paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Empire Event Goggles / Empire Event Goggles / Empire Event Goggles

Empire Event Goggles Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Empire

Buy Empire Event Goggles

Paintball Masks / Goggles

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Empire Event Goggles
[ View Photos (67) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 166
Average Rating: 9.4 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $100

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The Vents Goggle System is a new, low profile goggle system designed to present the minimum target possible while being soft and flexible for comfort and to help keep you in the game by glancing/bouncing paintballs. The soft faceplate of the "top model" is re-enforced by a flexible yet strong mouth guard which allows the front of the mask to flex on impact, but stops full paintballs from pushing through or lifting it up, and thus protects your lips and mouth. The "mid model" has a more rigid one piece faceplate which still maintains a flexible area in front of your mouth for protection.

These goggles have a special Venting system designed to work functionally with the way you breathe. The mouth vents are located correctly via the use of real digitized human heads such that you breathe and shout through the vents rather than into a large mass of plastic or rubber as with other goggle systems. As your breath hits the front of the mask, it either exits directly or is deflected sideways and outwards through specially shaped vents which take the deflected breath and move it out from the face plate. These specially shaped vents project your voice and warm breathe out to the sides, and not up into the goggle. As your breathing warms the front of the mask, it heats up dry air in the "demist guide". This demist guide is specially designed to prevent hot moist air from your breath getting through vents in the bottom of the goggle. Instead, the heat is transferred to dry air in the demist guide making it rise and move up across the lens of the goggle. As this air rises, it draws in fresh, dryer air from the back and sides of the goggle. This allows you to have a flow of air across the lens to help avoid fogging, while ensuring no moist air gets from your breath into the lens area. Side baffles in the faceplate prevent warm moist air from moving up into the goggle so your voice and hot air is expelled in the direction you want it toÖ out through the mask. The ear pieces are designed to cup around your ears so your ears can sit in a very natural position and your hearing with the goggle on is just like it was without the goggle on. We didn't put excessive cosmetic venting into the mask like many other companies do, because it wasn't needed due to the advanced design and to keep the smooth, clean lines that make paint more likely to glance off the goggle and to make it easier to clean when paint does get onto the goggle.

Features
* Empire goggles come with removable soft ear pieces and an even lower profile faceplate for the maximum reduction in target, and ultimate "cool" factor.
* The Vents lens system is a very advanced and optically correct lens. Although at first glance it looks like a "flat lens," it actually changes in thickness to maintain the best optical quality possible. The power imbalance, which means how your eyes see for straight ahead, is 0.00 for both Spherical power imbalance and Astigmatic power imbalance (the value is so small it canít be read with conventional testing equipment). What does this mean? It means what you are seeing is really where you think it is, so you can be more accurate in your shooting.
* The lens is an extremely safe, quick release system. It can be replaced in seconds, yet is held very securely into the mask and frame. Unlike other quick release systems, the Vents lens fits in under the nose piece. This means the nose area doesnít deflect in when shot, so it prevents the ingress of paint into the goggle under the lens. To further lock the lens into place, there is a "tongue and groove" around the edge of the lens and goggle. This prevents shots at the edge of the lens forcing paint up into the goggle and helps maintain a high safety factor. The Lens is held in at the sides with very robust retainers, which also hold the logos. This simply pushes through the lens and the goggle, then secured in place inside the frame by placing the end of the strap clip over the retainer and twisting down into position. The added safety being that you canít have the strap in place if the lens isnít in the goggle properly. So you canít wear the goggle until a lens is in place. Itís a very quick and easy process, so you can pick and choose lenses to suit your playing conditions.
* The goggle has the ability to add a visor or brow shield. These are made of flexible material and are easy to fit or remove without the use of tools, and with no other separate small pieces to get lost in your kit bag.
* The Vents goggles come with a high quality strap with silicon beading to help keep the mask firmly on your head. The Empire goggle has the added EE" logos in silicone for the utmost in grip.
Product Availability 
The Empire Event Goggles are newer, so they should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (17):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  Last
        Next Page
paint2ballfreak Sunday, August 3rd, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
all the V-force line some dyes.
Marker Setup: Warped Sportz Dark Timmy; Tadao OLED Alias Board, Sly barrel w/ 689 back, Bob long cam drive.
Strengths: Very light and compact.
Weaknesses: If you put them under running water it messes them up.
Review: STRENGTHS:

Light and compact. great field of vision. the mask is soft enough to bounce paint but hard enough so it doesn't hurt. They LOOK SOOO GOOD!!! And there really comfortable. Really easy to clean and take out the lens. Did I mention they look SOOO GOOD!!! while being very functional. comes with two lenses a clear single pane and a smoke thermal.

WEAKNESSES:

Well for some people they might be a little too small and expose your ear lobes and maybe other places. DON'T put the lens under water it will remove the anti fog layer. I did this with the clear single pane lens and it completely screwed it up so now i know not to do it with my smoke lens.
Conclusion: Definitely one of the best masks on the market. I would completely recommend them.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

RyanTaylor Saturday, July 12th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Lets see if i can remember a few

-JT proflex
-Proto Switch EL
-Dye i3
-JT noob mask (came with my brothers gun, i had to use it for a game)
-Extreme Rage 20/20 ahaha, worse mask ever
Marker Setup: Pirahna Evo 05
-Boss Blade Trigger
-Boss Blade Bolt
-6 inch Steel braided Hose
-Rap4 Unimount (on/off airport)
-Halo B with rip drive
-3000 psi, 48 ci Pure Energy Tank
Strengths: -BOUNCES
-Color Options
-Little to no fog
-Packaging
-Lens change
-2 lenses
Weaknesses: -Muffles voice (to people in front of you)
-Price
-Stock lenses scratch easy
Review: Proflexes vs E vents

Proflexes are cheaper, and more customizable, come with one lens. E vents have more stock color options, and come with 2 lenses. With JT flexes, it feels more like goggles then a mask, so you can hear better, your voice is never muffles and it isnt as warm feeling. However, JT proflexes lack protection, and some find the style not as cool as E vets

(i paid 109$ for my e vents, and i paid 60$ for flexes)

But i wouldn't even compare it that much to the dye i3s.. Dye i3s never get bounces, but they NEVER fog up if you buy the turbine fan. They are also a lot more expensive, for an extra 30$ for i3s i dont think its worth it. because if your not a total noob you would know how to breathe in a mask
Conclusion: Yes, get it or get the flexes, its a matter of style. But JTs i find are better and cheaper
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

ssbechtold3 Thursday, July 10th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
JT Invader, JT Proteus, and Dye Invision
Marker Setup: Shocker NXT with Freak barrel
Strengths: Great field of view
Easy to change lenses
Weaknesses: Poor quality
Review: By reading the reviews of other members it has come to my attention that it is likely that I recieved a defective pair of googles, however this is my experience with them. What sold me on them was the field of view, I didn't particularly care for the look but I'm about winning and if I can see better I increase my chances of winning.

Well it went good, first day out on the field no problems they worked fine. However the problem arose when I got home to clean the googles. I dipped them in the bathtub of luke warm water and pulled them out. Well immediately the film on the inside started peeling. Now the googles are some what blurry because not all of the film was removed but a majority of it was.

In my mind this is completely rediculous. I have had numerous googles for years on end with no problems washing them the same way, however the first time I do it I destroy the lense. On a google system that costs $100 this is unacceptable, the googles are made to with stand being hit by paintballs and cleaned.

I took the googles back to the store and asked why this happened, they told me that I didn't clean them right (I needed to use a micro-fiber cloth and air dry the googles) and to read the directions. Well the directions say nothing about a micro-fiber cloth (it says 100% cotton soft cloth but I was using a bath towel so yea) and nothing about air drying. If this is the case with the googles why bother with such sensitive googles? If you're at a tournament and get hit in the mask and it needs to be rinsed clean are you going to have time for the lenses to air dry so that you can see again?

Obviously the system has worked well for others, I would say that my experience may be an exception but none the less it happened. The lenses are simple to replace and the field of view is excellent. The googles are not the most comfortable in the world (it seemed like the headband would not stay tightened and would slide down my head but it wasn't unbearable). I do not have any other complaints or compliments for these googles.
Conclusion: If I had the chance to do it all over again I would not have touched these googles.
Rating:
2 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, July 10th, 2008 at 7:57 am PST
I found this review  
5 Comments - Add Comment

nerdcore Monday, June 30th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
VForce Profiler - Lens change is quicker on Profiler.
VForce Grill - Lens change is just as quick but Grill feels lighter.
JT Proflex - lightest mask i've worn & most customizable but looks wide on my head.
Marker Setup: ul'd DM5 w/ Critical trigger, Hybrid Hedlock, CP asa & EPEK flow plug.
Lucky Un1tech
Halo B
Crossy 72/45 stubby
Strengths: Quick change lens.
Comes with 2 lenses.
Looks sick.
Soft Ears are stock.
Weaknesses: Muffles voice a little? But not for me. See below.
Review: FIRST IMPRESSIONS - there's way too much plastic used to package this mask. It's a thick plastic base, like a mask display stand, and a thick plastic shell over it that's somewhat molded to the shape of the mask. Looks pretty on display but holy crap Empire/KEE could save so much money using simpler methods.

But i digress. The mask is well-protected in its "armor case." It comes with mask bag, 2 visors (one is more of a forehead shield) and 2 lenses. The second lens is supposed to be a clear single-pane but my local shop switched it out for a clear dual-pane, which is awesome considering i paid more than the average online price for the E-Vent. Oh, and the spare lens comes with its own bag.

QUALITY - The lenses are made very well and are rather thick. They almost feel as heavy as the mask itself (without the lens). But i'm confident that means these things can take some heavy abuse before replacing. Although the lens itself is huge, the viewing area in the mask is not. There's plenty of peripheral vision but when looking at the mask, you'd swear the entire top half is pure viewing area.

Foam looks well-made. It's got 2 layers: regular foam that touches your face and the layer touching the mask that looks like it's more dense, for better glue adhesion, maybe. Very comfortable, regardless. There's also some weird foam "forks" that extend down below the standard foam - my guess is so mask hits don't slap against your face.

The mouth part is somewhat flexible. Not like a Proflex but more like a Grill. The soft ears are a really nice touch, adding to the overall comfort. And while they're larger than even the regular JT soft ears, they flow with the rest of the mask very well. And there are custom E-Vent soft ears available!

The mask & lens bags have tags saying the bags themselves are ideal for cleaning lenses but i wouldn't trust that. They don't feel like they'd clean well at all. And why get your mask bag dirty? Just use a microfiber cloth like normal people.

PERFORMANCE - so i wore this mask all day yesterday. It was hot enough that everyone was sweating from just standing around...

No fogging. At all. Sweat would drip from the foam when i took it off but it never fogged on me. Yay dual-pane thermal lenses!

I like the profile on this mask. It conforms to the face, making it streamlined. Reminds me of the Profiler, how it follows the jaw line instead of sticking out. Both my Grill & Proflex looked like they stuck out a lot along the jaw when i wore them.

Other reviews mentioned the mask muffled voices & shouting, which can be detrimental to back players like me. Someone even said there was an echo in the mask, so bad that at the end of the day his ears were ringing & his teammates were saying they could barely hear him or not hear him at all...

I didn't have that problem. My buddies were able to hear me yelling. And it didn't bother me any. When just talking normal, i could somewhat hear my own voice amplified in the mask but that happens with every mask i've worn. When i'm yelling, my jaw is dropping so the sound isn't going solely through the mask face vents, it's permeating out the bottom of the mask as well. I think those other people need to learn how to yell. ;)

The lens does indeed come out super easy. It's got similar steps to the Grill (remove strap, remove clips, remove lens) but it's done better on the E-Vent, imo, like i can complete those steps faster on them. I like having the soft ears secured to the strap clips, too - no pros or cons about that, it's just neat.
Conclusion: I've worn a few good masks and this is yet another one of them. Some masks have good features but lack good design. Some masks have great design but lack good features.

The E-Vents have both great design & features and right in the same price range as all other high end masks.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

jwong Tuesday, June 17th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Vents Avatar
JT Nforcer
Marker Setup: 2k7 Invert Mini
B2K4 PDS, AKA Sidewinder, Vapor Valve, AKA SCM 3, Chaos 2k7
2k3 BKO, Modified stock valve, Zenitram ASA, AKA MItey Max, Palmer Stabilizer, Micro-rock
Strengths: Ease of lense change and ease of cleaning.
Weaknesses: Soft ears may tear easily but no problems so far.
Review: Purchased on account of sale. Nicely packaged. Came with a smoke thermal lense, and a clear single lense. 2 visors/forehead protection attachments included. Goggle bag and lense bag also included.

The coating of the clear single lense dissolved into bubbles when my sweat dripped onto it. It was not usable after one use.

The smoke thermal lense is of nice solid constructions.

Field of vision is nice.

Due to the profile of the jaw line, head movement is quite free.

Due to the design of the lense, very low risk of paint or shell fragments getting in behind the lense (unlike the Nforcer).

Forehead protection could be a little better.
Conclusion: This is a nice mask. However, the soft ears are a weakness as they are likely to tear easily. My teamate's soft ears have torn after 1 season of use. The coating of the clear lense is not durable; sweat will dissolve it.
Rating:
8 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, June 17th, 2008 at 6:38 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

victoralphac. Sunday, June 1st, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Vforce Pro Vantage
Marker Setup: I have a black/red epiphany with virtue board, virtue eyes, smart parts q-lock feedneck, smart parts s-rail, smart parts freak back/all american tip.
Strengths: Amazing mask, amazing everything
Weaknesses: Breathing through ventage can be harder sometimes
Review: I bought these things about 6-7 monthes ago and hope never to go back to another mask. These give you a great field of vision and great hearing capabilities. Lense can be changed in no time and and just stylish. Leaves you kind of exposed in some spots but nothing big. Very comfortable with the foam and strap.
Conclusion: Get it, don't look back
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Money Lover Monday, May 26th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
just low end stuff
Marker Setup: PROMASTER
halo b
all american barrel
nitro
hyper3 reg
Strengths: light
LOOKS SWEET
anti fog
comfterable
goodies
value
Weaknesses: Price
Review: not alot to say

it does its job (protects your face)
it looks amazing!
it comes with lots of extras (extra lense, micro fiber bags)
IT LOOKS SWEET
it doesnt fog up
there isnt alot to say...... except

BUY IT

cons

price- but seriously can you hold that against them compared to wat others charge for less?

it owns BUY IT!!!!
Conclusion: if you have the cash BBBBBUUUUYYYYY IT

11/10
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Adleist Sunday, May 11th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
First High-end mask
Marker Setup: Trilogy Competition autococker
48/3000 tank
Stock Barrel
Viewloader 12volt hopper
Strengths: See Review
Weaknesses: See Review
Review: +

-Doesnt fog at all
-Very comfortable
-Easy to field strip
-Come with 2 lens and 2 visor
-Bounce a lot on the side

_______________________________________________
-

-It's VERY easy to destroy the antifog thing
-Little difficult to communicate
-Expensive



The only real problem that I had with this mask is that I destroyed the antifog thing because I used too much water and I had to buy a new clear lens...
Conclusion: I really liked this mask. It's great even though it's very expensive but it definitely worth every penny .
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, May 11th, 2008 at 5:34 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

bette10 Saturday, May 3rd, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Non
Marker Setup: Tippmann a-5 ,shockteck drop forward, on off asa, low pressure kit, R/T, freak jr. barrel kit, Ricochet hopper crossfire 4500 penut tank.Empire cover
Strengths: profile, LOOKS :), Comfortable
Weaknesses: Nothing!!!
Review: I bought the events and i have to say something about how everyone says they echo. They dont!!! It just makes you sound a bit louder.

LOOKS: I bought this mainly for its looks. I personally think its the coolest looking mask on the market!!

Price: I bought mine for $50. i GOT THE YELLOW!! it looks alot cooler in person!!! SORTA STEEP AT $100.

accecories: it has everything whod buy to updrade your events!! It comes with a brow shield, (VISOR) and a longer visor, and micro fiber google bag, and a microfiber lens bag, comes with a smoke and a clear thermal lense!!! NICE!! It also comes with a maunal. I GOT A DEAL!!!

the sides of the event: paintballs always bounce!!

HUGE LENSE!

VERY EASY TO TAKE APART!

PACKAGING: it is a very hard plastic and can be used as a case. It is indistructible!!! JK
Conclusion: totally worth it. For all it comes with. THIS IS A DEAL!! BUY IT
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, May 3rd, 2008 at 7:47 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

eclipsepb173 Saturday, April 19th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
6 months2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Jt Flex 8
Dye Invision
Marker Setup: 07 etek ego
08 star frame
zick kit
crossfire with maxflow
xsv vlocity
Strengths: Good Vision, two lenses for indoor and outdoor use
Weaknesses: Soft ears, can be hard to breath in after long run
Review: This product is very good i would recommend it to all users.If you are looking for clear and wide vision this is the product for you. The only issue i have had with this mask is the soft ear protection because if you catch a straight shot to the ear your ears will ring and get painty.
Conclusion: If you are looking for clear and wide vision this is the product for you
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (17):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media