paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Greg Hastings Tournament Paintball Max'd / Greg Hastings Tournament Paintball Max'd / Greg Hastings Tournament Paintball Max'd / Greg Hastings Tournament Paintball Max'd

Greg Hastings Tournament Paintball Max'd Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount

Buy Greg Hastings Tournament Paintball Max'd

Paintball Paintball Games

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Greg Hastings Tournament Paintball Max'd
[ View Photos (2) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 56
Average Rating: 8.3 / 10
Manufacturer Website: N/A
Suggested Retail Price: $40

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The original Greg Hastings game was a huge hit. Well now it's even better. All the things you wish you could have done in the original are now possible in the new MAX'D version. You can now jump over the snake. You can give your teammates commands before the game starts - tell them where to go off the break. It's also on-line enabled so you can play against people from all over the world. Go head-to-head or play co-op with 14 top pros including Greg Hasting, Keely Watson, Rocky Cagnoni and more. Includes 50 unique real-life locations, more than 129 new fields, and over 145 pieces of authentic licensed gear. You give tactical commands to other team members while viewing the playing field from a third-person perspective, similar to play calling in football video games. Use realistic paintball movements such as left, right, up, offense/defense and team based strategy as you control all the players of your team.
Product Availability 
The Greg Hastings Tournament Paintball Max'd is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (6):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
OhNoesXD Thursday, May 8th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
2 years5 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Strengths: See Review
Weaknesses: See Review
Review: Strengths
-Decent Replay Value
-Probably the only Paintball game availible on the PS2 Console.
-Online Play

Weaknesses
-Bugs
-Realism
-Gameplay brings no satisfaction
-Targeting System
-Marker Accuracy
-Ball Flight Physics
-FPS View
-Lack of customization
-"Shop" Prices
-Not as much equipment as there should be
-Voice Emotes are annoying

Bugs Include:
-Enemy AI Shooting Through Bunkers
-Hopper Refill bug
-Music bugs
-Lag on certain maps
Conclusion: Only worth getting because it's paintball.
Rating:
7 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, May 31st, 2008 at 1:21 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Ionic Moron Tuesday, March 18th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Various FPS and sports games on xbox and 360
Marker Setup: PMR w/ :
Blue Proto On/off
Clear CP Trigger
Blue Ndz Backcap
TechT L7 Bolt
Vlo Hopper
Empire Fuel 45/45 tank
Strengths: Accurate Gameplay in terms of gear, abilities, physics
Very fun on a rainy day
Weaknesses: Freezes SOO much on a 360, I cant even complete a tournament
Review: I bought this game for 15 bucks, its pretty good, fun, but campaign mode freezes so often and I have to restart my xbox 360...its still the next best thing to real pball though, but im not sure what its competing with..Also theres not alot of people online anymore...I guess the freezing scared them away.

Viva La Nation.
~Ionic Moron
Conclusion: Buy it if you have a regular xbox or just want to play with friends
Rating:
5 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Splatmaster68 Saturday, March 1st, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
1 year11 of 11 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Greg Hastings Tournament Paintball
Strengths: Multiplier on Xbox Live
Best Paintball Game Available
Semi-Realistic
Field Editor
Break Out Manager
Weaknesses: Lots of Glitches
Need Turbo Controller (See review)
Repetitive Single Player
Bad AI
Review: POSTIVES

Xbox Live
The multiplier on Xbox live has always been a highlight for this game. I only played this game because of this. Normally, you can easily find a room with a decent amount of people and play a good amount of games. Xbox live definitely makes this game a whole lot better than it would be without it.

Best Paintball Game out on a System
I remember buying one other paintball game for Xbox, and it was awful in comparison th GHTP max'd. If you are looking for a paintball game, this is it.

Semi-Realistic
The game abides by most of the physics of paintball and movements. Then again, there are a few questionable things such as marker speeds/prices. A few improvements could be made for how low accuracy insanely drops your distance or some of the wicked curves you get when shoot.

Field Editor
In GHTP Max'd, players can now create their own fields. It's pretty fun to design your own field and play them with friends online. Overall, it is a pretty good addition.

Break Out Manager
Finally, you are able to control your teammates.... to some degree. Now, you can instruct players to burn certain lanes and run to certain bunkers. While this is a great addition to the game/single player, there are many problems (see below).

NEGATIVES

Glitches
In this addition, they fixed the "rolly" glitch where players could crouch, snap up, and run forward and appear crouching while shooting in a standing position. Despite that, there still are some glitches present, and often exploited, such as the "Duck Walk" and switching which direction you shoot from the side. I don't see why these weren't fixed from the first game.

Need a Turbo Controller
If you join an online match with some players, you are bound to find that a good 70% of them have turbo controllers. This means these players can simply hold down the fire button, and shoot ropes of paint without pressing the trigger every time. It's pretty unfair to have a non-turbo controller up against a person with a turbo controller. I remember being able to empty a complete hopper in about 6 seconds with my turbo.

Repetitive Single Player
Each tournament is practically the same, besides the switching of the fields. Like the last GHTP, you have to consistently win tournaments and buy better markers to win. It gets very boring towards the end, but it is a necessity to get the golden marker for online play. (it is one of the best markers)

Bad AI
With the new breakout manager, your teammates almost never move up to bunkers that they ran too off of the break. Also, when they are set to burn a lane, sometimes they will shoot straight into a bunker no more than 5-10 feet infront of them. They will continue to shoot a line of paint into this bunker THE ENTIRE GAME. You would hope that they would shoot over or around the bunker or move to another bunker.

Conclusion: Overall, this game is pretty entertaining and addicting for those paintball fanatics. I recommend that you only buy this game if you have Xbox Live. Otherwise, the single player is pretty short and you will never play it again. I also advise if you buy this game that you look into a turbo controller so you can competitively play against others. Overall, it is a pretty solid, addicting game that has some minor issues.
Rating:
8 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, March 2nd, 2008 at 4:52 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Klim0009 Monday, January 14th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Greg Hastings Tournament Paintball
Marker Setup: 98 Custom
(When I Have enough money)
Barrel (unsure which one)
Folding Stock
Expansion Chamber
Response Trigger
Cyclone Feed
Rocket Cockit 2
Strengths: Semi-Realistic
Fun
Easy To Play
Weaknesses: Not Enough Mods
Repetative
Review: I am going to evaluate the pros and cons of this game.

Pros:
- Semi-Realistic - This game is pretty realistic. The only thing I dont like about it is that your team mates run in front of you when you are shooting at somebody. I also wish you had to buy your own paint and you had to pay to play a tournament.

- Fun - This game can give you hours of fun. Once you have beat the game, you can play on mutiplayer mode with your friends. You can also play on Xbox Live.

- Easy To Play - This game is really easy to learn to play. The controls are simple to learn and its really easy to aim and shoot.

Cons:
- Not Enough Mods - I think there are not enough mods. You can upgrade your gun, barrel, tanks, hopper and cothing but I wish you could buy stuff like regulators, expansion chambers and color of gun. I think that would make the gun a lot more fun.

- Repetative - This game is very repetative, if you play the tournament over again your opponents go to the same spot or close to the same spot.
Conclusion: Its fun but needs more mods.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

liteUup30 Friday, January 11th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
2 years
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Marker Setup: Spyder Imagine with a 14in J&J ceramic barrel, a viewloader evolution 2 with a z-board and a 12oz co2 tank
Strengths: Realistic, Variety,
Weaknesses: None so far
Review: I love this game. I played it with my uncle on his xbox and I had to have it. The only thing was I have a PS2. As soon as it came out for the PS2 I bought it. I love it. I have beat it several times. It is very realistic. Has a great variety of markers and players. The game is just flat out awesome. I like the PS2 version better for the main reason of the two finger trigger and all the buttons are right there. I always have problems reaching down to hit the white or black buttons on the xbox. And in this game you cant blink. Very fast paced and exciting. They should come out with a woodsball version of the same game.
Conclusion: BUY IT if you are a paintball junkie looking for something to do in the rain.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

Bandball50 Tuesday, November 20th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
None other PB Games
Marker Setup: Spyder Pilot ACS Black/Blue Fade, 12v Revy Clear, 2 9oz CO2 Tanks, 4 JT Speed Pods, Jt Slammer Harness
(trying to sell...anyone wanna buy for $200)
Strengths: Great Graphics
Cheap
Real Teams
Real Tournaments
Real Guns
Weaknesses: Online play is kinda crap expecially when someone is shooting top of the line guns.
Review: This is a great game to feel what its like to play paintball. I like all the teams, fields, tournaments, and guns. But, the only bad part is the online play. It changed so much from the offline play. If you shoot a DM6 or a XSV Ego, all someone has to do is get a field with a straight shot from one side to the other and walk the R1+R2/L1+L2 on the break and you kill someone. If it was more like the offline play, I could see it as perfect. I hope the new paintball game that is coming out the January is a little more realistic. But, I wish you could upgrade the gun like in real life. Or possibly have it where you can choose to play the tournaments online and buy upgrades when you connect the PS2 to the internet.
Conclusion: Its a great game but I wish it was a little more realistic.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Gun_boy123 Saturday, October 6th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
1 year0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
SPLAT!
Marker Setup: 2005 Superstock Autococker
Warrior Paintball clamping feed neck and on/off asa
Empire Reloder B
Strengths: FUN!
Fun!
and more fun!
Weaknesses: Gets repetative
Review: It is really really fun and it makes your fingers move faster.
It gets repetative when its like 7 man tournament then you win and another and another and on and on.
The guns should be on semi instead of ramping make it better.
They need to make a new one.
Conclusion: You should BUY IT!!!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Razgriez Tuesday, September 18th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
1 year0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
None
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98 Custom
14" SP Progressive Barrel
Ricochet Apache or VL Evolution 2
Vertical air kit with Expansion chamber grip.
20 OZ CO2 with Remote line
PCS Folding stock
BT Bolt cover
Strengths: Availible on GC,Xbox,PS2
Number of fields.
semi-Realistic AI.
Weaknesses: -Speedball only
-Cheating allowed
lack of customization
Slows up
Review: Concept: Base a game about 99% on Tourney ball including such important skils as: Cheating, Burning a "lane (Read: fire hundreds of rounds into empty air) and "how to pull a trigger Insanely fast, then. Sell to mass millions of gamers. *End Sarcastic rant*

Essentially if your like playing speed/tourney ball, you'll probably like this game., to be fair also, You CAN turn off cheating in game. but the fact that they included cheating/wiping in the first place bugs me.

For the Burning a lane comment, I'm joking partially, as I know that is a somewhat viable tactic in real speedball, but your AI team mates assigned to burn a lane will NOT change plans even if an opposing player is moving up on them from a different angle.

Also a slight minor gripe is the fact that it seems that every player has the attitude of an 11 yr old who loves shouting "PWN3D N00B!!!" when they finally hit something and with such things as "Humilating" your opponet by lighting him up with oh say 30+ shots or so, (I don't call that "humiliating" I call that other things unfit for print, and asking for you to get punched in the face if you do that in real life)

Graphics: Their relatively ok, but could be better., Also it seems that it doesn't matter what gear you choose, as even if you choose a low profile marker/hopper, your hit box doesn't change, also some markers seem strangely larger then they should be. Detailing seems a little bit lost though. Finally even if you buy a new pair of goggles, your view inside never changes from that of the inside of a JT Proteus mask

Controlls (PS2 Version!) : Over all, the mapping seems good and well mapped out, no complaints here. The fact that you can tap both trigger buttons (either R1+R2 or L1+L2) works great.

Sound: Music wise. it's ok, not the greatest sound track ever. but least most will be able to stand listening to it. Voice over wise........ Ugh... it's just crap. you can't hear anything your opponets shout out any commands, it doesn't seem to matter where you on the field because aside from the "What? no way" phrase when hit. you can hear your team mate shout that theres a guy "Back left!" just the same volume and direction no matter where you are. Theres a lack of variety in voices for them and when one of your opponets tags you out, they make sure they let you know it in no uncertain terms by shouting such lines as "Get in the Dead Box Fool!"

Gameplay: This is where the game starts to really falter. it's repetitive. and you'll quickly learn that 7-8 out 10 times, if you can sneak up the tape line/snake, and get behind or to the side of the opposing team, you can easily cause havoc and take out several opposing players. Also Marker customization is extremely lacking.

a further complaint is the "Turbo-Controller" penalty: this seems to occur often if you rapidly press then trigger buttons fast enough., When this happens, your reduced to a meager 3balls/per second for your entire team and no matter who else you take control of, it still applies for that round.
Now if your player coming from other FPS games, you'll definetly thing the number of game types are lacking (with only 3, Elimination Center flag CTF and normal CTF, but essentially, all 3 are the same as the flag hang seems secondary to taking out the opposing team most of the time.

your team's AI seems also kinda lacking, and afraid to make the major play moves (such as having one person giving covering fire while another moves up) and to top it all off are some major slow downs in game play when the paint starts to really fly.

*NOTE: no review availible for Online play as I do not own a network adaptor for the PS2

Conclusion: In the end if you like Speedball style of play. you may like this, and the score would possibly be a 7. Otherwise for non speedball players, about a 6 or 7 at most. For all others looking for another FPS game to play, it's a 5.
Rating:
6 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, September 19th, 2007 at 6:46 pm PST
I found this review  
3 Comments - Add Comment

Kjoe1992 Friday, June 22nd, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
The original greg hastings game
Marker Setup: umm its a video game
Strengths: Very fun realistic and multiplayer
Weaknesses: Co-op is only 3 player
Review: This game is awesome it really catches the fun in paintball, you have to start off with a bad gun but when you get better guns its more fun. It is split screen multiplayer and online plus its co-op in career mode. When you play multiplayer you can be any pro or your own career mode player.
Conclusion: ITs awesome
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

mulletman72 Sunday, June 17th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
GHTP 1
Marker Setup: SP ion, white body, NDZ autococker breach (blue), NDZ clamping feed neck (blue), CP rake trigger (blue), shocktech drop and air adapter, knock out 2 piece barrel, 360 QEV, halo b rip drive, 88/3000 java tank.
Strengths: Great game good fields
Weaknesses: Could have gotten newer guns and other brands of stuff
Review: Great game i loved it ... i would have rather had other guns in the xbox version. or atleast gotten some of the guns the pro guys had

Could have added more tournys and new tournys i would have licked to see some smart parts guns in there and instead of making the last three prizes guns make them money or like good guns two of the three sucked!
Conclusion: Pretty good second game!
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (6):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media