paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Smart Parts Ion Pro / Smart Parts Ion Pro / Smart Parts Ion Pro / Smart Parts Ion Pro

Smart Parts Ion Pro Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Smart Parts

Buy Smart Parts Ion Pro

Paintball High-End Electronic Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Smart Parts Ion Pro
[ View Photos (32) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 70
Average Rating: 9.2 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $200

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Pro Additions:

Twister Locking Feed Neck (installed)
Smart Parts Grips (installed)
Shocker Style Mini Drop with Twist On/Off Valve (installed)
Freak Barrel with Jr. Tip and .693 Insert Freak Back (installed)

17 balls per second semi-auto rate of fire with 3 shot burst, full auto and our Rebound firing mode.
Break-beam Vision Anti-Chop System Reliable and durable, the eyes are mounted on a separate board for perfect alignment and not affected by paint or body color. Just clean and replace (in minutes).
A Featherweight Prizefighter At 2.2 pounds, the Ion is among the lightest high-end markers made, and it�s tube design imparts an ultra low profile.
Reliability The Ion was engineered to stand up to the demands of professional players. It will outlast what used to be considered high-end and won't break down the minute you get it home.
Improved Ball Detents Approximately 10 times the service life of current detents.
Great Efficiency Expect a reliable 1000-1400 shots from a 68ci, 4500psi bottle without any modifications
Body Kits A first for paintball. High-quality aluminum internals are protected by composite shells, allowing you to instantly change the color or look of your body. Tired of blue? Switch to red. Or black. Or yellow. And there are more body styles in the works...
Feed Tube with O-Ring Seals Fits a wider range of hoppers than most guns in this price range.
Tools 1/8" Allen wrench is all you need for primary disassembly--and it�s included, along with trigger and velocity adjustment wrenches and a handy parts kit.
Impulse Threads Take advantage of the barrels and feed tubes you may already have.
Product Availability 
The Smart Parts Ion Pro is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (7):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7
        Next Page
spyderman153 Thursday, November 23rd, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Diablo Wrath
Piranah Evo
Evil Omen
DM5 (way better)
Marker Setup: Smartparts Ion Pro - Silver
New Designz Roller Trigger
Virtue QEV
Halo B w/Rip
72/3000 Pure Energy
Recommended
Upgrades:
Trigger
Freak inserts
Regulator (if you want to spend the money)
Bolt + Qev (L6 is my preference)
Electronic Loader
Strengths: Speed
Durability
Accuracy
Upgrades from stock ion
Weaknesses: Air Effeciency
Reg is ok, could be better
Review: When I first was looking for a gun, i was deciding between a Smartparts ion, a Spyder ACS Electra,and a Diablo Wrath. A afriend recomended the ion so i started to look at one. I thought it was okay until i saw the ion pro. Even though it was 300$ it had a freak and a on/off and stuff, i thought it was worth the money.

Strengths:

Board: Overall, it is a nice board. It has semi and ramping (rebound according to smart parts) It also has three shot burst and full auto which are pointless necessities. It has a decent max rof capped at 17bp with adjustable dwell, rof, and a cycle mode. The eyes are good and have never made a problem for me. Just make sure you take propper care of them.

Overall Speed: With the board, the gun also has a good cycling speed. If you are planing to get a new board, make sure to get a qev to up the cycling rate.

Barrel: If you already didnt know, the Freak barrel that comes with a pro s much much better than the stock barrel. Even with the .693 insert that comes with it, it still shoots a whole lot better than the stock.

Feed Neck:(Q-lock) A huge upgrade from the stock and a whole lot lower. Your hopper isnt 80 miles in the air anymore. Once you clamp your hopper in it will not budge. You may need to sand your hopper in certain cases which is what i had to do with my halo b.

On/Off: Enables you to keep your tank on the gun, saves a little bit of air and just makes your gun easyier to operate.

Weaknesses

Air Hog: Definetly not a timmy when it comes to air. Without a bolt, qev ect. i got about
3 hoppers full before i had to go fill my tank. Since i have such a crappy tank, you would probably get more with a 68/4500 like most people w/ions have.

Trigger: If you take the magnet out on the stock one, it will improve your speed but it will void the warranty you have on your gun. When I bought my New Designz roller trigger, it was much more adjustible and improved my rof. I have seen a kids stock ion trigger shot off (literaly, broken off) during a tourney.

Regulator: decient but a aftermarket reg will increase your accuracy and consistancy.
Conclusion: Gets this if yous gots the dough. Recomended above the stock ion. the extra 100$ will save you money if you plan on upgrading your gun. It is a great price for the quality product that you get. Overall, good gun for everyone.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

ittalianstalion Thursday, November 23rd, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
Stock ion, spyders.
Marker Setup: Tippmann custom pro, longbow barrel. egg 2, response trigger, ion pro Viewloader Vlocity, red and black ion max'd freak barrel flame drop rampage board
Recommended
Upgrades:
New trigger, freak inserts, new board
Strengths: Light
Quite
Fast!
Weaknesses: None that i can think of
Review: Smart parts is absolutely the greatest company ever. the ions are great guns and are very easy to maintain. the instruction manual could be a little clearer but this gun is light 2.2 pounds! it comes with a freak barrel the only thing you need is more inserts to be on the safe side. the trigger is a little wobbly but you can live with it until you really need a new one.
Conclusion: Ions and any smart part gun will definitely be a smart choice. the ions are fast light and what more do u need?

bassically its the blue color tournament paintball gun.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, December 21st, 2006 at 5:37 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

bballer828 Friday, November 10th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
bushmaster bko, no comparison the ion is so much lighter and more accurate.
Marker Setup: smart parts ion pro, virtue board, odyssey halo B, and i always shoot draxxus
Recommended
Upgrades:
trigger, its wobbly but you can still play with it. ok dont get me wrong the ion pro is hott but the virtue board blow my mind, try it out. u will see a difference
Strengths: Affordable, fast, light, accurate, upgradable lol
Weaknesses: Trigger, grips are hard to put on.
Review: ok im officially fully endorsing this gun and ive only had time to play like 3 times since i bought it. If you just wanna have fun and play u can buy this gun and hook up ur stuff and play no problem. the upgrades of the pro are well worth it.
Conclusion: Buy it. Its cool.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

paintballer6202 Saturday, September 9th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
tippmann 98 with e grip
Marker Setup: Trilogy Pro Sf
Egg Loader
CORE Universal Drop Forward
PMI Pure Energy Fixed N2 Tank - 72ci 3000psi
Recommended
Upgrades:
Well Im a Big Fan of big Drop Forwards
Strengths: Comes with a freak barrel I love the stock trigger
Weaknesses: None I have found
Review: My brother has a smart parts ion pro we usally go into my back yard and play around me using my trilogy. One day i decided to try his pro i LOVED it i still like the trilogy better but i wouldnt mingd having the ion as a backup gun great for the price and very air efficent. Great gun for price and i also think this gun desrves more then a nie at lest a 9.4 really a good gun
Conclusion: Buy it wont be sad
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

ShootTOthrill77 Monday, September 4th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
1 year0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
regular ion
Marker Setup: Ion pro with halo b and a 3000 psi air american tank
Recommended
Upgrades:
maybe a new trigger if you dont like the stock one
Strengths: Barrel performance toughness and upgrades with it
Weaknesses: Nothing
Review: this is a great gun with good upgrades on it. the freak barrel is accurate and matches the gun perfectly. the stock ion is fast and has pretty good modes. The s rail and on/off are tight and seem to make the gun shorter than a stock ion. the feed neck worked pretty good but i had a bad inside clamp plastic witch could probally be replaced but i just bought a shocktech feed neck witch matches good to. The gun is easy to use and can be upgraded to the max. great gun great price buy it.

Edit: Had some air efficency problems but should be fixed with some fixing or a better tank.
Conclusion: The stock ion is great but the pro is even better. The naughty dogs use the ion so it must be good.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, March 13th, 2007 at 3:32 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Terror~ Sunday, September 3rd, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder Pilot, ACS Bolt, Evil Pipe Kit.
Marker Setup: Ion Pro, Warrior Ion Trigger, New designz Bolt, Blue Halo B, 68/4500 Crossfire HP tank.
Recommended
Upgrades:
New trigger
Strengths: Accuracy, Fast, Eyes, Light
Weaknesses: Not that easy to take apart
Review: I just got my 06 Ion Pro yesterday. After installing the new bolt and trigger (Which was a pain in the butt because the screws kept backing out and then it wouldnt fire, but some Lock tite did the trick) i went out and got some air today and some paintballs. Once i got home i loaded it up and let it rip. First off i tried rebound mode just to see what it could do. I was very impressed with how easily it shot through the hopper. The trigger felt great and it was just a constant stream at my target. Secondly i noticed how accurate it was. Almost every single ball was right over the other. There is pretty much no kick on this gun either, it is very easy to keep it on target. Out of the box the pro is exactly what i wanted. I am happy i chose this gun.
Conclusion: My final recommendation for this product is that its light, its fast enough, its pretty accurate and its very upgradeable. A very nice gun especially for the price. Im giving the ion "Pro" a ten because of the upgraded barrel and ASA. For the price nothing can compare to it.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

XSVFORCE Tuesday, August 22nd, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
nothing
Marker Setup: Smart parts Ion pro
Eggy with y board
virtue board
dye stickies
47/3000 tank
max flo
Freak junior kit with all american front and 4 inserts
rolling trigger
Recommended
Upgrades:
trigger
tank is a must
Strengths: FAST (18 balls a second)
ACCURATE
GREAT PRICE
DIFFERENT MODES (ramp, automatic)
LOTS OF UPGRADES
Weaknesses: Gas hog

Wobbly trigger

Hard to clean
Review: This gun is amazing I went paintballin with the friends the other day and i ripped them to shreds. I was using ramp in the chrono and it was soo fast i couldnt believe it. This is an awseome deal and it was my first electronic gun. I also used automatic which was insane. The only problem i had was the air consomtion. This gun got about 600 shots before it went dry because my stock tank was to small. This gun is also very lightwieght and easy to manage. All in all great buy for anyone who doesnt want to spend 1000 dollars for a gun.
Conclusion: This is an awseome gun I recommend you to get it
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

Rich e b Friday, August 18th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder xtra............ obvioulsy doesnt compare
Marker Setup: Stock :)
Strengths: Fast
Weaknesses: Look down under review! cuz this thing has a 15 word maximum- stupid
Review: Good gun, look at the "weaknesses" - obviously i'm writing this for ppl who want to get it, and so they'll know what to do when they get back 2 their house.

if im wrong about that then pm me- but i know im not :)


*** this is supposed to be in the weakness area above, too many words tho*** this is why i wrote this review! when you buy your ion, its "stock" at 250 psi- the gun shouldnt be at 250 psi, you'll blow the solenoid,
so be careful, read the manual and turn that velocity down sonnnnn
Conclusion: Buy it
Because its cheap
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Paradox313 Monday, August 7th, 2006
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Regular Ion. Would take ion over pro anyday.
Marker Setup: SP Ion
CP Micro Drop
CP 2K5 ASA
ST Clamp feedneck
SP 360 Qev
PMI 72/3k Steel Tank
Halo B
Dye C6 Gear
Recommended
Upgrades:
Full or Jr Freak Kit, Qev, Trigger of some kind, different asa, and a clamp feedneck
Strengths: Basic upgrades
Weaknesses: Read Review
Review: The basic idea of the ion pro is just awsome. Has a feedneck, asa w/drop and freak jr barrell. But that's my problem with the marker. The Asa just froze my o-rings in a snap (yes i was using hpa) the feedneck isn't a clamp, (but i saw some with clamps and those a q-locks which are good but i prefer a CCM, or a NDZ one over that), and the Freak jr barrell is way too oversized. (.693)

If smart parts really wanted to impress me they would have installed a qev, a trigger (anything but the Shocktech one), a smaller bore freak jr. barrell, an asa from Custom Products or NDZ, and Hybrid grips ( the grips aren't all that bad but they could use some).

in my opinion this marker is ok for the people who don't know the basics for upgrading, but if you do buy a regular ion and go from there
Conclusion: Well i would say if you don't know how to upgrade the essentials then get this, otherwise go with the regular ion and buy the essential upgrades
Rating:
7 out of 10
I found this review  
3 Comments - Add Comment

Rye425 Thursday, August 3rd, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
Not similar but others used: Spyder Xtra and Sonix
Marker Setup: Smart Parts - Ion Pro

# Q-Lock Feed Tube
# S-Rail & Twist On/Off Valve
# 14" Freak Barrel with Jr. Tip and .693 Insert

# Virtue Ion Board
# Membrane Switch (Black) & Adapter
# EzOn Button (Clear/Black)
# Laser Eye Board (Red)

# Pure Energy Carbon Tanks
# 68/4500
# 45/4500
# 68/3000
Recommended
Upgrades:
Replace the stock board, I went with a Virtue since it had one of the better reviews. Not only was it highly rated, but I wanted a board where I did not have to take the grips off the gun to switch modes and settings. It does have tourney lock as well.
Strengths: * Reliable, no chopping
* Low cost (high end marker!)
* Very durable, simple design
* Accurate
* FAST
Weaknesses: * Leaky out of the box
Review: Key features why to buy this marker from smart parts:

* Reliable, will not chop (at least I have never)
* Low cost for a high end marker
* Very durable and simple design
* Accurate
* FAST (out of the box too but with a virtue board omg out of there!)


The only weakness that I have is that the marker is a little leakey out of the box. To fix that I took the whole gun apart and teflon taped every thread possible. Don't worry the gun has a very simple setup so theres no way to mess anything up!
Conclusion: For a primary marker or even a backup this gun is excellente!

Worth every single penny, even the old gross ones that are turning green and slimy you know what I mean.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (7):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media