paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Proto Axis Goggles / Proto Axis Goggles / Proto Axis Goggles

Proto Axis Goggles Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Proto

Buy Proto Axis Goggles

Paintball Masks / Goggles

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Proto Axis Goggles
[ View Photos (19) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 53
Average Rating: 9.4 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $60

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
# Deluxe woven goggle strap for comfort and durability.
# Tiger tooth strap buckles will allow you to adjust your strap for a custom fit and bite down to secure the strap.
# The multi-ported ear piece provides unrestricted audible transfer to take place without sacrificing any ear protection.
# Incredibly simple 1/4 turn buckle (patent pending) makes the hassle of changing lenses a thing of the past. Simply turn the locking tabs to the right to unlock your lens frame. Pop out your old lens, drop in a new one, place the frame over the lens into position, and turn your tabs back again to lock it in.
# Multi-directional venting drastically reduces re-ventilated fogging. The venting also assists in keeping you cool and breathing easy.
# Self venting, low profile and removable, the Switch visor is able to pivot up and down for easy lens replacement.
Product Availability 
The Proto Axis Goggles are newer, so they should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (6):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
rapinatore Friday, November 7th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
1 year2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
dye invasion, vforce, jt, scott, etc....
Marker Setup: 2004 Mini Orracle
Pinokio
Deadlywind 16"
Dye throttle 72/4500
Strengths: Everything else....
Weaknesses: Weight
cleaning
thermal lens separates (but that's ok, read more below!!)
Review: Good:
The foam padding is very thick and very soft making it fit many different facial shapes easily. This also means that you can easily adjust the strap to hold it tightly to your face without causing discomfort. There is addition foam by your ear for added comfort. There's a slot in the foam for those that wear glasses. There is also a lot of space between you face and the lens allowing room for you glasses. I don't wear glasses so this mask is not as low profile as it could be but the high protection makes it worth it. Speaking of which i am stunned when i hear of people swallowing paintballs or getting their lip busted and so on, at the very worst i might taste a little paint, but i've never had a paintball come in contact with any part of my face, forehead etc and i don't ever use the visor. The lens changing system is nearly flawless, once you get used to it you can easily swap lenses in under a minute. I can dissassemble the whole mask in probably a minute and a half, very quick and easy. The visibility is the best i've ever experienced. The thermal lenses will not fog at all IF they are sealed, but see my comment about this below.

Bad:
Well this mask is not light, if weight is the most important thing to you then try the i3. All the little gills and holes in the mask are almost impossible to clean. I use a toothbrush and i still can't get most of it out, so if you want to keep it clean then run it under water the same day you play, do not wait or it won't come out!! Can't forget about the fan, the only thing the fan does is weigh down the mask more than it already is. If you are dripping with sweat you might feel a slight although uneven breeze across your forehead but that's it. I've never used other fans so maybe this is normal. Also once you install the fan into your mask you'll be luck to get it out with out snapping the tab that holds it in. Fortunately it fits so snugly that it seems like you don't need that tab for it to stay in place but i haven't tried playing with it installed since i broke the tab. Although i don't plan on ever using it again.... and then the lens.......

Last but not least is the stupid proto lenses. First off do not touch the inner pane with anything but nice soft cloth because it scratches very easily. Secondly before you use the lens go to your local dollar store and buy the cheap runny superglue and run a very light amount around the foam that holds the thin inner pain to the outer pain. DO NOT let the super glue touch any part of the lens you wish to see through because it ruins the finish. The reason you must do this is because the adhesive that proto uses falls apart once it comes in contact with water so the inner lens will pull away from the outer lens. I actually had a tiny spider crawl in between the two lenses while i was playing, very very distracting, lol. However as i said above before water separates the lens it works great but after you seal it up with superglue the lens works even better (assuming you seal it completely). I have not had it fog since July and i play at least once a week in southern ny, so it ranges from 98 and 90% humidity to 30 degrees and snow.
Conclusion: considering how comfortable it is the weight isn't an issue and if you clean it the same day you play you won't have a problem there. The only other thing is sealing up the lens (read above) but all in all for 50 or 60 bucks this mask is well worth the money!
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

pblwespbl Wednesday, October 22nd, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Dye i3's
profiler (not really)
Marker Setup: Invert mini
CP rake trigger
smart parts 2 piece barrell
pure energy 68/45
tourque loader
Strengths: Easy lense take out
Full view
Easy breathing
Nice look
comferable when dry
Weaknesses: Kinda big
When the foam gets wet its very enoying on your skin
Review: When I first bought the mask I loved the feel of it. and the full sight I had. But once I got hit and cleaned which wiped off very well. The foam got wet and it was very eratating on my forhead and around the eyes. One thing I found very helpfull was the strap protector so you dont also get eritated by that.
Conclusion: Amazing goggle if you dont get anoyed by the wet foam.
Rating:
7 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Timnasium Tuesday, September 16th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
scott, dye invision, many others
Marker Setup: AGD Tac-One
ULE Trigger pull kit
Q-Loader
70/4500 Nitro Duck X-Stream
Stiffi 16" Barrel
CP Rail And ASA on/off
Empire Bottle Glove 08 Tank Cover
Macroline
Strengths: Great field of vision.. Looks cool.. Wont ever fog.
Weaknesses: Kinda bulky, kinda heavy.
Review: First off i love this mask. Its so easy to see when im playin. I purposly tried to fog it up and failed every single time.. It wont fog up. The mask looks very cool and has a chin stap that is a pleasent change.. It is super easy to clean.. The lense comes out very easy and goes back together easy..
Conclusion: Overall a good mask.. The dye invision is better but you cant go wrong with this one for the price.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

cfa247 Wednesday, July 16th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month15 of 15 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Marker Setup: Smart Parts Ion
Powerlyte Body Kit
Q-Lock
Max- Flo Reg
Shocktech Reg
Max Flo Compatible 47/3000 Tank
All-American Barrel
Halo B Loader
Wave Roller Trigger
But that got stolen =[ so now I use...

Smart Parts Ion
Pewter Dynasty Body Kit
All American Barrel
Max Flo Micro 3000 psi Reg
Max Flo Micro Compatible Tank 47/3000
EvLution 2 Loader
Q-Lock
Strengths: VERY HARD to fog up
Easy to remove lenses
Feels very comfortable
Weaknesses: Kind of bulky and weighs a lot more than other masks out there
Review: I've tried to fog up these goggles on purpose, but they just never seem to fog up!
The only time when i've had a problem seeing through them was when I was playing outside and it was like close to 100 degrees and i had sweat from my hair going onto the lenses( I have long hair)

The goggles are also very comfortabe; they have a tri-mold material that is very soft and offers good protection

The 1/4th buckle also makes it very easy to remove the lenses; I can easily remove them in under a minute!

If you look down in some other reviews though, you'll see that some of them mention that water will get inbetween the lenses. THIS IS TRUE! I even got shot in the lens one time and i got paint in between the thermal lenses! This was very annoying because I had no way of cleaning it at the field. When i got home i finally washed them and water got inbetween the lenses and I had to wait for it to evaporate for a while and it left some light water streaks, but oh well

UPDATE: I found a good way to fix up the seal to prevent water from coming into the lens. Just make sure you dont currently hve a warranty b/c this probably violates it. Just put some epoxy glue into the small opening into the seal(enough to clog up the hole and also to hold the two lens pieces together. Be careful not to get it too far up into the lens or it'll block up where you look out. Keep it towards the edges. Next, just take some scotch tape and use it to clamp the two lens pieces together closer and wait a day for the glue to dry. A day probably isn't necessary but just in case....
Conclusion: great mask, I just wish the water and paint hadn't gotten in between the lens
This lens is still worth a ten
Please rate this review helpful if you found it to be
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, August 21st, 2008 at 6:40 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

mcgoalie30 Thursday, April 24th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
nothing
Marker Setup: quest halo dye ul 16 inch soon 2 be a F8
Strengths: BIG doesnt fog alot did really cool looking and its BIG
Weaknesses: Its gots small little holes and when paint gets in it its hard 2 clean
Review: I like this mask a lot. this was my second mask. i wanted something big unlike dye which is for people who wiegh 50 pounds. i hate getting hit in the neck and this mask is perfect if u hate that. i had the proto switch thermal or wut ever it was which was cool but when the axis came out i wanted the new mask. it was the same price maybe even more than the Vforce profilers which i should of got. i dont think this mask is worth the price when i got it if its between this and at the time the profilers i should of gotten the profilers.
Conclusion: its a good mask i just dont think its worth 85 dollars definatly go with the profilers but now get with the WHITE N BLACK EVENTS IS DA BEST MASK EVER
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

UberGeekGamer Saturday, March 8th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
6 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
None
Marker Setup: AGD Emag
Orbium 3 Kit
Reloader B
Crossfire 68/3k
Strengths: Protection
Lenses
Weaknesses: Maintenance
Weight
Review: This is my first pair of goggles and while I do like them they do have some draw backs.
Looks the mask looks nice to me but other players could find it ugly so it's all personal preference.
Weight is one of the problems as the mask feels really heavy after only a couple rounds.
The feel of the mask feels a little bulky and also for me the hard plastic near the ears made my ears hurt after a full day but isn't really a problem for me.
Venting can be a problem if players feel like they overheat easily but I never really felt that too much.
The FOV on these are good but not as great as e-vents or profilers. And the lenses on these are great as they are thermal so they have never fogged up and also really resistance to scratches.
Protection on this mask is awesome. Players can feel safe wearing these and really never have to worry about painful face shots.
Maintenance on these is a little bit of a chore but not as much as I've heard on some other masks. Basically the strap is connected to the lenses and they twist off the lens frame comes off the then the lenses. What makes a little chore is putting them back together as the lens frame is a bit hard and is bit tricky to get it to sit in correctly.
I got these never used but still got a discount because I was a friend but other then that the value is good for the protection.
Conclusion: Overall it's a great mask I would recommend them to new players but not to veterans as they would be used to the pain.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

moodydoody Wednesday, February 20th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
1 year2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Most JT masks, Vforce masks, and tons of other random masks
Marker Setup: Blue Macdev Droid, SPD grips, Deadlywind 14" barrel, PBK trigger, V35 Halo, Crosfire 68/45 or pure energy 45/45

The "Good" ghost white Half Blocked totally custom sniper II modded to hell with too many upgrades to list
Strengths: Cool looking, good protection
Weaknesses: Very poor lens on Proto masks, Very Heavy
Review: I bought the mask with the fan included for free for an amazing deal and was very excited when I got it. I tried it on and there was decent hearing, good protection, and was cool looking. I played a few times with it and everything seemed ok, the lens was harder to remove than some of the systems I have used but overall it was a decent design. One thing I noticed is how heavy it was compaired to other masks I have used.

Then I tried playing in a light rain with it and noticed something that has only happened with this mask, water got between the thermal panes of my lens. This annoyed me to no end as the water evaporated and left nasty uncleanable streaks and watermarks between the lenses. At this point I relegated it to my ref mask as it was bright yellow.

Then another nice surprise awaited me. Keep in mind the fact that I kept it in its bag in the box it came with and I treat my gear very well. I left it in the car for a week and when I pulled it out of its box the next week to ref some games I found that the inner pain on the thermal lens was cracked in the center from top to bottom. I am unsure why it was cracked, just the fact that it was. I do not think it was crushed as it was the only thing in my trunk. I do not know if the daily hot/cold would cause it to crack or not but that might be a possibility.

I also talked to another ref at my field who owned a proto switch and he had the same problem with water getting into his lens.

In the end, we have both shelved out proto masks. I do not like the fact that both lenses had water that got between the lens and the fact that it cracked has made me not the biggest fan of the lens’ on proto masks.
Conclusion: In conclusion, I would not buy this mask or any proto mask again. I think I can venture a few guesses why the masks are on sell for half the MSRP at a lot of stores.
Rating:
5 out of 10Last edited on Monday, March 10th, 2008 at 10:53 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Pilot13954 Saturday, February 16th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Kingman mask (absolute crap)
Walmart JT mask (ok but heavy)
Marker Setup: Primary Gun-Ul'd Proto Matrix Rail (Black)
Redz Pepperstick Kit
Vlocity Jr w/Virtue
68/4500 Carbon Wrap HPA Tank

Secondary Gun-Spyder Pilot ACS 05 Black to Blue fade
Dye Sticky Grip 3
Trinity T Lock Feedneck
Proto One piece barrel Black
Empire Tank Glove (Blue)
JJ Ceramic S2 14" Barrel-backup/let others borrow
Eggy3
Strengths: Light
Easy to take apart
voice projection
won't fog
Weaknesses: Chin strap?
Review: I got this goggle after report after report on here for a good 50 dollars after my JT mask got a stain on the lense. this mask performs like any of the top end goggles out there. first off, it never fogs. i have played in hot and cold weather and it has not fog up once. another great thing about it is the easiness of taking it apart. the strap is a turn lock system. all you do is hold the strap end and turn half a quarter on both sides and out comes the lens for easy breezy cleaning. alot of mask restrict voice projection because well, its a mask. it blocks your voice from spreading out. this mask however doesn't do that. i would scream out player position at a normal voice projection and people on the other side can hear me. wow. just wow. as for looks, meh i really don't care. im not agg. the mask kinda looks like Nemesis from Resident Evil 3 game.

the only quip i have with the mask is the chin strap. but that can be easily cut off
Conclusion: if you want a quality mask without shelling out 100 bucks, get this mask. it may not be a Dye i3 or grillz but it performs just like those. stay away from those Walmart mask and get these. 50 or less online. GET THEM i rate 9 because nothing is perfect.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

snypin u out Saturday, February 16th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
crap jt,tippman, and brass eagle masks
Marker Setup: Indian Creek Promaster
Eggolution3
Dxs Tank
ICDU Lp Ram
Barrel Kit
Evil Detonator Reg.
Inspire On/Off
Hybrid "east coast killers" grips
Strengths: Doesnt fall off my face
The adjustmenat strap doesnt losen during games
Very clear vision
Weaknesses: A little bit of distortion since the lenses are curved
Review: um, what can i say another exelent product from proto.Very clear vision,doesnt fall of my face, only bad thing is that there is distortion, very little though,sturdy absolutley DOESNT FOG. This is another durable, quality prodoct from Proto.If you buy this it wont be a mistake and you wont want, or need, to buy another mask for a long time to come
Conclusion: Really good gogles from Proto, but hey wht does Proto make that isnt good? I would give it a 9.5 for exeptional quality, duribility, and vision but that isnt a choice.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, February 16th, 2008 at 9:48 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

paintballer#100 Monday, February 11th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
jt rader
Marker Setup: piranha
Strengths: Confort
Visibility
Durible
Awsom looking
Weaknesses: None
Review: The mask is the best mask in the world. My friends asked to try it on and they said it was " beter than e-vents". The confort is amazing it has 3 sets of pads for the most confort ever.The visibility has surpassed any before it.Over all it is the best mask ever.
Conclusion: Best $90.00 you will ever spend on paintball.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (6):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media