paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Smart Parts Ion Pro / Smart Parts Ion Pro / Smart Parts Ion Pro / Smart Parts Ion Pro

Smart Parts Ion Pro Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Smart Parts

Buy Smart Parts Ion Pro

Paintball High-End Electronic Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Smart Parts Ion Pro
[ View Photos (32) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 70
Average Rating: 9.2 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $200

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Pro Additions:

Twister Locking Feed Neck (installed)
Smart Parts Grips (installed)
Shocker Style Mini Drop with Twist On/Off Valve (installed)
Freak Barrel with Jr. Tip and .693 Insert Freak Back (installed)

17 balls per second semi-auto rate of fire with 3 shot burst, full auto and our Rebound firing mode.
Break-beam Vision Anti-Chop System Reliable and durable, the eyes are mounted on a separate board for perfect alignment and not affected by paint or body color. Just clean and replace (in minutes).
A Featherweight Prizefighter At 2.2 pounds, the Ion is among the lightest high-end markers made, and it�s tube design imparts an ultra low profile.
Reliability The Ion was engineered to stand up to the demands of professional players. It will outlast what used to be considered high-end and won't break down the minute you get it home.
Improved Ball Detents Approximately 10 times the service life of current detents.
Great Efficiency Expect a reliable 1000-1400 shots from a 68ci, 4500psi bottle without any modifications
Body Kits A first for paintball. High-quality aluminum internals are protected by composite shells, allowing you to instantly change the color or look of your body. Tired of blue? Switch to red. Or black. Or yellow. And there are more body styles in the works...
Feed Tube with O-Ring Seals Fits a wider range of hoppers than most guns in this price range.
Tools 1/8" Allen wrench is all you need for primary disassembly--and it�s included, along with trigger and velocity adjustment wrenches and a handy parts kit.
Impulse Threads Take advantage of the barrels and feed tubes you may already have.
Product Availability 
The Smart Parts Ion Pro is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (7):  First  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7
        Next Page
lpfanboy Monday, May 29th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
A-5 (decent but needs some upgrades to be worthy of this gun)
DM5 (Great Gun)
Marker Setup: Ion pro
virtue
halo b

Recommended
Upgrades:
Micro Max Flow
new trigger
Strengths: Awesome barrel, Eyes, On/Off ASA
Weaknesses: Trigger is a little fragile and the tip can break off
Review: First off, the ION is an amazing gun even when it was $300. Now that its $199.99, you can not beat it, or so I thought. With the original Ion, the feed neck is not a goodone, the barrel is not to good and no on/off. Smart Parts made a decisiom to make these and they could not have been better. They replaced the stupid feedneck with a clamping one, so you do not have to shave your hopper. The barrel is so much more accurate than the stock. Even the price on it shows how much better (stock:19.99-29.99, Freak Jr. 69.99-89.99). Plus the on/off asa. This thing enables you to leave your gun on, and shoot without and shots coming out. Its like its own saftey. Plus the gun hardly ever chops paint!!! Though the ASA is not the best, its still a good investment. Though I wish they put the micro max flow on it and a better trigger, this gun is the best low price gun on the market.
Conclusion: An amazing gun with all the upgrades that are needed to make this gun a tourny gun and it will never let you down
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Skyline_09 Saturday, April 22nd, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Angel Speed
SP Impulse
Marker Setup: - Red Ion Pro
- Egg2 hopper
- Crossfire 68ci 4500psi
- Empire tank cover red
- CP short reg. red
- SP QEV
Recommended
Upgrades:
Feed neck, depends on if you mind the size or not. SP QEV
Strengths: Fast for price
Accurate
Reliable
Weaknesses: None
Review: Great gun. Shoots awesome out of box. At first, I thought it was messed up before I even used it, but I didn't know that the light was supposed to be flashing rapidly. It was on safe mode. Many upgrades are available. Make yours extremely custom and personalized. My friends fear me now.
Conclusion: Buy it if its what your looking for. Awesome gun.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, April 22nd, 2006 at 8:32 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

X_treme Friday, April 21st, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Regular Ion
Spyders
Marker Setup: Silver ION Pro
Empire Fuel Tank 45/4500
-CP Reg
-NDZ Roller Blade Trigger (Red)
-NDZ On/Off
Vlocity Hopper
Recommended
Upgrades:
Regulator
Trigger
Feedneck is a little loose

Strengths: FAST
Price
Weight
Weaknesses: Trigger
Regulator
Review: I have not been in the game very long but i will still give you my oppion on the gun. I love this gun. The thing that got me to buy this gun is the price. For the price of this gun you are really getting waht you payed for. When you try to adjust the velocity on the regulator with the wrecnh they give you it is very weried when you adjust it becuase you turn the whole regulator. I think the first upgrade you should get is for sure the regulator, then a new trigger. I would give this gun a 10 out of 10 but, nothing is perfect so i will give a 9.
Conclusion: This is a great gun. i would recomend buying this gun if you have the money for it. You are really getting what you payed for.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, July 4th, 2006 at 9:36 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Binx Friday, March 17th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder's...tons and tons of spyders. Automag
Marker Setup: Ion Pro
Smart Parts Q-Lock Feed Neck
Ambush HP regged tank
Egg
Recommended
Upgrades:
Feedneck
Trigger
Regulator
Strengths: Light
Fast
Inexpensive
Snazzy looking
Tons of upgrades available.
Weaknesses: Feedneck
.693 barrel insert
Review: I bought this Ion Pro used from a local shop. As soon as I picked it up, I liked it. Compared to the spyders I am use to carrying around, it's feather light. I'm by no means a fast shooter, but even with the stock trigger, I can get it going pretty well. The instruction book that comes with this marker is very thorough and makes it easy for anybody to understand. The anti-chop eyes make it even better. For the money, I would recommend this (or any other Ion) to beginners or experienced players. And recently, prices have dropped to 295 new. That's pretty sweet considering you get the on/off asa and Freak Jr. to go along with it.

The only weaknesses I have found so far are these.

The feed neck sucks on wheels... Regardless of how you tighten it, the plastic collar in the feed neck will swivel like crazy. Ungood in the heat of a match.

Next, the reg isn't the best in the world. It works decently on a High Pressure Nitrogen tank, but if you are using anti-siphoned CO2 (ONLY USE ANTI-SIPHON!!!) there is tremendous shoot down.

Lastly, the .693 insert...that's the largest insert they have. I would imagine they put this in with it soley for the fact that they are overstocked on them as nobody wants a bore that big...but I could be wrong. It works, but you'll want to get some variety to your barrel. Not a big deal.

A lot of people complain about the trigger, but for what you pay for and for what it is, it's not bad.


*I originally had .893 as the bore...i'm a moron...*
Conclusion: I would recommend this marker to anybody. Just breaking in or experienced and wanting an upgrade. Simple, inexpensive, fast, and light. If the feedneck wasn't so poor, it would have gotten a 10 out of 10.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, March 18th, 2006 at 6:41 am PST
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

empirepb10 Monday, March 6th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Smart parts shocker, timmy, ect
Marker Setup: 2006 silver/black Smart Parts ion pro with cp roller trigger, planet eclipse qev, halob w/ rip drive, 48/3000 pure enrgy tank.
Recommended
Upgrades:
Trigger
Strengths: Fast, light, reliable, small, and of course its made by Smart Parts.
Weaknesses: Trigger, the stock trigger is kinda wobaly.
Review: This ion pro is awsome. It comes with a twister feedneck, freak jr, smart grips, s rail, and Smart Parts on/off. This gun can shoot fast ropes if you have the settings right. This gun is great for any player. The gun comes in either black/blue, black/green, or black/silver.
Conclusion: Get this gun!!!!!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

impulse_777 Saturday, March 4th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
I have an Impulse as well and this is much better
Marker Setup: green base imp w/ evil driver barrel,twister feedneck,halo b,system x asa,centerflag tank,eclipse magnetic blade trigger
Smart Parts ION with Max-Flo, 16 inch Progressive barrel, twister feedneck and a CP roller trigger
Recommended
Upgrades:
Definitely get a new trigger
Strengths: Fast
Light
Cheap
Accurate
Weaknesses: Hard to disassemble
Review: I am actually writing a review on the IMF 3000 from actionvillage.com. when i received it i had to take it apart to put on my CP trigger. it took about 30 minutes, but that is oly because i didn't know what to do. The next day I went to play. I set it to PSP mode and it ripped! The regulator was not very good, the velocity was all over the place at first but evened out more later so i think it just needs to be broken in. The gun was very accurate even from across the field. I shot one guy through the crack in the snake from the other side of the field!
Conclusion: Overall this is a very good gun, I will give it a 9 just because it is hard to disassemble and the regulator.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, March 4th, 2006 at 9:18 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Ace2087 Monday, February 20th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Wrath,Vexor Eye, Nothing really like spyders (much better in m/o)
Marker Setup: Smart Parts Ion
CP Rollar Trigger
CP In-line Reg
Universal Drop (Large)
Freak Jr. Kit
47/3000 Crossfire
Halo B w/rip
Recommended
Upgrades:
Feedneck
Trigger
Qev
Barrel Kit
~with those few upgrades this thing will rip like you wouldent belive.
you could also add a new board for speed and body kits and all.....
Strengths: Break-beam eyes
17bps in semi & rebound
quite
pretty accuarte with stock barrel
little maintence
Weaknesses: Honestly I havent found anything I would call a weakness.
Review: I bout my ion from a buddy of mine for 150 bucks. As soon as I got it I was likin it already. The trigger isint the best but I still could walk about 15-16 with it. With an upgraded trigger you can walk 17bps like its nothing. I recommend the CP roller trigger (love mine). It has semi,3 round burst,fully,and rebound. 17bps is semi and rebound and I belive 10bps in 3round and fully. This gun is sweet all around. I was nailin people at atleast 30 yards away with almost every paintball hittin its mark. This marker is sweet - its cheap,fast,accurate,light,compact and all around awsome. I have put a freak jr. kit on mine along with trigger,QEV,feedneck,and a drop and I couldent ask for to much more. Ya I can get a board to pump more paint but I have MAYBE a 3inch radius on my shots. If I can see them, I can shoot them no prob. I love my ion and I will say after playin with tippy,spyder,clones and even a few higher dollar guns the ion is my choice. So man upgrades,body kits,triggers and the performance is AWSOME. I give this thing a 10/10 cuz hasent been one thing go wrong with it and it has always been easy as pie to clean,oil and keep runnin good. I say get you one if you lookin for a cheap yet AWSOME marker.
Conclusion: I got mine and havent stopped likin it yet. I havent run into any problems yet and the problems ive seen on my buddys ions took him maybe 10mins to fix if that. I love my ion and it was the best money ive spent. I will upgrade one day, but for now I couldent be happier. Get the ion
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

rune403186 Sunday, February 19th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
spyder electra,tippman a5 and dragun the one
Marker Setup: freak barrel,blackheart board,qev ,ans roller trigger and virtue laser eye board,q-loader hopper
Recommended
Upgrades:
freak barrel help alot
Strengths: Body,easy to clean and maintain
Weaknesses: Switch to turn on gun look cheap,Stock trigger plastic
Review: Out of the box gun fires smoothly,enjoyed it,i was surprise how accurate it isstock, a week later i decided to upgrade the marker to my own setup blackheart board and freak barrel help this baby to reach it's full potential,i used it last week and to my surprise i kept up with with my friend,performance is good stock,even better when modified,all in all i'm satisfied with this marker
Conclusion: If you buy this marker,make sure to get ready to spend the bucks,you would love it more after you do all the upgrades
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

omenballer Monday, February 6th, 2006
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested3 of 10 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
there isnt very much that i havent shot...
Marker Setup: Evil MINION/hater boark/stiffi tip

Setup 2: SP shocker/ndz he kit, bolt guide, speedy 2 board, lots more

Setup 3: EVIL omen 2.0/too many ups
Recommended
Upgrades:
new feedneck (this one still sucks!!)
barrel im not a fan of the freak
reg (stock has horrrrribblle drop off
board (this one is kinda slow)
body ( imo the "composite" body is ugly)
trigger
Strengths: Looks ok
better than normal ion
Weaknesses: Bad reg
tall feedneck
board a little on the slow side
Review: Allright, I was playin speedball at my frdz airball field. The guns there were my omen, a pimp, 2 05 speeds, lasoya timmy, and a few ion pros, and sum other guns. My friend let me borrow his ion pro for a while.

Let me start off by saying that the ion pro is better than the ion, but still failed to impress me. The feedneck was still bad. ive also never been a big fan of the freak barrel due to its somewhat fragile inserts. The regulator is the same reg on the stock ion and has noticeable dropoff when trying to shoot long ropes of paint (which was possibly misuse or lack of maitnenance on my frdz part.). Appearance wise the ion pro actually looks pretty good.

Overall the ion pro had lackluster performance. It just didnt impress me in many aspects.

EDIT: just got back from playin pball with all my frdz at the airball field. My friend with the ion pro was there. It still failed to impress me. since writing this review i have bought a shocker with a lot of ups and a 06 minion. Now compared to these guns, the ion is nothing. The shocker is about the only acceptable gun from sp. I like it. Saying that an ion can compete with 700-800 guns is retarded. I understand that most ion owners are noobs, so they think that there gun is very good, and it is for the money i guess. But once you get more experience with paintball and other high end guns, the ion just cant compete. I keep my current rating. Sorry if im makin any1 mad, but this is my honest review
Conclusion: It is a step up from the ion, but still not much better. For the same price you can get a far better gun than this. I would not recommend getting this gun. I give it a 3 because its light, and looks pretty good
Rating:
3 out of 10Last edited on Friday, May 12th, 2006 at 8:00 pm PST
I found this review  
35 Comments - Add Comment

BigSak Tuesday, January 24th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months18 of 21 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
Tippman 98c with response Trigger and cyclone feed system - Not really comparable.
Spyder Electra 05 w/rocking trigger - Easier to achieve higher ROF, but much louder and much more kick than the ION.
Marker Setup: ION PRO
QEV
CP Roller Trigger
Freak insert Kit
NitroDuck 45/4500 HPA
Eggy w/ y-board
Recommended
Upgrades:
New Trigger and a QEV are musts
Nitro is a must
Fast Hopper
Strengths: Very light
Fast
Accurate
Quiet
Eyes
Weaknesses: Leaky Hoses
Need to be delicate when taking apart
Review: I'm still pretty new to the sport, but after a couple of months of playing with my Tippmann, I wanted something more so I set out to research as much as possible and ended up with the ION Pro. My originaly plan was to buy the ION, but with a couple of hundred dollars worth of ups for only about $50-60 more, I thought the Pro was a no brainer.
I've now played twice using the ION Pro as well as put a couple of cases of paint through it while practicing and here's what I like:

With the freak barrel and insert kit, I'm able to match of my paint to the appropriate bore size which helps with the accuracy.
Although I've had a couple of barrel breaks, I've had zero chops after about 4 cases of paint, ranging from wal-mart swirls to x-ball gold and nelson anarchy. The eyes are awesome in that regard.
Its much quieter than all the blowbacks my buddies use and has very little kick at all.
With the QEV installed, which is an extremely inexpensive up, I'm able to drop the dwell which helps with speed and gas efficiency.
With my NitroDuck carbon fiber tank, it is extremely light.
With the CP roller trigger installed and tweaked its pretty easy to walk the trigger. Even for a newbie like myself. As a matter of fact, even though I was on semi mode, some of they guys I played with thought I was on full-auto mode.

Despite all the positives, there are a few negatives that I need to report as well, including:
Leaks - The possibility for air leaks is pretty high and there are a number of places that the leaks can occur. However, there is a lot of good info on the forum sticky's.
Stock Board - For a newbie, the instructions on setting the dwell and ROF and optimal settings are explained well. Also, its a little bit of a pain to have to remove the grips in order to change settings.
Conclusion: For anyone looking to get into an affordable electro-pneumatic, I would strongly recommend this marker. Despite other reviews, I did not once feel like the marker was a toy or cheaply made. Its as fast as anyone really needs. Its efficient and quiet. Its very accurate with decent paint and the rest of the inserts. The leaks are pretty easy to fix. Even though I was a little intimidated at first, considering how different this was compared to my 98c, I'm very happy with the money spent and have recommended it to all of my friends, even though that may come back to haunt me when we play against each other.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
4 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (7):  First  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media