paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Dye DM6 / Dye DM6 / Dye DM6 / Dye DM6

Dye DM6 Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Dye

Buy Dye DM6

Paintball High-End Electronic Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Dye DM6
[ View Photos (57) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 98
Average Rating: 9.3 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $1350

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
DM6 features:
Ultralite barrel
On/off
Hyper 2 reg.
Operating pressure 145psi
Self cleaning eyes
New grip frame
Comes with differents modes of fire
Roller bearing trigger
It's about 1/2 shorter than the dm5
Metal power buttons instead of a membrane pad
Improved Fuse bolt
Locking adjustable feed neck.
Product Availability 
The Dye DM6 is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (10):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  Last
        Next Page
Ez_DYE Friday, March 16th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
PM5, Shocker NXT, Matrix LED, Dynasty Shocker.
Marker Setup: DYE DM6 (black) with virtue
Kingman 68/45 (might get Dye throttle)
Pulse (might get vlocity cause pulse is too heavy)
Recommended
Upgrades:
Board (because the stock board is boring only 3 modes)
Strengths: Small
Light
Fast
Accurate
Low kick
Good on air
Easy to clean
Weaknesses: The board because you only get 3 modes on it
very expensive
Review: I'll start off by saying this gun is very expensive. I paid $1500 cdn for it. Be ready to spend lots of money to own one. The shipping took pretty long but I hear from everyone that DYE isn't fast at shipping stuff but I was happy everything was ok.

COMFORT AND LOOKS
The gun is extremely small and light. The milling on the gun is really nice. Holding the gun is great because of how thin the UL trigger frame is. When I pick up a shocker or pretty much any other gun it is a little uncomfortable for me because it's more of a stretch. So the trigger frame on the DM6 is more maneuverable it's like a mold of your hand. The length from the reg. to the barrel makes this gun great for pawing.


PLAYING
The gun has very little to no kick at all. This really contributes to it's ball on ball accuracy because the gun isn't moving at all. The gun is very accurate. I put the virtue in my gun so it's not lacking speed one bit. I play back so I need a gun I'm comfortable holding up and shooting the whole game and the DM6 delivers. When I have to run in for the kill the Dm6 is light enough to throw from one hand to the other depending on what side of the bunker I'm coming up on. it is to get right in someones face because of the compact size.

DOWNFALLS
The only thing I didn't like about the gun was the board I did find it kind of stupid that it only came with 3 modes.




Conclusion: In total the DM6 is a great gun for any player and any style of play. If you have the money for this great gun but your having a hard time making up your mind trust me this gun is great I was very impressed.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

Dom'pops'Wolf Monday, March 5th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
3 months0 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Smart Parts Ion, Ego 6, Ego 7, Inimidator
Marker Setup: Main: Bob Long Infamous Intimidator, CP 16" 2 piece barrel, CP Drop Forward, CP ASA, Pulse Hopper

Backup: Smart Parts Ion, CP 16" one piece barrel, CP Drop Forward, CP ASA, New Designz trigger, CP Reg, Firebolt, Hybrid Grip, CP Feedneck, Velocity Hopper
Recommended
Upgrades:
Trigger, Drop Forward, Feedneck, Virtue Board, ASA
Strengths: Light weight, acurate, great air economy
Weaknesses: Pain to maintain, requires a lot of fine tuning, tempermental, slow shooter, Ultralite Frame
Review: I had my DM6 for three months... and I'm normally a fan of DYE products, but I have to say I was very dissappointed with the DM6. Let's start with the 'upgrades' already available on it. 1. Feedneck- This feedneck is a pain to adjust for both my Vlocity and my Pulse loader. I hated it.
2. ASA- Yeah, it comes with an on/off ASA. Big whup when it's such a pain to turn it on and off with gloves on... I would rather it not have come with one like the 'Timmy does so I can choose my own.
Moving on:
3. I'm only 5'9" and most would describe my frame as 'compact'. If you don't have a 45/45 tank, it gets right into your shoulder as you're trying to aim... and to remedy this you would need a drop forward... which is expensive, just like the rest of the parts for the DM6.
4. The factory settings chopped balls right out of the box, and no matter how much fine tuning I did to the marker, it still chopped balls. Didn't matter what kind I was using, but it did annoy me. Not having a quick disconnect feature to clean out the barrel and housing for the bolt made cleaning broken paint a pain in the rear.
5. The Ultralite Frame butts right up against the reg... where am I supposed to hang onto this marker? It was extremely uncomfortable to shoot once I got it on the field, not to mention the lousy stock trigger.
6. The board that comes with the DM6 is a piece of junk, I got a virtue board in the hopes that it would help hammer out some of the issues I was having. It did, but I think that having to buy a new board just adds to a growing list of complaints on a marker that was over a thousand bucks.

Positives:
1. This marker, when it worked properly, was very accurate and gave me very little kick.
2. The gas effeciency on this marker was very good, not as good as an autococker but definitely better than the intimidator I'm using now.
Conclusion: I only recommend this product if you don't mind sinking a ton of cash into a marker after spending a lot to get it. I don't know about the rest of you, but this product made me very angry with DYE and their production team.
Rating:
5 out of 10
I found this review  
3 Comments - Add Comment

cmagsi2 Sunday, March 4th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Smart Parts Ion
Proto Matrix 05
Marker Setup: -Dye Olive DM6
-Evil Scion 45/5000
-Black Parts
-CP Flow Plug
-Critical Trigger
-Tadao M7
-RF Chip w/ Pulse Loader
Recommended
Upgrades:
-Board
-Trigger
-RF Chip (Must Have)
Strengths: -Light
-Fast
-Consistent
-Milling
-UL Frame
-UL Barrel
-Hyper 2 Reg
Weaknesses: None
Review: This gun is by far the best marker I have ever shot. It is very consistent and has never given me any problems. I was lucky enough to get one of the second gen. dm6's. The believe the first gen dm6's had some eye problems, but mine works like a charm. I have never broken a ball in the breech. This gun shoots ropes with the Tadao M7 board. I just recently installed a critical trigger and I must say that this trigger is the perfect match for the dm6. They hyper 2 reg is very consistent. Efficiency is not bad with the dm6. I have noticed that I get more shots with this marker then I did with my pm5. I was able to install an rf chip in the ul frame to work in with my pulse loader. This allows the dm6 to shoot over 30bps with ease. I planned on picking up a dm7 but the extra milling, improved self cleaning eyes, and the lever lock feedneck weren't worth the extra money. I'll wait to see what the dm8 has to offer.
Conclusion: If you are planning to purchase a dm6, I suggest that you find one of the second gen ones. I believe that the newer ones have a slit cut on the trigger guards. Pair your dm6 with an rf chip and a pulse loader and you will have yourself the hottest marker in the galaxy. You definitely won't be disappointed.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

EgoManiac777 Saturday, February 3rd, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
-Ego-better stock, ligher, a little more kick
-shocker-dm6 is just an all-aroundbetter gun
pm6-heavier, worse trigger
Marker Setup: Olive/Black Maniac Ego
Pulse Loader
ANS 68/45 tank
Recommended
Upgrades:
-board
-trigger
Strengths: -Light
-Fast
-Kick
-Aluminum buttons
Weaknesses: -Price
-Chops
Review: The owner of my local paintball field lent me this gun until I could get my ego, and to be honest, i wasnt as impressed as i thought i would be. Ive been hearing rave reviews about this thing, so i needed to try it out for myself. This thing is light and fast, as advertised, and the aluminum buttons are a nice touch (on/off). Also, there is a lot less kick then most other guns. But, that is where the good things stop. I found this thing to be a paint blender, so much that i had to swab the barrel every few shots. Also, there are a myriad of other guns in this price range that i feel perform better than the DM6.
Conclusion: In my opinion, this thing isnt all it is chalked up to be. I believe that the Ego is an all-around better buy, so i would encourage you not to spend the money on a DM6 and get an ego.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

PHARMY615 Wednesday, January 31st, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
DYE DM5
PROTO M6
Marker Setup: all stock DM6


04 SP Shocker PEWTER
..dynasty m5 board
..t-money 15 degree asa BLACK
..CP shorty BLACK
..FBM Scythe trigger BLACK
,,qlock lowrise feedneck BLACK
..14in stiffi
..Hybrid Tyler Michaud bolt guide BLACK
..Check It on/off SILVER
Recommended
Upgrades:
DM5 EYES
or
TAG SPORTZ LAZER EYES. the self cleaning eyes DONT WORK
Strengths: very accurate
light
good feel
air effiecient
AGGALICIOUS
Weaknesses: The Eyes
Review: the DM6 is an AMAZING gun. great for any tourny baller. it has great air efficiency and the feel of the ultralite frame is superb. this gun is worth its every dollar. ALL DYE GUNS are AGG but the DM6 is the aggest. THE DM7 is a waste of money. there is barely and difference.. yes it is lighter and smaller. but that and the paperclip feed neck are not worth nearly a 500 dollar difference.
Conclusion: BUY THE DM6 and get DM5 eyes at the same time.


i would give a 10 but the self cleaning eyes suck. *SRRY DYE, YOU OWN BUT THE EYES ARE HORRIBLE*
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

th3_0n3 Wednesday, January 31st, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Ion(sucks)
spyder VS-2
Marker Setup: 47/3000 crossy
spyder VS-2
DXS pulse
Recommended
Upgrades:
None really but virtue is nice.
Strengths: Almost everything.
Weaknesses: No room for thumb on the reg.
Review: When i got done testing this thing all that came to my mind was "wow". This gun is so nice its almost impossible. The first thing i noticed was how light it was. The only thing i dont like about it was the fact that theres no room for your thumb on the reg but im sure that after using it for a while you wont even like it with the room. No kick and great accuracy with a perfect size. The speed was greatly admired as well. This gun will not dissapoint.
Conclusion: I will reccomend this to anyone. It deserves a 20.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Jeep Warlord Wednesday, January 17th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Angel Speed & Shocker NXT
Marker Setup: I just bought 2 new guns A Dye DM6 and a Shocker NXT.
The DM6 just has a CP bottom feed and a CP Continuous Flow Plug ( I Didn't like the plastic components) and the Shocker NXT has a Naughty Dogs Bolt and Naughty Dogs Board, CP Barrel, CP Reg, CP Bottom Feed, Q Loc, and a CP sling blade trigger.
Both running Pulse Loaders
Recommended
Upgrades:
Honestly, Nothing. I Just like a Bottom Feed W/ Aluminum instead of plastic on/off.

I just ordered a Stainless Freak insert kit and Stainless Back W/ Aluminum front.
and a J&J Ceramic Barrel Set in 14' and 16' for it though, can never have too many barrels.

This Gun will amaze you straight out the box !
Strengths: Accuracy,Quiet
Weaknesses: Plastic on/off
Review: The Sticky Grip on the New DM6 with the curvature of the frame make it one extremely comfortable fit in your hand.

The new Body is very appealing to look at, except for the rear would look nicer in aluminum instead of the plastic.

Very little recoil, nice and quiet with Accuracy you just don't get with a Low to Mid range gun

It doesn't suck anymore air than any comparable gun out there, I shot 600 balls with the gun straight out of the box using a 48,3000 tank @ 2500 left in it.

Conclusion: Kinda Pricey you would think, but after all the upgrades I did on my Shocker NXT My DM6 still outshoots it and is more quiet

All in All you get what you pay for, you can get it all at once or buy a lesser gun and spend all your money upgrading to still have a lesser gun.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, January 17th, 2007 at 12:51 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

brewtalale1 Wednesday, January 10th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
DM5 Shocktech DM5+DM6 Angel force
Marker Setup: 16" Dye Precision
12oz NO2
Recommended
Upgrades:
none comes well equipped maybe a new trigger or halo b rip wit victory board
Strengths: Good fire rate and amazing accuracy
Weaknesses: If not well enough equipped you may not get full power
Review: this was a great gun. It was a quick fire and on accuracy it was CRAZY!!!!!!!!! 20 out of 24 shots hit in exactly the same spot. interesting enough when i got out onto the field i was a little better just a lot quicker. GREAT JOB DYE. twelve thumbs up
Conclusion: Great get one its quick and durable
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

Thanatos2288 Monday, December 11th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
-2005 Ego
-2006 Ego
-Dm4
-Dm5
-Pm5
-Angel G7
Marker Setup: 2006 Dark Ego, Angel G7, Dm6
Recommended
Upgrades:
I prefer a freak barrel to the ultralite, but that's just me.
Strengths: -very little kick
-very quiet
-Smooth Milling
-easy to work on/offs
Weaknesses: -Air efficiency leaves something to be desired.
-very poorly weighted
-prone to break downs
Review: I recently acquired a Dm6 and took it out for a day of practice. I was fairly excited, because I shot DM4's when they came out and loved them. Before taking it out, the only changes I made was to swap out the ultralite with a Stiffi barrel. The marker chronoed in at 281, 276, 270, 280, so not great, but I was shooting RPS Premium and it was pretty cold, so this isn't a great indicator.

The marker is balanced pretty badly with a 45/4500 and an empire reloader. To me, it feels very awkward to hold and shoot, especially compared to an Ego. It also seems heavier. I don't know if it actually is, or if it's just the weighting, but I definitely could tell a difference.

As far as shooting it, it seems to be just like my old Dm4. It's very quiet and has very little kick. It definitely shoots darts. With that said, however, most high-end markers are going to shoot very well. It'll shoot differently then an Ego, Shocker, Quest, or Onyx, but they will all be about the same accuracy wise as long as you have good paint and a good match with your barrel.

My biggest gripe with the Dm6 is it's proneness to breaking down. This may just be my experience, but I know that I would not trust a dm6 in a tournament. My Dm6, when I received it, did not shoot. The board would only register about half of the trigger pulls. After messing with the pull itself and the board settings, I was able to get it up and running again, but this is not a problem that a marker of this level should have. It's one thing if you set the pull in such a way that the micro switch cannot fully engage. It's quite another when the board just decides that it doesn't want to register all of the pulls (the actual problem, btw, was with the board's connection to the micro switch). In addition to this, a teammate recently purchased a Dm6. His marker suffered from horrible shoot down. Even after rebuilding the LPR and HPR, as well as the solenoid, and clocking in the dwell and regs, it still will not function perfectly. I mean, that's fairly ridiculous. In addition to all this, the Dm6 eyes really need to be replaced with DM5 eyes to stop eye problems. I'm not really penalizing the marker itself for these problems because their are plenty of Dms that run perfectly, but I personally do not trust a DM6 in a tournament. They just seem to break down too often. I feel like to be fair, though, I need to note that DYE does a really good job of fixing markers for you. I have always been able to send in DMs (weather I had a warranty or not) and get it fixed for free in a timely manner.

One thing that DYE did very right with the DM6 is the board. It comes stock with both PSP and Millenium modes and has pretty much all the settings that you need. It's really nice to not have to purchase a new board just to play PSP. Also, even though a lot of people complain of the ASA being hard to turn off, I find it quite easy and like it a lot.
Conclusion: Overall, I like the Dm6, but not as much as other high-end markers. I don't really see the trade for less kick and volume worth the sacrifice in reliability and air-efficiency. That combined with the poor weighting of the Dm makes me confident that I will be staying with the Ego for a while yet.
Rating:
8 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, February 18th, 2007 at 5:55 pm PST
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

pbmylife Saturday, November 18th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
shocker, ion, impulse, karnivor, ego, etc.
Marker Setup: Smart Parts Imulse,Smart Parts blade Trigger, CCM Feed Neck, BlackHeart Board, Empire Loader.
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel? Stiffi?
Strengths: Fast,Light,Accurate, DYE
Weaknesses: ASA threads
Review: The body is awesome. Flawless lines with a nice bolt system. When you pick this up it is very light. Put on a carbon fiber tank, Stiffi Switch kit, and a fast hopper; you have the ultimate high-end tournament paintball marker. All though it is expensive, it is worth it. The DM6 is very fast especially on PSP Ramping mode.
Conclusion: Get this and try it. It is Very fast and reliable.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, December 23rd, 2006 at 6:45 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (10):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media