paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Smart Parts SP-8 / Smart Parts SP-8 / Smart Parts SP-8 / Smart Parts SP-8

Smart Parts SP-8 Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Smart Parts

Buy Smart Parts SP-8

Paintball High-End Electronic Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Smart Parts SP-8
[ View Photos (34) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 82
Average Rating: 9.0 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $425

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Break Beam Eyes
High Capacity Ion/SP8 Solenoid
Electronic Double Trigger
Fully Electro-Pneumatic
Accessory Rails for Scopes, Sights, etc.
Side Feed For Unobstructed View of Sight/Scope
Optional Parts Packages
17 BPS Stock Rate of Fire
Semi, 3 Shot, Full Auto and Ramping
Product Availability 
The Smart Parts SP-8 is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (9):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
thatguy7728 Wednesday, October 28th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Owned cocker, 98, shutter, AMG. SP-8 is by far the best ive used.
Marker Setup: SP-8
Remote Coil
HPA Tank
VL jr loader
Red dot scope
Adjustable Stock
Recommended
Upgrades:
New board for higher rof but i dont think you really need it. Maybe a barrel
Strengths: NO BALL BREAKS. NONE. Quiet. Accurate with stock barrel. Looks. Accepts ion parts.
Weaknesses: Changing settings is tricky. Little heavy. Seems to use more gas than other markers.
Review: I havent used many guns but this is by far the best ive shot. The only problem I really have is changing the setings. I wish there was an lcd screen or somthing easier. The feed neck looks like it could break but I havent had a problem with it. People really cant tell where your shooting from because its so quiet.

If your thinking about getting one do it. Its a great gun.
Conclusion: Great gun.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

MrFloppemz Tuesday, August 4th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Smart Parts Ion (exact same thing)
Marker Setup: Smart Parts SP-8

Freak Barrel

Custom Critical RPM Trigger

360 QEV

Firebolt

Front Grip

Extendable Stock

30mm RD Scope

Custom Paint Job :]
Recommended
Upgrades:
A new bolt, a simple RD Scope, the extendable stock is a must, and the 360 QEV.

Q-loader is optional but i have no trouble whatsoever without it
Strengths: Sturdy shell, No chops, Unique marker, Hybrid: can play speed or woods ball

Weaknesses: front shroud sling port breaks VERY easily
Review: I dont understand why so many people complain and make derogatory statements about this marker.... Ive had it for a little more than a year now, and im absolutely in love with it.

Over time ive been upgrading it and now its a beast. I can go 13 bps on semi with the new trigger and i can hit a target on the first shot usually.

Also gave it a sick paint job that i did myself.

I feel that this marker is very unique in the fact that, you dont see too many of these, and that its a hybrid marker.

Oh yeah, if you bring it to a proshop or something, to repair or upgrade. You have to tell them its the same internals as an Ion. Or else they'll tell you we cant work on that kind of marker.

These are some important things to know:

The SP8 can take: Ion Triggers, Ion barrels (they share the same threads), and 98% of all Ion upgrade internals

The SP8 by itself is extremely quiet, its also air efficient and accurate (even with average paintballs)

The SP8 was modeled after the XM8 Program, and i was a big fan of it. Which is just another reason why i chose this marker.

A lot of people come up to me asking me questions about the marker and etc, sometimes its fun, sometimes annoying.

The best deal i found for this marker is at www.usmilitarygear.com

Its $350 for everything, including the extendable stock, sniper shroud with 20" barrel, and tac rails
Conclusion: I dont see any serious problems with this marker. And i love how it looks and performs It may be a little more expensive than average markers, but i think it was definitely worth it.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, August 4th, 2009 at 12:15 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

PathfinderAFW Saturday, November 15th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
2 years
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Ion, A5, pretty much any gun
Marker Setup: Smart Parts SP8, FREAK barrel kit, Rampage board, TechT L7 bolt, 360 QEV, Smart Parts grips, adjustable stock, BSA red dot, qloader
Recommended
Upgrades:
Rampage Board (for customizing), new grips to replace the old style, stock, sight
Strengths: Very accurate, fairly quiet stock barrel, reliable, just fast enough.
Weaknesses: Feed neck (see review), deassembly (kind of), not waterproof.
Review: First off, the SP8 is the coolest gun ever! This is my main marker and I have tried everything from a DM8 to a Autococker to a Tippmann, but the SP8 tops them all. I use the Rampage board purely because my stock board got really wet and shorted out when I was playing a scenario with my A5 and my gear bag filled with water. The stock SP8 board is plenty enough for most players. As I said before, the SP8 is a beast, it is extremely accurate and quiet. The main weakness is the plastic feed neck and body, I have 3 cracked feed necks and one cracked right body. This occurs because of the weight of the hopper puts stress on the feed neck. Everyone I personally know with an SP8 has had this problem. I solved this by getting a qloader. The original grip was very uncomfortable, but not unbearable.
Conclusion: Overall, the SP8 is second to none, with OK air efficiency, great accuracy and quiet. The feed neck issue is bearable if you can find replacements or get a qloader.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

paintballer287 Sunday, August 10th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
spyder mr-1 (not even close to this good)
Marker Setup: Night ops black sp8
68 4500
eggy 2
Recommended
Upgrades:
the stock and a remote line
the stealth barrel
Strengths: Quiet
Fast
good looking (depends on what u like)
Weaknesses: heavy
feedneck is well.. iffy
Macro line fitting
Review: Ive played three games with my sp8 and so far I love it. Its quiet enough to where you can shoot at one person without 5 people hearing the shot.

when i first got it, it seemed heavy but you get used to it. the feedneck is a little to high and balls tend to jam up in it.

The only realy bad expeirience i have had was a macro line fitting blowing out in my second game, but that was a two dollar fix.
Conclusion: over all this is probably up there with the 98 and a5 for a great woodsball gun. It has the look of a real gun and performes great.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

rlee0524 Sunday, July 6th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Kingman Spyder Markers, Smart Parts SP-1, Tippmann Markers, PMI Markers
Marker Setup: Marker and Accessories
-----------------------------------
Smart Parts SP-8 (Night Ops)
Smart Parts SP-8 Stock
Smart Parts SP-8 Stealth Barrel Kit
Ricochet Rhino Hopper
Pure Energy Remote Line
Pure Energy (48cu 4500psi)
Tippmann 3 Point Sling
Recommended
Upgrades:
4500psi Tank
Remote Line
Stealth Barrel Kit
Stock
Bob Long Pillow Bolt
Blackheart
Strengths: 1. Ultra Quiet
2. Consistently Accurate
3. Decent Distance
4. Intimidating Look
Weaknesses: 1. RoF (Stock Board)
2. RoF Programming Requirement
Review: **BASED ON THE ION**

The Smart Parts SP-8 is a well rounded high end mil-sim marker. This will definitely turn heads, especially with a decent setup. Out of the box, this will dominate on the field. It required a few adjustments to reach the optimal 275 - 285 fps, but the adjustments are relatively easy.

Strengths
--------------------------------
1. Ultra Quiet
2. Consistently Accurate
3. Decent Distance
4. Intimidating Look
5. Very Light
6. Air Efficient

Weaknesses
--------------------------------
1. RoF (Stock Board)
2. RoF Programming Requirement
3. Ackward Feeding Tube

Note
-------------------------------
The rate of fire (RoF) has to be programmed in advance. This cannot be changed "on the fly" during game play. However, this may be required in tournament play which requires fixed settings; after all this is based on a tournament grade marker.
Conclusion: Overall an excellent out of the box marker capable of both intimidation and performance.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

puhfista Tuesday, June 17th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann 98, Smartparts SP-1, Smartparts Ion,
Marker Setup: Stock
Strengths: Durable
Fast firing rate
Anti-chop eyes
Many upgrades
Weaknesses: Heavy
Bulky
Very difficult to disassemble
Front regulator cover sometimes falls off
Review: I think that this is a great overall gun. Best when played in woodsball, but would work for just weekend play. The anti-chop system also works like a charm, never have choped a ball, i have shot it to it's full potental. Would recomend this gun. overall i think that The Smart Parts SP-8 is not the fastest or lightest gun around, but it's upgradeable, durable and well-designed for the woodsball or scenario players who wants to get into the world of electronic paintball guns. Well worth the money in my opinion since it looks so cool. modeled after the XM8.
Conclusion: If you like woodsball and have the money I would get this gun in a heartbeat!
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Jester0z Tuesday, May 20th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Smart Parts Ion
Autococker 3.5
Marker Setup: Smart Parts SP8
Firebolt
360 QEV
Smart Parts Tactical Barrel 20" (Yeah so barrel length stops being effective after 14" but its for the looks)
12v Revy
After Market Stock
45 4500 Pure Energy tank
Red Dot Sight
Recommended
Upgrades:
Firebolt
Barrel
Stock
QEV
Red Dot
Strengths: Accurate
Quiet
Durable
Fast
Weaknesses: The pin holding the clip release tends to fall out.
Review: I was a bit hesitant at first when purchasing an electronic woodsball marker. I was worried that the internals would be fragile and break easily. I was pleasantly surprised the first day I used it. I easily dominated the field with my new SP8. I play the "Sniper" role for my team. Basically I'm on my stomach crawling all day and taking the elimating shots. There were numerous times that I dropped to the ground and inadvertantly slammed my marker into the dirt. The marker held up like a champ. At one point after eliminating two players from the opposing team I heard them complain as they walked away that they didn't even hear where the shots came from. I was a little more than 15 ft away when I fired. The gun was so quiet and the envy of my team. I give this gun a 10 and don't plan on replacing it.
Conclusion: Definately purchase this gun if you like the milsim look its the best paintball purchase I've ever made.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

gunnyhighway Friday, May 9th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
98, A5, X7 and SP-1
Marker Setup: SP-8 with Black Heart, Q-loader and a Stiffy barell
Recommended
Upgrades:
Stealthy barrel config from Smart Part, "Black Heart" electronic board from Smart Part and Q-Loader from Q-Loader.
Strengths: Accuracy, Silent, Smooth operation.
Weaknesses: Check battery often, check air pressure often
Review: This is a very smooth marker to shoot. Does very well in close quarters in the stockless version. It is accurate, silent with the right config and looks realistic. The Highest rate of fire is well sustained with a "Black Heart" upgrade and the Q-Loader (Please keep in mind that Q-Loaders in direct feed deliver a rate of fire of 100 ball/sec). The main problem is when something goes wrong (unusual but occuring), dismanteling the gun requires a clean space, and patience. So check your gun before leaving home, you might not be able to disasemble and reasemble it with your eyes closed in less than a minute.
Conclusion: Great gun in combination with a Q-Loader for the mature players involved in hitting target rather than spraying and preying!
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Malakili Saturday, May 3rd, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Marker Setup: SP-8 with collapsible stock, compact handguard, 19" barrel, Fasta loader, remote, 88/4500 HPA.
Recommended
Upgrades:
The possible upgrades are endless, but let's be honest. You don't need any of them.
Strengths: Devastating firepower, above average accuracy, reliability of operation, stout construction, impressive milsim styling.
Weaknesses: Bulky size, tall feedneck, finicky disassembly.
Review: I fell in love with the SP-8 a few years ago based mostly on it's bold assault rifle looks. I'd never had the opportunity to actually fire one however, and had no concept of electropneumatic performance. Until recently I've only used mechanical Tippmanns regularly, and have been very satisfied with them.
For Christmas '07 I bought my young niece a Smart Parts Vibe due to it's advertisement of cheap price, light weight, ease of use, and great performance. I was quite impressed when testing it, and last month finally decided I would gamble $400 on an SP-8 package on display at my local shop (came with gun, adjustable stock, 14" barrel, 19" barrel, compact handguard, and Stealth handguard).
I spent that first couple of days learning every aspect of the gun, how it operated, how it shot, disassembly and reassembly, and how to fine tune it's electronics.
A word on field stripping the SP-8. This seemed frightening at first, but is actually quite simple once you learn how to do it. The main problem is the time it takes to do. Two allen screws in inconvenient places need to be removed to split the gun in half, and extreme care must be taken from then on due to the delicacy of the internal parts. Certainly not something you want to attempt on a dirty greasy table at a field unless absolutely necessary. But once again, the actual order of disassembly and reassembly is very easy to memorize. Also, this isn't something you need to do after every game. A good coating of manufacturer-approved grease on the internal moving parts every month or so (depending on your frequency of play) and you should be good to go.
I first used the gun on the indoor speedball field connected to the same shop I bought it from. I was impressed right away by the rate of fire, accuracy, and lack of recoil. Less impressive was the way the 14" stock barrel unscrewed itself after several bursts of sustained fire. I fired several shots before realising the barrel had detached itself, causing a handful of paintballs to jam up inside the handguard. It was exhilarating yet irritating to be laid flat behind a bunker under fire while partially disassembling my SP-8 (using my car keys). Finally I got things cleared and running again, and the gun's high performance advantage once again shined as I rushed forward to secure the win.
I realised afterward that the 14" barrel was missing it's O-ring, which it needs to stay secured. The shop owner cheerfully supplied me with a replacement O-ring for no charge, and the problem hasn't reappeared since.
Since that day I've used the SP-8 once more during a rough and tumble day at my nearest outdoor woodsball field. This time I had the 19" barrel in place, along with a mighty 88 cubic inch HPA bottle connected by a remote line, and a shiny new Kingman Fasta loader.
To make a long story short, the SP-8 operated flawlessly in full automatic mode during five non-stop hours of play, even while being splattered in several coats of greasy paint and dragged cruelly through dirt and thick underbrush. It just goes and goes and goes.
Camp Blanding, here I come.
Conclusion: My Smart Parts SP-8 has been used hard on two separate game days, and I can comfortably give it my whole-hearted recommendation.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

theagnews7 Tuesday, April 29th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
mr3,ion,98,a-5
Marker Setup: sp-8
stock
sniper barrel
richochet apache
remote line
tac vest
Recommended
Upgrades:
remote line
Strengths: Reliability
speed
acurate
air efficiant
Weaknesses: Heavy
Magazine release
Review: I have played with this marker for a year and half and have not once had to work on it.I have changed the batteries and cleaned the barrel thats it. It shoots fast enough to satisfy without any mods.I have seen and shot others with new trigger and board but it seemed like wasted money to me.These are more for the tinkerers out there i think. I let my son who is 11 use it and even he could crank out the balls with little effort. As for reliability this thing is great i have played in all types of weather and rain or snow this marker has given nothing but smooth operation. I have shot all kinds of paint through it and have never had a break. Even some old wal-mart paint. I purchesed the factory sniper barrel but didnt see enough of an accuracy gain to ever use it this thing is heavy enough thats why i recomend the remote line. A sling probably wouldn't hurt. The magazine release lever is right were my hand bumbs it. I cut about half of the lever off with a small dremel cutting wheel and that helped but i still hit it sometimes. I get around 1500+ shots out of a 114/3000 tank which compared to some of my other markers seems great.
Conclusion: All in all if you like a military feel and hate working on your marker this is a great buy.I havent played with my other markers since i got this. I cant say enough about what a great marker it is even the minor wines of mine arent enough for me not to highly recommend this marker and give it a 9.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (9):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media