paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Indian Creek Designs Desert Fox / Indian Creek Designs Desert Fox / Indian Creek Designs Desert Fox / Indian Creek Designs Desert Fox

Indian Creek Designs Desert Fox Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Indian Creek Designs

Buy Indian Creek Designs Desert Fox

Paintball High-End Mechanical Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Indian Creek Designs Desert Fox
[ Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 18
Average Rating: 9.5 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: N/A

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
This is the first production gun with a gauge built into the regulator. The Desert Fox is a high performance, blow-forward- style marker with an externally adjustable internal regulator. The gauge lets you know the operating pressures of your marker. You can actually adjust and know your velocity and performance at a glance.
Product Availability 
The Indian Creek Designs Desert Fox is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (2):  1  |  2
        Next Page
FlawleZ Saturday, May 8th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Alley Cat, Automags, etc.
Marker Setup: Custom '96 RF Cocker
-Rat 2 Valve
-Custom Splash Ano
-ANS 3-way
-ANS Quick Release Bolt
-ANS Hammer Kit
-ANS Jackhammer
-ANS Ram
-ANS Low Pressure Chamber
-Air America Unireg
-Competition Sear
-Nelson Spring Kit
-Double Trigger
-12" Dye Stainless
-KAPP Stainless Ball Detent
-B&E Adjustable Drop
-Hogue Wrap-Around Grips
-Microline w/ stainless elbows
-Stainless Bolt Pin
-"P" Block

Custom Splashed Automag RT
'98 Desert Fox Deluxe
-ACI Phat Fist Reg
-Dye 750 PSI Micro Guage
-Taso Drop with on/off
-Bushmaster Barrel
Recommended
Upgrades:
A nice drop and a good paint to barrel match is all you really need. The stock barrel is great for small bore paint. CA/Nitro is a must for the Fox to perform well. You'll most likely need a Revy too.
Strengths: DURABLE
Decent ROF
Unique
Easy to maintain
Fully adjustable trigger
Cheaper than a used Mag
Weaknesses: Upgradeability (no biggie)
Not "Showy" or "Pretty" (again, no biggie)
Review: I picked up my '98 Desert Fox Deluxe off of ebay back in Dec '03 for ~$150. At the time there were several listed but they seem to be few and farther between. I've played about 5-6 times with it since and 90% of which has been speedball. I play against Bushy's and Cockers and the Fox had NO problem getting the paint where you put it and as fast as you wanted to pull the trigger. It has always been very reliable and as long as you oil the rings in the gun and take care of it, it will perform well and last a very, very long time.
Conclusion: I'm giving this gun a 10 not because it's perfect but mostly because of the bang-for-buck and coolness factor. Several of my friends call it the "Dirty Fox" and they make jokes about how loud it is but they know it performs very well and for ~$150, you can't go wrong. These still pop up on ebay from time to time and check the popular forums as well to find one for sale.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, May 8th, 2004 at 3:38 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

enjylif Saturday, April 10th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 years1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Alley Cat, Spyder Shutter, Spyder Imagine
Marker Setup: Desert Fox Deluxe 16" smart parts stainless steal(everything black)
Recommended
Upgrades:
none thats the best thing about this gun
Strengths: consistent, field stripable, sweet looking, tough
Weaknesses: none
Review: Sweet gun, i picked the deluxe model of this gun up off a guy for $130 with 16" smart parts stainless steel barrel!!! other Desert Fox owners probably can't believe that..
I have enjoyed everything about this gun.. It looks sweet, shoots fast, good setup, consistent, accurate, good sound, good feel, GOOD TRIGGER PULL.

everyone has there shiny looking guns with splashed paint designs on them then they see the Fox . They ask what it is, if they can shoot it, how I like it... Then, if they can buy it.
I dont have Nitro air hooked up to this gun because honestly it would cost me as much or more than what i paid for the actual gun, if anyone has any connections to cheaper nitro tanks.. PLEASE let me know. I am really looking into buying one.
the gun looks rugged and is rugged i have scratches all over my Fox . I will dive with it or do anything and this gun cannot be phased. I am not just talking about ruffing it up once or twice this is 3 years of abuse and it hasn't changed from day one. Thats why it is heavy it is built solid. ICD did an incredible job. ICD has simply perfect in customer service they have cool people over there.
Conclusion: amazing for the money, love the blow foward design and trigger pull. This gun is responsible for my obsession in paintball.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

BiGGDaDDy Wednesday, June 11th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
2 years7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tested other people's Mags and Cockers, but no long term use. My previous marker was a VM-68 (PMI-III) that served me well for many years, and continues to do so.
Marker Setup: Desert Fox with a 88ci HPA fixed output tank, Psycho Ballistics drop forward, Freak and 12v Revy.
Recommended
Upgrades:
First thing to do is go get a compressed air/HPA thank. This marker won't perform as it should using CO2. I suggest a 88ci tank, as it is generally good for ~600 shots at 280fps. Second, I would get a drop forward because the marker with the tank will be a bit too long and unbalanced. Finally, get a barrel that fits the paint you shoot. Manufacturers aren't important, paint to barrel match is.
Strengths: Reliability, simplicity, durability, value, unique, and performance.
Weaknesses: Performance using CO2 and uses more air than the average marker.
Review: I searched around for a while before buying this marker. I read the online reviews and compared charts and diagrams. I wanted a non-electro marker that was easy to maintain but could keep up with the big boys. ICD says this guy will kick out eight rounds a second. I wouldn't know because my trigger finger isn't that fast and my wallet thanks me for it. When I need to rip out some rounds I can though.<p>

I have been playing paintball for about 10 years now as a recballer. I value reliability of a marker over insane ROF and the Desert Fox has lived up to my expectations. Field strip the marker with one thumbscrew. Clean it thouroughly in less than 5 minutes. The thing is machined too, so all the diving and crawling I do has yet to phase it. Since it is a blow forward there are no external cocking knobs or open ports waiting to be fouled. It is simplicity and reliability defined.<p>

Performance is great, I can kick out enough paint to put people's heads down or deliver a precise three shot burst. People tell me it is quiet, but I have a feeling it is more a factor of the Freak barrel than the marker. For the money nothing you buy will outshoot this marker reliably (I have seen many spiders turn into blenders when the e-frames are cranked to thirteen rounds/second).<p>

The downside to the Fox is that it performs poorly on CO2 even with an expansion chamber and it can eat more gas (CO2 or compressed air) than your average marker. This is a trait inherited from it's cousin the Automag. That being said, it is MUCH more air efficent than a Mag. I don't like the powerfeed, as I like sighting down the barrel, but all markers are coming with them now so you are kind of stuck unless you buy a Tippmann.<p>

The other markers I considered at the time of purchase were the Tippmann A-5 which was a bit pricey at the time and had almost zero use at the time. Tippmann makes some mistakes (remember the Factory F/A?), so I wanted to stay away from that one until others were the guinea pigs. Turns out it is solid, but I still like the compact size of the Fox. I also looked into cockers, but the trigger tugging and the millions of moving parts scared me off as well as the list of upgrades that "had" to be purchased with it. Finally, I looked at Automags, and found nothing that wasn't on the Fox for far less money and disliked the gas inefficency and the trigger. Mags are more expandable, but by the time you drop all that money you may as well buy a high end electro. The Fox and it's feature set won me over.<p>
Conclusion: All things said this is a great marker. I love that it comes out of the box with almost all the upgrades that you will ever need. Some people love buying add ons, and this isn't the marker for them. If you are stuck w/ CO2 get a A-5 or a 98 Custom. If you are looking for a reliable marker that is going to perform well and last without all the hype look no further.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

abarnhar Saturday, December 7th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
1 year2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Minimag - Very similar. My friend's mag is smaller and lighter, but it took him a wad of cash to get it running the same my desert fox does.
Marker Setup: Desert Fox
Freak back/All-american front
ACI Bulldog 66cu 3000psi
Air America Messiah
Dye Sticky
CP Flame Drop Forward
Recommended
Upgrades:
HPA! Get it.

Barrel! Not as bad, but needed.
Strengths: It took me a while to get used to this gun. I had some problem with the regulator and the guy who sold it to me had no clue what he was doing to keep it tuned up. Once I got all the problems fixed (mostly lube and cleaning) this gun is awesome. My friends want one because it runs so consistently and is wicked looking, but they can't find one (ha ha).
Weaknesses: My gun is silver, which is a little flashy when I want to play rec ball. No big deal though, some camo tape takes care of it.

Plus, CO2 isn't a good thing. Run HPA as soon as you can. The gun will run on CO2, but much much better on the HPA.
Conclusion: If you can find one, BUY IT!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Pintotheevil Monday, December 2nd, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
6 months2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Automag
Marker Setup: Silver ICD Desert Fox #8fx6182
System X Extreme flow regulator with gauge nickle
13 inch Armson stealth
12 volt Revvie
48cu 3000 aluminum tank
rubber wraparound grips
red dot sight
Recommended
Upgrades:
the most important upgrade would be a HPA tank next a inline reg a barrel and a revolution
Strengths: Very fast no upgrades needed low price high performance. great gun ,rare,
head turner at the field lives up to its reputation. the gauge is very useful. double trigger and .45 grip. you can literally drag it threw the mud and it will still work flawlessly
Weaknesses: Small o-ring that makes the seal between the receiver and the regulator marred easily. I replaced it with a automag on off o-ring and have had no problems after that. gas hog on Co2 other than that nothing
Conclusion: this is a great marker. if you can find it get it because they don't make them anymore I would recommend it as an alternative to an automag.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Draknes Friday, September 27th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
3 months2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Desert Fox's are simlar to automags. They are both blow-forwards and have a similar design. The Fox doesn't have an on-off valve though, making it have a lower operating pressure and a lot quieter. I think that except for the lack of upgarades a desert fox is a lot better than a minimag or 68 automag. It is simpler, quiter, and comes with a lot more features for a lower price.
Marker Setup: ICD Desert Fox SN# 6FX8003 Classic Body
New Style Reg
Factory Double Trigger
Dye Aluminum Barrel
12vt Revy
Factory Vertical Adaptor
ACI 4 Stage Sub-Zero Straight to a Remote Co2 Tank
Recommended
Upgrades:
New Barrel
Expansion Chamber and Antisyphon/Remote for Running Co2
12 Vt Revolution is a must
Strengths: Very nice trigger pull. Shorter than the e-grip spyder pulls. It is fully adjusable so you can get it just right. You can't short-stroke a fox, unlike a mag or cocker, so you can achieve a very high rate of fire without spewing paint out of your barrel. It comes stock with a double trigger, has a guage on the reg, is very nicely machined, has a quality detent (not junky balls that get stuck), and can be stripped in 10 seconds. The only way to see how good this gun really is, is to go and shoot one. Everyone who saw me shoot it at the field asked to try it and all were amazed. It is very quiet and has virtually no kick. The price is an added bonus. You can get some really great deals on ebay. As for the reliability, my fox is 6 years old and still works better than 90%% of the mags at my field.
Weaknesses: I broke the bolt on my fox over the summer and I had to send it in to the factory to get it fixed. Getting parts for it is a problem. There aren't any upgrades except for the basics but you don't really need anything.
Conclusion: I give it a 9 because there is a lack of upgrades and parts. It is a really great gun and in my opinion one of the best guns in its price range. I think that the only gun that is a better value is the new ICD Bk0. This gun is a lot better than a stock mag or cocker and anyone who has shot a fox will attest to that. If anyone has any questions about the Desert Fox, post them in the ICD forum on this site and I will be glad to help you.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

JonnyBoy6786 Thursday, August 8th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Shocker, Spyder TL Plus, Tippmann Model 98, Impulse, etc.
Marker Setup: I have a beatiful custom annodized desert fox. It's black with a green splash. I have a 48 ci 3000 psi PMI pure energy nitro tank and micro line with firrings. I will be soon getting: Smart parts green wood grips, drop forward, DYE Aluminum barrel, and a revvy.
Recommended
Upgrades:
The stock barrel is pretty bad. Untill I sell my old gun I'm going to have too suffer with it. Nitro is a MUST for any high end gun! Could use a drop forward to center some of the weight of the marker. Stock grips are the cheap rubber/plastic pannels that companies love to put stock on there markers. A 12 volt revvy is a must if you are planning on firing fast.
Strengths: THE PRICE! I got mine used from a tech at the ICD Factory for $250! Look round on the net for deals. This marker is very high-quality. They are seriously built like a tank. You could run over it with your car and it would survive. In my opinion it looks sweet. Not many people have or even heard of them so you'll get a lot of interest on the field. The trigger on this monster is beautiful. Its adjustibe so you can change it to your preference. Just be careful you dont adjust it to short or it wont fire (it happened to me a few times). It has a built in guage on the internal regulator so you know what pressure your running at. With a new barrel it is very accurate. The desert fox runs at a lower pressure than the automag. It is a very simple gun. It takes one screw to take out the internals which is great when you chop a ball (which is rare if you get a revvy). Its very compact too. Very easy to maintain even for newbies.
Weaknesses: Well as I mentioned before the stock barrel is pretty much a 9 inch tube. Needs a new one badly. The gun itself is kinda heavy. Its smaller than my old spyder and weighs more. Drop forwards help center the weight. Most players at you field will ask to shoot it because they have never seen anything as cool in there lives. The gun is also kind of loud but that is change with a nice ported barrel.
Conclusion: In my opinion this gun rocks. I have never tried an automag but I bet this would stack up nicely. It has many features stock that the automag doesnt. I would reccomend this to a player moving up from his spyder or tippmann. Go check em out today!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Sunday, May 19th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
6 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Stingray II, Green Raptor, Spyder TL
Marker Setup: ICD Desert Fox '98, Lapco Black T-stock, ACI 4-stage Sub Zero Expansion Chamber
Recommended
Upgrades:
New barrel, expansion chamber, nice grips for the 45 frame.
Strengths: Durable - built like a tank

Looks - sure to turn heads because of it's rarety and unique style. It looks pretty mean and compact once a few upgrades are tossed on it.

ROF (Rate of Fire) - 8+ balls a second without a break (get good balls). Damn nice.

Ease of maintence - strips main chamber and bolt with one screw... try that with an autococker.

Weaknesses: Loud - it likes to bark... at least it has the bite to back it up

Weight - nice and heavy... could be considered a plus for individuals who like something solid to hold onto (I do).

Stock barrel - not the greatest, but not the worst. A necessary upgrade if one wants to play seriously.
Conclusion: This is a solid marker, no doubts about that. The quality of it and the high-level performance it provides stock makes it a easy contender with markers twice its price. Aftermarket parts are rare, but aren't really needed. If you are looking for a gun that will please, this is your marker.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Pilot-in-PA Thursday, May 2nd, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
This is my first experience with a blow-forward type marker. I've been using a Spyder TL+ for the past two years, which was more than adequate for the rec ball we always played. The TL+ is a good gun, but the Fox Deluxe is in a whole different league.
Marker Setup: I only bought the Desert Fox Deluxe a few weeks ago, so I haven't upgraded it at all aside from an Air America 68ci nitro tank. I bought the deluxe model with the intention of not having to upgrade, as it comes with everything you'd need, except the barrel.
Recommended
Upgrades:
I'm researching the best barrel (this includes value) to buy for this gun, so if anyone reading this has a Fox and a barrel they like, email me and let me know. By the way, I do not have 80 bucks to spend on a boomstick or something similar :-)
Strengths: There is nothing subtle about this gun. It is solid, powerful, loud, and quite accurate. In a world of fancy electro and $1000 custom created guns, the Fox is proof that simple is best, moreso that it only costs around $315. You will not find a more powerful gun for the price. I am very impressed with the overall appearance as well. Not flashy by any means, it has a rugged appearance, like a paintball gun SHOULD look, in my opinion. The picture that pbreview has used hardly does it justice...go to the icdpaintball site for a much better look at the Fox. The gauge is quite useful as well, especially since the gun comes with a manual including the recommended reg pressure for your type of propellant (CO2 or Nitro). Indian Creek is one of the best companies out there for customer service. Don't hesitate to call them.
Weaknesses: It's heavy. Loud. Things that make it good can also be seen as liabilities. I really need to get a drop forward, to try and center some of that weight. I'll admit, it does get tiring by hour four of running around the woods. But there's no doubt in my mind that no amount of use can hurt this gun. I don't know if a new barrel will help, but this gun is seriously loud. Kind of intimidating, but expect everyone to know where you are when you blow some poor sap away. Had a tendency to increase velocity, but not lately...maybe it just needed to break in. Still, if you're using this gun for tourny play, be VERY careful that the gauge is staying where you had it set. You'll be in deep sh*t if they catch you shooting hot later in the day. Carry a quarter with you to adjust the screw if needed.
Conclusion: I love this gun. Pure function, pure power. It's what paintball is all about in my opinion. The blow-forward style means VERY few internals to worry about, less than mags or other comparable styles. It field strips in no time flat...you have to see it to believe how easy it is to clean and inspect the Fox. Email me if you have any questions, I'll try to help.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

AveBrooks Tuesday, March 19th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
I have used a kingman spyder xtra and tippman but that's about it
Marker Setup: Indian Creek Desert Fox
All American 2002 with silver front
Nitro Duck 68 Stub
Chrome Foregrip
Smart Parts Sticky Grips
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel And sort of nitrogen but it's not needed extremely but it does make a considerable difference
Strengths: -Not a single person has it
-Has a gauge
-Great service from ICD
-Very Powerful and accurate
-Looks Really cool
-A lot cooler than a mag
-Better than a mag
-Easily Field Stripable
-Delrin Bolt
Weaknesses: It's a bit heavy when you're carrynig it, but when u get the tank tucked under you're arm, and start pulling the trigger it feels incredible. You sort of have to keep you're eye on the regulator when you're using nitro because the reg has a tend to rise a little. It's a bit of a gas guzzler, but not really.
Conclusion: This gun is better than a mag and is so much cheaper and more worht it. It has amazing trigger pull and is built like a freaking hammer. Go buy this right now. It looks extremely great
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment
                            
Pages (2):  1  |  2
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media