paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Empire Ground Pounder Chest Protector / Empire Ground Pounder Chest Protector / Empire Ground Pounder Chest Protector / Empire Ground Pounder Chest Protector

Empire Ground Pounder Chest Protector Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Empire

Buy Empire Ground Pounder Chest Protector

Paintball Chest and Neck Protectors

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Empire Ground Pounder Chest Protector
[ View Photos (4) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 14
Average Rating: 8.8 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $40

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Made of lightweight, moisture-wicking CoolOn material
Protective padding on chest and back.
Product Availability 
The Empire Ground Pounder Chest Protector is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (2):  1  |  2
        Next Page
ajbjoust Sunday, August 8th, 2010
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
I have never used padded shirts
Marker Setup: Invert Mini, 14" Freak Barrel, Empire Myth 45-45 carbon fiber tank
Tippmann A5, BT M16 barrel, polished internals, QEPH, lightning rod, 6 pos. stock
Strengths: Form fitting, does its job well, looks awesome
Weaknesses: Needs more stretch in the armpits since it is form fitting
Review: All in all this product is great. I have used it 10 times now and it does its job. It is nice and form fitting so it is not big and bulky keeping me a nice small target. The shirt does not bunch up. I am a snake player and always catch the brunt of the fire once I cross the 50 so in practice or open play this thing is great, I dont go home looking like I caught a disease. The only change I would do is add some stretch to the armpit area. Since it is form fitting I ripped the armpits seams doing a superman slide. Oh well just extra venting right.
Conclusion: If you love paintball but get tired of all the bruises by this product and forget about the others chest protectors. I am giving it a 9 due to the armpits not having enough stretch for full range of motion with out tearing the seems.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

musicmixer10 Wednesday, October 1st, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
BT chest protector- about the same
Marker Setup: US Army Alpha Black Tactical Paintball gun, Tippmann triumph SSL-200 hopper, and 48/3000 psi tank with coiled remote
Strengths: Awesome padding on shoulders, chest and back
Weaknesses: Sizes are bigger than they should be
Review: I think that empire has made a lot of good products and i think that this is one of their greatest yet. The empire chest protector has incredible padding on the weak spots such as the chest, abdomonen, shoulders and back. It does make you look like you work out a lot on the upper body when wearing it underneath a jersey. Get this protector if you get bunkered or if your afraid of getting bunkered. This is the best one that you can buy at this price.
Conclusion: I recommend this to people who get bunkered a lot and are looking for a chest protector for a great price.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

GhostWalker Thursday, June 5th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
3 months4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
None
Marker Setup: Spyder MR1 with Apex barrel
Tippmann 98 Custom with 16 inch progressive sniper barrel
Strengths: Keeps the paintballs from hurting when they hit
Weaknesses: None.
Review: I have used the Empire Ground Pounder the last 3 times that I have played paintball, and it works great. The first game, another player opened up on me and I got hit about 4 or 5 times, and I could just barely tell that I was hit.

When I first got it I was concerned that it would be too hot, but that has not been a problem. Actually, I think the padding keeps my outer clothes away from my body, so it sort allows for more ventilation.

My only gripe is that the shirt doesn't have a label with cleaning instructions, so I found an email address on the Empire website and sent them a message. Within 4 MINUTES, Travis sent me a reply, which is the fastest reply to a message that I have ever gotten. By the way, Wash the shirt in cold water and hang dry.
Conclusion: The shirt works great. It has more padding then a regular chest protector and cost's about the same.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

rooster1 Tuesday, November 27th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
1 year3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Redz chest protector, works better but is bulky
Marker Setup: '95 Automag with X-Valve & Level 10
pump kit Automag
Tippmann Custom '98
Strengths: Lightweight and easy to move in
Weaknesses: Padding gets warm
Review: I got 2 of these shirts to play in. I have worn and washed them at least twice a week for the past year and they have held up great.

The pads in the shirt don't lessen the impact of a hit quite as much as my Redz chest protector. When wearing the Empire Ground pounder I still feel more of the initial impact of the hit, although I don't get the bruise from it. For this reseaon I wear the Redz protector when reffing.

Where the Ground Pounder shines is when I am playing. It is very form fitting, and therefore not quite as bulky and "wussy" looking under my camos.

It doesn't hinder my mobility when moving, and doesn't bunch up under my tac vest.

It does lessen the impact of the hit and keep me from getting bruised.

The material it is made of if a cool, wisking material, but I have found that when I sweat there are times when the actual pads seem to soak up the sweat up and tend to stay wet, which makes me warmer than if I had on just an Underarmor shirt for example. For the protection it offers I am willing to endure being a bit more sweaty.
Conclusion: Great to play in, but leaves a bit to be desired for reffing purposes.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

intruder2600 Tuesday, October 2nd, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Nxe chest protector
Marker Setup: Invert Mini
VLocity
STAKO Composite Vessel
Strengths: Comfortable
Arms protection
Weaknesses: See review
Review: It's very comfortable, like normal t-shirt. It has lots of protecting pads, especially on the arms. Doest it work ? it depends, it's a lottery... When you get shot on the place where pads are situated (60-70% shots) it's okay, you fell the shot but you don't have bruises. If you're unlucky and get shot at places where are no pads, the result is just like without any protector. And one good thing at the end - I wash it after every game (3 times a week) and it's still perfect, so it's a solid work.
Conclusion: It helps, helps a lot because you feel more brave - you've got protector but you must remeber that it's not a perfect protector. For me it's worth to buy because i fell more self confident and i get 70 % less bruises then without it. I use it everytime while i'm playing paintball.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, October 2nd, 2007 at 3:15 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

FATAlogPTWgjDEP Saturday, September 15th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
never used a chest protector
Marker Setup: 2 Max upped timmys
2 max upped B2K4s
Max upped nerve
max upped wrath
stock 05 wgp superstock
Strengths: Comfort. Weight. Fit. BOUNCES.
Weaknesses: Long-term durability concerns
Review: Initially i was impressed by how light weight the product was. Overall I feel it covers a lot of area that is otherwise unprotected. I did not purchase this for the protection aspect, but more so for the possibility of bounces. Overall i feel it does that by adequately covering your shoulders and tops of your arms. Its a tight fit, but in that good UndeArmor type of way. The shoulders are a little bulky and takes a few minutes to get used to, but is by no means restricting your movement. My main concern with this is the durability. Due to the tight fit it clings to you after sweating. Be careful not to rip the seems. But with a little bit of care it has potential to last a season or two, if not more.

As a side note, the middle of your chest is somewhat exposed. This is of little concern to me however. If i ever expose myself enough to be shot right in the middle of the chest than i suppose i should be forced to feel the shot. There is no significant protection on the lower back or abs. this should not be a concern to those who wear a pack. i feel that that aspect of the design allows your pack to sit more naturally, and not feel bunched up. there is protection in the middle of the back for the occasional bunker... it happens.
Conclusion: All in all i would suggest this to someone looking for that edge in regards to getting bounces. I would even suggest it to someone who is looking for extra protection but doesn't want to wear a bulky vest underneath. As is the case with all padding, it has it's weak points . but in the end you will feel safer than you did the last time you got blasted.
Because i do not feel that this was designed as a true chest protector and due to the durability concerns i give it an 8, although i am tempted to give it a 9
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Blakepb Tuesday, January 30th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
none
Marker Setup: a-5 custom double trigger, remote
Strengths: light weight. Easy to move in, unnoticable
Weaknesses: Was smashed in a tiny box when shipped so pads have a few creases
Review: This thing is sweet. Its not a full on chest protector but it helps. I got hit in this twice and hardly felt a thing. No one will even notice you have it on. It is easy to breath in and give more confidence. It feels like under armor with pads in it.
Conclusion: I would buy it and you might consider getting it a relativly small size so that it fits tight
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

fuzzy99 Tuesday, January 16th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Y-Paintball Chest Protection - Better protection, cheaper, but restricts movement
Marker Setup: SP Vision Shocker with Evolve v2 bolt kit, unimount, trniity feedneck, SS freak set, VIRTUE board, FireBallMountain Delrin Blade Trigger
Strengths: + Fit
+ No movement restriction
+ Good shoulder or back protection
+ Ventilation
Weaknesses: - Very poor chest and side protection
- Cost
Review: Well when I received this I was impressed at how light it felt and the fit especially. Although protection coverage is relatively poor it does not inhibit movement or feel like crap on the field. Very breatheable too.

On to protection.... on the back it's excellent. Even on upper arms and shoulder tops is good too. HOWEVER, the chest and side protection is garbage. If you look at the pic closely, you can see this. Pads protect less than 50% of the chest area. There's a large open area between the top and where the chest pads start (leaves upper chest open) and poor protection on lower abs (it barely covers upper abs). As per the sides, there is no protection there whatsoever.

If hits do manage to hit the pads, then yes it works well and you don't feel the hit much.
Conclusion: Overall I'd say it's great if you just want a little bit of protection and confidence boost but buy something else if you want optimal chest/back protection. It does fit and breathe well though.

Given that this product is designed to protect you (which i think it does relatively poorly compared to other products, I give the product a rating that is less then average.
Rating:
4 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

vikeor Wednesday, December 20th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Redz Chest protector
Marker Setup: Black ION w/
NDZ Qev, Roller Trigger and Spring Detents
TechT L7
SP On/Off and Q-Lock
Tadao Raider Board
Freak Jr.
Strengths: Light
Good looking
comfertable
WORKS!
Weaknesses: None
Review: I got these from Canada, and when my friend took em out of the suitcase i was like, WOW THATS SMALL! I tried it on right away and it was a perfect fit! A bit too big but comfertable. Its a little bit stretchy so even if u gain a little weight it will fit! Its very very comfertable, cant even feel it on you and it has absolutely no movement restrictions! Has full chest and back protection as well as the shoulders.
Conclusion: Great buy for only $35. For those of you that dont want the extra bruising. Get one!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

rcko Sunday, September 24th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
None
Marker Setup: 05 Pro Stock Autococker
14" AA Freak Barrel
Odessy TSA LED Backman
PMI 88/4500
A-5 RT
Palmer Male Stabilizer
Rufus Dawg Bolt and Power Tube
Lapco 8" Bigshoot
Palmer Cyclone QEV
RT and Cyclone 1/8" ID Hoses
CO2
Strengths: Lite Weight
Excellent Protection
Breathable Material
Weaknesses: Weak Seams Handle with Care while Removing
Review: As stated before in the previous reviews, this chest cover from Empire does a real good job at protecting chest, shoulder, upper arm, back area of the player. The whole set up is very lite weight and the jersey material is conformal to your body thus it wont shift/shafe like others that slide constantly.

The only issue I have had todate is the seam quality of the upper portions of the jersey body. Well, it is not the seams as much as the material of the jersey. When removing the jersey make sure to be gentle and not pull hard/strong form the top. With sweat, moisture etc, the material sticks abit and if pulled strongly it will rip the seam at the interface of the pads and the jersey. I pulled a corner of mine off a bit. I heard the rip and stoped pulling. Take your time while removing and it should be ok


Added based on PM question. Hopes it helps others:

The back protection is pretty adequate. It has one centerline tapered pad and then three or four? adjacent pads about an inch wide on either side of the center. These are ~12 inches in length. Below these there are two 6inch wide football shape pad on either side, ei one on each kidney with two horizontal pads above and below the football shape pads. The top shoulder pads come up and around the back.

My only issue has been the jersey material. It is simalar to that used in th WGP jerseys. It will take some rough gaming, just dont pull hard on them. "
Conclusion: Excellent product with great fit, comfort, very light weight and good protection. Will not shafe like other protectors.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Friday, September 29th, 2006 at 1:21 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (2):  1  |  2
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media