paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Dye DM6 / Dye DM6 / Dye DM6 / Dye DM6

Dye DM6 Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Dye

Buy Dye DM6

Paintball High-End Electronic Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Dye DM6
[ View Photos (57) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 98
Average Rating: 9.3 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $1350

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
DM6 features:
Ultralite barrel
On/off
Hyper 2 reg.
Operating pressure 145psi
Self cleaning eyes
New grip frame
Comes with differents modes of fire
Roller bearing trigger
It's about 1/2 shorter than the dm5
Metal power buttons instead of a membrane pad
Improved Fuse bolt
Locking adjustable feed neck.
Product Availability 
The Dye DM6 is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (10):  First  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  8  |  Last
        Next Page
BoyInOrange Tuesday, July 18th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
None
Marker Setup: Red Dye DM6 w/ HALOB and 45/45
Recommended
Upgrades:
Board (If you need that extra edge, but I think stock is great!), and maybe a bolt
Strengths: Accuracy, Fast, Modes, Efficiency, Stock Parts, Maintenence, Weight, UL Frame, EVERYTHING!!!
Weaknesses: UL Frame (see review), Accuracy (also see review), Lube
Review: First off, this gun is awsome! I got mine a week ago and I am very happy with it. Mine came lubed right out of the box (but with Smarts Parts Sleek lube) so I played with it that day. Most of the time it was ball on ball but sometimes it's a little off. 30 balls per second is also very fast! Before this I owned an ION and it was nothing compared to the DM6. I first tryed one at my local field and loved so i decided to buy one. And instead of paying $1,400 I only payed $900 for mine so I was pretty happy. Also I was impressed about that there is only one moving part in this gun, the bolt. I love the way this thing is put together, it's so easy.
Conclusion: Buy this gun!! If you don't have the money buy and E-TEK EGO or a Proto M6, those are also great guns.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

a hobo Tuesday, July 18th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
angel 1
EGO
Generation-E matrix
Marker Setup: angel 1/ halo B with rip drive/ hp nitroduck tank
Recommended
Upgrades:
new reg and eyes
Strengths: Accuracy, fast, light
Weaknesses: Chops, self cleaning eyes don't actually self clean, bolt
Review: I tested out my friends DM6 and I thought it was pretty good. There were a couple of problems though, one was the bolt. We noticed that the bolt wouldn't stop leacking. Next we also noticed that the gun kept chopping without stop. Along with the balls keep chopping, the self cleaning eyes didn't actually self clean. But it still shoots pretty well and is a good gun, but for its price I'd rather get an EGO or an Angel. They are more reliable
Conclusion: Not as reliable as an EGO or angel, yet more expensive
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
4 Comments - Add Comment

ca_skater2000 Friday, July 14th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Dm4,dm5,dmc,pm5,pm6,angel g7,angel 4.
Marker Setup: Dye dm6 black to cobalt.
Ultralight 14.
68/45 lp crossfire.
Reloader b.
Recommended
Upgrades:
Maybe the tadao board if you want the fastest.
Strengths: Extremely fast,super intelligent eyes,good modes of fire,concistent,durable,light,great manual.
Weaknesses: Feed neck,you still have to sand down you halo or reloader b.
Review: When i first got the dm6 i was very excited to shoot it. The gun just looks like a performance machine. I played a game with it in semi mode but then i wanted to see how fast it really was, so i put it in psp. This gun has insane speed with no kick. It is also surprisingly consistent over the chrono. With the 145 operating pressure you should expect 5 pods and a hopper with 3000 psi in your tank. i was even getting five pods of a tank before the marker was broken in. So it should only get better from here on. Wich is very good because dyes guns used to be gas hogs. I also noticed that the eyes are very smart, i mean if you put yuor finger in the breech and shoot and try it again the gun knows that something is blocking the eyes. The eyes work as a transmitter and reciever so they have to establish a full beam for the sensor. In this case it makes the eyes very fast probably the fastest to date. The gun is also durable, being stupid me i dropped while playing and picked it up and it didnt miss a beat. The modes of fire wich makes tournament easy to prepare for. Ecspecially for the nppl. The gun is also very light weighing in at 1.5 pounds.
Conclusion: Overall i thought the gun was great for front to mid to back players. This gun can hall some serious horsepower so be prepared to buy alot of paint.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Monday, July 17th, 2006 at 11:06 am PST
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

Josh121 Wednesday, June 28th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Dm4, Dm5, Proto Matrix
Marker Setup: autococker karnivor
halo b with rip drive
68/3000 pure energy

Recommended
Upgrades:
None
Strengths: Size, Speed, Looks, Feel, Accuracy, Quiet, No Kick
Weaknesses: None
Review: This Is A Great Marker For Expericenced Paintball Players. It Is A little expensive but worth every penny. An Extrememly Fast Marker, One Of the best looking markers on the market today. comes standard with the ultralite barrel and its always on target and never chops. this gun has no kick what so ever, and is very quiet
Conclusion: A Great Marker I Would Highly Recommend This To Anyone
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

SoulJahofPress Tuesday, June 27th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Marker Setup: Dye DM6
CP Rake Trigger
45/4500 Dye Throttle
70/4500 Crossfire Stubby
Dye Ultralite
Viewloader VLocity

2005 WGP Black Magic (black to silver)
Sly Barrel
70/4500 crossfire stubby
Viewloader VLocity
mp4 ram

2001 right feed wgp cocker
03 WGP bolt
FreeFlow cocking rod
Pump kit

2005 Trilogy Pro
Worrframe
E2 noid
Shocktech Supafly bolt
STO ram
CP on/off
Recommended
Upgrades:
New trigger (Personal Preference)
New airport (I like mine, some people don't)
Efficiency mods
Change out the hand-turn feedneck tightening screw with an allen screw (provided in tool kit. This is also personal preference)
Strengths: See Review... Too many to list here
Weaknesses: Sometimes some lube can rub off on the eyes... Probably my fault.
Review: I first got my DM6 for my birthday... YAY! Well I paid for it all by myself, so it was my birthday gift to me. I couldn't wait until practice that Saturday so that I could finally test it out. I loaded it up with paint and air and headed out to the chrono range. First thing that I noticed was that this was a very, VERY fast marker, but I didn't like the trigger. So I grabbed my trusty trigger-adjusting allen key and went to work. Right when I started to turn the forward travel screw... I noticed it had been rounded out by someone other than me =( . No big deal, I adjusted the trigger to (almost) my liking and went to play. I noticed that it was very, VERY light and I could drill for longer periods of time without taking a rest. I'm used to some bulky cockers and the heavy reciprocating mass that comes with them, so this thing shot like a dream! The kick was absolutely unnoticable compared to my cockers (or Egos that I've shot), sometimes I wasn't even sure I was shooting!

Pros-
-Comes with a GREAT barrel
-Incredible frame (personal preference)
-Great trigger (Personal preference, some may want to trade it out for a CP or something, like me)
-Great parts all around!
-The feedneck didn't fit my VLocity neck, but I swapped out the thumb screw for an allen screw that is included in the repair kit that comes with the DM6 and now it fits perfectly! (personal preference)
-Lightness to the extreme
-Perfect method of operation to obtain zero-kick
-Pretty efficient once broken in
-Great new noid that I am already familiar with (Humphrey) and enables your DM6 to SHOOT PAINT at well over 30bps

Weaknesses-
-Lube rubbing onto eyes, no big deal, swab it and you're good
-A bit high-maintinence, but who doesn't like to baby their guns =)
-So fast that you run out of paint and opponents much too quickly.
Conclusion: Get it.
Love it.
Baby it.
Shoot faces.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

pbCenturion Sunday, June 25th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
05 Shocker
04 wgp nightkast
E-bladed trilogy
A4 Angel
PM6
Marker Setup: black to red Dm6 stock... freak, I'll never use it

Red Nightkast
WGP all delrin bolt
ss freak barrel kit
Halo B
Recommended
Upgrades:
nothing
Strengths: Accurate
Smooth
fast, smooth ramping
Tiny
No kick
smooth milling
unbelievable stock barrel
Weaknesses: Only average air efficency, the only thing average about this gun
Review: I've been looking to upgrade from my nightkast for a long while now, and nothing really spiked my interest as far as new guns were concerned. Shockers were good, but they broke even when properly maintained, like my cocker, and angels just plain suck in the accuracy department (At least the A4 I played a week with). I thought I would be stuck with a high performing, but unreliable marker forever, then my friend from a rival team got the DM6. I was the first to shoot his new gun after him and a few of his team mates, and after just three scrimage x-ball games I knew I was getting this gun.

The Dm6 is the perfect gun.
-Accuracy- ball on ball, especially on psp ramp, I didn't do any special tests
-Speed- Same as any other gun, just unbelievably smooth
-Weight- 1.8 lbs, at least thats what the box said, lighter than the shocker, but by only .1
lb
-Reliability- One Moving part!!!!!!!! so much better than the 90 something parts in a cocker
-efficency- same as shocker and a lot of other high end guns, only area that isn't god like

In game, this gun is unbelievable, playing plain rec ball, you will be yelling "Check your hopper!" and "Your cleat toe! Your cleat!" a lot. The most entertaining part of the gun in game is its silence. You need to experience making an unseen snake move, and after shooting a kid seeing the entire other team looking all over the field to see where the rounds came from (made for a few good mask shots).
Conclusion: If you are thinking about a new gun, buy the DM6. People say it is expensive so they go for the PM6, even though after they finish upgrading it, it will be more expensive than the DM. There is no better gun out there, it is the lightest, most accurate gun on the market, and all guns shoot the same spead now.
In the end though, the gun is never as important as the player and equipment can only go so far, so keep this in mind when you think about paintball
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

polak69 Tuesday, June 20th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Nothing like it. Maybe if you count an Ego.
Marker Setup: Blue DM6,Virtue Board, Blue Empire Reloader B, Dye throttle 68/4500
Recommended
Upgrades:
maybe virtue
Strengths: Accuracy, Speed, Kick, Consistency, UL FRAME!!, ease of use, quietness
Weaknesses: I cannot say I have found any
Review: Okay, so, i got this gun a couple of weeks ago and out of the box... WOW. The anno is completely crazy and perfectly done. So, i adjusted my lpr and went to go shoot. I pulled the trigger and... nothing. It turned out that the battery that dye gave me was dead. Besides taht, i set my ramping on virtue and stuck it onto breakout mode. I emptied a hopper in 8 second!! I will need a faster hopper. lol. This gun is absolutely amazing. It is sooo easy to shoot ropes and ropes and ropes. you don't feel that you are shooting the gun yet you see paint flying out the barrel. This is the best gun i have ever tested or owned. Also, it is soooooo quiet. there are no words to describe how great this thing really is.
Conclusion: Even though it maybe going for 1200, it is worth all of the money and more. Overal, it is amazing and the guys at Dye really have outdone themselves
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Chrisfire69 Monday, June 19th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
DM5's, DM4's
Marker Setup: Warped Sportz Dark Intimidator Blue/Black fade
Lucky 15
Frenzy 127.4
Alias trigger
Custom cut alias bolt
Vlocity hopper
3a 68/4500 tank
Recommended
Upgrades:
none this gun doesnt need it
Strengths: Fast
Small as hell
Light
Insanely tight
Nice grip with UL frame
Weaknesses: None what so ever
Review: Alright yesterday i went to practise at my feild and one of my team mates picked up a DM6 to replace his nerve. The first impression i got was "Wow they look so much smaller in person". So i compared holding my dark opposed to his dm6 and i noticed i can switch hands fast with my timmy but the dm6 is lighter because it has like nothing to it.

So we played all yesterday and he did really good playing his mid/back with it. If he told me to run to our 40 i'd make it while he shot ropes at them. It is one slick gun.

So over at the chrony we were testing with it. The gun has had about 2 cases through it and thats it and it was getting +/- 5 at most which is fairly good. He played with it on millenum ramp capped at 15 (i think it was millenium because it acted as psp ramp capped at 15) so ya i gave it a rip and it was amazing with no kick and insane accurracy with the stock ultralight.
Conclusion: If your looking for a good high end marker and have some cash buy this gun you will not be dissapointed, one of the best out there
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Ultraraptor Saturday, June 17th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
DM4, DM5, PM5, PM6, various Timmies, Ego
Marker Setup: Black/Red DM6, Reloader B, Ignition 68/4500
Recommended
Upgrades:
doesn't need any
Strengths: Speed
Accuracy
Semi/PSP/NXL modes stock
Weight
Externally adjustable trigger
Sexy Milling
Weaknesses: You need a fast loader
Review: So I picked up my DM6 about a week ago and immediately opened the box to find this gorgeous black/red fade marker. When I first held it, I was in awe at how comfortable it felt to hold. The DM6 is pretty light, definately compareable to an Ego. I the pulled out the manual and adjusted the trigger and shooting mode to PSP with a 13 bps cap. It was extremely easy to adjust both the trigger and settings. So, after waiting a week to try this baby out I finally got the chance today. As soon as I pulled it out of my gear bag I had people around me asking if they could hold it and what not. So I aired it up, got some rampage paint, and went over to the chrono. The first shot was 311 due to the ABS, so i shot it again and the chrono read 305. So I turned it down to where it was shooting about 275 fps with +/- 5 average on the chrono. Considering I haven't even broken in the reg yet, I was extremely pleased. Once I had it chronoed I shot some strings of paint. Every shot was ball on ball. Once again, I was extremely pleased with how the DM6 was performing. So for the first game, I was in high hopes seeing as how the DM6 had worked so far. During the game I never had a single worry. Every shot went right where I wanted it. Not a single chop. I was extremely happy to find the same results every game for the day. For efficiency, I got about a hopper and 4 pods off of 2,000 psi so I have no doubt that this marker could do a hopper and 7-8 pods on a single 4500 fill. I'm glad to say I'm going to stay with the dye family seeing as this is my second matrix that has worked excellently.
Conclusion: Awesome job dye. This marker is by far the best matrix yet and definately is more than a slight improvement from a DM4/5/C. If you have the money I highly recommend this marker. If not, go for a PM6 and throw a UL trigger frame on it and you'll be extremely happy. This is an absolutely great marker.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

g murder Friday, June 16th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
WGP Karnivor...Ego5...Ego6...Shocker...Ion...Angel A4, Fly & IR3
Marker Setup: DM6
CP 2k5 on/off with a Function drop
Halo B
CrossFire LP 68/45 or CenterFlag HP 45/45
Recommended
Upgrades:
On/off
Lucky tophat mod rings (increases efficiency)
Plenty of spare o-rings
Strengths: Sweet shooting, easy to rip, easy to clean
Weaknesses: Too many bolt o-rings...leak happy
Review: I bought this DM6 (my 2nd, the 1st had mad problems) and took it out of the box, gassed it up and psssst it leaked. It was leaking out of the intergrated on.off (on the body) and out of the barrel and out of the back. I swapped o-rings several times and re-lubed the bolt, until finally it stopped...then I tackled the intergrated on/off by removing the grip frame and replacing that o-ring.

Got the gun firing properly...went to Tampa that same weekend and the Dye tech set the LPR for me...now the gun shoots ropes.

Good:
-Sweet shooting, very accurate, rather quiet with minimal kick
-Easy to clean hits off of the body.
-Large trigger gaurd makes this gun very easy to shoot fast
-The little heads-up display is very easy to see if everything is O.K. when shooting righty.

Bad:
-The UL frame is a bit to narrow for me to be able to use this gun for several hours because the hourglass shape of the UL frame is to small for me to hold comfortably for long periods of time...mabey some fatter grips would help this narrow feeling...so to put it bluntly the UL frame design sucks to me! Probably great for small handed people or kids but not comfy for larger/fatter hands
-The gun is not on the efficient side either....but a mod to the bolt helped this aspect alot.
-The feedneck knob is too small to get a firm hold to properly tighten it to firmly hold your loader....but a allen key in the opposite side enables you to crank it down tight...firm holding the loader in place.
-Can be problematic with all if those o-rings
-leak happy (extra o-rings & lube can be your friend )
Conclusion: Nice shooting gun....better than the PM6 to me
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, July 30th, 2006 at 11:40 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (10):  First  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  8  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media