paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Dye i3 Invision 3 Mask / Dye i3 Invision 3 Mask / Dye i3 Invision 3 Mask

Dye i3 Invision 3 Mask Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Dye

Buy Dye i3 Invision 3 Mask

Paintball Masks / Goggles

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Dye i3 Invision 3 Mask
[ View Photos (24) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 110
Average Rating: 9.2 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $85

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
A product designed to protect your most important features deserves to be extraordinary. That is why the design team at Dye has harnessed the power of performance and style to create the Invision 3 with Tri-Mold Soft Flex Technology. A firm upper frame, co-molded with a soft dual-density, mask delivers a functional yet stylish advantage over the competition. This new technology sets the standard for comfort, flexibility and safety.

Features:

The Dye patented Forward Tab Retention System (FTRS) is the most secure
lens system available. It is the only lens-goggle application that features zero profile tabs with no extruding edges.Delivering safety and a clean looking style, the FTRS securely locks the lens into the frame under the most severe impacts.
2 stage foam is specifically designed to sheet sweat and moisture away from your face. Open and closed cell foam technology provides comfort and moisture wicking properties.
The patented Invision3 Multi-Directional Venting will throw your voice farther and clearer than any other vented mask on the field. Utilizing precise blade angling and a proven venting configuration, the Invision3 Multi-Directional Venting will make communication with your teammates effortless, as if there were no vocal obstructions.
Tri-Mold Soft Flex Technology offers various mask flexibility without sacrificing safety or performance. Utilizing a revolutionary process of co-molding, the Dye design team has developed a firm base frame, coupled with a very flexible facemask and patented venting system.
Silicone is out, woven rubber is in. The Invision3 retention strap system needs to be adjusted once and once only. Designed to fit your head and stay that way, like it should. The elasticity of the woven rubber straps will out last the competition.
Unilateral, audibly efficient ear protection, the Invision3 has a unique sound channeling design that offers unobstructed sound quality, providing three-dimensional hearing.
The anatomically correct Invision3 mask system offers the best of
comfort and performance for the player. Tested at twice the current ASTM
impact standards for safety. Good protection is key.
Low profile and removable, the Invision3 visor adjusts vertically to
provide maximum shade for your eyes and protection for your forehead.
The Invision's compound radius lens gives the player the ultimate in
vertical / horizontal peripheral vision and optical clarity. Setting the standard in visual performance, the dual-bowl lens design offers phenomenal visual performance.
The Invision3 goggle frame is molded from tear-resistant polyurethane and is designed with maximum flow-through ventilation. Designed to be anatomically correct and low profile to your face, the Invision goggle frame is a first in the paintball industry.
Combined with a secure goggle, the patented Multi-Directional Venting drastically reduces re-ventilated fogging. The Multi-Directional Venting also assists you with voice projection.
Adjustable comfort chinstrap to secure goggle during active play.
Product Availability 
The Dye i3 Invision 3 Mask is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (11):  First  |  7  |  8  |  9  |  10  |  11
        Next Page
donding6 Saturday, January 7th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
V force
Marker Setup: ion cp asa, cp drop, strange body, strange trigger, q-lock, freak AA 12, hybird grip
Strengths: Flexible, comfortable, fits anybody
Weaknesses: Nothing
Review: Very fleible, anti fog lense, feels good when on, easy lense take off, looks better than old ones and other. When you talk if dosnt fog up like other masks do, i think it is the best make out now. the flexing part is very good if you get shot in the mast you have a good chance the it is not going to pop.
Conclusion: Best mask out
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

PB3 Sunday, January 1st, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
v-forfce pro vantage defnaitley not as good but still ok
Marker Setup: new gun yeaaa prostock black/red with qloader,e2
ion with some crap
Strengths: Small
Good vision
Flexible
Awesome
Weaknesses: None
My dog ripped out the foam but thats not a weekness
Review: Ok this is just a great mask its light small and flexible and i love the lens. The first time i used the mask it was great it didnt fog up once ans i got shot on the bottom part i dont really know wut i should call it but the ball didnt break the mask just flexed and didnt breat the ball it was great every one should have this mask its great and for 85.95 its a good price a litle steep but its worth the money

For looks i give it a 10
For everything else that makes masks work i give it a 10
Conclusion: Great product better then any other mask out there
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

AzNhEaT Sunday, January 1st, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
none
Marker Setup: spyder electra acs
Strengths: Light, flexible for bounces, comes with a bag, comfortable, thermal, and great venting
Weaknesses: Price, and difficult to install new lenses
Review: I've played with these goggles for a while now and I have no problem with it. Unlike the cheap proto goggles I had the lens don't break as easily therefore leaving the lens to fog up. I've only tried two goggles in my whole entire paintball hobbie and I've always wanted to try the proflex or profilers but the i3's seem just as nice as the others. I've tried on the proflex and profilers and they both had flaws. For the i3's i didnt see any exept for installing the lens. For the proflex they just didn't work for me and for the profilers the middle part of the nose piece was blocking some of my view and I found it somewhat annoying.
Conclusion: These lens are perfect except for the price and the difficulty of putting on new lens. And I don't know about these lens but I remember from the old invisions they used to fade because of the paint. I like keeping my goggles looking brand new
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

TheSpy11 Sunday, January 1st, 2006
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested26 of 30 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Dye Invision - almost the same, but older
Proto Switch FS - similar, but better. My personal mask of choice.
Marker Setup: Tippmann A-5
ACI Zero Gravity
Flatline
E-grip
Ricochet R5
JCS Duel Trigger
CenterFlag reg.
DOP Front Grip
DOP RVA
Strengths: Low profile
Fantastic looks
Excellent vision
Very comfortable
Fairly flexible rubber
Weaknesses: A little expensive
Very difficult lens change
Limited chin and jaw protection
Review: One store in my area had the i3 for sale already. I was only able to give a short run through, but it's very similar to the old Invision and Proto Switch. I'll compare and contrast the i3 in various categories to both of those aforementioned masks.

Vision/lens system

This is by far one of the most important aspects of a mask, and the i3 does well in the first half of this category. The vision is excellent--it's almost as if you aren't wearing a mask at all. The lens gives a very clear view, and the range of vision is easily sufficient. The whole field can be viewed with ease with the i3. The lens itself though is the main weak-point of the i3, and I'm not talking about the vision qualities. I'm talking about the lens change (or lack there of). The lens system is the same as the old Invision, and it's terrible. The lens is very difficult and time consuming to change. I like to change or clean lenses if necessary between rounds, and the i3 doesn't permit me to do that. The much older and cheaper Proto Switch - a Dye product - has a simple, fast, and easy lens change. I don't understand why Dye didn't transfer this technology to their "best" mask. The lack of a speedy lens change is the most annoying aspect of the i3. The lenses however are available in multiple colors and shades and aren't too expensive, so that goes on the plus side.

Comfort

This is another strong point of the Invision. Dye hasn't changed the fit from the old Invision and the Proto Switch. The mask is very comfortable for extended periods of play, and it's comfortable for most players. The foam is soft and forms nicely to your face, and the weight of the mask isn't noticeable in the heat of a game. Ventilation is very good, and this keeps you cooler on those hot and humid days. Overall the comfort factor of the i3 is definitely one of the best available.

Protection

The protection of the Dye i3 is both a plus and minus. For tournament and upper level players, the low profile is a plus. The mask rides closely to the head, and the target profile is low. The i3 might save you that hit to stave off elimination. For lower level recreational players, the i3 is a little scarce on chin and jaw protection. A hit in that area isn't fun, and the i3 leaves those areas a little too exposed for my taste. I would rather have a mask with plenty of protection and allow the user to cut it down if desired. The i3 just doesn't permit this. For both types of players however, the softer rubber lower portion is a nice addition to the Dye i3. It's about the same softness as the Proto Switch, and you might get a bounce or two--bounces that were not remotely possible with the old Invision. The softer rubber is a nice upgrade to the Invision line.

Looks

The i3 is simply typical Dye. Awesome is the first word that always comes to mind. The different color pattern and design is really just a minor overhaul from the old Invision, but it only enhanced the appearance. My initial thoughts about pictures of the i3 were of dislike. I thought Dye had ruined the looks from the previous Invision. But after taking a closer look now, the i3 is the best looking mask out there to me, period. This mask can make any player look more formidable, and that never hurts.

Price

Again it's just typical Dye; it means that it's a little expensive. Masks in general are getting too expensive, and Dye used to be the leader in that category. $85 doesn't seem as much now because of masks that are over $100, but the Invision could be a bit cheaper considering the fact that the mask hasn't changed much from the previous version. Overall it isn't a big deal, but the price isn't something to cheer about.
Conclusion: I only recommend the Dye i3 to persons that have to have a Dye mask or people that really want the great looks of the i3. I don't recommend the i3 to anyone else. Before you complain about my rating, I'll explain myself. It has been about two years since the original Proto Switch FS became available. The Switch is still for sale for about $65, and I'll put this frankly: The Proto Switch FS is a better mask than the i3, and has a lower price to boot. The i3's lens system is just too difficult and time consuming to change. I don't understand why Dye didn't harness the easy and quick lens change of the Switch and add that to the i3. VForce has had an easy lens change for quite some time now, the new Vents line also has jumped on that bandwagon, and Dye has already had it for a while now with the Switch. Dye's failure to include this is the single most important reason why the i3 is not the best mask for sale today, and it's not even close to being the best. Along with a few other minor gripes, the i3 gets a solid 8. This doesn't mean it's a bad mask (it's a very respectable choice for a mask), but a 10 rating is reserved for the best mask out there in the identical price range. The i3 is not nearly the best mask, and great looks is more of personal opinion than anything else, so that's the reason behind my rating.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
4 Comments - Add Comment

SoulJahofPress Wednesday, December 28th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
JT NForcer... yeah
Flex 7 much more... bendy
Proflex same as flex 7
Flex 8 is much more stiff
VForce Profiler ALOT more stiff
JT Proteus a bit bigger, more stiff
Marker Setup: 2005 WGP Black Magic (black to silver)
freak barrel system
70/4500 crossfire stubby
halo B
mp4 ram

2001 right feed wgp cocker
03 wgp pneus
03 wgp bolt
black magic cocking rod

2004 Freeflow Lotus
SMC Freeflow Ram
Palmer's Microrock LPR
CP Shorty Reg
E1
Freeflow Bolt
Freeflow backblock
Freeflow cocking rod/beavertail
The Grip feedneck
Strengths: Very bendy and soft .
Very comfy foam around eyes.
Tiny profile.
Beautiful color.
Weaknesses: Extremely difficult to change lenses.
Doesn't come with lense that matches your color choice.
Review: I got my I3 for Christmas and was very pleased with the blue color. It was deep and rich. I thought that the blue film covering the lense was actually the lense color... and I think it would have been a better choice than just the clear. I looked over the instructions to change the lense... !!!!! looked hard. I gave up after a half-hour. I'll stick with the clear, till I get a master tech to change it. Nice mask, I got bounces off of it just from reffing. Sadly I also took 16 other hits that day... Oh well, thats the life of a ref.






Conclusion: Go ahead and buy it. It's a good, solid, high-end mask with some good looks to boot. Small profile and very flexy and soft material. Good job Dye... work on that lense change though...
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Splat1234 Tuesday, December 27th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month9 of 11 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
Less than a month
Marker Setup: 02
Egg2
Pure energy 48cu 3000psi
Strengths: comfy
cool
bounces
+ vision
Great ventilation
Weaknesses: Nothing
Review: I just got this mask on Christmas. This Mask is Great for beginners or pros. It is very comfy and has great ventilation. This mask has a decent price for what it is. it is bouncey stretchy ans seems very durable. It also comes with a waranty card and a vinyl carying bag so your lenses wont get scratched. THIS MASK RULES!
Conclusion: i give this a Flat OUT 10! Its way more comfy then other mask it has great vision and ventaltion. Also its pretty light. THIS MASK RULES

If this review was helpful please rate it
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, February 1st, 2006 at 2:37 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Zippered Tuesday, December 27th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Jt Enforcer
V-force profiler
Marker Setup: Tippman 98C
Dye Ultralite barrel
drop forward, 68/3000psi crossfire
upgraded internals
LPK, R/T, Viewloader hopper

Soon to come--
Bob Long Alias Intimidator
Infamous Board 5.0
Empire Reloader B
Ultralite Barrel
Strengths: Comfy
Soft for bounces
Vision
Ventilation
Weaknesses: None so far..
kinda pricey
sorta front heavy but not really
Review: I just purchased these goggles and so far they are absolutely amazing. The peripheral vision that they give you is amazing almost like your not wearing the goggles at all. The Mask itself is very soft to give you more bounces and the foam around the lenses is very thick and comfy and conform to your face. the ventilation is the best ive ever seen and it is damn near impossible to fog these things.
All in all they are great but they are a little pricey so if your trying to budget i would look at something else but if you have the money ( like me, god i love Christmas bonuses) than i would recommend these for sure.
Conclusion: All in all these goggles are the best that i have ever seen. I would recommend these to everyone who cares about their quality dispite the price.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

MikePaxs Monday, December 26th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Dye Invisions, Proflexs
Marker Setup: Nerve (Its the shi*!)
Shocktech DM5
Strengths: Bigger than its Daddy,
Lighter,
More padding def.. a plus!
Weaknesses: It leaves your opponents wondering why your mask just bounced a ball? lol
Review: Well, all of you who know me I'm Mike Paxson...now I want to start off by saying that we wore these at the end of the year and I must say...I'm impressed. When the invisions were around I still was amazed at how nice of masks they were but now...I'm just blown away. These really are nice masks. Bigger (for us adults that are done growing), and just flat out nicer converage. I can still use all my older Invision lenses that I have stockpiled in my closet (Don't tell Bea I wasted her Christmas money on that).

All in all, take it from me. These masks are worth the price

Wish us good luck on our next season...

Mike P.
Conclusion: These masks are worth the price. Dye makes incredible eqquipment but these masks are deffinately top of the line.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Monday, December 26th, 2005 at 8:51 pm PST
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

the 'kast man Sunday, December 25th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month51 of 54 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Proteus
Marker Setup: 04 Outkast
Lucky 15 barrel kit
PMI 68/3000 fiberwrapped and the same thing steel
Egg 2 with Y-board
E-2

old gun:
A-5

Strengths: Padding
Venting
Looks
Bounces
Protection
Low Profile
Periphrial Vision/Vision
Fogging
Comfort
READ REVIEW
Weaknesses: None
Review: You don't want to know how I got it, you want to know how good it is, so ill skip that part...

1) Padding- The padding is phenominal. I have a JT Proteus which is great. But this is even better. There is the ear padding which is nicely sized, and is very soft. Yet it doesnt block out sound. The eye section of the foam is great, it fits to your face perfectly. With all of this protection, the only way you know when you are shot in the mask, is when you see it on your lense, or hear a loud pop.

2) Venting- The venting is key. Sure, they sey it makes you easier to hear, but is it really true? YES! Who knows how, but the anglesof the venting makes it seem like you doin't even have a mask on, so its easy to hear anyone who has this mask on. Also along with venting comes heat. I only played one or two games with this mask, but there is the least possible amount of moisture i have ever seen in a mask. Usually, you can see and feel the moisture in the mask (Proteus is a big culprit). Don't get me wrong, the Proteus is a 10/10 as well, but it isn't quite as good as this (its cheaper).

3) Looks- Pretty straightfoward... The mask looks really nice. Serious consideration must have been put into the appeal of this mask, because it is very nice.

4) Bounces- Yes, I have only played so many games with this mask, but so far, it has been very successful. I probably got 4 or 5 bounces off of it in two days of play. The only mask-shot i that broke was on the lense.

5) Protection- For me, this mask protects my entire face, forehead and 3/4 of my neck. With the visor on, nearly my whole head is covered as well. The protection is how every mask should be. It's really one of a kind.

6) Even though it covers your whole face, it is "slim cut" so it just covers perfectly around your face and no extra.

7) Periphrial Vision- Simply put, you will forget it is on...

8) Fogging- Buy one and try to make it fog. It won't. I blew directly up on it, while playing in a game, nothing. It is unheard of.

9) Comfort- Every part of the mask that is touching your face is padding. Even the chin strap is pure padding. That is a first... The foam is soft, and forming, everything feels just right.
Conclusion: This is absolutely a perfect mask. If you really don't have the money, a proteus is also a great choice for around $60 new. However, I think it is worth it to save the extra $20 and get this. I am impressed. 10/10.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
10 Comments - Add Comment

Justyman84_18 Friday, December 23rd, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
JT Flex 7 (Owned for 4 years),
Dye Invision (only Tested),
JT Proteus (Only Tested)
Marker Setup: Smart Parts ION
12" Smart Parts Freak (All. back, AA Front)
Trinity QEV
Trinity Blade Trigger
Dye Sticky Grips
Shocktech Feedneck
Shocktech Long Drop
Warped Sports Cradle (on/off)
ACI Bulldog II (68ci, 4500)
Evil Regulator (High Pressure)
Macro Lining
Strengths: -Small and lightweight
-Attractive
-carrying case
-field of vision
-Chinstrap keeps it still
Weaknesses: - Little Pricey
- Hard to change lens
Review: On oppening the package, the Mask comes in probably the coolest looking box I've ever seen, yes, completely irrelivent but cool none-the-less. Openning the box I was immediately impressed with the size of the I3, it was tiny, especially in comparison to my Flex 7. Aswell, almost no weight at all to the mask, very impressive. A new feature is the Chin Strap whcih keeps the mask from moving even a little. I tryed to fog up the lens with everything I had, and couldn't, the air flow was very impresive (they did this by expanding outward on the front and keeping a tighter below your eyes. I was worried that I would experience pinching along the ear, but it fit prety much perfectly (and I have a huge head).
Conclusion: All around, the most impressive mask I've ever seen or used. I would strongly recommend it, even to the biggest headed MF out there ;-)
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (11):  First  |  7  |  8  |  9  |  10  |  11
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media