paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Special Ops Paintball Broadsword / Special Ops Paintball Broadsword / Special Ops Paintball Broadsword / Special Ops Paintball Broadsword

Special Ops Paintball Broadsword Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Special Ops Paintball

Buy Special Ops Paintball Broadsword

Paintball Vests

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Special Ops Paintball Broadsword
[ View Photos (7) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 20
Average Rating: 9.5 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $150

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
SpecialOps Broadsword Vest (100% made in U.S.A)

If you're looking for more more paint, more air, more grenades, more storage this vest will really blow your skirt up. It holds over 1100 round of paint and can heft a truly gigantic air tank (no problem with the 91"cu.,) but there's a bunch more than that going on.

The elastic waist gives you all the stability of a pod belt. With its double-locking Velcro and double Velcro tension panels, it wraps around you just as tight as you want. This feature completely prevents your load from sloshing around as you run. No other vest on the market offers this feature and because of it, they all sway from side-to-side as you bust up-field. Once again, SpecOps has taken the best concepts of tourneyball and converted them to woodsballer tech.

Your hydration bladder slips into a mesh pocket in your back. And, when you're not playing with a hydration unit, the mesh pocket breathes right through (another industry first, if we're not mistaken.)

The tank holder is another killer innovation. With the advent of air-through buttstocks, the woods player can now tuck his remote hose right up under his arm to prevent snagging on brush. The Broadsword vest holds your bottle in the perfect position to run a remote hose to the butt (or undergrip) of your paintball gun. What's more, the holder was designed to allow you to run your remote either on the left or the right a first for left-handed shooters.

Also, the vest has adjustable shoulder straps as well as adjustable side straps. The vest sells in Medium, Large and Extra Large, but there was really no need one size of vest can be tightened down or loosened up to fit almost any body shape. The only difference between the sizes is the length of the main body part of the vest... Kinda like a life vest... a fat dude could wear a small but he would look DANG funny! This vest truly offers the perfect fit for all body types.

On front, the Broadsword Vest gives you two huge grenade pockets (or you can fit three pod rockets in each pod slot in back.) Also, there are two utility pockets. One of them has a pull-down, clear panel for your ID when you're playing scenarioball. Topping it all off it a perfectly-positioned radio pocket.

Every inch of that could possibly be made out of mesh was made out of mesh. This is the most breathable vest out there (the SpecOps guys play in the heat of the Utah summer, so it HAD to be breathable.) Off the bottom of the vest, we've added loops so you can add a web belt, if you feel you must.

The vest comes in Digi-camo, Woodland, Olive Drab and Black.

All in all, this vest brings together the best we've seen and experienced and then takes it all next level. All this at a smoking price for the features offered!!
Product Availability 
The Special Ops Paintball Broadsword is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (2):  1  |  2
        Next Page
brian dyas Wednesday, July 29th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
2 years
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
flurry tact vests, speedball belts
Marker Setup: sp-1 98c stock adaptor, carr stock, clamping feed neck, halo loader, virtue board, tech t upgrade bolt, c-series stiffi barrel with apex adaptor,apex head, cp regulator,custom paint job
Strengths: Versatility!
Weaknesses: None
Review: I was tired of my flurry vest constantly riding up on my neck, so i ordered a custom broadsword vest from spec ops..The first impression was that this was very well made, the craftsmanship is unbelievable! I run with alot of gear, so this vest was the test mule, so to speak. I use a 114cu inch tank, and it slides right in,but not out during the game!! I can carry over half a case of paint, my monster bottle, grenades and smoke, radio, map etc and the design of the vest bears all the weight, without tiring me out
Conclusion: I was so pleased with this product that I bought one for everybody on my team! If you want heavy duty, but lightweight construction, or simply want to be a human tank, buy this vest
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Ty29 Wednesday, October 8th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
6 months0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Recon Vest = Almost as good, RAP4 tactical = Less comfortable/convenient
Marker Setup: -ICD Promaster
-Kila Drive Board, magnetic detents, and eye covers
-Hybrid Russian Legion Grips
-CP On/Off and Clamping Feedneck
-Freak back, All American Front
Strengths: -Large paint load
-Snug fit
-Looks
Weaknesses: -Price
-Hot
-Weight
Review: I set my standards high when buying this vest, and almost all of my standards were met.
Positives:
To start off, the vest looks pretty sick when you first put it on, or when you're out on the field loaded down with all eight pods and locked and loaded. Off the bat, this thing had my approval. Fit was a huge issue and worry for me. I had tried on some of the other SO vests and wasn't sure about the front of the vest fitting higher on my abdomen like the others had. After trying this on, that issue was eliminated. As long as the correct size is ordered fit won't be a problem. It's adjustability is fairly simple as well. Pods are easy enough to reach, and the pockets in the front are handy as heck for scenario games.
Negatives:
This vest is NOT cheap. If you're going to buy this thing, do the research, and make sure it's something you really want or need. Another problem I have is sweating, but this is not entirely the vests fault seeing as I sweat constantly when on the field regardless of whether or not I'm running. It has decent breathability. My last issue is the weight. I'm not a weak person, and when the Broadsword is carrying it's full paint potential, it gets a bit heavy and gives me some major back pain. This is only a problem when you play longer games (4+ hours) in my opinion.
Conclusion: Overall, the Broadsword vest more than adequately gets the job done. This vest comes at a price but it easily pays for itself. If you're looking to step up a level equipment wise look no further, you've found the right investment.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, October 8th, 2008 at 4:46 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

newmann_360 Friday, May 16th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Pod packs
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98c
32 Degrees coiled remote
Adco Sure Shot red dot sight
TAPCO adjustable stock,
Cyclone hopper
LAPCO Big Shot 14" barrel
Strengths: Storage Capacity
Camelback pouch
Breathable
Durable
Weaknesses: Upper right pocket
front shifts when I run
Review: The Broadsword vest is the most effective way to move 800 rounds and the air to shoot them that I have seen thus far. However there are some things that I would like to see improved. For one the upper right front pocket is exactly where I put my stock when I am , so I have to keep it empty or close to it if I want a stable platform. When I run the front of the vest flaps up and down. The middle two pod pouches are not easily accesible, but I know there is no way to fix that I am just listing things that I do not like.
What I do like about the Broadsword is the storage capacity. I like to shoot a lot and I do not like having to fill air and paint often, so the 6+2 is great for that. However, the +2 is useless because there is absolutely no way you can shoot that much paint without getting a fill, but I digress. The camelback pouch is nice. I would like it more if I could secure my bladder a little better than just shoving it in the pouch. It is very breathable for the storage capacity it has, which is good for Louisiana summers. I have had it for a year, and played a substantial amount with it; and it is in great condition still.
Conclusion: I would recomend this vest to someone who plays alot of scenerio or big rec games, and shots alot of paint while doing so. It is overkill, and too much extra weight for someone who is not going to be alot. However, if you shoot alot I am convinced that it is the best vest on the market for you
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

chip hazzard Wednesday, April 30th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
3 months0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Pod packs

My pocket
Marker Setup: 1 splatmaster pistol stock

tippmann 98c with venturi bolt and remote
Strengths: Durable
Modular
Camo
Holds lots
Adjustable
Intimidating
Weaknesses: Hand wash/dry only
Review: I love this thing. First off, it comes with a 2 piece gun sling built in. Also, it holds 8 140 round pods. The zippers and buckles are nice and durable, as is the cordora. The vest can be adjusted for size and can hold an air tank. Great product.
Conclusion: Love it.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Mattalorian Wednesday, February 13th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
3 months5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
PCS Tactical Combat Vest - After using my Broadsword, I couldn't imagine using my PCS again.
Marker Setup: Tippmann Pro/Carbine (useful)
16 inch barrel (useful)
Custom Sling (useful)
Scope (useless)
Strengths: Durable!
Adjustable!
Lots of pouches!
Interlock System!
Well balanced!
Workmanship is unmatched!
Weaknesses: The pod pouches are sort of hard to pull... I guess.
Review: Durable:
I can crawl on the ground, run through twigs, and do just about anything without having to worry about my vest coming apart.

Adjustable:
I'm a smaller guy, and a large fits me perfectly. Theres shoulder straps, side straps, and a revolutionary inner elastic waist belt.

Lots of pouches:
Being able to hold a total of 8 pods, and having three front interlock pouches, and one non-interlock front pouch, you'll never run out of pouches to hold your stuff.

Interlock System:
The interlock system is a innovative new velcro system that allows you to change and remove the front pouches on your vest.

Stability:
Even with a large HPA tank, and full pods, it still manages to remain balanced. You can still barely feel it's on.

Breathable:
Every possible place on the vest that could have been made of mesh, was made of mesh. It's an extremely breathable vest. Combine this, and all the other features, and you seriously can't even feel that it's on.

Workmanship:
I am really impressed about all the work that Special Ops put into the vest. I can really appreciate every last detail and every little feature that was put in.
Conclusion: To be perfectly honest, I am not the kind of person that rates every product I own 10/10.
I have thought long and hard about some kind of weakness, but could find none. I don't see why this product should get anything below 10/10.
I love this vest. it's one of the best pieces of equipment I own. If you are even thinking about getting a vest, and if you want to get the best, get this one.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, May 10th, 2008 at 8:02 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Sephiroth1550 Tuesday, April 3rd, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
1 year2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Ops Gear Commando M4 - Not meant for paintball, just doesn't compare.
Marker Setup: Tippmann A-5
E-Grip
APE Rampage Board
Hardened Firing Pin
Pro trigger - single
Vortex Mod
Lightning Rod
Rufus Dawg Aluminum Power tube and front bolt
Enhanced firing spring
Palmer Stabilizer
M4 6 position collapsible stock
Apex Barrel tip with J&J ceramic 14" barrel
Special Ops fore hand guard
Strengths: Designed for long duration and tough condition play. (Designed for woodsball)
Weaknesses: Interlock system. The velcro is of good quality, but it does catch in brush.
Review: I have used this product for the better part of the last year. It is excellent compared to anything that has come before.

Strengths:
Material - light, strong, and very well ventilated
Construction - someone was paying close attention to this design. It has yet to give me any problems after many (over 100) games and cleanings.
Layout - everything is perfectly positioned for a woodsball/ scenario player. You can carry up to 8 140 round pods or 8 q-pods. (two of these are difficult to put back into the elastic straps that hold them). More than enough pouches for just about any carrying needs. Internal net for hydration. Vest has the 'feel' of a pod belt with the internal velcro straps.

Weaknesses:
Interlock System - After continuous use and cleanings, the velcro begins to loose some of it's stamina. I have recently had to replace the entire vest with the blackcell version because of this.
Velcro Waist Straps - These are tough, but the attachment points to the inside of the vest are fairly weak. I had to re-sew them about two months ago. This was a major reason in my choice for the BlackCell Operators vest. These are very well reinforced.

Where I am coming from:
Please understand, that my vest had served its time admirably. I am a very aggressive and demanding player. I train specifically so that I have no problem moving unhindered while playing paintball. This vest has been with me through ditches with water up to my head, briar patches, brush thickets, climbing trees, and belly crawling in mud. This vest has quietly carried every ounce of my gear and kept pace with me like no other. I have nothing but respect for Special Ops Paintball for creating this beast of burden.

Thoughts:
This vest is well designed. Placing the bulk of the weight on your stomach with the velcro straps that connect to the pod pack. It doesn't shift, doesn't float, never rattles, or drops anything. It however has a few small things that could be addressed. The internal velcro straps are not heavily built compared to the newer designed vests. The interlock system also has some problems with extended use. What made me get rid of it was two months ago, I was belly crawling through a ditch with fallen branches in it. The interlock caught on the branches and caused one of my grenades to explode when i tried to pull it loose. That was the first time that I realized that it is just material and won't last forever.
Conclusion: Overall:
A good buy. It is an incredible product. If you are a normal player that goes out a couple of times a month, this vest will last you for a very long time. If you are like me, you may be stuck with replacing it every year or two.
Rating:
8 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, April 3rd, 2007 at 12:44 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

zhelldog Sunday, March 25th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Special Ops Recon vest S.O. digi camo- Its alright but it doesnt carry much paint and it doesnt come with a Co2 or Compresed Air tank pocket on the back.
Marker Setup: Tippmann A5
m4 stock
egrip with W.A.S board
PMI remote hose
Special ops C-series Blackcell barrel 16" with suppressor tip
Strengths: See below
Weaknesses: See below.
Review: This is way better than any paintball harness or RAP4 vest or similar! It is very breathable, carries up to 8 140-160 round pods, can carry up to a 92 ci HPA tank, can carry two SpecOps F-Bomb big boys, a huge utility pocket, a gun sling, a mask holder, a map pocket and an ID pocket(for those long scenario games), all in all this vest was built for woodsball. Not to mention that this vest doesnt slosh as you run at all!
Now for the weaknesses: the vest's Co2/HPA pouch is hard to adjust, and it is on the pricy side. Also if you dont like carring alot of weight ( up to 30lbs when fully loaded) then this vest isnt for you. But I dont have that problem since 30lbs isnt much to me.
One exception for the price, SpecOps paintball does sell this vest in ACU camo and that only for $104. Which is a huge discount ($50 off!). This vest, like all other specialops products, is very rugged and durable. In fact I love this company's products so much that most of my gear is made by them! They are that good!
Conclusion: For a woodsballer, this vest is the only one you'll ever need. Aside from the Co2 pouch issue, this is a great vest and I only recommend it to those that can easily carry 30lbs on their backs. Which is alot easier than its sounds. Some people prefer pod packs, and some prefer vests. For us that are tired of feeling around in their pockets for stuff during a woodsball game, there is the Special Ops Broadsword vest.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

little_ben Tuesday, December 12th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
6 months0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
none
Marker Setup: tippmann custom pro e w/ cyclone feed
16inch tru flight barrel
vforce grill
Strengths: Comfort
Paint capacity
Utility pockets
Weaknesses: Size
Review: First off this vest is amazing, it caries everything i need easily. It can hold over 1000 rds of paint which is important for those long scenario games. The only draw back is that there is no small. I had to buy a medium and it was a little lose and low but the elastic inner waist band helped with that.
Conclusion: I would definetly buy this vest if you play enough to use it. For 150 bucks you better use it.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Alpha Sniper Wednesday, November 22nd, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
various pod packs
Marker Setup: Custom Pro with milling of letters and cut off front grip.
A5-A2 grip adapted to a 98
APE ramage board
APE magnetic double trigger.
Tiger stripe paintjob
Proteam stock
Stiffi Barrel 16"
BT sight rail
Cyclone feed system
Palmers stabilizer
PMI remote
Strengths: Solid, doesnt move
adjutible fit.
breaths well
paint capacity.
comfertable
Weaknesses: Can get a bit hot, but its nothing
Review: Special ops has done it again! (and again and again...)
This vest is great, i can hold everything i need and more.
I have a great paint capacity, and i can hold some more if i need it.
It is a bit hot because of the full chest thing, but i don mind it, it goes away.
I got it in Special ops patern the fiirst day i came, the newbies were cowering. I had the big gun, and the big vest. It has a great intimidation factor. I love the way it feels, and i dont think i can ever go back, its just that great.
Conclusion: great vest, hands down. I love it and i will never give it up. A VERY good investment for a reletively experienced player.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Swordfish45 Thursday, September 7th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Standard pod packs
Marker Setup: Spyder Rodeo
A-5 Dogleg Complete w/RT
Strengths: Capacity, versatility, load bearing distribution, breathability
Weaknesses: Sleeves can be hit or miss when trying to get a pod back in there.
Review: OOOh i danced around like a schoolgirl when I opened the suprizingly tiny box that contained my Broadsword 6. It was great to try out and hold all my gear in but there were two major flaws I found. and this is just my expirience:

-The vest was poorly sewn. One pod sleeve was unuseable because of a wonky stich pattern, had to be popped and resewn.

- I underestemated the term Medium. The vest was fully adjustable, meaning it could fit my sister well, or fit me just marginaly. The lumbar belt is below my ribs. And im a small friggin guy (5'2")!

Other than that is is also veratile througout the season, my cammelback fit perfect in the pouch holder and provied water for the whole day. The pods are in the perfect place and can be maipulated with ease due to the stiff collars on the pod pockets. worked great on a 24 hour scenario game (the reason I bought It) at holding up to torretial rain and mud.

However Id say my freind One-Upped me with his modular Opsgear Commando 6Vest which was better constructed and cheaper. but bulkier as well
Conclusion: Get a large unless your a dwarf. see if you can get an expirienced seamstress.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, September 7th, 2006 at 7:22 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (2):  1  |  2
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media