paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / BT Paintball Design BT-4 Assault / BT Paintball Design BT-4 Assault / BT Paintball Design BT-4 Assault / BT Paintball Design BT-4 Assault

BT Paintball Design BT-4 Assault Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount BT Paintball Design

Buy BT Paintball Design BT-4 Assault

Paintball Low-End Mechanical Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


BT Paintball Design BT-4 Assault
[ View Photos (36) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 72
Average Rating: 9.1 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $300

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
OVERVIEW - Keep opponents in Awe.
With Scenario players in mind the BT-4 Assault is the choice of demanding players who look for military spec features and feel coupled battle tested BT reliability and battle tested durability. If you are looking to put some fear into your tournament opponents turn up with this mean rig.
Product Availability 
The BT Paintball Design BT-4 Assault is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (8):  First  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  8
        Next Page
chin0x0 Tuesday, February 28th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
nothin really, jus vl geneisis surge
Marker Setup: -BT4- assalut
-Remote hose
-68cin nitro
-universal bi-pod
-ADCO sure shot scope
-4+1 slam pack
Recommended
Upgrades:
remote hose, pack, sling but i still havent gotten one, n i wana upgrade a trigger to electronic but not a neccesity
Strengths: -powerful
-look
-accuracy
-ablity to use A-5 flatline
-price (got mine for 250 flat)
Weaknesses: - Weight
- Bulky
- Eats co2
Review: I've always wanted a scenario marker, and well i finally found one with not a whole lot of money, its shoots great looks awesome, has a little kick back but hey that's what you ask in a scenario gun right, my problem is that i don't know where to get upgrade parts for it, i hear its just like a tippmann c98 but i also hear other wise, i just want to know if it is upgradable and what can i use, and where to find a electronic trigger, and also what the best hopper for it
Conclusion: buy it if it is under 270, and so far it beats the price of buying a tippmann and customizing it, but i heard BT might go out of buisness from a law-suit from tippmann, not sure bout it just heard of it
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
11 Comments - Add Comment

astraup Monday, February 13th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Marker Setup: Diablo Wrath, Vieloader Evvolution 2, CP 14" barrel CP on/off custom delrin bolt. B.T -4 assault with remote line
Recommended
Upgrades:
remote line
Strengths: Verey accurate, durable with a verey high intimidation factor
Weaknesses: Kinda heavy
Review: I like most players started out in the woods and eventuially moved on to speed ball, and recently decided that i needed to return to my paintball roots. Which meant that i would hace to set my Diablo Wrath aside and buy a fitting marker I was initialy going to get either a 98 custom or an A-5 each equally high rated but also a little pricey for my budget and then i saw the B.T. on the wall and fell in love with it for it's M-16 looks and feel it's just intimidating to look at it was quite enjoyable looking at the expressions on other players faces as i pulled it out of the car and the best part of it all is that it preforms as well as it looks upon opening it up after play that day i realized that the internals where the same as found in the 98 custom thus creating an accurate duarable and dependable marker. The only drawback i found is that it's a little on the heavy side for those of us used to the lighter speedball guns but it doesn't really make that much of a difference when the adrenaline gets pumping. there isn't much to upgrading this marker since it comes already with sights upgraded barrel and a collapsable stock the only accsessory i can think of to make it better is a remote line
Conclusion: A great marker for the weekend warrior and at the price you really can't find a better deal
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
8 Comments - Add Comment

JCarp21 Saturday, February 11th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann 98c
VL Maxis (reg)
Marker Setup: BT4 assault (stock)
Recommended
Upgrades:
Remote, electric hopper, and flatline
Strengths: Accuracy
Power
looks good
durable
Weaknesses: A serious gas hog, and the weight, minor parts problem.
Review: This gun was the third gun i bought and was well worth it. for the price and quality it could not be beat. although it weighs a ton the gun makes up for it. it definitely has a intimidation factor, scared the crap out of some first timers . also the gun is very accurate and fires hard.
Conclusion: if you are going to by a mil. sim/scenario gun this is the gun to buy. it comes fully loaded and cost about $100 dollars less than an A5 with the same setup. if you are going to upgrade anything get a remote and flatline.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

impulseman51086 Thursday, February 9th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Have tried 98's and A-5's, but those guns do not come upgraded. The BT-4 comes with a stock and everything so it takes the time and money away from
Marker Setup: Ben Tippmann BT-4 Assault, 3-way adjustable stock, M-16 style barrel, sight rail, foregrip, remote coil, Evo II hopper
Recommended
Upgrades:
Double Trigger, maybe a new barrel, going to get the new expansion chamber when its available
Strengths: Tactical
Comes loaded up
Intimidating
Accurate
Great on Gas(for me)
Weaknesses: Nothing really, A bit bulky but Im used to it now.



Review: Right out of the box this gun is ready to go. Shoots real smooth and has great range and accuracy. The intimidation factor also helps, especially when I run right towards a person. The only problem is when a ball breaks near the feed tube, the paint can get inside near the bolt. But cleanup is a breeze, easy to maintain.
Conclusion: Great for anyone on a budget looking for a good woodsball gun right out of the box.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

JsymonFGMS Friday, February 3rd, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
spyder compact, spyder imagine
Marker Setup: BT-4 assault stock
Recommended
Upgrades:
remote coil
Strengths: Shoots far, shoots fast
Weaknesses: I chop sometimes
Review: I have playd 4 games with it i have choped at least once every time but i have won every time it is a good gun to use it is very accurate i play small game with 7 or 8 people usally it has been cool every time i playd though
Conclusion: The best gun ever
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

Dark Doberman Wednesday, February 1st, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month131 of 140 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
BT-16 tactical - 6/10 the bt4 assault has several imrovements that make it a
all round better gun - if you have the choice go BT4 assault
I also own/have owned these markers but they are not in the same category as the BT4 as the BT4 assault is a milsim-woodsball marker in my opinion so i will not compare them to it.
tippmann 98c
tippman A5
32 degrees Icon x - and E
smart parts ion
Bonedaddy
Marker Setup: BT4 - Assault
Empire Reloader hopper
Konas Red Dot sight
12oz c02
Tactical sling
Recommended
Upgrades:
Sound activated hopper (like the reloader)
12oz c02 bottle , because the guns not that light ,
or a remote line idealy.
A quick change 12 gram c02 adapter and some powerlets
Strengths: Looks great !
accurate
well built
Weaknesses: Quite heavy
gas hog
Review: Right , lets get started -
Looks - This marker looks HOT , right out the box its beautiful to look at , it scares the hell out of people at the site i play at , and the woods we hold our own matches in. People want to know straight away "what it is ?" - well its designed by Ben tippman - i belive is the son of the Tippman firm that bought you the awsome 98c and a5`s - it uses many of the same parts - but with improvements in places making it a better rounded gun in my opinion , some internal and some external like the weaver 7/8 scope mounts for more secure mounting of sights. They also ask " Does it perform as good as it looks ? " - well i think it does , and i have owned a few markers, now OUT OF THE BOX is how i am comparing them as you can make an A5 or 98 custom look and behave the same with mods and upgrades - but as we are reviewing the markers as brand new out the box to keep it fair and informed reviews. SO .. peformance - This marker does what it should no doubt , it shoots Hard and straight - the accuracy is impressive - anyone will be able to hit a 3 inch target at 50 feet at a good rate - i know cos people are ALWAYS wanting a fire of it , and we have a target section at our site and at 50 feet there is a tennis ball on a string , and i have not seen anyone - even newbs who havent played atall - not hit it at least 5 out of 10 balls - i myself can get 6 inch groups at 80 and 100 feet with only 1 or 2 rogue balls missing completely out of 20.
Now i play mainly Woosball , so 80 - 100 feet is the most distance i am ever going to have a clean shot at someone without branches and stuff in the way , so this peformance at these sorts of ranges is perfect for me , and i have played with this gun around 30 games so far - and i can tell you , i have "gogged" more people with this gun than any gun i have had before , the red dot sight is set at 75 feet and where i play it is the perfect range - you may play at different places , with different surrounding , but like i say - out the box - its accuracy is very good to 100 feet - so tune it to your specs on the sight and power and you will be very pleased with the results - of that i have no doubt.

While i am on the subject of sights - the BT4 by the way comes with a very good set of iron sights , on the barrel - and on the m16 style carry handle , the rear sights on the carry handle are a 2 millimeter ring , that you can flip forwards and it offers up a smaller 1 millimeter ring for precision targeting , these are FULLY ADJUSTABLE both side to side and up and down , using "click" wheels - i only added the red dot cos i already had it , if i didnt - i wouldnt have got it especially , as these iron sights are VERY GOOD ,and VERY sturdy. May i also add that the hopper is off-center -to the right and not in vision.

The fire rate of the marker is pure woodsball , i wouldnt like to think of the trigger mods and other things you would need to do for real speed-ball , i can get about 6 balls per second in bursts at a push , but i am not "finger trained" for speed ball , and certainly not on this trigger as it is very stiff, my friend plays speed , and couldnt get more than i did , he agrees that even a speed-ball player would have difficulty getting double figure bps. But in retrospect , for woodsball - it is perfect , the stiff trigger means it would be hard to accidentaly fire off a round while trying to stalk through foliage.
So - whats left - The built quality is good , metal construction wherever possible , good qualtiy ABS plasic where not , the stock is VERY strong , i belive there are 5 positions of stock length - the barrel shroud is a little flimsy i think , but it is easy to take off if you need to , and i have never had it come apart on me and i fell out of a tree with it 2 days ago and landed face down with the marker beneath me - and incase you were wondering - - i am 6ft 7 and 15 stone, so i wouldnt have liked to be the gun right then - infact i was sure the hopper would have snapped off the gun - its a sliding hopper feed on the BT4 for easy cleaning - but no - not a mark on it - i also tripped up in brambles , and lurched forwards shoving the gun into a tree barrel 1st - again - sounded bad- but not a mark.
Next up is the gas issue = Well theres no dispute from me here - it does seem to use more than its fair share of gas
- If use a 12oz tank - i get around 350 balls from one 12oz - but i snipe with mine - so i dont find it a problem .. anyway after each game i just change my tank - i have
2 - 12oz tanks
1 - 20oz tank
2 - 10oz tanks
1 - 8 0z tank
1 Quick change C02 adapter to use 12gram powerlets
Sounds like alot of tanks - but iv been playing for 10 years and i have just collected them as times gone by - people sell them cheap often - i got the 2 x 12 oz tanks and the 8 oz tank for £10 ($17 U.S) and the quick change adapter and 50 powerlets for around £25 ($40) from maxes sport germany. The 20oz was new , and so were the 10`s , all in all the lot cost me around £70 ($125) over several years - but i find these good investments as you have a world of choice when its playtime :)

So i have plenty of gas to choose from - and different options depending what position i play - i always carry the my Quick change adapter and 5 powerlets in my tac vest for unexpected fire-fights - that way you can drop off your heavy bottle at will - and 2 turns screws in these great , and very light co2 powerlets - i get around 20 - 25 shots from this option but it is great when you want to move fast and take your opposition by suprise - cos if they think youve got the BT4 assault and a 20 oz bottle on - they sure dont expect you to come dashing through the trees and diving into cover , rolling accross the ground - with the stock collapsed - and a 12 gram co2 plugged in - the BT4 is very manouverable indeed - and lighter than an ion with a 20oz bottle in my opinion. It also adds a realism to your play - laying down fire with your first 15 shots of the powerlet - moving up fast laying down a few more cover shots - and unleashing the last few while your in cover , then dropping out the empty powerlet and swapping it (only takes about 10 seconds) - ready to go again :) :) - makes you use your team members more - communicate more and make use of your shots better :) !

If im playing sniper - i go with the 12oz - lasts me 2 - 3 games on a heavy use day - 5 - 6 on a light day when its quiet or easy targets :)


If im playing up front i use the 8 or 10 oz and my quick changeadapter -as described previously.

If im on flag guard i use the biggest tank i can find and set up defence - trust me me my mates got the BT16 assault - and with both of us on flag defence with big co2 tanks NO-BODY has got near the flag yet :) and belive me when i say this - the people on the other team DO NOT want to get tagged by that pair - they fight over who has to run in cos they know how accurate and powerful these things are - they tell me so every-time :)
and i have seen 1st hand the results of a double ambush from the BT4 asslt and the BT16 asslt at 30 feet - the welts and bruises on the guy who got tagged were savage. even through his padded jacket and jumper :) one shot knocked his baseball cap clean off his head :) :)

For mid-field i use whatever i feel is best on the day - from how many players on the teams etc - usually i take a 12oz and a 8oz in my tac vest as a spare .With a 12oz tank on i find the markers weight managable and a usefull tool in most situatutions and the best all round - wieght / balls option - but if nothing else get another 8 , 10 or 12oz tank as a spare - and i cant recommend these quick change 12gram co2 powerlet adapters enought - and thats for any paintball marker- they are great ! :)


Well - i have been as honest as i can be about the BT4 - Assault - the rest is up to you , i will add and problems i have to this post - as - and if - they arise.
My post may be long , but i have found this site so usefull to me in the past that i thought i would give a little back - I live in the UK and people seem too lazy to bother posting reviews about paintball gear here - keep it up everyone - great job !!
Conclusion: In conclusion - If you are looking at buying this marker - and you have got this far - then im quite sure your not a speed-ball player anyway - but if you are - This is not for you.
If however - you play Rec/Woodsball - or mil-sim games - i can not reccomend this gun enough - It looks the part - Its intimidating -It performs very well - its well built - and most of all ITS FUN !! - - at the end of the day thats what is all about :)
So for you Rating monkeys out there this is what i give it -
9/10 for rec/woodsball and mil/sim
I give it this rating because as i said before - im sure you can upgrade other guns to look and perform as well or maybe even better - but this comes like it in the box.. and as ready to use - military style markers go - this is VERY VERY good - i rate it a 9 because im sure there are $350 - $800 mil/sim and tactical markers that look even more like the real thing - and MAYBE and i say only maybe , perform better - but for the money the BT-4 assault costs i dont think you will get a better gun of this style.

AND I AM NOT EVEN GOING TO RATE IT FOR SPEED-BALL :)

Good luck finding your next marker people - and above all HAVE FUN !!

OVER AND MOST DEFINATLY OUT !!
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, February 2nd, 2006 at 4:40 am PST
I found this review  
8 Comments - Add Comment

Johnnybobdodd Thursday, January 26th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Inferno MK1 & MK2, Tippmann 98.
The Infernos' that I used were no match to the BT-4 Assault. The Tippmann 98 is a very good marker, however lacks that edge of realism that i look for in a marker.
Marker Setup: BT-4 assault, Remote line, Extreme rage 200 shot gravity fed hopper, 20oz CO2 tank & BT barrel bipod.
Recommended
Upgrades:
Remote Line and the bipod
Strengths: Real life looks/milsim
Good Feel
Accuracy
offset hopper
Weaknesses: Gas usage
heavy
Review: Although this marker uses a lot of gas i still enjoy using it, after all at all the sites i go to the gas is free. I would strongly recommend the remote line as i found that if you have your hand on the trigger, the stock fully extended and a 20oz tank it is impossible to move your arm to the other side of the gun without removing your hand from the trigger to shoot arround corners.
The marker itself looks very sleek and will be sure to get a few comments like "where on earth did you get that" and "Holy...." especially with the bipod.
I have had a few ball breaks in this marker but put this down to the hopper not feeding fast enough.
This marker is the most accurate marker i have played with.
With 13bps being more than enough to have a great time with i dont think there is much problem with its slower rate of fire.
As this marker is based both upon the Tippmann 98 & A5 there are plenty of upgrades available and the reputation of being very reliable.
Conclusion: Overall a very good reasonably priced milsim marker. The offset hopper feed is a vast improvement from the BT-16. I would strongly recommend this to anyone looking for a milsim marker or to play scenario or rec-ball
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, January 26th, 2006 at 10:10 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

soldiergone2war Sunday, January 8th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
6 months3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann 98 Custom
Tippmann A-5
Marker Setup: Bt-4 w/ metal power tube and red dot scope.
I have plenty of other guns to.
Recommended
Upgrades:
Remote Coil
Metal 98 Dead ON Power Tube
Strengths: Accuracy, Powerful gun, good range, Realistic, Uses 98 custom parts and a-5 barrel threads.
Weaknesses: Not a good speedball gun but i use it in speedball.
Gas hog.
Review: I was going to get the BT-16 and I am very happy i didnt. The Bt-4 is a very reliable gun and uses Tippmann 98 Custom internal organs. I love the gun, you can do alot to it, it is stirdy and have very strong parts. Sean Segal likes pizza. I us it for the team and it works fine exept for one time, the power tube cracked like on a 98 and i hade to buy a metal one. It is a lovable gun. It is the same thing as a 98 custom with a few extra's but if you bought the 98 and then bought the extra parts, you could have saved 150 dollars by buying this gun.
Conclusion: I recommend this gun to people who love woodsball and rec. You will love it. All you really need is a remote coil but it doesnt really matter. The gun is Awsome.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, January 8th, 2006 at 11:26 am PST
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

manning03 Wednesday, January 4th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
6 months5 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
tippmann 98
Marker Setup: tippmann 98 custom w/ j&j 12'' ceramic barrel
bt-4 assault w/ tippmann a-5 flatline barrel
Recommended
Upgrades:
new drive spring
coiled remote
Strengths: Looks good.
Internals same as 98 custom.
Pretty accurate.
Accepts a-5 flatline.
Weaknesses: Not a cold weather gun.
Gas hog?
Review: the bt-4 assault looks and feels good in the woods. its well made. the insides are identical to my 98 custom in-line hammer, valve, and bolt. the assault barrel was impressive with its accuracy. it has the barrel adapter like the a-5. you can buy different adapters that will accept other gun's barrel threads, including the flat line. I have the flatline barrel on my assault right now and i love it. one advantage of this gun compared to an a-5 ia if you break a ball, you slide the hopper back and run a squeegie through it. but there has been a couple of times i had to shake the gun to get balls to feed so whatever you like i guess. i took the stock off the assault and the sight rail and put them on my 98 custom.

On the down side this gun uses a lot of co2. When I got it i could only shoot about 300 balls on a 12 oz tank. when its cold outside tis gun was using so much gas it was making the tank freeze faster than i had ever seen a gun do. i think it was 44 degrees that day. i was shooting one ball every 4 or 5 seconds at a target. I think i have fixed that problem though. i took both my guns apart side by side( the 98 and the assault). I noticed that the drive spring on the assault was a 1/4'' longer than the spring on the 98. So i cut off a 1/4'' of the spring. the next time i played it did perfect.
Conclusion: This is a good gun if you fix the gas hog problem but, I would recommend you go ahead and buy a tippmann 98 or a-5 and just mod it yourself. If i could do it again that's what I would have done. That's why i have the 98. I bought it after I bought the assault and not for a backup.
Rating:
7 out of 10
I found this review  
4 Comments - Add Comment

dillonwilkes Sunday, December 4th, 2005
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
3 months23 of 26 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Sniper Tippmann 98 Up-Grade, Sniper Tippmann A-5 Up-Grade, Longbow Sniper Rifle.
Marker Setup: On the BT-4 Assault, I used a remote coil and a Deadbox Scope
Recommended
Upgrades:
For snipers remote coil AND the Deadbox Scope, and for other players only the remote coil.
Strengths: Very, very, very accurate.
Intimidation.
Fast.
Hard hitter.
Weaknesses: Hogs C02
Can be heavy without remote coil.
Review: I know what I am talking about because I am a sniper on the Parker Arsenal Scenario Team. The BT-4 Assault is a perfect gun for either a sniper or a front-man. Not being as long as other sniper rifles, you can expose less of yourself and move around easier, has a side feed, so the sight rail actually works, and can stay accurate for 150 yards+. For front-men, it is compact, so you can move easier, and can deliver a punch faster then the enemies' guns. Also, it has many up-grades and accessories. And for the price it is at, why not get it?
Conclusion: I recommend this gun for any position in scenario. Wither your just a rec-ball player or a professional competitor, this gun works like a dream.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, December 4th, 2005 at 7:45 am PST
I found this review  
10 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (8):  First  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  8
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media