paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Smart Parts SP-8 / Smart Parts SP-8 / Smart Parts SP-8 / Smart Parts SP-8

Smart Parts SP-8 Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Smart Parts

Buy Smart Parts SP-8

Paintball High-End Electronic Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Smart Parts SP-8
[ View Photos (34) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 82
Average Rating: 9.0 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $425

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Break Beam Eyes
High Capacity Ion/SP8 Solenoid
Electronic Double Trigger
Fully Electro-Pneumatic
Accessory Rails for Scopes, Sights, etc.
Side Feed For Unobstructed View of Sight/Scope
Optional Parts Packages
17 BPS Stock Rate of Fire
Semi, 3 Shot, Full Auto and Ramping
Product Availability 
The Smart Parts SP-8 is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (9):  First  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  8  |  9
        Next Page
InFeStEd Sunday, May 21st, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann 98c with egrip and responnse
Tippmann A5 with egrip
Smart Parts Ion
Sim 4 and 5
Marker Setup: SP8
blackheart board
Recommended
Upgrades:
lighten your internals
Strengths: Look
Speed
Weight
Kick
Weaknesses: Plastic frame
Review: Ii picked this thing up and was immediately very impressed with it. It is super light, low kick, accurate... Everything you could really want in a marker. And to boot, it has a milsim look. The only thing I could get angry about is that the plastic feels a little cheap, although, so far I have not seen one break.
Conclusion: Good gun if your into woodsball
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

nastyimpulses Tuesday, May 16th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
nasty impulse
halo b
freak jr barrel kit

Marker Setup: SP-8
Adjustable Stock
Sniper Barrel Kit
Qloader
Tactical Rails
Dye Izon Red dot
PMI Remote
Evil Scion 68ci 5000psi
Recommended
Upgrades:
Adjustable Stock
Suppressor Barrel
Dye Izon Red dot
Strengths: ROF. Novelty. Looks. Quiet.
Weaknesses: Novelty. Smart Parts instructions. Tactical rails.
Review: I bought this paintball marker after being out of the game for a while. I was an avid smart parts freak, and decided to go with the SP-8 based on the fact that 1.) it was a smart parts gun; 2.) Everyone else had a tippmann or spyder; and 3:) i wanted a marker with a high rate of fire like i was used to like my nasty.

First i wil tell you about the few problems that i encountered. the tactical rails did not fit with my dye izon red dot. i had to use an utility knife and cut a notch in the rail on top of the gun, because it was to slender for the rail. it would have fit on a typical 3/8 inch rail, but the smart parts rails are a little different than normal. i also had some MAJOR issues with the smart parts instruction manual (more like guidelines than actual instructions) seeing as they would tell you to turn bolts the wrong way and etc. thank god for warpig.

anyone who wants to mount a qloader to this thing should be ready to be frustrated the first day out on the field. i was expecting some problems my first time, and i encountered plenty. so don't be discouraged when you are spending most of your time working and cleaning your marker while your friends wage war with their tippy's. However, when this thing works, you will awe them with your ROF and lack of sound from the barrel. i haven't had that much fun in paintball in a really long time. i can tell you that you might want to consider backing off your pre-spring rate on the q-pods to get this to work right.

i also noticed that the ion regulator can be a little stiff but with a little elbow grease you can back it down sufficiently (mine was shooting about 330 fps out of the box) with CO2. I know that this gun was made to shoot with HPA but when that is all the field has what are you going to do?

Tearing the gun down seems like a daunting task, as i was afraid to do my first day, especially on the field, is really just a matter of taking a few screws off and gently separating the top from the bottom. Don't be alarmed if an air tube disconnects from the rear banjo screws, as this is a short tube, but please be gentle. I found that it is easier to pull the board and solenoid out, screw in the three banjo screws and gently ease the board and solenoid back into place.

I found after breaking a few balls in the breach do to the qloader my gun would not shoot properly all day, and with the vision on not at all. This is not a problem of the SP-8, but rather my inexperience with the qloader. when i pulled this beauty apart i found green paint EVERYWHERE. again, this wasn't a flaw in the design of the sp-8, but rather one in me..

adjusting the settings on the board is kind of cumbersome in that you have to pull the screws on the grip but one can easily memorize the different settings. Burst and full auto are capped at 10 bps, but in reflex and semi-auto, forget 11, you can crank it up to 17 on the vane, skid row.
Conclusion: I would recommend this gun to anyone who is either looking to get out of speedball and throw on their BDU's, or anyone with a tippy who just got lit up by the guy with the weird looking gun. It is not plastic as it looks, but aluminum wrapped in plastic. if you were like me and were afraid of the weird 45 degree feed neck, worry not, this is easily replaceable from smart parts. if you want a marker that can be setup to shoot when you look at it the wrong way look no further.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, May 16th, 2006 at 6:52 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Ethrealwolf Monday, May 8th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
1 year3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
2k3 angel IR-3 (C&C milled)
2k2 Ironman Timmy
Marker Setup: SP-8 (with buttstock and sniper shroud)
pure energy 88/3000 HPA tank
VL egg

Recommended
Upgrades:
the stock and the long barrel, and a decent air setup
Strengths: High ROF
looks
Upgradebility
Air effencicy
electro
Weaknesses: Rail system
needs a good loader
Electro
Review: I got this in from a order form USmilitary gear four days after I placed the order. I picked up the package deal that included the long barrel, the butt stock and the rails. got it together, chronoed it, and got out to play the day after. I was, needless to say, very impressed.

Although I was originally turned off by the mostly plastic construction of the marker, I haven't had any problems with it- it seems to be very nicely built, and fairly durable, even if not as much as an all metal marker. the trade off of weight vs. durability seems to be decent enough, this thing would be heavy as hell if it was all metal, so i suppose there's no big issue there. beside that, the plastic seems to be a hi-impact type, so I think it'll be plenty durable.

Running my egg on the thing i never had any problems with chopping paint, and I know there were several instances I was pushing the rof out near it's cap. I had to shoot eyes off most of the day too, so maybe i just got lucky.

The ROF on this thing blows almost every other mil-sim or woods marker out of the water. RT'ed and E-gripped tippmanns seem to be the general favorite around here, and they couldn't even touch this beast's paint-laying capacity once i got it going. And apparently it has range to play with the flatlines too, or I got lucky, and was able to arc it just right, agan, i'm not sure.

The air effencicy on this beast is nothing to laugh at either- although that could be just because i'm used to a BT-4 which is, by rights, one hell of a gas hog. averaging about 400 balls downrange per game i had to refill air mabey every three games, and I was sitting at about 500 or so PSI when i refilled, out of a 88/3 tank.

EDIT: 11/12/2007.
After a and a half of using this marker, I thought I'd go ahead and update this review.

First, I Have had issues with the feedtube- several in fact. they all seem to break after a few months of hard play- possibly because of th stresses put on them by aggressive play. all of them seem to break right over the Breech and chamber, and although it's a cheap part, it is annoying to have to constantly replace. similarly, Marker's body shroud is showing some signs of age- Specifically, bot rear screws are stripped out, and the stock no longer is capable of being extended. that is, it'll collapse when used.

In addition, the SP-8 has an fairly high profile, everything considered. this can be partly remedied by shaving down the feed tube and the hopper feed neck (or using a Q loader system) But it is there.

Maintenance is so-so. While I honestly don't find it that difficult or time consuming, it is annoying to have to do on field, and troubleshooting and leak plugging can be a royal pain in the rear.

Chronoing can be a chore, although it is with all markers, but this one seems to like getting weird velocity spikes- Although there's every possibility that's just mine. The stock reg ain't bad- but it's far from good, and the magazine-shroud does somewhat limit choices.

Other than that, I stand by my original assessment. It can be a royal Pain to upkeep and troubleshoot sometimes, but it's still easily a match for other woods-mall oriented markers.




Conclusion: All told I'm very impressed and pleased with the SP-8. if you have the money, some technical experience, and aren't a die-hard freak for the supposed 'true' woods markers out there, I'd suggest the SP-8.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Monday, November 12th, 2007 at 12:30 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

TerrorTrooper Thursday, May 4th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month23 of 23 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Warsensor WS66
Tippman A5
ION (some might say)
Marker Setup: Eclipse Ego (Blue to Silver Fade)
JT Proteus Clear.
VL Evolution 2 (Y Board)
+ Zeus G2 as a backup.
PMI 5000 PSI 68 Cu
Recommended
Upgrades:
Stock.
19" Shroud & Extended barrel.
Remote Line.
Gun Bag (if you get stock or barrel extension)
(Possibly a QEV)
(Possibly Blackheart Board)
Strengths: Weight.
Speed.
Power Button.
Looks.
Elbow.
Feel.
(More Detail Below)
Weaknesses: Feedneck.
Battery Life.
Gas Hog.
Lack of special range increase barrel.
(More Detail Below)
Review: Ok, For those of you Familliar with my reviews, i try to keep them as impartial as i can.
i have owned 2 Ions and i wasnt overly impressed with them as it appears SP had some quality issues with the earlier ones, in fairness, my second Ion was relatively OK, but still suffered some design flaws..
As the SP8 is very closely related to the ION (ie. same internals) i will be comparing it to its tournament cousin..

First.. I Have to say this...
When the SP8 was first released.. i thought it was HIDEOUS!!! However, once the Stock and the Extended Front became available and i saw one with these in the Flesh.. it kind of grew on me.. and now i REALLY like it.. so much so i have bought one..

When i recieved my SP8, i thought the Box was of a rather poor design compared to the ION, it was flimsyer, contained vacuum formed plastic inside rather than Foam, whitch is brittle, and doesnt provide complete protection for its content, Also, as most people buy a stock for their SP8, you cant adjust the box to handle it like you would a foam box.

The marker however, is a good looking gun.. i was instantly impressed at how good the SP8's composite shell and rubber fore grip looked and felt.

I Bought the 19" Barrel and front extension and the stock with mine, so i will include it in the review.

When fitting the barrel extension and Stock, i noticed the O-Ringed push pins and holes didnt quite match up making them incredible hard to fit, Also, due to this fact i dont want to regulary dissasemble this marker as i get the impression that the holes will wear and/or the O-Rings on the Pins will break, So, Resultantly, i only strip it when i absolutely have to.

Stripping the SP8 is a little more tricky than stripping the Ion, but much of it is the same, and after you have done it once or twice, you should have no trouble doing this in future.
The SP8 is a relatively simple gun to mainain.

The SP8's Trigger also seems a little more sturdy than the ION's definately less side play than its tournament cousin.. Although, i may be wrong, but it has a lot more space behind it than the ION's so when i turned the grub screw in to make a tight trigger, it went pretty far back, so far in fact im worried about losing it..

Once Assembled with Stock Ect, the SP8 really feels good when you hold it in a firing position, and the stock is sturdy..

STRENGTHS.

Power Button :-
One of the issues with the ION was its on/off button being a little awkward due to its thick and unresponsive membrane, the SP8 has a physical button that you push that lights up making it easy to turn on and off or switching eye modes.

Looks :-
The SP8 looks great, even though its composite, it still feels Quality,
With the stock and extended barrel & front shroud, it really does look impressive...
im actually half tempted to get a Red Dot sight just to finish it off looks wise..
and ive never been one for gimmicks..

Elbow :-
The Elbow that comes with the SP8 is by far the finest elbow i have ever come across... its a Smoke Texture, so it doesnt stick out like the usual white or clear elbows, but you can still see your balls, and it is quite sturdy, you can really crank it up tight without damaging it, unlike the brittle Armotech ones, or the non adjustable white push elbows. I am well impressed in the stock elbow, and plan to buy several of them if there available to buy...

HOW IT SHOOTS.

My first observation is that if you have a stock, you really need to use this marker with a Remote Line, otherwise you wont be able to screw a bottle on it, (unless its very small)
Also, the SP8 has the same terrible duckbill ASA as the Ion, although its not such a major issue as most remote lines have on/off so you can degass and unscrew it without wearing the ASA threads due to pressure, The 45 Grips on the SP8 seem to be joined at the bottom covering half the ASA making it neccessary to cut part of the rubber away if you want to put another ASA on, as decent Duckbill types arnt that common.
This too however, isnt a major issue.

After gassing it up, putting my Z-Boarded Egg on it, i dry fired it a few times..
All seemed well, i didnt get the usual teething problems that i had with my Ions.
The first thing i noticed when firing it was the lack of kick.. this marker has practically
no kick to it at all!! whitch i mainly put down to its low opperating pressure. (lets face it, you have to respect any marker that can fire on less than 180 PSI)
The SP8 was also quite quiet, Even more so with the extended barrel and shroud..
To be honest, apart from reduced noise, the supposed increase in Range and Accuracy with the extended front & Barrel was barely percievable, but i still think its worth
buying for your SP8 purely on a cosmetic level as it does look the muttz nutz!!
The Extended barrel doesnt really give you any more range than a standard barrel..

The SP8 handles just like an Ion, with or without Eyes, (although i recomend leaving them on as the elbow can rarely slow a ball down enough to make it chop.)
On Semi you can walk it as fast as most tournament markers, but on ramping, the SP8 is extreamly easy to ramp! (something i always liked about the Ion, even moreso than my Ego) the SP8 is a doodle to ramp with even one finger!!
This Marker truely was a pleasure to shoot, and so far, i havent had any issues with drop off at high rates of fire i had with my Ions..
I havent had the chance to chrono it yet, so i cant comment on consistency, but when i fired the gun holding it level and steady, generally, all my balls were landing in pretty much the same area leading me to believe consistence is pretty decent.

WEAKNESSES.

Lets face it, Every silver lining has a cloud, and the SP8 is no exception..

Feedneck :-
hmm.. this is a bit of a downer.. Although the Elbow seems to be Top Notch, the Feedneck is another story, it appears to be quite brittle, and i cant imagine it would take too much effort to break it, its creaked unhealthily a few times when ive oppened the pull back style lid on my egg, id seriously recomend a top loading flip lid hopper rather than an Egg on an SP8. i have seen Feednecks break on other SP8's and feel this is a design flaw to go on top of its other design flaws it inherited from the ION. Also, the feedneck is un-neccessarily long, and im not certain if cutting it down a bit to reduce profile and stess on it would invalidate my warrenty or not, and on a smart parts marker, a warrenty is a handy thing to have..
Fortunately, the feedneck isnt directly attached to the composite shell so id imagine replacements arnt going to be mega bucks... just darn inconvienient...

Battery Life :-
OK, Perhaps i have been spoiled with my Ego too long, but the battery life on the SP8 leaves a lot to be desired, you can usually tell when it needs replacing as your marker misbehaves.. you get drop off, incomplete cycles, and a host of other problems when it runs down.. and it runs down pretty quick compared to some markers..
just like the Ion...

Im half tempted to get a blackheart board to ellinimate 2 things...
1:- It Beeps when the battery is low..
2:- should eliminate any problems im sure i will one day get with drop off.

Efficiency :-
Damn!! this gun eats Air!!! If i had to guess, i would say that perhaps the longer barrel is responsible for the ammount of Air used...
i think youd be extremely lucky to get 1000 shots from a 68/4500 fill!!
This could be a problem for people with battle vests who sometimes carry in excess of 1300 paint out with them on the field,
i dont believe for one second what it says in the manual...
if your a scenario player, chances are you will have an 88Cu bottle, i think youl need it...
Also, a QEV would go a long way to bringing the efficiancy to a decent level, but again, as far as im awere, this would invalidate the warrenty..

Barrel :-
Hmm. the barrels i had with it are fine.. But the SP8 is lacking in one major area..
Extended Range.. Tippmann have the Flatline Barrel, Warsensor/Armotech & now Miltec have the Hop-Up barrel, and most other markers can mount a BT Apex,
They all add backspin to allow the ball to travel further.. the SP8 has no such option as even with the stock front foregrip shroud, you cannot mount an Apex simply because the Apex Barrel is too short.. i hope smart parts do something to rectify this, as this is the SP8's major downfall compared to other woodland markers..

Apart from the other minor issues of the push pins being awkward, and that you really need a bag to transport this marker, and the ASA, i really am hard pressed to find any serious flaws in it..

As an Added Bonus, if my Ego ever goes down at a tourny or Sup Air Walkon.
The SP8 with its stock barrel, and Butt plate instead of the stock isnt much bigger than an Ion, (although it is somewhat heavier), you can then screw the bottle direct to the ASA, and due to its Ion Speed and light trigger it makes a passable back up for your primary tourney marker.. (although you look kind of out of place)
Conclusion: If your a Scenario/Dedicated Rec baller, then this marker would be a fine addition to anyones kit bag!! its not a cheap piece of kit with the Extras, but they are well worth the money!!
The SP8 eliminates the age old problem where at big games Scenario markers are seriously outgunned at close range by tourny guns as it will keep up with anything..

Despite me being Dubious of it being a "Woodland ION" i am well impressed with my purchase and dont regret it one bit..

I would have to give this an 8.5 if i could, as it is an awesome piece of kit, but i dont feel it quite deserves a 9 due to the problems it does have.... so im going to be generous and give it a 9..

EDIT :- i have lowered my rating to an 8 as the SP8 has one major disadvantage over other woodland guns. There is a lot of "long balling" in woodland Scenario games.
For this reason, Tippman have the Flatline, Warsensor/Armotech & now Miltec have the Hop-Up barrel, and most other markers can mount the BT Apex barrel.
The SP8 does not have any range advantage, as an Apex wont fit it, even with the standard front foregrip shroud.. i have added this in weaknesses.
Rating:
8 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, May 4th, 2006 at 6:35 pm PST
I found this review  
5 Comments - Add Comment

kevjo24 Saturday, April 29th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month11 of 16 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
A-5, 98 Custom
Marker Setup: Smart Parts Sp-8, Remote Coil, 20 oz. Co2, Adjustable Stock, Evolution electric loader, and stock barrel
Recommended
Upgrades:
The adjustable stock. The Suppressor barrel didn't work as well for me as the stock barrel (accuracy wise...suppressor is more quiet)
Strengths: Accurate and quiet. Reliable, never chops no matter how fast i shoot. Easy trigger
Weaknesses: Don't know how to change firing mode. everyone says too big. its perfect
Review: this is my favorite marker i've ever used. i cant believe its so cheap. A+ A+ A+ A+ A+ A+ A+ A+ A+ A+ A+ A+ A+ A+ A+ A+ A+ A+ A+ A+ A+ A+ A+ A+ A+ A+ A+ A+ A+ A+ A+ A+ A+ A+ I WOULD RATE IT 100 IF THEY LET ME
Conclusion: Don't buy it. I want to be the only person with it
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

StealthSniper Friday, April 28th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
1 year5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
98 Stealthline - Flatline Barrel, Collapsable Stock, Remote Hose, Dye Sticky Grips, Empire2

Speed 05 - Dye Grips, Empire 2
Marker Setup: Sp-8 Custom (Urban) - Extendable stock and Sniper barrel, Sticky Grips, Ricochet, Remote Hose.
Recommended
Upgrades:
MUST HAVE THE STOCK, NOT ONLY DOES IT LOOK WRONG/BAD WITHOUT ONE BUT IT IS NEEDED FOR STABILITY.

THE SNIPER BARREL IS NICE IF YOU CAN AFFORD IT BUT IS NOT NEEDED.

LIKE THE BARREL, THE RICOCHET MAKES IT LOOK SO BAD-ASS!
Strengths: Antichop eyes, fast, looks
Weaknesses: Mad drop off*
Review: Truly the best scenario marker.

I have the full ups custom with the urban (two tone grey) coloring and it looks like something out of Halo or Startrek.

Smart Parts has a real winner here. Smart Parts transplanted their revolutionary Ion into the woodsball market. There is no doubt in my mind that this marker will be very common in the next few years.

Modelled after the H&K XM8, the Sp-8 is the most realistic and effective scenario paintball marker ever made. The Sp-8 is capable of laying down redundant volumes of supressant fire and can pick off targets from 100 meters away. It can outperform any RAP marker, costs half as much and doesn't eject those pain-in-the-ass plastic shells.

The only downside is the angled feed neck. When I took it apart, I found that I could bore a hole throught the scope rail and insert a verticle feed. But the hardware inside the shell is a little peculiar. I have put some parts from my old Ion into the Xm8 casing but with limited success. The balls now feed verticaly but the parts, although flush, don't fit tightly. So when I lean out from behind cover and the gun's attitude isn't verticle, the balls have a tendency to jam.

Not everybody should perform this surgery.
BE WARNED, IT WILL VOID THE WARRANTY.

* After a year, I now need a Blackheart board. The balls arent leaving fast enough when I ramp. Even with the short barrel the second shot is half powered and the rest barely fall out. Something internaly is wearing and the ram moves faster than the air supply. The board fixes the problem but I want to find out the source.

Other than that it is amazing. It feels kind of wierd ramping an asault rifle, but thats what's cool. It actualy feels like an asault rifle. It is more accurate than most scenario markers and shoots faster than all of them. Although a tourny Ion is cheaper and performs EXACTLY the same, it still looks like a paintball marker.
Conclusion: If you are an experienced scenario player or military/ police interested in woodsball, this is the marker for you. I strongly recomend the same setup I have for performance and good looks. 9.4*
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, August 23rd, 2006 at 3:35 pm PST
I found this review  
5 Comments - Add Comment

quarter-empty Sunday, April 23rd, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Marker Setup: eggy
air tank
the basics
Recommended
Upgrades:
stock and scope and sniper barrel
but they probally make the gun alot heavyer
Strengths: Look at Review
Weaknesses: Look at review
Review: so i have only used this gun once
but i loved it from the first time i saw it
let me say this for every one to know
WOODS BALL
almost never try speed ball with it
its way to bulkey

Strengths:
looks ( opinion )
quiet (if you use air)
really fast for woods ball (17 bps)
Acuratcy is very good
anti chop eyes (didnt chop once)
its an ion


Weakness:
heavy
bulky
it might just be me but changing firing modes i didnt get that at all, its the first time using an electric gun for me but no one else at the place could change it anyway, and the fact that you had to take off the handle grip was a little much

intirior is also a major oh my
Conclusion: If your looking for a woodsball gun
get this gun!

If your a speed ball player
why are you looking at theese reviews
you should know from looks this aint for you

Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, April 23rd, 2006 at 10:05 pm PST
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

ragingllama Monday, April 17th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
smart parts ion
Marker Setup: sp8 with adjustable stock and factory barrel
bsa red dot sight, ricochet apache lcd hopper (20bps) and an CORE remote
Recommended
Upgrades:
definately the stock and a remote system
Strengths: Quiet, fast, and light weight
Weaknesses: As of now i have noticed none.
Review: First and foremost. As advertised this is a "woods-ball" marker. Yeah yeah everyone knows its an ion with a makeover. So for those of you who sit there and say " hey nice ion!" Do the rest of us a favor and just quit hatin.
When i first saw this marker i immediately fell in love. Despite what people have said and some of the reviews, which weren't all bad i purchased it. I first noticed the weight was about the same as an A-5. The A-5 is 3.5 lbs w/out a tank, and the Sp8 is 4 lbs. When i first used the marker the local shop didn't have any compressed air so i was forced to use CO2. The manual states that you can use CO2 just use an anti siphon tank. So now the sp8 is on CO2 and that's already a downfall and on top of that with CO2 this puppy is one big gas hog. I used a 12 oz tank and that lasted one game so i was forced to use a 20 oz. The switch used to change firing modes is on the inside of the handle which is a pain but as far as im concerned you don't really need any other firing mode besides rebound. The rebound system will pick up in about 2-3 trigger pulls and unleash a world of hurt. i don't have the blackheart board as of now so im stuck with the 17bps. Though i don't see why i would need that board besides adding 3 bps to already fast 17bps. If you are a die hard woodsballer like myself you know 17bps is more than you'll ever need. Now as for accuracy. This thing is SWEET. the range is good and the ability to reach out and touch someone is fantastic. The first game i played i manned a watch/sniper tower and whenever someone came is range dead meat. if i had to give an estimate on how far this marker would shoot. id have to say about 40yards from the upright position. The stock barrel is alright its pretty quiet. granted people will always hear you but as for worrying about getting pinpointed from the sound of your marker is nonexistent. i had people looking for me all day and just coming up short.
Conclusion: Now as for rating and my conclusion.
All in All this marker is the poo. Slient, fast, and light weight and most of all accurate. What more could a woods baller want.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

jconklin123 Sunday, April 9th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Marker Setup: A-5
E-grip and Reactive trigger- LOVE THE E-GRIP
Smartparts Freak barrel kit
BT Tippmann M-16 barrel
Boomstick ultralite
High Pressure Air
Strengths: Very Fast
Very Quiet
Weaknesses: Need good hopper ( Halo)
Need good Reg (Dynaflo)
Review: Here is my follow up to the new marker:

The gun is incredibly fast…. It’s like nothing I have ever shot before. I got a lot of "oohs", and "ahhs" at the field from the look and the fire power.
It looks like a scenario marker, but I was getting respect from the speed ball players….

The apache loader was NOT able to keep up with the marker, so I put a Halo B on and had no problems. I was able to empty a hopper in around 7 seconds.

I put 2 cases of paint through the marker had had ZERO chops or brakes. When the hopper ran dry (which it did a lot) the marker would not dry fire, the eyes would stop it and wait for more paint.

I have a 4500/ 92 tank, and was able to shoot 2000 rounds on 2500 psi. (Very efficient)

The weight of the marker is not bad for the size. I thought the weight would be lopsided because of the hopper, but it was fairly even. I was able to snap off shots with no problems, and even use the red dot sight.

Sighting in the marker is taking some getting used to, but I’m sure that’s because I am so used to my Tac-1. Where I wasn’t getting the one shot one kills, I was certainly getting the 150 shot, 1 kill down to a science.

The one thing I also noticed is that my Pure Energy reg, couldn’t supply enough air at high rates of fire. I just turned up the velocity, and had no problem, but I will be putting a dynaflo reg. on and the problem will go away….

All in all this is a very mean marker. It shoots very strait, and very fast. It is very quiet, and a lot of fun. Because I never got to shoot the marker with out the Blackheart board, I cannot compare the difference, but I can say if you have the scratch lying around, get the board.


I give the marker a 10/10…


Set-up:

Smart Parts SP-8
Adjustable Stock
Freak Barrel Kit w stiffy front
Black Heart board
Conclusion: I give the marker a 10/10…
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

Chapman88 Tuesday, April 4th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Arikon Sim-4
Marker Setup: Spyder Xtra wth upgrades, Stock MR-2
Recommended
Upgrades:
19' Upgrade, stock
Strengths: Look, speed, the fact that it is an ion in a mil sim body
Weaknesses: Needs anti syph. tank for co2, sight can be stange at first
Review: Well i got to try this gun in a backyard for an hour or so, this gun is crazy, it may be expensive when you get the stock and 19' but sooo soo sooo worth it, the 14' does shoot well if u cant afford the longer upgrade. My friend used it on a d day game, said it only didnt fire one, and he was using a basic grav. feed hopper, this gun is great if u can afford it
Conclusion: Get this gun if u like the look nad want a ion in a mil sim body, just get the stock, it could use a sight, the rail is kinds strage wihtout sight but u get used to to fast, one off for the sight and the stock upgrade price, if u got the cash, u will love this marker
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (9):  First  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  8  |  9
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media