paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / BT Paintball Design BT-4 Assault / BT Paintball Design BT-4 Assault / BT Paintball Design BT-4 Assault / BT Paintball Design BT-4 Assault

BT Paintball Design BT-4 Assault Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount BT Paintball Design

Buy BT Paintball Design BT-4 Assault

Paintball Low-End Mechanical Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


BT Paintball Design BT-4 Assault
[ View Photos (36) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 72
Average Rating: 9.1 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $300

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
OVERVIEW - Keep opponents in Awe.
With Scenario players in mind the BT-4 Assault is the choice of demanding players who look for military spec features and feel coupled battle tested BT reliability and battle tested durability. If you are looking to put some fear into your tournament opponents turn up with this mean rig.
Product Availability 
The BT Paintball Design BT-4 Assault is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (8):  First  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  8
        Next Page
elite pballer Sunday, July 30th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
1 year3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann 98
Marker Setup: -Main-2005 Ben Tippmann BT-4 Assault
Accesories
Black Halo B
Flaslight mounted on barrel
Remote 20 oz Co2
(it comes pretty tricked out already, barrel, stock, etc.)
-Backup- 2003 Tippmann 98
Accesories
14 in. 32 Degrees Terminator Barrel
Ricochet G2K Black
Tapco Folding Stock
12 oz Co2
homemade tommy gun drum magazine :)
Recommended
Upgrades:
power / agitated hopper
sling
remote line
Strengths: Accurate
comes loaded
cheaper then Ariakons ,98's/A-5's same upgrades
intimidating
Weaknesses: minor Gas hog
Heavy
Feed Neck sometimes stops feeding from gravity hopper
Review: I got this gun a little under a year ago. It is pretty accurate with the "stock" barrel. One main problem was the fact that i was using a gravity fed VL 200 hopper, and the balls wern't going all the way through the feed neck into the chamber. i think its because of the angled part of the neck. i got a halo b and it solved that problem quickly. it is minorly heavy, but not too bad. i will soon be getting a M98 Cyclone Feeder (similar to the thing thats on the A-5) and putting that on, i heard it worked. get this gun if you play scenario or woodsball, but if you play speedball or such this isnt the gun for you. speedball players looking for a fast, durable gun that will never let them down in the same style as this, consider the Tippmann A-5.

EDIT
I read up, and found that to mount the 98 Cyclone feed, you must drill a hole in the gun. as i do not have the tools to do this, i am sticking with the Halo. to help with rate of fire, i will be getting the BT4 electro grip frame once i save up enough
Conclusion: woodsball, scenario 'ballers, this is a strong, affordable alterantive to the expensive Ariakons and such

speedballers- keep looking

casual players- consider it if you want realism and durability in a large yet affordable and durable package

i am giving it a 9 becuase its.... awesome
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, August 24th, 2006 at 9:15 am PST
I found this review  
3 Comments - Add Comment

F-3 Tuesday, July 11th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann Model 98 / 98 Custom / Custom Pro
Tippmann Pro-Carbine
Tippmann A-5
Viewloader Orion / Triad
Spyder TL-X / Xtra / Rodeo
Marker Setup: BT-4 Assault
Gravity Feed Hopper
BT Apex Barrel
20oz. CO2
Recommended
Upgrades:
Apex Barrel
Electronic Loader
Remote
Strengths: -Durability
-Reliability
-Upgrades
Weaknesses: -Weight
Review: The BT-4 is very similar to the Tippmann 98 and A-5, but makes several improvements and leaves more opportunities for upgrades. The body is solid milled aluminum with weaver rails integrated on the top and bottom. The foregrip, rail sight, and feedneck are all attached by these weaver rails, which means they can be removed and replaced with different accessories at will. This alone makes the BT-4 a better buy than the 98 Custom, which requires the use of a hacksaw to remove its foregrip. Presumably a different feedneck may eventually come into use, since the existing one can easily be removed - BT's forthcoming answer to the Cyclone, perhaps?

The end cap and stock are the same dimensions as the 98, which means you can use 98 stocks on the BT-4 and vice versa. On the other end, the gun uses A-5 barrel threads, which means you'll never be short on barrel options.

As far as performance goes, the BT-4 is excellent for recreational and scenario play. It's as durable as any paintball marker you can buy today, even moreso than Tippmann models. It's also very reliable. To date I've been absolutely unable to disable it, while Tippmanns of similar usage have started failing (I'm only talking about 3-4 months time here).

The stock on the Assault is a typical adjustable CAR stock. The sight rail looks nice, but doesn't see much use in play thanks to the stock and the player's mask. The 12" Assault barrel is actually very nice for a stock barrel, and the handguard and forward sight can be removed and installed on any 7/8" barrel.

The only serious drawback to the BT-4 is weight. With a solid aluminum receiver, this is the heaviest marker I've ever played with. While this hasn't been a problem for me, I imagine there are players out there who prefer their markers light and nimble.
Conclusion: Highly recommended over existing Tippmann models. If you're looking at any of the 98s, consider the BT-4 instead. Unless you're deadset on getting a Cyclone feeder, the BT-4 is also a better buy than the A-5, especially after a loader upgrade.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
3 Comments - Add Comment

jordysham06 Sunday, June 18th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
6 months6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder Xtra 05,Tippmann 98c,Tippmann A-5
Marker Setup: BT-4 Assault, PMI 68c3000psi Fibre Wrapped, Tippmann A-5 Response Trigger Kit (RT), VL Revolution With X-Board - Tactical Camo
Recommended
Upgrades:
Shoots great out of the box really.
I'd definitely recommend upgrading to air/nitro(HPA) though.
The A-5 Response Trigger would be awesome as well (only if you want better bps)
Strengths: Pretty darn accurate with (HPA)
Very durable
Very high intimidation factor
Accepts lots of upgrades
Weaknesses: Kinda Heavy
Kinda hard to strip and clean
It also kind of a gas hog
Review: Since i love going bush-balling and rec-ball, I decided to buy the BT-4 Assault instead of the Tippmann A-5(although i like that gun too!). These 2 markers would perform pretty similar to each other. Just that the A-5 already comes with a cyclone feed so u don't need an agitated hopper. The BT takes alot of Tippmann upgrades. After i got the A-5 Response Trigger Kit and Revy hopper on my BT-4 Assault, it did wonders for me in the woods. On top of that, since i run Compressed Air now it's pretty consistent. My groupings are pretty good and i can hit targets from pretty far away. If you install an RT on this gun, man does it rip!!!. Just make sure you buy a hopper that can keep up with it and you'll be fine.

Edit

If you are going to install a Response Trigger Kit on this BT-4 Assault. You are going need the Tippmann A-5 RT kit and a Tippmann 98c power tube. My local paintball store told me just exactly what i needed and need to do. Now my gun runs great with the RT.
It's a Juggernaut now lol. It will turn whatever's in front of it a different color LOL!
Conclusion: If you want a decent bush-ball/mil sim/scenario gun, this is the gun for you.
I personally really trust Tippmann and Ben TIppmann for Bush and Rec ball just because they are very durable and reliable.
I'm very happy with this gun.
I find that this gun fires very good at about 275-280fps
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, June 28th, 2006 at 3:55 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Thalin11 Wednesday, May 24th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder SE
Sheridan PGP
Marker Setup: BT-4 Assault stock marker
Picatinny dovetail angle mount
Adco SureShot red dot sight.
Viewloader 12v Rev with X board.
Remote coil with slide check.
88ci 4500psi Crossfire HPA tank.
Rifle sling.
Recommended
Upgrades:
Definitely go with a remote coil setup and a powered loader.
HPA will give you more consistency per shot as well.
Perhaps a lighter main spring.
A sling for when you are walking between fields.
Strengths: Durable
Accuracy.
Nice milsim look.
Dual Picatinny rails that accepts all sorts of accessories.
Weaknesses: Heavy.
Tad heavy on gas consumption.
Worthless stock sights while wearing paintball mask.
Review: I must admit, I bought this gun for looks and feel, but only after I read a few reviews on it. So I decided to take the plunge.
First impressions: First thing I noticed was that once you have a paintball mask on, the sights are worthless. Mind you, most of us "walk" our paint to target, but it is nice to have the gun "sighted" for some more difficult shots. This was quickly fixed by buying a dovetail angle mount that I placed in front of the carry handle sight and then placed an Adco SureShot Red Dot sight on that. Once that was aligned properly, I could hit targets with a good degree of accuracy. The fact that it accepts Picatinny rail accessories is a definite plus. (Putting a sight on top of the carry handle is not practical as the hopper would tend to get in the way.)
Weight: In the field, the gun is heavy, but it is well balanced. An adjustment of the front vertical grip with let you fine tune your "comfort" here. NOTE: You do not want the tank on the gun!
Accuracy: At short ranges, this gun is spot on. In the first game I played, I flanked the opponents and nailed 4 of them rather quickly. It is pretty decent at long balling when paired with a HPA tank (at the time, I was using a CO2 tank)
Ball Breakage: After shooting over 1000 rounds of rather cheap field paint, not one single break or chop.
Gas Usage: A bit heavier use than my Spyder was, but still shot 1000 rounds easily with 1 fill of the 20oz CO2. A lighter main spring should help even that out.
Velocity: Easy to adjust and it didn't spike more than +/- 3 fps on CO2
Clean Up: Sliding feedport makes it easy to get a squeegee down the barrel and clean out anything you would need. (I didn't not need to do this since I didn't have any breaks.
Trigger Pull: Somewhat heavy trigger pull. This can be a plus and a minus, all depending on your preference. An e-trigger is in the works.

Conclusion: Over all, I really enjoy this gun. I plan on playing more with it. I keep my Spyder ready for speedball, but this is definitely my main woodsball gun now. The stock is comfortable and adjustable. The balance is very good. The accuracy is good as well, even with the stock barrel. If you are looking for a nice milsim gun that will accept standard Picatinny accessories, look no further.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

GoodwineSI Monday, May 15th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Nearly every Tippmann semi-automatic.
Marker Setup: Fake mag kit, relocated front grip.
Recommended
Upgrades:
Whatever suits your style of play.
Strengths: Accuracy, durability, intimidating looks. read review.
Weaknesses: Not the most cO2 efficient gun.
Review: This gun is extremely accuarate! I was hitting demolishing targets from well over 150+ft away in the back yard. I organized a company paintball day. so I could get more of my co-workers interested in paintball. The field we played at had Parahnas. I literally had twice the amount of range than they did. They never even got close to me. The gun is about average as far as loudness. I've shot over 2000+ RPS Big Ball (plus 1000 evil balls) through this gun, and NOT ONE has busted or chopped. The gun is easy to maintain and clean. Accepts Tippmann a5 barrels (including flatline), and has the same trigger mechanism. All of the other internals are right out of a 98c. (bolt and all)
Conclusion: Buy this gun. 2 of my co-workers ended up buying BT guns after seeing mine in action at the company paintball outing.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

KevinGrell Sunday, April 23rd, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
6 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann 98's
Marker Setup: BT4 Assault with Tactical sling and laser and I run a remote to CO2.
Recommended
Upgrades:
Magazine expansion chamber which will be out soon.
Strengths: Accuracy ,very solid built gun ,intimidation factor.
Weaknesses: A bit of a gas hog.
Review: Got this awesome beast more than 6 months ago and I have had no problems since. The accuracy of this gun tops other kinds of similar woodsball type guns, both high end and low end that my team-mates use. The players on the opposing teams very seldom get close to me. I have had many instances when I hold off the entire opposing team or take them all out. The intimidation factor of this gun is just too much for some players and they just surrender when they see me coming. This gun is built to take a beating and will not malfunction. You will not have to do much maintaince on it as well. I know that I made the best decision of buying this gun.
Conclusion: I recommend this gun to anybody who is thinking of buying it or thinking of buying anything similar. All I have to tell you is that you won't have any problems with it.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, April 23rd, 2006 at 9:24 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

scottahicks Friday, April 14th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
A-5 98C BT-16 tactical
Marker Setup: BT-4 Assault with BT-16 Apex Barrel, Egg Hopper, 47ci 3000psi
Recommended
Upgrades:
APEX Deffinatly
Strengths: Looks Intimidating, feels comfortable, Works Great!
Weaknesses: Needs E-grip but is suposed to be coming out in May 2006
Review: Ben has a real winner with the BT-4 Assault. I cant wait till BT brings out their E-Grip in May 2006 I run an Egg hopper on mine and it dosent chop at all. Comfortable grips, great stock. I run mine with a remote line and its not heavy at all. I am shure if you have a 20oz co2 tank it would weight it down but with a remote its great. the milling is outstanding. I plan on putting a new QLoader on mine and the e-grip when it comes out and I will be done no other upgrades nessicary
Conclusion: Great marker. well built. Well worth the money.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Ethrealwolf Thursday, April 13th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann 98c
Tippmann A5
Marker Setup: BT-4
BT bipod
Custom Magizene mod (asthetics only, no function)
PE coiled remote line
pure energy 88/3000 HPA tank
VL revvy (9v)

Recommended
Upgrades:
no idea yet- perhaps a new barrel, remote to get the weight of the marker down some.
An agitated hopper- Revvy works great.
Strengths: Looks
Durability
Upgradeablity
Weaknesses: Gas hog
Review: Basicall, I got the marker about three weeks ago, as payment for working on the local feild. free stuff, so is well.

I break it out of the box and it gorgeous- has all the looks of an upgraded 98c out of box, and the added bonus of being newer, so not everyone and their dog has it yet. so I slap an old revvy i had on it, and grab my tank and run some paint trough it out back.

Starting at about 3000 PSI in my tank, i loaded my hopper with stinger paint, the clear shell, yellow fill, oil-based stuff. normally it's used for military training, but hey, whatever.

The accuracy of the marker past 50 feet or so was abysmal- 1 in 5 actually hit what I was aiming at ( a head and upper torso cut out, about life sized). that could have been the paint, though- and in closer than 51+ feet, it was a pleasure to see in action- 4 in 5 hits. I'll test it with higher quality paint when i get the chance.
EDIT- as it would turn out, it was the paint- Using wal-mart big ball i got decent accuracy out of the marker- hitting a small coca-cola bottle at about 60 feet 3 out of five times. The only marker upgrade was a bipod at this point, which I was goofing off with. apparently the marker likes bigball.
FURTHER EDIT- Apparently it was just that batch of paint, I got my hands on some other stinger (feild paint) and it shot fine.

after testing, (i ran about one hopper load through it) i checked my tank- it was sitting at 2k PSI- but i reckon i can fix that problem my grabbing a new drive spring out of a 98c and swapping them. or failing that, cutting down the drive spring of the BT.
EDIT- Apparently, after a little while it gets better on air- starting at 1900 PSI tonight I shot a hopperload and went down to 1k PSI. only a 100PSI use differance, but it's something.

Another problem i had was weight- although, again, that's more my set up than it is the gun. with a full 195+ rnd revvy and a 88/3 tank on that thing it must weight about as much (if not more!) than a loaded M16A2 (and therefore, more than the M4 the BT-4 is designed after) I'll be picking up a remote line for that problem though- I still have plenty of space on my MOLLE gear for a tank.
EDIT- Getting the tank off gun helped the weight alot, although it messed up the balance a little- the marker's pretty nose-heavy now.
FURTHER EDIT- After the initial edit, with teh Remote line to the tank, I've since adressed the balance issue- I've moved the foregrip to right behind the bipod with the use of a dremel and a sight rail that was too long.

other than that, the marker is a dream for it's price. with internals that are pretty much identical to the 98c's, it can accept almost all the 98c/A5 upgrades on the market- excluding the opsgear shrouds and the cyclone feed for the 98's. i'm tempted to put an ACT bolt in the BT, but it's really not necessary- i've never had a chop, at least, not yet.
Conclusion: all told, i love the BT-4, and although i'm not going to pour too much money into it, it'll see it's fair share of upgrades and use. I'd advise it to mil-sim and woodsballers all over, especially for it's price.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, April 27th, 2006 at 5:40 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

marcopolo Sunday, April 9th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder Victor II, Spyder Extra, Tippman 98 custom
Marker Setup: Spyder Victor II, Upgraded 14" PMI Razor barrel. Bolt spring changed to Heavy Spring. The rest is stock
Spydr Extra, 14"PMI Razor, Upgraded bolt sping, 20 oz CO2 with remote.
BT4 Assault, 20 0z CO2 with remote.
Recommended
Upgrades:
Upgrade bolt spring, Remote.
Strengths: Fast , accurate and shoots far.
Weaknesses: internal power tube is plastic. Uses more air than other standard markers.
Review: After reading the many reviews about the marker and comparing it to the A-5, I decided to buy the BT 4 Assault. The A-5 is nice, but would require more upgrades , than the BT4. I like play mil/scenarios and play strictly woods ball,so the design of the marker was also a deciding factor. I was truly impressed with the distance and and accuracy of this marker. We played for 5 hours yesterday and did not break on ball. I was using Scorch paintballs. I was taking out guys that were hiding behind brush. The sights are an added bonus , but to be truly honest, unless you're sniping, they don't really matter. The again, the marker is designed to assault, right. The marker itself is a bit bulky, but one has to understand that when you add the design as a deciding factor. Being ex- military I like it and did not really have a problem with the weight. I will admit, that a 20 oz CO2 tank, will add weight and may be heavy for some. That's where a good remote comes in handy. I added a tactical sling , which I bought at Academy for 5.00 bucks, this also gives your arms a rest during breaks in play. Overall this marker is very impressive, accurate, fast and has great distance. I would recommend this marker for all you mil/ scenario or woods playing folks.

Now for the bad news. After tearing down the marker for cleaning, which is fairly uncomplicated, I notice that the powertube had a crack in it. It did not appear to affect the marker any. I have taken it back to the proshop where I bought it and they are replacing for free, ( one year warranty). I personally dislike plastic internal parts.
Conclusion: Despite the crack on the powertube, which could have been a defect; this marker is very impressive. If I had to decide all over again between the A5- and the BT4 , I would still choose the BT4.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

IronCorps Monday, March 20th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
1 year2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Almost every tippmann gun.
Marker Setup: BT-4 Assault, Eggy II, MEGA RT, remote, 72/3000
Recommended
Upgrades:
Double Trigger.
Strengths: Very well balanced. Inginuity of design.
Weaknesses: Shooting left handed.
Review: This is by far my favorite tippmann yet. The stock barrel is a nice wide-bore, making it a all around great stock barrel. It gets good efficiency for a tippy due to its lack of porting. Simply size up a good ball and it'll be dead-on accurate. A double trigger will effectively add 2-3 bps to your fire rate since you have more muscles, leverage, and touque on the trigger mechinism.

Ben was thinking when he designed this one. The grip is removable and almost identical to the A5 (which he also designed if you didnt know that). It is RT ready after a tiny bit of mod work. My double trigger couldnt have been easier to install.

It gets decent back pressure for you RT users out there.

The foregrip is slidable, as is the feedneck.The rear charging sights are removable, it takes only seconds.

The marker uses Picitinny rails, which i think are a major bonus.
Conclusion: Best stock tippy yet. You'll get alot of 'wows' with this one.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, December 26th, 2006 at 3:44 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (8):  First  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  8
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media