paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Dye i3 Invision 3 Mask / Dye i3 Invision 3 Mask / Dye i3 Invision 3 Mask

Dye i3 Invision 3 Mask Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Dye

Buy Dye i3 Invision 3 Mask

Paintball Masks / Goggles

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Dye i3 Invision 3 Mask
[ View Photos (24) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 110
Average Rating: 9.2 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $85

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
A product designed to protect your most important features deserves to be extraordinary. That is why the design team at Dye has harnessed the power of performance and style to create the Invision 3 with Tri-Mold Soft Flex Technology. A firm upper frame, co-molded with a soft dual-density, mask delivers a functional yet stylish advantage over the competition. This new technology sets the standard for comfort, flexibility and safety.

Features:

The Dye patented Forward Tab Retention System (FTRS) is the most secure
lens system available. It is the only lens-goggle application that features zero profile tabs with no extruding edges.Delivering safety and a clean looking style, the FTRS securely locks the lens into the frame under the most severe impacts.
2 stage foam is specifically designed to sheet sweat and moisture away from your face. Open and closed cell foam technology provides comfort and moisture wicking properties.
The patented Invision3 Multi-Directional Venting will throw your voice farther and clearer than any other vented mask on the field. Utilizing precise blade angling and a proven venting configuration, the Invision3 Multi-Directional Venting will make communication with your teammates effortless, as if there were no vocal obstructions.
Tri-Mold Soft Flex Technology offers various mask flexibility without sacrificing safety or performance. Utilizing a revolutionary process of co-molding, the Dye design team has developed a firm base frame, coupled with a very flexible facemask and patented venting system.
Silicone is out, woven rubber is in. The Invision3 retention strap system needs to be adjusted once and once only. Designed to fit your head and stay that way, like it should. The elasticity of the woven rubber straps will out last the competition.
Unilateral, audibly efficient ear protection, the Invision3 has a unique sound channeling design that offers unobstructed sound quality, providing three-dimensional hearing.
The anatomically correct Invision3 mask system offers the best of
comfort and performance for the player. Tested at twice the current ASTM
impact standards for safety. Good protection is key.
Low profile and removable, the Invision3 visor adjusts vertically to
provide maximum shade for your eyes and protection for your forehead.
The Invision's compound radius lens gives the player the ultimate in
vertical / horizontal peripheral vision and optical clarity. Setting the standard in visual performance, the dual-bowl lens design offers phenomenal visual performance.
The Invision3 goggle frame is molded from tear-resistant polyurethane and is designed with maximum flow-through ventilation. Designed to be anatomically correct and low profile to your face, the Invision goggle frame is a first in the paintball industry.
Combined with a secure goggle, the patented Multi-Directional Venting drastically reduces re-ventilated fogging. The Multi-Directional Venting also assists you with voice projection.
Adjustable comfort chinstrap to secure goggle during active play.
Product Availability 
The Dye i3 Invision 3 Mask is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (11):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  Last
        Next Page
blacklabel56 Saturday, September 1st, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
JT Proteus II
Marker Setup: Blue Dye DM5 with Tadao M3 chip, CP on/off, Ultralite barrel, 114/3000 tank
Strengths: Very Comfortable
Clear lenses
No fogging
Weaknesses: Chin strap gets to be bothersome
The foam could be thicker and put together better
Review: I got this mask on sale so I couldn't resist buying it. My first impression out of the box was a good one. The overall shape and style of the mask is unique and forms around the face very well for optimum protection. The soft foam is very comfy and but the issue I am worried about is whether or not the soft ear foam will remain stuck to the sides. In my opinion, they could've used a thicker foam all around. The comfort level of this mask is excellent, but I found that the foam in my JT Proteus mask to be plushier. When I used this mask for the first time, it performed better than I expected. The mask has excellent ventilation and it remained comfortable the whole night I used it. Another issue I had was clamping the chin strap when I was ready to play. I'm debating cutting out the chin strap all together because it becomes too much of a hassle. Also, I go white I3's and they tend to stain pretty easily (pink paint to be specific), so I would recommend getting a different color other than white.
Conclusion: Overall an excellent mask, this is a great mask in the $50-$60 price range. I wouldn't spend any more than that (MSRP = $80.) I would recommend getting a dyetanium lens to go along with the clear one for daytime play.
Rating:
8 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, September 1st, 2007 at 11:25 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

A5crazy06 Thursday, August 16th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Proto Switch FS
Proto Switch EL
Vforce Profiler
JT HeadShield
JT Nvader
Marker Setup: Smart Parts Ion
Empire Reloader B
n2 tank
Strengths: Intimidating/Professional Looks
Protection
Thermal Lense
Great Vision
Light
Comfortable
Great Venting
Weaknesses: Lense change
Expensive
Review: I tried this mask out one day on a one on one with a friend. The vision you get with this mask is amazing. It is very light and you almost forget your even wearing a mask. The foam is soft and comfortable. unlike many mask ive previously worn. The mask is very good looking is intimidating to many beginner/novice paintballers.
When i got home after paintball, I disassembled the mask. This is a pain! The mask is made of 4 parts, the strap, lense, lense frame, and lower frame/vents. Getting the lense frame off the lower frame is simple, but getting the lense out of the lense frame is very difficult. Its even harder to re-install the lense! The foam on my mask also started to peel, so I sent it back to Dye and they sent me a new lense frame. I havent heard of the foam peeling on any other i3s, so i dont let that get in your way when considering purchasing one.
Conclusion: I reccomend this mask to paintballers who are dedicated to the sport and play often.
This mask has it all (except easy lense change). There is no need for a paintballer who plays monthly or less to buy a $70 mask, when they can get a cheap, thermal-non fog mask for $40 or so.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

skateordie1219 Monday, June 4th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
3 months2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
JT masks

Proto Axis

Vforce
Marker Setup: Proto Matrix rail
Tadao musashi 7 PM7 board
Ultralight barrel with 12" and 14" tips
Crossfire 70/4500 Stubby
Halo B v35
Dye Invision i3 Goggle
Mantis 3+2 pack
Strengths: Bouncy
Comfy
Cool
Great lenses that dont scratch
good strap
Weaknesses: Costs 85 bucks
Review: Okay so i ordered this mask a few months back and i was a little sketched about spending 80 bucks on a mask. but i needed one (my old jt broke). So i got it and its so comfy. you barely know your wearing it. it keeps you nice and cool and really protects well. My favorite part is how bouncy this thing is. my friend hit me with his blackheart epiphany and i must have taken 20 rounds to the face. only ONE broke and it hit the lense. Speaking of the lenses they are spherical and give you a great view of your surroundings. they are also near impossible to scratch. also IT LOOKS SO DAMN COOL. it was worth every penny and i would recommend it to anyone.
Conclusion: Great mask once you get over the price.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

vs3 guy Saturday, May 26th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Nada
Marker Setup: Vs3, egg2, 20 oz, pmi razzor barrel
Strengths: Dye, thermal lense
Weaknesses: Nada
Review: These things r cool. I got one fo my birthday and it is so comfortable. I had no clue that it was flexible. I like that it is easy to take the visor on and off. It is the most comfotable thing i have ever worn. It is very light. I like that it has ear pads things. Isaw this kid that got shot in the ear and he said it hurt really bad.
Conclusion: I think u should get this mask
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Zheme Thursday, May 17th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Marker Setup: DM4 (Cobalt)
- Millenium chip
- Lighter bolt
- New ASA
Halo B
68/4500 air
Strengths: + Comfortable
+ Breathable
+ Space to glasses
Weaknesses: - Fogs
- Difficult to change lens
Review: This mask is very comfortable. I got my glasses in it very smoothly and many ways its good.
Then I went to play.
About in third game, lens was getting fog. I couldn't believe it, and I though that was my glasses. I just sweared in my mind and continued playing.
When I got hit, and went to take my mask off, I suprised badly. My glasses was clear and mask lens was fogged.

It was very annoying! Since then, every round I was playing, it fogged.

I pissed off that, and changed the lens. Few games, it was great and clear.
Then. Again that god damn lens fogged!
Damn!

Well, I got to say, that I sweat a lot, so..
But anyway, I didn't expect that from DYE.
Conclusion: It's awesomly comfortable.
You're glasses fits in easily.

I bought this at 40 euros, so it's not so bad price for that mask,
but if you sweat like a pig, do not buy this!

If you don't sweat that much, man. buy this mask!
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

alnmike Friday, May 11th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
2 years
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Crap rental masks
Marker Setup: Imagine, tricked out, reg, valve, bolt, striker, ect.

Vs3, stock. Fasta loader. Soon to be Evil Pipe kit
Strengths: Vision, sound, no fogging, looks cool.
Weaknesses: Lens removal
Review: I got this mask based off of reviews on this website. And now after over a year of using this mask, its awesome. Dye did great with this except for one thing and Ill get to that later.

Fogging: This thing refuses to fog, Im a big guy and I can run to the point that I almost threw up on a 60 degree day and this thing only had 1 barely perceptible spot of fog in a corner.

Dye reccomends replacing the lens every year, and ive finally gotten to that point. It keeps getting harder and harder to clean after a day of paintball. (Always streaks or water spots, ect.) And im a perfectionist, so I clean it till its spotless. Using cold water and minimum rubbing with a soft soft cloth.
Hence the problem when I finally decided to remove the lens. I have a blue mirror lens coming in the mail for my red I3, and I just got done removing the lens. The tips of my fingers hurt and I was thinking to myself that nothing replaceable should be this hard to replace. You have to push so hard that I can't believe the tabs didnt snap off.

Dye screwed up making the lens so hard to replace. They state in their manual that if it wasnt so hard, it would fall off, but thats just covering up bad design. Alot of other masks can be replaced in 30 seconds, and you dont hear of them falling apart mid-game.


Back to the good; amazing peripheral vision and sound acoustics. I don't even know I have the mask on until I get shot in the face. And one time, I got hit right in the mouth and called myself out. Turns out the wetness I felt was the condensation from my breath bounced off the mask into my beard and not paint. Ive gotten alot of bounces from this mask, my friend even had a bounce off his visor.

Conclusion: Absolutely amazing mask, except for the lens replacement.
I would give this a 10, but since you are required to take apart the lens every year, and its so hard to do without fckn up the lens itself, it gets an 8.

It might sound harsh, but perfect is perfect, and if theres a flaw, it needs to be noticed. Can't wait to see if dye fixes this problem in their next mask.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Chunkym0nkey Sunday, April 15th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
2 years
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Profiler, JT masks, other low end masks.
Marker Setup: Dust black with red parts 05 Speed
Tadao Angry Angel board
Empire Reloader B
Crossfire 70/45
New Designs volumiser
Redz Pepper stickz barrel kit
CP direct mount ASA
CP reg
Strengths: Comfortable
No fog
Mirror lense looks cool
Strap stays tight
Lots of vents
Weaknesses: Too small
Lens scratches easily
Can't wear glasses
Hard to change lens

Review: I bought this because of all the great reviews I saw. When I took it out of the box It came with a nice manual that describes how to take it apart and clean it, along with a microfiber bag, and a sticker. I bought this mask with a mirror lens because I don't like the the clear lenses. I looked in the manual for instructions on how to change the lens. I fallowed them exactly, but the lens was still hard to remove and change, I was afraid I would crack it.

I went and played with this mask for the first time in foggy/ misty/ light drizzle and it never fogged, but I still had a hard time seeing because I wear glasses. It has a lot of vents in it so you don't have to listen to yourself breath and so your team mates can listen to you. The strap stays tight, so the mask won't lift up too easily, which a good thing, but when I yell the bottom of my face hangs out. That cold be a problem if i get shot in the bottom of the mask while yelling. The bottom of the mask may deflect the ball right into my mouth which would hurt very bad.
Conclusion: The lens is fine as long as you don't need to change it often, but the size could be dangerous if you are yelling and you get shot in the chin.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

RandomSoda69 Sunday, April 8th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
none
Strengths: looks good,Comfort,the pading,and air flow
Weaknesses: Changing the lens
Review: What I really like is the comfort of this mask.I have used lots of diffrent masks and they just arent all that comfortable .BUt the vision is so crazy good I mean u can see so great it's just not funny.But for the lens it sucks to remove thats why i give it a 9.
Conclusion: If you don't have one get one they are FREAKIN AWSOME!!!
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

tullyx Thursday, April 5th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
3 months3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Proteus, Flex 7, Proto Switch, older Invision, VForce,
Marker Setup: 2007 Smart Parts NXT Shocker (blue)
basically stock except for new feedneck
Halo B with V35
Crossfire high pressure 68/4500
Dye Invision 3 (blue)
getting: a new on/off, Freak back
Strengths: Light
stylish
padding
venting
periphrial vision
comfortable
flexible
Slim Profile
chinstrap useful
Weaknesses: Pricey
changing lens
forehead/chin protection
none other than that
Review: I picked this up for Christmas last year for a relatively good price. I got it for around $65 as it was a closeout deal. I had used my friends older Invision and LOVED it but as soon as I got this and put it on, my paintball dreams of owning a near perfect mask were complete. Here's what I found out as I took it in game:

1. Comfort- This mask has to be the most comfortable mask on the market today. The padding is wonderful! The only thing that touches your face is the padding. The padding also doesn't get in the way of sound, so you can hear clearly and talk clearly.

2. Fit- As I said before, the padding is superb. The mask fits your face like a glove as well. It's almost like it was custom made for your face. This is due to the felxibility the mask has. It can fit nearly anyone comfortably. Achieving a slim profile is also aided by the mask. Since it conforms to your face so well, there is nothing that sticks out. Also, since the material used in this mask is so flexible, it also helps you get bounces. After playing with this mask for three months, the only breaks I have gotten were on the lense. No breaks whatso ever anywhere else on the mask. This mask is great for bonces.

3. Looks- This mask looks freakin' sweet. Especially since it is form fitting to your face, it fits like a tailored suit, and looks just as good. In fact, this mask looks so sexy, I might wear it to my best friends wedding, or to the club, or on my next big date. You will look good in this mask.

4. Protection- While the mask may feel a bit slim, it's actually got you covered quite nicely. The mask covers all bit a bit of your chin and forehead. It does come with a visor though that you can snap on if you so wish, which eliminates the exposed forehead. The chin however, remains losely guarded from hits. While I have yet to be shot in the chin while wearing this mask, My friend has been hit a few times. While it's not an often occurance, you can get shot in the chin perhaps easier witht he mask. I wouldn't worry too much though,the mask still offers great protection.

5. Vision- The best. It almost feels like you don't have a mask on when it comes to vision.

6. Fogging- Fogging is a thing of the past. With this mask, there is no such thing as fogging.

7. Venting- the venting is wonderful. There is no moisture in the mask, even on a hot day. You will notice this as you play. The mask is very breathable and the venting helps make the mask even more fogproof. When talking, people will hear you as clear as if you didn't have the mask on, the same with hearing. You could hear a pin drop while wearing this mask. No more confusion on the field, you can hear everything very clearly.

8. Cleaning- this is the main problem with this mask and probably the biggest argument against it. The lenses are a PAIN to change, especially the first few times. While this is the masks main drawback, if you can work around this problem and become keen to changing the lense/ cleaning, this mask will be the best you have ever owned.
Conclusion: This mask deserves a 10, but since the lenses can be a pain to change, Im giving it a 9. This mask is the best out there in my opinion and you will appreciate it's features such as the flexibility, lightness, and periphrial. Get this mask.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

fuzzy99 Sunday, March 25th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
VF Profiler
JT Spectra
Strengths: Look good
Flexible
Doesn't fog
Weaknesses: Very poor facial and head coverage
Very expensive
Review: Wow, great looking mask that CANNOT protect your face/head. Open your mouth and you may find yourself swallowing a paintball whole as most people chins stick out of the bottom including my own. Just have a look around next time you're on the field, look around at those wearing invisions and i3's and you too will find people with chin's hanging out.

Flexible, helps get some bounces. Also, minimal forehead coverage unlike other masks I've owned.
Conclusion: Great looking mask that cannot perform the basic and required function of a mask. Anyhow if you bought it, you were probably a sucker for Dye branded products and not really interested in a mask that will protect and perform well.
Rating:
1 out of 10
I found this review  
3 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (11):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media