paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / OPSGEAR Raider G36 Folding Stock / OPSGEAR Raider G36 Folding Stock / OPSGEAR Raider G36 Folding Stock / OPSGEAR Raider G36 Folding Stock / OPSGEAR Raider G36 Folding Stock

OPSGEAR Raider G36 Folding Stock Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount OPSGEAR

Buy OPSGEAR Raider G36 Folding Stock

Paintball A-5 Stocks

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


OPSGEAR Raider G36 Folding Stock
[ View Photos (7) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 20
Average Rating: 8.9 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $70

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
RAIDER G36 Folding Stock - A5

Introducing the first G36 folding stock designed from the ground up to fit and enhance the function of the Tippmann A5.

FEATURES:

* The fold is a full 180°
* Stock lays flat against the body of the marker
* Easy fold and store for transport
* Fold for CQB engagements
* The stock will not interfere with the shooter’s hand while folded
* Made of RAIDER™ quality materials
Product Availability 
The OPSGEAR Raider G36 Folding Stock is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (2):  1  |  2
                            
samurai2828 Friday, January 5th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Co2 Butstock (lol)
Marker Setup: Tippmann A-5
16" OPSGEAR Tactical Barrel
6' OPSGEAR SR6 Shroud
OPSGEAR G36 Folding Stock
SIG MAG Kit
OPSGEAR Remote Coil with Slide Check Valve
Tippmann A5 Double Trigger
Universal Bipod with Quick Release
Palmers Female Stabalizer Kit
OPSGEAR Red-Dot Scope
E-grip WAS Board
Lapco Offset Sight Rail
Palmer High Flow QEV
OPSGEAR MP Supressor Kit
~~~~~~~~~~
Tiberius 8 Tactical Pistol
Extra clip
Strengths: Strength
Look
Durability
Feel
Operation
Installation
Weaknesses: None
Review: Basically prefference is everything! You like the look, or you dont, but you need not worry about anything else. An amazing stock. Strong, and I mean strong. Oh, did I mention the look of it on the marker? Oh yes, prefference. Lol, when considering all aspects of paintball, this stock performs perfectly, intimidates people, and simply looks amazing on the A5.
Conclusion: Compared to most stocks, this one is cheap in price, so if you like the look, get it!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Kevin M. Tuesday, December 12th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
None
Marker Setup: Tippmann A-5
Flatline
All American Barrel Back with 10'' Red Freak Front
Vortex Mod
A-5 QEV
Howitzer Bolt
E-Grip
APE Rampage Board
Opsgear Folding Stock
Ricochet Hopper
Oxygen & Co2 Tanks

Strengths: See review
Weaknesses: See review
Review: Works great, makes the stock good and solid, allows the marker to be brought up to a firing position very quickly, makes it easier to aim, and it makes the marker look overall cooler. also it is folding so for close quarters combat you can shorten your marker significantly. Overall this is an awsome stock BUY IT!
Conclusion: The best stock you can get for your money
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

kek Wednesday, August 30th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Universal Gas-thru stock - way worse, but does allow you to use sights
Tapco T6 - has wobble, but has the advantage of being collapsible
Marker Setup: Tippmann A5
E-Grip
14" SP Progressive
G36 Folding Stock
BT Double Finger Trigger
Ricochet R5
Remote
68/3000 HP
Strengths: - Folds
- Sturdy
- Light
- Looks
- Compact
- Price
Weaknesses: - Interference with mask
- Not for lefties
- No sling attachment-part
- Though installation
Review: Well, this has been my third stock since I bought my A5 only a couple months ago. Since it is Opsgear, you can be sure about the good quality of the product, lightweight but still very sturdy...

The thing you'll notice when you first see it is that it is rather short. Well, since it should be in order to be able to fold next to your cyclone, so that shouldn't be that much of a problem.

It is a pretty solid stock, no wobble like the Tapco. It does however have some space in the folded position, but this shouldn't be an issue since it doesn't even need to be sturdy at that point.

The only big weakness of this stock to me is that it doesn't allow you to use any sights without any (offset)adapters. Not that I used my stock sights very often, but there still occur moments when you'd wish you would be able to quickly use your stock sights

Update: this stock has broken two of the pushpins in the back of the marker. A pretty nasty thing, considering there's no PB-store anywhere near...

Conclusion: Very good stock, sturdy but still lightweight. Great to be able to simpy fold it away for CQB.
A 9.75 since you can't really use the sights, but due to breaking the pushpins it's a 9
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, October 26th, 2006 at 11:41 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Schatten529 Friday, June 9th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
JCS Voodoo stock (folding)w/ RVA
Stocks similar to those that are on any hunting rifle
Marker Setup: Tippmann A 5
- JCS Red Hot Power Tube
- Madd Mann Spring Kit
Tippmann E Grip
- JCS Duel Trigger
Tippmann Flatline Barrel or J&J Ceramic Barrel (14 inch)
Core Remote Line connected to PMI 68ci 3000psi HPA
Strengths: Fits like a glove.
Light weight yet durable.
Solid shooting platform.
Great stock for price.
Weaknesses: No sling mount
Cleanup recommended before installation.
Tougher to install without clean up first.
Review: As a serious scenario and woodsball pIayer I have seen a lot of stocks in used within our team. This is the best one I've seen of it's kind. As a flexible player on our team I find myself in CQB (close quarter battle) to longer distances as well as in open field and tight quarters. This review would also work for other Opsgear Raider folding stocks.

- Performance -

This stock allows me to fold it in when I have little room to maneuver or leave it out for a solid shooting platform for every other situation. This stock has a latch system for folding it in and cams over to keep it from unfolding. To fold the stock in you need to lift the stock up a little to release the latch before if can be folded up. Unfolding is much easier because the stock cams over and stays in place. (Things are stiff right now because it's still new, but they should loosen up as time goes on. I hope the cam system doesn't wear too fast and cause the stock to unfold unexpectedly).

The stock also sits pretty flat to the marker and doesn't stick out nearly as far as the cyclone feeder. You won't be catching in on any walls, trees, etc. Also while folded the stock won't interfere much with your grip or shooting. I have big hands and don't have much problem shooting. If you like "walking" a double trigger and you have big hands it could be annoying at first. My E-Grip in any mode other than single fire doesn't give me much need to "walk" my trigger very often.

The last highlight is that the stock is extremely light and durable. Compared to my old stock I don't even know this one is there. As far as durability is concerned check out Opsgear's website and watch the video of the guy doing pull ups on the thing while installed on the gun. My only concern for damage is the latch system breaking while trying to fold it in. Both teeth are plastic and somewhat thin. I may file mine down to reduce the risk, but I'll have to make sure it doesn't change how well the stock stays locked or stays solid in the unfolded position.

The stock doesn't have a sling mount. It doesn't bother me too much because I replaced my upper rear strip pin with one that has a hinged bail used to connect to a strap on my Tac-Vest, but they could have put something above the pivot point to help everyone without vests.

- Installation -

You can probably slap this puppy right in, but it is much easier to do a little prep work first. There are little plastic shavings that are left over from drilling the rear strip pin holes and raised plastic seams when they casted the plastic from molds. I took my Leatherman and shaved off the seams and scraped the holes out. If you try to install it before removing the raised seam you will likely see your marker start to scrape it off for you and by the time you push it all the way in the build up will accumulate at the back and won't allow you push the stock in enough to get the pins in. I also chamfered the strip pin holes on the side where I push them in from to make it easier to start them...but that's up to you.
Conclusion: Ask yourself a couple questions:
Does your play style put you in close quarters or tight places?
Do you want the flexibility to play up close and personal or drop paint from afar in a matter of seconds?

If you answered yes to either or both questions then you probably want this stock.

The stock is well built, sturdy, lightweight, durable, looks good, and adds a lot of flexibility. I would highly recommend this stock to all play styles but only recommend it for those who only hang in the open field and are never in close engagements, but I use it for that too. Not the cheapest stock out there, but definitely priced competitively and worth every penny. I scoured the Internet for the best price and surprisingly found it the cheapest at Opsgear.com (join the opszone forum for 10% off orders).
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

bobaboy007 Tuesday, May 30th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
3-point car stock, co2 in my armpit
Marker Setup: Tippmann a-5, opsgear G36c folding stock.
Strengths: STRONG!!! Smooth unfolding action, good locking mechanism, solid, good looking
Weaknesses: Tough install, very tough field strip, can't get mask under
Review: When I pulled it out of the packaging, the first thing I noticed was that it was TOUGH. I honestly would be more worried about my a-5 breaking than this thing. after installation (which was tough, see below), there was also NO wiggle room. the unfolding action is very smooth, once you get used to it. the folding action is alittle bit tougher, cuz of the lock, but thats how it should be (less chance of it folding on accident).

Weaknesses: Installation. If you follow what opsgear says on the website, you should be fine, but its still a tough install. you have to loosen the screws alittle to get it in (hence no wiggle room), then tighten them again. at one point, I had to use a hammer to get the bottem field strip pin in (I prolly could have done it w/o tools but I'm lazy like that). I have no idea how I'm gonna field strip it, but If I use the hammer to get the pins out I should be fine. also, you cannot get your mask behind the gun when its unfolded w/o completly cocking your head in an almost 90 degree angle. however, since it folds, this isn't a big deal because... with it unfolded, you get some sweet shotgun-aiming action- by that I mean instead of aiming w/ the sights (rifle-style), you aim with your front hand, and that is really cool. It gives a very stable shooting platform, and I think my spot-shooting is going to be sweeter than ever!
Conclusion: 9.5, on account of the field strip and mask issues. Putting it down as a ten on account of sweet shotgun style aiming w/ the shooting platform.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, July 27th, 2006 at 6:43 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Swordsman_87 Wednesday, April 5th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
I haven't used anything like this before.
Marker Setup: Tippmann A-5
Opsgear G36C Rail Kit
Opsgear G36C Mag Kit
Opsgear G36C Folding Stock
Opsgear 14" Interceptor Barrel
Opsgear Tac Cap
Strengths: STURDY!!
Unbreakable (unless you ABSOLUTELY try to)
Folds for CQB
Very Light
Weaknesses: Tough to fold at first
Review: This is an incredible piece of equipment to own if you are going for the Heckler and Koch G36 look, or if you just want to jazz up your standard TIppy A-5.

STRENGTHS

Sturdy - This stock is very sturdy in both the normal and the CQB configuration. Some of the other reviews of this product claims that the stock very barely wobbles, but I have yet to notice this. It's not going anywhere in either position!

Unbreakable - This stock is made from somer kind of hard polyurethane polymer (I think). When the website says, "You can drive a truck over it and not break it!" they were right! Unless you used a jackhammer or a superheated blowtorch, you WILL NOT break this stock!

Folds for CQB - Ever been bunkered by heavy fire at your local park? Of course you have! Who hasn't? Well instead of having to put your entire long gun around the corner to get a good shot, you can fold this stock up! You can work corners and peak around edges by turning your full sized assualt rifle into a small SMG configuration! It takes off around 10" and allows you to keep the gun in nice and snug to carefully probe your surroundings. It also has a notch taken out of the stock so that it will fold up against the manual cycling device on the side of the gun. This only folds on the right side, sorry lefties!

Wieght - Because of this polyurethane material it's made from, it has almost no wieght to it! You won't even know it's there!

WEAKNESSES

Tough to fold at first - My only real complaint with this is the fact that when you first get it, it's a little harder to fold than the video on the website leads you to believe. You REALLY have to muscle it into folding position for the first few times you use it. I would suggest just watching TV one night and just folding and re-folding the stock to break it in. Once you do break it in, it should be quite smooth!

**Update**
I had to find something out the hard way. When you fold this stock from full to CQB, YOU HAVE TO LIFT UP ON IT in order to clear the locking mechanism!!! Because no instructions were given on the website or the package itself, I assumed you just forced it into position and that it was natural for it to be excessively hard to do at first. Well the hard plastic broke locking tab broke because I thought I knew what I was doing. Apparently not. This is NOT an Opsgear flaw in design, this is my own stupid being! So do not let this discourage you from buying this stock. And for the record, Opsgear was very helpful and understanding when I explained my problem, so they are having it fixed for me right now.

Conclusion: This is seriously an incredible piece of equipment and gets my full respect! I've only tested it a few times, but from what I can tell and from the quality of other Opsgear products, this is a piece worth buying! You get alot of stares, oohs, whoas, God D*&@s and a few other sayings when you tote this onto the field, especially if you have the rest of the G36 setup! Highly Recommended!
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, April 6th, 2006 at 11:09 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

NOXQCS Sunday, April 2nd, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
JCS Folding Stock
BT 6 Position Car Stock
Rage Butt Plate (No comparison really)
Marker Setup: Smart Parts Ion
Trinity QEV
Trinity Roller Bearing Trigger
J&J Edge Elite Barrel Kit (12" 14" &16")
PMI 48ci. 3000 PSI
PMI 72ci. 3000 PSI
Empire Reloader B
Kila Magnetic Detents
Tippmann A5
Tippman A5 R/T
Tippmann A5 Flatline
Opsgear G36 Folding Stock
Special Ops Stovepipe Hopper Offset
JCS 3" Weaver Rail
NCStar 30mm Red Dot Scope
Catalina 20 oz. CO2 x 2
Strengths: Sturdy
No wobble in open
Quality
Ease of use
Weaknesses: R/T Valve gets hit
Review: This is by far the best stock I have ever used...
It is a whole lot sturdier than say the JCS folding stock or even the BT Car Stock...
The lack of a well in the side for the R/T valve on the A5 is something I would think that a company like OpsGear wouldn't overlook but alas they have...
It's relatively easy to modify if you have a Dremel or anything of the sort...
All in all I consider this one of my best purchases of all my gear....
Conclusion: If you're in the market for a folding stock, I recommend this to be the best one I have ever tried... Clears your hand in the folded position and is stiff as a board in the out position.... In short it kicks some serious ass... Giving it a 9 because of the need to modify for R/T Valve...
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Monkeypckl Thursday, December 8th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Crappy M4 stock from I & I Sports
SpecOps Mp5 Solid stock
Marker Setup: Tippman A-5
G36c Handguard
G36c Raised Rail
G36c Folding Stock
Strengths: Durablity
No wobble
Cosmetic bliss
Folds completely against the body...kinda
Weaknesses: Always out of stock on their website
Installation
No real mask relief
Review: First off....I LOVE THIS STOCK!

Ok down with the facts.

Installation was kinda hard. You have to force that sucker down...but once its in there its not going anywhere. Nice and solid. Feels good against your shoulder but with a mask on your gonna been a raised rail or offset because there is no space for your mask. Oh well...no biggie. When folded you loose alot of length. Really nice against the body. A little wiggle but nothing bad. Damn...forgot what else i was gonna say....ummm...your not going to break this sucker if you tried. so dont try. yeah....

THE END!
Conclusion: Great stock if your going for the g36c look.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

freezerbee Wednesday, December 7th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
3 months4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Pro-Team A-5 f/x commando style 3 position stock with RVA
Marker Setup: Tippmann A-5 with...
> JCS gold power tube/DOA pro seal front bolt
> Palmer inline stabilizer/Palmer gauge
> Low Pressure kit (Springer Paintball Modified)
> CO2 (remote)
> Lapco offset mount
> Armson ASR1 raised rail (backwards)
> Armson ProDot occluded eye dot sight
> SpecOps A5A2 ez gas thru front grip (modified)
> Opsger G36 folding stock (modified)
Strengths: It's awesome, Light, sturdy, stable, compact, modestly priced, pretty easy to mod.
Weaknesses: Installation a bit tough, hard to field strip, no RVA, Left handed? tough luck.
Review: Alright...

I haven't played with this thing yet. It JUST arrived in the mail so these are all preliminary observations but I think they'll hold up.

Installation: This was kinda annoying but it's probably for the best. The stock fits very VERY tightly which turns out to be a pro and a con. My old F/X commando stock had a wiggle to it that I was never able to completely eliminate. To combat this, I had my A-5's body screws tightened as far as I dared for fear of stripping them. This was not necessary on the Opsgear stock. It was actually easier to install the opsgear stock with the rear body screws loosened slightly and tightened only after the quick strip pins are in place and the stock is secure. I may actually drill a hole in my grip to make the process easier. On the plus side, the stock, in it's open and locked position has no wiggle whatsoever; it feels like a good fixed stock ought to; which was pleasant - I hadn't counted on it being so sturdy. In it's collapsed position, it wiggles a little bit but doesn't rattle even if you shake the gun. The notch cut in the butt plate to accommodate the cyclone charger doesn't exactly line up but it serves it's purpose.

Weight: The first thing I noticed once the stock was installed was: "this sucker is LIGHT" The stock only has metal in it where it needs it. There's a small piece in the mounting bracket where it connects to the A5, and the rest is in the pin and spring where the stock folds. My old stock was heavier to the point where I the disparity in weight was noticeable.

Quality: The only trouble I noticed with the manufacturing of the product was the presence of some flashings from the injection molding of the plastic. I assume it's best to remove these (from the mounting bracket at least) or risk them getting sucked into your internals. smoothing those flashings out will also aid in the stocks ease of installation.

Action: it's a little more difficult to operate (fold/unfold) than opsgear would have you believe but that may be because there's a breakin period I haven't yet experienced. It's a little tricky to get the stock to unfold without taking you hand from the grip and refolding takes a little muscle. I'm willing to overlook these minor details because the thing is so relentlessly sturdy when locked.

Missing: A rear velocity adjuster. If you're a sucker for consistency, you may want to adjust your front velo adjuster to be flush with the inside of the power tube (or even get a tube sans screw) If you do this, you must find another way to adjust your FPS. The easiest way is with a rear velocity adjuster which this stock will in no way accommodate. Your only other option, in this case, is modding the A-5's stock spring or monitoring your pressure on a regulator. Shed a tear, if you will, snipers, for this shortcoming. While it is minor, it does render the product "not perfect".

Price: Cheaper than a lot of stocks that are... (how can I put this...) NOT AS AWESOME

UPDATE: No major complaints so far. I did have to modify it, it was in the way of my remote and side-mounted stabilizer but it's still rock solid even with a bit of material removed. I sunk some screws into it just to be safe.

A little gun oil on the spring really smooths out the action. It breaks in nicely. Still no wobble.

I put an extra hole in the grip housing so I can get to the other body screw with the grip still in place. It really helps getting the quick-strip pins in and out. Still a pain, especially if you're squeamish about putting holes in your precious stock A-5. Whatever. To mod is human.

A friend of mine pointed out that it's really uncomfortable if you're left handed or switch hands a lot with it in the folded position. I don't play a lot of speed ball so I hadn't really thought about it. I suppose if you're left handed and own an A-5, you prolly still use the stock front grip (I personally can't stand it).
Conclusion: if you don't care about field strip time or the lack of a velo adjuster and want a sweet, solid-as-the-rock-of-gibraltar stock that, as an added bonus, folds like bad hand of poker... Buy this stock without hesitation. Not 10 for 10 on account of the RVA, and it's non-ambidexterous (don't buy if you're a leftie). I'll overlook the field-strip thing.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, January 21st, 2006 at 9:13 pm PST
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

OlUncleGearHead Monday, October 17th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month15 of 15 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Bottle ends jammed into my shoulder, butt plates and other
Marker Setup: Tippmann A5
PE Remote w/ Slide Check
PE 20 Bottle
Tac Cap
OpsGear G36C Grip, Rail and Stock
Bushnell 1x30mm Trophy red dot sight
Seals Action Gear single point sling
Strengths: Comprable price to other stocks
Folds out of the way when not needed
Looks cool
Weaknesses: No sling lug (very minor complaint)
Slight interference with mask (see review body)
Review: If you're in the majority of woodsballers, you like messing with your marker. Hey, I'm not judging; I'm exactly the same way. Hell, the main reason I picked the A5 was because of the vast number of mods you can mount on it.

The G36 Stock, as the name implies, takes it's design from the Heckler and Koch G36C, the carbine variant of the German army's battle rifle.

With the exception of the pivot pin and spring, the entire stock is made of a high density plastic, and mounts in a minute or so. Like just about every aftermarket stock for the A5, it mounts directly onto the two rear strip pins that hold the stock end cap. I've heard a lot of complaints about aftermarket stock having some wobble to them once they're mounted. Not true of the OpsGear G36 stock. It sits flush and tight all the way around with no wobble.

The ergonomics of the stock are very sound. From a slung position, the folded stock can be kicked with your thumb into position while releasing your marker's safety with your index finger, and made ready and brought to bear in seconds. Chances are pretty good that when the horn sounds you're going to have it unfolded and ready to go in the first place, but you never know.

If you're like me and play the occassional game of speedball, the folded stock keeps the marker very compact without having to take the stock right off, and while not an ideal solution, it allows you to play with a much smaller profile marker that plays closer to the body if you're headed with some buddies to a tourneyball field.

I have only two things that may (I emphasize may) be issues to take into consideration when thinking about buying this stock for your A5. The first is the he A5 doesn't have a sling attachment point other than the stock end cap. It would have been nice to see an eyelet or other mounted on it out of the box, but this may be of minor concern to some.

Second, depending on your mask and marker set-up, there maay be some intereference with your mask. I play with an Elite Headshield, a big monster helmet and the lower portion of the mask hits just as my eye comes to my sight, which is not much of a concern to me, but my sight is mounted on an elevated accessory rail, so thisis something to that may affect folks who mount thier sights to the A5's top dovetail.
Conclusion: All in all a very sound product, one I would recommend to any woodsballer who wants to add a little fashion with their function. It's minor flaws are nothing that detract significantly from the stock as a whole. The only reason it receives a 9 is because nothing in this world is perfect.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (2):  1  |  2
                            
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media