paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Dye DM6 / Dye DM6 / Dye DM6 / Dye DM6

Dye DM6 Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Dye

Buy Dye DM6

Paintball High-End Electronic Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Dye DM6
[ View Photos (57) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 98
Average Rating: 9.3 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $1350

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
DM6 features:
Ultralite barrel
On/off
Hyper 2 reg.
Operating pressure 145psi
Self cleaning eyes
New grip frame
Comes with differents modes of fire
Roller bearing trigger
It's about 1/2 shorter than the dm5
Metal power buttons instead of a membrane pad
Improved Fuse bolt
Locking adjustable feed neck.
Product Availability 
The Dye DM6 is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (10):  First  |  7  |  8  |  9  |  10
                            
trogdor55 Saturday, December 17th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Red/Black DM4, Blue/Black DM4, Cobalt/Black DM4, 05 Shocker, DMC
Marker Setup: Dust Black DM6
Dye Ultralight Barrel
Crossfire 45/45 lp tank with Redz Cover
Black Halo With Rip Drive and Victory Board
Recommended
Upgrades:
Vritue ( easier to change modes; more modes)
Nothingd out and the stock trigger is very nice
Strengths: Weight, Accuracy, Speed, UL FRAME
Weaknesses: If you dont have a job the price is a considerable chunk of change.

Review: So lets start with out of the box. Amazing gun comes with all the things you've come to excpect from dye. Gun out of the box is amazing it will make you look twice. It has nice milling and I think the ul frame grips are nice looking with the gun. Its a very small gun and is very balanced with a 45/45 tank and a full halo. It shoots nice and smooth once you set it up. I shoot all my guns on psp mode so speed is no factor to me but it shoots the 15 very nice. The ul has performed again and again for me and this gun is no acception. Shoots nice clean ropes all the time. I haven't had a chop yet in my first 3 bags but I know others at my field have had some chopping issues with theres. Its consistent about +- 4 out of the box for the 4 balls i chronoed. Its light and you wont notice it in your hands during games. As far as efficiency goes I dont really know, I get my halo and 3 pods and thats all I shoot and I fill after every game so this dosent apply to me too much.
Im going to get virtue in the coming months so ill edit my review once i get it.

:edit: i got a little carried away and off topic with my review,sorry. =) fixed =)
Conclusion: Get this gun, unles your not a matrix guy. But I've shot egos of all sorts and I love my dm6 til the day the dm7 comes out ( evil grin ). Well there yah go.

And yes, there are still 1 or 2 dm6's left in stock. Get em' While there hot!
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, December 17th, 2005 at 10:45 pm PST
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

Samurai18 Monday, December 12th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
3 months5 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Dm4, Naughty Dog Freestyle, DM5, DMC
Marker Setup: 14" Stiffi Barrel, CP Trigger, 68-4500, Reloader B, NEW Bolt
Recommended
Upgrades:
maybe a new bolt the stock one is better then the Other Matrix Bolts
Strengths: Comfort, Weight, Speed, Accuracy, Easy to use board, Self cleaning eyes.
Weaknesses: On Off bottom line
Review: Speed- Easy to shoot this gun and hold and maintain your rope of paint.

Kick- Hardly anything noticeable for the kick factor in the gun.

Accuracy- Very Accurate.

Handling- The gun in your hands handles very very good. running and shooting and Snap shooting hasn't ever been this ever, I mean those aren't hard to do but this just makes it soooooo easy.

Consistency- Mine Chrono'd at practice at 274-277 with 6 shoots.

Clean- Pretty easy just like all other Matrix's but with my bolt I got I noticed I can shoot like 8 cases threw the gun(usually is 3 practices in 2 weeks) and not worry about lubing the bolt.

Trigger- Easy to shoot trigger but more of a fan of the Blade like triggers.
Conclusion: This gun made me wanna sale all my other markers(Dmc, Alias, Dm5, Naughty Freestyle). You dont hear this much but this gun is really worty every penny its just beyound a great marker.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

lemons-117 Sunday, December 11th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
03-05 shocker 05 ion
Marker Setup: dye throttle 70/45
Halo b/v35
Recommended
Upgrades:
a evolve or orange bolt
Strengths: Speed, wight accuracy and comfort
Weaknesses: None
Review: Its a great gun out of the box no need for upgrades unless you really want to upgrade it its. accurate small light and fast .it trows ropes its easy to shoot fast it really every thing you need to rip and own. its pretty air efficient i can get 7 to 9 dye lock lid pods off of a 70/45. efficient
Conclusion: So if you have 1350 or 1400 hundred laying around buy it and you will love it
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
3 Comments - Add Comment

shockerfan1128 Sunday, December 11th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month5 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
PM5 DM5 Angels Timmys and XSV EGO AND NEXUS EGO
Marker Setup: Red to Black DM6 Black, reloader B and pure energy 45ci 4500psi low pressure
Recommended
Upgrades:
New feed neck i cant get mine to clamp on my empire reloader b
Strengths: Fast
Light
Accurate
Easy to Hold
Good manual
nice trigger
Weaknesses: clamp feed loose on my reloader B
super sexy
Review: When igot thos gun at Pevs they brought it out and it was still in the shrink wrap. The guy behind the counter took off the wraping and oped the box up. Iwas suprised the box looked like a square. When you open it u see the gin presnted like its on a rack. The gun comes out and all the parts and barrel are behind it. It comes it a small allen wrench set, parts kit, dye slick lube,barrel condom and a dye sticker. THe gun it self is so light when you take off ur tank after playing it feels like the gun isn't in ur hand.


Th only problem that i have had was the trigger retaining screw was tooo tight and the trigger stuck but tht was easy to fix.
Conclusion: This is the best gun and will be until dye comes out with a new one Buy this gun!!! Now stop reading this review and go to ur local store and get one
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Monday, December 19th, 2005 at 2:23 pm PST
I found this review  
3 Comments - Add Comment

LI_AngelG7 Friday, December 9th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month19 of 30 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Angel 4 Fly
Angel G7
Marker Setup: 68 4500 Pure Energy
Halo B
Recommended
Upgrades:
I feel the only thing you need is a drop, unless you have very long arms, if you leave it the way it is you can't have your gun tight to your body when you are moving/walking
Strengths: Speed, light, milling is sweet, great trigger,efficient
Weaknesses: NO LCD, see conclusion...and it needs a drop more of a preference though.
Review: I never liked the DM's before, or the protos, I mean I know there great guns but the size of the body allways bothered me. But the DM6's and the protos are slimmed down, they're pretty hot now...I think these things look like they belong in a space movie.
Conclusion: OK, overall I love this gun, and anthing I don't like about it is more of just a personal preference issue. So the gun is great, nice straight shot, even at far shots, my Angel's shoot more of an arche on long shots. Whoa and you want to talk fast? This thing RIPS out of the box. 30BPS if you have a hopper that can handle it..

I have 2 Angels (G7 and a 4FLY). I still favor WDP guns, I love the LCD feature. When you change settings on the DM6 it's a little of a bother. When I wanted to set the DWELL to my preference, it was a pain in the but, counting light blinks, hold the trigger 2 seconds..and so on..you get the point, My angels everthing is right there for you.

All of the modes are built into the DM6, which is great.

It's deffenitly more efficient, lighter. I havn't experiences shootdown like I heard I would, BUT, I also take the time to set the marker up, I don't just take it out of the box and play.

I did not list PRICE as a WEAKNESS...Because this is the dumbest thing to complain about. I said it on 4FLY and G7 review and I will say it again "YOU GET WHAT YOU PAY FOR!"

Anyway, the gun is great, I really like it thats why I gave it a "9", I didn't give it a "10" only because of my preferences...that's it..
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Friday, December 9th, 2005 at 7:37 am PST
I found this review  
13 Comments - Add Comment

alias_baller338 Thursday, December 1st, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month10 of 20 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
alias (only simular in weight and size)
Marker Setup: red black dm6, 14" stiffi, pure energy 68/45, white reloader b
Recommended
Upgrades:
bolt or other efficiancy upgrades
Strengths: Everything you want in a gun and more
Weaknesses: Efficiancy
Review: cleaning Eyes: worked great I used the crapiest paint I had and shot a few ropes then I broke a ball, in like 5-8 shots it was clean.

speed: right when I got it I put it in PSP and I was shooting ropes with one finger, I felt after a while that psp was to easy to get dependant on so I put it on millenium, and it is very easy to shoot fast without any firemodes on.

accuracy: at 65 feet with my stiffi I was hitting a 3in. post about 6 out of 10 shots of my ropes at 15 bps and most were ball on ball.

Kick: little to none

efficiancy: it's pretty poor like a hopper and a pod or two on a 68 4500 filled to around 3000 psi, which will get better when it gets broken in

consistancy: I havn't chrono'd it yet but it looks pretty consistant just by how tight the groupings are at lower and high rates of fire

adjustibility: it's very adjustible from the trigger to the settings, the trigger can be adjusted with ease from the right side of the gun because of the two holes in the grip to slip your allen in to adjust it. the LED is very user friendly IMO I prefer LCD, but I found suprising that how easy this LED marker was to use.

Conclusion: One of the greatest guns ever made imo, it's worth buying if your in the market for one.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, December 21st, 2005 at 6:38 pm PST
I found this review  
10 Comments - Add Comment

shlobo Thursday, November 17th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month28 of 32 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
DM4
DM5
Marker Setup: Blue DM6
Recommended
Upgrades:
Phsssss, upgrades.
Strengths: Sexyness, weight, accuracy, quiet, new trigger frame.
Weaknesses: Weaknesses?
Review: I couldn't stand being at school the day my DM6 showed up knowing it was at home in a box waiting for me. I opened the box right up, grabbed my tank and about 20 paintballs. Before I do any of that, I open up the gun and change the firing mode to PSP and make the trigger really light. So I'm in my backyard and I gas it up, put the paintballs in and rip it. The 20 paintballs were gone in less than 2 seconds. I only shot at a really skinny tree with it and hit it every shot ball on ball. I went back into my house completely amazed at how well the gun works.
I like the changes Dye has made to the gun. Not only the size and milling on the outside, but to the internals. The board comes stock with three firing modes. Semi-Auto, PSP, and Millenium. Semi-Auto comes stock and it is exactly what it sounds like, one ball per trigger pull. PSP is the setting that ramps the most. It is basically three shots every trigger pull, it's capped at 15 BPS. Millenium ramps a little bit less than PSP. It has short bursts of shots every couple of seconds. I have my gun set on Millenium. PSP is too much of a paint waste for me.
Dye also made the trigger extremely easy to adjust. Just take off one side of the grip and with the turn of your allen key the trigger can be as sensitive and light as you want it.
Conclusion: This is by far the greatest gun I have ever seen. Unlike the DM5, it is ACTUALLY redesigned. It's fast, reliable, light, accurate and sexy. Honestly, what more could you ask of a gun?
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
5 Comments - Add Comment

wgp04cocker Tuesday, November 1st, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month179 of 182 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Proto Matrix
Proto M6
DM4
DM5
DMC
Marker Setup: Dye DM6 #0048
AdvantagePB Virtue Board
Dye Ultralite Barrel

Proto Matrix
Ultralite Trigger Frame
Dye Ultralite Barrel
Hybrid Bolt Guide
CCM No-Rise Feedneck
Recommended
Upgrades:
Not many upgrades are out as of now, but they are definately in the works.
Strengths: -Accuracy
-Speed
-Weight
-Milling
-Kick
-Quiet
-Comfort
-Trigger Frame
-Efficiency
Weaknesses: None
Review: First off, I want to say that this gun is very different from the DM5/C, and isn't just the same marker with different milling. Just so that everyone knows, the DM6 has a NEW:
-Solenoid
-Self-Cleaning Eyes
-Ramping Software
-Bolt
-Trigger Frame
-Trigger
-Dye Sticky grips
-LPR
-Stainless Steel buttons instead of membrane pads
-And of course the light-weight milling

Pros
Accuracy
EVERY shot was ball on ball, I was amazed when I was shooting strings that were hitting the same spot over and over. Compared to other guns Iíve shot, the DM6 is by far the most accurate one

Speed
This is the fastest DM ever. Unlike other matrices were the gun is mechanically capped at 23 bps because of the solenoid, the DM6 is able to surpass 30bps and is only limited to the speed of your hopper.

Weight
If you've ever held an Ego, picture one but lighter. It hasnít been proven yet, but the DM6 is believe to weigh about 1.4 pounds, which, when compared to other markers, is a feather.

Just how light is it?
DM5- 1.22kg / 2.66 lbs
DMC -1.20kg / 2.65lbs
M6 - 1.07kg / 2.36lbs
DM6- 1.02kg / 2.24lbs winner at 6.7 ounces lighter than DM5

The DM6 is lighter then the DM5, DMC, Proto, Proto M6, Shocktech Shocker, Dynasty Shocker, Angel G7, Ego 05 and Ego 06. These were official weights provided by Dye themselves. Another important thing to note is that these weights include the airport and a battery, while most companies do not include these when they advertise their weights. So before you say the Ego 06 is lighter note that those weights do not included the airport or battery, whereas the DM weights do.

Milling
Drop dead sexy, plain and simple. One thing that I really like about the milling is the Dye Logo which has been milled toward the back of the gun near the LPR. When compared to the DM5ís milling, the DM6 appears to be more smooth and flowing, whereas the DM5 looked like it had a boney exoskeleton (Iíve owned a DM5 so Iím not bias, its just my opinion). Milling is of course all personal preference, but in my opinion the DM6 has some of the best milling on any marker currently out.

Software
Dye was very smart when programming the DM6ís board. Unlike other matrices, it comes stock with 3 different firing modes: NPPL/Semi, PSP, and Millenium. Now there is no need to spend a hundred some odd dollars on a new board since Dye now gives you the ability to play in any tournament series right out of the box.

Kick
Thanks to the lower operating pressure, it offsets the weight and provides for little to no kick, which makes keeping a steady hand during high rates of fire a breeze.

Noise
Just like all matrices, the DM6 is extremely quiet

Efficiency
Just like all other matrices, the DM6 could improve a little bit on its efficiency. Its not bad, but I play back/mid, so I need to get as many shots as possible. With about half of my 45/45 full I was able to get 2 pods and a hopper, so with a full tank you should expect 5 pods and a hopper, which isn't bad at all for a small tank like mine.

Comfort
Between the compact body and Ultralite frame, the DM6 is extremely comfortable to hold, especially with a 45ci tank

Feedneck
I'm glad Dye made it so that you can tighten your hopper by hand. On my DM4 I put a decent size scratch in the markers body after my hand which was holding the allen key slipped. Luckily I wonít have to worry about that anymore.

Trigger Frame
I love the Ultralite frame. Thanks to the hour-glass design it is extremely comfortable to hold in your hand. The only downside to it is that it has its own trigger design, so DM6 owners will have to wait for companies such as Custom Products to develop one for it.

Trigger
This was something I'm glad Dye improved upon. Now the trigger is less like a double finger trigger and now more like a blade style. Another plus is that the trigger is externally adjustable, so there is no need to constantly take your trigger frame on and off to adjust it.

Accessories
It was nice to have a small parts kit, lube, barrel condom, and a full set of allen keys included with the gun.

Cons
At first I thought that the efficiency was poor, but considering I was using a 45/45 tank, I think that 5 pods and a Halo is considerably good.
Conclusion: Dye really outdid themselves on this one. Between its small, lightweight body to ball on ball strings of paint, the DM6 is the best matrix I've owned. I strongly recommend one, but if the price tag is too high then look into the Proto M6, which is a great gun for its price.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, March 11th, 2006 at 11:51 am PST
I found this review  
82 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (10):  First  |  7  |  8  |  9  |  10
                            
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media