paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / BT Paintball Design BT-4 Assault / BT Paintball Design BT-4 Assault / BT Paintball Design BT-4 Assault / BT Paintball Design BT-4 Assault

BT Paintball Design BT-4 Assault Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount BT Paintball Design

Buy BT Paintball Design BT-4 Assault

Paintball Low-End Mechanical Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


BT Paintball Design BT-4 Assault
[ View Photos (36) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 72
Average Rating: 9.1 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $300

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
OVERVIEW - Keep opponents in Awe.
With Scenario players in mind the BT-4 Assault is the choice of demanding players who look for military spec features and feel coupled battle tested BT reliability and battle tested durability. If you are looking to put some fear into your tournament opponents turn up with this mean rig.
Product Availability 
The BT Paintball Design BT-4 Assault is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (8):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  Last
        Next Page
mvs_8888 Sunday, May 4th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
3 months0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
BT4 Assault > Tippman Custom Pro
Marker Setup: BT4 Assault, Veiw Loader Revolution w / X-Board, remote line, 20oz. CO2, Nelson Hemorage paint
Recommended
Upgrades:
magazine attachment ( for looks and storage for scenario game map storage )
Strengths: ACCURACY
Looks
No ball chopping
Bps
Sturdy
Very reliable in any conditions
INTIMIDATION FACTOR
Weaknesses: Bps
Weight???
Gas hog???
Review: Rate of fire can be good or bad depending on your situation. ( with the single trigger i can get up to about 7bps )
Most people call it heavy and a gas hog, but a remote line does miracles for both of those problems. Personally I don't think that it is too heavy but whatever...
Nelson Hemorage paint works absolutely amazing with this gun. I always know exectly where the paint is going. The marker itself is also very reliable. I will work in any conditions ( I should know, -40F winters and 100F summers). Speedballers can rip on this gun all they want. When put face to face in a woods, the BT is better hands down. As long as I am on speedballers, I love the accuracy of this marker. In a match I ambushed one of my friends who has a promaster with a freak barrel kit, anyway, his promaster has a small switch on the side that turns the electronic trigger on and off. When I ambushed him, I maneged to hit the on / off switch on his gun before he tuned When he did turn he pointed his gun at me and started walking the trigger, but nothing happened and he couldn't figure out why. I actually had time to laugh at him and run away before fe figured it out. BEFORE YOU ASK WHY HE WASN'T CALLED OUT, WE PLAY NO ELIMINATIONS, JUST OBJECTIVES.

All in all, this marker is AWESOME!!!
Conclusion: If you play woodsball or scenario games, this marker ia a supreme choice for the money.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Last Don Thursday, May 1st, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann A-5 (stock)
Marker Setup: Shocktech DM5 Black w/ clear accents W/ Predator WMD 5.0 Board and Laser Eyes
14in Dye Ultralite Barrel
Empire Fuel 71/4500 tank with Crossfire Regulaor
Halo B

BT-Assault (stock)
Bt-Delta (stock)
Recommended
Upgrades:
A smaller barrel bore would be nice, but I havent figured out how to take the barrel shroud off. A remote line since this is a heavy marker.
E-grip
Rip clip or Halo B (if using standard gravity fed loaders)
Strengths: Qualtiy build
Picatanny rails for many accessories.
Weaknesses: Heavy, Gas hog, No magazine for the realistic look.
Review: I only had this for one game but during that time, I was able to review what I liked and didnt like.
First off, when I went to chrono the marker, it was unstable. I was +/-10fps. I wasnt able to get a consistent grouping BUT, the marker was new so Im not taking points off for that. It just needs time to break in.
What I liked about it is how quickly I was able to adjust to it. I shoot a M16a2 for the PD and when I opened the stock and placed it into my shoulder, I knew it was meant for business. Speaking of stocks, its comes with a 4 position stock. Its made of high quaility plastic (polymer) something that is used in pistols (ie. Glock, H&K, Smith and Wesson). So the stock will take a beating as well as the shroud. I just dont recommend trying to break it. Could take an eye out or something
With a 68/4500 tank and a Halo B on this beast, it was a heavy marker. I would recommened a remote line if you have not already purchased one. The extra weight off this would make this marker a lot more fun.


Conclusion: Although this is a short review, I would recommened this for any serious mil-sim/scenario baller or just someone who is into military looks. Its a great all around gun and it was able to take a beating in the mud without malfunctioning or ball breakage.
Rating:
8 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, May 1st, 2008 at 3:48 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

knight20 Wednesday, April 2nd, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
BT Delta, Tipmn A5, BT-4 Banshee
Marker Setup: BT-4 Assault, A5 Flatline barrell, E- trigger, Rip Clip, M16 clip as forward grip. Picitinny rail on m16 carry handle with picitinny rail 45 degrees off that with red / green dot sight. OpsGear picitinny Flatline shroud. tac light and RIS laser. Remote coil with on/off.
Recommended
Upgrades:
E-trigger and Rip Clip for fully automatic. If using Co2 I would recommend the M16 magazine expansion chamber.
Strengths: Durable, Accurate, Simplicity, Easy field stripping, endless modifications.
Weaknesses: Extremely heavy, air hog, open bolt design.
Review: I hate speedball. I am really into milsim. I am an RCMP officer and myself and other members have purchased this gun just because it is so real. The feel and weight is uncanny to an actual M16 or M4A1. There are 14 of us who all own a marker in the BT-4 family from the Iron Horse to the Delta. We practice our tactical entries and all sorts of scenarios. With minor mods this marker is easily in my top 2 of markers used for milsim. I would highly recommend this marker to anyone who is into milsim, otherwise known as woodsball or scenario play.
Conclusion: This marker is awsome. I own all markers listed above and find myself rarely using them and mainly using my Assault. 9 out of 10. (Weight)
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

JellyMahn Monday, March 3rd, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann 98(rental), Spyder MR2 and Tippmann a5. Basic markers
Marker Setup: BT4 Assault, tactical sling(very useful for weight)
Recommended
Upgrades:
It works great out of the box. The barrel is good too. get a flex mask so you can use the sights as well. Sling recommended because it can get heavy.
Strengths: 1- Looks great! realistic & cheap
2-Durable
3-Fine out of box
4-Plain fun
Weaknesses: 1- bit heavy (like to know I still have my marker)
2- Sorta loud(good)
Review: . I play for fun. I like scenarioball. I'd die in speedball. This is the perfect marker for a guy like me who wants to have a cool looking marker that I can manage and just have fun with. It performs well, and the stock is solid, the foregrip is sturdy, the stock barrel is nice, I love the raised sights, they make it so real. I'm not technical, but I love this marker. It's what I want... A whole lot of fun to use! It's performance is great and i couldn't ask for more. BT4 assault is great. Here's my edit after playing a few more games- The marker has a tendency to loosen some screws, as I lost one of the sling clips on the field. But this can be avoided by using loc-tite on the screws. The stock works great, and keep it on one of the further positions(I use 4) to push it to your shoulder, as the marker is heavy. The overall marker remains solid and I couldn't be happier. The accuracy is nice, so I haven't run out of paint in a game yet. I would like to use the raised rear sights as a riser for a scope of some kind, but it isn't a rail, meaning I need to rig something up, but that's alright. You won't run out of air in a normal game if you're using a 20 ounce size tank. I'm lovin it!
Conclusion: If you're new to paintball or even a veteran, the BT4 has something to offer to everyone! It has endless upgrades and is solid like a rock. This is just a great marker! I recommend it! I won't give it a 10 because I know there are better markers on the market, but the price of this seems so low for what it is. For that reason... I'll give it a 10 anyways!
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, April 16th, 2008 at 4:30 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Super_turd Saturday, December 29th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
tippmann a-5, tippmann 98 custom
Marker Setup: BT-4 Assault [w/ car. stock] with 16" j&j ceramic barrel(A-5 thread), ricochet apache, BT designs expansion chamber, trinity delrin front bolt, remote line, special ops broadsword vest.
Recommended
Upgrades:
most definitly a new barrel, unless u like the mil sim look. i personnaly got out of that mil sim phase and now i just want a gun that works for me. other then that just any modification that will suit your needs
Strengths: Looks cool, price, easy to take care of, fairly good in game.
Weaknesses: Heavy, gas hog like 98 custom, not very accurate.
Review: about a year ago, i traded my xbox to one of my friends for this gun. at the time i thought it was just another 98 custom rip off or something. after i took it apart and cleaned it i relized this gun was very unique compared to the 98 custom or the A-5, this gun is a combination of the two. all the internals are 98 custom so its a very good platform to use internally speaking. the barrel threads are A-5 and the grip is also A-5 style and can be removed and replaced with a E-grip or any other modded grip designed for the a -5. the stock however is 98 custom style so it only excepts 98 stlye stocks. but the highlight of this combination design is that it looks badass and u can do so much more with it then most mil sim guns. the way i plan on having mine setup is a accurate surpressive weapon. i think the best part about the gun is the abilty to accept a-5 barrels right out of the box. this gun gets 2 thumbs up. o yea dont let the bulkiness and heaviness of the gun keep u from buyiong one its not that bad, very comparible to a real firearm.
Conclusion: i rated this gun the way i did because compared to any other gun u could use in woodsball the BT-4 ASSUALT will definatly get u noticed on and off the field.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, December 29th, 2007 at 6:09 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

BattleHawk Saturday, October 13th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
3 months6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann Pro Carbine, A-5 and 98 Custom
Marker Setup: BT Paintball BT-4 Assault with BT-1913 20" Barrel, Magazine Expansion chamber, NCStar laser sight, Rip Clip, E Grip, Sling.
Recommended
Upgrades:
Remote Coil, 2 20oz CO2 Tanks or Compressed AIr Conversion, Sling, Magazine or Foward Grip Expansion Chamber.
Strengths: Accurate
Tournament Legal external FPS adjustment
durable
proven
Upgradeability
Weaknesses: Heavy
Price
Akward W/O Remote Coil
Gas-Hog
Review: I went and bought this marker after reading many reviews for other markers on this site. This is a great marker for noobs and veterens alike. Right out of the box, this marker is intimidateing, getting many questions and instant 'friends' whenever I pull it out. To begin with, it is a little but pricey, but has upgrades on the Combat that would cost much more to buy after the fact. This is the best bang for your buck if you are going into the MilSim market. With such upgrades as the Rip Clip and the E Grip the Assault can outshoot any Tippmann. I highly recommend taking the marker out for 100 shots or so before doing any modifying so if your modifactions change anything you know right away. After that, feel free to modify in any way. After my first 100 shots, I noticed a few loose screws and other parts. Be shure to check the marker over for loose screws every time you take it out, because repeated use loosens the screws. BECOME ITIMATE WITH YOUR MARKER! cannot stress enough that you must take it apart and put it back together until you can do it in less then mins. It is quite heavy and bulky with the CO2 on it, and it is also a gashog. I suggest two 20oz CO2 tanks and a remote coil ASAP after purchase. Another alternative would be the expansion chamber. This will reduce CO2 usage and FPS spikes. Without the E-Grip trigger, the Assault is a semi-auto, so off the bat, only a gravity feed is needed. Later along you will need the Rip Clip. It is a reloader made for the BT-4 by BT. It is very similar to the cyclone on the A5, but in the rare instance that you chop a ball all it takes is 2 thumbscrews and you can clean your marker. I will update this as I use my marker more and upgrade it.
Conclusion: Easily one of the best base MILSIM markers to upgrade. Will not do well as a speedball marker. Trust me, I saw a guy try and he got owned.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, December 30th, 2007 at 9:49 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

rottendrew Wednesday, August 8th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month8 of 12 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Single shot pistols (lol)/ MR 1/ 98s /tons of rental garbage.
Marker Setup: BT4 Assault e grip and exp chamber mag, tippman triumph ssl 200 hopper, remote line ,20 oz co2 , 4 in one back pack and tack sling.
Recommended
Upgrades:
See above.
Strengths: Looks, price
Weaknesses: Not as tough as it looks see review.
Review: I read the reviews and decided to buy this marker. First I bought this paint ball gun because of the way it looked and felt when i was holding it. Secondly i was impressed with the reviews when it came to function and ability.

The marker has worked perfectly for me but i did have to fiddle about with it to get it the way i liked.

The first thing i had to do was remove the fore grip and realign the front sight so it was in the proper position when the barrel was tightened. To my shock i found that the sight and sling anchor point is only secured by one tinny allan screw. No way was it designed to take the weight of the gun on a sling. So I attached the tac sling with the provided hardware to the actual fore end grip and not to the guns sling fixing point.

The second thing i noticed is that when the barrel is fully tightened as far as it will go. The barrel itself now has some lateral movement. ( side to side). This movement is caused by the loose fit of the barrels female , or receiving end that is held in place by the guns housing. ( not good). At first i thought it was a flaw but after visiting the local store i checked one out right off the wall.

I firmly held the main body of the gun with the butt on the ground grasped the fore end (front grip)and moved it back and forth with about 5 lbs of force. Sure enough you can see movement at the end of the barrel! Not much but its still movement. If a longer barrel was used say a 1913 model ( 20 inch) this problem would be magnified significantly.

So be careful when slinging this marker, avoid unnecessary lateral force to the fore end and barrel or you will have expensive future problems. A longer barrel is not a good idea it will only increase the fulcrum effect and damage the housing.

In my opinion they used that tinny screw because they never intended anyone to use the front sling attachment. It is for aesthetics only, the barrels anchor point is not designed to take the weight of the gun laterally, If it were it would not move. One screw from both sides from the gun body into the threaded barrel reciever would have solved both problems ,35 cents at most!
Conclusion: Well after finding the barrel flaw and the useless sling anchor point i am disappointed at the designers. Just how much money per unit did they save by doing this ? Saving money has only taken away from what could have and should have been a perfect 10 out of 10 This gun handles well and feels good , looks great and so it gets a 8.5 but would have been a 10
Rating:
8 out of 10Last edited on Monday, August 13th, 2007 at 5:48 pm PST
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

DARK_KIDO Saturday, July 28th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
1 year2 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Tippman 98 Coustom
Marker Setup: -Remote
-HPA Tank
-Redz 2+1 Pod Pack
Recommended
Upgrades:
-none that I can think of.
Strengths: Barrel is accurate.
Comes pretty much fully loaded if you want an M4/M16 look.
Weaknesses: Body halves not best quality
Review: To start this was my first marker. It realiable, accurate, quiet and easy to field strip.
The BT-4 Assault comes with a...
-14" M16 Barrel
-6 Postion Tactical CAR Stock
-Adjustable M16 Carry Handle.

This marker is tough and will take a major beating and still keep on shooting, however like I said above the quality of the milled body halves are low and the cheap plastic on of the handguards leave something to be desired. The Gun is also quite long at 33" it wieghs a good 10-12 pounds with a 20oz CO2 tank and Fully loaded hopper. The gun is pretty quiet though which is a plus.

The BT-4 Also fixes some of the issues that the 98 Coustom had, like the Trigger Frame is screwed onto the body, the feed neck is easily slide of the weaver rails [which are on the top and bottom of the gun.] There are also no built in sights, so you don't have to worry about some rear sight preventing you from moveing an iron sight all the way back to the end of the gun.

The are a lot less upgrades for the BT-4 than there are the 98 Coustom, some things will fit but others won't. There is no Ricochet Rocket Cock 2 system availble so the guns externals are exposed and paint will get into them. Field Stripping the marker is really easy, just remove the barrel, feed neck, and the iron sight, then unscrew the trigger frame, and 4 more screws and bam your looking at the internals.

This gun is a good woodsball gun, but if your looking for better quality get an A-5 or X7.
Overall 8 out of 10
Conclusion: Its a nice gun but leaves some things to be desired.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

Spyderpaint852 Sunday, July 15th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann A-5
Tippmann 98c
Spyder Xtra(not quite as similar)
Marker Setup: BT-4 Assault, BT Bi-Pod, Gravity Feed Hopper, 20oz. co2, Coiled Remote
Recommended
Upgrades:
Electric hopper/Rip clip
Red Dot Sight
Sling
Remote
Double Trigger
Strengths: Accurate
Mil-Sim
Price
Easy to modify/upgrade
Comes with good upgrades
Weaknesses: Heavy
Review: I'm just gonna explain the strengths and weaknesses here. . .

Accurate:
Out of the box this gun comes with a 15in. barrel that has great accuracy. I put the gun down with the bipod and shot 10 shots as fast as I could and they all landed at 75ft. within a few inches of each other.

Mil-Sim:
If you're even thinking about buying this gun I'm assuming you like the mil-sim look. This gun comes stock with everything other than a mag to make it look like an M-16. BT Paintball makes an X-Chamber mag and dummy mag so you can get on if you want. Basically this gun looks awesome.

Price:
For $250 you get a gun basically the same as a 98c with rails with an M-16 barrel kit, M-16 adjustable sight rail/carry handle, and collapsible stock. Making a 98c into that takes at least $400.

Easy to Modify/Upgrade:
The gun has rails on the top and bottom, and the barrel shroud has holes in it so you can attach more rails or the BT bipod. You can put anything you want on this gun, real stuff or made for paintball. I've seen a couple with flashlights, scopes, red-dot sights(which I recommend), laser sights, and q-loaders. Just to name some stuff.

Comes with good Upgrades:
The barrel you get on this gun is great and a lot better than the BT-4 combat. The stock has 5 locking positions. The sight rail is fully adjustable, although with your mask on you probably can't use it, but you can put a AR-15 style carry handle rail on top. Everything that comes on the gun works and is good quality.

Heavy:
This is the only weakness of the gun. It is made of metal almost entirely so it is kind of heavy, but it's not gonna crack or anything. If you think it's heavy though get a sling and it's fine.

Conclusion: If you want a mil-sim gun or you were previously thinking about getting a tippmann and modifying it get this gun instead. It is very inexpensive for what you get and it works great. I've put a couple cases through it already and have had no problems at all. If you want a speedball gun definetely not your kind of gun but this gun is amazing.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Editor321 Wednesday, June 20th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
1 year2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
98 Custom
A-5
Marker Setup: BT Bipod
Ricochet Apache
Warrior Remote Line
PMI Air
Recommended
Upgrades:
Remote Line w/ Quick Disconnect and On/Off
Strengths: Nice look
Great Trigger Pull
Feels Solid
Weaknesses: Can be heavy or long. Not for Speedball
Review: I bought this because my 98 Custom was an older one and could not adapt the E Grip without a hell of a lot of work. So I decided to move on.

I got the BT-4 for the easy E-Grip upgrade initially. Knowing it was two screws away from being changed out. When I got it out of the box. It was solid and felt heavy in my hands. I'm not a speedball player, so I enjoyed the weight. I also bought the bipod at the same time at a Trade Show for $310 CAD all together.

The BT has a lighter trigger pull than the 98C. It's a lot faster firing out of the box as it requires less finger movement off the trigger for the sear to reset. This was very welcomed as I could get a decent rate of fire without an upgrade.

I had never used a stock on a paintball gun before, but the Car stock was welcomed quite quickly and was very comfortable even with a mask. (Vforce Profiler). The vertical grip also gave it a tight feeling as well. I was able to keep a smaller shape holding the marker than my previously owned marker.

The only thing I didn't like were the handguards. They are made out of a thinner plastic than the real ones and bend a bit when grasped firmly. They are also not as tapered as the real ones. So I swapped these out for the real deal and was very happy with the end result.
Conclusion: Excellent Product! A great step up from a starter marker into something a bit more serious. I'd want this or the new X7.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (8):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media