paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Proto Matrix M6 / Proto Matrix M6 / Proto Matrix M6 / Proto Matrix M6

Proto Matrix M6 Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Proto

Buy Proto Matrix M6

Paintball High-End Electronic Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Proto Matrix M6
[ View Photos (87) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 139
Average Rating: 9.4 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $950

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The new Matrix VI features jaw dropping body style, a new balanced on/off bottom line, adjustable clamp neck, a new lower pressure bolt kit, new and improved LPR, metal logo inserts and a two piece barrel. With all of that we still managed to shave .5 inches off the height and 4oz. off the weight of the marker. We built the Matrix VI with one idea in mind: to help put you at the top of the podium.
Product Availability 
The Proto Matrix M6 is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (14):  First  |  11  |  12  |  13  |  14
                            
greenpainkilla Saturday, December 24th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
freeflow shocker, macdev cyborg, regular shockers
Marker Setup: blue/ black dust fade Proto Matrix 06 w/ clear egg 2 with z board w/ smart parts 68/4500 tank
Recommended
Upgrades:
new barrel, thats it
new board, or get it flashed for more modes ( only has semi ) that i have found
Strengths: Fast
Light
Accurate
Smaller
Comfortable
Weaknesses: Barrel
Board
Review: This gun is pretty good. very accurate, small, very fast. only down sides are the barrel, board and it doesnt work very good in cold weather also the trigger needs a little adjustment like any other gun but it is kind of hard to do it because of the wires that get in the way. Like 28-high 30s range.
Conclusion: Very good gun because it needs very little upgrades and it is cheaper than the dm6 which is a little bit smaller and lighter. Its a good deal buy it now or else
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

MeanChad Sunday, December 18th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
smart parts shocker, pm5,timmy
Marker Setup: Olive Proto 06 everythimg stock
Recommended
Upgrades:
there are no nessary upgrades
Strengths: Light ,fast,accurate,easy to use
Weaknesses: Gas hog
Review: Ok well it was supposed to be a christmas presant but i go a it earlier i opened the box and it was awsome there was a tiny scratch on the frame from the factory but if you are a real baller you wouldnt care and my friends got one and theres came like that two so no worrys.First thing i wanted to do was shoot it so i fited on my airtank and turned it on and this gun was shooting 18-19 ropes this gun is fast. And it is verylight it is lighter than my ego and shocker. When dryfiring it it is very very quiet my mom doesnt complain so it cant be that loud.And it is just plain beautiful everybody at my field wanted to hold it oh can i buy that off you how much do you want for it.


GREAT GUN
Conclusion: This is a awsome gun for beginners or pro players.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
4 Comments - Add Comment

PainSktr14 Friday, December 16th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
3 months3 of 12 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
DM5
DM4
Ego
A-bomb timmy
Ripper timmy
Ripper 2 timmy
Texas Storm timmy
Dark Shocker
06 Shocker
Angel Speed 06
Karnivor
They alll dont compare to the PM6 it is one of the greatest guns ever!
Marker Setup: Proto 06(red)
Carbon fiber red halo
Hybrid black grips
Hybrid black bolt guide
Pure energy 45/4500 tank
red to black ultralight barrel
Recommended
Upgrades:
none really only upgrades can do is make it look better
Strengths: No kick
No sound
Very sensitive
Good looks
Sery fast
Super light
Weaknesses: None at all.
Review: The proto has to be the nicest gun ever it is better then a Dm6 becuase it doesnt have all those o rings. It is better then a Angel just becuase Angels just really suck.It is really fast and super light.IF YOU ARE LOOKING FOR A GUN TO BUY GET THE NICE PROTO 06 IT IS THE BEST AND CHEAPEST GUN OUT THERE!!!!!
Conclusion: It is good all around period.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
3 Comments - Add Comment

pm6_baller Thursday, December 8th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
-proto matrix (05)
-Angel Speed
-Shocker
-Ion
-DM5
Marker Setup: Proto Matrix 6 (dusted black)
-Halo B Hopper (Black) + RipDrive
-Dye Throttle 68/4500 Tank + DYE Rhino Cover
-Hybrid "Contract Killer" Grip
Recommended
Upgrades:
-no necessary upgrades
-may want to buy a CP RB Trigger or if your really rich, the Ultralite Frame (EXTREMELY nice), however, stock trigger isnt bad...
Strengths: -Looks
-Weight
-Speed
-Accuracy
-Quietness
-Price
-Size
Weaknesses: None really...
Review: The PM6 is a great marker. It is a complete marker right out of the box. After reading the manual thoroughly, I hooked up my taank and hopper and filled her up with fresh draxxus paint. At the crono, it shot a string of 289, 291, 290, 293, 291 (not bad at all being that I didnt break the reg in at all). I played the whole day and had no breakage whatsoever. I then decided to test it. I used some walmart paint that had been in my closet for a year -- no chops.
Conclusion: Overall, this is a GREAT marker that easily competes with its DM cousins. If your looking for a good marker, under 1k, that competes with 1.5k markers, this is it. Happy shooting.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

shortic350 Thursday, December 8th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
PM5, DM4, DM5, DMC
Marker Setup: Stock
Recommended
Upgrades:
Nothing really, it comes with everything you will ever need
Strengths: Everything
Weaknesses: None
Review: The body is absolutely gorgeous. The milling and annodizing is phenominal! It's very compact and balanced as well. I dont think that there is a better looking and balanced marker on the market today. Also when you shoot this marker you can realize hopw smooth it actually is. You have to shoot it see it, its amazing. It comes with everything you need has a very acurate barrel. It's a fantastic marker and is worth EVERY PENNY!
Conclusion: GET IT!!!! it is so smooth and perfect in just about every way.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Tbone0423 Sunday, December 4th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
6 months20 of 23 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Piranha E-Force Beginner Gun with huge kick
Black Magaic Autococker (pneumatic). Accruate and nice, but heavy
Tested a DM4/5, Shocker, Russian Legion Timmy
Held and triggered a DM4/5/6/C, Infamous Timmy, Alias Timmy
Marker Setup: (Tested)
Stock Proto Matrix 06
halo b hopper
68ci 4500psi
(Own)
Proto Matrix 06
Empire Reloader B
Pmi 45 4500
CP Trigger
DYE Ultralight Tip
Orange Bolt
Recommended
Upgrades:
Orange bolt (Personal Preference)
CP trigger (Personal Preference)
Strengths: Weight
fast
size
quiet
looks
accurate
Weaknesses: A 14in would be better than 12in
Review: Other Person's PM6
Little kick, but just enough to make the ball miss ur exact point by 1in (not bad). I was told that the orange bolt for it will eliminate all noticeable kick so that u can be dead-on accurate.

I recomended the 14in barrel because to me it just has a nicer feel and it is easier to aim. The accuracy will be the same with the 12in and the 14in.

I have not had much experience with a fast electric gun, but i was shooting streams of paint with this thing unramped. It was incredible. THe fastest i have ever shot in my life.

effiency doesn't bother me with any gun, i go to a field where its $5 for all day air, so if i need to refuel after 4 games or every time im out of paint, thats fine with me. Also there is no "first shot drop-off" so ur first shot is as good as ur last shot. In fact, due to ABS (anti-bolt-stick) ur first shot is usually a higher velocity which i like. Also if u put an ORANGE bolt on it, the effiecny should improve if you put in the mod that comes with it.

Okay, so overall this gun can really bring out the true patential of any player it shot beautifully with almost unnoticeable kick and couldn't be balanced any better.

____________________________________________________________
______
Okay, now the review part on the one i now own

In complete aww, they opened the box. The blue to black fade is just the most incredible thing i've ever seen! As they pulled it out, i prayed that i didn't get one with a bad ASA and believe it or not, it was perfect! I think its actually one of the best asa's out there. So i shot it stock. THis gun RIPS stock. ANY upgrades on this gun should be for personal preference. RIght out of the box, literally no shots shot before it, it was 235, 238, 238, 238. Thats ridiculous. THATS RIDICULOUS. My first 4 shots of the entire gun and 3 of them in a row are the same! So then we decide that i might want the ball to travel a little faster and the speed limit at the place is 265. WE set it to about that and fired. 268, 265, 269 265, 268. Not bad considering this is horrible old paint thta they gave me for free to test it and that the gun has only had a total of 10 shots.

So now we put in the upgraded trigger. At first i thought i shouldn't have, but then when i got use to it, i was really getting going with this . Personal preference is everything in this sport which is another reason i like this proto. Its nearly as customizeable as the ion. Also, the way you can hole ur hand ON the barrel and have ur palm on the lpr is very comfortable. You can't do that so much with the DM's because they have that on/off in the way.

No need to upgrade the board on this gun. Semi is fine. It is very very good semi. Unless you NEED ramping, dont get a new board. I completely disagree with the anyone who needs ramping to shoot 15bps.

One thing i dont get is why are people always so concerned about their guns effiency. Does a Ferrari not consume a lot of gas? They are one of the most guzzling cars in the world yet people buy them all the time. Should it be different markers? Not to the extent people give them today!

Anyway, in a couple of months, my orange bolt should arrive from Germany and i'll put a section about that bolt here. But the gun is very smooth stock, i just dont even want to feel the bolt so im buuying an orange bolt. (that and who doesn't want carbon fiber parts?)

EDIT: July 21
When i took the top hat mod off, my gun got quieter, smoother, and better consistancy. My consistancy was PERFECT! 261, 261, 261, 261, 261, 261, 261, 261... I couldn't believe it, i turned the chrono off and on because i thought it was frozen, LOL.
In case anyone is now wondering what im running on the gun...
Dwell is 16
Putting Dow 55 on an Orange Bolt
ABS is on
HPR at 4 turns
LPR at 2 turns

But yes, efficiency did get a little worse, but i dont care for efficiency (didn't get much worse anyway). My gun always sucks the life out of my tank from 4500-2300 and then it hangs around 2300 for a really long time lol

I made a video with it
http://www.darksidevideo.org/video/7d74a3a9-230c-4171-a595-9
81400428204.htm

Another nice part about this gun is there al literally no hoses within the body to burst. All the air passage ways are milled into the body
Conclusion: Great gun, so much better than all the other guns out there for more money. Great deal for 725. Its also very customizeable so you can get exactly what you want! THe proto barrel good, but dont get an entire ultralight kit if you want a 14in. Just buy the dye 14in tip. They fit on the proto barrel back!

Very good price, very good gun.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, December 20th, 2006 at 8:43 pm PST
I found this review  
27 Comments - Add Comment

bunkerboy2411 Monday, November 14th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month5 of 9 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
DM5,Angel,Timmy,Karnavor,shocker,proto
Marker Setup: I have a pm6 black/red red diamond clear empire reloader b hopper with a dye stubby
Recommended
Upgrades:
the pm6 needs a longer barrel
Strengths: Its fast accurate light small and looks great
Weaknesses: There is no problem just you need a longer barrel
Review: This gun rips out of the box. I got it and its nice. I wayed it at the local shop and its 4 grams heaver than an eclipse ego! Thats light! The first time i used it, it ripped. Not 1 ball chopped. Ive used it every weakend on crap for paint and it shoots great. After evvery day i clean it & its so simple. All you do is take the bolt out, lube it, put it back in, then wipe off all the paint on it. thats it.
Conclusion: Buy this gun. It may look expencive but, its worth it. If you want a gun that rips,looks great,and is light, this is the gun you need
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
15 Comments - Add Comment

jrgflrs149 Monday, October 31st, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month9 of 33 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Proto Matrix 05 and angel G7
Marker Setup: Proto Matrix 06 and nothing more
Recommended
Upgrades:
none
Strengths: Every thing great gun fast sweet
very light.
Price
better the the DMs
Weaknesses: None.
Review: This gun as you can see looks greats. It very fast and very light. I had to sell my cars sound system in order to get this gun. You will like this gun but dont buy it unless you have used a proto in the past. Or if you realy want it, because if you buy it and dont like it witch Im sure you will not like it but love it. Dont come back and put rate it a 1 because you got a defective one just return it and get a new, just like that.
Conclusion: BUY IT great gun.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Monday, November 7th, 2005 at 2:41 pm PST
I found this review  
13 Comments - Add Comment

fishhead Friday, October 28th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
1 year114 of 118 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
PM5, DM5, DM4, Shocker, (also Timmies, Egos )
Marker Setup: Dust Blue 06 Proto Matrix, Orange CF bolt, 14" Ultralite barrel (blue back and black front), Hybrid grind push-button on/off, UL frame (also, Reloader B, 70/4500 HP Crossfire stubby w/ 04 Dye Rhino tank cover or Crossfire Stinger 51/3000 w/ custom Gucci tank cover)
Recommended
Upgrades:
The new Dye Ultralite grip frame (WOW!) and/or Virtue board, barrel kit (sizing paint)
Strengths: Smaller, lighter, better looking, complete marker out of box.
Weaknesses: Only dust anodizing available
Review: How we got it:
Stood outside, peeking through the curtains at the Dye booth at World Cup before anyone's booths are open, after Wilma had hit. Gary Shows asks if I wanna see the DM6, well I say 'YES!' of course!. Anywho, he tells me to pull the curtain aside to look in so I do. He then walks up and says, "no, you gotta touch it" so he lets us in and he hands a DM6 to my son and the grip is AMAZING. He then asks if we want to see the new PM6. Well, you know the answer, we walk over to the Proto booth, pull aside the curtains, and there they are on the wall next to the 05's. Let me tell you, no picture I have seen yet shows how much smaller the PM6 really is. 1/3 to 1/2 inch, no big deal right? Wrong, after you add on/off and feedneck, its more like 1 inch. Its is better balanced, and the new Olive just rocks. My son lays out $$$ and buys the first one sold @ World Cup, maybe first sold retail! Gary then signs the box.

How it shoots:
Incredibly easy to roll on the new trigger. Just picked it u and could EASILY hit 15-17 CPS. After adding a Reloader B and 45/4500 tank, perfectly balanced at the grip. Smaller, lighter, tighter, what else could you want? The Dye techs told me that it is internally IDENTICAL to the DM6, though the DM runs at a slightly lower internal operating ressure. All i can say, the PM6 has less kick than any DM or 05 Proto I have ever shot, including mine. SD Legacy was running it @ Cup and it looked & sounded like it was running perfectly.

Addition onto original review:
Here is my son's marker setup:
Olive 06 Proto Matrix
Virtue Board
14" 2-piece Proto barrel
Olive Hybrid Grenade grips
Diamond Black Reloader-B
68/3000 Crossfire or 51/3000 Crossfire

We ran a case of paint through it last night (10/30). Got about 1000 shots off a 68/2800 fill. We ran the gun in all modes. We were hitting the hopper limit in mode 2 with 6 AA energizer cells on fully auto. Accuracy is equal to that of my 05 proto. My son's accuracy test: at 30' start a string on a soccer ball and roll it into a trash can 20' away without moving. He did it with 70 or so balls left in the hopper. The nightkast4life review has to be bogus. He's 12 for crying out loud!

New stuff on marker (02/01/06): He just got an Ultralite frame, and as I stated above WOW! I didn't think I was going to like it as much as my son since I have big hands, but, before we bought it, Roger Farmer (LTZ) told me its perfect, even for big hands, if you are wear gloves. He is right, the frame just rocks. There is even a little LED HUD that tells you what mode you are in without moving your hands from the marker. Great trigger, and you can adjust it without removing parts. Also, it has an integral dovetail mount that is loosened through a hole in the grip. One last thing, it makes the marker 3 oz lighter, that's almost 1/4 of a pound.

I just bought 2 PM6s, one black, the other blue. Mixed parts and posted pix of all three. It shoots amazing, nearly perfect out of box. Only problem, some metal shavings (spiral) in dump chamber. If you get one, remove the bolt, clean it thoroughly, and re-lube. I use Shocktech Bun Butta, it seems slicker cold and hot.

Added 10/28/06:
Just got through playing today. I keep trying new parts on my Shocker, my son just built a Shocker, we test, we run 'em they work great, yada yada. Some problems; we go back to our Protos: PERFECT. I haven't played with my Proto for weeks, it chronos perfect (285 fps) and ball-on-ball. SAme for my son. And he is like, WOW, my Proto is perfect. Truly, this marker deserves a 10. I hadn't lubed or done anything to it since sometime in early September. It just RUNS well.

Added 06/04/2007:
WOW, PM6 are sooo cheap. They are really under-valued. I need to add/clarify two items:
- Even though there are a few o-rings, maintaining a PM6 (any PM or DM) is very easy due to the fuse bolt design. Easier than any Shocker, though the design is more complicated due to the LPR.
- I have never had any marker have as little kick as a PM6 (w/o tophat mod). This probably applies to Matrices as well. My PM5 had an STD reg on it and it shot AMAZING, just too big.

I would rate it higher than a 10 if I could due to its inexpensiveness (is that a word?).

Added 04/03/2008:
I haven't played in a while & I haven't used the PM6 in a while. So I air it up, chrono, and... PERFECT! It was shooting laserbeams. Even with 5-6 month old Stingers. Crazy fast and fairly efficient . I got a HOT 3000 psi fill on my 70/4500 stubby. I got 1 hopper (Vlocity Jr.) and 3 pods (locklids) for about 600 paintballs and was at 1400-1500 when I walked off the field.

My current setup:
Blue PM6 with black parts
- Black Ultralite frame
- CF Orange bolt with small tophat mod
- Blue 05 Hybrid Grind push-button on/off
- 14" Dye Ultralte barrel
Conclusion: REVISED: Cheaper than the DM6, as light as the DM6, and, if you want, you can upgrade to the Ultralite trigger frame (shaves another 1/4 pound of marker weight!) that is the main difference between the DM and PM. If you try it, you will like it. Also, its real inexpensive. You can pick up a used one cheaper than a new PMR.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, April 3rd, 2008 at 10:53 am PST
I found this review  
1619 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (14):  First  |  11  |  12  |  13  |  14
                            
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media