paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / BT Paintball Design BT-4 Assault / BT Paintball Design BT-4 Assault / BT Paintball Design BT-4 Assault / BT Paintball Design BT-4 Assault

BT Paintball Design BT-4 Assault Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount BT Paintball Design

Buy BT Paintball Design BT-4 Assault

Paintball Low-End Mechanical Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


BT Paintball Design BT-4 Assault
[ View Photos (36) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 72
Average Rating: 9.1 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $300

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
OVERVIEW - Keep opponents in Awe.
With Scenario players in mind the BT-4 Assault is the choice of demanding players who look for military spec features and feel coupled battle tested BT reliability and battle tested durability. If you are looking to put some fear into your tournament opponents turn up with this mean rig.
Product Availability 
The BT Paintball Design BT-4 Assault is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (8):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  Last
        Next Page
slip Saturday, March 10th, 2007
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
3 months3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
tippman custom 98 with assault kit
Marker Setup: bt assault
bi pod
APEX barrel
evolution 3
E-Trigger
Off set rail
remote line
pure energy 45
Recommended
Upgrades:
APEX Barrel (if you didnt buy an iron horse)
E-trigger
Strengths: Disgustingly easy to aim
Reliable
Accurate
Weaknesses: No customizing
Gas hog
Unconventional for speed ball
Review: This is the first gun i bought and for a starter gun its almost perfect, its low maintence and reliable. the first problems arose when i took it for some speed ball i found that when trying to work around bunkers or worse the snake its alittle to big to easily manuver. however when i took it for forest ball i upgraded all that could be, off set the front grip, applied the E-Trigger (six ball ramping, only option available) and got the apex and bipod. for protecting a town or working through trenches this baby gets the job done. The apex allows you to curve balls right into bunkers catching people from the top. the problem is once an assault rifle always an assault rifle. you cant apply scopes, lasers or anything because the rail is too wide for most products the barrel selection is kind of limited as well as it only accepts A-5 threads.
Conclusion: Overall a good starter gun, i would recommend the custom 98 over this however.
Rating:
6 out of 10
I found this review  
6 Comments - Add Comment

mikeynice Wednesday, February 21st, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
3 months2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
spyder SE, tippman 98,
Marker Setup: BT-4 assualt,BT-4 1913 20'' barrel,magazine expansion chamber,tasco pro point sight red/green dot and digital camo wrap.I uploaded a pic of my marker its the one on the couch with the long barrel
Recommended
Upgrades:
I think its great right out of the box,maybe a remote line or a magazine expansion chamber just for looks
Strengths: Accuracy,looks and feel, price is not that bad
Weaknesses: See review
Review: as far as the weeknessses i see a lot of people saying its a gas hog but i have never run out of gas i also dont shoot like a maniac unless iam laying down suppressive fire also it is a little heavy with a tank on it but i use a 12oz tank to cut back on the weight but its suppose to be an assault rifle not a pistol so i would expect a Little weight behind it

the gun feels great whether our not you use the front grip, the hopper is off set on the BT4 so you can still use the sights the BT16 is centered so no sights also it looks great with out any mods done to it. its durable ive drooped it, fell on it ,some one steped on it, its still working great and ive never broken a ball inside it ,never.i use midnight paintballs i know there not the best but like i said i never chopped a ball so i keep using them plus the place that sells them is 5 min away from me.maintenance is easy i just drop some oil in it right before i use it and that's it,velocity is easy to adjust when we play close quarters i turn down my velocity in a sec with no problems, it fires just a fast as you can pull the trigger i believe its rated at 13 bps
Conclusion: its a great gun if you bought a other gun and made it look something like the BT4 you would end up spending 300-450$ easily so for the price(i picked mine up new for 260$) the guns great.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, March 28th, 2007 at 10:52 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Powerhaus Thursday, February 8th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
6 months3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
None
Marker Setup: BT4 Assault: Halo TSA LED Hopper, 3 stage expansion chamber (magazine style),
Freak jr. barrel, BT- ETrigger, and a BSA Red dot scope.
Recommended
Upgrades:
Highly recommend an expansion chamber if you use CO2.
Strengths: "Cool" factor
very reliable
fairly accurate (with the right paint)
Weaknesses: Serious Air Hog.
A little on the heavy side.
Review: So far, I have really enjoyed this marker.

Cool Factor: Like others have said, the first thing you HEAR when you pull it out is, WHOA! And the first thing you SEE is everyone walking toward you to check it out.

Reliability: This is by far one of the most reliable markers I have used. I have only replaced 1 O-Ring the entire time I've used it. Before I purchased the expansion chamber, I had ice coming out the side of the gun (at the cocking lever). This is when I replaced the O-ring (although it didn't appear to be blown) and installed the expansion chamber. Since then I have not had any issues at all with this marker.

I have only had a few ball breaks in the barrel, but one of the nice things about it is that you can slide the feed neck forward and run a squeegee through the barrel without removing it from the gun. All of the breaks I've had have been due to not having a hopper that could keep up with the E-Trigger. The Halo hopper took care of this issue.

Accuracy: The stock barrel is fairly accurate, although I was not getting the accurate range that others were getting, I was getting about 90-100ft consistently, but no where near 150ft. The accuracy may be better on Nitro, but I'm not sure what effect it would really have other than consistency. I've tried 10 different brands and/or types of paintball (Empire, PMI, Marbalizers, etc) and found that the factory barrel performed pretty well with the Empire Ramps. I'm currently using PMS Combat 68's, due to the fact I like the camo design shell and they are a little cheaper than the Empires with similar accuracy. However, I did purchase a Freak Jr. barrel due to not being completely satisfied with the stock barrel. Now the marker is far more accurate (getting 150ft consistently) and I'm actually able to zero in my red dot scope, and may be even better with higher end paint. And the cool part is, the M-16 hand guards will fit on the Freak Jr. Barrel, although you will put a SLIGHT scratch on the barrel where you tighten the set screws, but they will be covered as long as you have the hand-guards on.

Efficiency: This marker uses a lot of Air. Period. I recommend a large air tank, whether you use CO2 or Nitrogen. But the cool factor is worth it to me!
Conclusion: I recommend this marker if you are a woods-ball player. It is fairly heavy, so I definitely recommend a remote coil to take some of the weight off. The best thing about this marker, in my opinion, is it's reliability. Next would be the fact that there are plenty of upgrades available. It has A-5 barrel threads so if you want to upgrade your barrel, you have plenty of options. I believe the internals are more like a Tippy 98, not sure though.
And if your into scenario games, this is the marker for you. I give this marker a 9 only because I was expecting the 150ft accuracy range that everyone was talking about. I will admit, that if I had tried some All-Stars or other $100 a case paint, it may have performed better. At the end of the day though, this is one great marker.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, February 8th, 2007 at 7:56 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

patsfanne24 Thursday, January 18th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann A5 and 98 Custom
Marker Setup: remote line
hpa tank
Recommended
Upgrades:
remote line and hpa tank
Strengths: -Accuracy
-Looks
-Feel
Weaknesses: -Haven't found any
Review: This is an amazing marker. It blows away both the A5 and 98 Custom although it is very similar. Other reviews have said that it is a gas hog and it heavy, it is not heavy for a woodsball gun and it is not any worse on gas then any tippmann model. Remote line is suggested because without it the tank and stock seem to get in the way of your arm. Also, the HPA is much more efficient then the CO2. I would definitely reccomend this marker.. especially to anyone who is looking for a good woodsball gun
Conclusion: Buy this product if you are into woodsball.. it is cheaper then trying to upgrade and is just an all around great gun
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

SupraDoughBoy Tuesday, January 2nd, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
spyder mr3, tippmann a5, rebel 2 btb
Marker Setup: a stock bt assault right outa the box. it comes with a stock, m16 styled barrel, and a foregrip. i use compressed air, and co2 when i dont have any compressed air left. a grav loader and thats it.
Recommended
Upgrades:
well i would suggest getting the reg and expansion chamber that looks like a magazine clip so you can save air. atleast a 9v loader, i will be buying a double trigger because it is a lil heavy on the triiger, a sling would be helpfull and maybe bipods if you play hard. and definately compressed air for the maximum performance it really makes a difference
Strengths: I really think it is very accurate even from long range.
Weaknesses: I honestly don't think there's anything wrong.
Review: A all around excellent gun right out of the box. no need to upgrade unless you really want to. i play scenario and the only thing im going to end up buying is a double trigger and a bi-pod, and the reg to save some more air because it does it a little more air than your average gun. iv used many different scenario guns and this by far is my favorite it surpasses the a5 in performance and price i think. its got everything you want already on it. this gun is perfect for the beginner or seasoned pro.
Conclusion: My conclusion is that this gun so awesome. i am so glad i bought this gun
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

matm1234 Sunday, December 31st, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
6 months4 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippman A5
Marker Setup: BT-4 Assault
Trinity Laser
Foregrip expansion chamber
Standard gravity hopper
Polar ice paintballs
Apex barrel/standard 14in. m16
Recommended
Upgrades:
Apex barrel
Expansion chamber
Laser
Strengths: Accuracy
Distance
Feel
Weaknesses: Gas Hog
Fairly heavy( if your weak)
Bulky
Review: I bought this gun in October of 2006, expecting lots of it because ive used many dif guns but this one takes the cake. With everything stock it performed excellent. Then i started to see all of the dif things you can get for it and i had to have it all. First i got a Trinity Laser Pointer which is cool cause i dont need to use my sites once u dial in the laser. but unfortunatly dialing in the laser is a pain in the butt. It took me a good 45 min to make it right inline with the sites. Then i got the foregrip expansion chamber. It didnt take long to put it all together but when i screwed on the tank it leaked like crazy. It had a major leak inside the gun but w/e. Anyway i bought the apex barrel. At first i was confused about how you make the turns and stuff.( the instructions were crap) All you have to do to make the dif shots is turn the whole apex attachment. Because i have the laser, u can really see how much the barrel can change a shot. When i was shooting at a wall with the up shot, i pointed the barrel towards the ground at an angle and the shot went way high! its all the same with the rest of the shots too.

Conclusion: I think that anyone that buys this gun is in for a treat because it is really a great woods ball gun and is definetly among the greats.

Rating: 9.5 cause notins perfect
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Donster 125 Saturday, December 16th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested11 of 11 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann A-5
Custom 98
Marker Setup: Tippmann A-5, SP 20" Tactical Barrel, Special Ops A5A2 Stock, Shorty Grip, Dagger Vest (Digicam), Marauder II Battle outfit (Digicam), Opsgear UMP gas-through mag, RIchochet R5 hopper, Lapco Offset sight rail, Armson Pro-Dot Max Duty Gunsight, Orange Howitzer Bolt, Vortex Mod,
Recommended
Upgrades:
BT-4 Expansion Chamber
Red dot sights if you want
the BT E-grip for full auto
Strengths: Accurate
Durable
A5 barrel threading
Comes stock with upgrades not found on other markers
Weaknesses: Air effecieny
Cant take a cyclone feed system
98 style tocks
Review: Well ive been paintballing for a while and have owned a 98 with flatline setup, then i moved on to my current a5, and love it. Two of my close friends have this gun. one of them have the BT-4 assault setup, while the other just has the BT-4 standard with E-grip. Another one of my close friends has an A-5 but with a BT-16 barrel (this guns stock barrel). Anway, they have had these guns since we all decided to buy our own markers. However, they dont post any reviews, so its up to me to do it. Please dont get me wrong though, i have experience with this gun as i always see it perform when i go paintballing with my freinds.
______________
STRENGTHS:
______________

Durability: this gun is a definate workhorse! and has durability equal to that of any tippmann. however, remember, this isn't a "REAL" tippmann, the name of this manufacturer stems from the fact that ben tippmann is a nephew of the owner of the regular tippmann. ive seen this gun put through alot and keep shooting. definately scores well in my books!

+2/2
___________________

Accuracy: the barrel that comes with this gun is very well made. not as accurate as say an all american or the tactical (in my opinion) but it is very good, esp. with a good paint/barrel match. in short, you wont be missing much unless you are a shoddy shot to begin with. Furthermore, you dont hafta replace it! thats the way all guns should come stock! The shot grouping is pretty tight. Unfortunately i have not conducted tests wiht this other than some snap shooting with my freinds. The barrel performed well, but not as well as mine :P

+2/2

NOTE: my friend did say that in his backyard he hit a 6" target from about 20-30 feet away and hit it within 3 shots. this however was done without a mask and was made easier with the sights on the gun (which rock BTW)
_______________

Looks: This gun looks like pure awesomeness! yes i did just make that up, but its true. after an AR-15 sight mount that is made specifically for this type of sight rail (the M-16 one) and a mag. x-chamber, you are ready to roll! other stuff can be added on such as rails on the shroud so that you can add bypods and tac lights/lasers

+2/2
_______________

Upgrades: this is the really cool part because the gun comes with a collapseable stock, M16 adjustable sight rail, high-quality barrel with front sight and an M-16 barrel shroud)! to top it all off, the gun comes stock with 7/8" picitanny rails, great for mounting accesories on both top AND bottom!

+4/4

NOTE: I reccomed the BT-4 Egrip as it is extremely fast and easy to use. the only downside is the lack of select fire settings. only full auto and ramping (which doubles as single shot). THe plus to this is that while on ramping/single shot, if you need to lay down alot of paint, you can hit full auto and still be considered field legal. Furthermore, i give this (upgrades) a 4 because its these upgrades that make the marker perform so well (i.e.: accuracy via barrel, stability via stock).
_______________
WEAKNESSES:
_______________

Efficiency: i dont have any numbers for you guys, sorry, but all i can say is that my friend and i concluded that this marker eats air pretty quickly. Perhpas its just a lemon but perhaps not. im NOT saying that he fills up and gets 100 shots, but whenever we all fill up, he always runs out of air first, and we all shoot/play about the same. but its no biggie (we all use 20 oz CO2)

-1

NOTE: To improve this, i recommed getting the BT-4 magazine expansion chamber to improve shot effeciency, consistentcy and to improve you cool factor by 3.5 lol. but really this would help with CO2 and looks totally awesome. only downside is its price. But hey, its paintball, either go big or go home.
_________________

Weight: Now my friend has yet to upgrade his gun, he says after xmas he will get the X-chamber and such but the one thing i keep stressing is a remote, and he has yet to get one. Now unlike the A5, which is made of sum sort of plastic-like metal (i dunno exactly, but i think its pretty light), this gun is all aluminum and metal (i might be wrong on the aluminum part) but it is metal. and thats good for durability, but after a game or two WITH a 20oz it can get really heavy let me tell you. i no cause i hear him complain all the time and then i complain when i hafta hold his gun for him while he ties his shoes and such. but again, no biggie. personally i dont get people who complain about their weight of their guns. mine by all standards is considered heavy (i think) and i dont mind. my attitude is, if you cant carry your gun, go lift some weights! but since weight is always a factor in this kinda stuff i thought i should mention it.

Accessories: This is again a no biggie, but you cant get the cyclone feed system put on this, which is what my freind wanted to do. my advice is just to get a faster hopper.

NOTE: i dont even consider these weaknesses. if its heavy, go build some muscle and if you want to shoot fasst without chopping, get a fast hopper such as a richochet
Conclusion: This is a fantastic marker for people who dont want to spend alot of money on a gun or upgradeing it, as it comes with many quality accessories stock! it is also a great gun for advanced players who DO want to upgrade it as it can be modifyed to become even better! great gun for woodsball and scenario play. I highly recommend it!
_______________

NOTE: i did not compare this to an A5 because these are differen't guns. however, if an A5 had the same add ons as this gun (i.e.: barrel, stock, x-chamber etc), i would say the a5 is better because is is more customizable and has tippmanns history of quality, performance etc etc. however, that is just my opinion.
___________

Hope you all enjoy the review and i hope it was informative enough.
(P.S: i tried to organize it as best as i could)
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, March 25th, 2007 at 7:35 am PST
I found this review  
4 Comments - Add Comment

socal pb_05 Wednesday, December 6th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
1 year1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
tippmann 98 custom
Marker Setup: tippmann 98 custom with response trigger, 14 inch barrel
Recommended
Upgrades:
get a bigger Co2 tank because it uses a lot of air(more than average)
Strengths: Very very accurate

Looks kick ass in reality (not a picture)

Weaknesses: the plastic on the barrel is weak


uses a lot of Co2
Review: i got the marker for my graduation and shot it the same day. it blew me away with its looks and performance. from a long ways away(for those of you who play woodball) it was so accurate. the best thing was it wasnt even broken in yet. I noticed that every time i go out and shoot it i like it better
Conclusion: It is a great marker for ayone who wants to take a step up from their first gun and have great looks for a good price.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Da Mon Sunday, November 26th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Tippman 98
Tipman Custom
Tippman A5
BT-16
M-16/16A1 (yes for real)
Marker Setup: BT 4 Assault
Extreme Rage Hopper
Recommended
Upgrades:
Side mounted daylight scope, zeroized to 200 feet at 300 BPS (vary according to your field's rules).
Electronic Hopper.
possibly the new BTeTrigger (I've heard mixed feedback on this particular item) but I like three shot burst capability.
Strengths: INTIMIDATION, rugged, solid marker. Looks leathal.
Good aim point off shoulder, ACCURATE
Weaknesses: HEAVY!!!!!!!!!! Make sure you use a sling.
Review: I am a former active Marine, and did time in the grunts. Frankly, I could shoot this sucker in my sleep. While more accurately modeled after the M4 rather than the M16, the BT4 is still familiar to any vet. I play with several and we have all gone for BT-16s or BT-4s for our woodsball play.

This sucker is heavy compare to speedball markers and has a lower BPS rate of fire, but EXTREMELY accurate over long distance with the right paint. I have made head shots on opponents where only the top of their head is exposed at over 200 feet. Speedball guys usually can't get close unless a few bum rush me at once.

It is heavy though, and I use a RAP4 quick release sling. It works, but pulls the vest slightly down on one side, I may try the RAP4 ambi-sling to even things out.

Some remarks indicate the BT-4 is a gas hog, I've only run out of air once using a 42CI 3000PSI tank, but I do not throw paint. I am a one shot, one hit player. Any marker will use air if you use the spray and pray method of trying to hit another player.

The BT-4 Assault IS NOT the same at as BT-16, for starters the ball feed on the BT-16 blocks the center line aim point, on the BT-4 the feed is slightly off center. There are some internals that are different too from what I'm told.

Regardless, with a mask on (somewhat like fam firing with a gas mask) I find it is more difficult to get good sight picture. The rear aperture flips to simulate the short and long range iron sites on a real gun. Useless in paintball IMHO.

I think a scope side mounted off the Picattinny rail (with carrying handle removed) will increase first shot accuracy. The carrying handle is useless for me I have big hands.

For a few dollars more you can get a BT4 Apex barrel and essentially have an Ironhorse (sans the picattinny rails on the fore grips and the bi-pod). But the BT-4 is heavy enough, why attach a bunch of c*** like flashlights, lasers, or grenade launchersfor show that you end up carry around?

I got mine on eBay for about $200 (new), so shop around before blowing $250+ on this marker
Conclusion: Definetely an intimidator when you line up with the other walk ons carrying their Spyders, Autocockers, and Angels. Does not shoot fast, but who cares how much paint you are not throwing against trees and bunkers when the one shot that hits the other player is the only one that counts.

Go for the Apex upgrade. Wave bye bye to the speed freaks as they walk off.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

TheMan In Black Tuesday, November 7th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
just the tippman field rentals
Marker Setup: BT 4 Assault 20 oz C02 tank with remote full head mask with thermal lense.
Recommended
Upgrades:
M16 Apex barrel, mine is on order :-) The red dot scope that fits on top of rail sight may be nice too.
Strengths: Intimidating, tough reliable.
Weaknesses: It freezes up easily in 0 to plus 3c but it is a gas hog
Review: This gun does impress/ intimidate people, people keep asking to be on MY team :-)
I bought this marker after reading the reviews on here and have not regretted it, this is a solid marker. I am buying the M16 Apex barrel because I want the extra range. The stock barrel does have better accurace over the base model BT 4 combat but no real range increase.
One guy was shooting at me I was standing NEXT to a shack and he couldn't zero in on me with his rental, where as I was keeping his head down and wouldn't let him out much. So like I said good accurace but it is no better than the 150+ foot range that the BT 4 combat has. The Apex is suposed to have 250 to 300 so I can't wait to get it and further dominate the rental and speed ballers (at distance).
Like I said it is a tough gun I was playing on snow and fell on it barrel first and didn't hurt it at all. (not something I want to do again)
My buddy who is a officer in the military and a platoon commander said it looks and feels very much like the real thing.
Conclusion: Buy this gun if you like bush ball or sim, it's not to bad as a speed ball gun either with the stock collapsed ( at distance and if you are sneaky) just don't run and be a rambo with it :-)
Rating:
8 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, November 7th, 2006 at 3:05 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (8):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media