paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / BT Paintball Design BT-4 Assault / BT Paintball Design BT-4 Assault / BT Paintball Design BT-4 Assault / BT Paintball Design BT-4 Assault

BT Paintball Design BT-4 Assault Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount BT Paintball Design

Buy BT Paintball Design BT-4 Assault

Paintball Low-End Mechanical Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


BT Paintball Design BT-4 Assault
[ View Photos (36) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 72
Average Rating: 9.1 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $300

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
OVERVIEW - Keep opponents in Awe.
With Scenario players in mind the BT-4 Assault is the choice of demanding players who look for military spec features and feel coupled battle tested BT reliability and battle tested durability. If you are looking to put some fear into your tournament opponents turn up with this mean rig.
Product Availability 
The BT Paintball Design BT-4 Assault is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (8):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  Last
        Next Page
Tactic Seal Friday, June 15th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
1 year3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
I have the Tippmann A-5 and it is alright.
Marker Setup: I have the BT-4 assualt and i kept it mostly the same exept i got a response trigger and in september cyclone feeder for it.
Recommended
Upgrades:
Recommended upgrades i say the main thing to get is a response trigger and cyclone feeder.
Strengths: Great abillit to be on the ground or in woods ball.
Weaknesses: It's heavy.
Review: Well i have always loved guns so this looked like a real gun so i got it. If you buy the BT-4 assault you will not regret it. the only thing is the gun is heavy so you'll want to bye a remote line. The stock that comes on the BT-4 assault is also really great. If you like playing woods-ball then get this gun. I say the body has great mobility.
Even though the gun is heavy it is great for tactical people.
Conclusion: I say it is great and anybody can use it.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Great_nothing Tuesday, June 5th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
1 year2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
VM-68: Used it back in the 90's when I was a young skull full of mush teenager. I used it as a rental, and it was a good solid, reliable chunk of metal.

Tippmann custom 98: Tough, dependable marker. I used it at several fields as a rental. I was going to buy it instead before I stumbled upon the BT line

I have also used several Kingman markers, mainly the Spyder line some years ago. I never had a very favourable impression. They tended to jam a lot as I recall. I don't know much about their newer designs.
Marker Setup: My current marker is based on the BT-4 Assault model. Current upgrades: BT-4 Magazine expansion chamber (works well, and makes it look more like an M-4 carbine), remote coil (a 20oz CO2 tank is not light. This helps), Ops Gear carry handle picatinny scope mount (Let's me mount optics high enough to use with a mask.), NcSTAR red-dot sight, Ops Gear M16 / AR15 hand guard picatinny rails (allows me to mount the forward grip under the barrel, where it belongs), JT-Tactical 3 point sling, an aluminum valve/power-tube combo, and an Empire motorized hopper.
Recommended
Upgrades:
Remote coil: It's heavy. Removing the CO2 tank helps big-time.

Sling: See above.

Magazine kit/Magazine expansion chamber: Makes it look more like an M-4 Carbine. Look the part.

Aluminum Valve/powertube combo: Under sustained fire, the CO2 can get cold enough to crack the plastic of the power-tube. Aluminum is made of sterner stuff.

Strengths: Tough, cheap, easy to upgrade.
Weaknesses: It ain't light, and the feed-neck is non-standard, and difficult to offset.
Review: About a year ago I decided to seriously get into paintball. I had been going on and off since the late 90's as a renter, and decided to become an owner. I was looking for something that looked the part, as the neon coloured speedball type markers looked too much like a toy to me. I also did not want to spend too much, and I had the C98 as my initial target.

It was around that time that I stumbled on to the BT line. I was automatically drawn to the assault model, due to it's looks, and favourable price. It was a good match.

The marker is a solid hunk of metal and plastic, with the bulk of it being made of machined aluminum. The few plastic parts are also pretty tough, especially the collapsible stock. Also, the picatinny rails, and AR-15 carrying handle allow you add real-life rifle accessories to it.

My field experience with it has been exceptional. The psychological impact alone of such a fierce looking marker is worth it. Just try showing up dressed in BDU's, toting this marker, and you've already terrified most casual players. The reliability of this marker is high. I've logged 9+ hour games, with many marker hits, and jumps to cover leaving it covered in paint and grime, both inside, and outside, and it functioned without a hitch. The only problem I had was the plastic power-tube cracking after firing a good 200+ paintballs without pause using CO2. But, that rarely happens in most games, and it was after a good year of use, week to week.

On another note, I can count the number of ball breaks I've had on one hand. I've put this thing side-by side with A-5's and X-7's, and I can assure you my paint was breaking on my target, not in my marker.
Conclusion: This marker is about as solid as they come. It comes out of the box accurate, and deadly looking. Ball breaks have been almost non-existent. The marker does weigh a good deal, but the weight is well balanced, and reassuring. It can accept a blinding number of upgrades (Ops Gear is your scenario friend). Last, but certainly not least, it won't break the bank.

The bottom line: Tough, cheap, upgradable. A good buy for any budding scenario/woodsball player.

Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

ConsumingSoCo Thursday, May 31st, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
1 year2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
BT Banshee (basically the same)
Marker Setup: BT 4 assualt with Empire reloader 2, BT sealed bolt system, BT bi-pod, Acog scope, remote line, Pure energy 72ci 3000psi nitro, 3 point sling,
Recommended
Upgrades:
get the nickel power tube, a red dot scope, sealed bolt system
Strengths: Durability , Simple mechanics, Accurate
Weaknesses: Can be a little bit of a bulky gun...
Review: I purchased this gun over a year ago now. it has broke down on me twice, but both break downs were both due to 1 problem, I had a direct connection with a 20oz. CO2 bottle. The cold air managed to crack my power tube and with that leak it caused my front sight to fall off. All very simple repairs.....I then bought the Nickel power tube and rescrewed the sight back on, so I suggest getting an expansion chamber clip from BT or using a remote line if u use CO2.
Conclusion: I believe this is a good marker and well worth the money. You can put this gun through hell and it would still survive
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

adam bowers 2 Thursday, May 10th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
2 years5 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
tippmann a5
Marker Setup: bt-4 assault with rip clip and a e-trigger
Recommended
Upgrades:
halo rip clip, e-trigger
Strengths: Accuracy , distance,and does not break any balls ,and don't for get the looks!
Weaknesses: None at all!
Review: This gun is a great gun you can hit almost every thing that you shoot at .i was worried about buying this gun because most of the reviews on here says that this gun is a gas hog,on the review it said he can get only 350 shoots out of a 12oz. so if you do the math that's like 500-600 balls out of 20 oz. ,that's not good! but i took the chance on it and i have kept track a few times and i can get about 1200 shoots out of my gun (marker) with a 20 oz.,maybe they have made this marker better over the years because mine is great u cant ask for a gun to perform better than this ,looks great, works great ,and best of all makes great shots!
Conclusion: The best gun i have ever owned,and used does not let me down i recommend this gun to any woods ball player if they are looking for a good gun.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Friday, February 29th, 2008 at 10:57 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Benbez20 Wednesday, April 25th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann 98, and A5, Spyder Pilot, and Autococker
Marker Setup: Stock with red dot sight, tatical 3 point sling and Empire reloader two
Recommended
Upgrades:
Gas regulator, Run it on compressed air, E-Trigger
Strengths: -Accurate
-Easy to maintain
-Trigger is fast for a mechanical
-Doesn't chop
-Price
Weaknesses: -Big
-Gas Hog
-Doesn't work good on CO2
Review: -I always wanted a scenario marker, but I always had trouble finding one for the right price, But I had seen the BT 4 in action and was very impressed for the price, so I decided to pick one up and give it a shot. I tried it first on CO2, and I had trouble getting it to the right velocity, but I heard that new out of the box, it tends to do that. But when I put it on HPA compressed air, the performance improved drastically and the accuracy was impressive for a stock barrel. In the field although not as tough as the 98, the BT 4 worked well even when it was dirty, I shot over 1000 rounds and I didn't chop a single ball. I found using the car stock took time getting use to compared to conventional markers that I had used in the past but once your able to figure out were the paintball goes it becomes a great option to have.

Conclusion: -My conclusion is for the price you pay, it is a good bang for your buck, I would recommend you run it on Compressed air only, It seems to work much better
-For $250.00, you can't go wrong
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, April 25th, 2007 at 11:17 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

jonnyDiablo Wednesday, April 18th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
tested A-5 and 98C
Marker Setup: BT-4 assault
apex barrel
Pure energy 20oz co2 tank, 9oz for backup
remote coil
standard hopper
Recommended
Upgrades:
apex barrel, remote, E frame if you want speed, and electric hopper
Strengths: Accurate fast durable good distance and good balance.
Weaknesses: Sight handle wont work with mask on, a bit heavy, flimsy barrel grip.
Review: the marker itself is one of the best guns ive used since i started playing paintball. i started off with a Vexor and its a good marker.. i wanted a more powerful and indimidating marker. it has good balance with everything loaded. weighs about 10 to 11 pounds. to me its not heavy. you will need a sling though because it helps you when you play and when you reload.. also it takes a litte weight off your wrists.
its accuacy is excellent and very percise. with the apex barrel your unstoppable.. no person can touch you.. practice using the apex because it has many styles of ball spinning. Hands down you would beat a guy with a flatline. (i once had a shootout with a 98C w/h a flatline.. it was intense but with the apex you can adjust the spinning of the ball so i easily got him...thats the advantage..). also the marker wont chop balls.. even using cheap paint.. very fast gun indeed!! with the e-frame, e-loader and the apex you're a machine gun sniper!! im serious!!
cleaning it sucks!! dont try to get hit on the marker it will be tough to wipe off the paint and is difficult. So dont get hit!!!
i'm not comparing with speedball guns but i've played against speedball guns and i would whoop them.. not that im good these were 20 something year olds and i have the edge.. if i played in a xball field it wouldnt be right.. its too heavy and big.. you might use it if you take off everything and use the marker itself, but thats not the point.. its a tactical marker so it belongs in the woods.
Conclusion: this gun to me would be the best choice for me.. its powerful fast accurate very cool looking and durable! for its price i think it would be a perfect buy!! compared to many markers its a very excellent marker.. its a hybrid of a 98C and a A-5.. the best of both and comes a high performance marker!!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
3 Comments - Add Comment

happynoob Friday, April 13th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
3 months2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
None, first Woodsball marker.
Marker Setup: BT-4 Assault
Standard Extreme Rage Hopper
20oz Co2
Remote
Spyder Ball Carrier
Mask
Recommended
Upgrades:
REMOTE
Sling
Strengths: Durable
Dependable
Looks Amazing
Range
Accuracy
Weaknesses: Heavy without remote
Can be a bit big when behind cover
Review: Well what can I say, it blew me away the first time I used it! I decided to stick with Woodsball, and so my Spyder Pilot wouldnt cut it. I bought this marker due to the reviews and the ability to customize it. Let me first of say that the first time i used it was for 3 hours out in the pooring rain. It fell in the mud once and was banged against a tree and it still worked like a charm!

After that rainy day I was sold! Lets get this over with. The looks of this thing are mean, Most players dont want to get within 30 feet of this thing because at that range, I can easily pick them off due to the great range and accuracy it has! This is totaly a woodsball gun, not some flimsy speedball gun that if you frop breaks. As mentioned above i put it through its test and the best part about it, when I cleaned it off it looked brand new, not even a scratch!

The gun itself is very comfertable to shoot, and the weight is balanced perfectly....thats if you have a remote. Without the remote it can get a bit heavy and more bulky, but with the remote in feels light and accurate. Iv put 3000 rounds through this gun and I havent chopped one, and remember I use a standard hopper, no electric one for me.

EDIT---- Well, went to play a game with it and it started to leak. It is an internal leak.

Second EDIT----Turns out I was low on CO2 and there wasnt enough pressure to close the valve, havent had any other problems so far!
Conclusion: If you want a great gun for woodsball and scenario play get this gun, it is durable and will last in the most harsh conditions! With the proper upgrade(remote) this gun is perfect and very intiminating!
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Monday, May 28th, 2007 at 7:39 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

RyanS Monday, April 2nd, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Etek ego ( current gun)
Viewloader geneis surge df 2 ( old gun)
Marker Setup: Stock ETek Ego
68/4500 hpa
Halo V35 victory with rip drive
Recommended
Upgrades:
The gun was nice stock, but I know my friend ( the bt was his gun) put a scope,laser,bi pod,new 1913 barrel,e grip, and he bought a apex barrel.
Strengths: Looks
realism
reliable
well built
Weaknesses: Heavy
loud but who cares they'll hear you comeing and get scared
Review: This gun belongs to a buddy of mine paintballa134 ( contact name). I really liked it, I like to play both speed and woodsball. If your a really into milsim or scenario then the bt aassualt is the way to go. I know people talk about how the a-5 is the best but whne it really comes down to it the bt is the same proformance but without I high price ( this is how the prices are where i am). You can get all kinds of ups and acessories for this gun. I beleive some of the A-5 stuff is interchangeable. After my friend got his e grip, I told him can speedball now ( can get 13 bps) just strip your gun down to the bare minium to litghten it. Only thing bad about it is weight. My buddies gun ways 12 pounds he said. But some people could like that becasue it adds the realism that there carrying a real gun. So if your into or looking to up your scenario/woods/milsim game then I would reccomend this gun. Also it doesn't matter what bt product you buy so if you buy the bt assault but want the wood grain stock but don't want the ak 47 style grip then you can just buy the stock all the parts go on each different gun. All the bt stock parts are interchangable 9 correct me if i'm wrong).
Conclusion: This is a great gun perfect for scenario, very indimasating, you can scare peopel off with it's loudness. Just an overall great gun.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

claytopolis Monday, March 19th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
6 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippman 98 Custom
Stingray
Marker Setup: BT-4 Assault with remote line and generic CO2 Tank and butt back. Tactical sling
Recommended
Upgrades:
Definately recommend the remote, as this improves mobility and reduces the overall weight of the marker. Considering buying the BT-4 Magazine expansion chamber for looks.
Strengths: Great Looks, Great Performance, Best Price for the setup
Weaknesses: Fully adjustable sites which are useless, not built for speed ball
Review: I purchased this marker after reading the reviews on this site, and I will have to go with the general consensus that this is a well built, accurate and effective paint ball marker. It shoots as good as it looks, huge intimidation factor and overall feel is great!
I am a woods ball shooter first and for most, and enjoy the whole milsim type game, so this was perfect for me. I am an occasional paintballer who was looking for a quality marker with some attitude. I have found this to be a great mix of performance and style, and suites my needs. I was not overly expensive, and when compared to other low end mechanical markers such as the 98 custom, it was a more economical choice to purchase a marker with these accessories already present (stock, and fore grip).
As for the attachments that come with this marker, the collapsible stock and fore grip are great. However, as mentioned in other reviews, the sight rail on top is more of a decorative feature than anything else. Please note, it is NOT that the hopper or feeding tube interfere with the rear and fore sights on the gun. The problem lies in that you cant put your check to the stock to aim down the sites because of the paintball mask, which keeps your head about 1-1.5" from the stock. It has some great features though: full adjustable windage knobs, and a small and large ghost ring sight. Their just not that useful on the field, and would prefer if it came with the Magazine expansion chamber which comes with the BT SWAT and BANSHEE models.
Some people have reported that this is heavy, but for anyone who has ever held a rifle, assault or other wise, will find this quite light. That is not to say it is not heavier compared to other pb guns. Furthermore, I would highly recommend a remote setup, because of the obvious weight imbalance that arises from having a tank on the back of the marker.
Because of the stock and the larger barrel (diameter wise due to the complete foregrip and forward sights) it does have a larger overall profile, ie you a bigger target!
But, like I said, this is accepted by me for my preference for this style marker, so I cannot ding it for that.
This marker looks great, every time I go out with it I get ooohs and aahhhs, and the occasional, "hey, why doesn't by A-5 look like that? I thought I paid for the extra stock and foregrip?"
This gun is about as accurate as any other marker in this category, and I have found that it groups reliably at 100yrd, and I am confident to hit targets beyond that no problem.
Cleaning is a breeze, and the external velocity regulator is pretty handy, although it is some times a little tough because the Allan wrenches that come with the kit seem a little too big. It also comes with a barrel plug and some spare O rings
One down side is the placement of the sling attachments on the stock and foregrip: they are positioned on the bottom of the gun, so when the marker hangs off your side, it turns upside down..... first time I tried I spent the next 15minutes picking up loose paintballs after the hoper spilled.

As a side note, please be careful taking paintball (and airsoft) markers that model Assault Rifles in public; a group of kids in my town got a BT Banshee and started flashing it around, and the neighbors called the police and well, they were confiscated.
Conclusion: I have recommended this marker to several friends and will continue to buy BT products. It is a great starter gun, and for those looking at custom 98s at similar prices, this I believe is the superior product, and the most kick a$$!
Rating:
8 out of 10Last edited on Monday, March 19th, 2007 at 4:48 pm PST
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

feydakin_guard Sunday, March 11th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
none
Marker Setup: BT-4 Assault w/remote line, JT tactical sling, expansion clip.
PMI Black Maxx Custom ( handle, switch between 16" Smart Parts Linear barrel and 10" VL Brawler barrel ).
Recommended
Upgrades:
Remote and sling for sure. Expansion clip, BT-16 apex barrel, RT or electro trigger kit and halo rip clip if you want it all.
Strengths: Power, durability, looks, accuracy.
Weaknesses: A bit heavy (depending on style of player), slightly inefficient.
Review: I bought my Bt-4 Assault back in the fall because my PMI wasn't giving me the shooting power I needed and the BT-4 delivered that and more. I was really stoked to play with it and had been doing research on mil-sim woodsball guns. Since i play primarily outdoor woodsball games I wanted a goodlooking, durable gun that was fun to play with. So I went with the BT-4. It cost me about $340 canadian.
It is still a blast to play with. It has fairly good accuaracy out of the box with CO2 although playing with compressed air is better. With the air, fps was only varying about +/-5 fps which was pretty good considering with CO2 it was probably fluctuating +/-15/20 fps at the most. It is pretty easy to get into a good firing position with it and it can lay out paint fairly well (for woodsball). I do recommend a sling and remote for mobility reasons. Playing with a tank gives the gun to much unnecessary bulk and its hard to move your hand around the stock quickly with any tank. The sling is good because taking long walks with the gun can make your arm sore after a while.
There are a fair amount of upgrades from bt for this gun. Halo rip clip, E-grip, two styles of expansion chambers, apex barrels, stocks, double triggers. The grip out of the box actually has the cutaways for an RT trigger althought im not sure how to install it. The new models have a barrel adaptor for A-5 threads and CAN mount that style of flatline although you really have to take your time installing it or else you wont have a feed port to put your hopper on!
The barrel is good too. It's pretty durable and the shround wont incidentaly fall apart due to rough use. At 14", it gives a long shot with fairly low spread depending on your range but it is fairly easy to dail in shots when running HPA. The only downfall is if a ball chops ( I have shot over 5000 rounds and chopped maybe 2 or 3, pretty much because i was low on gas) the paint sometimes gets stuck in the venting behind the shroud and really screw your accuracy, so you have to take the shroud off to clean it which can be tricky sometimes.
Only downfalls, my gun hads to be sent away for a new internal valve but i've never heard of any others having problem. I think it was the cold weather and playing with CO2 in the snow ( NOT RECOMMENDED!). If you are playing in snow, run HPA or you might run into my problem. The gun also isn't field strippable. It takes me about 5 minutes to fully disassemble and clean and another 2 for reassambly. But that is about it for the gun. The external parts like the barrel, sight rail, feed neck, and handle all come off quickly and easily.
Lastly, its intimidating to younger kids. I ran up to a bunker with a kid in it and he ran out of the bunker with with his hand up before i even got to it! He said he almost pissed himself.
Conclusion: Good gun, I am still enjoying it and putting new things on it. The positives out weight the negatives. Looks good, handles and feels good, fires well, rarely chops, simple internals, runs great on HPA, fine on CO2 in warmer weather, lots of upgrades for performance and looks. Although you can get some meaner, more realistic mil-sim guns, its a good gun for the price you pay. Instead of doing up an A5 or 98c to look like a M-4 you might as well buy an Assault, you will save tones of money and not be dissapointed.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (8):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media