paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Empire Vents Avatar Goggles / Empire Vents Avatar Goggles / Empire Vents Avatar Goggles

Empire Vents Avatar Goggles Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Empire

Buy Empire Vents Avatar Goggles

Paintball Masks / Goggles

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Empire Vents Avatar Goggles
[ View Photos (15) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 80
Average Rating: 9.4 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $90

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Features:

* One piece dual molded mask
* Dark smoke thermal lens
* Micro fiber bag with 2nd lens (clear thermal)
* Dual density foam
* Includes brow shield and visor
* Color matched strap
* Color matched metallic logos
* Micro fiber goggle bag
Product Availability 
The Empire Vents Avatar Goggles are newer, so they should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (8):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  Last
        Next Page
Ericthemaster86 Thursday, June 19th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Strengths: Great ventilation, nice foam, light weight, excellent field of vision, looks sweet.
Weaknesses: None. Are you joking?
Review: When you wear this mask you feel like you aren't wearing a mask at all. It is so comfortable that I could probably wear it all day. Ventilation keeps you cool and field of vision doesn't block anything from sight.

I would absolutely recommend this mask to anyone, from a recballer to a tournament speedballer. It's a great mask and for the price is, in my opinion, unbeatable.

I honestly don't see how anyone could NOT love this mask.

Conclusion: Buy one!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

jwong Tuesday, June 17th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Empire E-Vents
JT Nforcer
Marker Setup: 2k7 Invert Mini
B2K4 PDS, AKA Sidewinder, Vapor Valve, AKA SCM 3, Chaos 2k7
2k3 BKO, Modified stock valve, Zenitram ASA, AKA MItey Max, Palmer Stabilizer, Micro-rock
Strengths: Ease of lense removal and cleaning
Weaknesses: Soft rubber may lack durability.
Review: Purchased on account of sale. Nicely packaged. Came with a smoke thermal lense, and a clear single lense. 2 visors/forehead protection attachments included. Goggle bag and lense bag also included.

The coating of the clear single lense dissolved into bubbles when my sweat dripped onto it. It was not usable after one use.

The smoke thermal lense is of nice solid constructions.

Field of vision is nice.

Due to the profile of the jaw line, head movement is quite free.

Due to the design of the lense, very low risk of paint or shell fragments getting in behind the lense (unlike the Nforcer).

Forehead protection could be a little better.
Conclusion: Better than my E-vent on account of the stronger ear section; not a fan of soft-ears. Miles ahead of my JT Nforcer.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

youknowme22685 Tuesday, June 10th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
JT Flex 8
Marker Setup: Does it matter?
Strengths: Field of vision, clarity, anti-fog, breathes easy, weight
Weaknesses: Low brow, padding
Review: I bought this mask at the field last Sunday cuz I was kinda tired of my camo Flex 8. It came in a fairly large package for what seems to be a fairly compact mask. I was immediately surprised by the weight of the mask. It obviously weighs less than the Flex 8. It came with more than I thought as well. I expected the nice goggle bag and a brow shield but it came with 2 and an extra lens!!! (clear) The clarity of the smoked lens is amazing. It is noticably nicer than a clear lens on sunny days. Fogging is a non-issue. It breathes very well considering there is only a very small area of vents in the mouth of the mask. The field of vision is also much better than anything I have used/tested. Up and down, left and right, you really can see almost everything.
The only issues I had with the Avatar set-up was the low-brow and the padding. I'm sure it's all personal opinion, but I feel like the padding in the JT was much higher quality. Not to say the Avatar's was necessarily bad, but it could have been better. I neglected to attach either of the brows to my mask and noticed that the brow was a little low, again not an issue unless you enjoy catching paint on your forehead.
Conclusion: Not sure if it's totally worth the money but it is a very attractive, effective goggle system.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Stevenmo34 Monday, June 9th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
3 months7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
E-Vents - feels better on the ears and seems to not echo as much
Cylus - not as good as the vents as it comes with only the clear lens and the logos aren't like the (E)Vents
Marker Setup: Milled '04 AKA Viking with:
-Tadao Board
-CP Clamping Feedneck
-CP On/Off ASA
-Empire 4 Piece Barrel Kit

Halo V35 also
Strengths: Read the Body:
Weaknesses: - Hard to put on the visors
- Fogs when it rains.
Review: Strengths:

- Lens Strength:
I feel like a pioneer when this happened. I started going to work and i had 3 bags of paintball stuff on me. I was getting ready to put my bags in the back of the truck and i set the mask down. I then put my bags in the back of the truck and got in the truck. We started the car and started to go. "*bump*" was the sound we heard and we asked if we heard that. Notice that i left out the part before i got into the truck, where i was supposed to pick up my mask. YEAH.....I did leave it under. We went back and I found my mask in the bag and it seemed like it was fully intact, but when i opened it up. it had a 20 degree bend in the right side of the lens. Only a little bend from a TRUCK. This "test" convinced my friend with a profilier to buy one.

-Looks:
They are one of the coolest looking masks I have seen out there.

-Comfort:
They are very comfortable and provide support for the ears and are gentle around the eyes.

-Visibility:
Both lenses are mostly always clear (the rain). As long as I used it during speedball, I didn’t fog up. If you are a woodsball player, the mask fogs up because you are not in motion and it needs to air out. You can also see almost normal field of view with these so you don’t have to hassle with turning your head all the time.

- Ventilation:
Well, its name is the Vents so of coarse it is going to be vented. As long as you don’t just breathe heavily right into the lens, it won’t fog up. My face can breathe in this mask better than any other.

-Bounces:
Seriously, I couldn’t believe this happened by I had a RPS All-Star bounce off my goggles. I was in a 1 on 1 match and we got into the Doritos and were in a snap shooting contest. I then take one to the left side of my goggles. Normally it just easily breaks, so my opponent and friend started leaving the field because he thought I had gotten out, but I didn’t. We both were like “WHAT!? An All-Star NOT breaking, weird.” These were brittle balls too.

-Cleaning:
These are very easy to clean, all you need to do is take off the lens and then run with a hose or something.
Conclusion: This is one the best masks i have seen out there. I mean it did very little damage to the mask after the truck ran it over.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Monday, June 9th, 2008 at 11:50 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Lastman Sunday, June 8th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Well I've used other masks, my old one was a Flex, not as good.
Marker Setup: Phantom
M-16 Grips
Ghost Ring
L Stock
3.5 oz Tank
Green/Black acid wash
Strengths: Easy to take apart
Good Vision
Soft Material
Comfy
Comes with extras
Weaknesses: Less ventilation then other high quality masks
Price?
Review: I just got the event this weekend, and I'm impressed. It's much better then my Flex. First of all its easy to take apart. My Flex nearly drove me insane! That means I can store it so much easier, I can change lenses easily too. The mask is very comfy to wear, and the material is soft enough to enable paint balls to bounce off the mask, unlike my previous hard material mask. The vision is great. It doesn't fog at all. I breathed on it really hard for awhile, no fog. However time will tell. But if the anti fog stuff goes away on one lenses, I still have another lens that came with the mask! Which is great about the mask, it comes with two sacks to store the mask and lenses in, and a extra lens. This gives you the best bang for you buck. My only problem with it is the ventilation. I tried on a profiler, and noticed much better ventilation. It gets really hot out and the mask doesn't really help much. However its better then other masks, but not the higher quality ones. However if I get hit in the mask, I'm not going be tasting paint, so its a trade off.
Conclusion: So if you are willing to pay 80+ for a mask, this is something I'd recommend. Its a great mask besides the ventilation, which makes me give it a 9. In every other regard of comfort and design, its top notch.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

LukasMandingo Wednesday, May 21st, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
JT Nvaders
Marker Setup: Smart parts ION
Q -lock feedneck
Progressive 14in rifled barrel
RPM Critical Trigger
DXS compressed air tank
View Loader Evulution 3 hopper
Strengths: -Doesnt fog
-looks awesome
-affordable
-comfy
Weaknesses: -Nothing
Review: Thrse goggles are the best i have ever used. i got the all black ones that look elite. they havent fogged on me yet and the are soft so they deflect paintballs. they also come wit a carrying bag and an extra lens, and visor. if you dont like to get shot in the head, i recommend putting the visor on...but if you put the visor on that is more for the other person to shoot.
-perfect score!
Conclusion: Get these goggles over any others. dont thin you have to get ones with fans or fancy stuff...get these!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

hotstuff16 Monday, May 12th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Jt elite alpha
Marker Setup: Spyder victor 2
Custom camo 200 round hopper
2 peice aero twist rifled barrel
20 0z co2 tank
Strengths: Small on face, comes with many extras, big range of view, easy lense removal
Weaknesses: Echo, visor and brow sheild
Review: This mask is the best mask I have ever worn. When I say that my trusty ol jts were all scratched up, I decided to look for a new lense. When I went online the replacements lenses were more expensive than the mask itself! So off I went on the wed to look for a new set of goggles. I looked at ol pbreview and saw these bad boys. I thought they were awesome until I saw the price! But I decided to look around for this mask for as cheap as possible. I found a pair for 40 bucks! Thats better than 100! When I opened it up I was suprised about how much came with it, a extra lense, a mask bag, lense bag, and more. This mask is the most comfortable mask in the world, you actually forget you are wearing them! The only bad things about this mask are the echo in the mask and the visor and brow shelid. The mask echos alot but it dosent bother me. The thing that stressed me out is the visor and sheild, these things are so hard to get in! But otherwise it is a good mask.
Conclusion: Get this mask! You will not regret it!
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

viper2001ad Tuesday, April 29th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Brass Eagle Extreme Vision 280
Marker Setup: Spyder Victor - Smart Parts 16 " Progressive barrel - Spyder venturi bolt - view loader 200 - hp bottle
Strengths: LOOKS!!!!
bundle (2 lenses)
comfort
no fogging
Weaknesses: none that I have found
Review: This one is just great, bought it 4 days ago and I love it. it looks like sub zero from mortal combat and its very comfortable. I had the Brass Eagle Extreme Vision 280 bevore and it's just not comparable, the avatar is much much better. the view is crystal clear, best vision ever. I must say that the price issn't just what you would call cheap... but hey, 2 lenses, and some more cool stuff are worth the price. if you are from around europe you might buy this thing at an american base field (dollar is just pretty cheap for us) and start enjoying it. That's about it, hope you find this at least a little helpful.
Conclusion: If you got the money and if you like looking good on the field this is your choice :)
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

vengeance17000 Tuesday, April 8th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Vforce Profilers, a little better than this mask.
Marker Setup: Smart Parts Shocker SFT with Virtue
Halo B v35
dye throttle 45/4500

Strengths: they look badass
Comfort
Lense Changing
Flexable
Compact
field of vision
Anti fog
Weaknesses: Sound
Lense Clips Rub Ears a little
Hard To Breath
Review: Looks: I just bought this mask recently and may I say they look amazing. They are probably the coolest looking mask on the market besides the ones with the soft ears.

Comfort: These are comfortable, but not quite as comfortable as my vforce profilers, they just feel a little different. Also, I noticed that the lense clips sort of rubbed against the top of my ears, just enough to be annoying, but still comfortable mask

Lense Changing: These lenses are very easy to change, all you have to do is quickly pop the strap off and pop the clips out and your lenses are off. Again, not as easy as the profilers, but still easy.

Flexablility: These are very very flexable on the sides. They seem like they would promote many bounces from some not so brittle paint. These are actually more flexable than the profilers.

Size: These are very very compact. I have found that with the profilers, they seem to stick out more when I head check, but the other team would be lucky to get a shot on these, because of the dip in on the sides.

Field of Vision: These have a pretty good field of vision, but I have found that when the sun is directly above you, the light comes through the slits above the lense and mess with your vision a little. Again, not much to worry about, it doesn't affect it much. The Profilers have a little better field of vision because of the Bubble vision, IMO

Anti Fog: The anti fog on these goggles are amazing. The lenses are double layered for better anti fog. I actually think that these are less prone to fogging than the profilers.

Sound: The sound on these goggles is terrible. You can hear yourself yelling extremely loud in these. I think it has something to do with the lack of holes in the sides of the mask. Also, your teammates can't really hear you that well. The profilers beat these in this category by a long shot.

Hard to Breathe: Again, a product of less holes in the mask, it is often dificult to breathe in these. And again, the profilers beat these in this category.
Conclusion: I would recommend this product, though I would recommend the profilers over these, but not by much. This is just a completely badass mask. So yes, I would recommend them. I'm going to give them an 8 because of the sound and the breathing, because communication is key to winning, and breathing is key to living, lol.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

deano 177 Monday, February 4th, 2008
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
JT x-fires
JT Elite nVADER Mask
Marker Setup: VS3 with vs2 trigger
Empire Vents Avatar with dark thermals
Halo Frontman
88 and 68/4500 Pure Energy with DYE covers
Invert 3+2 Loaders
Invert Digi Woodland Outfit
Spyder MR 1 with rear cocking mod
14" j&j barrel
Spyder E-trigger
Palmer's Stablizer
Pure Energy 16oz tank
Pure Energy 20oz tank
Strengths: Fits like a dream
Easy to change lens
Very comfortable
Weaknesses: Lens scratching
Neck protection
Visor hart to put on
Review: I got these after using my X-fires for most of my playing. What really drew me in was the quick disconnecting lens system. I also wanted to upgrade to the 270* field of view style lens. I have been happy with my purchase and just like another reviewer stated if these were lost or stolen I would replace them with another set without thinking twice.

POSITIVE

Fit: I have a big head.lol. I wear a 7 3/4" hat. These fit me well.

Quick change lens: If you have been fighting to get your JT's back into the goggle frame and are sick and tired of it, give these a try. I got hit in the left temple area this weekend and didn't even notice. I got off the field and took my mask off. Did the quick releases and dunked it in my bucket of water and had them cleaned and back on the mask before another player even made it off the field.

Field of vision: This goggle system has an awesome field of vision. I believe it is 270*. You basically cant see the sides of the mask.


Fogging: I have yet to have this mask fog up on me yet. I have used the dark thermals in the daytime and the clear non-thermals at night. No fogging ever!

------------------------------------------------------------
---------------

NEGATIVE

Lens scratching: Most of this is user error. However, I feel that these lens are really easy to scratch. There is a lot of sand where I play and it is hard to keep it out of the mask. Both my lenses have wear marks and pitting around where they fit into the frame. Its not really that big of a deal because you don't look through that part any way. But they do scratch easily IMO.

Neck protection: These don't have much in the way of neck protection. I felt the X-fires had more but the trade off is more than worth it. I usually wear a scarf anyway so that helps. Just don't be supprised if you catch one in the neck one day.

Visor installation: Of all the good stuff about this mask system I can't for the life of me see why the visors are so hard to put on. I didn't/don't feel as if the visor even did anything so I took mine off. I know a lot of people don't use the visor anyway so this isn't that big of a deal. I had to use needle nose plyers to push mine through the "slats" in the top of the mask.


Conclusion: This goggle system are some of the best that I have seen and used. A lot of pro's use them so they must be good, right? The ones that I bought came with the dark thermals and the clear single pane lens. It also came with a hard lexan case for you to store them in. The Vents also came with a micro fiber bag that fits the goggle system and a smaller one for the other lens. I ended paying $99 for mine but I had to have them NOW! You can definately find them cheaper.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
3 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (8):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media