paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Bob Long Infamous Intimidator / Bob Long Infamous Intimidator / Bob Long Infamous Intimidator / Bob Long Infamous Intimidator

Bob Long Infamous Intimidator Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Bob Long

Buy Bob Long Infamous Intimidator

Paintball High-End Electronic Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Bob Long Infamous Intimidator
[ View Photos (11) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 33
Average Rating: 9.5 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $495

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Features:

* Used by Team Infamous!
* 1.5" shorter than the Intimidator Alias Marker and other 2005 models
* 1.6 pounds (without a reg or barrel) which is 8 ounces lighter than the Alias
* FASTER - shorter bolt length has improved cycle time
* Completely new Ram and Poppet system - allows marker to operate at even lower pressures, virtually eliminating kick by using less force to move the ball. Lower pressure and lighter ram.
* New look to the LPR system
* Completely new ram bumper system. Ram cap now encloses the sleeve by threading onto it, verses into it like before
* Grip features an integrated rail system
* Accepts the same board and solenoid as existing intimidators
* Added functions on the LCD, including the option to modify your ramp starts and caps and multiple modes to meet various league standards
Product Availability 
The Bob Long Infamous Intimidator is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (4):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4
        Next Page
Massempirepb Sunday, August 28th, 2011
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Bl closer ( virtued)
Angel
Dp
System x nme le
Marker Setup: Dp fusion Fx and a closer virtued
Vitrue board
Sly carbon fiber barrel/ ultralite
Ninja tank
Custom pro flaline e double trigger and folding stock
Dye rotor
Recommended
Upgrades:
Like always a nice barrel kit
Strengths: Fast
Lite
Easy to shoot ropes
Weaknesses: Poppet valve has blown not the worst tho
Review: I love this gun. Bob long has been producing amazing guns for years now. My infamous weighs a little less then my newer closer. It shoots ropes so effortlessly. It's tight and comfortable to hold. I had problems with the poppet valve but I'm sure that was from ripping it un capped dry firing. That's not good for any gun. So I don't blame the gun I was just having too much fun.
Conclusion: This is a great gun. If you have a chance to get one grab it and keep it forever. U feel like a champ just holding it.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

jamesb Saturday, March 22nd, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
I used to have an ion, but that doesn't even compare to this beast
Marker Setup: DXS 48/45 Tank
Infamous Intimidator
Halo Smoke hopper
Deadly winds ASA with a CP ASA adaptor
Recommended
Upgrades:
Needs an ASA, Mine didn't come with one



Strengths: This gun is very short, which is good for a snake player

Weaknesses: Doesn't come with an asa
Review: This thing is tiny, light, and rivals the looks of Giselle Bunshon in the sexiness department (not really, but a guy can dream.) aaanyway... it can definitely put out a tight circle of paint from about 150 to 160 ft away. also, i can definitely play really tight in the snake and in dorito tape.
Conclusion: This gun rocks, and since its about two or three years old, I was able to pick it up for like four hundred, which is still a pretty penny, but its not 1300.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

csmith1199 Monday, February 4th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
SL66
Karnivor
Etek
07 borg
Eblade Autocockers
Invert Mini
Marker Setup: Guns: BW SL66 w/maniac board, WGP Karnivor, CCM SS-25, upped Trilogy pump w/ CP reg, and CP rail and on/off, and PMP pump kit w/hitman mod, Planet Eclipse All American autococker with CCM 86* frame and pump kit w/autotrigger, Stock Invert Mini.

Loaders: Empire Magna Drive, Halo V35, XSV VLocity, VLocity, Revvy, Sportshot 100 rd. hopper, Brass Eagle Pocket hopper.

Barrels: Stiffi Mamba Switch Kit, Dye UL, WGP Kaner Kit, CP one piece, J&J ceramic, Python Compression System.

Tanks: Crossfire 68/45, Pure Energy 45/45
Recommended
Upgrades:
NONE!! The problems people get with Timmy's comes when they upgrade them. See below.
Strengths: Small
Light
Fast as hell
LCD screen
Efficient
Looks good
Weaknesses: Sharp as hell edges. I always cut my hand.
Review: This gun was my first true high end gun a couple years ago. It was a giant leap from an E-blade autococker. It was lighter, faster, more efficient, and a lot more compact. The LCD screen can be a little hard to read through the clear plastic on the grip, but it's still a nice perk when compared to LED's. In one year of use, this gun perfomed FLAWLESSLY. Not one time did I have any mechanical problems with this gun. It was easy to maintain, and was dependable. Everytime I took it out of the bag, I knew I didn't have to worry about my equipment and could focus all my energy on playing the game.

Over time, Bob Longs have gotten a bad rap about reliability. A buddy of mine is a BL tech, so I got to learn a lot of good things from him. Basically what it comes down to is that BL's only start to jack up when people "upgrade" them. They just aren't very good at accepting any aftermarket parts for some reason. On the flip side though, the gun is very fast, and very efficient, so there is no reason to upgrade any performance parts anyways. The only part I would consider upgrading would be to a better feedneck.
Conclusion: Like I said earlier, this gun was light, fast, compact, efficient, and didn't give me a SINGLE problem in 1 year of use, no bull. So, there is nothing I can fault this gun on.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

ADyingBreed Sunday, January 20th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder Fenix - dear god not even in the same category
NME - much better, more reliable
Shocker SFT - more efficient, easier maintenance, more reliable
PM5 - more efficient, more reliable, lighter
Ion - more comfortable, easier maintenance
Abomb Timmy - that timmy blew this one away but thats because it was super up'd
2k2 Timmy - lighter and faster
05 Ego - was godly compared to this timmy because of its ups
07 Ego - great marker, more reliable than this one
Marker Setup: Bob Long Infamous II Timmy Dust White
Critical Trigger
Eigenram
Stiffi barrel
Proto asa
Black VLocity with Nox chip
Carleton 68/4500 with Guerilla Air Assault Reg

Spyder Fenix (my ultimate backup. never gonna give this thing up)
Recommended
Upgrades:
trigger, feedneck, barrel
Strengths: Lightweight
Easy maintenance
Consistent
Fast
Weaknesses: Barrel.
Poppet is hard to get to.
Review: Now i should note that the majority of the markers i have used have been used by the time i have gotten them. so most of the problems i have run into are because of previous owners not taking care of their stuff or doing goofy things to them like using super glue.

well when i first got this i had a proto asa that didnt work but that is no fault of the gun since it is not even from the maker of this marker. when i finally got it so where i could air it up it had a slight leak from the ram, but a good lubing took care of that. once i got it up and running it was great. fast, consistent, and easy to take care.

one thing i should mention is that with crappy paint the bolt has a tendency to get stuck.
what happens is that because of the bad paint (dimpled or odd shaped) it pushes on the bolt as it tumbles in the breech and the bolt gets pushed up and the front orings get caught on the breech on the return. also if you play in dirt fields expect to get lots of breech wear from the dirt getting caught inbetween the breech and the bolt. (makes for a very dirty breech which is something i despise).

in regards to efficiency i get close to a hopper and 10 pods off a full 68/4500. im sure i could squeze another pod or two out of it if i lowered the lpr (im running 70 psi with an eigenram)


Conclusion: I say you should totally try this marker. because of its efficiency, speed, and ease of maintenance it makes a worthy member of my gun whoring lineup.

i give it an 8 out of 10 because the closest ive had to perfection was my 05 ego and this barely even compares to it but is still a very good product.
Rating:
8 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, January 20th, 2008 at 1:46 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

csal27 Friday, January 4th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
eteck egos egos pms dms


Marker Setup: bob long infamous intimadator
halo v35
45 45 pure energy
dye ul
vitue
Recommended
Upgrades:
new barrel just cause
virtue
Strengths: Fast
Shoots smooth
Accurate
Quiet
Weaknesses: Hard to see LCD screen
little kick you can only tell when your shooting slow
Review: I got this gun at the cup in san diego for 425 new and its pretty good. But its quiet accurate and fast. I have been using this gun for about 3 months and I havent had any problems becides chopping but thats cause i forget to turn my eyes on. I gave it a 8 cause theres new guns that have better internals like the marq with the 4 eye upgrade and the cure bolt and zick kit for the ego.
Conclusion: Its a pretty sick gun but you could get a lot of other guns to be just as good or better.
Rating:
8 out of 10Last edited on Monday, February 25th, 2008 at 8:25 pm PST
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

mxmtl Monday, July 30th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Planet Eclipse 2005 EGO - Simpler design, Easier to maintain, Better display, A little more kick, A little less efficient, Limited replacement part availability, A little less efficient

Planet Eclipse ETek EGO - Simpler design, Easier to maintain, A little more kick, Less efficient, Less trigger adjustability, Harder to change settings
Marker Setup: 2006 Infamous Intimidator
+ DXS LP 48/4500
+ Viewloader VLocity Jr
Recommended
Upgrades:
None
Strengths: Responsive Trigger
Performance
Low Kick
Efficiency
Weaknesses: Manual
Display
Sharp Milling
Additional maintenance
Review: I purchased this marker brand new off eBay, and it looked like it was sitting around for a long time. The bolt was very dry and the lube on the marker looked a little grainy. So, I decided to re-lube the marker.

Following the information from the Intimidator forum on PbNation, I decided to use Dow 33. That turned out to be a mistake, as I spent hours trying to fix leaks from the LPR cap. Using Dow 55 as recommended in the manual, and replacing the o-rings in the LPR base and piston stopped the leaks. In turn, I re-lubed all the o-rings, except for the rammer sleeve o-ring which I did not touch in the first place, with Dow 55.

Although the information for lube on PbNation was misleading, the proper procedure for lubing the poppet and airing up the marker exists on those forums but not in the manual. The middle o-ring on the poppet should not be lubed, and the regs need to be reset each time the marker is aired up. This is done for better reliability and performance with the new balanced valve design.

The manual also has a conflict in the second o-ring chart. Due to this error, I had ordered the wrong size of o-rings for the bolt. The correct size is indicated in the first o-ring chart in the manual.

Out on the field, I found the marker very responsive. It felt as if it did not miss one trigger pull no matter how fast I walked the trigger. In bursts, it felt like it registered and shot every single pull. The kick and sound signature was dramatically less than my experience with the 05 EGO and ETek. At one point, I ran a Lucky Air Assist Valve in my 05 EGO with similar results. The difference with the Infamous Intimidator is that it was designed that way and the poppet requires re-lubing every 10 cases of paint versus the 6 cases of paint for the LAAV poppet.

The feel of the trigger frame felt like an improvement over the EGO frames (excluding the 07). The hump at the back fills my palm, providing a more stable base for walking the trigger and reloading while shooting. After about a couple hopper fulls of target practice and snap shooting, I was dialed in and making eliminations.

I found the display difficult to read out in the field. Unlike the other high end markers out there, turning the eyes off required turning off the marker, and holding the trigger while turning on the marker. It can take up precious seconds during a game in case of a malfunction.

The milling on the infamous is beautiful, but also very sharp at the back where the back of the bolt sits. Take care when tapping out the rammer if it is stuck and when reaching blindly into your gear bag to remove the marker. I have already stabbed myself while doing both. When the marker is aired up with the bolt in place, it is not a problem.

Taking apart the marker is not as easy as the EGO and ETek. Hosing and eye wires need to be carefully routed to avoid pinches when opening or removing the grip frame. The front block also requires removal of a hose from a barb, which can be "intimidating" for players not mechanically inclined. Access to the poppet, which the manual says to lube every 20,000 shots, requires removal of the front block. Removal and re-installation of the LPR base, in case of leaks like I experienced, is not easy with out the proper tools and knowing how to use them without damaging the gloss finish. Teching the marker should be left to mechanically inclined players or experienced airsmiths.

The manual specified Tri-Flow to lube the bolt. Unbeknownst to me, there are two types of Tri-Flow now on the market: Superior and Superior Dry. I emailed Bob Long Technologies, but have yet to get a response to which Tri-Flow they recommend. My guess is the Superior, and not the Superior Dry that I had initially purchased and used without a problem.
Conclusion: I recommend this marker for players who are looking for high performance at a great value now that they are being sold for a fraction of the price, and for players who are tech savvy and not afraid to deal with the setup and maintenance that comes with this marker.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Monday, July 30th, 2007 at 6:15 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

paintballer9876 Saturday, July 14th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Marqs-little better accuracy but other wise the same
egos-pretty close to the same performance but ego has more kick
pmr-not really even comarable
dm7/6-almost the same but effeicency is lacking
ion-like the difference between night and day
Marker Setup: -06 burgandy dust infamous intimidator
-dye 68/4500 tank
-halo v35
-bob long gear drive on/off asa.
-freak it


-Proto rail
-ricochet apache
-Evil 45/5000 tank
-ndz eye cover, bolt cap, feed neck collar, eye covers
Recommended
Upgrades:
Nothing i could find
Strengths: -Light
-Fast
-Cheap (got mine new for $450)
-Good stock barrel
-Very accurate
Weaknesses: -Doesn't come stock with asa
-Dust finish isn't as durable as gloss
Review: This marker is one of the best markers i have ever shot and is worth ever 450 dollars i paid for it. When i first got it i started tunning it, and got the stock 90psi operating pressure down to 45psi.

Effecency: With a full 68/4500 fill iwas getting about 2000 shots per fill, or about 160 rounds per 350psi. Compared to my pmr that gets about 1000 shots of the same tank the bob long is obviously the winner.

Consistency: I spent about a half hour tunning the marker and i was able to get +/-3fps, which made my accuracy incredible. I had on string of 6 shots in row shooting 286fps each time, but that was six shots, but it maintained the 3fps veriance, 98% of the time.

Accuracy: After tinkering with the consistency, and putting in seconds paint (pretty sad i know), i could have shot taks in a peg board from 60 feet away it is that accurate, one off the situations, i had was, i was on one side off the field and about 80 feet away an oponet was snap shooting at me, the guy had about a 1/4 of his mask out and his barrel, and i fired two shots, one hit the rim of the top of the mask the other hit just above the eye, i have never shot a marker this accurate in my life, except for a marq.

Weight: i weighed my infamous, my pmr, and my friends ion, the infamous-2lb 2 and a half ounces, pmr-2lb, ion-2lb 3oz, all were with stock regs, no barrels, and the same on/off asa's for all markers. So basicly its light.

Comfort: The stock grips are very hard and dont cover much, but are pretty comfortable to me. The overall marker has a very good balance so comfort is at a maximum, all though there is some sharp points on the back of the body, and frame, but are not much of a problem if you hold the marker by the grips.

Stock parts: The stock barrel didn't really apeal to me, because i like 14" barrels, but it is one of the better quality stock barrels. The stock feedneck is very tall, but no biggy. The stock bolt, is very good, but i would recomend you take the two orings off the tip of the bolt, to keep your ball detents in good shape, it doesn't effect performance any. The stock reg is very consistent, but the macro line going up to almost the top of the reg doesn't give much comfort but you get used to it. The stock board has nearly every mode you could ever want so that is nothing to replace.

Reliability: It has a bolt a reg and ram not much can go wrong, so very reliable.
Conclusion: All and all you cant go wrong with this marker, very reliable, and accurate what more could you want from a marker?
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

lucifer_sam Saturday, July 14th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
PE Ego '06 - A little heavier, more kick, but better stock accessories
Dye DM6 - Real nice all-around gun, albeit inefficient
Shocker SFT - Terrible stock gun, overpriced IMO
Marker Setup: Bob Long Infamous Intimidator:
- PBK detents
- Lurker Eigenram
- Tadao M6 "Infamous" board
- CP shorty reg
- NDZ on/off + rail
- Powerlyte Scepter 2007
DXS Pulse - RF chip harnessed
DXS 68/4500

Plus a few cosmetic things...
Recommended
Upgrades:
ASA. Stock ASA is TERRIBLE. LMAO.
Strengths: Speed. Lack of kick. Reliability (when properly lubed). Weight/dimensions.
Weaknesses: Regulators need reset every time an air source is applied.
Review: First and foremost... That framed picture is NOT an Infamous Intimidator, it's an Empire 2 Intimidator. Yeah, so, right. NOTE: This is more of a review on Intimidator v. Intimidator basis; it is to help maybe learn why this is a better Timmy.

Although I personally own only one 2006 Timmy, this review is for all three Generation 4 Intimidators (Empire 2, Infamous, and Ripper 3) because they have the same specs (except the board; earlier runs of the Gen4 Timmies used an Empire 1.5 board, and even that had no discernable difference from the Frenzy 127). Essentially, the latest generation of Intimidators has undergone a HUGE overhaul in milling and valve construction. This has resulted in an Intimidator with the smallest dimensions, lowest weight, fastest cycling and most efficient valve. The already impeccable line of markers has been heralded into undying fame by the wicked speed and incredible versatility of the Intimidator. Bob Long has built on this popularity by bringing out yet another unbelievable series of markers.

All Intimidators use a valve which functions off a sliding mass propelled by the solenoid. When that mass comes into contact with a small piece of metal known as the poppet, the valve opens and air is released through the breech to propel the ball. This concept is familar on many markers, including Egos, Cyborgs, Vikings, and many more. However, Bob Long revolutionized that idea by delivering what is commonly referred to as a pressure-balanced valve. Essentially, a redesigned poppet allows for a similar amount of pressure from both sides of the poppet, meaning that the operational pressure can be as low as the solenoid can take it. Earlier models required a differential in pressure to open and close the poppet, so they tended to necessitate larger pressures to fully close or open it. In this manner, Bob was able to reduce the amount of energy required to expend into the expulsion of a paintball, i.e. MUCH better efficiency.

Moreover, this newly designed valve was recessed into the body more, allowing the bolt, ram, and thus the cycling mass to be drastically lower than prior generations. This reduced cycling mass means for a much smoother and precise ride. I cannot assert that it is less than a Matrix or Shocker, but the kick on this newest line is infinitesimal compared to any other high-end poppet valve. The kick on prior Intimidators was a propellant to purchasing a new ram or ram kit. Not so with the Gen4 Timmy. In addition, the bolt is much softer on paint due to the lower operating pressure, and with a stock adjustable ram cap, you can put it where your loader will not push paint past the detents or allow for a misfeed.

Although the board did not exactly impress me, it was well suited to the job and it fit inside the frame nicely, with additional room for a radio frequency chip (if you have a Pulse). Again, the clamshell frame provides a way to play in absence of grips, and the LCD-in-frame gives you a nice display reminiscent of older Angels. A remilled body gives you the optimum protection with a weight that won't drag you down, and a new, lower twist-lock feedneck is as short as a No-Rise clamping or other such feedneck. The new Humphrey solenoid (present in Alias-style Intimidators as well) is the fastest Timmy noid ever, capable of 100+ CPS (cycles per second). Of course, no current feed system can keep up with that. Even with all great markers, there is a downside.

As aforementioned, the regulators need to be reset every time you attach an air current to your Intimidator. With the advent of new technology come new problems, and the Gen4 poppet is no exception. Its ultra-low operating pressure means that the seal o-ring, located where the cupseal normally is, is rather susceptible to "blowing off" erratically during the gassing-up stage. Normally, one or two shots is enough to reseat the o-ring, but this is not always the case. If you apply pressure how most markers accept it, all that high-pressure air will slam into the poppet and quite potentially disturb the seal o-ring. You must take the regulators in slowly so as to acclimate the poppet to such large forces. Aside from normal maintenance and regular lubrication, there is nothing to prevent a Generation 4 Intimidator from performing superbly.
Conclusion: Bob Long has been revered for his outstanding vision and engineering in paintball, and the Generation 4 Intimidator is an extension of that pioneering spirit. With a good price (under $600 new) and the best goddamn customer service on the planet, the Gen4 Timmy is a great buy, and it can keep up with the best markers on the field.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, July 14th, 2007 at 8:49 pm PST
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

crt Monday, July 9th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
6 months0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
dm5, dm6, quest, ion, a-5, spyders, & one autococker. once I got my infamous timmy I sold all my other guns cause I knew I would never use them again. This gun is awesome.
Marker Setup: 06 infamous with a dxs pulse, rf module, and a 68ci. 5000 tank
Recommended
Upgrades:
new barrel, trigger mod done by Matt B. @ xtreme paintball.
Strengths: Shoots extremely fast and accurate. Marker is very small and lightweight.
Weaknesses: None yet
Review: Purchased marker from xtreme paintball in dayton ohio, these guys are so helpful. Iam a recreational player but wanted a top of the line marker. The infamous gives me a big edge when playing with my buddies. this marker is soooo fast and accurate it is amazing. Marker was great from the gitgo but after the xtreme paintball guys set it up for me it is crazy fast. People call it the saw cause it cuts everyone down.
Conclusion: Excellent marker for anyone light, fast, durable, and once set it holds true.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Hamboy987 Friday, May 11th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
pm's
egos
dm's
and a crap load of timmys
Marker Setup: infamous
cp asa
cp reg
Recommended
Upgrades:
barrel, but the stock is straight too
I personally like the cp reg, cuz the macroline goes into the bottom getting it out of your way during play.
Strengths: Fast!!!
light as can be
accurate
and feels great
Weaknesses: None yet....
Review: All i got to say about this intimidator is that it is a FUKIN SWEET ASS GUN. Ive shot countless amounts of timmys....... and nothing comes close to this one. Bob Long has done it yet again. I got a pm6 and that thing is weak, compared to this BEAST.
The infamous feels so much better, and is so much faster.

I dont even do the whole write reviews on guns thing....but after shooting the infamous, i had to let everybody know that this gun is a FUKIN BEAST!!!
Conclusion: SICK as can be
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment
                            
Pages (4):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media