paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Smart Parts Ion Pro / Smart Parts Ion Pro / Smart Parts Ion Pro / Smart Parts Ion Pro

Smart Parts Ion Pro Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Smart Parts

Buy Smart Parts Ion Pro

Paintball High-End Electronic Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Smart Parts Ion Pro
[ View Photos (32) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 70
Average Rating: 9.2 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $200

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Pro Additions:

Twister Locking Feed Neck (installed)
Smart Parts Grips (installed)
Shocker Style Mini Drop with Twist On/Off Valve (installed)
Freak Barrel with Jr. Tip and .693 Insert Freak Back (installed)

17 balls per second semi-auto rate of fire with 3 shot burst, full auto and our Rebound firing mode.
Break-beam Vision Anti-Chop System Reliable and durable, the eyes are mounted on a separate board for perfect alignment and not affected by paint or body color. Just clean and replace (in minutes).
A Featherweight Prizefighter At 2.2 pounds, the Ion is among the lightest high-end markers made, and it�s tube design imparts an ultra low profile.
Reliability The Ion was engineered to stand up to the demands of professional players. It will outlast what used to be considered high-end and won't break down the minute you get it home.
Improved Ball Detents Approximately 10 times the service life of current detents.
Great Efficiency Expect a reliable 1000-1400 shots from a 68ci, 4500psi bottle without any modifications
Body Kits A first for paintball. High-quality aluminum internals are protected by composite shells, allowing you to instantly change the color or look of your body. Tired of blue? Switch to red. Or black. Or yellow. And there are more body styles in the works...
Feed Tube with O-Ring Seals Fits a wider range of hoppers than most guns in this price range.
Tools 1/8" Allen wrench is all you need for primary disassembly--and it�s included, along with trigger and velocity adjustment wrenches and a handy parts kit.
Impulse Threads Take advantage of the barrels and feed tubes you may already have.
Product Availability 
The Smart Parts Ion Pro is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (7):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
Pbgear Sunday, May 23rd, 2010
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Marker Setup: Ion, virtue board, Halo hopper, 68/4500 tank
Recommended
Upgrades:
New trigger
Strengths: Performance for the price
Weaknesses: Trigger feels cheap, weak
Review: This is my main marker. It has not failed me at all. This thing is the best that the ion can be out from the factory. The barrel is very nice. It provides the accuracy and functionality that a player needs. This marker is perfect for the casual speedball player. If you just go out on occation then this is the marker that you want to have in your bag. It is priced right, regulators are great, its accurate, and easy to maintain.
Conclusion: Ions are excellent and this ion pro is even better.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

musicmixer10 Sunday, July 13th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Icon X, Tippmann 98C, PMR, Smart Parts Vibe
Marker Setup: 14" barrel, Tippmann Triumph SL200 Hopper, 72/3000 HPA tank
Recommended
Upgrades:
new trigger, 4500 psi tank
Strengths: Fast, light, easy to use, easy to clean
Weaknesses: Trigger is magnetic which makes you not walk the trigger as fast.
Review: The ion is a really good gun. a lot of people say that its a noob gun, but it isn't I tested it for woodsball a got one person out at the break and another from about 30-40 feet away. I was using I think a freak or freak jr. barrel. All in all, a great gun, minor upgrade with the trigger
Conclusion: Pretty good gun for someone who needs a cheap and fast gun. get it
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

TitanMatt Monday, February 18th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
for me...none
Marker Setup: Stock Ion Pro
Empire loader
Pure Energy HPA
Recommended
Upgrades:
If you get the Ion Pro... little to none on the gun. A new trigger and A lighter bolt maybe.
Of course an air tank and a loader
Strengths: For the price...it is the best gun in the world!
Weaknesses: Air pressure is kind of high. Stock trigger sucks
Review: I play in tournaments and big field events and I have won several using this gun. I mean its definitely comparable to any high end marker our right now. It has a GREAT barrel, GREAT eyes, GREAT maintenance... I mean I can go on for a while. Sure the DM7s and 8s are better on paper but on the field when your looking across at me with my Ion. The same paint, the same speed, the same accuracy, and same rate of fire. Its the same gun.

If I could describe this marker in one sentence...
This gun has the specs to let you play with the big dogs and also have money still left in your wallet to take your girlfriend to dinner that Friday night.

I have never had anything go wrong with my gun. And im not exactly treating it like a newborn baby. Its had its fair share of abuse and rough handling. As I sit here and think about it, I cant think of a single time it has chopping in a game for me or let me down in any way. 30,000 paintballs through it and still counting with not a single ball break due to the marker or eyes!
Conclusion: 10 across the board simply because the price is so good for what you get on the gun.
I rate this Gun a 15 out of 10!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

TeamMercury11 Tuesday, January 1st, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Stock Ion w/ Sling, PMR, Spyder Pilot, Alien Independance, E-Tek, Shocker, Highly Upgraded(friends)DM4
Marker Setup: Dynasty Ion Pro(Couldn't find a thread for this one) Sling Blade Trigger, Upgraded VLocity Jr., SP's 4500 Carbon FIber Tank, SP Phase 3, Freak Barrel Kit, Blackheart Board
Recommended
Upgrades:
Trigger
If yours comes with the stock 3000 Tank, upgrade
Decent Hopper(At least an egg)
Strengths: Fast, Accurate, Semi Lightwieght, Small, Cool
Weaknesses: Possible Leak, Trigger, 10BPS Cap
Review: I love this marker. I play with a lot of people from Total Karnage, Fokai, and Pulse, so I know what I'm doing. They all love the marker(EGo/Shocker users) as do I. The All American stock barrel is basically a not-as-good Freak. It shoots as straight as you could want this marker to, and can keep you paint going straight to your target.

Here's the actual marker review though.

- Despite what a chunk of the paintball comunity is saying right now, the ion is a decent marker, especually this one. Of course, an eight hundred marker is much better, but for three through four hundred marker, what's the actual arguement? The marker is cheap enough for a low budget person, or a monthly friend get-together player. I mean, for about three hundred dollars, you are getting a competitive marker that has some of the features of the top of the line markers.
- The Regulator that comes on this marker is pretty nice too. The max-flo micro is a small, sweet looking, good regulator. With an on-off valve, and all the stuff you would expect from any other reg out there, you get it your money's worth, with the kit.

I've played with mine four times, and I have shot about seven or eight cases of paint through it. I normally play with my friends DM4, but now that I have this, there is no need. My marker can basically keep up with my friends Ego, in which he has very heavily upgraded. He has actually complimented it under a few occasions, which is no joke. Of course, I would love a shocker or an angel, but for the money I spent on my Dynasty Ion Pro, I can't whine, or argue anything.
Conclusion: I would recommend this marker to anyone who is newer to the sport, and is low on money. For only a little more than a stock ion, you get a nicely upgraded one.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, January 1st, 2008 at 8:04 pm PST
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

Nj x Pb Monday, December 31st, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Rental Tippmanns- Don't even compare
Friend's Pirhana- Does't even come close
This is my first true marker
Marker Setup: Smart Parts Ion Pro with:
Red Trinity Sick Body
Smart Parts 14" Freak Jr. Barrel
Hybrid Contract Killer Grips
Smart Parts Q-Lock Feedneck
Smart Parts Roll Blade Trigger
Virtue Easy-On
Virtue QEV
Virtue Break Beam Eyes- Red
Dye Throttle 45ci/4500psi HPA Tank
ViewLoader VLocity Jr. Loader
Recommended
Upgrades:
The only I would reccomend for my marker is a new bolt and/or new board since mine is pretty much upgraded

But if you have a stock Ion Pro I would recommend a new trigger, new feedneck, QEV, More inserts for the Freak Barrel, and possibly a new board
Strengths: Cheap for the performance
Light
Very Fast
Very Upgradeable
Weaknesses: Caps on Firing Modes ( new board can fix this )
Sometimes Leaky Bottom line
Review: I got my Ion pro for Christmas and I couldn't wait to try it out, so I plugged in my HPA tank and put my Hopper on, and went outside for a little test. I poured in some paint and started shooting and I noticed that this thing RIPS!!!! This thing shot ropes of paint very fast and was very accurate and ran through 180 balls in no time!!! Then I went to the local paintball field with my friends and my Ion Pro easily kept up with/exceeded the competition. I only had a few minor problems with it plus the paint we were using was very fragile and was completely horrible. My new Ion Pro was very stylish and had great performance. My marker is also very durable since I played with it in the woods a couple of times it got dirt in it and every thing. I really like my Ion Pro
Conclusion: This marker is totally worth the price and is very upgradeable. I strongly recommend that you get this marker!!!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

pbman_1623 Friday, July 6th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder electra w/eye-not as good, but the closest match
Marker Setup: Ion-red
freak jr
q-lock feedneck
on/off mini drop
Recommended
Upgrades:
New trigger
A .689 freak insert (comes with .693 which is way too big.)
Strengths: Fast
Light
Quiet
Accurate
Weaknesses: Trigger is a little wobbly and not that easy to walk.
Insert is too big.
Review: I had an electra before this gun and it was not as good as I hoped it would be. I would definately not recommend it over the ion pro. They both cost the same amount and the ion pro is better in every asset. The only problem I have had with the ion is the hose leaked once, and you just have to push it in and pull it out a little to fix it. This thing can shoot ropes and put them all in the spot you want them. I would definately recommend this over the regular ion, since it comes with some very important upgrades that you would eventually end up buying which are worth over $100 combined.
Conclusion: At only $55 over the regular ion with a body kit, the ion pro is an outstanding deal for anyone wanting a cheaper gun that can hang with just about any other gun.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, July 8th, 2007 at 6:58 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

DSDM Monday, July 2nd, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
this is my first EP marker

PMI G3 Electonic
2K4 EVO
Marker Setup: Smart Parts Ion
88 CI 45K Crossfire tank
Max Flo Micro
Smart parts Freak Jr Barrel
New designz QEV
clamping feed neck
Egg II loader
Recommended
Upgrades:
Bolt
QEV
Strengths: Ready to go right out of the box; Upgradable; Not expensive, Reliable.
Weaknesses: It is an airhog out of the box
Review: A light weight, fully upgradable marker, 4 different firing modes, that is ready to run right out of the box.

It does not cost too much to get into which is why there are a lot of them out there.

It has a full line of aftermarket parts (In fact you can build one completly out of aftermarket parts) which makes it nice for the tinkerer out there.

This marker is great for those who are upgrading from their 29.95 dollar Wal*Mart marker or for those who are mecanically inclined as their first marker.

It does what it is suppose to do very nicely.
Conclusion: for someone who is getting into the sport or someone who is serious on a budget, you get a lot of bang for your buck and you can make it unique to you over time. A definate buy.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

paintballa1000 Saturday, June 9th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
VS3, spyder pilot
Marker Setup: ion pro
empire grips
carbon fiber trigger
evo 3 hopper
47 ci 3000 psi tank
Recommended
Upgrades:
trigger
qev
Strengths: Fast
Cheap
Light
Weaknesses: Trigger
Accuracy
Review: Its a great gun. I was very happy with the performance, but it does shoot loops. If you have $280 and you are lookin for a good cheap gun you should buy an ion pro. The ion pro is about $50 more than a stock ion, but you need the upgrades the ion pro has to get it to shoot straight and accurate.
Conclusion: You should get this gun. With about $300-400 of upgrades it could keep up with a ego or other high end guns.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

ionman5 Tuesday, June 5th, 2007
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
6 months0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
none
Marker Setup: ion pro, max flo regulator on a 45/45 mini tank, stainless freak back kit with stifi stif tip,
q-lock, halo b with rip drive and white suicide shell with two diagonal black stripes, custom sanded all white body kit with two black diagonal lines.white hose, black adapters. ul fire bolt, white dark ul frame, cp roller saw trigger, home made board
28bps semi 24 ramping 20-21 full auto no bursts, angel g7 eyes.

backed by
98 custom, cyclone feed, vortex mod, g7 frame,spyder rocking trigger, stifi bolt, polished internals, 10 in apex barrel ion stock board with custom mods, low pressure nitro kit 7in drop and 2in drop on that, green macroline, extreme rage grips, 32 degrees bullet 6 stage expansion chamber.
Recommended
Upgrades:
bolt, frame, trigger, good low pressure regulator
Strengths: Easy to upgrade
Good look
Good price
Weaknesses: Sucks out of box
Bad feed neck
Bad gauges
Review: My gun kills afrer $200 and 2 weeks of tweaking my home made board, not to mension instalation time and sanding the body kit. i can out shoot an intimadator or a dm7 and now weighs 2lbs with a empty tank and hopper. super sesy to walk. great new look. easy to sand body.
Conclusion: Buy it for 100 used but get at least $150 in ups
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
3 Comments - Add Comment

SPARTAN148 Monday, June 4th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Marker Setup: sp ion pro
halo b/with rip drive
pure energy 45/68 tank
sp firebolt
Recommended
Upgrades:
trigger,bolt,virtue,fast hopper
Strengths: Fast
Durable
Cheap
Accuracy
Light
Upgrades
Weaknesses: Trigger

Review: AWSOME, plain and simple. This is a GREAT gun. i love it. its fast right out of the box and with a few upgrades it can be just as fast as $1000-$2000 tourny guns. very durable. i fell very hard in the dirt in a attack/defend game and i was like oh !@#$ i just broke it, but exept for some dirt clogging the barrel and a few broken balls in the hopper it was fine. like i said awsome gun.
Conclusion: Get it you wont be disapionted with it.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (7):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media