paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Tippmann C-3 / Tippmann C-3 / Tippmann C-3 / Tippmann C-3

Tippmann C-3 Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Tippmann

Buy Tippmann C-3

Paintball Pump / Stock-Class Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Tippmann C-3
[ View Photos (5) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 32
Average Rating: 7.8 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $229

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The Tippmann C-3� with PEP (Propane Enhanced Performance) technology is the world�s first propane powered paintball marker. With more than 50,000 shots per 16-ounce tank, you can spend more time playing paintball and less time trying to find a place to fill your CO2 tank. Propane provides the same effective range as C02, but it is not affected by temperatures and has the same consistency as Nitrogen or compressed air. Propane is a safe form of fuel used in many household items and the propane canisters can be picked at many retail locations at a fraction of the cost of C02.

The new C3 is a Pump Action marker that will appeal to players wanting to focus on strategy and marksmanship as well as new players looking for a fun and easy way to play paintball. The C3 is an aluminum and composite construction and features a 13� mandrel wrapped composite barrel for added accuracy and reduced weight. MSRP $229.

Caliber: 0.68
Action: Pump Action
Power: Propane
Firing rate: 4 BPS
Trigger: Standard
Barrel length: 13 Inches
Length: 17.5 inches
Weight: 3.75 lbs (without propane tank)
Effective Range: 150+ ft
Product Availability 
The Tippmann C-3 is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (4):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4
        Next Page
Buhju Friday, January 27th, 2006
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested4 of 14 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
No other pump markers
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98 Custom A.C.T.
-14M4 Apex
-Laser Sight
-Offset Rail
-Response Trigger
-Tippmann Triumph SSL
-Expansion Chamber
Zeus G2+
Recommended
Upgrades:
None available
Strengths: Propane, accurate, more of a challenge
Weaknesses: Smells bad
Review: I originally thought this was going to be a good gun, but I was wrong. I'm so glad I didn't buy one. When I tried this gun it was winter and initially I liked it and considered getting one because I could get a lot of shots out of not a lot of gas and it was accurate but after about 50 shots it didn't work anymore. I pumped it, pulled the trigger and nothing happened, eventually it must have ignited something in there because just before I informed Tippmann I shot it one last time and it shot flames and smoke out of the barrel. I asked many other owners of the gun and they said they had the same problem with shooting it in the cold. The problem was that the electronic trigger doesn't ignite the propane in the winter very well. Tippmann said that this would be good for winter because propane isn't effected by weather like CO2 is, and it isn't but the electronic trigger is. F.Y.I.: this was the reason I got my Zeusg2 as a second gun instead of the C-3
UPDATE: I sent it back to Tippmann to fix it and it didn't work any better. I sent it back to them for a third time and they sent me a new one. This is an awesome gun NOW. All I can think of is when I ordered my gun, I got a bad one.
Conclusion: This is a good gun even though my original one didn't work. Thats why I'm giving it a 6
Rating:
6 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, September 13th, 2006 at 7:35 pm PST
I found this review  
18 Comments - Add Comment

Dan buddy Sunday, January 22nd, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month19 of 19 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder tl-x
Pirhanna
tippmann custom 98
Marker Setup: Stock
Recommended
Upgrades:
Can't think of any
Strengths: Gas Efficiant
Acurratte/Precise
Rugged/Quality gun
Will save me money
Weaknesses: Only thing is that it is high profile
Review: Ok so I picked this gun because i live in a rural area where C02 and compressed air refills are inconvenient, so upon learning about a tippmann that uses propane (which is readily available around where I live) I thought this could my life easier when it comes to paintball.
After I purchased it in town (Columbus, OH) at the local Central Ohio paintball store along with some paint, i took it right home and gassed it up with the 16.4 ounce propane tank in my dads garage (we already had one sitting in the tool cabinet) I took out into our back yard ( a huge 6 acres of basically woods) I decided to break it in and get a feel for it.
Right away I noticed How much time tippmann put into it to make it a quality product, it felt like a solid rugged gun that will last a long time.
Also after shooting it a couple times to get the gas flow working properly i loaded the paint in the hopper and I will tell you this gun has great accuracy, also it just felt comfortable in my hands which I know helped me aim better, it felt natural and clean to fire, the pump action feels cool too almost like a shotgun or something i don't know it just felt cool.
I've relied on this gun in plenty of woods ball rounds playing with and against friends who used 98 Customs and spyders and this gun WILL hold its own and more it is extremely reliable from what ive seen so far and requires little maintenance. After I got used to the pump action it uses I was able to spray enough to pin down 2 enemy players at the same time, thanks to its amazing accuracy and natural feel. I feel really good about this gun and the PEP technology it uses.
Conclusion: All in all I bought this gun because i thought it would make my life easier and I can honestly tell you it did, I know it will last a long time, will eventually save me money after long term use, and as a plus is a real real quality gun. I definitely recommend this gun to someone living in rural areas, or to anyone who wants a quality pump action marker and can realize the long term money saving benefits.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

erpgean09 Wednesday, December 28th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
First pump ever
Marker Setup: Spyder Fenix
Dye sticky grip
j&j ceramic 14" barrel
Ricochet elec. hopper
Recommended
Upgrades:
None out
Strengths: Very accurate
Feels solid
50,000 shots off a $2.17 propane tank
Weaknesses: Very hard to clean
Review: I just received this gun for christmas, and I love it. When I first got it I took it on the back porch and it fired right out of the box.(I figured out that before you put your paintballs in, you should pump it and fire it with the propane until it starts to fire, to warm it up). The first problem I noticed was that it wasn't feeding correctly, but the problem was that the barrel wasn't pushed in far enough, easy fix with a little force. After I fixed that it has been working smoothly ever since. I've only chopped 2 paintballs out of around 3 hoppers full. The only other problem with the gun is how hard it is to clean. If you burst paint in it you have to comepletely take the gun apart because the squeegee included will only clean out the barrel sometimes.
Conclusion: Overall this is a great gun, besides how hard it is to clean, it shoots great and I think that it is a great gun for woodsball or target practice in the backyard. I give this gun a 9 out of 10.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

Chrisfire69 Sunday, November 20th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month4 of 10 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
SL68 and a Phantom
Marker Setup: Ion
68/4500 3a tank with empire cover
Empire reloader b (black cherry shells)
New Dezigns blade trigger
Pro touch grips
32 degree's flame drop
14inch black All american
Q-lock feedneck]

C3
16.4oz coleman tank
200 round hopper
Recommended
Upgrades:
non that i can think of and there is non
Strengths: Shots
no weight to it
looks awsome
Weaknesses: Smell when you screw thank in/out
Review: So anyways got it today at my sponsors field and gased it up and it makes a clicking noise because of the spark plug. Pumped it and it shot once then it wouldn't shoot. So i had to frig with the propane regulator at the end of the asa and with the velocity but after awhile of frigging around i got it shooting. So over the chrono i got 286,285,282 so it wasn't bad. Played with my 500 rounds until it was all gone and i did pretty good.

Everyone will want to shoot the gun and will wanna know how it works so be prepared to tell them. It was gross the smell of propane when you screw it in and out so watch out where you do this at so you dont smell up some place. Good gun i think its worth it because you get alot of shots and a pump cause pumps are awsome.
Conclusion: Its a pretty good gun get it if you want a pump for woods. Also its made by Tippmann so if anything breaks you can get great customer service on it
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Monday, November 21st, 2005 at 6:53 am PST
I found this review  
6 Comments - Add Comment

paulknoch Friday, November 11th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
N/A
Marker Setup: Special Ops A5A2 with E-grip, Lapco Big shot barrel
Recommended
Upgrades:
None available but I would like to see a better forearm grip become available.
Strengths: Propane - 50,000 shots. What more do you need to know?
Weaknesses: Big, somewhat heavy, loud, and not everyone likes a pump.
Review: Overall I am pretty pleased with my Tippmann C3 (Serial #00056). It looks more like an oversized pistol than a rifle but it feels fine in your hands. Its a little tricky threading the propane tank in at least for me but its probably just something I am not doing right.

A few pumps and the gun began firing. Its very loud. Like a rifle. The pump stroke is long and has a noisy action like a shotgun loading a shell into the breach. Its not a bad sound. If anything, it adds to the realism. With the loud report, this could be a really intimidating gun. If you had five or six of these on a field, it would sound like a war zone.

My initial chronos were all over the map. A couple even registered over 350 if that is possible. Accuracy was good in that you point the gun where you want to shoot and it seems to hit the mark. I did break one ball in the barrel when I didn't complete a full pump stroke.

Even though its a pump, you can fire this gun fast enough to lay down suppressive fire or push back an oncoming opponent.

I was a little nervous using a propane tank the first time but I have quickly gotten more comfortable. In many ways, its easier than a CO2. There is a bit of odor when you screw in and screw off the tank but theres no hiss and spray like a CO2 tank.

Hopefully this gun will have the famous Tippmann durability. Only time will tell.
Conclusion: For anyone who enjoys new technology or doesn't want to deal with constantly refilling a C02 or air tank, this marker is worth a look. It may not be for everyone but in my opinion its one of the best ideas to come out of paintball in a long time.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
3 Comments - Add Comment

hellspawn129 Saturday, November 5th, 2005
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested4 of 65 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
no pump gun
Marker Setup: ION
Freak kit
48/4500psi pure energy hpa
evo 2 loader w/ y board
morph mask
Recommended
Upgrades:
none out its a new gun
Strengths: New propane technology
50,000 shots per tank
Weaknesses: Barrel
Accuracy
Review: Ummm Where do I start, This gun has a great new technology with the propane tank idea, i felt like hooking mine up with a remote and putting a propane tank on my back (one of the ones for your barbeque), thought it would be funny.

Strengths
well i dont know what size tank they expect 50,000 shots out of, but with mine im hoping for a lot more...lol

any thing else youd find in a pump gun

Weaknesses
First off the accuaracy (as with most stock barrels) is pretty horrid, the biggest problem with that is there no barrel changing with this gun, and if there is the threads are very ummm unique

The fact that theres no customizability to this gun, i dont want my gun looking just like everyone elses

Its heavy and has the cylinder thing on it makes it feel awkward and look really big

I pumped and then pulled the trigger 3 time before it actually fired

Slow firing rate, as would be exxpected with a pump

Barrel cant be removed, hard to clean barrel in game, when ball chops

OMG the smell the it releases oh wait thats jjust propane... but either way IT STINKS
Conclusion: I wouldnt recommend this gun for anyone, the 50,000 shots per tank is useless on a pump gun... self explanitory of why
-If tippmann made a semi-auto gun using the same propane system it would make more sense, firing more paint means more air. but they need to make a threading for it and some sort of freak kit to go along with it
Rating:
3 out of 10
I found this review  
31 Comments - Add Comment

stray bullet Friday, November 4th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested16 of 18 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Apex Elite/ Pump
Brute II/ Pump
Marker Setup: Stock
Recommended
Upgrades:
None...
Strengths: Designed extremely well.
Weaknesses: Can't really think of anynow
Review: Well I got mine today and the serial number is 77, cool.
Overall the C3 seems to be large compared to the traditional stacked tube design but so did my WM Assault 80 when I first got it until I started to play and it just didnt matter because my mind was on other things. The gun grip is big but seems to give the kind of leverage you will need to control the marker when you start pumping like mad. As for the pump grip its just as beefy in proportion as the gun grip. I like this because it seems that your using your muscle power to pump and nothing is wasted trying to hold on to the grip, which may help rapid firing. When you cock the C3 its almost eerie because in a strange way it sounds real. Dont ask why, just try cocking one. The action is fairly smooth and there is no buildup of tension since your not compressing a spring compared to traditional markers. Its a pleasant benefit of the new technology which makes the overall action very smooth. There is a lot of composite in this marker just like the A-5. This doesnt worry me because I own an A-5 and it has operated flawlessly since the day I bought mine which was within the first three months of its debut. Now this is a matter of opinion but with a composite barrel is the only way the C3 could live up to the legendary Tippmann reputation for dependability. One of the by products of burning propane is water vapor, and with a metal barrel condensation would be a major problem especially if a ball has been sitting in the chamber for a while. Leave it to Tippmann and they will cover all the angles. Thats why Im not worried about the design. Surprisingly the bore of the barrel has a mirror finish for a "plastic" barrel. I'm guessing that the mandrel wrapped composite barrel is another sign of Tippmanns application of innovation and the future of paintball. Instead of removing material like the currant manufacturing processes of boring or cutting barrels then having to polish etc.. The future is going to be the layering and the building up of materials. Which is stronger, lighter and leads to less waste thus less pollution. On top of that its much faster from start to finish product, cutting the bottom line, improving quality and giving Tippmann more capitol to invest in R&D. I havent had a chance to put it over a chrony but it seems consistent and the balls fly where I point it. The report is unlike a paintball marker and is more like a .22 rifle, instead of a pop it's more like a crack. Its fun to shoot and will always take it with me to games if I want to play on the cheap, dont want to drive 45 minutes one way to get Co2, batteries go dead in the electro, etc.. get the point? As for the heat issue other people have already said it. Not much else
Conclusion: The bomb it's not, sorry for the pun. Rec and woods players will love this thing all hail Tippmann.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Friday, November 4th, 2005 at 2:56 pm PST
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

omaharacer Wednesday, November 2nd, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested18 of 19 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
No other pumps -
98c w/ Flatline, Cyclone, Response Trigger, Pro-Team Expansion, 20 oz, Rocket Cock II
Marker Setup: Stock C3 w/ Coleman 16.4 oz Propane
Recommended
Upgrades:
None, yet
Strengths: Lighter/smaller than my Custom 98, & 50,000 shots per tank!
Weaknesses: Exhaust blows out front (onto your hand) if not fully cocked back out when fired.
Review: Bought it from eBay - Serial 158 (haha, only 1 after the last guy!). Anyways, after I opened the box, which actually has two flaps holding it together. I took it out and hooked up the propane tank (Coleman for $2.17 at WalMart). Quickly read through on how to set it up - but it seemed like it was running a little too rich, after pumping, you had to pull the trigger several times before it would fire. After a little adjusting, and about 5 minutes later I got it firing great.

First off, there is NO fire whatsoever coming from the gun, the combustion occurs inside and the exhaust leaves the gun through small holes.

The black paint is a nice coating that looks like it can take some hits without any problems.

I am a little concerned about the propane adjustment for lean/rich. There is a little knob with an allen wrench hole for adjustment on the "regulator" where you screw the tank into. This really isn't that tight, and could get slightly moved if touched. This really isn't a concern though unless you take a direct hit with a paintball and it moves a little.

The first thing I noticed with the trigger was the electonic "spark"/clicking sound when you pull the trigger. Which by the way is incredibly light w/ very little resistance.

Tested it out trying to fire as quickly as possible and felt something push out on my hand. I happened to do this later as well. Aparently if you don't cock it all the way back and fire, it will push the exhaust right out onto your hand - which was really warm at the time. Maybe this is Tippmann's way of telling you that you need to cock it all the way back before you fire. LOL.

Stuck a backup hopper on the top and test fired it with some balls, no chopping, and pretty good range on it as well. I still need to chrono the gun before I make any final decisions on the speed/range/accuracy though.

The body did get very warm after several shots (20+), seems like it would be great for winter when my hands get cold.

The squeege that comes with it seems awkward and wouldn't fit down the barrel, not sure if this is because I don't know how to use it or what? Also it comes with the nice "Tippmann" barrel condom.

The marker includes a little tube of oil, and two allen wrenches, and the instruction manual. You NEED to read through this before-hand, otherwise you can really mess something up.
Conclusion: This is my first pump gun, probably will never need to purchase another tank, maybe a battery in the future though. Maintanence is minimal with a battery purchase in the future. Tippmann never said anywhere on how long the battery lasted, I wouldn't want to be playing and the battery die. If it did, there wouldn't be a problem pulling the side off and replacing the battery though.

Seems like a good gun to have if you are just playing around, or never want to refill a CO2 tank after every game. MSRP was $229, I picked it up for $210 shipped on eBay, you can find others a little cheaper as well. Nobody locally had the C3, or even heard of them yet. I will definately pick up the semi-auto version when Tippmann comes out with that.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
8 Comments - Add Comment

Doctor Jelly Tuesday, November 1st, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Coleman grills
Marker Setup: Tippmann A-5, E-Grip, JCS Dual trigger, Flatline, Flatline quick release bolts, LPK with Tippy secondary regulator, Tapco M249 SAW stock, Pure Energy carbon fiber 68ci 3000psi tank, all wrapped up in Mossy Oak Break Up Camo Form.
Recommended
Upgrades:
At this time thare are none.
Strengths: Lots of shots per tank
Weaknesses: Exaust
Sometimes it won't inject enough propane into the chamber
Review: The C3 is ugly at first, but it starts to grow on you after a bit. It's easy to stip down and clean for basic maintenence but a bit more difficult for a full strip down (which means cleaning the fuel injector, spark plug, combustion chamber, etc.)

Here is my original review on SpecialOpsPaintball.com (there are pictures).

http://forum.specialopspaintball.com/index.php?act=ST&f=
35&t=27899&s=4da75c5a82c0e488ba345a9a52a46d02
Conclusion: This is a cool gun but currently not worth the money, just wait until Tippmann releases a semi-auto version.
Rating:
8 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, November 3rd, 2005 at 3:34 pm PST
I found this review  
11 Comments - Add Comment

jayhuse Monday, October 31st, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month21 of 23 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippman 98, Ion, Shocker, Phantom, Overlord & Core Z
Marker Setup: Stock
Recommended
Upgrades:
None available
Strengths: No refilling tanks
No needed upgrades
Really accurate
Money Savings
Weaknesses: Weight and it is a pump
Review: Ok, I bought this little mareker onlin and played with it last Saturday. I must say I am really impressed. A few friends and I went out to my brothers farm to do some test shooting with all of our markers. We werer basically holding a mini-contest on target shooting and getting a feeling of the marker. I stopped off before and bought a $2.00 16oz tank of propane. I basically shot all day long. In all we shot about $25.00 in co2 12gs and 2 full tanks of compressed air. The nice thing is we were not even worried about refilling the Propane tank. A few jokes were made about how we could still camp out and cook some steaks on the the left over propane.

Anyway the marker is very nice, shoots very accurate and I do not see any need for ANY upgrades. Yea thats right I will say it again. I do not see a need for any upgrades. It is what most guys would say if you bought a Phantom. The thing runs great as is god bless.

I have a Phantom and actually prefer the C-3 Tippman over it. The C-3 pump stroke is alot longer. The pump feel is similar to a real shotgun 20 Gauge. I felt at home over longer stroke versus the really short pump of the Phantom. Some die hard pumps guys will either hate this marker or love it. I am the latter. It is a heavy marker unlike the phantom. The marker has a huge heat sink that heats up a little but nothing to be concerned.

The marker worked great out of the box and was consistent. One IMPORTANT note to mention is that in the above reviews they mentioned inconsistent shooting and I think I know why. Essentially when you first shoot the marker it reminds me of a gas powered lawn mower. You kind of have to prime it up and warm it up with a few test shots. This really is not a big deal once you see what i mean. The only problem i could see is if you are playing woodsball and going on an extremly long time without shooting. I think what happens is that the Propane in the cyclinder dissapates some or something so that it runs a little lean. The solution is just fire a shot once in a while to keep it going no big deal.

Now this gun is not for everybody since it is a pump but the feel of the marker is great. The only issue I have with it is the pump seems a little stiff. I would like to OIL it up some or hopefully it will have a break in period an such.

The setting are easy to understand and the only drawbacks I see are the weight. See below for my conclusion.
Conclusion: The C-3 reminds me of when I was a kid down in the creek shooting stumps, frogs flies and what not. The pump simply reminds me of the endless supply of air made by the cocking my old daisy and crossman air rifles. If you are looking for a gun to target shoot, our practice the pump style of play this marker is it ! You can basically ditch your c02 cartriges or co2 tanks. It honestly felt wierd after shooting all day and putting up my marker not working about going back to the filling station and if you buy one you will feel the same way.

I see this technology changing paintball. If the product holds together I see it being a 10, but as of right now I give it a 9 because it is so new.
My advice is if you are not totally wanting a semi gun then buy this marker it is going to be something special.

thanks
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
7 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (4):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media