paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Real Action Paintball T68 Pistol / Real Action Paintball T68 Pistol / Real Action Paintball T68 Pistol / Real Action Paintball T68 Pistol

Real Action Paintball T68 Pistol Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Real Action Paintball

Buy Real Action Paintball T68 Pistol

Paintball Pistols

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Real Action Paintball T68 Pistol
[ View Photos (6) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 28
Average Rating: 9.1 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $100

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The new T68 paintball pistol has the fastest Co2 replacement system ever. With this new system changing Co2 is not longer a hassle, it takes only seconds.

The T68 pistol, designed like no other .68 caliber pistol! With features such as: enlarged trigger guard for easier shooting, contoured, rubber grips for a firm grip in those intense situations. That's just to name a few. Also known for its durability and accuracy, the T68 Pistol will prove itself over and over. With the ruggedness, reliability, and outstanding performance of T68 pistol, you will never be caught unarmed!

Key feature of the new T68 Pistol includes:

* .68 Caliber Paintball Pistol
* Semi-Automatic Fire
* 10 Round Removable Magazine
* New Delrin Bolt Design
* Quick Release Magazine
* Quick Field Strip Design
* Finger Friendly Trigger Shoe
* High Grade Metal Body Construction
* Anti Double Feed System
* Precision Barrel
* Quick Co2 Replacement
* Adjustable Velocity from 250-300+ fps
* Ultra Soft No-Slip Contoured Rubber Grips
* Push Button Safety
* Range: 0-150+ Feet
* Cycle Rate: 16 BPS (max)
Product Availability 
The Real Action Paintball T68 Pistol is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (3):  1  |  2  |  3
        Next Page
Johnny Frank Sunday, June 20th, 2010
Period of
Product Use:
2 years
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
This is my first pistol
Marker Setup: Tippmann A5
-.50 BMG kit
-Powerline 3-9,40 scope
-offset hopper adapter
Tippmann X7
-Empire Twister Barrel and occasionaly the flatline
-Rsponse Trigger
Recommended
Upgrades:
Definately a few magazines maybe 3 total? although i do realize many people arent going to want to spend more money on extra mags
Strengths: Quick. Accurate out of the box, easy to use, VERY reliable
Weaknesses: The only problems i have with this is that the CO2 O-ring fell out
Review: Well when i first ordered this marker sometime ago i was pumped to finally have a backup weapon, or a side arm to switch to should my other marker for some odd reason fail, however i quickly realized (upon using it a few times) that this marker could very well be used by itself (granted there would have to be a MAJOR strategy change in order to use it alone).
The T68 in my personal opinion has it all: reliability, accuracy, precision, distance, and power. i feel perfectly comfotable toting this weapon around the woods with me or crawiling around in the sand pit to splat 'Tangos' off of various dunes.
At first i was ,admittedly, a bit afraid that this pistol may not live up to my expectations but the first time i took it out to practice shoot it felt like i was shooting a regular paintball rifle, there was little to no differance at all, well besides that my A-5 probably shoots farther than my T68 but thats not the point, im talking about performance wise...but ah im rambling. Again the only problem i had was that the CO2 o ring fell out but my dad and i quickley fixed that with a small peice of rubber that we ground down and poked a hole in so that it would fit

Conclusion: To sum it up i would DEFINATELY recommend this product to any of you players looking for a sidearm and dont get me wrong just because i say sidearm doesnt mean that i think that its good just for that...i just mean that when people buy a paintpistol they are generally looking for a sidearm
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Bosley17 Sunday, March 21st, 2010
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
This is the only paint ball pistol I have ever used
Marker Setup: Spyder Electra DX w/ 12 v revy hopper, CO2, and remote line
T68 Gen 3 Pistol (May occasionally attach 22" inch barrel)
Recommended
Upgrades:
Remote line adapter
Additional magazines
Laser sight (just for fun)
Strengths: -Durable
-Accurate
-Numerous upgrades specifically for this gun
-Inexpensive
Weaknesses: -Heavy
-Somewhat difficult to clean
-Occasional ball breaks
-CO2 cartridges (see below)
Review: As stated above, the T68 Gen 3 pistol is quite accurate; comparable to any low-end marker with a stock barrel. The pistol can also take a beating without any parts breaking (and yes, I have dropped it several times due to my clumsy nature). Also, the T68 pistol has a wide variety of after market upgrades available. In fact, it can be upgraded to the point where it operates more like a milsim marker than a pistol. And finally, this pistol is considerably less expensive than the Tiberius 8 pistol and the Tippman TPX pistol, and from my understanding operates just as well.

However, this pistol does have a few flaws. This is a fairly bulky pistol, and may be larger and heavier than originally expected to be. Also, I have experienced ball breakage (although the gun doesn't seem to be impaired when a ball breaks), but because the ball breaks in the chamber rather than in a barrel, the gun has to be taken apart for it to be cleaned properly. Also, anyone who has ever used a paint ball gun that uses CO2 cartridges has experienced frustration from running out of air and having to change the cartridge at very inopportune times. Of course, this problem can be remedied by purchasing an air adapter upgrade.
Conclusion: The T68 Gen 3 pistol is a great side-arm and also works well as a standalone marker. I highly recommend it to scenario players and rec ball players.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

DefconFive Saturday, December 12th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
None. Never used a paintball pistol in my life.
Marker Setup: - Tippmann 98 Custom (5 years old) - had a red sight before (got stolen)
- T68 Pistol - 2 clips
Recommended
Upgrades:
- M4 stock, longer barrel for improved range and accuracy.
- More clips.
- Holster for belt or Vest (unless you want to carry it in one hand while hip firing your main marker with the other :P
Strengths: - Powerful
- Maintainence easy
- Accurate
- Uses 12 gram C02's
Weaknesses: C02 must be lubed and Cranked hard into gun.
Review: This is an operational review of the gun:

I have to be very honest with everyone that I never battle tested this pistol. I made a rash decision in buying it which I regret. That is not to say that this pistol is not good! My main intention is to give this pistol an honest review!

Pros

Firstly, the pistol is huge, beautiful and fully metal. Im sorry for all those TPX fans but I really have a big issue with something being fully plastic. I feel like this pistol is very sturdy.

The accuracy is amazing from about 8 meters ( i know that this may not be very far but I can only imagine how good it would be during a match.) If I do use it in a match I will definately add that into my review.

This paintball gun hits hard.

I love the optional screw in fps regulator (it comes with it) that goes right at the back of the gun.

I have shot VERY VERY old paint like several months old, improperly stored paint in a big plastic ziplock bag. The T68 still shot them all. I never had a barrel break just some paintballs didn't break properly etc. I also shot rubber balls purchased from RAP4 and the reason being was for pest control (no intention of killing anything so don't be alarmed!).

Cons

I thought horizontal clips were alright but I quickly fell back on that thought after more use of the gun: A vertical magazine fed gun would have less profile and not raise the sighting. It makes me feel like I can't aim down the top of it. the notches where the magazine clips on top look as though they will eventually be shaved away with prolonged use.

The rubber balls often got stuck in the magazine which prompted me to be cautious about that happening with paint balls during a match. It could be that the rubber balls are simply not the same diameter of a true paintball. I have had some instances where the paint balls also were slightly stuck unless I gave it a nudge (that could be due to the paint balls being old but it has happened to other users of this gun).

The manual does not properly tell you how to take this pistol apart which irritated me. I ended up you-tubing it. You tube is great for that! Or Go to the manufacturer website and ask them. (still irritating).

You have to use specific C02s. I believe brass eagles are the best.
Cranking in the C02 is the biggest issue I have had with this gun. I nearly tore my skin off so its best to do it with some nice gloves. Also, you have to make sure you crank it fast and hard as to not lose some C02. On top of that, many users stated that you have to lube the O ring near the puncture pin most of the time before sliding in a C02 canister: I find that very annoying. I am afraid of having that O ring pop out like most users did. All of these meticulous nuances that must be addressed aggravate me and I'm the kind of guy who loves to take things apart and oil them and maintain them but not while on the field before loading the weapon itself.

Again the biggest issue with this gun is the C02 loading which I really find nagging. I would give this marker a 8 out of 10 if the C02 loading wasnt an issue. The 2 points short of 10 is due to the marker having an awkward horizontal feed system.

To sum things up:

While this pistol is sturdy, powerful and easy to maintain, it falls short in being difficult with the C02. The pistol does deserve many of the high scores it has received but I am critical and demanding of a gun to use in a match and this one just feels like it requires too much attention. If one was prompted to have to load the magazine on the top and the C02 on the bottom of the T68 (after lubing the O ring / C02 canister tip) at the same time its a bit of a hassle. The Tiberius or any other magazine fed guns that have the C02 integrated in the clip are far easier to reload and take less time. Of course the downside is that you pay more for those magazines.

On the account of the C02 being cumbersome, I give this gun a 6 out of 10.
Conclusion: I recommend this pistol to anyone who:

-Doesn't have the money to purchase a more expensive pistol (Tiberius 8/9 or something else that is clip fed)
-Does not mind a horizontal clip
-Prefers this because it is based on the Delta design
-Prefers the cost effectiveness of the clips (they are fairly cheap compared to the Tiberius clips)
-Prefers a marker that is easier to disassemble
Rating:
6 out of 10Last edited on Monday, December 14th, 2009 at 12:27 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

MrBadExample Monday, November 3rd, 2008
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
3 years3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Various pistols
Various markers
Marker Setup: Standard:
CO2 12 gram
Standard clip on top
Recommended
Upgrades:
A pistol holder
spare clip
12 Gram CO2 holdster
Strengths: Small
Light
Accurate
Weaknesses: CO2 12 grams are essentially impossible to remove on the field without tools.
Review: This is a great pistol but, not without some problems.

The pistol, is relatively small and compact for the weight and cost.
There is no way to describe to someone just how much more speed and manuvering you can do when you just have a pistol. You have to try it to understand. The pistol, with a holster can free you up to do lots of other tasks as needed. This is especially great for those woodsball players that need their hands for radios, maps, or other activities that lugging a 20-40 lb marker & gear gets in the way of.

As previous testimonies will state, you can quite easily bunker someone with an e-marker if you have your wits about you. My personal exploits include being able to bunker tourney players that running with $1000 rigs. That is IF you know what you are doing and are OK with the possibility of taking 30 rounds to your chest by his teammates.

The bad: Its the CO2 adapater hands-down. Out the box, its bad. You can get the CO2 gram on there but, its not coming off without a major struggle. You WILL need a leatherman or a pair of pliers to get that sucker off. No amount of oil or attention seems to solve this. I think they made the 12 gram receiver it with too tight of a tolerance to avoid leaks but, this means that the fit is just too tight. Another minor annoyance is that they only give you 1 clip with the gun. 2 would have been great. Ball breaks mean that you have to take the gun apart to clean correctly, in short not something you really want to do in the field due to the barrel being intergated into the body of the pistol.

The good: You can get a fair number of shots from that 1 CO2 gram. I think my record was 4 clips worth (about 40 rounds), they were dribbeling out the end of the barrel by that point. The pistol is surprisingly accurate and not that loud compared to standard markers. The lightest and compactness is great for crawling around and scouting. The lack of weight from a full marker, air & ammo is a boon for those not looking for a fight but for commanding, scouting, sneaking, or just being able to run like a bat out of hell. Ball breaks do happen but, clean up is not that dreadful. You will need to break the gun down completely but, this is pretty easy to do.
Conclusion: Its a good solid pistol and a great marker to take on the field period if you remember its limitations.

Like some other markers, on field paint breaks can be painful and the CO2 12 gram can be a complete nightmare at times.

If you are fine walking out with 1 or 2 clips of ammo and your wits, this is a great marker. If you need a sidearm to use maybe every 10th game in an emergency, its a great pistol to have.

I only gave it a 7 due to the CO2 12 gram issues. If those were mitigated or just better out the box this would be a 9. Having a better design to allow easier field cleaning as well would push it into 10 range for me.
Rating:
7 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

cadgear Friday, October 3rd, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Sheridan PGP, PT Extreme, Delta 68, Overlord
Marker Setup: T68 Pistol, electronic grip frame, hopper adapter, gas-thru butt stock, 14" Recon barrel with front sight and foregrip.
Recommended
Upgrades:
Nothing, if you are using it as a sidearm.
Stock, barrel, hopper adapter, remote line, and e-grip if it will be a primary.
Strengths: Strong, light, durable. Can't break it. Doesn't chop balls.
Weaknesses: Magazine feels fragile, can be difficult to change mags. Bolt design isn't great.
Review: After (severe) extended use, and the addition of some upgrades, I'm updating my review accordingly.

Prior to purchasing my T68, I read a bunch of reviews, and it seems the most common problem is the CO2 12g seal goes south. To resolve this, I applied a drop of marker oil to the top of every 2-3 CO2 cartridges I used, and I haven't had the seal fail. Nonetheless, RAP4 supplied a replacement with the marker, just in case.

I don't own a chronograph, but I'm guessing I was averaging 250-275 fps out of the box. Gas efficiency isn't the greatest, I got around 20 shots per 12g. As a sidearm, this doesn't concern me, as you'll (hopefully) need less than 10 rounds if you have to pull it out. Scenario guys might want to fiddle around with it. With the addition of the 14" barrel, however, I did notice a slight drop in perceived velocity. Adding the RVA and tightening it a few turns brought it back up in a jiffy.

Magazine loading is very easy, and speedloading from a 10 round tube is even easier. Often times, however, I found that if the magazine spring is already released after loading 10 rounds, the first round won't drop into the chamber. I would recommend that you carry the mags with the spring locked back until you have the mag on the marker and twist the endcap first. The magazines are made of aluminum, however they still feel fragile. Swapping mags takes some getting used to, however it can be done in a firefight rather quickly.

The hopper adapter is an innovative critter. Able to turn your backup sidearm into a full fledged marker in just moments. I found the clamp style neck is very stiff at first, however within a few games I had it where I wanted it. I don't know about hopper compatibility, but the knockoff Halo I use works just fine.

Trigger pull feels great, its not on edge like the Model 98 but I don't have to stand on it like a Pro/Carbine either. Sighting is difficult with the mag, but since most players sight down the side it was a natural reaction to do the same here. Of the 500 rounds, I didn't chop a single ball. If you manage to chop a ball, a straight shot is about the only thing you'll have time for due to the layout of the bolt/feed port. I added the electronic trigger to my marker recently, and love it. The e-grip has three fire modes (five, really); semi, 3 round burst, and full auto. 3 round burst and full auto have submodes of either 7bps or 13bps, which is user selectable on the fly. I'm not sure about tourny lock, as there isn't much documentation supplied with the grip.

Disassembly is very straightforward, and the variety of fasteners is unique to me. Cotter pins, allen screws, and a large slotted screw hold everything together. Internals are very simple, and RAP4 supplied everything I would need to get the marker back into play should an oring bust or even the cup seal crack. They even toss in a screw-in velocity adjuster for those who find the stock setting is too low.

The only real issues I've discovered with around 5000 rounds of paint is the bolt tends to wear groves into itself from the rear body guides. It seems this could have been done differently, as all I can see is required is the sharp corners could be milled to a 45 degree angle or similar to help avoid the excessive wear. The second is for people like myself who change grip frames often; the forward allen screw likes to grab the valve set screw and back it out when you change grips. So far it hasn't stripped, but some threadlock or a shorter screw would be nice. Lastly, the finish on the marker is beautiful, however as with any marker, it wears off with extended use (and extended dives, dings, drops, and skids). Perhaps some kind of protective coating would help.
Conclusion: For a stacked blowback pistol, you can't go wrong with the T68. I understand pretty much every other stacked blowback is going to be the same, the Delta 68, Overlord, etc..but there's something about the T68 that stands out above the others. Since RAP4 keeps dropping prices, and adding new packages, I couldn't resist buying a T68. And, since they offer such a wide variety of accessories, it is possible to have the T68 pistol as a primary marker.

I currently use my T68 as a primary due to the upgrades. I always bring my Pro/Carbine to the field, just in case, but so far I haven't found a genuine need for it yet. The T68 pistol has everything covered for me; backup pistol, scenario sidearm, primary tactical, and a flat out paint spewer.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, November 27th, 2008 at 1:55 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Sarcon Wednesday, June 11th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month27 of 27 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Tiberius Arms Tac 8
Tiberius Arms Tac 9
Marker Setup: Stock T68 Gen 3
T68 Pistol Tactical Laser

Strengths: Accuracy
Reload Time
Modification
Weaknesses: 12 gram O-Ring valve seal can come out
Review: The day I got it I opened it up and took it apart, the internals are very straight forward and if you have any experience at all in how to put things together you can easily figure this step out. otherwise there is the manual...

I took it out in the back yard and was using really bad paint. 4month old GAP that had goo all over it and was mildly dimpled. Still this the gun was shooting about a 4-5 inch diameter grouping at about 30-35yards yards.
Despite what the manual says and the other reviews, I found that if the gun was cocked when the 12gram was put in it would leak untill you emptied it. If you leave it un cocked and put the 12gram in, it would air up properly. I used crossmann 12grams and the 12grams that you can purchase from RAP4 and found no difference in performance or ability to eject after use.
I shot 5 12grams through each gave me anywhere from 31-37 shots.
the other 3 12grams I put in while the gun was cocked and it would not stop leaking so i shot the rest of the air out in order to continue with the trial run.
One time after shooting about 25 shots I thought the 12gram was empty because the gun uncocked itself after the "last shot" so I started to unscrew the bolt to release the cartridge but there was still CO2 in there that came out and destroyed the O-Ring, luckly my friend had a few spares that i was able to use and replace mine with. moral of this story... when you are shooting and the gun uncocks itself, recock it and take one more shot to make sure there is no air in it. If that o-ring gets lost, stolen, destroyed etc. the gun will leek and there is no way to stop it until the o-ring gets replaced.

The feel of the gun is kinda awkward for me comming from the Tiberius Arms Tac8. The Tac has a much larger (thus more comfortable) grip for me and all the weight is in the handle, the T68 has a small and thin grip and all the weight is in the front making it a little more awkward to shoot if you are not used to it. The trigger guard is unnecesserally large in my opinion and makes me unable to properly 2 hand the grip. My friend whom has smaller hands then I does not find this same problem. I like the way that I can use all of the CO2 before I have to change it unlike the Tac 8 where you only ise 1/4 of the canister then reload the magazine, losing some every time you take the mag out. I like the way that you can easily reload the 10 round horizontal spring "hopper" on top (which can hold 11 if uncocked 12 if cocked)
I also like the way the trigger has a stiff pull the whole stroke rather then the Tac8 that has a lot of empty pull then a short stiff pull to fire.

**the recent update was correcting my crappy spelling and grammar
Conclusion: I would recomend this product over the Tac8/9 due to the accuracy, the Price and the ability to customise the pistol. yes the Tiberius markers have the ability to be customised as well but in my own personal opinion I like this way better. both can put a stock on, a top rail, hoppers, and remote lines. The T68 has spider barrel thread at the end of it so you can use many different styles of aftermarket barrels to make the gun longer (more rifle like) rather then the Tac 8/9 has gun specific "threads" making it hard to find better after market barrels for the gun. the T68 has an electric trigger upgrade if you enjoy playing like that :) and the Tac 8 does not. the Tac 8 however has the ability to add on a q-loader. If you want a q-loader on the T68 you will need to do some serious machining.
on the other hand...
I would recomend the Tiberius Marker over the T68 if you plan on a lot of running and gunning and the must have for lots of fire power in a pistol (pistol as primary) as well as the reload time is a must and accuracy can be sacrificed.
I would have to say that this marker is one of very few things that RAP4 did right.
The only real problem I have is the O-Ring valve seal that can come out, but if you are not being dumb and/or have back up O-Rings to replace it it is not a big deal at all
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Monday, July 21st, 2008 at 6:28 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

gommen635 Thursday, February 28th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
none first pistol
Marker Setup: t68 hopper adapter
gen2 bottomline
spring kit
vl 200 hopper
Recommended
Upgrades:
collapsible car stock
hopper adapter
spring kit
Strengths: Accurate
Range
Weaknesses: Loud
Co2 comes out trough the bolt
Chops old paint
Review: This is a amazing gun but it chops a little. If you want to get some range on this gun you want to get a spring kit from rap4.com and get a hopper adapter. It is hard to speed load so you should get a hopper adapter and then you got some series fire power. amazing it is accurate and it shoots straight there is no co2 spikes and it is a great gun. if your thinking about getting a pistol this is the one for you. you can turn it into sniper or you can leave it as a pistol. the only problem i saw with this marker is that it chops old paintballs.

Update: you can actually speed load this thing all you have to do is to oil the knobs by the o-rings.
Conclusion: Get it
I gave it a 9 because its chops
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, March 30th, 2008 at 5:20 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

shawnvl Tuesday, February 19th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
Less than a month
Similar
Products Used:
None
Marker Setup: Stock
Strengths: Lightweight Well made
Weaknesses: None
Review: I own a lot of real pistols. Love to target practice but never have time to go to the range. I will enjoy plinking around my 3/4 acre lot. Very Light, Very well made, Going to use for self defense once I get used the marker. Then I will order the PAVA Live rounds. Rear hex bolt is a little to long it must be loosen to take apart marker. I will grind this shorter or add a thin washer.
Conclusion: I would recommend this to everyone love the feel and design of marker.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Aphoxema Sunday, February 10th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
Many airsoft pistols, it builds my confidence when the BBs are magazined and don't rattle and the snap of a gas blowback helps greatly in counting shots.
Marker Setup: Tippmann Model 98 with Flatline barrel, drop forward (canister reversed) and extendable stock.
Recommended
Upgrades:
Speedloader tubes, maybe extra magazines if you can afford it. The laser sight that replaces the CO2 knob could make a world of difference. Keep extra CO2 nipple seals handy, they're not hard to replace if you use a soft, pointy object to pry them out.
Strengths: Small, compact, very integrated. Several external options. Fast reloading. Lightweight. Remarkable design. Spyder barrel threaded.
Weaknesses: One good handle, loud, pesky magazine. Front heavy. Few options for easy alteration or customization.
Review: This is the first paintball marker I've paid for, and I don't regret it a moment. I chose this pistol over some others, such as the Overlord, because it seemed to have all the stuff that was useful and many things that were not. It's also very expandable and that was key to my purchase, but I haven't bought any of the options yet.

Another, more personal part of me choosing a pistol is because I am asthmatic and it's hard enough to move around without also being weighed down by equipment. With less stuff, I can be much more mobile and stand a better chance dodging paint and moving quietly.

Using cartridges liberates me from refill stations, but they can be more expensive and obviously they don't go as far. I'd have to recommend the RAP4 camouflage cartridges, they really are less visible and they're finished in gloss.

I have my sights (tee hee) set on the laser pointer that replaces the knob for the CO2 cartridge, and though the hopper adapter, the ASA adapter, and the stock could be useful for some players, I would prefer to go without them.

I had to make a few changes for my preference...

I added a washer to the rear screw on the handle assembly to make the handle fit more flush with the body and keep the screw from keeping the velocity lug held in, I wonder if they used the wrong screw.

I put an o-ring on the CO2 knob to keep it from rattling when it's loose.

I drilled a hole in the magazine plug and leashed it to the retaining pin with a wire tie so I won't lose either in game. The pin doesn't rattle anymore, also.

I removed the nuts at the bottom of the handle because they rattled, I'll save them for if I ever get the ASA adapter.

I used a nail file to soften the somewhat sharp edges where the casts of the handle were bonded.

I layered double sided tape underneath the magazine with a thin piece of plastic to add compression and keep it from rattling.

The marker also comes with an optional velocity screw to put more weight on the spring. I haven't chronographed it yet but I don't believe I'll need it.

I haven't had a chop yet, but the balls sometimes get held up by the spring tension. If a ball won't feed, I just have to push the spring a bit and let them roll along. This may be due to my cheap paint shrinking or deforming, or even the texture of it.

It's not quite a gunshot, but this marker is loud. The barrel is Spyder threaded so a perforated barrel might dampen the shots a bit.

Disassembly and reassembly is very easy, but I've had a lot of practice taking things like this apart. If you can find a clean place to work, it's very field strip-able and easy to oil.

The CO2 nipple seal dries out very quickly, you should make a habit of oiling it with each CO2 cartridge.

This is a very sturdy and well designed marker and I'm sure it easily succeeds it's variants, but like any tool, it needs care and even as a backup marker, it needs just as much attention and care to be reliable.
Conclusion: I would easily recommend this as a primary for patient, cool-headed people or as a secondary for anyone else. It's still perfectly reliable after the dozens of times I've taken it apart, it doesn't seem too paint-picky and gives you a different, lightweight option for propellant.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

Sylexfox Sunday, January 20th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Delta .68 , PGP Pump
Marker Setup: Primary: Spyder MR1 - 50 shot hopper , 16" J&J barrel , Flat screen Red Dot
Secondary: Rap4 T68 - Stock MR1 barrel , 21" Rap 4 Riffled barrel , 16" J&J Barrel , 2x10 shot mags , flat screen red dot , Air adapter , Hopper adapter , DYE Drop Forward , Hybrid ASA
Recommended
Upgrades:
Delta 68 bolt ( metal )
bottom air feed
Strengths: Accuracy , light weight , CUSTOMIZABLE
Weaknesses: Plastic bolt , Mine cracked but is fine other wise
Review: The marker is light and spyder barrels fit this marker ( don't go over 14") you can make some pretty freakish set ups with this thing , great for "sniper" set ups , just don't abuse the gun an it will last (like any marker) i also live in ont. Canada and received mine in under 6 business days from san jose cali.
accuracy on this thing is insane for a pistol , although my barrel set up is rediculous its effective but hard on air scares the newbies in the bush pretty good ;^)
Conclusion: So far the most customizable pistol around. if your looking for something cheaper than a tiberious to do pretty much the same thing this marker is for you
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (3):  1  |  2  |  3
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media