paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Smart Parts Ion Pro / Smart Parts Ion Pro / Smart Parts Ion Pro / Smart Parts Ion Pro

Smart Parts Ion Pro Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Smart Parts

Buy Smart Parts Ion Pro

Paintball High-End Electronic Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Smart Parts Ion Pro
[ View Photos (32) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 70
Average Rating: 9.2 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $200

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Pro Additions:

Twister Locking Feed Neck (installed)
Smart Parts Grips (installed)
Shocker Style Mini Drop with Twist On/Off Valve (installed)
Freak Barrel with Jr. Tip and .693 Insert Freak Back (installed)

17 balls per second semi-auto rate of fire with 3 shot burst, full auto and our Rebound firing mode.
Break-beam Vision Anti-Chop System Reliable and durable, the eyes are mounted on a separate board for perfect alignment and not affected by paint or body color. Just clean and replace (in minutes).
A Featherweight Prizefighter At 2.2 pounds, the Ion is among the lightest high-end markers made, and it�s tube design imparts an ultra low profile.
Reliability The Ion was engineered to stand up to the demands of professional players. It will outlast what used to be considered high-end and won't break down the minute you get it home.
Improved Ball Detents Approximately 10 times the service life of current detents.
Great Efficiency Expect a reliable 1000-1400 shots from a 68ci, 4500psi bottle without any modifications
Body Kits A first for paintball. High-quality aluminum internals are protected by composite shells, allowing you to instantly change the color or look of your body. Tired of blue? Switch to red. Or black. Or yellow. And there are more body styles in the works...
Feed Tube with O-Ring Seals Fits a wider range of hoppers than most guns in this price range.
Tools 1/8" Allen wrench is all you need for primary disassembly--and it�s included, along with trigger and velocity adjustment wrenches and a handy parts kit.
Impulse Threads Take advantage of the barrels and feed tubes you may already have.
Product Availability 
The Smart Parts Ion Pro is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (7):  First  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7
        Next Page
stfunewb Tuesday, August 1st, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmman 98, Diablo Wrath LTD, Brass Eagle Avenger ( First gun ), Piranna E- Force
Marker Setup: Ion pro
Egg Hopper
Pure Energy N2 air system
Recommended
Upgrades:
New trigger is pretty much a must. But that's cheap.
If you really wanna get into the game and compete a new board would be good..
Strengths: Cheap, Light, Fast, Looks
Weaknesses: Stock trigger
Review: Well, I just received my Ion Pro in the mail yesterday. And since then I've fallen in love with it.. I paid 300$ for it at SakWorldPaintball.com. Got it ahead of time. I opened the box and the only thing I am mad about is there is a small scratch on the barrell. But as long as it works good I'm happy. The first thing I did is what I do with all my guns when I first get them. I took the gun apart and looked at how it works... How to clean it. Ect... It was kind of nerve wracking when you first open it up but if you follow the manual you will be just fine. The manual is very good and full of information. I put it together again and put my air into it. The new drop forward on/ off valve is very nice and handy. I put 500 rounds through it and was very pleased. The only bad thing is that my egg was having a hard time keeping up. But the eyes work perfect and I didn't chop one ball. The trigger needs some adjustments and even then I reccomend you get a new one. Other than that I am very pleased with this gun. I totally reccomend it.
Conclusion: Get this gun. GREAT value!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

SPion5 Tuesday, July 25th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Toxic Impulse
Marker Setup: Smart Parts Ion Pro
SP low pro feed
NDZ Bolt
NDZ QEV
NDZ roller trigger
NDZ detents
Virtue eyes (green)
Virtue on/off replacement
N2o

Tippmann A5
E-grip
Flatline Barrel
Expansion Chamber
Drop Forward
Recommended
Upgrades:
QEV, Board, eyes, Trigger, Bolt
Strengths: Comes with some upgrades you don't get with the ION
Weaknesses: Crappy looking plastic body
Review: For the price its worth it. you can spend half the money that an angel costs and shoot just as well with less problems. I love my ION and other ION owners love them as well. People that hate them are Angel and Cocker owners, just because they wasted way to much money and they have to take their guns in every week to have them re-timed.
Conclusion: You can't beat it for the price.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

pbdawgfan Saturday, July 22nd, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
A loaded blue impulse -- The Ion is lighter, way easier trigger pull, looks better, more upgradeable, and can be faster w/ any kind of aftermarket board.
A loaded A-5--- ion is way way better.
piranha ext pro........dont even joke about comparing those two. the ion duh
Marker Setup: Red '06 SmartParts Ion
Black SmartParts Q-Lock Feedneck
Black SmartParts Freak Back
Dust Red SmartParts 14'' Freak Front(not the all-american front)
SmartParts Freak Boremaster Insert Kit
Dust Red SmartParts Dovetail and on/off ASA
Black HALO B w/ Rip Drive
Pure Energy 68/4500 N2 Tank (for all guns)
Black/Grey Empire Bottle Glove

***Backup Gun****
Blue SmartParts Vision Impulse
Cricket Board
Blue/Black Max-Flo Regulator(Not vertical reg)
Blue Clamping no-rise Feedneck
SP Magnetic Blade Trigger
SP Tapeworm
12" Blue SP Progressive
SP Tank On/Off Valve.

***BACKUPBACKUP GUN***
PMI Piranha Ext Pro
Recommended
Upgrades:
Scenario Dreams T-Board or Virtue Board(they both do the same thing pretty much, but the virtue cost a lot more), Freak insert kit, new trigger, and new body if u want it.
Strengths: Light
Fast
Easy Trigger Pull
Looks Good
Accurate
Extremely Upgradeable
Inexpensive
Weaknesses: None that i can think of.
Review: This gun is awesome, but i would recommend getting the newer one. The Ion Pro II. Its an 06. This gun weighs almost as little as a shocker but not quite that light, but it is very light. The Ion is the most upgradeable gun out there by far. The Freak makes it accurate but you need to get an insert kit for the best accuracy possible. A Scenario Dreams Ion T-Board or an Ion Virtue Board is the main upgrade you will need for this. Then you'll be able to ramp up to 30 bps!!! with an ion!!! I can't really think of anything bad about this gun.
Conclusion: This is a great product, but if you get one, get the newest one. it comes with a newer Freak and a Q-Lock. Get it. They're only about $300-350. It depends on where you get it.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

theled26 Thursday, July 20th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
spyder compact P (my first baby)
spyder TL with upgrades
A-5 w/ RT LP sys longbow barrel and drop forward
Marker Setup: Ion pro
cp sling trigger
techt L6 bolt
Halo B
Lapco snapshot .689/dye UL .692
orange detents
crossfire 68/3000
SP quick release neck feed
CP Reg
Recommended
Upgrades:
once your learn the stock trig, get a new one, upgrade to a barrel, UL's are pretty decent, longbows and snappys are the best. If you cant fire 17 BPS, no real need for a new board. get detents either orange or kila's. Halo or Eggo for hopper. I got the reg becasue im a low pressure freak, thats also why i got the Techt L6 bolt-lighest most efficeient on gas. but in all honesty i played through 2.5 cases of paint with stock ion and i was really impressed not one ball chopped or downed gun.
Strengths: ROF(with new trig)
Simplicty
upgrades
Weaknesses: The stock parts are not gas efficient
Review: solid elec marker. you can get thrown into a competitve speedball match and actually compete with the ion. the upgrades are for more serious tourny players and who know what they are doing. if your a guy ust starting out play with the ion and get to know its stock parts, then upgrade once you have the cash and experince. The accuracy is decent with the UL but the rof in most cases can make up for it. It comes with a .693 freak but i never used it...not really a fan. maintence and customibility are also strong factors that make the ion pro a solid marker
Conclusion: I got it as a trade and am very pleased. nice thing about the ion and most elec guns is that u can take it in the woods, scenario, or speed ball, but somtimes with guns like a5, or 98's you are limited to the type of games you can play. Smart parts makes solid products as long as there is paintball there will be smart parts. the more advanced players should check out the nerve.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Friday, July 21st, 2006 at 7:54 am PST
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

Pballaluke11 Thursday, July 13th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month52 of 52 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Stock Smart Parts Ion
Marker Setup: Custom Products Rake Trigger
Recommended
Upgrades:
New Barrel or a complete Freak Kit
Blackheart or Virtue Board
Custom Products trigger
Strengths: Very Fast
Light
Weaknesses: Accuracy
Review: I Bought this gun off of eBay brand new. Read the Review to see what I thought.

Accuracy:
The Accuracy of the marker was not the best. Their is an explanation for this. The freak insert that comes with the Smart Parts Ion Pro is .693, and their are not many balls that are that size. Smart parts Has to do this because if they had an insert that was to small the barrel would be unusable. So yes, the accuracy was not the best. However there is a solution to this. If you bought a Full Freak kit, the problem would be covered. So Accuracy is a 7, but can be brought up to a 10 with a simple purchase.

Modes:
The modes of the marker are Semi automatic, Fully automatic, 3 shot burst, and Rebound. The Semi automatic can fire up to 17 balls per second. As well as the Three shot burst. The Fully automatic and Rebound modes are Capped at 10 balls a second. If you would like the Millennium, PSP, and all those other tournament modes I suggest the Virtue Board. Over all I give the Mode section of my review a 9, because I only use the 3 shot burst, Rebound, and Fully automatic when Im shooting my gun in the back yard. I only use the Semi automatic mode out on the Field. 17 Balls per second is definitely fast enough for me.

Trigger:
The Stock Trigger on the Marker is not the best in my opinion. I did'nt even get to play with the marker before I bought the Custom Products Rake trigger. The Stock trigger is heavy and hard to get moving. I do recommend any of the two Cp triggers which are the Rake and Sling. These will get you much faster rate of fire out on the field. The stock trigger I give a 6 but like the barrel with a simple upgrade it can become a 10.

More about the Marker:
The Marker is a great deal for the price it sells for. If you were wondering if you should by the Stock Ion and upgrade it from their I highly suggest that you by the pro because not only will it save you a lot of money but time as well. The marker can compete with the Very Very high end markers.


Conclusion: For the Performance of the gun I would give it an 8. Although at the price it sells for I have no other choice but to give it a 9! !!!!!!!!!!IF you found this review helpful please let me know by leaving a comment or rate it Helpful!!!!!!!!!!
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Dirty Drummer Wednesday, July 12th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann 98custom w/ CP 14" barrel
Marker Setup: Ion Pro
Halo B Hopper
Clamping feed neck
Freak Jr. Back w/ .689 insert
Mini-Drop w/ on/off valve
HPA 3,000psi tank
Recommended
Upgrades:
Halo B Hopper
.689 insert for Freak Jr.
HPA 4,500psi tank
QEV
Strengths: Shoots 17bps
4 different firing modes
Light
Well built
Quiet
Tons of upgrades available
Weaknesses: Must use HPA
Hopper in middle of marker
Must open marker to adjust settings
Review: What do you get with the Pro that you don't get with the regular Ion?
The Pro has:
Freak Jr. Back and comes with a .693 insert (too big, get a different sized insert likea .689)
Mini-Drop with an on/off valve (this is also your saftey)
Clamping feedneck (to hold your hopper in place)
Colored Body Kit (I got black, go figure)

Pros:

Firing Modes
Its fun to fool around with the various firing modes but I leave mine on semi-auto for a few reasons.
1: it can only shoot the full 17bps on semi and rebound (with the other modes it drops to 10bps)
2: most fields don't allow anything but semi-auto.
Also note that the full-auto mode is not available in England.

Shooting
With a little tweaking of the Dwell and RoF this marker will shoot extemely consitently, especially if you buy the SP 360 QEV for it. Mine seems to use quite a bit of air so I wish I would've gotten the bigger 4,500psi tank as oppoesed to my 3,000psi tank. However I can still shot about 800 shots before I have to refill my tank. Accuracy is good and drop off is minimal once you have tweaked your Pro to the ideal settings.

They eyes are amazing on this thing. They see the ball so your marker only shoots when you have a ball that is ready, thus preventing chops and breaks. I haven't had a single break or chop. You can also tun them off if you don't want to use them. But why would you do that.

Feel of the Marker
The Ion Pro is also well balanced as I can hold it in the middle and it doesn't tilt one way or the other. It feels good to hold and I do not find myslef constantly moving it around trying to get a better grip on it as I did with my Tipmmann.

Cons: (depends on your type of play)

Hopper Location
What I didn't notice until I used the Pro for the first time is that the hopper sits right in the middle of the marker making it impossible to look directly down the barrel. This is good for keeping a low profile when looking around bunkers as you don't have anything sticking out that can get shot. But, if you play woodsball like I do, then you have to look at the side to see where your shots are going. But its not hard to get used to and I can still see where my balls are landing.

Making Adjustments
To make any adjusmetns to the Dwell, Rate of Fire or Firing Modes you have to open the side grips by unscrewing two screws. This makes the Ion Pro leagal for use in tournaments, as you cannot change settings on the fly. But as I stated above I keep mine set at semi-auto and you don't need to mess with the Dwell or Rof once you get the set.

Air and C02
You can use C02 but it is recomened that you use HPA due to the fact that any liquid C02 that enters you Ion can and will damage. It costs me $3 to fill my 3,000psi tank. As stated above I would get the biggest tank you can afford.

Conclusion: If you want something that can keep you from getting out gunned by the high priced markers the Ion Pro will do just that.

I am very pleased with this marker and would recomend it to anybody looking for great gun at a low price.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, July 12th, 2006 at 3:50 pm PST
I found this review  
3 Comments - Add Comment

Dragoon915 Sunday, July 2nd, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder e99 Avant
spyder imagine
05 shocker
Marker Setup: Blue 06 Ion Pro
68/45 crossfire tank
blue/black jr freak
black q lock feedneck
smart parts blue on/off
blue s rail
Blue Empire reloader b
Recommended
Upgrades:
Deffinatly need compressed air
Electric hopper (Empire reloader B works great)
Strengths: Quite, fast ,jr freak ,on/off ,srail ,qlock ,very light
Weaknesses: Trigger is hard to walk at first but you get use to it
Review: So i bought the gun at my local pro shop at a clearnace sale. 260$. WOW i just had to get it.
they were all out of the color i wanted so i orderd it. It finally came 5 days later. I took it out of the box and wow this thing looked insane. i couldnt wait to air it up. I came home went threw the instructions figured out how to work the settings and everything. I then screwed my tank in and did some dry fire. Wow this thing was quite even with no paint in it. That day i went down to hollywood sports and decided to test it out.

Trigger- Not the best trigger. The first game i went out with it it was very hard to walk. But after a couple games you kinda figure out wahts the best way to walk fast with it. It isnt the best trigger but it is only the stock figger.

Feddneck- the feedneck on the 06 ion pro is excellent. it is the q lock clamping feedneck. the feedneck is very easy to use and you dont have to use a allen wrench like some are. the feedneck makes thee marker very low profile wich is very important. it also fits the Empire reloader B and the Halo B perfectly. Those are the ones ive tried.

Barrel- Well it comes with the jr freak barrel and deppending on wich color it matchs ur marker. Ok i just tried the gun out yesterday night. the marker was so quite and was very accurate. Recommened getting a kit so u could match ur paintball size for best accuracey.

Marker Body- very light 2.2lbs. It felt like a feather compared to my spyder. The manual isnt that specific but still is not hard to understand. If you dont understand anything like how to adjust the firing modes just go to iononers.com and look for forums or videos and those realy help expessually if ur a dumb a** like myself. Also the marker gets alot of attention from the ladies. there is no kick to this gun u cant even tell if u are firing if you dont look. It shoots very far and very accurate.

eyes- wow the eyes are flawless. they didnt let me break a paintball at all the whole day. the eyes are break beam so they are an excellent addition to add to the gun.


Conclusion: If you are looking to upgrade from your old piece of c**p and you want a high end gun for cheap this is very good.i got my ion pro for 260 and i am so glad i bought it. Useing this marker uped my game and now i am able to keep up with the guys with those 1000 dollar guns. I recommend this gun to beginners and advanced players. also this is a excellent back up gun for those of you who are on teams.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, July 2nd, 2006 at 2:26 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

JGuitar033 Friday, June 16th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
my ion
Marker Setup: ION
White Body kit
Virtue Board
Virtue Eyes (Green)
Virtue Membrane Kit
Freak Kit
Shocktech clamping feed neck
Egg w/ y board
68/4500 Crossfire tank w/ empire cover

More to come

98 Custom
Empire twister barrel
Stock
co2 tanks (12's)
Recommended
Upgrades:
New trigger (if you want)
Strengths: It already comes with upgrades
Weaknesses: None
Review: This is my friends gun and i tested his ion before i got mine and i was impressed with all the upgrades it came with. He got it for his birthday and he let me and some other friends try it out and i was impressed by the speed. We were shooting it in hias back yard until he ran out of N2. The ion pro is just a ion with a few upgrades.......i chose the stock so i could do what i want with my ion and plus i didnt have the extra money and action village didnt have them............it is all up to you and if you chose the ion pro you will save money but if you chose the stock ion you can do pretty much what you what with it.........
Conclusion: If you have the extra money or if you like the upgrades already put on it then get it
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Monday, July 3rd, 2006 at 10:31 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

walkthetrigger4 Saturday, June 10th, 2006
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
3 months0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
cant compare to no other marker
Marker Setup: Ion Pro blue Halo B with rip drive and z-board freak barrel kit cp rolling trigger nitro duck 68 4500 smart parts drop foward
Recommended
Upgrades:
none really needed maybe the drop foward its a little to close to the handle
Strengths: Accurate
Not loud
Fast
Weaknesses: None
Review: Best marker best marker best marker best marker best marker best marker best marker best marker best marker best markbest marker best marker best marker best marker best marker best marker best marker best marker best marker best marker best marker best marker best marker best marker best marker best marker best marker
Conclusion: This product is nice get one and youll be happy
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

dmanwition Sunday, June 4th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
shocker impulse all smart parts guns
Marker Setup: Smart Parts Ion
Mini Drop w/ on/off asa
CP Blade Roller trigger
Dye 3 Sticky Grip
NDZ Locking Feedneck
Virtue Green Lazer Eyes
VL Evolution 2
PMI 72/3000 psi HPA tank
Strengths: Fast as most 700 dollar guns
Weaknesses: Breaks down alot
Review: hey listen up if you plan on getting an ion(not pro) then get a new feedneck. I had to use gun butta to get my evoluton 2 in the feedneck.... and also get a new trigger and eventually get a new barrel. and also the on/off button is not a button but more a sensor... that means just push in a little!!!!!!!!!!!! bit and keep your fingers over the button for 2 seconds and it willllllllllllllllll turn on whoever said its was hard to turn an ion on is a idiot. unless you have a small tank get a new drop for it and also on/off asa. ohhhh and i just want to add that if your just putting air through it (the gun also called dry firing) you have to turn the eyes off it is simple all you have to do id push the on/off button lightly !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! and that will turn the eyes off. the modes are easy to switch and the manual is very helpful bring it the first time you play with your new ion. also if you dont have a fast hopper than keep it on semi. DONT MESS with the DWELL it WILL screw up your gun. the rate of fire stock is at like.... 12-13 its is an easy adustment just keep your finger over the on/off sensor till it stops blinking red and yellow at the same time. also my last point when you switch modes after you are done to lock in the modes you must pull the trigger.
Conclusion: The gun is great for the money and compares to lots of 800 dollar guns get an ion but it will takes some work to get it rocking
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Friday, June 9th, 2006 at 11:07 am PST
I found this review  
3 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (7):  First  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media