Boomstick, with the same performance. Also coming with a beautiful black paintjob and a mirror slick finish on the inside, I would say for 60 bucks you can't go wrong. Anyway, onto the fun part...

At 250 fps shooting Scorches, I put a 3 inch grouping of 10 paintballs, at 50 feet away, with the farthest paintball away from the grouping being only 1 inch.

At 280 fps shooting Scorches from 50 feet away, I made a 2 inch grouping with the farthest ball away being only a half inch.
Conclusion: Buy it. A barrel that is up at the top with the big dogs, for half the price.

Wicked.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

cowboyup Friday, April 14th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Smart Parts Teardrop (not even close)
Lapco Bigshot (good, not great)

Opsgear Interceptor
Stiffi (great barrels, same quality as Operator)
Boomstick

Marker Setup: Tippmann A-5
Opsgear Operator Barrel
Special Ops A-5A2 Stock/Foregrip
Lapco Offset Rail w/ BSA Dot Sight
Proteam Tac Cap

Recommended
Paintballs:
Any small bore paintballs, I like Marbs.
Strengths: Incredible accuracy
Great look
Shoots clean quickly
Cheap
Weaknesses: Tip scratches easily
Review: Look down this barrel and you will see a beautiful mirror finish. This gives you great accuracy as there are not imperfect surfaces on the inside for the paintballs to catch on. Pair this with a dot sight, and you're hooked up.
Most aftermarket barrels give you little, if any improvement in accuracy over the stock barrel. This one's different than any other barrel I've ever owned (except the Interceptor of course). Buy it and see an instant improvement in your grouping.
Conclusion: For less than half the price of a Boomstick or a Stiffi, you can get the same performance with this barrel.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

teamnameless Friday, February 10th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
1 year4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
32 degrees whisper barrel or razr barrel but they compare horribly....
Marker Setup: M4-milsim 98 model soon to be 98 custom pro
Recommended
Paintballs:
any, except for knock off brands and wat not.
Strengths: Accuracy, looks, distance, trajectory, did i mention accuracy?
Weaknesses: Scratches bit easily but o well, small price to pay
Review: i bought this along with the A-1 adjustable carry handle (10/10) and the 3 position carbine stock (9/10) and well what can i say? this is great! i can not believe how much more accuracy this adds to ur gun. even if people say that since all guns use the same velocity its the same distance, that's not necessarily true, the sleeker the interior of a barrel the smoother more stable the flight of the paintball which means it will go farther and under the right conditions (i.e no moderate to heavy winds) will land where u point at it.

-the day i decided to really play hard i shot 3 to 4 people from 200, 300, and even a miraculous 400 feet!!! (those of u who have played at hurriacne paintball park in p[almbay, FL will agree that from the forest line to the nets and bunkers is roughly that distance...i think any ways) i'm geussing it was more luck than aim that a paintball makes it that far but w/e

-same day, due to the no glare finish of my gun and my barrel. i confidently hid in a prone position in the shrubs with my camo and people passed and did not know i was there til i shot them.
Conclusion: it works, but remember its the shooter as much as the gun so u have to MAKE it work don't expect this or ANYTHING to just magically enhance ur skills. though nothing will make u better this certainly helps for aim, point and shoot. (point as in look through the iron sight rail with the small hole, reduce the movement of ur gun to nothing, stop breathing to help ur aim, and press the trigger and don't let go until after it leaves the barrel to reduce recoil....) and people say there is no such thing as a paintball sniper
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, March 19th, 2006 at 12:51 pm PST
I found this review  
6 Comments - Add Comment

delta39 Saturday, November 12th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
6 months2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Stock Barrel
Flatline (Still use for sniper mod)
Recommended
Paintballs:
Anything but low pressure.
Strengths: Consistancy
Accuracy
Looks
Compatibility
Easy to clean
Weaknesses: Tip scratches easily, however unnoticeable.

Doesn't work well in raining conditions.
Review: My sponsor did a GREAT job manufacturing this....OPSGEAR rocks.

I got the small m4 handguard w/ the 14 operator...

My longest shot was a 150 foot 1-shot-1-elimination with it...

Takes some time to "break the barrel in" though...

I find any paint works well with it...except low pressure paintballs.
Conclusion: Great barrel for great looks for great performance.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, March 7th, 2006 at 7:08 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

kuhndog599 Thursday, November 10th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
ive used the flatline, progressive, stock barrel for the model 98
Marker Setup: model 98 sig rifle kit from opsgear
Recommended
Paintballs:
any big bore paint is good.
Strengths: It has good accuracy and good range.
Weaknesses: None. It's a pretty darn good barrel.
Review: I think that its a great barrel. Ops gear is a good brand and I love their products. Iv'e never had a problem with them and I dont think you will. I think any new player or a person thats been playing for a while should get it. You'd be amazed at how it performs and there aren't any weaknesses.
Conclusion: I think you should get this barrel because for the price and what it can do you would be amazed.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

uzi4u Monday, October 10th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
1 year1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
i have used the stock 98 barrel, and flatline barrels, along with the opsgear 18 in interceptor
Marker Setup: Model 98c
14 in operator barrel
flatline barrel(for long range gunnery)
opsgear M249 saw stock
some funny sight rail
tru-glo 30 mm red dot sight
3 inch home made barrel (yes i have a lathe)
48 round winchester hopper
Recommended
Paintballs:
nelson, hot spot works great, but i scored 2000 rounds from this guy who said that the paint swelled and it worked even better, no breaks no nothin
Strengths: Nice finish, better than any barrel that i have seen for a 98
Weaknesses: Big bore diameter, thats it
Review: I was given this barrel as a gift and i loved it from the start. Consistantcy, quality, and just plain coolness. I like most of opsgears stuff and they have created an awsome product. the only problem that found was how big the bore was, but i am not a speedballer that has to have everything perfect (yes i play speedball with it, along with alot of rec ball)so i like this barrel alot.
Conclusion: If you want it buy it if you don't then don't buy it
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (2):  1  |  2
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media