paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / REX Paintball R2 / REX Paintball R2 / REX Paintball R2 / REX Paintball R2

REX Paintball R2 Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount REX Paintball

Buy REX Paintball R2

Paintball Low-End Electronic Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


REX Paintball R2
[ View Photos (2) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 6
Average Rating: 9.5 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: N/A

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
325 to 400 psi operating pressure
Use CO2 or N2/compressed air for air source
Blow-back sear electronic design with low-rise clamping feedneck
Spyder compatible barrel thread
ACS (anti-chop system) anodized aluminum field-strip bolt
Quick-strip bolt/striker system and angled drop forward
BPS (cap at 20), Sensor, Power Saving and more adjustments
7.2V NiMH rechargeable battery pack and back-lit LCD user interface
Data port for software update and power recharging
Semi, Auto and Burst shooting mode selections
Bounce-beam sensor system and tournament lockout mode
In-line operating pressure and low pressure regulators
Power-saving roller sear for smooth and lighter trigger pull
ASA (air system adapter) system and operating pressure gauge
Polish anodized exterior and 3-D machined body milling
Product Availability 
The REX Paintball R2 is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
JBemus Tuesday, February 23rd, 2010
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
6 months0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder Rodeo, JT Tac-5M, Tiberius Arms T8, Viewloader Triad, Viewloader Orion, Brass Eagle T-Storm
Marker Setup: JCS 5.5" Special barrel
Python compression system barrel sizing
Viewloader Evolution 2 Hopper
remote line with 40ci HPA
Recommended
Upgrades:
600 psi pressure guage
Strengths: Excellent construction & style
Easy maintenance
accurate
fast
great value
Spyder barrel compatibility
Weaknesses: Comes with a 1200 psi pressure guage
Teething problems
Review: Paintball is a hobby for me, and I really enjoy it, but I'm not the kind to put tons of money into my markers. I'm happy with my mechanical markers for most of the woodsball that I play, but occasionally I'd feel very outgunned on some fields where electros were prevalent. Since all of my markers are Spyder barrel compatible, when I found the Rex R2 on ebay for about $80 delivered it seemed like it would give me a more competitive marker for some games.

When I recieved it and gassed it up for the 1st time it was leaking. I couldn't get it to stop. I realized I was having a hard time seeing what the actual pressure was set to, so I purchased a 600 psi guage. When I gassed it back up it read 550 psi, so turning down the psi to 400 stopped the leaking and now it works correctly.

Since the initial teething problems it has proven to be reliable and accurate. The trigger is very touchy and wobbles side-to-side a little, but for what I wanted it's ideal.
Conclusion: A great value for a fast 20 bps marker with Spyder compatibility. If you are comfortable doing your own maintenance I would recommend this marker
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

Rohou Wednesday, November 4th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
1 year4 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder Victor -- I like it. It's reliable, but i love this gun a lot more.
Spyder MR1 -- Good gun, I've never had it, but used it and i prefer the R2. It's a lot faster than the MR1 and a lot better.
Tippman 98 -- I hate it. Takes forever to take apart (in comparison to spyder or rex)
Pirhanah -- I don't like pirhanah, they're low end pieces of junk that ppl rip you off with.
Marker Setup: I have an R1 with and R2 chip upgrade.
I use everything stock.
Recommended
Upgrades:
You'll probably want to find a new feed neck if you want to get a fast loader.
A new barrel would be nice, but 12" stock is still really good.
Just because you can upgrade to the "cleaner" gas. that doesn't mean you need to. Co2 works perfectly fine.
Strengths: Price -- very reasonable
Spyder compatible
User friendly
Semi-auto -- Full Auto -- Burst
Weaknesses: Different form -- not easy to work on
O-rings break easily
Battery life low
Review: I like the glossy paint. You have options of picking fading colors from back to front. The trigger is cool and flat. the grip is really nice, it has an lcd screen on it and button controls on the back. It charges fast and does everything that I would ever want it to do. It's a really good upgrade for those who are useing victors MR1s and especially tippman 98s
Conclusion: I love the gun! It's really nice. Shoots great. a fun upgrade from my older ones.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Rom75 Tuesday, December 2nd, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
1 year10 of 12 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder VS
Spyder pilot
Marker Setup: Spyder MR1 Gravity feed Apex barrel
Rex R2 Halo
Recommended
Upgrades:
14 inch barrel micro fiber.
any 14inch barrel
Strengths: Very cheap to buy.
Spyder compatable
20+ bps
digital grip
Weaknesses: Weak firing spring
Heavy!
Need a drop forward to use a decent bottle.
Review: I bought this marker online for only $85.00. WOW. It was brand new. came with a very nice plastic carrying case. It was luped and ready to go. cranked to 20 pbs right away with no breaks. Replaced the Barrel with a 14 inch and it was spot on. Attached a halo hopper and it looked like a rope was coming out of my barrel across the field. I have had no malfunctions since purchasing it and have not need to upgrade anytime soon. This thing is a beast! The weight is something to frown at thought if you are not an adult like me. You know you are carring a piece of hardware across the field. I don't have a problem with this, but younger weaker people may. Trigger is very sensitive! Breath wrong and it goes off. You might have to loosen or tighten depending on your preference.
Conclusion: If you are just beginning with paintball buy this marker. You may have to search the internet a bit but it is worth it trust me. Cheap, and can be swapped with any Spyder part.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

shenkyei rambo Sunday, September 7th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
a few shots from an alias timmy,
ion,
PMR, a couple others i cant name off hand
Marker Setup: 98C ACT
18" opsgear interceptor barrel
tasco red dot sight
opsgear G36 folding stock
opsgear sight riser
opsgear dishka muzzle brake
48/3000 HPA tank (steel body)
JT mask
pine tree ghillie suit
Recommended
Upgrades:
maybe a barrel?
Strengths: Pretty accurate
Loud (good or bad, depends what you like)
Weaknesses: Loud (good or bad, depends what you like)
Not really heavy*
Review: note: all this info was from a 20something round test
* to the heavy part, its not a big factor, and its not that noticeable. its mostly the air tank that adds the weight.

onto the review.

i tested this gun at an annual big game, and i shot about 20 something rounds out of it. not very impressive, and the paint i was using was canadian-tire worr domination paint.

it seemed pretty accurate, even though i had no actual target, it still seemed accurate.
i found it a bit loud, but its got about the same sound as my 98 with the dishka suppressor. my local vendor told me it will work on co2, but it will freeze everything and so he suggests HPA. the weight wasnt all that bad. it was very light with only the barrel and empty hopper, but once you put the tank on, it got about maybe 2-5 (?) noticeable pounds heavier. but weight isnt much of a factor for me, really only the accuracy.


the spped it can go to, about 20 BPS, is nifty if you need it, like a firefight, but i like to save my paint and take few shots at people.
Conclusion: well id say about an 8.5, because of the HPA deely and the loudness, and the weight thing. the weight doesnt matter to me, and the loudness is pretty great for me.so that to me is more of a plus so i say a 9.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Monday, September 7th, 2009 at 8:14 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

ion_it Wednesday, March 19th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month22 of 22 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
etek ego, the ego as we all know is one of the best guns on the market.
the REX, is high end, and a great price. you have the feeling of it being a heavier gun than say your ion, but at least it doesnt feel like your holding something too lite
Marker Setup: halo b
stock barrel
drop ford
Recommended
Upgrades:
hopper that feeds really well
co2 works fine so dont sweat it if you dont have air
Strengths: Solid 20 bps
Great accuracy
Every thing is customisable
Weaknesses: The only bad part is
You need a really fast hopper
Battery doesnt last long
Review: I would definetly buy this gun. If you do not want to spend 1500 dollars on a gun, then this is your next choise. The good thing about this gun is that it has a solid 20 bps. Like alot of brands will say their guns shoot 25 + bps, but end up shooting mabey 9 or 13.
This baby has amazing shooting constincancy. Also the acuracy on this thing is great.
Stock barrel works great on it.
Those punk ass noobs will be amazed.
Conclusion: This gun is amazing for any one. If your just begining this sport, this gun will introduce you to the world of electric guns and will keep you happy for even years if taken cared of properly.
While if your a tounament player, this gun keeps up with all your paintballing needs.
great for speed ball. I would recomend this to anyone looking for a fast gun. Especially speed ballers
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

Cyan!de Tuesday, August 22nd, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested28 of 30 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Spyders- Cheaper but not nearly as high quality
Tippmann A5 and 98- Same accuracy but not as fast, more recoil
SP ION- Not as accurate, same speed, less recoil, quieter
Marker Setup: REX R3
Halo B
-V35
-Rip Drive
68ci MacDev LegionAir w/ MacDev Tank Cover
blu/blk evil driver
empire on/off
empire mini drop
CP inline reg
Recommended
Upgrades:
FAST HOPPER
air but co2 will work fine
Strengths: Accurate
fast
Inline reg, low pressure operation
eyes, bolt, LCD screen
Weaknesses: Some HPA tanks will not fit with this markers mini drop
Odd gauge
Trigger
Review: First off I'm going to point out that this marker is the exact same thing as an Odyssey Torid X. I was also under the impression that it would come with an aluminum ACS bolt, but it actually comes with a very nice delrin field-strip bolt.
This is not my gun but actually my friends.

-First Impression

When I first saw the gun I was pretty impressed. It came in a very nice hard case, and inluded a barrel condom, a battery charger, a useful manual, and all the allen wrenches required for it. The milling on the exterior and interior of the gun was beautiful.

-1st test

We took the gun outside and put on an air tank. Here was my first mistake. I set the pressure to the green zone on the gauge, at about 800 psi. the gun would only fire about 20 feet. LATER I DISCOVERED THAT THE GUNIS SUPPOSED TO BE SET AT 350-400 PSI.

-2nd test

A few days later we took the gun out for another test at the correct pressure and this time with co2. It shot awesome. Good accuracy, no chops or velocity spikes. The regulator could consistently feed the marker enough air to dry fire at 20 bps. The 20 bps cycle rate is no gimmick, unlike on other blowbacks like the MR2 which claim speeds of 25 bps , but have a max cycle rate of only 13 bps. On full auto this thing will fire a true 20 bps, not 9 like most spyders.

For firing modes it includes, semi-auto, full-auto, and a programmable burst. The trigger wasn't the greatest, it is the same setup as on an imagine, but it can be lightened by shortening the spring. The max I could walk it at was 13 bps.
The eyes functioned very well, good logic, 0 chops.

This gun is a blowback but there are many key differences that separate it from an ordinary spyder. First off, it has a much heavier firing spring. A feature I really liked was that the gun used no orings in the top 2 tubes. An R2 does not use a spyder style bolt but rather an intimidator sized bolt. It runs at 350 psi, rather than 800 like most spyders. It also has eyes so no annoying ACS bolts. It has a clamping feedneck which means you won't have to waste money on buying plastic feednecks.
Conclusion: I highly recommend it. For about 180 bucks off of ebay its a deal.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, October 21st, 2006 at 10:07 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media