paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Proto Matrix M6 / Proto Matrix M6 / Proto Matrix M6 / Proto Matrix M6

Proto Matrix M6 Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Proto

Buy Proto Matrix M6

Paintball High-End Electronic Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Proto Matrix M6
[ View Photos (87) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 139
Average Rating: 9.4 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $950

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The new Matrix VI features jaw dropping body style, a new balanced on/off bottom line, adjustable clamp neck, a new lower pressure bolt kit, new and improved LPR, metal logo inserts and a two piece barrel. With all of that we still managed to shave .5 inches off the height and 4oz. off the weight of the marker. We built the Matrix VI with one idea in mind: to help put you at the top of the podium.
Product Availability 
The Proto Matrix M6 is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (14):  First  |  9  |  10  |  11  |  12  |  13  |  14
        Next Page
ase Saturday, March 11th, 2006
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
3 months3 of 44 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Nothing similar; first Matrix bolt design I've owned.
Marker Setup: Black w/ Green 06 Ego, Delrin Pin, Halo B, Crossfire 68/45
Green w/ Black 06 Ego, Delrin Pin, Reloader B, System X 68/45
Recommended
Upgrades:
An eBay account (to sell it).
Strengths: Bling (people think you're cool if you have a PM6)
Potentially fast.
Weaknesses: Bolt design
Looks
Trigger
Board
Barrel
Grip frame
Grips.
Review: Strengths-
Out of the 5 weeks I had it, it worked for one full day. In that day, the gun was rather fast and quiet.

Weaknesses-

Bolt design- I can not stand Matrix bolt designs. They are so high maintenance. Too much lube, you're screwed, too little lube, you're screwed. They're also super inefficient. The only real good thing is that they're quiet, which isn't going to help you out at all.

Looks- UGLY! Everyone thinks it looks awesome, but I guess it's my opinion that they really do not look good at all.

Trigger- Who the heck want a spring returned trigger in their high end electro? A $925+ gun!

Board- No modes! In a $925+ gun!

Barrel- Just terrible.

Grip frame- Fat, ugly, uncomfortable. Makes your hand/wrist hurt after a while, I sh*t you not.

Air efficiency- 5 pods on a 68/45 full fill out of the box.... On a $925+ gun!?!?!
Conclusion: This gun is a huge ripoff. There are so many better guns you could get for the price. Do yourself a favor, save yourself $200 and buy a used 05 Ego. Can you say....OVERRATED??
Rating:
2 out of 10
I found this review  
34 Comments - Add Comment

DAM Friday, March 3rd, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
I just can't compare this gun to anything else I've owned.
Marker Setup: -06 Proto Matrix M6
-Reloader B
-Getting a tank shortly
Recommended
Upgrades:
This gun comes stock with almost everything on it. You can always go and get upgrades such as Trigger, Drop, etc...
Strengths: -Speed
-Weight
-Accuracy
-Everything
Weaknesses: -Bore Size of the barrel, its small and some paint wont fit.
Review: Seeing it :

The first time I ever saw this gun, I wanted it. The price is a bit of a problem, but once you see all the stuff it comes with you know that its worth every penny.

Buying it:

I bought my M6 less then a week ago and take it out of the boxe to look at it whenever I get the chance. Today, I finally got the chance to put a tank on it and a hopper and shoot some paint.

Shooting it:

It was absolutely amazing, it had not one chop (obviously) and was shooting so nicely and super fast. The accuracy is insane, I shot boxes and bottle from 25 to 100 feet away every shot was rite where I wanted it. Out of the box the gun was shooting at 281-284-282 fps, which is very consistent.
Conclusion: If your serious about getting in to paintball and are ready to spend the money on this gun, I would recommend it immediately. I am so happy...best gun ive ever shot.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
3 Comments - Add Comment

talon118 Wednesday, March 1st, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Up'd Ion
Marker Setup: Proto Matrix 06 black to blue, Halo b blue, Air America 47/3000
Recommended
Upgrades:
None reallly? all preference maybe a new trigger?
Strengths: Light, Fast, Small, No kick
Weaknesses: Efficiency maybe? Havnt noticed really though
Review: When i first held it I realized how small and light this gun really is, and shortly after buying it i put roughly around 500 paintballs through it and ripped , I noticed that there is hardly any kick at all, less kick than an ion, and really i mean really fast. worth every penny.
Conclusion: If you have the money buy it!
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, March 1st, 2006 at 6:51 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Permiwood Thursday, February 23rd, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
ION
ICD Promaster
2k4 Lasoya Timmy
Marker Setup: Black to Red Fade PM6, Sly Stealth Carbon Fiber barrel

Black Promaster, ccm no pro feedneck, System x 2 peice barrel

Recommended
Upgrades:
A new board if you want any other modes besides ramping, a different Bottomline on/off, some of the stock ones won't let you barrell thread.
Strengths: Comes stock with Dye hyper 2, fast, quiete, little to no kick
Weaknesses: Some of the On/Off's have thread issues, but other than than......none.
Review: The DM4 had always been my dream gun right from when I first started playing paintball, then I saw the PM6 and fell in love. Like most PB players I started out with a blowback, then the Ion/Wrath/Promaster era came and I bought a Promaster, and like most other people that own those guns I thought my gun was just as good as any High end gun out there, the Promaster was just as fast as any of them, so I thought why spend the $900-$1500 on a gun when my $350 gun works just as good. Then I saw the PM6 and knew I needed to have one, so I found a good deal online and bought it needless to say when I took it to the field and played yesterday I was amazed, my Promaster doesen't even compare. The PM6 has less kick and is a ton more quiet. The first game I got 3 players out and none of them even knew where I was.

edit: After owning and playing with this gun I wanted to add a little to my review. I simply love this gun I did have a problem with the rear cap leaking and it seemed to keep cutting orings but after calling Dye I sent the bolt in they replaced the rear cap and had it back to me. I went a total period of 5 days without my bolt. Dye's customer service is superb. Now I just gotta come up with that money for an ultralite frame.
Conclusion: All you Ion/Wrath/Promaster players that think your gun is just as good as this gun, you are dead wrong, I would sale whatever you have and pick one of these up. Don't get me wrong I still love my Promaster, infact I will continue to use it as a back up but it doesen't compare to this sweeeeeeeeet PM6.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, March 16th, 2006 at 3:03 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

pballer2786 Thursday, February 16th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Shockers- About the same in most departments
Intimidators- Naa...I think that the proto is better than most timmys
Dm5- About the same
Marker Setup: Proto Matrix 06 cobalt dust, empire reloader B, 45/4500CF,
The marker is so far Stock
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel- The 12in proto 2pc barrel is decent..but i would go for an ultralite or freak kit eventually.
Board- Get the virtue board for it, or the ultalite frame. Stock board is SEMI-ONLY.
Strengths: Speed
Accuracy
Looks
Weight
Compact
Weaknesses: Fragile wiring
Review: Okay so here's the deal. The 06 Proto Matrix is an AWESOME marker. I havent upgraded it so far and have been doing fine with it on rec fields. For tourneys, some parts like the board and barrel, however need to be upgraded. The rest is all preference. I paid $1045 for mine and I think it's a reasonable price for a high-quality marker.
SPEED- ROF is amazing with just the semi-auto stock mode. When upgraded with a new board, the proto will shoot as fast as the loader can feed.
LOOKS- SUPER SEXY (Flawless Milling)
SIZE/WEIGHT- Very Light/Compact. With an ultralite frame, its even lighter!
ACCURACY- STOCK BarreL is decent. But when i put a 14in ultalite on mine, noticed better accuracy over longer distances.

So far i've only had a couple of problems with it. My hyper2 in line reg broke down, but that was partly my own fault since I didnt lube/cleaned it when it was required ( was just being Lazy).So yah as long as u maintain it regularly, The proto matrix 06 is a very reliable marker.
Conclusion: All Round, an AWESOME marker. Im very happy with it, and im sure most of you will LOVE it too! :-) FAST,ACCURATE,LIGHT,RELIABLE....what else do you want?
If you're thinkin about getting one, dont hesitate! JUST GO GRAB THIS GAT NOW !
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

NakedBaller Thursday, February 16th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month14 of 15 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
DMs (slightly better), Angels (not as good), Shockers/Ions (bolt is identical...DYE is suing SP cause of this, thus, Proto/DYE > SP), etc.
Marker Setup: Proto Marix 6 (Black Dust)
DYE Ultralite Frame w/ Sticky3 Grip (Red)
DYE Ultralite 14" Barrel (Black Dust)
DYE Throttle Tank 68/4500 w/ DYE Rhino Tank Cover (Red)
HALO B Hopper (Black) w/ RipDrive
Recommended
Upgrades:
1. A fast hopper with eye activated feed (i.e. HALO B), not sound (i.e. Empire Reloaders), unless you use dark shelled paint, because it may have trouble "hearing" the PM6...
2. If you got an extra 250$ to spend, buy the DYE Ultralite Frame - it will make the PM6 even more lighter, more sexy, and the trigger is MUCH better than the stock one.
Strengths: 1. Weight
2. Looks
3. Kick
4. Sound
Weaknesses: 1. Fragile eye wires may cause problems, however, that is about it.
Review: 1. Looks = 10/10

The PM6 is a beauty. Flawless milling and anondizing will DEFINENTLY turn heads.

2. Weight = 10/10

The PM6 is crazy light and with an UL fame, it weighs even less.

3. Sound = 10/10

The PM6 makes a hardly noticible pffft sound and it is so quite that my friends Empire Reloader had trouble feeding it because it couldn't hear it!

4. Kick = 10/10

The PM6 has barely any kick whatsoever due to its low operating pressure.

5. Price = 10/10

The PM6 could hold its own against many $1000+ dollar makers despite being significantly less expensive.

6. Reliability/Quality = 10/10

I have personally not had any problems with my PM6, however, my friends PM6 did have some problems with the eye wire tearing.

7. Customer Service = 10/10

Since I have not had any problems I cannot first handedly say that the customer servicer is superb, however, my friend who ripped his eye wires said that the customer service was just absolutely amazing and reliable.

NOTE: These ratings are based on markers of similar build (i.e. spools) and in the same relative price range ($700 to $1200).
Conclusion: WORTH EVERY SINGLE PENNY (all 92,500 of em)! If you are considering this and are unsure, I would HIGHLY reccomend buying it.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, February 22nd, 2006 at 1:02 pm PST
I found this review  
3 Comments - Add Comment

maxpm6 Sunday, February 12th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
shocker(not as good) viking(INSANE but i still take pm6) ans x-5(only when ramping can it almost... no wait it cant compair)
Marker Setup: Proto matrix 06 with UL frame 14 inch freak kit halo b rip ans 68/45
Recommended
Upgrades:
if you want a longer barrel, if not nothing
Just kidding i reccently added a UL frame and i must say this is a must it feels so good in my hand.
Strengths: Speed
Accuracy
Size
Weight
Looks
Weaknesses: None to be found so far
Review: I just bought this gun and the second i first started shooting it I knew it was the best gun id ever shot. My friend sean and I were shooting in his backyard and we were hitting targets 30-40 feet away (very thin small targets) and we were hitting them ball after ball at easily 15 bps. I wanted to pee myself, ive never been so happy with a gun. a defenent must buy if you got them money if you dont have enough DONT SETTLE ON A CHEAPER GUN JUST KEEP SAVING THIS GUN IS WORTH THE MONEY!!!
I got to use it at my local field everyone was impressed, i was offered a ego for it along with a offer of a dynasty shocker, it was awsome, i was having a great time. Im not sure why but at one point my on/off valve started hissing a little but i suppose it wassnt turned all the way but besides my own faulty carlessness it was perfect.

side note, outa box i was shooting 325 then one simple adjustment and i was at a constant 284 +/3-
Conclusion: This is a great gun, buy it and dont waste your time on anything else you will love this gun.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, May 24th, 2006 at 9:58 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

pbcrazed15 Saturday, February 11th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
e2 cocker
ion
spyder xtra
Marker Setup: Stock gloss black pm6 w/ tophat mod
70/4500 crossfire stubby
halo b w/ cutom rip drive and boost mod
Recommended
Upgrades:
new board
and ul frame(just looks cool)
Strengths: Efficiency
Rof
Milling
Weaknesses: To many o-rings.
Limitation of settings of fire on the stock board.
Review: well i was originally going to buy an 05 proto, until the exy 06 proto came out. I was blown away by its awesome milling job and i had to go get one of my own. so the next day i bought a gloss black pm6.

A couple days after buying i went to my local field and mow'd. This gun is incredibly fast with 0 kick. This gun felt so light and i could'nt even fill it shoot.I was blown away. Towards the end of my day it started to leak out of the bolt guide. I couldn't find the problem. I thought it was one of the o-rings on the bolt, but none were damaged. I too it to a tech and found out 95% of the time the o-rings in the reg will break if u tighten and un-tighten the vlocity. So when i found out wat the problem was, i was happy.

I extremely recommend this gun. For i think the looks blow away the dm6's looks by far and u even save some cash to buy yourself a ul frame. All in all proto has done a fine job with this awesome gun.

So go get one now!
Conclusion: I recommend it over the dm6. You even save cash by getting the pm6.
The pm6 is a GREAT marker and i suggest you get one
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
7 Comments - Add Comment

Stryke12 Wednesday, February 8th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
DM3, DM4, Speed 05, E2 orracle, lots of stuff
Marker Setup: 06 Proto, Hybrid grip, 14 and 16 inch ultralight, red diamond empire reloader, virtue board
Recommended
Upgrades:
if your into modes then the virtue, other then that this marker needs nothing
Strengths: Everything, see review and conclusion for full reviews
Weaknesses: See review and conclusion
Review: Pros - Where to start.....extremely quiet, very fast, extremly accurate...i can shoot at 100 feet and its about a 7 inch spread which is about the most accurate marker ive seen so far. its got nice milling and has a very stable and tight feel. Good bolt design, i like the 1 cover for the eyes, adjustable trigger in many ways. Its small, light, fast, perfect for the front, mid, or back player. Under $1000. what more do you want?

Cons -The eye wire is very weak and fragile. I ripped the first one within a month, but its nothing to complain over. The battery harness i got was a tad flakey sometimes, but i contacted Proto and they sent me another one very fast for free.
Conclusion: The 06 Proto, most amazing gun ive ever used. Fast, accurate, light, small, great designed internals. Sweet milling. I cant use words to describe it. It has everything it needs stock. The only reason u would need to upgrade was if u wanted modes like PSP, NXL, etc. or if u just wanted to change colors on parts.
The eye wire is fragile, and easily ripped or torn. My battery harness was also a tad messed up but was taken care of very fast. Very reliable gun, and customer service is amazing. They sent me a new battery harness very fast, and for free.
It is perfect for the player who wants a high end gun, but doesnt want to spend $1000+. Its amazing all around. Definatly worth every penny. 10s across the board from me.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

ellerbeg1 Tuesday, February 7th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
2k5 vision shocker w/ predator board
Marker Setup: 2k5 vision shocker w/ predator board
pm6 w/ predator board
halo b w/ cheetah board
Recommended
Upgrades:
if u need to then buy a longer barrel...
Strengths: There are too many to list in 15 words.
Weaknesses: None.
Review: This is an AWESOME gun i would recommend this to neone who is even remotely considering it. i absoluetly love it i dunno if there is anything close to it in my opinion. my whole team uses these and we love them. i dont think we will ever use anything else in the season to come.
Conclusion: Buy it!!!!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (14):  First  |  9  |  10  |  11  |  12  |  13  |  14
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media