paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / BT Paintball Design BT-4 Assault / BT Paintball Design BT-4 Assault / BT Paintball Design BT-4 Assault / BT Paintball Design BT-4 Assault

BT Paintball Design BT-4 Assault Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount BT Paintball Design

Buy BT Paintball Design BT-4 Assault

Paintball Low-End Mechanical Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


BT Paintball Design BT-4 Assault
[ View Photos (36) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 72
Average Rating: 9.1 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $300

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
OVERVIEW - Keep opponents in Awe.
With Scenario players in mind the BT-4 Assault is the choice of demanding players who look for military spec features and feel coupled battle tested BT reliability and battle tested durability. If you are looking to put some fear into your tournament opponents turn up with this mean rig.
Product Availability 
The BT Paintball Design BT-4 Assault is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (8):  First  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  8
        Next Page
shadowstalker93 Sunday, October 29th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
tippman custom pro with car stock
Marker Setup: no upgrades
remote
basic hopper
20oz co2
Recommended
Upgrades:
remote
electronic hopper
Strengths: Accurate
Price
Weight
Weaknesses: With basic hopper you must shake every few rounds.
Review: i have not used this gun in a game yet but when i was shooting targets with it it was very accurate. The only real drawback to the gun is that when using a standard hopper you must shake the gun every few shots which gets really annoying by the time you shoot a thousand rounds.Any person wether big or small needs a remote on this gun because it is so big and heavy for a smaller person.
Conclusion: This gun is very sturdy and well balanced.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Event_Horizon Thursday, October 19th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 years32 of 32 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann 98C
Tippmann A-5
Marker Setup: BT-4 Assault w/ Ricochet AK hopper, Mag expansion chamber, BT1913 barrel, Bipod, red dot and laser sights
Recommended
Upgrades:
Remote coil - Gun is heavy enough as it is
Possibly a Bipod if you plan on sniping
And the Mag expansion chamber if you want to look REALLY badass.
Strengths: Accurate
Intimidating
Doesn't chop
Good performance
Extremely reliable and durable
Weaknesses: Big
Heavy
Forward sight (see review)
Some parts seem to rust
Review: Well lets start off with what this gun does best: look good. I play a a private field with a bunch of guys, and they all have Custom 98's with the odd A-5, a few of them recently switched over to X7's which make me stand out a bit less. But when one day I pulled this big guy out of the back of the car, everyone was "ooh"ing and "aahhh"ing over it. They all wanted to know how it shoots, who made it, where its from, how much it was, etc. etc. This gun is not only really badass looking, but also intimidating on the field. I've had newbies surrender at the sight of me coming through the bushes with this thing.

The best way to visualize this gun is as the sum of its parts. There is the main base, housing the internals, along with the barrel, barrel shroud, front sight, the car stock, the rear sight, the front grip, and the feedneck.

The car stock is made of some kind of heavy plastic, and is of high very quality; there aren't any seams or sharp spots, and it functions well. The stock has six positions, but I never use all six. Sometimes I have it fully extended, because I'm a tall guy and that gives me the best stability when shooting. If I need to be on the move, I'll collapse the stock completely. Then I'll use a middle setting for when I'm setting up a stationary position by resting the gun on a log or a branch. It is extremely rugged and I have complete confidence I could butt someone in the face with it and not damage it at all.

The barrel and shroud are a tricky thing to figure out. The barrel itself is a 14" aluminum barrel and is fairly accurate (I'll get to that later) and has an A-5 threading on it. The shroud is made of the same plastic as the stock, and while it seems rickety it's actually pretty sturdy. The front sight is also aluminum. You can take the whole setup off of the barrel too. Just pull back on the spring-loaded ring at the back of the barrel and the two halves of the shroud separate, and the front sight and rear circular thing are held on by two set screws. It should be noted that while the front sight has a sling attachment, the design isn't well thought-out. More on that in a bit.

The rear sight is made of solid aluminum and is really sturdy. The sight is also adjustable for windage and elevation, and there is a little flippy thing you can flip up to make the sight hole smaller - increasing your precision. It attaches to the Picatinny rails on the top of the gun with a couple of thumbscrews. The thing itself is completely solid, you couldn't break it if you tried to.

The front grip attaches to the lower picatinny rail by sliding on from the front, and then you do up the metal screw on the bottom which raises a pin so it is locked in one of the grooves. Though the pin isn't as wide as the grove, so the grip does have a little bit of room to slide back and forth a bit, but not enough to really detract from the gun. The grip is also very sturdy (same plastic as the stock), you probably couldn't break it unless you really wanted to. I find that I use the front grip to hold the gun about half the time, and use the barrel shroud about the other half of the time.

The hopper feedneck is made of the same plastic as before, and slides onto the picatinny rail from the front and click into position, but because its plastic it also has a tiny bit of wiggle room. Its not much when you're at the base, but if you have a big hopper the top of it might move back and forth about a half inch when you bump it into something or open the lid if the lid is tight. Though once again, its not a very big deal.

The pistol grip on the gun is also made of plastic, with a rubber covering to be easy on the fingers. The grip is perfectly sized for my hands, but it might be a bit big for small-handed people. Again, it is made entirely of thick plastic.

The main housing of the gun is made of aluminum. The screws holding it together are stainless steel and I have not had any rust problems on them at all. The gun comes apart very easily. First you remove the grip and trigger assembly in one piece by undoing two screws and then it just slides off. Then there are four larger screws holding the body together, and it should be noted that the lower right one is longer then the other three, so remember to put it back in the right spot. Once the screws are out,t he gun is still rather well held together from the the parts inside, so what I do is I grab the stock and twist it a bit to loosen the two halves of the gun. They then come apart easily, and you're greeted by the exact same internals as you would find in the 98 Custom (minus the crazy trigger assembly found on the 98C). They are exactly identical. There are only two parts that are not the same, and that would be the barrel adapter and the drive spring. The drive spring is about a quarter inch longer then that of a 98C. The powertube is plastic, but has not given me any problems like cracking or anything to that nature. The front bolt is made of plastic s well, but also seems to be well built and doesn't have any problems. The rear bolt is made of steel with an aluminum core. The rod connecting the front and rear bolts is also steel. The drive spring is a real nail driver, I had to cut mine down a bit (more on that later). The stock acts as the back stop for the bolt and drive spring, so you can't take it off unless you have an end cap to take its place. There is another important point here: The barrel adapter is made in such a way that it is possible to put it in upside down. If you do this, then the barrel will screw in and will stop with the sight on the bottom, so make sure you put it in the right way.

And now the fun part: performance. This gun is as reliable as a tippmann, and I try to take good care of my stuff. I keep this gun cleaned and oiled at all times. This marker isn't afraid of gobbling up your CO2 or compressed air, and I had it freeze up once on me when I was playing in sub-zero temperatures using CO2. I fixed the problem by simply cutting the drive spring down by about a quarter inch, and now the gun works great. The stock barrel is pretty accurate, when I'm shooting for accuracy I get a spread of about two feet at a range of about 100 feet. I have only broken paint twice in this gun. Once was when I was using some really, really old and severely misshapen paint, and the other time was when I forced the feedneck off while a paintball was halfway through, breaking it. Both incidents were my fault completely. Well actually, there was an incident where a paintball another guy fired hit my barrel straight on and splattered inside, and all the rest of my shots broke in the barrel, but that's hardly a technical fault. I also had an occasional problem where, when I pulled the trigger, the bolt would slide forward about a quarter inch and get caught on something, forcing me to re-cock it. This only happened once every 2000 shots or so, but I have not been able to find the source of the problem. I've had no other mechanical failures to speak of, save for the front sight incident i will explain later. The marker shoots like a dream.

Now for the problems. As I said, the gun froze up when I was shooting rapidly using CO2 in sub-zero temperatures, and the gun is pretty heavy on gas usage, but I mostly fixed that problem by cutting the drive spring down by about a quarter inch. The gun is also a big, heavy thing. Weak people might have trouble with it because its fairly heavy. small people might have trouble with it because its large. This gun is clearly for woodsball, not speedball. Also, the manual doesn't mention how to disassemble the barrel shroud at all, and that ended up being a big problem for me. When I first got the gun, I read the manual over but it didn't say how the shroud came off. So I looked it over, but I didn't notice the screw holding the front sight on, because its hidden underneath the forward sling attachment. Then later I had taken the gun apart and accidentally put the barrel adapter in upside down, and so when I put the barrel back on, the front sight was on the bottom. I couldn't figure out why, so I tried to twist the front sight off to turn it around. What I managed to do was cause the screw to dig into the barrel, leaving some very deep scratches in the black finish. I only then realized then there was a screw, and later realized my error with the barrel adapter. As a result, the screw doesn't stay in as tight as is should, and once in a while the front sight will simply come loose during a game. I'll be running through the bushes and look down and the sight will be upside down, and i'll touch it and it will slide along the barrel. When Your in the field you're only option is to take the front sight off, and take the circular shout attachment off too, and but them into your pocket. It doesn't affect performance at all, but It kills the look of the gun to take it off permanently. I plan to at one point purchase an almost identical forward sight from ops gear which clamps onto the barrel instead. That will also hopefully cover the scratches.

And now for everything else. I put an agitated hopper onto my BT-4 because I hate to shake the gun around all the time. I also put a remote on the gun because I'm a weakling and I like the tank on my back. The Iron sights on the gun are accurate horizontally, but the ball drops out of its view because of gravity, making them not too useful. Another major problem is that unless you have a very flexible mask you won't be able to even look down the sights, because the stock is in the way. You have to press your cheek up to the stock to see down the sights even when not wearing a mask, and my V-force Armor mask doesn't let me get nearly close enough to actually use them. But if you purchase a seperate red dot sight and mount it onto a AR-15 style carry handle picatinny sight rail, you can use your own sights no problem, but its possible your hopper will get into the way in this case.And also, if you mount the gun on your wall, it looks really, really cool.

BT already has an E-grip available for this gun, as well as a bi-pod for sniping. The gun will accept the same internal upgrades as a 98C as well. And BT also has available an M4 style magazine expansion chamber kit. I don't own it myself (EDIT: I do now!), but if you had that thing instead of the vertical grip, you would have one BADASS looking piece of hardware.

EDIT: Ok, well I just pulled the gun down off of my wall for the summer season, and when I took it all apart to clean it out and lube up the internals, I noticed a few things: The screw in the feedneck that clamps onto your hopper is made of steel and mine has some rust on it... Not alot, but its there. I also noticed some discoloration on the aluminum rear bolt core. There also is some rust in the set screw that holds the forward sight onto the barrel. None of these problems are serious hoverer, but in a few years they might be. Also, I ordered myself a bipod and red dot scope from opsgear yesterday, and I decided I was going to take the forward sling attachment point off of the forward grip... Well it turns out I couldn't. The thing is rock solid. I tried to remove the rod it connects to, but it seems to be all one piece.. so I tried to pry it off with a cheap old knife I had kicking around, and ended up simply bending the knife all to hell. As a last resort, I took a hacksaw to it, and sawed and sawed but all I ended up doing was taking the black finish off (luckily I was smart enough to do it in a spot where you can't see it). Bottom line: the aluminum (is it even aluminum? I'm not sure anymore!) parts are completely rock solid. I wouldn't hesitate to trust my life to the durability of the forward or rear sights... I literally tried to break them and failed. If you plan on modifying these parts in any way, you'll need nothing short of a jackhammer to misshapen those things.

EDIT #2: Alright, well its been two weeks since my last edit. I managed to get the forward sling attachment off. First of all, if you're going to do this, don't try to drill out the pin. I tried this, and my titanium drill bit snapped into three pieces, one of which got jammed in the pin. Then I tried drilling from the other side, and snapped a second drill bit in two, jamming the broken part into the other end. Then I took a hammer and a striker and basically tried to punch out the connecting pin... and bingo! it popped out! So, two drill bits, three headaches, a knife and a hacksaw blade later, I finally got the forward sling attachment off. Now, I can get at the set screw for the forward sight much easier. I can now tighten the screw much better. Unfortunately, all the months of doing it up and undoing it with the sling attachment in place has worn the corners off the one end of my hex wrench. So I have to use the other side. However, I have played 6 games with the forward sling attachment gone and the screw done up nice and tight, and I no longer have any issues with it falling off. As of now, my next purchases will be the M-16 style expansion chamber... Too bad my gun already weighs in at around 12 pounds fully loaded with all my extras and stuff... But hey, I'm building upper body strength, right?

EDIT #3: Well, I've had the gun for two years now. Taking off that forward sling was a life-saver. I haven't had the sight come off since. I also purchased the mag expansion chamber, and it has resolved all the last issues I had with this marker. No longer does it freeze up and the weird bolt problem seems to have solved itself. I also purchased a BT-1913 barrel kit, which is for looks only. I currently have the gun decked out with a laser sight and a flashlight, as well as a red dot sight on an AR-15 carry handle sight rail as well. If I could do it all over again, the only thing I could have done differently is removed the forward sling earlier. Otherwise, I am completely happy with this marker and all the fun it has brought me. It is reliable as can be now. The only tiny problem is the rusting parts mentioned in edit number 1, but its not significant enough to be a problem.

EDIT #4: Three years I've had this gun. As of last summer, about a year ago, my paintball team disbanded. I was considering giving up paintball all together and my BT-4 Assault became an ornament in my bedroom where it looked really badass but was not used. The cable guy, the furnace guy, two electricians and the phone guy all thought it was an actual assault rifle. I hadn't cleaned the gun after the last game, thinking I'd do it at the end of the summer. Well I forgot to completely and the team got back together a year later. So I hauled out the gun and the gear and found myself in the field with a gun that had not been cleaned, still with some paint on it. Had not been oiled in a year. I screwed on a CO2 tank and filled the hopper and away it shot without any initial problems. After the first game it started to act up though, firing twice per trigger pull, or occasionally firing three or four times as if it was running out of air. I found the action of the bolt to be pretty stiff, I think that could be whats giving me issues. Regardless, I've purchased a BT rebuild kit and some new oil so I'll be letting you know how it goes shortly once I've replaced all the O rings and lubed it up like old times. On a side note, don't buy cheap red dot sights. They can't take a direct hit. Mine was hit and it pretty much exploded. My next one won't be from China. ;)
Conclusion: In conclusion, I must say that this gun outperforms the 98C and the A-5. If you were to get an A-5 with the same accessories (stock, sights, etc) it would cost over $150 more. The gun is as reliable as any Tippmann out there. You could never clean it, and never oil it, and leave it in a puddle on the side on the road overnight and pick it up the next day and it will shoot as good as it did before. Its built like a rock and is probably one of the best looking guns out there for the price. I would recommend this gun to anyone who doesn't plan on playing speedball with it. Hell, if you took all the extra stuff off of it and gave it an E-trigger, you could probably make it a pretty good speedball marker. This marker is the best marker I have ever used. Totally worth it.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, May 2nd, 2009 at 9:13 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

southern-spades Monday, October 2nd, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
tippman 98 custom
tippman a-5
Marker Setup: ricochet ak hopper
flashlight on rail mount
apek barrell
Recommended
Upgrades:
none, great outta the box but an apex barrell cant hurt
Strengths: Accurate, Reliable, and Threatning and great to look at
Weaknesses: Havent found one yet!
Review: this gun is a great addition to any team who plays mainly woods ball or milsim, unlike most say its not that bad in speedball.. my amatuer team the southern spades plays predominatly speedball and i rarely get eliminated, but is even more kick ass in woods ball. This gun can destroy guns twice its cost out of the box, i dont think ill ever need another gun.
Conclusion: If you want a reliable, sexy, powerfull, accurate gun out of the box, you cant go wrong with the bt paintball designs bt-4 assault.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Zephyr_99 Tuesday, September 19th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann 98 w/ exp. chamber.
Marker Setup: BT-4 Assault (stock)
ViewLoader Revy 12V w/ X-Board
Crossfire 48/4500 HPA
Recommended
Upgrades:
#1. Barrel kit. (But this goes for any gun.)

#2. A high quality red-dot sight.
Strengths: QUALITY gun for a low price, GREAT looks, Great for woods ball or recball.
Weaknesses: Stock barrel is a little on the loud side, but nothing other than that.
Review: 9/19/06

I decided to buy this paintball gun from reading the reviews from this site.
Well, I am not disappointed!!

To start, the gun is packaged in a foam lined cardboard, Big plus there. The BT-4 Assault is simple, strong, great looking and almost complete if your looking for a woods ball or recball marker that looks almost identical to it's real life counterpart (It's based on the M-4). Look around online for some pics of the M-4 and then look at the BT-4, just about the only thing missing is the clip and with BT's exp. chamber, it would be really scary!

The BT-4 Assault is a little heavier than other paintball markers, but nothing extraordinary. Feels like a real gun to me esp. with the collapsible CAR stock that has six settings. With the stock fully extended, bringing the BT-4 up to your shoulder to fire you forget it's a paintball gun, and really, isn't that what most of us are after? I really dislike having to hold a paintball "gun" almost like I'm about to go boxing, nope, not with this one. It also has built in sling rings already on the gun if the weight were to get to you. Built much like the Tippmann 98 series, but with the complete MIL-SIM look means you don't have to try and piece together the marker the way you really wanted it (and save A LOT of money.)

The stock barrel is alittle loud to be really stealthy, which is why I recommend an after market barrel kit. The Combat barrel that comes with the BT-4 Assault is not bad by any means, decently accurate (really depends on the balls used). I was able to shatter a CD right at 90 feet with not much problem. Other than that I don't know what else there is to say about it, as time goes on I plan to add more to this review.

Remember that thing called Customer Service? Well, it's still around.
BT's Customer Service Dept. has been very prompt, accurate and willing to help to the best of their ability. They really care about you as a customer and have already helped me in many ways; what else can you ask for?

Hope this review has helped you as much as other reviews on the BT-4 has helped me.
Conclusion: Last words are "TWO BIG THUMBS UP".
Seriously, I am rating the BT-4 Assault a 9, because I'm one of those people that think a 10/10 Rating would be a paintball gun that you point and it automatically shot heat seeking paintballs and never failed.

I would definitely recommend this gun as "a buy" if you are looking for a top quality marker well worth the money.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, September 19th, 2006 at 6:48 pm PST
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

Mawds Monday, September 18th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
Less than a month
Similar
Products Used:
Only used basic paintball site Gear.
Marker Setup: BT-4 assault
Remote line
Halo LCD frontman hopper
20oz Co2 tank
Recommended
Upgrades:
Remote line
20oz co2 tank
Sound activated hopper
Strengths: Accurate
Looks Amazing
Intimidation factor
Weaknesses: Expected a little better distance.
Review: Firstly I'm going to start with one of the weaknesses so we can get it out of the way.
So far I have only used this marker on rental days at my local paintball field... which means I have to regulate the velocity of the marker. Therefore I'm hoping that when I attend a walk on I can change the velocity and get more power a further distance from this gun which I'm sure I will.

As for all the strengths... firstly the marker looks great and scares the sh*t out of most people when you pull the beast from your carry case.

The marker has been accurate upto and around 100ft so far although as I said I hope to get more when I change the velocity.
I have read people saying the weight is an issue although I believe this is only true if your where to attach your co2 or air tank directly onto your marker... If you use a remote line and have your tank on your back it's not a problem in the slightest.
I have also read that this marker is a gas hog but once again I had no such problems with a 20oz co2 bottle... lasting me around 500 shots.
Conclusion: Overall this marker is great... It's accuracy does wonders in the field and packs a punch on impact.
I couldn't compare it to many other markers as I haven't used any but so far I've had the advantage over the rest of the payers I've played with... top piece of gear.
So far I can only rate this marker for a 9 as I have yet to witness it's full distance capabilities.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Patrickb Sunday, September 3rd, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Orion viewloader.. ew but still works so meh
Slingshot
Gravity
Hands
Blow gun
Home made paintball gun made with my grandpas old plumbing tools
and that's it
Marker Setup: Vforce profiler mask
Bt-4 Assault
20oz tank
I sometimes switch my iron sight with a laser scope off my airsoft gun
Mag light from my airsoft gun..
and a plain 200rd hopper nothing special
Cheap sling from my airsoft gun
Recommended
Upgrades:
Bipod so you can lay down with it (hard to hold up when laying down)
offset sight rail or low profile mask so you can use the sights
remote line would be nice
Tape the holes halfway along the barrel for better co2 usage and to make it louder :)
Sling so you dont have to put it down to take off your mask at the end of rounds
Strengths: Accurate
Sexy
Intimidating
New people run from it
Hurts taking it in the balls
Weaknesses: No weaknesses
Some people say gas usage but i say 20oz tank

Review: Ok So i bought this gun because i just needed something new to replace my older gun id rather not use anymore

So i bought this at a store for 309$ + plus tax = 349-360 i forget

and well i started shooting a cardboard box with the flaps folded in and it punched through the whole box so i assume it is good.. also it is very accurate and if you want to use it for speedball take off shroud and stock and you should be ok.. but i wouldn't bother because i am more of a woods ball scenario man anyway it is very sturdy and durable and in case you feel like sleeping with it and it falls off the couch or bed it wont break! (don't ask) ok so i went to play rec ball on a 70 acre field and we had a ton of fun but the point is this gun can shoots 100ft no problem the whole time i was there i was in the forts tower shooting oncoming people no problem and i haven't chopped a ball yet
this gun is good if you a new to paintball and don't like having to upgrade your gun because this gun is good out of the box with eye candy too!!!

Update: i just mounted a chrome orion viewloader barrel onto my bt-4.... i was bored but it works :)
Conclusion: So basically this gun owns i cant wait for the response trigger comes out because i know it will
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, September 3rd, 2006 at 5:50 pm PST
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

JonnyB Friday, August 25th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Marker Setup: bt-4 assualt
8 pod holder w/co2 holder
32 % remote
Strengths: Dependable gun / looks the part
Weaknesses: Big and maybe a Little heavy
Review: Great gun. Looks great for woodsball and scenario paintball. Very dependable and have not broken a ball yet. Very intimidating and over all a great gun. I recommend this gun for any woodsballer and scenario player. I love this gun and it is a fun gun to play with. hope anyone who read this gets to try it out. only problem is its a little heavy if your playing for 8 hours straight
Conclusion: Great gun. Love it
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Friday, August 25th, 2006 at 5:39 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Manbir Thursday, August 24th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann 98 Tippmann A5
Marker Setup: Coild remote
Recommended
Upgrades:
Comes loaded no need for accessories other then remote coil.
Strengths: LOOKS!! LOOKS!! LOOKS!!
ACCURACY, DEAD ON!!
Oh DID I SAY LOOKS!!
Weaknesses: kinda Heavy 7 pounds with the tank
gas hog but co2 is free
Review: This Marker is perfect if your looking to play paintball and look good doing it. ''newbies'' will not stop starring and the adults are just jealous. Be ready to get alot of qestions about it. And people will pay to try it out. I have had NO PROBLEMS WITH THIS MARKER at all it is dummie proof it is very easy to clean and it will not let you down. The only thing you would wanna get on this marker is the coiled remote because then gun is not that light and it looks better with a coiled remote.
Conclusion: Buy this gun it will not break down or nuthin you can run it over with your dads Ford and it will still werk. Relibility is like a AK-47
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, August 24th, 2006 at 4:43 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Tomcatoo1 Sunday, August 13th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
6 months3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann 98C
Ariakon Overlord
Marker Setup: BT-4 Assault with Anco Red Dot or Daisy 3X-9X scope with a 32 Degrees remote line on a 20oz CO2 bottle. My hopper is a standard 180 - 200 round gravity fed model. I use a 3pt Tactical sling.
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel - Apex tip ONLY - Nothing else!
M4 Magazine/Expansion Chamber
Remote with 20 oz CO2
Rail mount to rear site/handle for future scopes/sites
Butt Stock is good, may want to go to a 6 position Stock or dogleg
Ricochet or Tippmann Triumph hopper
Sling
Strengths: Cost, accuracy, upgradeability, reliability
Weaknesses: The offset feed tube is not offset enough. Plastic forearm.
Review: Detailed Strengths:
1. Cost - You save over $150.00 when you buy the Assault over the Combat (if you are figuring to upgrade to a M4/16 barrel, Tactical Stock, Rear Iron sight/handle.
2. Removeable tactical foregrip. This can be located anywhere on the lower rail or it can be removed totally.
3. Stock sights work great.
4. Picatinny rail system on top and bottom of marker body for tactical equip mounting
5. Butt Stock is solid.
6. Body/Barrel is of metal construction. Sliding feed makes cleaning in the field or at the bench easy. Uses 98C internals and has a replaceable barrel receiver. Stock one is an A5 thread however, BT has also a Spyder thread receiver available
7. Can use any A5 threaded barrel.
8. Good accuracy up to 200', great accuracy from 150' or less.

The BT-4 Assault, like its brothers, the BT-4 series markers, is a well built as it gets. It is the hybrid of the 98C and A5. It combines all their strengths and removes their weakness. What do you expect from the designer of both the those markers. The internals are not very upgradeable, but with Tippmann quality and reliablity, not much is needed for woodsball/scenario play. Externally you can have a MIL-SIM feast. With rails on the top and bottom of the marker and subsequent rails that can be added to the forearm you can mod it with anything you can imagine. My marker has been dragged, banged into trees, used in rain, and subject to over 10,000 rounds. I still have yet to break a ball in the breach. CO2 usage is normal for me, however a regulator or expansion chamber is recommended.

Accuracy is a plenty. You can hit anything you aim at from 150' or less, but it strength lies in the fact that you can keep your opponents on their heels well over that. I constantly get comments like "You were shooting at me from distances that I could not even attempt to hit you from." (Usually this comes when I return from the field and they were shot out by me) Trigger speed is very acceptable for woodsball, and with a scope it can make a good sniper rifle.

Its weight is not a problem, especially with a sling and a remote. It's still a "long" rifle so it may not be great in close quarters. I used it to play speedball a couple times, while using woodsball tactics on the speedball field confused my opponents, my BT-4 Assault had the edge with the distance/accuracy. From the reaf corner bunker, I took out two players and when all but one was left, he was sticking his foot out of the inflatable he was behind. I stood up around my bunker and took a shot across the field and whap! right in the foot. Still don't like playing speedball though.

Let's face it, it can take a lickin' and keep on tickin'. Accuracy, quality, reliability, upgradeability, and of course lower costs than its counterparts makes this THE best buy for the buck and performance side.
Conclusion: Since the Base marker is the Combat, all versions of the BT-4 familiy perform similarly as well.
This could be the best Tippmann product yet. Ben Tippmann that is.
If you're looking at a solid performing MIL-SIM, that doesn't need to be pampered and is customizable as any marker of its type, look no further.
Buy it you will have no regrets, except why didn't I get this sooner.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

VoAGunslingr Wednesday, August 2nd, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
6 months8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
A5 egrip flatline with opsgear folding pcs stock and adco tac sight
Marker Setup: BT 4 Assault, Egrip, Scepter 'nade launcher, 32 degrees remote, pure energy 88ci 4500, empire reloader 2
Recommended
Upgrades:
BT E grip, lighter spring kit
Strengths: Looks friggin' AWESOME, very well balanced, sturdy, easy to maintain, stock barrel's fairly accurate.
Weaknesses: Air efficiency, have to disassemble the body to remove bolt.
Review: I bought a BT-4 Assault about 6 months ago, and have loved every second of using it. BT paintball design has finally created the perfect gun chassis for all the Milsim Modders out there. This gun is very solidly built, and the internals are like a cross of an A5/98c. Very easy to gut and clean. This gun accepts A5 barrel threads, and you can also flatline it, since the barrel adapter's the same. Also an A5 model scepter launcher straps right on this baby out of the box in about 60 seconds without the instructions. The gun itself is covered in milspec picatinny rails, basically anywhere you can put one, making sight or scope mounting a matter of where, instead of how. The hopper sits into an elbow that slides on a weaver rail so you can quickly access the chamber, even during play, without taking off your hopper, not that I've chopped much paint in it anyway. I think this gun's chopped 4 stingers that were sitting in the sun all day since I've bought it. This gun is highly upgradable, and BT just recently released an E grip. The Egrip is very nice in itself, with a full alluminum body, and an alluminum double trigger that is super light and easy to walk. Modes include 13 bps ramping, semi, and 13 bps full auto. Not as fast as an A5 WAS, but I've found it works way better. Some modifications I recommend are first a BT spring kit. The stock spring is a real naildriver, and I had to crank the velocity screw way in. Also when I put the Egrip on, it would uncock itself occasionally when I was rippin' on it untill I changed the spring. This also reduced the recoil of the marker quite a bit. The barrel is pretty nice, the nicest stock barrel I've ever shot anyway. I still found it slightly lacking, so I replaced it with a 16" J&J ceramic, and the shroud slid right over the barrel, holding in place with 2 set screws. The ceramic barrel tightened up the accuracy quite a bit, and quieted the gun down alot too, due to the fluting. The stock barrel is only ported at the muzzle break, making it one loud mofo. The sight rail and fore sight are actually pretty accurate, but I suggest a flexible mask like a switch fs, or something rubber in the jaw area, so you can get your face in low enough to sight down it. The reloader 2 hopper feeds this marker flawlessly with the e grip, and I find the body style fits very nicely along side the rail system. Overall I say if you want a durable, reliable, affordable, upgradable, and easily maintainable milsim marker, this is your gun. At a retail of $279.00 out the box, you couldn't build anything else half this cool.
Conclusion: this gun rocks for woodsball players who want an easily upgradable M4 carbine style marker, without alot of dough or cheap plastic parts.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (8):  First  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  8
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media